What do you think of the new scheme ???????
New season ticket scheme on the way
28 November 2008
The GAA plans to launch a new season ticket scheme next year in a bid to ensure that loyal supporters can obtain All-Ireland final tickets.
The plan will be warmly welcomed by the 'real' GAA fans, many of whom can't gain access to All-Ireland final tickets after following their team all year.
"One thing we hope to pilot next year is season tickets," said GAA director-general Paraic Duffy.
"A person that gets a ticket for all a county's league and championship matches will be entitled to an All-Ireland final ticket if their team gets there. Getting tickets for the All-Ireland final is one of the biggest gripes any GAA fan has."
As part of their Strategic Plan for the next six years which was launched earlier this week, the GAA also intends to continue growing revenues from ticket sales, but Duffy insists that supporters won't be hit in the pocket given the current economic climate.
"We have a lot of ideas in that regards," he said.
"We want to make it easier to get tickets and have more people coming to our games. We're not even thinking about increasing the price of tickets next year - that's a given. We'll just have to take the hit in terms of inflation and so on."
Well i'll be doing it. I'd be at most, if not all of the games anyway. And i would struggle to get an AI ticket. It's a win win situation for real fans. The only thing is, how will the price the ticket for the championship, given that you don't know how many games a county will get?
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 28, 2008, 01:26:01 PM
Well i'll be doing it. I'd be at most, if not all of the games anyway. And i would struggle to get an AI ticket. It's a win win situation for real fans. The only thing is, how will the price the ticket for the championship, given that you don't know how many games a county will get?
I'd imagine you'll have to register a credit/debit card and it will be charged for every ticket issued. Have been looking for a system like this for years, hopefully you can buy multiple seats on the one card so that people can sit with her indoors, group, etc.
sure ya dont even get a f*ucking ticket when ya pay 12 quid into the games in the first place. how will the 1 for you 3 for me brigade survive :D
Quote from: orangeman on November 28, 2008, 01:07:17 PM
"A person that gets a ticket for all a county's league and championship matches will be entitled to an All-Ireland final ticket if their team gets there. Getting tickets for the All-Ireland final is one of the biggest gripes any GAA fan has."
Presumably you'll have to register your team allegiance as well, then?
Edit - I suppose you just have to show you bought tickets for all of one county's matches to qualify it that county gets to the AIF.
What would happen if you couldn't get a ticket for a semi-final or quarter-final???
Thats a bit shit if you live outside the green isle!
Hard enough to get a ticket without all this blocking the road
Quote from: orangeman on November 28, 2008, 01:07:17 PMWe're not even thinking about increasing the price of tickets next year - that's a given. We'll just have to take the hit in terms of inflation and so on."
FFS, martyrs eh?? Maybe they might acknowledge that a wee price drop is in order.
Not sure how this will work. Who will be selling the tickets? Will it be the clubs? I'll probably be at all the Tyrone matches so will probably buy one. But if you didnt go to all the games would it not be a lot cheaper just to join a club. Most clubs in Tyrone had tickets for every adult member for the all ireland final last year.
Also would you be able to get a ticket through this scheme and then be entitled to one out of your club as well? Say 6000 or 7000 Tyrone fans bought these (highly unlikely to happen) then surely this would leave clubs short if the 2 werent linked.
the whole gaa ticket system is bolix anyway so if they tighten that up with even basic controls they will generate more money. every time the munster final is in killarney its possible to haggle esp if there is a gang of ye to get a few quid off at the big double gate at the bypass side of the ground. what does that say about controls? how am i supposed to show i was at the game?
its a good idea but will need some work, i go to all kerrys home league games, (plus at least 4 or 5 club games a year) but not to away league games because its just not possible. every time kerry reach an ai i'm always looking for a ticket up to the sat night/sun morning which is a pain in the arse. so some kind of system whereby regular supporters are looked after would be great. an even bigger gripe (maguire01 mentioned it) for me is the fact you cant get seats together for ai, a few years ago i had my 12 year old nephew with me outside croke pk but due to the size of the crowd he wouldn't go in on his own so i had to give away his ticket while his mom took him shopping. its a joke that dads/moms cant sit with their sons/daughters or friends cant sit together for al...
Jasus you moany bastards are never happy .
There wouldn't be a problem if the tickets were allocated to clubs directly rather than county boards. County board officers automatically get/take a ticket and the balance is shared out among the clubs depending on the number of registered players in that county. I have no gripe with county board officers having a ticket, but, in my opinion, the clubs should have the choice to give their members who serve on the board a ticket if it is felt deserved. This would also stop those individuals who are on the county board solely because they automatically get a ticket.
to be honest lads i've haven't misssed a final in the last 14 years (hurling) i've been to some football finals, spare tickets are always available if ya want them
Same here Milltown, nobody is gonna knock on your door and hand you them but we usually have at least 2 or 3 spares every year (hurling).
Quote from: AN other on November 28, 2008, 08:16:34 PM
What would happen if you couldn't get a ticket for a semi-final or quarter-final???
Unless the Dubs are involved, that is never an issue.
Quote from: AFS on November 28, 2008, 08:38:42 PM
A bit shit that you have to go to every game. There'll be plenty of genuine Armagh supporters that'll give the away league game in Cork a miss for obvious reasons.
But surely those who do go to all the games should get priority, because if they're willing to travel to Cork for a league game, then surely they've proved that they're entitled to the chance of an AI ticket.
'Genuine' Armagh fans might miss the Cork game, but the hardy few who do make the journey should surely get priority come the summer.
Quote from: drici on November 29, 2008, 12:14:32 PM
If somebody wanted to go to the Final no matter who was in it, just make a list of the Counties that might reach the Final and buy tickets for all their games.
With a bit of luck, they might even touch for both Finalists and could get a ticket for one of their mates as well though they might have to ring up and explain that they wanted to sit near them in case there was no craic with the other people who were in that area.
Aye, I mind going to a hurling final there a few a years ago and it was boring as fcuk (not just because it was hurling - do people really have a clue where thon wee ball is half the time??), as I had to sit way these auld boys from Cork and they were no crack, as Kilkenny were giving them a beating. I do think however that the gaa probably won't accommodate you if you happen to strike lucky - probably the best thing would be to buy 2/3 season tickets from the teams you think will be in the final and then, when they get there you could have sets of tickets together to give to your mates (via ebay for a nice packet too maybe ;)).
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 30, 2008, 10:19:20 PM
(not just because it was hurling - do people really have a clue where thon wee ball is half the time??),
??? ??? ???
Taken from hoganstand:
The GAA has launched a reduced price Season Ticket for the 2009 season. This is the first of many planned ticketing packages to be introduced over the coming years as part of the Association's continuing development of ticketing operations.
The county and code specific ticket has been designed to meet the unique requirements of the GAA fixtures schedule. The ticket, excellent value at Eu75 entitles the supporter to entry to all Allianz GAA National League round games and the first round of the GAA Senior championship involving their county in their chosen code and a discounted price for all subsequent games, excluding Provincial and All-Ireland final.
There is an in-built loyalty programme involved in the ticket in that, should the supporter's county in the chosen code, qualify for the All-Ireland final then based on a minimum attendance of 60% the supporter is guaranteed an All-Ireland final ticket.
Speaking at the launch, GAA President Nickey Brennan said: "I am very pleased to launch the GAA Season Ticket for 2009, which has been designed to accommodate our unique fixtures programme. I am particularly delighted that loyal supporters now have the opportunity to guarantee themselves a ticket for the All-Ireland final should their county qualify."
The GAA Season Ticket is available through www.gaa.ie
For those who will attend 6 or 7 of their counties nfl games and 1st round of championship €75 is very good value. Will call the bluff of supporters who are normally shouting in September that theyve been to all the matches all year but cant get a ticket for the final. I take it there will be a barcode on the ticket and at every match your ticket will be scanned which will be the proof that you have attended 60% plus of the matches. Definately an excellent idea.
About the GAA Season TicketGAA Season Ticket is county specific & code specific, so that means you need one for hurling and one for football.
The Ticket provides entry to the stand for one person at all of your county's Allianz GAA National League matches & GAA Senior Championship matches.* See Stand Tickets! for more details.
You can buy the Ticket on-line only and you will need a credit card or Laser Card to do so.
You pay an initial base price of €75 that includes all of your county's League round matches plus the opening Championship match. Your credit card or Laser Card will then be charged for each subsequent match that your county plays in whether you attend or not. See Price & Payment for more details.
Dedicated fans will be entitled to All-Ireland Final tickets. See Qualifying for All-Ireland Tickets for more details.
For details on your county specifically click on the relevant code and then select your county: Hurling or Football.
