Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: cicfada on December 28, 2008, 08:34:05 PM

Title: Munster My Arse
Post by: cicfada on December 28, 2008, 08:34:05 PM
What a victory tonight for Connacht! Every bit as famous as a victory for Munster against the All Black second string would have been! But will we hear any hype or bulls** about this?   Will some playwright write a play based on this performance tonght I wonder?? Consider this is the same Munster team that nearly beat the All Blacks! And this game was a competitive one as well! I got a pathetic text earlier on there from a disgruntled Munster fan that said that Munster didn't give a s** about the game. I suppose the All-Blacks didn't care either huh??
Title: Re: Munster My Arse
Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 08:35:47 PM
Any of the "Connacht" team from Connacht or Connacht outside Galway City?
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 28, 2008, 08:36:03 PM
In fairness it was a miracle bonus point for Munster, fantastic achievement  8)
Post by: cicfada on December 28, 2008, 08:42:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 08:35:47 PM
I  am sure there are but that's hardly the issue! we never would have heard the end of it had this same Munster team beaten the  All- Blacks! That's my point, I am really enjoying myself tonight in Cork!! Low lie the fields..........................!!
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 28, 2008, 08:44:54 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 28, 2008, 08:36:03 PM
In fairness it was a miracle bonus point for Munster, fantastic achievement  8)
Yes indeed, it'll send the massed ranks of the "footsoldiers of the Red Army" home with a spring in their step. 'Oh glory glory' my arse.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 28, 2008, 08:45:52 PM
QuoteAny of the "Connacht" team from Connacht or Connacht outside Galway City?

Gavin Duffy Ballina, Johnny O'Connor Galway, Andrew Browne Galway, Ronan Loughney Galway, Joe Merrigan Galway, The two Muldoons of who Johnny was great tonight are from Ballinasloe, Dave Nolan Galway, Conor O'Loughlin Galway and Daniel Rioradan. Not a bad representation from what lets face it is really a development province.
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 28, 2008, 08:47:09 PM
Quote from: cicfada on December 28, 2008, 08:42:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 08:35:47 PM
I  am sure there are but that's hardly the issue! we never would have heard the end of it had this same Munster team beaten the  All- Blacks! That's my point, I am really enjoying myself tonight in Cork!! Low lie the fields..........................!!
What? You mean they nearly beat the All-blacks? I hadn't heard about that, quite surprised that the media never mentioned it. ::)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 28, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
Good Man cic, strangers in a strange land can always enjoy a small bit of up your hole ye feckers!!!!!
Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 09:40:07 PM
Quote from: cicfada on December 28, 2008, 08:34:05 PM
a victory tonight for Connacht! string would have been! But will we hear any hype or bulls** about    

RTE were pissing themselves with excitement on tonight's news....one would think the Connacht team had won that League instead of one routine League game.
Maybe I'd better head out ( to a golf club perhaps) to join the massive celebrations  that will be going on all over Connacht tonight  ::)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 28, 2008, 09:50:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 28, 2008, 08:45:52 PM
QuoteAny of the "Connacht" team from Connacht or Connacht outside Galway City?

Gavin Duffy Ballina, Johnny O'Connor Galway, Andrew Browne Galway, Ronan Loughney Galway, Joe Merrigan Galway, The two Muldoons of who Johnny was great tonight are from Ballinasloe, Dave Nolan Galway, Conor O'Loughlin Galway and Daniel Rioradan. Not a bad representation from what lets face it is really a development province.

Muldoons are from Portumna I think.

Was at the game. Great win if not a great game. Must be a long time since Connacht beat both Munster and Leinster in the same season.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 28, 2008, 09:53:33 PM
QuoteMuldoons are from Portumna I think.

You might be right remember Johnny Muldoon talking about Joe Canning and what a phenomenal rugby he would have made, seemingly young Joe was a fantastic out-half in his younger days.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 28, 2008, 10:35:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 09:40:07 PM
a victory tonight for Connacht! string would have been! But will we hear any hype or bulls** about    

RTE were pissing themselves with excitement on tonight's news....one would think the Connacht team had won that League instead of one routine League game.
Maybe I'd better head out ( to a golf club perhaps) to join the massive celebrations  that will be going on all over Connacht tonight  ::)

Are you bitter about everything in life  ??? Does your life really revolve around that God awful wasteland of Roscommon and nothing else  ???
I use to work with several people from Roscommon and they all had that chip on their shoulder that you seem to have,why are ye all so bitter up there?

