GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on December 17, 2008, 04:22:23 PM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2009 - The Real All-Ireland
Post by: thejuice on December 17, 2008, 04:22:23 PM
Quote1st Round
1. Longford v Athlone I.T.

2. Louth v UCD

3. Offaly v Dublin

4. Wicklow v Carlow

5. Kildare v Wexford

6. Meath v Westmeath

7. Laois v DCU

8. Kilkenny v D.I.T.

Next Round
1 v 2     3 v 4       5 v 6       7 v 8

Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2009 - The Real All-Ireland
Post by: Hardy on December 17, 2008, 04:51:08 PM
Feckit - looks like our road to glory is obstructed by the Yellabellies again.

(I'm taking the usual victory over the swampland county as read).
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 17, 2008, 05:03:48 PM
I'd settle for a narrow defeat in Pairc Mordor, that way the young lads get more of a chance to go further in the Shield and make more of an impression... Some of us have a tough league (this year)  :-*
Post by: INDIANA on December 17, 2008, 05:12:09 PM
We're playing our u21 team in it, so thankfully we won't win it this year.
Post by: thejuice on December 17, 2008, 05:14:03 PM
Dont worry we'll swap places with yis next year if you dont think you'll fit in rubbing shoulders with the top teams.
Post by: INDIANA on December 17, 2008, 05:19:13 PM
Our crew are off on these foreign training holidays hence the reason the 21's are playing. Yet to see Tyrone going on one of these trips, but then again they win things.
Post by: This Years Model on December 17, 2008, 05:49:17 PM
Is that a fact Indiana? Being exiled in the Midlands, I'd have been tempted to make the short trip to O'Connor Park for what I thought should be a tasty affair between the Biffos and the (real) Dubs. But if what you say is true, then I'll keep going as far as Newbridge. Have to try and keep those Lilywhites down now that we have a bit of a run on them.
Post by: heffo on December 17, 2008, 07:21:44 PM
Quote from: This Years Model on December 17, 2008, 05:49:17 PM
Is that a fact Indiana? Being exiled in the Midlands, I'd have been tempted to make the short trip to O'Connor Park for what I thought should be a tasty affair between the Biffos and the (real) Dubs. But if what you say is true, then I'll keep going as far as Newbridge. Have to try and keep those Lilywhites down now that we have a bit of a run on them.

100%

Post by: thejuice on December 18, 2008, 12:48:38 PM
Any Dubs from the senior squad last year still on the U-21's
Post by: INDIANA on December 18, 2008, 01:05:29 PM
In terms of starting- paddy andrews but he's going to that training camp. I should clarify, it won't even be the  strongest 21's team. It will be whatever 21's aren't going to the training camp.
Post by: An Laoch on December 18, 2008, 03:32:13 PM
will the senior panel be at the training camp for the entire O'Byrne campaign or just the first two weeks?
Post by: INDIANA on December 18, 2008, 03:35:13 PM
from the 3rd to the 10th. so I presume they'll be playing in the Shield on their return.
Post by: thejuice on December 23, 2008, 02:13:33 PM
Will any of these games be on Setanta Ireland or TG4?
Post by: stevecw on December 30, 2008, 02:50:49 AM
Setanta showed all rounds last year, so i guess either Offaly v Dublin or Meath v Westmeath will kick it off.

I love O'Byrne Cup as a Carlow fan.
Only trophy ive seen us win since 94 & it gave us 2 good nights out last year...1st beating Wexford away & drawing with Dubs in Parnell Park.
Sadly all was downhill after that. 4 wins, 4 defeats in Div 4 & then a horrible display v Meath in Croker :-[