*There are a small number of venues where there is insufficient stand capacity to guarantee a seat. Pre-printing your seat number will also be required for some fixtures, at no additional cost
Think the gaa deserve praise for this initiative. Definately will reward genuine fans who attend all games - they will get a reduction in terms of overall total costs and be guarenteed tickets for all matches. It sounds like you pay €75 initially for the league games and 1st round of c'ship. You then are automatically charged for all other championship matches involving your county (with a €5 reduction - except finals) directly to your credit card.
Attendance for all games will be monitored and if you attend 60% of matches and your team get to final you are guarenteed a ticket. If you attend 100% of games and your county isnt in final you will be entered in draw for all ireland tickets. Will be interesting to see if this improves attendances - its probably happened at a bad time in terms of the economic situation.
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 01, 2008, 02:11:37 PM
Think the gaa deserve praise for this initiative. Definately will reward genuine fans who attend all games - they will get a reduction in terms of overall total costs and be guarenteed tickets for all matches. It sounds like you pay €75 initially for the league games and 1st round of c'ship. You then are automatically charged for all other championship matches involving your county (with a €5 reduction - except finals) directly to your credit card.
Attendance for all games will be monitored and if you attend 60% of matches and your team get to final you are guarenteed a ticket. If you attend 100% of games and your county isnt in final you will be entered in draw for all ireland tickets. Will be interesting to see if this improves attendances - its probably happened at a bad time in terms of the economic situation.
What do you mean by genuine ??
Excellent, will definitely be signing up to this. Wonder will it be possible to sit with other season ticket holders for the sell out games if you book your seats online at the same time??? Pity you can only book 2 on the one card, I'm sure there'll be groups of people who'd be interested in putting it all on the one card and sitting together...
I may be in a minority but I disagree with this scheme in principle. If attending 60% of matches is the maximum you have to do to get an All-Ireland Final ticket then where's the incentive for volunteerism within your local club? Why should the clubs allocation be cut making them unable to facilitate genuine club people that give their time over the course of a year at the expense of other people from the area that offer nothing to the club and just attend county matches?
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2008, 02:24:23 PM
Excellent, will definitely be signing up to this. Wonder will it be possible to sit with other season ticket holders for the sell out games if you book your seats online at the same time??? Pity you can only book 2 on the one card, I'm sure there'll be groups of people who'd be interested in putting it all on the one card and sitting together...
could ya not just buy two season cards?
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 01, 2008, 02:46:48 PM
I may be in a minority but I disagree with this scheme in principle. If attending 60% of matches is the maximum you have to do to get an All-Ireland Final ticket then where's the incentive for volunteerism within your local club? Why should the clubs allocation be cut making them unable to facilitate genuine club people that give their time over the course of a year at the expense of other people from the area that offer nothing to the club and just attend county matches?
In reality only around 5000 max (probably being very generous) would attend 60% plus of Tyrone games in a year. Last year Tyrone got 15,000 tickets for the final. There's approx 60 clubs in Tyrone (including hurling etc). 10,000 tickets left for 60 clubs would be around 165 tickets each. That should more than cater for club volunteers/players. The people who may be effected are those who pay £20 to join a club in January and are next seen in September demanding an All Ireland ticket. Also being a club volunteer doesnt stop you supporting your county - the 2 arent in competition.
Great idea to reward those people who support Tyrone all year and not just when theres a ticket shortage.
Quote from: southderryman on December 01, 2008, 03:40:39 PM
I was talking about groups of more than 2...
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2008, 04:03:50 PM
Quote from: southderryman on December 01, 2008, 03:40:39 PM
I was talking about groups of more than 2...
read that wrong! :-[
i see what ya mean, but at least they've finally made a start trying to sort things out. for years people have been complaining (and rightly so) about ticket distribution. at least the gaa are taking steps in the right direction to try and reward the most loyal supporters.
Its not often i praise them, but i have to say well done this time.
anyway, if derry ever actually managed to get to an AI final again the last thing i'd be bothered about is where i am sitting!
For me, this is really great value. Not sure if I will be able to attend all the League games, but I know I will attend a fair few of them. Knowing that we (Tyrone) play in Croker for the first game of the season 75 euro is great value to be able to attend all the games (plus first Championship game).
I will definately be availing of this, although does anyone know if Maestro Cards will work? I don't have a credit card. Never trust myself with them.
Maestro/Laser cards do indeed work, booked mine with it last night. Convinced the woman to sign up too but she wouldn't accept it as a Christmas present, u win some, u lose some... :P
I'd say you'll be able to sit beside anyone who pays at the gate(child/student/mate), it's just that you won't be able to sit together in the designated area (if the league ground has one), although I'm sure if u arrive early and flash something similar/have a quiet word the steward in charge will wave you in. Regarding being billed for not attending games, well you'd have to miss 4 of the first 8 games to actually lose money on this...
Doohicky, a BOI Maestro Card from the north will not work for this, mine has just been rejected >:(
Quote from: rage on December 02, 2008, 11:06:20 AM
Doohicky, a BOI Maestro Card from the north will not work for this, mine has just been rejected >:(
Ah, big hairy balls to that then. Good thing I did not go down and put money into the account for this then. (I use a seperate account for all my Maestro stuff). Looks like it's down to begging others to put it on their Credit Card for me.
think were missing something anout the 60% if you buy the seSON TICKET . is it not a given that you were at the match. or do they have some way of checking that you actually attended ? could someone else use the ticket surely they wont have electronice equipment to scan them at all grounds next year.
Or are they chatting FBD,mcgrath o'byrne cup games as well?
Quote from: rosnarun on December 03, 2008, 12:46:12 AM
think were missing something anout the 60% if you buy the seSON TICKET . is it not a given that you were at the match. or do they have some way of checking that you actually attended ? could someone else use the ticket surely they wont have electronice equipment to scan them at all grounds next year.
Or are they chatting FBD,mcgrath o'byrne cup games as well?
I'd imagine they will have one of them barcode scanners they use in Croker at every ground in the country now to record your attendance and can't imagine it'll be any problem for someone else to use your ticket if u can't go. Not valid for FBD,mcgrath o'byrne cup...
two tickets purchased already! Excellent value (it was £11 into NFL Games last year)and a guarantee of All Ireland Final tickets for Armagh V Kerry in 2009! I'll probably get freebies for the championhsip as well which I will sell and use to finance the season ticket purchase ;D
Quote from: T Fearon on December 03, 2008, 10:30:28 AMI'll probably get freebies for the championhsip as well which I will sell
Why am I not surprised? I'm sure all the people who have provided you with said freebies over the years will be hugely impressed with your generosity when the opportunity arose to reciprocate.
This seems an admirable scheme, especially for those of us living outside our counties who are obviously peripheral to any clubs in that county. Apart from anything else it sorts out a ticket for the first championship game, which might be hard enough to do if you are in Armagh or Tyrone.
Cue a row though when some ground somewhere hasn't got the scanners or whatever and they don't properly record if you attended or not.
Armaghmaniac, there wasn't a row last year when thousands of people paid £11 thinking we were going to watch Armagh play Dublin and the game was called off without any refund. In otherwords I paid 1/5 of the cost of the season ticket last year and didn't even see a game ::)
I also understand that sales are limited to 250 per county, so at the most there's only 248 left for Armagh currently ;D
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 03, 2008, 09:34:08 AM
can't imagine it'll be any problem for someone else to use your ticket if u can't go.
Terms and conditions outlines that it must be yourself who uses the ticket and that they may ask for ID...
Quote from: AN other on December 03, 2008, 01:42:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 03, 2008, 09:34:08 AM
can't imagine it'll be any problem for someone else to use your ticket if u can't go.
Terms and conditions outlines that it must be yourself who uses the ticket and that they may ask for ID...
:D some chance of that happening...
Cannot see anything wrong with this scheme whatsover. You are making huge savings getting 7 NFL Games and Championship round 1 for less than a total of £65 (thats less than I pay for one ticket to an Ireland soccer game at Croker), and guaranteed tickets all through the championship (remember last year when it was difficult enough to get a ticket for the Ulster Final) and that magical feeling if you're watching your team win an AI Semi Final that your Final ticket is assured.
Think I might get one. I might get to tip over for the odd league game and it'll get me a seat for Meath beating Dublin. if they arent gone already that is.
The Meath ticket will also grant access to the Royals defeat in Armagh in the league as well ;D
Ahem!
Meath 0-15 Armagh 2-5
NFL 2006
Meath 0-19 Armagh 1-9
NFL 2008
Meath 3-07 Armagh 1-06
There was another game that ended in a draw played in Navan but I cant remember the year or result,
Quote1999
Meath 0-15 Armagh 2-5
NFL 2006
Meath 0-19 Armagh 1-9
NFL 2008
Meath 3-07 Armagh 1-06
Which of these were played in Armagh?