Fair play to Connacht great result.
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 28, 2008, 11:49:20 PM
Great result for Connacht, but not great news for Ulster, given that we have to finish above them to qualify for next year's Heineken Cup.
Post by: rosnarun on December 29, 2008, 01:31:19 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 28, 2008, 11:49:20 PM
Great result for Connacht, but not great news for Ulster, given that we have to finish above them to qualify for next year's Heineken Cup.
wow an ulster rugbu rugby fan i 'd  recokon tthere are more ranges/owc fans on here than ulster rugby rugby fans
well done to the Connaught rugby Rugby team tonight. makes my blood sweel with pride a load of failed schoolboys from dublin whi are reduced to this development team can put up such a show Grace o malley would be proud
Post by: Tankie on December 29, 2008, 01:41:56 AM
Great result, fair play. it helps us out too as Munster were pulling away!
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on December 29, 2008, 04:12:35 AM
I think this should be played in St Patrick's day and try and run all the club fixtures before the end of the year.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on December 29, 2008, 04:57:30 AM
QuoteQuote

Conor O'Loughlin is from Athlone. good win nothing to get real excited about
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 29, 2008, 05:54:58 AM
Delighted to hear this result, fair play to Connacht the WESTS AWAKE ;D.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 29, 2008, 12:59:23 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 29, 2008, 04:57:30 AM
QuoteQuote

Conor O'Loughlin is from Athlone. good win nothing to get real excited about

In fairness Connacht haven't beaten Munster in over 20 years. If they're not allowed to get excited over that then they might as well pack it in.
Post by: Canalman on December 29, 2008, 01:24:29 PM
Oh sweet Jesus!!!!! The western journos in the papers will have a field day with this for years. Another "Thomond in 1978"  saga beckons.
Quick lads, pen the play and write the books.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 29, 2008, 01:28:05 PM
Quote from: Canalman on December 29, 2008, 01:24:29 PM
Oh sweet Jesus!!!!! The western journos in the papers will have a field day with this for years. Another "Thomond in 1978"  saga beckons.
Quick lads, pen the play and write the books.

You're a bit late. I think three people have tried the same joke already. ;D
Post by: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 01:38:43 PM
Take Munster out of Thomond, and take away Paul O'Connell, O'Gara etc and you've an ordinary enough side who can't cope with the likes of Ulster and Connacht at home.

Well done Connacht in showing the way for the rest of them.
Post by: T O Hare on December 29, 2008, 03:21:51 PM
Did Gavin Duffy play in the 1999 all-ireland minor final v Down ?
Post by: dodo on December 29, 2008, 04:55:08 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 29, 2008, 03:21:51 PM
Did Gavin Duffy play in the 1999 all-ireland minor final v Down ?

Himself and James Gill at midfield that day. Gill played youths international rugby too.
Post by: Gnevin on December 29, 2008, 06:34:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 01:38:43 PM
Take Munster out of Thomond, and take away Paul O'Connell, O'Gara etc and you've an ordinary enough side who can't cope with the likes of Ulster and Connacht at home.

Yes sort of like if you took away the core of Man United and sent them to play away. Jasus that is  load of a bollox  of a comment.
Post by: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 07:00:44 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 29, 2008, 06:34:13 PM

Yes sort of like if you took away the core of Man United and sent them to play away. Jasus that is  load of a bollox  of a comment.

Man Utd play in the premier league - Connacht are in what league ???
Post by: Gnevin on December 29, 2008, 07:47:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 07:00:44 PM

That would be the Mangers league the highest national level at which a club or province in Ireland,Scotland or Wales can play. A League which has had 5 different winners in 7 years and has provided the Champions of Europe twice in 3 years.  Remind me which Irish teams are in the premier league?
Post by: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 07:49:11 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 29, 2008, 07:47:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 29, 2008, 07:00:44 PM

Sunderland ?  ;)

That would be the Mangers league the highest national level at which a club or province in Ireland,Scotland or Wales can play. A League which has had 5 different winners in 7 years and has provided the Champions of Europe twice in 3 years.  Remind me which Irish teams are in the premier league?

Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2008, 08:15:51 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 28, 2008, 10:35:11 PM

Are you bitter about everything in life  ??? Does your life really revolve around that God awful wasteland of Roscommon and nothing else  ???