This year should be better, we have a lot of our better players involved for once & its 80% that Thos Walshe will be back with Carlow too this year.
But for O'Byrne Cup we wont have all these, but away to Wicklow next Sunday is still a tasty game around these parts & under Luke Dempsey i am sure we can get off to winning start & set up a 2nd round v Dubs yet again! :)
Post by: thejuice on January 03, 2009, 11:40:26 PM
Theres a 6 hour unaccounted slot on the Setanta Ireland listings on the website, do you think that might be it? its beween 12 and 6:30
Post by: laoisgaa on January 04, 2009, 12:22:50 AM
Doubt if Setanta will show any of these games - live or deferred - they got very frustration in 2008 at not getting any GAA rights to Senior Inter-county games, and thus pulled coverage of Féile na nGael, O'Byrne Cup, Cumann na mBunscol, Kilmacud Sevens and all other GAA coverage that wasn't being shown elsewhere!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2009, 11:26:23 AM
Longford v Athlone IT today in Ballymahon at 2.

And so, another year of highs and (most likely) lows in my fanatical following of the fortunes of my beloved home county.

Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 01:12:31 PM
Will be listening on LMFM,
Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 02:16:38 PM
Meath 1-0

Wmeath 0-5
Post by: INDIANA on January 04, 2009, 02:17:55 PM
dublin 0-4
offaly 0-2
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2009, 03:06:15 PM
Longford 1-09
Athlone IT 1-04

Laois losing to DCU last I heard........
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2009, 03:23:59 PM
Anymore updates?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2009, 03:26:37 PM
Longford 2-11
Athlone IT 1-07

a few minutes left.
Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 03:50:58 PM
Scores Round-Up

QuoteKildare 1-12
Wexford 0-09

Kilkenny 2-06
DIT       0-18

Laois     0-13
DCU      1-14

Athlone    1-07
Longford   2-12

Louth    2-14
UCD      1-02

Meath          1-17
Westmeath  0-07

Dublin   0-15
Offaly   1-07

Wicklow 2-10
Carlow   1-08
Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 03:56:01 PM
Round 2 - Home teams named first

Longford Vs Louth

Dublin Vs Wicklow

Kildare Vs Meath

DCU Vs DIT

to be played next Sunday
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2009, 05:35:50 PM
The O'Byrne Shield is where it's at anyways  :-[
Post by: mattockranger on January 04, 2009, 06:15:17 PM
real laoislad how good were dcu...?? wat were there team like!?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2009, 06:21:57 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 04, 2009, 06:15:17 PM

Wasn't there today matt I was on babysitting my little niece duties.I can't get midlands radio in Dublin either so I was relying on Shamrock to tell me we lost...As he happily did >:(
Post by: heffo on January 04, 2009, 06:34:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2009, 06:21:57 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 04, 2009, 06:15:17 PM

Wasn't there today matt I was on babysitting my little niece duties.I can't get midlands radio in Dublin either so I was relying on Shamrock to tell me we lost...As he happily did >:(

Young Clancy in trouble again??
Post by: Jinxy on January 04, 2009, 06:47:18 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 03:50:58 PM

Meath          1-17
Westmeath  0-07

I think we will definitely win the All-Ireland this year.
Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 06:57:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 04, 2009, 06:47:18 PM

Meath          1-17
Westmeath  0-07

Yeah, sure crown us now.  :D

I dont know if you should be worried or happy that a team is playing well during the O'Byrne Cup. Like Jaysus lads its only January. Decent result considering we havent been training.
Post by: Gnevin on January 04, 2009, 09:44:04 PM
T'was cold down in Offaly today, but was impressed by 14 O'Brian for Dublin
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 05, 2009, 11:54:14 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 04, 2009, 06:57:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 04, 2009, 06:47:18 PM

Meath          1-17
Westmeath  0-07

Yeah, sure crown us now.  :D

I dont know if you should be worried or happy that a team is playing well during the O'Byrne Cup. Like Jaysus lads its only January. Decent result considering we havent been training.

Were yous paying any heed to the ban over there in Mordor at all??? Very noticable difference of levels of fitness between the teams. Alan Claffey showed well and was one of the newcomers to make his mark, corner back in the John Keane mould. Clarke and Browne showed promise as well and hopefully we can have a bit of a run in the shield & give them more game time...
Post by: Billys Boots on January 05, 2009, 12:12:07 PM
QuoteI dont know if you should be worried or happy that a team is playing well during the O'Byrne Cup.