None of those, are you saying Armagh are having trouble winning away from home? thats a shame
with mayos 1st round game in new york Price of the ticket will be kinda of secondary. anyone one a cheap 5 star hotel near Gaelic park
Quotewith mayos 1st round game in new york
There is a case for this not being counted in the season ticket scheme.
" Mayo Football
The base price of €75 includes:
7 Allianz GAA Football National League 2009 round matches
Quarter Final of GAA Football Connacht Championship (v. New York)
Should Mayo win the Quarter Final: Semi Final of GAA Football Connacht Championship (v. Leitrim or Roscommon) "
Its included alright. But you also get a ticket for the semi
Armagh and Meath drew in Navan in 2004. Remember it well as it helped me win the BBC's prediction competition that season.
Nothwithstanding the fact that Meath never faced Armagh in the championship in the glory years (2000-2008),by my reckoning the last time Armagh beat Meath was in the league in Navan in 1998. Also if memory serves me right, Meath haven't played competitively on Armagh soil since the league game in Killeavy way back in 1983. Could be wrong about this though.
Got my Tyrone ticket ordered. It says I should expect the ticket/card within the next few days.
Does anyone think that is accurate and that we will receive them that soon?
Drici, I don't recall this match, and apparently the legend that was Tidsy Mc Kerr scored a goal, from full back, as well? Was the Meath centre half back not called Harnan as opposed to Harney which is a good Armagh name?
Doohicky you'll not need your ticket till the end of January so what does it matter when it arrives
couple of points im not sure about
1) is it 60% of the Nat league games that must be attended or is it 60% of all your counties game including Nat league and championship
2) how will they know if you attend or not
I have been led to believe that it would be 60% of National League games, but I could be wrong.
I assume they will have to have scanners at every game now. Which sounds a bit naff to me considering there will only be 500 people max at each game who will use them, unless it is a Hurling/Football double header which would mean 1000 people max would need them.
Lads, there is a load of detail on GAA.ie which explains the system. You have to attend 60% of your county's games in both league and championship to qualify for an AI Final ticket, and there will be a special turnstile at most grounds for season ticket holders, where your ticket will be scanned and your entry recorded, or if there isn't you have to preprint a voucher and hand it in at no additional cost and you wil be kept up to date with emails etc
Quote from: T Fearon on December 04, 2008, 01:08:44 PM
Lads, there is a load of detail on GAA.ie which explains the system. You have to attend 60% of your county's games in both league and championship to qualify for an AI Final ticket, and there will be a special turnstile at most grounds for season ticket holders, where your ticket will be scanned and your entry recorded, or if there isn't you have to preprint a voucher and hand it in at no additional cost and you wil be kept up to date with emails etc
its not that we can't read so much as dont believe that all grounds will be that organised. esp in the lower divisons . at some away matches it can be hard enough to find the way in at all without local knowledge never mind a special season ticket one
it might be interesting to correlate "All Ireland Football 2009 - To Reach The Final" odds (from the GAA odds thread) with purchases of season tickets!
But then again Kerry won't bother as they don't plan to go to the games all along, Cork haven't many football fans and who knows what will happen with them. You'd expect Dublin's quota to sell out and reasonable interest from Tyrone, Armagh, Galway and Mayo. Derry should have enough tickets to cater for those who attend county games.
it doesnt matter the higher people of society will always have first pick and rightly so, some people dont want to go to games all year they just want to go to the final and if they have the reddies to do so i say more power to them, i believe might = right regarding tickets they only person who deserves one is the person with one in their hand
Quote from: thehulk!! on December 08, 2008, 02:49:44 PM
it doesnt matter the higher people of society will always have first pick and rightly so, some people dont want to go to games all year they just want to go to the final and if they have the reddies to do so i say more power to them, i believe might = right regarding tickets they only person who deserves one is the person with one in their hand
I am guessing schools are finished for Christmas or you are a WUM
Either way, ::)
Anybody actually got the season ticket yet. I see my credit card has been charged this morning and the first games aren't until the end of January :o
Quote from: T Fearon on December 08, 2008, 03:38:01 PM
Anybody actually got the season ticket yet. I see my credit card has been charged this morning and the first games aren't until the end of January :o
You bought tickets? :o
Didn't I confirm this earlier in the thread? Way I see it, you can't get enough All Ireland Final tickets if your county is involved, so if a few freebies turn up here and there, on top of the purchased tickets, I'll still make good use of them ;)
Quote from: T Fearon on December 08, 2008, 03:38:01 PM
I assume you didn't read the receipt thingy after you ordered then? It said that the ticket would be sent out in the next few days and if it had not arrived to contact such and such... (GAA ticket site I think)
Of course when I asked about this earlier you were too busy being snide and pointing to FAQs explaining everything, so not surprised you missed it.
If anyone does receive their ticket any time soon, post to let us know. If mine takes much longer than other peoples I will know to contact them about it.
May have been addressed earlier in the thread (can't be arsed), but I take it there's nothing to stop leeches who'll purchase the ticket and just give it out for others to use, then nab the AIF ticket?
Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2008, 07:55:09 PM
May have been addressed earlier in the thread (can't be arsed), but I take it there's nothing to stop leeches who'll purchase the ticket and just give it out for others to use, then nab the AIF ticket?
Hard to say really...
It does say only one person can use the ticket, but whether it will be enforced is another thing. Will they ask for ID when you show the ticket or not?
I am sort of hoping they don't. I plan to go to pretty much every Tyrone match this year, bar maybe the Mayo game as it's just too far to travel. But if for some reason I can't make a game, I would like to be able to give it to a family member who is going to save them a few bob.
However I see what you mean about people using it for the final and nothing else.
Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2008, 07:55:09 PM
Can't tickets be traced now? Surely that could be used to combat this foreseeable problem/cheat.
How so?
From what I hear, codes are broken down to County Board - then club - then allocation number. Easy enough to trace back.
Did anyone who had bought a touted ticket get refused entry to this years AIF? There was quite a bit of noise from HQ about this - I wonder did anything happen in actuality?
Quote from: ziggysego on December 08, 2008, 08:51:27 PM
From what I hear, codes are broken down to County Board - then club - then allocation number. Easy enough to trace back.
I think you are getting the wrong end of the stick here.
ONeill is (I think) asking about a person who buys the Season ticket, doesn't attend ANY matches (Just gives the ticket to friends/family/people they know all year long and then uses it to get a final ticket despite going to no games.
It may happen, but I think the positives of the majority of people actually going to the games will far outweigh this small minority.
Yes, can't see how someone else using your season ticket can be traced.
Probably being negative but it's a nice present for little Johnny at Christmas, a 2009 AIF ticket, even though he mightn't set foot at a game until then.
Surely the GAA can introduce some kind of photo ident turnstiles at the major ground(s) in every county. You swipe the card and the details come up including photo. If my school canteen can do it....
You don't know Fearon.
If OAPs and Students have to show ID then it shouldn't be too difficult for the season ticket. There aren't too many that don't have some form of Photo identification.
I reckon anyone getting one of these tickets at this time of year is probably going to use it and get good value from it.
Id say if Im willing to spend 75 euro on a ticket now, sell maybe about 13 tickets for different matches throughout the year and then fork out for the final ticket, well I know the final tickets are hard come by, but lads seriously that sounds a bit extreme to get my hands on one.
Shane thats amazing. Is the dinners at your school so under threat from insatiable overeaters that extreme security measures are necessary? Whay next, electronic tagging of all fatties, or gagging their mouths securely?
Quote from: T Fearon on December 09, 2008, 08:51:23 AM
Shane thats amazing. Is the dinners at your school so under threat from insatiable overeaters that extreme security measures are necessary? Whay next, electronic tagging of all fatties, or gagging their mouths securely?
I think you are putting a bit of bait out there Tony ;)
Sorry lads, I'm too lazy (busy! I meant busy!) to read all 6 pages. Is this a dual-code scenario, i.e. can you buy one season ticket to cover both codes?
If not (as I suspect), then we might as well just split the organisation into GFA and GHA while we're at it ......
You need a separate ticket for each code. If this system does what it says on the tin, I cannot see any drawbacks. For fans who attend most (ie at least 60%) if not all of their county's NFL and Championship games they are getting reduced price admissions (apart from the provinical and AI Final) and more importantly a guaranteed AI Final ticket if their county reaches this stage.A good deal if you are a supporter of one of the stronger footballing counties like Armagh and Kerry, and absolute bliss if you're a Kilkenny hurling fan ;D
Quotemore importantly a guaranteed AI Final ticket if their county reaches this stage.A good deal if you are a supporter of one of the stronger footballing counties like Armagh
What would an Armagh fan need with an All-Ireland ticket then?
QuoteWhat would an Armagh fan need with an All-Ireland ticket then?