Proudfully and thankfully wish to state that my life does indeed revolve around the wonderful delightful God's gift to the Irish nation that is Roscommon. I thank the goodness and the grace that on my birth had smiled ....to make me a Rossie child. :)
I dont know where you got the "bitter" bit from - I just hate fcukin rugby with a passion and can truthfully and honestly say I havent met anyone locally yesterday or today who had the slightest interest in what the Connacht Rugby team did.
Now if I came from effin Laois I'd have plenty to be bitter about ;D But I probably would be too busy batin the crap out of anyone from a different GAA club to have time to be bitter.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 29, 2008, 08:47:21 PM
Myles,
Ulster are going through a very iffy period now and have been off the pace for a long time. Any ideas as to why they are underperforming for so long?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 29, 2008, 08:47:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2008, 08:15:51 PM

Proudfully and thankfully wish to state that my life does indeed revolve around the wonderful delightful God's gift to the Irish nation that is Roscommon. I thank the goodness and the grace that on my birth had smiled ....to make me a Rossie child. :)
I dont know where you got the "bitter" bit from - I just hate fcukin rugby with a passion and can truthfully and honestly say I havent met anyone locally yesterday or today who had the slightest interest in what the Connacht Rugby team did.
Now if I came from effin Laois I'd have plenty to be bitter about ;D But I probably would be too busy batin the crap out of anyone from a different GAA club to have time to be bitter.

Ah come on don't be so bitter
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 29, 2008, 08:54:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2008, 09:40:07 PM

I use to work with several people from Roscommon and they all had that chip on their shoulder that you seem to have,why are ye all so bitter up there?

Harsh.

Harsh but fair. ;D
Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2008, 10:55:04 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 29, 2008, 08:54:21 PM
[

Harsh.

Harsh but fair. ;D

Careful GBB or you'll be joining Laoislad on my blacklist  :( >:(
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 29, 2008, 10:58:53 PM
Rossfan's blacklist

all Unionist politicians
Northern Ireland Soccer team and fans.
The Entire population of Mayo
John Maughan

i know im not wrong in any of those guesses either  ;)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 29, 2008, 11:00:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 29, 2008, 10:58:15 PM
Does LL or GBB speak Irish? If not, they cannot be considered proper Irishmen, so, I wouldn't be too worried about them, Rossfan.

Sure you dont pay your taxes to the "proper Irish Government" HS,
you can hardly be considered a proper irishman so.   :P  ;D  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 29, 2008, 11:03:47 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 29, 2008, 10:58:53 PM
Rossfan's blacklist

all Unionist politicians
John Maughan

Would it not be easier to say anyone who isn't a sheep shagger from Roscommon  :)
Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2008, 11:09:55 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 29, 2008, 10:58:53 PM
Rossfan's blacklist

all Unionist politicians
John Maughan

All Soccer teams and their fans
EFFIN RUGBY
Ganley/Libertas
PDs
Israel
Bankers
Estate Agents
F F
......additions may be made depending on circumstances
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on December 29, 2008, 11:20:00 PM
Don't forget Tommy Carr ;)

Were the Munster supporters singing The Fields; perhaps it inspired the Connachtmen on.
Post by: ONeill on December 30, 2008, 12:37:47 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 29, 2008, 08:47:21 PM

Myles,
Ulster are going through a very iffy period now and have been off the pace for a long time. Any ideas as to why they are underperforming for so long?

People ran faster during the troubles and got rid of what was in their hands without being caught.

Just a theory.
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 30, 2008, 07:58:38 AM
Myles,
There's a fairly simple explanation for the slump in form over the last 12 months or so when you look at the changes in personnel that have taken place. Seven or eight players left or retired in the summer, including the likes of David Humphrys, Tommy Bowe, Neil Best, Justin Harrison, people who had formed the backbone of the side for a few years. A lot of new faces have been brought in by Matt Williams and they've taken a while to settle in, but the signs are there that the team is developing. A good win over Munster, a win and a draw against the Scarlets, and a good performance against Leinster on Saturday night there, when really we deserved something from the game. But you're right when you say that Ulster have been 'iffy' for a long time. We haven't got out of the group stages in the HC for years and haven't really kicked on since winning the Celtic league in 2006. Part of it comes down to finance. Bit like the Champions League, if you're not getting into the latter stages of the HC, you're not getting the big dough, which means you're not able to attract the top players. Part of it also has to be put down to the coaching and management of the side in recent years, and some of it is down to the cyclical nature of all team sports: Munster have been one of Europe's top sides over the last 8 years or so, but there are signs that their squad has peaked and is now on the way back down. I'm fairly optimistic that we'll see Ulster on up over the next couple of years. Ferris, Trimble and Rory Best are already in the Irish team, but watch out for Ryan Caldwell and Darren Cave making the first team this year.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 30, 2008, 10:55:57 AM
Jesus, 3 pages of comment on a Connacht rugby match!  There is hope yet for this site  ;)

