Just reading a thread over on football365 - some lad seen a mugging and just kept on walking.
I've always wondered about this, you see incidents on the news when a gang set upon someone in an area with plenty of people and no one seems to step in, if there's CCTV footage you'll see people standing around watching someone get their head kicked in.
My question, you're walking home, you see someone getting the head bate of them, what would you do?
I like to think I'd step in.
It's an interesting one.
I heard that thought recently when reading that on the Lisburn road at 6 o'clock one evening in rush hour a woman was "car jacked". She was standing in the middle of the road in a state and it took quite a while for anyone to stop for her.
It seems human nature in a lot of instances to just sit idly by and watch.
In the case of a mugging you have to be wary of putting yourself in danger but personally I'd like to think I'd have enough in me to help someone in trouble out. You never know till you're in the situation though.
What if there are 2 or 3 lads doing the bating?
If Im honest unless I knew the victim I wouldn't step in,There are loads of incidents where someone who has gone to help somone ends up getting killed themselves...
tricky one unless (forbid) your put in that position its very hard to know what you'd do.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 22, 2008, 02:23:22 PM
If Im honest unless I knew the victim I wouldn't step in,There are loads of incidents where someone who has gone to help somone ends up getting killed themselves...
There's loads of incidents where people have been killed while others watched and done nothing, I think I'd rather die than not do anything for some poor sod. What if it was you that was attacked in the street, how would you feel if you seen people standing around watching as punches and kicks rained down on you?
Been there, done that. You end up getting your head kicked in. Stopped a lad in Belfast beating the feck out of his woman once, they then both turned on me. Another time in the Holy lands, one of the girls in our company got hit, we chased after the 2 little feckers, rounded a corner and there were 20 youngsters waiting, we didn't get out of that one very well either
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 22, 2008, 02:30:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 22, 2008, 02:23:22 PM
There's loads of incidents where people have been killed while others watched and done nothing, I think I'd rather die than not do anything for some poor sod. What if it was you that was attacked in the street, how would you feel if you seen people standing around watching as punches and kicks rained down on you?
I hear what your saying Pints but it might not always be some poor old sod getting a kicking a lot of the time the person getting the kicking would be just as capable of giving a kicking himself...
I know there are innocent victims too but unless I knew the person I wouldn't get involved,maybe that makes me look like a coward but at the end of the day I don't want to wake up in a hospital or maybe even a morgue because I got stabbed or headbutted for helping someone I didn't know
QuoteStopped a lad in Belfast beating the feck out of his woman once,
Yeah I've been there, though he ran away.
QuoteI hear what your saying Pints but it might not always be some poor old sod getting a kicking a lot of the time the person getting the kicking would be just as capable of giving a kicking himself...
I know there are innocent victims too but unless I knew the person I wouldn't get involved,maybe that makes me look like a coward but at the end of the day I don't want to wake up in a hospital or maybe even a morgue because I got stabbed or headbutted for helping someone I didn't know
Well it's highly unlikely you'd be wakening up in a morgue! There's no point in saying the victim might be capable of giving a kicking himself because you just don't know.
So would you do nothing LL? Walk past it and go home and go to bed?
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 22, 2008, 02:41:24 PM
QuoteStopped a lad in Belfast beating the feck out of his woman once,
Yeah I've been there, though he ran away.
QuoteI hear what your saying Pints but it might not always be some poor old sod getting a kicking a lot of the time the person getting the kicking would be just as capable of giving a kicking himself...
Well it's highly unlikely you'd be wakening up in a morgue! There's no point in saying the victim might be capable of giving a kicking himself because you just don't know.
So would you do nothing LL? Walk past it and go home and go to bed?
Well I'm not going to lie pints and Im not going to be all bravado and say yeah I'd jump in and kick their heads in like Im sure some here will pretend..