In Longford, it's usually the highlight of our year.  ::)
Post by: LaurelEye on January 05, 2009, 01:26:41 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 05, 2009, 12:12:07 PM
QuoteI dont know if you should be worried or happy that a team is playing well during the O'Byrne Cup.

Surely that's the Shield?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 02:39:08 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on January 05, 2009, 01:26:41 PM

The shield is Laois's this year hands off ok!
Post by: LaurelEye on January 05, 2009, 03:13:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 02:39:08 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on January 05, 2009, 01:26:41 PM

The shield is Laois's this year hands off ok!

Lukie Dempsey will surely be going for a third with the Carla men... Meath must be kicking themselves at the missed opportunity :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 08:40:49 PM
The 'bihatimber' competiton is Luke's for the taking. Will he be able to keep the 'bihatimber' for ever if he wins it for a third time?

However if Laois decide to concentrate on defending it then, who knows.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 08:42:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 08:40:49 PM
The 'bihatimber' competiton is Luke's for the taking. Will he be able to keep the 'bihatimber' for ever if he wins it for a third time?

Did we actually win it last year,I know we were suppose to play Kildare but did it ever go ahead?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 09:50:21 PM
Amazingly Laoislad the 'bihatimber' was awarded to Laois after Kildare decided they couldn't be arsed playing the final  :D
Post by: cill_dara on January 05, 2009, 10:19:45 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 09:50:21 PM
Amazingly Laoislad the 'bihatimber' was awarded to Laois after Kildare decided they couldn't be arsed playing the final  :D

We played for it in the last game of the league last year and again it was a draw so it was shared. Over to yee now lads!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 11:15:31 PM
I'll never trust Wikipedia again  :-\

Scroll down to the end

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O%27Byrne_Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O%27Byrne_Cup)

but then again................

http://leinster.gaa.ie/rollofhonour/rhOByrneCupSFshield.asp (http://leinster.gaa.ie/rollofhonour/rhOByrneCupSFshield.asp)

the glaring ommission of Longford's 2006 (cough) triumph (  >:( )makes me want to axe Laureleye to pen a letter to The Times as he is better at that sort of thing.

Bask in the glow of belated success Laoislad. If it's on the Leinster official GAA site it must be true
Post by: INDIANA on January 06, 2009, 10:19:34 AM
just to say to any wicklow fans, dublin are playing their u21 side on sunday. It is a 21 side missing 7 of its best players. Why we are doing so is unfortunately beyond everyon'e comphrehension.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2009, 10:25:32 AM
Is that the same side that played against Offaly INDIANA?
Post by: INDIANA on January 06, 2009, 10:26:58 AM
all of them are not involved unless there is a massive u turn . Effectively we will be playing tyrone with no match behind us because a half strength u21 team won't beat wicklow. Just staggered.
Post by: Hound on January 08, 2009, 12:55:30 PM
Dublin team named. Mainly U21s, but 5 of the "development squad" who beat Offaly last week retain their starting places. Jim Gavin will manage the team this week.

Dominic McDonnell (St Sylvester's)
Colin Moore (Ballymun Kickhams), Gary OConnell (Erin's Isle), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)
Johnny Cooper (Na Fianna), Chris Deasy (Thomas Davis), Declan Lally (St Brigid's)
John Sheanon (Cuala), Declan OMahony (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Dean Kelly (Trinity Gaels), Cathal Morley (Templeogue/Synge St), John OBrien (Round Towers C)
Chris Carthy (St Maur's), Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams), Ted Furman (Ballymun Kickhams)