Boylesports All Ireland Football 2009 03 May 15:00 - To Reach The Final
Armagh 9/1
Antrim 350/1
At least an Armagh fan can expect to make an AI within a decade rather than 4 lifetimes.
Also when Armagh club sides reach All Ireland Finals tehy tend to win them and not choke like St Galls ;D
the pathetic thing about all of this is that somehow in the gaa there is a belief that if two people have €60 for an all ireland ticket the person who deserves that ticket is for some other reason than hard cash, that im afraid does not work its economically flawed. Might equals right in my book, if person A earns more than person B should they not deserve the ticket more cause they can pay more. the most pathetic thing about the lot is people give off about the above but when a comapny does the exact same there is no problem, as soon as a team reaches an all ireland the local club gets the call that the local company wants 10 tickets if not there will be no sponsorship next year, ive seen it done ive even made the phone call while at college on an internship, no problems and no issue, but if person A gets tickets simply cause they are rich there is hell to pay despite the fact that clubs are auctioning tickets left right and centre to the highest bidder but in true gaa fashion we like to forget our own shortcomings and blame someone else, when the hard fact of the matter remains tickets for an all ireland final should be no less than €200 it makes absolutely no sense to have them any less, its not a charity its a comodity, and as adam smith said the invisible hand always comes into action.
I always get tickets anyways but people will be still harping on about the same old bull all the time suggesting the man who can or wont pay for his ticket is the man most deserving- what total bull
Quotewhen the hard fact of the matter remains tickets for an all ireland final should be no less than €200
this bit alone makes some sense, charge €200 and an give a discount for people who've already attended a large number of games. If you haven't already put your hand in your pocket during the year then €200 it is.
Quote from: thehulk!! on December 09, 2008, 05:01:03 PM
the hard fact of the matter remains tickets for an all ireland final should be no less than €200 it makes absolutely no sense to have them any less, its not a charity its a comodity
Is it not a charity? Maybe not technically, but it doesn't make a profit for shareholders, rather it makes a surplus to reinvest within the Association.
And charging €200 to a game would be totally against the ethos of the organisation.
Can't believe anyone replies to that guy. He's cleary a WUm and if the forum allowed it he would be on ignore for me.
Just ignore him and don't reply to anything he says. He'll get bored eventually.
Purchased my ticket this evening! I'll be up by the end of the league - i had planned to go to all 7 games already.
according to the paper today, Dublin football season tickets are sold out and Tyrone football and Kilkenny hurling are well on the way to selling out. This is logical enough as Dublin tickets will always be in short supply and teams likely to reach the final are going to sell more of these season tickets.
Yeah, I cant see too many being shifted in Kilkenny (for football). Surprised Tyrone the greatest GAA county in the world hasn't shifted their allocation yet.
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 12:04:39 PM
Yeah, I cant see too many being shifted in Kilkenny (for football). Surprised Tyrone the greatest GAA county in the world hasn't shifted their allocation yet.
Was wondering the same thing about Armagh with their 'Greatest fans in the world' They aren't even close to selling out.
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 12:04:39 PM
http://www.tyronegaa.ie/countyboard/news/story.jsp?newsid=713 (http://www.tyronegaa.ie/countyboard/news/story.jsp?newsid=713)
Not many left in Tyrone Tony.
Well I have done my bit anyway and bought two Armagh tickets. Was talking to two prominent Portadown gaels this morning and neither knew much about the scheme by the way. Is the GAA not getting its message across properly?
For anyone wondering about when the tickets will arrive, just recieved this email today:
Derry Football GAA Season Ticket 2009
Sent: 10 December 2008 15:39:20
To: tickets@gaa.ie
1 attachment(s)
A chara l...doc (82.1 KB)
A chara,
You have purchased a Derry Football GAA Season Ticket.
The Season Ticket cards will posted out to you in January.
If you have bought this as a gift for somebody please see attached a letter that you can give to them as proof of purchase.
Le fíor-mheas,
GAA Ticket Office
Comhgháirdeas, a chara!
You are the now the proud owner of a GAA Season Ticket for your county.
Your Season Ticket will be sent to you well in advance of the opening Allianz GAA National League fixtures.
Some important dates for you:
- 27th January 2009 – Cut-off for receipt of your Season Ticket
- 31st January / 1st February – Opening round of Allianz GAA Football National League
- 9th February – Opening round of Allianz GAA Hurling National League
As a dedicated supporter you will be the first to enjoy the many benefits we have planned for the GAA Season Ticket holder. These will include:
- First refusal on special events and fixtures, e.g. International Rules
- The right to purchase a second ticket beside you for certain reserved seating fixtures
- Right to renew for any similar Season Ticket scheme in 2010
The GAA Ticket Office will contact you regularly throughout the season.
Keep an eye on GAA.ie for all the latest on your GAA Season Ticket.
Le meas,
GAA Ticket Office
Delighted to see they are introducing other benefits along with these tickets, hopefully the crowds at league games will pick up as a result...
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2008, 04:15:51 PM
And I wanted to flash mine at all the best Xmas parties ;D
just print the letter and bring that with ye! ;D
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 10, 2008, 04:17:26 PM
And the attached letter to the email above reads...
Comhgháirdeas, a chara!
You are the now the proud owner of a GAA Season Ticket for your county.
Your Season Ticket will be sent to you well in advance of the opening Allianz GAA National League fixtures.
Some important dates for you:
- 27th January 2009 – Cut-off for receipt of your Season Ticket
- 31st January / 1st February – Opening round of Allianz GAA Football National League
- 9th February – Opening round of Allianz GAA Hurling National League
As a dedicated supporter you will be the first to enjoy the many benefits we have planned for the GAA Season Ticket holder. These will include:
- First refusal on special events and fixtures, e.g. International Rules
- The right to purchase a second ticket beside you for certain reserved seating fixtures
- Right to renew for any similar Season Ticket scheme in 2010
The GAA Ticket Office will contact you regularly throughout the season.
Keep an eye on GAA.ie for all the latest on your GAA Season Ticket.
Le meas,
GAA Ticket Office
Delighted to see they are introducing other benefits along with these tickets, hopefully the crowds at league games will pick up as a result...
aye its good to see alright, finally doing something right for supporters. i dont feel it will affect attendences too much considering there are only 250 available for each county. Personally speaking its not as if there's ever a shortage of tickets for derry matches as our support as very small, but its handy for those like myself who are not club members but attend almost every game.
QuoteThe right to purchase a second ticket beside you for certain reserved seating fixtures
This is good. Some provision for a season ticket holder to take part in family tickets would also be welcome, even in less favourable seats. You might want to bring the brood to a big summer game but not to every league game.
QuoteRight to renew for any similar Season Ticket scheme in 2010
this might prove useful if the thing is a success and there are more people involved.
Quotehopefully the crowds at league games will pick up as a result...
250 per county won't have that much impact on home league attendance, it might lead to a few more making the longer trips e.g. Ulster to Kerry/Cork or vv.
Quote from: armaghniac on December 10, 2008, 04:35:52 PM
Quotehopefully the crowds at league games will pick up as a result...
250 per county won't have that much impact on home league attendance, it might lead to a few more making the longer trips e.g. Ulster to Kerry/Cork or vv.
Was thinking over the long term. If this proves popular hopefully the GAA make more than 250 available next year and more the year after that. Saturday night/Sunday afternoon in springtime produces great football and entertainment, no reason there can't/shouldn't be larger attendances than there currently is...
Got mine(email), so I am happy for now. I actually am glad they are sending out in January. this time of year there are so many letters/parcels going everywhere that the chances of the tickets being lost is bigger, not to mention all the temp staff. In January there is less chance of postal mistakes.
Monaghan v Armagh is down on the GAA's fixture lists as being on the Sunday, however my confirmation after buying my ticket had this game as being on the Saturday night. Anyone got any confirmation either way? I realise the Athletics Grounds is now floodlit, so it could be either.
i see tyrones allocation is sold out. what are the chances of a second allocation? is it now a closed shop forever as these season ticket holders now have first refusal for future years.
Quote from: clarshack on December 10, 2008, 09:51:09 PM
i see tyrones allocation is sold out. what are the chances of a second allocation? is it now a closed shop forever as these season ticket holders now have first refusal for future years.
Tyrone and Dublin now gone - wonder what other counties are likely to sell out?
Given that only 2 counties have sold their allocation of season tickets and that one of those counties (i.e. Dublin) has a massive population - and 250 tickets is a very small proportion of their fanbase, and the other county (Tyrone) would be considered likely to get to next year's AI final and those fans may well get to claim their final ticket, can we assume that the griping about 'real fans' going to matches all year and not being able to get a ticket for the final is actually crap?