If i saw it happening I would ascess the sitiuation and if i thought it was a innocent victim and lets face it pints sometimes it wouldn't be too hard tell if the victim was a sc**bag himself or not then yes I might help out,If it was a woman I would help no questions asked and If i knew the person of course I would help but if it was a male stranger I would have to see first
fair play LL I wouldn't want to wake up in a morgue either.
Quote from: Puckoon on November 22, 2008, 03:06:24 PM
Ah f**k off ye know what I meant :D
As my Ma use to say to me when I was out climbing trees as a younglad
"If you fall and break your leg don't come running to me"
Quote from: Puckoon on November 22, 2008, 03:06:24 PM
Could happen
http://www.metro.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=46775&in_page_id=34 (http://www.metro.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=46775&in_page_id=34)
Quote from: ardal on November 22, 2008, 02:34:46 PM
Been there, done that. You end up getting your head kicked in. Stopped a lad in Belfast beating the feck out of his woman once, they then both turned on me. Another time in the Holy lands, one of the girls in our company got hit, we chased after the 2 little feckers, rounded a corner and there were 20 youngsters waiting, we didn't get out of that one very well either
Same thing happened me in New York, a sc**bag was beating his wife up, knocking her head of the ground in front of their kid. I stepped in to break it up and both of them came after me, you try to do the right thing and nearly end up with a kicking yourself. Still glad I stepped in though.
Pints I believe that you would step in, but you would prefer to donate to an animal charity than a human one?
Quote from: Puckoon on November 22, 2008, 03:56:56 PM
Pints I believe that you would step in, but you would prefer to donate to an animal charity than a human one?
Yeah, I like animals more. I'd step in if it was an animal being kicked around too.
theres a good chance pints their all a load of scumbags so i'd let them at it, i might of course ring the cops if it looked really bad but in reality that would be a waste of time.
That's not true, there's just as much chance that it's an innocent person.
Its for situations like this that I would advocate legislation giving us the right to bear arms for self defence against the darker elements of our society
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 22, 2008, 02:16:17 PM
Just reading a thread over on football365 - some lad seen a mugging and just kept on walking.
I've always wondered about this, you see incidents on the news when a gang set upon someone in an area with plenty of people and no one seems to step in, if there's CCTV footage you'll see people standing around watching someone get their head kicked in.
My question, you're walking home, you see someone getting the head bate of them, what would you do?
I like to think I'd step in.
but what if POG they were wearing a poppy?
I'd still step in if they were draped in a Union Jack.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 22, 2008, 08:47:36 PM
I'd still step in if they were draped in a Union Jack.
Orange sash?
Nope
situations have changed dramatically over the years. having witnessed loads of incidents (growing up on the Falls rd will do that) I've seen my fair share of things where people should step in. me? self preservation has a overriding factor. obviously when your family or friends are put in a position you wont be found wanting. but as brave as it sounds to come in and rescue someone from a beating, it may back fire.
have you ever been in a position were you thought, thats it i'm a gonner?
Quotehave you ever been in a position were you thought, thats it i'm a gonner?
Yes, why?
Quote from: milltown row on November 22, 2008, 10:54:09 PM
situations have changed dramatically over the years. having witnessed loads of incidents (growing up on the Falls rd will do that) I've seen my fair share of things where people should step in. me? self preservation has a overriding factor. obviously when your family or friends are put in a position you wont be found wanting. but as brave as it sounds to come in and rescue someone from a beating, it may back fire.
Youse say you wouldn't get involved but I'd say witnessing someone getting a shoeing would spur you into action. I'd want someone to bale me out if I was getting it tight. How could you live with yourself if you got up the next day to hear someone had been killed or left brain damaged when you had a chance to intervene.
when you have a kids a wife to support and your not much good in a box Tony. thats just my thoughts on that. obviously if your put in a situation your first reaction may be different.
i've found myself in the past put in a position of "thats it, not going to get out of this one" but by pure chance or divine intervention managing to get home safely. Belfast city center 20 years ago was dodgy enough. many a time cars pulling up on ya and people arriving from nowhere at a party wanting to know where were ya from and i could go on.