Subs: Ciarán Walsh (Thomas Davis), Seánie Murray (St Brigids), Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John's), Vinnie Whelan (St Maur's), Shane McCann (Ballinteer St John's), Neal Billings (St Vincent's), David Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), Niall Collins (St Pat's, Donabate), Kevin Devine (Clontarf), Derek Byrne (Ballymun Kickhams), Brian Kirby (Thomas Davis), James OConnor (Thomas Davis).
Post by: INDIANA on January 08, 2009, 01:14:08 PM
could be a few changes to that team as well. We've written off the o byrne cup completely. only about 4/5 of the 10 u21 players named will start for dublin in the u21 championship. thats how understrength it is. I hope to God the management know what they are at because there is a lot of guys in la manga who will exit the squad not having played any matches. So its the national league before we'll know anything. If wicklow can't win on sunday, my advice would be to retire.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2009, 03:24:51 PM
I think it's good to see some of the Fingal lads getting a run or at least a 'trial' irrespective of the result.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 09, 2009, 10:17:25 AM
Does anyone know where the weekend's matches are going to be hosted? Not Park's mentioned on leinster gaa and the O'Byrne Cup doesn't even exist on gaa.ie  ::)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2009, 10:21:16 AM
Longford v Louth is in Pearse Park.
Post by: stevecw on January 09, 2009, 12:15:47 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 09, 2009, 10:17:25 AM
Does anyone know where the weekend's matches are going to be hosted? Not Park's mentioned on leinster gaa and the O'Byrne Cup doesn't even exist on gaa.ie  ::)

O'BYRNE CUP S.F. 2009
Sunday,11th January 2009
Pearse Park, Longford (2.15pm) - Longford v Louth
Parnell Park(2.00pm) - Dublin v Wicklow
Newbridge (2.00pm) - Kildare v Meath
DCU Sports Grounds, Ballymun Road (2.30pm) - D.C.U. v D.I.T.

O'BYRNE CUP SHIELDS.F. 2009
Sunday,11th January 2009
Portarlington(2.00pm) - Laois v Kilkenny
Athlone I.T. Grounds (2.00pm) - Athlone I.T. v U.C.D.
Tullamore (2.00pm) - Offaly v Carlow
Monamolin (Buffers Alley Pitch) (2.00pm) - Wexford v Westmeath
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 09, 2009, 12:24:08 PM
Thanks stevecw, good thing I didn't head to Wexford Park on autopilot, you'd think if the GAA were gonna hold matches outside the principal ground in the county they'd at least publish this  >:( Now to find directions...

[Edit] Got them
Post by: LaurelEye on January 11, 2009, 06:43:45 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2009, 08:40:49 PM

Luke's bandwagon rolls over the Biffos, with Westmeed next on the target list.

Meanwhile ourselves and the Biffs can look forward to a two-month ding-dong battle for the coveted Division 3 Wooden Spoon as it's the only bihatimber either is likely to see this year....  :'(
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2009, 07:08:51 PM
WExford - Westmeath seemed like a good game from reading reports. MEath didnt do so well, squandering a lead, ah well wont lose sleep over it.
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2009, 08:16:56 PM
I'm not so sure we will win the All-Ireland now.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 12, 2009, 11:24:48 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 11, 2009, 07:08:51 PM
WExford - Westmeath seemed like a good game from reading reports. MEath didnt do so well, squandering a lead, ah well wont lose sleep over it.

Was indeed a good game considering the high winds, constant drizzle and near darkness on occasions. Great to give the young lads another competitive outing to impress, hopefully the weather is kinder to them next week. They all showed glimpses of potential but no consistency. Surprised to see Claffey (who was outstanding last week) not starting but maybe O'Flaherta has already got him earmarked. Browne in the middle looks the part but is nowhere near competitive enough in the air, went off at half time so maybe he was carrying an injury. Best wishes to the Wexford keeper who had to be stretchered off with what looked like a broken leg. The full back, Murphy I think, looked solid and was probably the most impressive from a WH perspective. Onwards now to Mullingar with the visit of Queens County next week I think...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 12, 2009, 02:24:57 PM
O'Byrne Cup Shield

Laois 4-18
Donie Brennan 1-4, Chris Bergin 1-3, Zach Tuohy 1-1, Shane Conlon 0-4 (1f), Eoin Kavanagh 1-0 (o.g.), Peter McNulty 0-2, Peter O'Leary, Padraig Clancy, Brian McCormack, Jason Horan 0-1 each

Kilkenny 1-4
Eddie Brennan 0-4 (3f), Philip Roche 1-0
Post by: imtommygunn on January 12, 2009, 02:28:42 PM
Eddie Brennan - not the hurling Eddie Brennan??