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 28, 2008, 12:11:43 PM
Given that only 2 counties have sold their allocation of season tickets and that one of those counties (i.e. Dublin) has a massive population - and 250 tickets is a very small proportion of their fanbase, and the other county (Tyrone) would be considered likely to get to next year's AI final and those fans may well get to claim their final ticket, can we assume that the griping about 'real fans' going to matches all year and not being able to get a ticket for the final is actually crap?
Yes! The gaa have called there bluff on this one. No doubt there will still be people next September saying theyve been to every county game all year but arent connected to a club and therefore have no ticket. But they will have a "genuine" reason for not getting a season ticket!
[/b]
Not a doubt in it - pure and utter shite !
some people will have a genuine reason for not getting a season ticket. In the current economic climate it may be that they cannot afford it. Also as there is no family element you cannot buy a ticket an end up sitting in a different stand from a child. Although there will be those who are talking crap!
I know the economic climate isnt good but if you know your going to go to every game next year then there is some saving in it. It will be €15 roughly into league games next year (€20 for Tyrone Dublin) and Im sure it will be at least €20 for 1st round of championship. Thats a combined cost of €125 (€130 for Tyrone Dublin fans).
The economics make perfect sense. However, some people will hope that their situatiion will improve over the year and may hold back. Although there may be a trend in reduced attendances during the year too.
Quote from: Throw ball on December 28, 2008, 05:16:25 PM
some people will have a genuine reason for not getting a season ticket. In the current economic climate it may be that they cannot afford it. Also as there is no family element you cannot buy a ticket an end up sitting in a different stand from a child. Although there will be those who are talking crap!
Very true, a lot of people are unsure about their jobs or finances, I'd imagine several will be unwilling to pay up front now.
Quote from: AFS on December 28, 2008, 08:16:17 PM
Not necessarily. At the minute the tickets only suit a certain group of supporters. As a student it makes no financial sense for me to buy one of them, even though I'll be at 5 or 6 of my county's league games minimum and definitely at the first championship game.
For me to pay at the gate is: (7 X €5 = €35) + (1 X €25 = €25) = Total = €60
But a season ticket is €75
Didn't realise it was only €5 for students. Didn't think it was that cheap during my last stint as a scrounger. Ah well something to look forward to then. When you put it like that AFS I mightn't bother myself either as I'll probably not go to Cork and wouldn't be certain about Wexford.
The other thing that would put me off is that I'm toying witht he idea of going to America for the Summer and wouldn't want the money taken out of my account if I end up not going to games. Would say there'd be a few in that boat as well. Still think its a good initiative right enough but needs a bit of fine tuning.
I think you can cancel the ticket come the summer if you were going away. However you would automatically be ruled out of contention for a final ticket if your county got there.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 28, 2008, 06:47:36 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on December 28, 2008, 05:16:25 PM
Very true, a lot of people are unsure about their jobs or finances, I'd imagine several will be unwilling to pay up front now.
Totally agree. Tough times and €75 is a significant amont of money to hand out in one go. Maybe the GAA could have taken the money in a few more installments, although this may have made the administration costs higher.
At the same time, those who do buy a ticket and attend the games (and this is a very small proportion of people after all) will surely deserve their ticket to the final ahead of those who haven't attended throughout the year, for whatever reason.
any word on when these tickets will arrive?
Nope. No one that I know has got their ticket yet. It's annoying me as I want to have my Ticket for the Dublin game sorted and I can't do that until my Season Ticket arrives. I am assuming for the anniversary game we will have to pre book. If we don't then no worries.
Interesting to look at the individual county sales of season tickets, heres how many were sold as of yesterday--
Football Hurling
Team---------Tickets sold Team---------Tickets Sold
Dublin Sold Out (250) Cavan 28 Tipperary 237
Tyrone Sold Out (250) Wexford 21 Limerick 128
Mayo 220 Louth 15 Waterford 109
Kerry 216 Longford 13 Kilkenny 102
Armagh 176 Offaly 13 Galway 99
Meath 117 Wicklow 9 Clare 61
Monaghan 96 Cork 8 (!) Cork 56
Galway 77 Carlow 7 Wexford 13
Westmeath 65 Limerick 7 Dublin 12
Donegal 56 Leitrim 6 Antrim 3
Roscommon 55 Sligo 5 Laois 0
Kildare 41 Antrim 3 Offaly 0
Down 40 Clare 1
Fermanagh 39 Kilkenny 0
Laois 34 London 0
Derry 30 Tipperary 0
Waterford 0
Only 8 football tickets sold in Cork! More sold in Kerry and Mayo than in the rest of Munster and Connacht put together.
Only Tipp hurling and Mayo, Kerry and maybe Armagh football likely to sell out.
Cork people aren't bothered in either football or hurling. Galway footballers would have a reasonable chance of reaching the final, but there is little enough interest for a place with substantial population, the neighbours in Mayo are well ahead. The bookies would also give Derry some chance of playing in September, but there is never going to be a shortage of tickets in Derry! One wonders if the Kerry folk will get to enough games to qualify for the AI ticket, there aren't many neighbours in Div 1.
Very interesting. To be fair, there's plenty of slagging of Kerry's support, but there's obviously a decent enough 'hardcore' base. Monaghan also punching well above their weight in terms of population.
Some of the lower figures are scandalous! It's not just about likelihood of getting to the AIF - there's value in the tickets themselves, regardless of how far your county progresses. I suppose the proximity of your opposition in the league would have a big bearing on this as well.
Quote from: sam03/05 on January 05, 2009, 11:10:49 PM
any word on when these tickets will arrive?
Dont think they're being sent out until the week before the first round of the league.
Tipp hurling tickets now all gone also.
Season tickets arriving just ahead of the first league game.
Earlier this month I also shelled out 140 euros for 1 ticket to the Ireland V Georgia and Bulgaria World Cup qualifiers (no wonder the GAA want to retain soccer and rugby at Croke Park). So shelling out 75 euros for a GAA season ticket isn't so bad at all.
Bulgaria game is on a Saturday night in late March and cashes with Armagh's league game against Meath >:(
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 28, 2008, 05:53:17 PM
I know the economic climate isnt good but if you know your going to go to every game next year then there is some saving in it. It will be €15 roughly into league games next year (€20 for Tyrone Dublin) and Im sure it will be at least €20 for 1st round of championship. Thats a combined cost of €125 (€130 for Tyrone Dublin fans).
This economics only works if your frpm the South and paying in Euro's
Last years cost of National league and first round Ulster in Sterling
7 National League Matches (7*£10?) and One round Ulster - (1 * £15?) = £85 and given the excahnge rate is practically 1:1 - your only saving £10, so if you miss more than one match - your actually losing money
Personally i'm not buying it for this (and as Down has 4 away matches - closest of which is in Longford - I don't think i'll make all 4) and because I would much prefer to be in the Terrace at every match and the season ticket only gains admission to the stands.
Quote from: Lazer on January 13, 2009, 01:02:24 PM
7 National League Matches (7*£10?) and One round Ulster - (1 * £15?) = £85 and given the excahnge rate is practically 1:1 - your only saving £10, so if you miss more than one match - your actually losing money
Personally i'm not buying it for this (and as Down has 4 away matches - closest of which is in Longford - I don't think i'll make all 4) and because I would much prefer to be in the Terrace at every match and the season ticket only gains admission to the stands.
I don't know about you, but when I go to away games which are down south I have to pay in Euro's at the gates, not in sterling.
Also when I bought the Season ticket the exchange rate wasn't as it is now. So I got the ticket for around £60 I believe.
THEN add in that one of Tyrone's games is the anniversary game which is 20 euros and it all adds up to a huge saving for me.
T_Fearon: (Or anyone in the know) Do you know how booking seats for the Anniversary game will work? Are they holding back 500 seats for us Season ticket holders until just before hand as we can not book our seats yet. Or do they not expect a sell out anyway allowing us to just turn up on the day with our season tickets?
From what I read before, I understand that seats in the middle of the Cusack are being reserved for season ticket holders for Championship games in Croke Park. I presume this will also apply for the Anniversary game...
Hey any sign of these plastic cards. Some great supporters from around the country, put yer money where yer heart is..
Croi thats my understanding as well, one good section in the Lower Cusack is allocated to season ticket holders. The big unanswered question here is will it happen as it says on the tin? Ie Will Dublin and Tyrone season ticket holders simply walk into that section for the opening game, will there be automated turnstiles for season ticket holders.
I know one guy whose wife bought him a season ticket for an Ulster County and none of the stewards at last week's Mc Kenna Cup game was even aware of it (not that it could have been used for a Mc Kenna game). All the same you'd expect that stewards would at least be up to speed with the system and its workings with only a few weeks to go.