Anyway, Sunday eve was one of the better days in fortress Sportsground over the past 2 years. Would be nice to follow it up with at least a losing bonus point from the RDS on Friday evening.  Well done to Jonny Muldoon and the boys, hopefully we can kick on for the remainder of the season and clinch an elusive Heineken Cup position for next season.  Would love to have a rattle at Toulouse in the Sportsground  ;) :) :)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 02, 2009, 09:09:52 PM
Good show again by Connacht tonight but a ridiculous decision by the ref in allowing a try after a blatant forward pass killed off the westerners chances tonight. I suppose they should have done what they were expected to do - stand back and let the fancy back line do their stuff!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 02, 2009, 09:23:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 02, 2009, 09:09:52 PM
Good show again by Connacht tonight but a ridiculous decision by the ref in allowing a try after a blatant forward pass killed off the westerners chances tonight. I suppose they should have done what they were expected to do - stand back and let the fancy back line do their stuff!

Think it was more the touch judge's fault to be honest. He was right beside them and still missed it. He also missed the Leinster hooker throwing about half a dozen punches during the handbags. Blind git.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 02, 2009, 10:16:12 PM
Ref ignored the TJ telling him Blue 2 threw repeated punches, should have been at least a yellow. John Fogarty obvously mustn't have liked Flavin when he was Connacht last year. The forward pass missed was a disgrace as well. The ref was terrible for both sides but two crucial decisions went against Connacht. However you can't argue Connacht deserved anything from the game, they didn't create one try scoring chance, they played with no width and had a limited game plan.

Anyways Leinster ground out a not so pretty win but keeps them in with a chance hopefully the Todgers can beat the Turnip munchers tomorrow and blow the league right open.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 02, 2009, 10:25:46 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 30, 2008, 07:58:38 AM
Myles,
There's a fairly simple explanation for the slump in form over the last 12 months or so when you look at the changes in personnel that have taken place. Seven or eight players left or retired in the summer, including the likes of David Humphrys, Tommy Bowe, Neil Best, Justin Harrison, people who had formed the backbone of the side for a few years. A lot of new faces have been brought in by Matt Williams and they've taken a while to settle in, but the signs are there that the team is developing. A good win over Munster, a win and a draw against the Scarlets, and a good performance against Leinster on Saturday night there, when really we deserved something from the game. But you're right when you say that Ulster have been 'iffy' for a long time. We haven't got out of the group stages in the HC for years and haven't really kicked on since winning the Celtic league in 2006. Part of it comes down to finance. Bit like the Champions League, if you're not getting into the latter stages of the HC, you're not getting the big dough, which means you're not able to attract the top players. Part of it also has to be put down to the coaching and management of the side in recent years, and some of it is down to the cyclical nature of all team sports: Munster have been one of Europe's top sides over the last 8 years or so, but there are signs that their squad has peaked and is now on the way back down. I'm fairly optimistic that we'll see Ulster on up over the next couple of years. Ferris, Trimble and Rory Best are already in the Irish team, but watch out for Ryan Caldwell and Darren Cave making the first team this year.
Typo there Myles I think, presuming you meant years?  (12 is harsh though).
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 03, 2009, 10:55:28 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 02, 2009, 10:25:46 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 30, 2008, 07:58:38 AM
Myles,
Typo there Myles I think, presuming you meant years?  (12 is harsh though).
In the last ten years Ulster have won the European cup and the Celtic league, so it hasn't been all bad. Another good performance from Connacht against Leinster, but glad to see the latte boys win. Keeps Connacht far enough below us in that fight for the HC place.
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2009, 08:28:24 PM
7 Ulster players have beards. Canny move.

22-6 to the Ulster men at HT.
Post by: Tankie on January 03, 2009, 08:57:40 PM
this will be a good result for Ulster and for Irish Rugby as a whole if Ulster can finish out the game!
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2009, 09:15:37 PM
Ulster and proud tonight.

37-11
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 03, 2009, 11:07:15 PM
Stand up for the Ulstermen!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 04, 2009, 10:57:01 AM
Great, great performance by Ulster. Fair play. It's a long time since I witness a Munster team being out fought, out muscled and out played. Ulster were very opportunistic and probably scored points on every visit to the Munster 22. Ian Humphrey's was excellent.

A good kick up the arse for Munster, but the lack of form , Sale away excepted, is becoming worrying now.

Well done again to Ulster.
Post by: Main Street on December 20, 2009, 09:37:57 PM
What an enjoyable sledgehammer performance by Munster.
Post by: muppet on February 16, 2015, 09:34:17 PM
Documentary on Munster: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfejB0tqcOU&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfejB0tqcOU&spfreload=10)