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 12, 2009, 02:33:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 12, 2009, 02:28:42 PM
Eddie Brennan - not the hurling Eddie Brennan??

Possibly, I know he plays football in the winter to keep fit...
Post by: laoisgaa on January 12, 2009, 02:35:14 PM
definitely not the hurling Eddie Brennan - this crops up every year! two different Eddie Brennan's!
Post by: imtommygunn on January 12, 2009, 02:47:32 PM
Ah. Gees there could have been some poor laois fella thinking he was in for an easy day against Kilkenny then up pops Ediie Brennan and starts sprinting round the place to be caught by no-one...

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 12, 2009, 02:54:04 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 12, 2009, 02:47:32 PM
Ah. Gees there could have been some poor laois fella thinking he was in for an easy day against Kilkenny then up pops Ediie Brennan and starts sprinting round the place to be caught by no-one...

Its said by many in Kilkenny that the hurlers if they put their mind to it could make a very reasonable football team..
Post by: stevecw on January 12, 2009, 07:00:38 PM
Rare win for Carlow yesterday in Tullamore v Offaly.
Fairly good game for the time of year. Both sides of course well understrength and hard to judge too much cos of this.
But if this is what Offaly have as back up then it could be a struggle for them to remain in div 3. They tried McManus at full back, and he got destroyed by Mark Carpenter. I'd say that is the end of that experiment for them.

Carlow did well, started off great racing into 1-5 - 0-2 lead after about 20 mins. Offaly brought it back to 1-5 - 0-6 at ht. 2nd half Carlows 2nd goal wrapped it up mid-way through. Last few minutes saw Offaly reduce gap a bit, but never had enough about them to come back fully.

Highlight of the game had to be when Offalys keeper got a yellow for a blatent foul, and had to go off. But because you have to wait for next stoppage in play to make sub, Ciaran McManus went in goal for the peno & saved it  ;D

We're away to UCD next sunday in semi, while its Westmeath hosting Laois in other.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 10:24:10 AM
Promising first half hour from the young lads in Mullingar, faded badly after that. Spollen, McDaniel & Leonard all started well and were all on the scoresheet. Midfield a massive concern, need some height in there for the league. All to do for the visit of Galway in 2 weeks, fitness must improve considerably...
Post by: thejuice on January 19, 2009, 12:26:16 PM
So who's playing who now. I cant find anything on the GAA website.
Post by: laoisgaa on January 19, 2009, 12:40:07 PM
SUNDAY 25th JANUARY
O'Byrne Cup SF Final – Louth v DCU
O'Byrne Shield SF Final – Carlow v Laois
Walsh Cup SH Semi-Final – Wexford  v Galway
Walsh Cup SH Semi-Final –Antrim v Kilkenny
Walsh Shield SH Semi-Final – Laois v Dublin
Walsh Shield SH Semi-Final – UCD v Offaly
Kehoe Cup SH Semi-Final – Westmeath v DCU
Kehoe Cup SH Semi-Final – DIT v Carlow
Kehoe Shield SH Semi-Finals
14:00 McGrath Cup SF Final – Cork v UL @ Páirc Uí Rinn
14:00 Waterford Crystal Cup SH Final – Clare v Tipperary @ Meelick
14:30 All-Ire Club IHC Semi-Final – Cappataggle (GY) v Kilmessan (MH) @ Athleague
14:30 All-Ire Club IHC Semi-Final – Blarney (CK) v Gort na Mona (ANT) @ Tullamore
14:30 All-Ire Club JHC Semi-Final – Skehana (GY)/J Mit (WARW) v T-Rosbercon (KK) @ Nenagh
14:30 All-Ire Club JHC Semi-Final – Dripsey (CK) v Lisbellew (FERM) @ Pearse Stadium
14:30 All-Ire Club IFC Semi-Final – St. Michaels (GY) v Ballyroan-Abbey (LS) @ Hyde Park
13:00 All-Ire Club JFC Semi-Final – Skellig Rangers (KY) v Drumhowan (Monaghan) @ Portlaoise
14:30 All-Ire Club IFC Semi-Final – St Michaels Foilmore (KY) v Trillick (TYR) @ Portlaoise
14:30 All-Ire Club JFC Semi-Final – Killalla (MO) v John Mitchells @ Carrick On-Shannon