My dilemma is that I have purchased a Higan Ticket (at 70 euros) for the Ireland and Bulgaria game, which is an evening kick off on March 28th and clashes directly with Armagh and Meath throw in 7.30pm on the same evening, so I will miss that game and the benefit of my GAA season ticket
Tony have you received your ticket / card yet or had any notification that its on its way.
On the Stewards front I wouldn't worry too much.
When my friends used to Steward at County matches a few years ago they would know nothing about the game (Beyond who was playing and where) until they got there that day and were informed of any special circumstances.
Hopefully this is still the case and they will all be told on the day.
rrhf, received communication when I bought the ticket that it would be sent out just prior to the opening game, which I suppose makes sense as it gives less time for some eejits to lose it. However my credit card was charged on the day of purchase so the GAA is banking a tody little sum way before the league even starts
Wouldn't have thought they'd have any problem with you going into the terrace with a season ticket. No odds to them if you stand rather than take up the seat unless the game's sold out which few enough are.
My guess is that it will be £13 into league games this year. Also an extra £4 or so for the Tyrone Dubs game.
20 euros into the Dublin Tyrone game, which at Current rates converts to about £18.80 stg
I have just received an email from these season ticket folks, among other things it says "Check out how your Season Ticket will look by clicking this link – ticket" but there is no link. Later it says "As you know all Season Ticket holders must enter each venue via a designated entry point - the Season Stile. Each Season Stile will be clearly signposted with a sign that looks like this – sign. " there is no image or link. Is this just my mailer or are they not checking their emails?
Just your email setup, links below...
(http://www.seasonticket.gaa.ie/files/GAA%20Football%20Card.jpg)
What the fcuk do I want a Galway crest on my season ticket for??? :P (just in case)...
Edit: The images of the sign are seriously large, don't want to crash anyone hooking up on low speed or on handhelds, can view them from this link... http://www.seasonticket.gaa.ie/gaaseasonstileinformation.html (http://www.seasonticket.gaa.ie/gaaseasonstileinformation.html)
You'd think they could have made an effort and got these out a few weeks in advance. Does anyone know if you have anything to do to get your ticket for the Tyrone Dublin game or will they be sent out automatically?
They are leaving everything to the last minute. Tickets will not be posted out until Monday or Tuesday of next week.
QuoteA chara,
This is the first of many updates on your GAA Season Ticket! This is the new dedicated email address for all Season Ticket holders. Please refer any queries or questions to seasonticket@gaa.ie from now on.
Delivery of Season Tickets
All GAA Football Season Tickets will be sent on Monday 26th & Tuesday 27th January. This means you will have your Season Ticket in time for your team's opening Allianz GAA National League match on 31st January or 1st February. Check out how your Season Ticket will look by clicking this link – ticket.
Exclusive Special Offer for Season Ticket holders – 15% discount on www.gaashop.ie
Want to look the part at your county's matches this year? Here's a good place to start.
Elverys Sport: The Official Online GAA Shop (www.gaashop.ie) are offering 15% discount on all purchases over EUR65 to all GAA Season Ticket holders. To avail of this exclusive offer please enter the promotional code below in the box provided when purchasing GAA merchandise on www.gaashop.ie
The promotional code is 43PLXY0 and is valid until 31st May 2009.
Terms & Conditions apply and these can be viewed on the website.
Season Stiles
As you know all Season Ticket holders must enter each venue via a designated entry point - the Season Stile. Each Season Stile will be clearly signposted with a sign that looks like this – sign.
A full list of all venues and the corresponding Season Stiles will be available on your dedicated Season Ticket website – www.seasonticket.gaa.ie. We will also email you directly in advance of each fixture to let you know where to go when you get to the venue.
Best of luck to you and your team in 2009.
Le meas,
GAA Ticket Office.
The only issue i have is that you have to go to one end of the ground. What if you're with a number of people who don't have a season ticket and they're not able to get into the stand? I'd be quite happy to go on the terrace with my season ticket.
Most league venues it wont really matter as the whole place will be open when you go in so you can wander about wherever you like.
Clones and Parnell Park keep terraces/stands separated so presumably you'll get cut off from your mates there.
Quote from: Rossfan on January 21, 2009, 10:42:51 PM
Most league venues it wont really matter as the whole place will be open when you go in so you can wander about wherever you like.
Clones and Parnell Park keep terraces/stands separated so presumably you'll get cut off from your mates there.
Most venues are segregated are they not? Cavan, Enniskillen, Ballybofey, Omagh, Casement...
not sending it out untill tuesday
hopefully get it before saturday morning >:(
Quote from: sam03/05 on January 21, 2009, 11:55:59 PM
not sending it out untill tuesday
hopefully get it before saturday morning >:(
Aye, really stupid, I would like to think that if it doesn't arrive there is some way to get in without it. HOPEFULLY they are sent out by the respective counties and NOT from HQ, otherwise us Nordies have a very high chance of not receiving tickets in time.
And I hope they have 500 seats reserved at Croke Park for us in the Stand since there will be no time to get a ticket.
Lads, have to say Im impressed so far. Looks like its really well organised, and I can't wait to flash it . ;D
I assume the white space is where the barcode will be?
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 10, 2009, 09:52:27 PM
Interesting to look at the individual county sales of season tickets, heres how many were sold as of yesterday--
Football Hurling
Dublin Sold Out (250) Cavan 28 Tipperary 237
Tyrone Sold Out (250) Wexford 21 Limerick 128
Mayo 220 Louth 15 Waterford 109
Kerry 216 Longford 13 Kilkenny 102
Armagh 176 Offaly 13 Galway 99
Meath 117 Wicklow 9 Clare 61
Monaghan 96 Cork 8 (!) Cork 56
Galway 77 Carlow 7 Wexford 13
Westmeath 65 Limerick 7 Dublin 12
Donegal 56 Leitrim 6 Antrim 3
Roscommon 55 Sligo 5 Laois 0
Kildare 41 Antrim 3 Offaly 0
Down 40 Clare 1
Fermanagh 39 Kilkenny 0
Laois 34 London 0
Derry 30 Tipperary 0
Waterford 0
Only 8 football tickets sold in Cork! More sold in Kerry and Mayo than in the rest of Munster and Connacht put together.
Only Tipp hurling and Mayo, Kerry and maybe Armagh football likely to sell out.
any updates on the current sales at present??
Well I am responsible for 2 of Armagh's 176, thats over 1% so far. ;D
How many other Armagh fans on this Board have put their money where their mouths are?
Anyone else get the 'Dublin V Tyrone' special ticket offer??
QuoteA chara,
Want to bring a friend or family member along with you to see your county play in Croke Park?
Dublin & Tyrone Season Ticket holders can now purchase an additional pair of tickets for the Season Ticket stand section (305 in Cusack Stand) for the big clash under lights in Croke Park on Saturday 31st January 2009.
These "guest" tickets are €20 each. Supplies are limited and it is first come, first served.
***********************PLEASE READ - IMPORTANT*********************
Please note you must bring your Season Ticket for yourself (you will receive this next week).
If bringing a guest you must also print the TicketFast version of a ticket for your guest(s) and bring it to the match.
To do this, follow the purchase process to conclusion and then re-enter your Account. Select the "Print your tickets" option in the "Manage Your Tickets" box and follow the steps there.
You and your guest(s) will be allocated your seat numbers as you enter the Season Stile. To sit together, you must enter the venue together. Your guest must accompany you through the Season Stile.
To purchase tickets you will require your Account ID & password.
Click on this link to and log into your account. The "Dublin v. Tyrone Offer" at the top of the page is where to click when you get there – Buy Guest Tickets for Dublin v. Tyrone.
Any queries, send an email to seasonticket@gaa.ie.
Le meas,
GAA Ticket Office.
And there was me thinking tickets were €20 anyway! Or am I missing something apart from you get to sit together?
Quote from: donelli on January 22, 2009, 02:27:00 PM
Heres a fairly up to date list:
Football HurlingTeam---------Tickets sold Team---------Tickets Sold
Dublin Sold Out (250) Derry 32 Tipperary Sold Out (250)
Tyrone Sold Out (250) Wexford 25 Limerick 155
Mayo Sold Out (250) Cork 17 Kilkenny 117
Kerry 238 Louth 15 Waterford 111
Armagh 184 Offaly 14 Galway 105
Meath 140 Longford 13 Clare 68
Monaghan 110 Limerick 12 Cork 48
Galway 88 Wicklow 9 Wexford 13
Westmeath 66 Carlow 7 Dublin 12
Roscommon 59 Leitrim 6 Offaly 10
Donegal 56 Sligo 5 Antrim 3
Kildare 53 Antrim 3 Laois 0
Fermanagh 45 Clare 1
Down 40 Tipperary 1
Laois 39 London 0
Cavan 36 Kilkenny 0
Waterford 0
Not much change, Mayo and Tipp have sold out, it looks like Kerry will be the only other county to sell their allocation.