Quotewhen you have a kids a wife to support and your not much good in a box Tony. thats just my thoughts on that. obviously if your put in a situation your first reaction may be different.
Now you're just making excuses, I wouldnt be confident of my boxing skills either but if someone is in trouble I would think my first reaction would be to help them
What would you all do in this case? :-\
http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Internet-Suicide-Florida-Teen-Commits-Suicide-Live-On-Internet-Site-Via-Webcam/Article/200811315157683?lpos=World_News_Top_Stories_Header_3&lid=ARTICLE_15157683_Internet_Suicide%3A_Florida_Teen_Commits_Suicide_Live_On_Internet_Site_Via_Webcam (http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Internet-Suicide-Florida-Teen-Commits-Suicide-Live-On-Internet-Site-Via-Webcam/Article/200811315157683?lpos=World_News_Top_Stories_Header_3&lid=ARTICLE_15157683_Internet_Suicide%3A_Florida_Teen_Commits_Suicide_Live_On_Internet_Site_Via_Webcam)
I would have thought it was a hoax.
True i would have thought it a hoax myself but surely someone that was watching could have contacted the authorities about it?
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 23, 2008, 12:24:07 PM
True i would have thought it a hoax myself but surely someone that was watching could have contacted the authorities about it?
Well if you thought it was real you would try though I'm not sure who you'd need to be contacting.
Personally if I saw it I would have thought it was a hoax, not in the slightest bit amusing or funny and turned it off.
And to think people were actually incouraging him to carry it out, what do they not feel like now!!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 23, 2008, 01:59:44 AM
Quote from: milltown row on November 22, 2008, 10:54:09 PM
Youse say you wouldn't get involved but I'd say witnessing someone getting a shoeing would spur you into action. I'd want someone to bale me out if I was getting it tight. How could you live with yourself if you got up the next day to hear someone had been killed or left brain damaged when you had a chance to intervene.
what about the fact that half of them are bombed out of their minds and no matter how small they are they would go thro you and mike tyson before you know it. alot of the scrapping is scum on scum crime in my book. let them at it..
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2008, 12:00:20 PM
Quotewhen you have a kids a wife to support and your not much good in a box Tony. thats just my thoughts on that. obviously if your put in a situation your first reaction may be different.
Now you're just making excuses, I wouldnt be confident of my boxing skills either but if someone is in trouble I would think my first reaction would be to help them
it's nothing to do with being good at boxing. working with 16 to 21 year olds daily you get to know how they have fun. nearly all of them carry knives for protection. but if you'd care to read POG (highlighted) i never said i wouldn't. in life you've committments to bringing your family up. a big thanks and a lovely funeral wont work do it for me, or my kids. but sure you go on on in there with your cape and save the day.
Quote from: milltown row on November 23, 2008, 06:35:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2008, 12:00:20 PM
it's nothing to do with being good at boxing. working with 16 to 21 year olds daily you get to know how they have fun. nearly all of them carry knives for protection. but if you'd care to read POG (highlighted) i never said i wouldn't. in life you've committments to bringing your family up. a big thanks and a lovely funeral wont work do it for me, or my kids. but sure you go on on in there with your cape and save the day.
While you cower in the corner?
How would you feel if one of your kids, God forbid, got a bad beating some night while others stood and watched because they thought he must be scum too or because they just thought they wouldnt bother getting involved?
never backed out of anything yet POG,
but i'd prefer to work out the odds before putting my life on the line for something i have no knowledge of. but you have a go , i'll remember ya. the poppy sellers will miss ya
oh, thanks for the scud >:(
Anyone think of calling the gardai, thats what I'd do anyway. As much as I wish I could be a hero, chances are you'll end up just another victim along with whoever was getting it.
Two things. If there were 3 or 4 mugging the person or bating them then i would phone the cops. I certainly wouldn't stand back if there were one or two. I would get lumped in.
Secondly if the victim was a women i would be more inclined to loose the plot. All in all not a nice dillema.