Post by: Louth Exile on January 19, 2009, 02:46:16 PM
Anyone any idea if the final is in Louth or a neutral venue??

Post by: Louth Exile on January 19, 2009, 03:08:58 PM
Cheers ML
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 25, 2009, 05:41:51 PM
Bump this up to the top.
Congratulations to Louth on their fine win today.
Brian White at midfield was absolutely magnificant, from placed balls and from open play.
Darren Clarke gave Dermot Sheridan and later the full back a torrid time.

very disappointed in DCU though.
i know they were missing Mortimer,Lyng and Johnson only came on.
But would have expected more from Kevin Reily,Paddy Andrews,Cathal Cregg and the Cavan contingent out of whom only Barry Watters showed glimpses for me.
Brian Sheridan and Johnson when he came on done well for DCU i thought.
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2009, 05:43:42 PM
DCU looked very sluggish.
The Louth boys were full of running in contrast.
Post by: Schkite on January 25, 2009, 05:47:06 PM
Thought young McElroy done well for DCU in the first half, always a tricky customer and won the 4 frees that Sheridan scored. Faded in the second though, played deeper which didn't suit him, understandably Johnston and O'Rourke were the main targets in the 2nd half.

White for Louth was brilliant, some of his points were pure class, like the 45s and the scores after dummy solos, good passing too.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 25, 2009, 05:50:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 25, 2009, 05:43:42 PM
DCU looked very sluggish.
The Louth boys were full of running in contrast.

suprised at that because in the McKenna cup,The Colleges sides were far fitter and sharper.
Louth looked fit and sharp, more so than i would expect a county team to be at this time of year.
That has its down sides though of course, if not handled right,they could be out on their feet come June/July.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 25, 2009, 06:29:13 PM
the young college lads were bouncing off Big JP Rooney.
Paddy Keenan into Midfield alongside Brian White and your clubmate Ronan Carroll at half forward, do ya reckon ML?
Louth will definetely be a force in Division 3.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 25, 2009, 07:28:22 PM
O'Byrne Shield Final

Laois 1-13
Carlow 1 -06
Post by: mattockranger on January 25, 2009, 08:02:26 PM

Very dissapointed in the So called talented DCU side
they had no fight and played exactly like a team of  individuals
Alot of Big Ego's there
At the end they didn't even try and develop a goal any player who got the ball was looking out for themselves and happy to get themselves a score!
for students they lacked intelligence!

Queens look a cert for the Sigerson!

I have to give my own county some credit too of course they were very commanding and in their face and maintained a high work-rate throughout!
They punished DcU with every chance especially B white from deadball situations, that just kills sides.
Thought Derek Crilly put in a great shift around the park!

all round good entertaining game
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 25, 2009, 10:22:53 PM
Congrats to Louth and a nod towards Laois for winning the O'Byrne Bihatimber.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 25, 2009, 10:47:12 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 25, 2009, 10:22:53 PM
Congrats to Louth and a nod towards Laois for winning the O'Byrne Bihatimber.

Going for three in a row next year  :D
Post by: Hound on January 26, 2009, 09:36:02 AM
Congrats to Louth.

Was the Paddy Andrews own goal as bad as it sounds in the Times report:

"Dublin defender Paddy Andrews drilled a low shot past his own goalkeeper. The corner back seemed to be attempting a clearance...."
Post by: Louth Exile on January 28, 2009, 12:01:05 AM
It was a sweet finish alright!!