It'll hardly be worth bothering having a season ticket gate for some of the Division 4 games - Clare v Sligo on Feb 7th, total of 6 tickets sold between the two. :)
Doohickey - I got the special offer e-mail today as well. I have been trying unsuccessfully to purchase 2 guest tickets. I get allocated 2 tickets fairly quickly each time. When I click the checkout button, ticketmaster tell me that I have exceeded the 5 minutes allowed to purchase, even though it only takes me seconds to go through the process. Very frustrating.
Anyone else have the same problem?
Very impressed with the Mc Kenna Cup performances, but it has to be kept in perspective.Can the likes of Henderson etc do it when it really matters
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 22, 2009, 09:55:26 PM
Quote from: donelli on January 22, 2009, 02:27:00 PM
Heres a fairly up to date list:
Football Hurling
Dublin Sold Out (250) Derry 32 Tipperary Sold Out (250)
Tyrone Sold Out (250) Wexford 25 Limerick 155
Mayo Sold Out (250) Cork 17 Kilkenny 117
Kerry 238 Louth 15 Waterford 111
Armagh 184 Offaly 14 Galway 105
Meath 140 Longford 13 Clare 68
Monaghan 110 Limerick 12 Cork 48
Galway 88 Wicklow 9 Wexford 13
Westmeath 66 Carlow 7 Dublin 12
Roscommon 59 Leitrim 6 Offaly 10
Donegal 56 Sligo 5 Antrim 3
Kildare 53 Antrim 3 Laois 0
Fermanagh 45 Clare 1
Down 40 Tipperary 1
Laois 39 London 0
Cavan 36 Kilkenny 0
Waterford 0
Not much change, Mayo and Tipp have sold out, it looks like Kerry will be the only other county to sell their allocation.
It'll hardly be worth bothering having a season ticket gate for some of the Division 4 games - Clare v Sligo on Feb 7th, total of 6 tickets sold between the two. :)
Going by those figure cork hurlers, who are on strike have sold more tickets than the footballers who arent??
Go figure??
I knew these wouldn't be a big sell in Wexford. When I bought mine, there was only one other person who had bought one, and that was weeks after they'd been released. I didn't bother buying one for the hurling though; to be perfectly honest, I'm not bothered travelling for eight or nine hours to watch Wexford play Kerry in hurling. Hopefully we'll be back in Division 1 next year, though, with more competitive games to attend.
mayo sold out?
jaysus how big of suckers are we
yes of course i have one
Quote from: T Fearon on January 23, 2009, 08:59:30 AM
Very impressed with the Mc Kenna Cup performances, but it has to be kept in perspective.Can the likes of Henderson etc do it when it really matters
There were atcually 4 very average performances Tony. What made you very impressed?
Quote from: T Fearon on January 22, 2009, 03:12:32 PM
Well I am responsible for 2 of Armagh's 176, thats over 1% so far. ;D
How many other Armagh fans on this Board have put their money where their mouths are?
I account for 2 more ... that's four Tony
Two more, we are six!
Anyone got their Season Ticket yet?
This is getting tight as I will need to travel back to Strabane to get mine before the game on Saturday.
Plus, it says that there are very few stand tickets remaining. In the FAQ for Season tickets it says we should pre book our tickets for games where it is likely to be a sell out, how are we supposed to do this if we haven't got the bloody season ticket yet?
Edit: Seems I was wrong and only have to pre book for Championship matches:
QuoteYou will be guaranteed a seat in the stand for any all-ticket Provincial Championship matches, All-Ireland Quarter Finals, All-Ireland Semi-Finals and any other matches in Croke Park involving your county. You may be required to confirm your attendance and print your seat numbers on-line in advance for these matches. On-line confirmation has no impact on the cost to you.
Just recieved my season ticket.
very smart looking.
thought the card would have been used for more than 1 season (after paying next year again)but that looks unikely as it has 2009 on it.
first swipe will be in enniskillen on sunday
Happy days. Could you do me a favour?
Is the post mark on it from Monaghan (I assume you are from there as they play Fermanagh, or are you a Fermanagh man?) or From Dublin?
Just wondering if they are all sent from HQ or from our County Boards, as it could make a big difference on how long it will take to arrive.
think its through croke park. no stamp/postage stamp, just them pre-printed codes you see from business'
Still havent received our tickets, expected them to be here today.
Quote from: Double Cross on January 28, 2009, 04:39:16 PM
Still havent received our tickets, expected them to be here today.
I think that any tickets to the North will be at least a day longer than the ones to the Free State.
I assume that any tickets that don't arrive on time there will be alternative arrangements.
I would like there to be a way to phone up and have them have your name at the Season Ticket turnstile and you show ID, (Passport, Driving License) to get in.
But this is the GAA, so I am not going to hold my breath.
Ticket came in the post today, got it as a Christmas present and the buyers name (my sister) is on the ticket, will I still be able to use it? Indecently she bought one for my Da as well and yes, her name is on that on also! Are these transferable? Will an ID be required when entering games?
Quote from: Roseyland on January 28, 2009, 10:18:52 PM
Ticket came in the post today, got it as a Christmas present and the buyers name (my sister) is on the ticket, will I still be able to use it? Indecently she bought one for my Da as well and yes, her name is on that on also! Are these transferable? Will an ID be required when entering games?
I'd say she made a mess on the application. There were specific instructions for buying as a present under someone else's name. Although it could just as easily be a Croke Park mistake. I'd give them a buzz and get it sorted asap.
I have a horrible feeling that the GAA are going to snatch craven ineptitude from the jaws of exemplary commendability here. To send these tickets out anything less than 14 days before the games is asking for trouble, and I've no idea where they get their unbounded faith in the speedy efficiency of An Post from. I'm about 2 miles from Croke, and still no ticket, not to mention the inevitable delay incurred for six county destinations. They're going to have an administrative nightmare with both refunds and retrospective stamping/registering of attendance at this game for those who haven't received their tickets in time. And they'll deserve it.
QuoteI have a horrible feeling that the GAA are going to snatch craven ineptitude from the jaws of exemplary commendability here. To send these tickets out anything less than 14 days before the games is asking for trouble,
Exactly. There is no reason why people who had everything paid for before Xmas should not have had the tickets sent out a fortnight ago!
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 28, 2009, 10:54:30 PM
I have a horrible feeling that the GAA are going to snatch craven ineptitude from the jaws of exemplary commendability here. To send these tickets out anything less than 14 days before the games is asking for trouble, and I've no idea where they get their unbounded faith in the speedy efficiency of An Post from. I'm about 2 miles from Croke, and still no ticket, not to mention the inevitable delay incurred for six county destinations. They're going to have an administrative nightmare with both refunds and retrospective stamping/registering of attendance at this game for those who haven't received their tickets in time. And they'll deserve it.
My thoughts exactly, but we can only wait and see, they could surprise us all and get it right for once.
I share your deep concerns. I got a preprinted postage letter from the FAI on Tuesday 27th January 09 inviting me to meet Ray Houghton on Saturday 24th Jan 09 at the Leisnter FA offices in Parnell Square. ???
Looks like 6 County people could be shafted once again.
Post arrives at my house around mid day, waiting patiently now.
Quote from: T Fearon on January 29, 2009, 09:08:28 AM
I share your deep concerns. I got a preprinted postage letter from the FAI on Tuesday 27th January 09 inviting me to meet Ray Houghton on Saturday 24th Jan 09 at the Leisnter FA offices in Parnell Square. ???
Looks like 6 County people could be shafted once again.
Post arrives at my house around mid day, waiting patiently now.
Same situation as me. I won't know if it's arrived unil I get home tonight.
If someone from the six counties has received their season ticket to-day, please post and let us know
I recieved my Tyrone season tickets this morning so yours should be on their way
Thanks! Thats a relief! ;D
Quote from: wdusln on January 29, 2009, 11:26:00 AM
I recieved my Tyrone season tickets this morning so yours should be on their way
Excellent! Hopefully mine should be here too then! HAPPY DAYS!!!!!
Arrived safe and well..
Lets all praise the GAA, and have a Late Late Special on Ticket Distribution ;D
Ours arrived this morning. :)
Quote from: T Fearon on January 29, 2009, 02:02:41 PM
Lets all praise the GAA, and have a Late Late Special on Ticket Distribution ;D
You might win a competition for a seat in the audience
He`d probably tell The Plank that he didnt want the seat but he`d take the money ;)
Mine is here too! ;D
Did anyone else notice that the letter states that you get first refusal on Championship tickets?
I thought we had to buy them, or do you think it means for buying extra ones?
Quote from: Doohicky on January 29, 2009, 06:28:39 PM
Did anyone else notice that the letter states that you get first refusal on Championship tickets?
I thought we had to buy them, or do you think it means for buying extra ones?
The season ticket entitles you to attend the first Championship game as part of the package, but first refusal on any games thereafter.
Mine arrived today too, although only posted out yesterday. Hope no one's left high and dry.
But the Season ticket Price and Payment section says the following
QuoteThis is a season ticket so you will be automatically charged in advance of every subsequent match that your county plays in the Allianz GAA National League (i.e. the League Final) and the GAA Championships whether you attend or not.
So sounds like we are charged for every match anyway (All be it with 5 euro off for most of them.
I don't care anyway as I will be going to all of them except the Ulster final (Assuming we get there) as I am away at the Benicassim festival during that. But I am sure I'll find someone who wants to go so the seat won't be wasted.
How come they were posted in Belfast
It was my understanding that you can cancel the ticket after the first championship match if you wished without being charged further. Not that anybody would be doing that really. Otherwise you would be charged for every match and there is no option of reactivating it if you do cancel.
Perhaps the first refusal for other championship matches relates to matches not involving your county or matches for the hurling if you have a football ticket. Might be a way of trying to get some more neutrals into games.
Got mine today too. Mine was posted in NI - the Queen's head was stuck on the envelope. Strange that - whilst i am in the North, i thought that with it being a Monaghan ticket it would have either been posted from Dublin or Monaghan. Unless the Ulster Council sorted the Ulster tickets.
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 29, 2009, 09:58:57 PM
Got mine today too. Mine was posted in NI - the Queen's head was stuck on the envelope. Strange that - whilst i am in the North, i thought that with it being a Monaghan ticket it would have either been posted from Dublin or Monaghan. Unless the Ulster Council sorted the Ulster tickets.
It looks like that was the mechanism employed Maguire, which was an admirable piece of organisation by the organisation. Fair dues.
Got mine also - let the fun begin ....
Quote from: Doohicky on January 29, 2009, 09:36:13 PM
I don't care anyway as I will be going to all of them except the Ulster final (Assuming we get there) as I am away at the Benicassim festival during that. But I am sure I'll find someone who wants to go so the seat won't be wasted.
Lucky barsteward! I believe we're donating the Anglo-Celt to Armagh this year, once again, since it's proved to be a very effective method of keeping them out of our way in the quest for SAM! ;D
got my season ticket today, great except that they have a different name on the ticket....rang croke park and they were closed a bit of a handling >:(
Quote from: puc me on January 29, 2009, 11:24:17 PM
got my season ticket today, great except that they have a different name on the ticket....rang croke park and they were closed a bit of a handling >:(
That's why they should have given it 14 days. It's not like there are never teething issues with any new scheme.
Quote from: puc me on January 29, 2009, 11:24:17 PM
The same happened to me (got the ticket as a gift and the buyers name was on the ticket) I e-mailed them at seasonticket@gaa.ie and they quickly responded telling me to get the buyer to contact them and the name would be changed. Also they told me there wont be a problem gaining access to the game on Sunday with existing ticket.
It doesnt matter what name is on the tickets, as long as you gain entry.
Has anyone seen this years complimentary tickets that inter-county players get? Just wondering if they were similar to the season tickets or if they were the same old style. They were quite handy for getting into any ground in the country.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2009, 10:50:33 PM
Quote from: Doohicky on January 29, 2009, 09:36:13 PM
Lucky barsteward! I believe we're donating the Anglo-Celt to Armagh this year, once again, since it's proved to be a very effective method of keeping them out of our way in the quest for SAM! ;D
Very true!
But for purely sefish reasons I want us to stay inUlster this year. I don't want to have to go travelling all around the country :P
Mine also had the Queens head stamp, but strangely no postmark. It was like someone put a stamp on it and then walked over to my house.
Got both of mine (one's for the wife) with correct names. Queen of England's head on the stamps (two different envelopes) one of which was unmarked and can be used again therefore, and subsidise my competition entries this week! ;D
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2009, 10:18:49 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 29, 2009, 09:58:57 PM
It looks like that was the mechanism employed Maguire, which was an admirable piece of organisation by the organisation. Fair dues.
Not a mission, there's a line about piss ups and breweries that comes to mind. It was directly from ticketmaster I'd say - Belfast postmark.
Got mine yesterday, also with the buyer's name rather than my own.
I rang the ticket office, they just said to send an e-mail with the correct information and they'll send out a new one. Like it was said, there shouldn't be a problem getting in on that ticket on Sunday, but I'll print out the email receipt and bring it with me anyway. I'm sure there won't be a big issue about it, there'll only be 25 of us trying to get into Wexford Park with them!
ordered 2, 1 came yesterday with a balls of a post code on it so worried that the 2nd one wont come now before sun, sent email but no response as of yet
No panic if you don't have your season ticket in your paws yet, latest e-missive from the Association:
Season Ticket lost or not received
If you purchased this week and have not received or have mislaid your Season Ticket prior to the match do not worry – a full list of all Season Ticket holders from each competing county will be available at the Season Stile. You will be asked for your name and address to verify who you are and you will be granted access and your attendance will be recorded.
If you purchased a Season Ticket this week, please bring your purchase confirmation email with you to the venue.
Details on where to go for anyone heading to a match today with a season ticket:
http://www.seasonticket.gaa.ie/gaaseasonstileinformation.html
Kudos to the GAA, worked a treat last night. Could see the quota of season tickets being massively ramped up for next year.
Very straightforward today as well.
Slight problem at Wexford Park yesterday in that there was no signage for season ticket holders, but a turnstile operator directed me to the correct location and there was a lad with the sign between his feet (apparently it had blown down off the wall ;D), and he scanned the season tickets, in we went and we had the pick of the seats anywhere in the stand.
With Armagh's easy victory, and an opportunity to visit the iconic shrine of all Irish rebels like me, Boolavogue, it was a great day altogether. Spent 6.80 yoyos, on the match programme and 3.80 on the tolls ;D
What was the final uptake on season tickets for each county??
Used it myself in Enniskillen. Worked a treat. Beat the queues in and didnt have to bother looking for change.
Programmes at €2 is terrible value. they should be handed out free as apart from the team line-ups there is no information contianed in it.
Compare it to the €5 programme at the Tyrone dublin game. It could have been sold throughtout all the grounds as there is loads of reading in it.
Quote from: donelli on February 03, 2009, 01:55:27 PM
Programmes at €2 is terrible value. they should be handed out free as apart from the team line-ups there is no information contianed in it.
Especially if they're as crap as that one on Sunday! Maybe they won't all be that bad - does the home county produce the programme or what's the story?
3 euros in Wexford, very little content though it was explained that income would be diverted to help underage development in the County.
I was talking to two staunch Armagh supporters on Sunday who hadn't heard of the season ticket scheme, but seemed to think it was a great idea when I explainded it to them. I suppose they are at an age were they wouldn't be internet friendly (though one of them has a professional offspring) Is it a case that the scheme has been marketed badly by the GAA or do some people not just read the papers, or is it just me who thinks that County Boards (or at least Armagh's) has not been overly enthusiastic about promoting the season tickets schem? Would it not have made more sense to promote this scheme by way of notices in every club?
Well, given that the Mayo county board are trying to punt McHale Park season tickets for a ridiculous 400 yo yos a pop, I could understand why thy mightnt want to promote the GAAs ticket. Didnt stop people buying them though.
Apart from Croker did any other county ground have seats reserved for season ticket holders???
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 03, 2009, 10:37:54 PM
Apart from Croker did any other county ground have seats reserved for season ticket holders???
Enniskillen was unreserved seating..
what sections in croke park were reserved for the season tickets???
are they good vantage points?
Quote from: donelli on February 03, 2009, 10:55:58 PM
what sections in croke park were reserved for the season tickets???
are they good vantage points?
Lower Cusack, on the half-way line, perfect seats.
Wexford Park unreserved in the covered stand but was in reasonably early and had the pick of seats available
i got my new season ticket today with the proper details on it including my name and they told me that my attendance at the dub game will be noted on my new ticket as it has a new number, happy days, tyrone abú
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2009, 09:16:44 AM
it was a great day altogether. Spent 6.80 yoyos, on the match programme and 3.80 on the tolls ;D
Car run on feckin air?
Quote from: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 11:51:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2009, 09:16:44 AM
it was a great day altogether. Spent 6.80 yoyos, on the match programme and 3.80 on the tolls ;D
Car run on feckin air?
Company car?
Sorry, 3 euros on programme and 3.80 on tolls, total 6.80 euros.
Fuel costs not included as they were incurred in sterling in the occupied 6 counties. Relevant expenditure in euro denomination and incurred in the 26 counties only.
Do you get free petrol in monocultural land?
I doubt there will be many more season tickets bought from here on....
Any updates on the county to county tallies at this satge???