GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Teachtaire on November 21, 2008, 08:40:55 AM

Title: BLOODY SUNDAY VICTIMS REMEMBERED
Post by: Teachtaire on November 21, 2008, 08:40:55 AM
Just want to recall the memory of those poor innocents who were brutally slaughtered by British forces on 21 Nov 1920 after the terrorists smashed their way into Croke Park and went on a rampage of murder.

Title: Re: BLOODY SUNDAY VICTIMS REMEMBERED
Post by: Canalman on November 21, 2008, 09:22:27 AM
Teachtaire, might disagree with your terminolgy, I would also deem it appropriate that this atrocity be remembered.

Feel that some posters will criticize you "for living in the past"etc etc. Seems ok though for "Official Ireland" to pine away big time maudlinstyle about the British Army dead in WW1 for some reason.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 21, 2008, 09:55:05 AM
Quote from: Canalman on November 21, 2008, 09:22:27 AM
Teachtaire, might disagree with your terminolgy, I would also deem it appropriate that this atrocity be remembered.

Feel that some posters will criticize you "for living in the past"etc etc. Seems ok though for "Official Ireland" to pine away big time maudlinstyle about the British Army dead in WW1 for some reason.

Thats a little large Canalman. Those were completely different times. A lot of Irishmen fought in that war because they had nothing and it was a job for a lot of them. More joined up for the perceived justice of the cause. About 35,000 Irish died. Its not really fair to turn your back on them and question people who are not forgetting the Irish that died in WW1.
Post by: Teachtaire on November 21, 2008, 09:57:35 AM
Canalman, not living in the past at all. It is important to know where we have come from and as we celebrate Croke Park as the jewel in the Irish sporting crown it is important to remember the long road we have had to go down to get to where we are at. So, in remembering those who were murdered it is by way of recognising how we have progressed from being down-trodden to becoming confident and vibrant and that we face the future with hope. But it is important that we remember with gratitude that there were those who suffered and died for us to get to this position.

As for terminology, I cannot see how you coud disagree. British Forces did smash their way into Croke Park, they did slaughter innocent people, they did commit murder in that their action was pre-planned and pre-meditated. People were terrorised by the actions of the British that day and one who terrorises is a terrorist.
Post by: Teachtaire on November 21, 2008, 10:03:58 AM
Abbey I don't wish to get into the politics of this but I wasn't even wanting to get a reply to my post. It was simply placed on the board for people to remember those who were murdered in Croke Park. Thats all. I think that you'll the British Legion do a good line in recalling the memory of British soldiers.
Post by: balladmaker on November 21, 2008, 10:11:04 AM
QuoteAbbey I don't wish to get into the politics of this but I wasn't even wanting to get a reply to my post. It was simply placed on the board for people to remember those who were murdered in Croke Park. Thats all. I think that you'll the British Legion do a good line in recalling the memory of British soldiers.

Teachtaire.....you're post is 100% correct.  We should always remember what went before to get us where we are today.   Of course these innocent people should be rememberd.  Once again, as every year, the Rosary will be recited in Croke Park today in their memory.

What sickens me is the obvious West Brit attitude that seems to pervade most things in Irish Society these days, including the mainstream media who feed the masses with what it is correct and incorrect for us to do.  It is apparent form most threads which are remotely political, that this attitude is alive and well on the GAA board also.  We should never be ashamed to remember our history despite what some might say. 
Post by: thejuice on November 21, 2008, 10:25:25 AM
Those who died on this day 88 years ago should be remembered. Absolutely
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 21, 2008, 11:10:29 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on November 21, 2008, 09:55:05 AM

Thats a little large Canalman. Those were completely different times. A lot of Irishmen fought in that war because they had nothing and it was a job for a lot of them. More joined up for the perceived justice of the cause. About 35,000 Irish died. Its not really fair to turn your back on them and question people who are not forgetting the Irish that died in WW1.

I would hazard a guess  that quiet a lot of them - possibly the majority - fought because they thought their help would have been rewarded with Home Rule for ireland.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 21, 2008, 11:12:26 AM
Right and fitting Teachtaire, though be careful some here don't call for a commemoration of the British 'intelligence' operatives who were taken out earlier that morning.
Post by: Tubberman on November 21, 2008, 12:25:49 PM
QuoteRight and fitting Teachtaire, though be careful some here don't call for a commemoration of the British 'intelligence' operatives who were taken out earlier that morning.

::) ::) Where has anything like that been suggested?

Post by: magpie seanie on November 21, 2008, 12:28:05 PM
Today it is fitting to remember the victims of Bloody Sunday. It was a gratuitous attack on many things but one of them was our association. No-one is living in the past but we must never forget it either. The GAA is different. I'm glad and proud of that.

As for Teachtaire's initial post - it was spot on.
Post by: billy the kid on November 21, 2008, 12:33:19 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 21, 2008, 12:28:05 PM
Today it is fitting to remember the victims of Bloody Sunday. It was a gratuitous attack on many things but one of them was our association. No-one is living in the past but we must never forget it either. The GAA is different. I'm glad and proud of that.

As for Teachtaire's initial post - it was spot on.

I agree 100%

good thread Tac.
Post by: youngfella on November 21, 2008, 12:35:19 PM
May those that lived in much harder times be remember. There fighting and death puts in prespective for me what the great sports we play and how lucky we are to be play them freely without worry of arrest or punishment.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 21, 2008, 12:37:33 PM
Just to be clear,
Im totally in favour of recalling the memory of what happened in Croke Park on this day, 21 Nov 1920. Well said Teachtaire, in your first post and subsequent posts. I would like to see more than the Rosery being said as a memorial to the above. A monument and remembrance commemoration would be more in line. 

balladmaker,
I definitely dont want to be persevered as having any sort of "West Brit attitude".
I didnt mean to sound that way at all. I just dont have a problem in remembering the Irish that died in WW1, in which they did in their thousands.
You would be surprised if you looked around in your own locality, how many people would have had grand uncles / relatives that died in the great war.
Im my mind its not fair to tarnish their memory. (I dont want to start a political debate! :-) )
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on November 21, 2008, 12:39:41 PM
Sorry lads. I moved this when I saw the topic, before I realised what it was about. 'Tis back again.
Post by: armaghniac on November 21, 2008, 12:46:22 PM
QuoteI definitely dont want to be persevered as having any sort of "West Brit attitude".

Why have one then?

Quote(I dont want to start a political debate!

Why start talking about the first world war then.

Post by: Gnevin on November 21, 2008, 12:52:17 PM
A shocking act by the so called legitimate forces of the state at the time and rightfully remembered
Post by: AbbeySider on November 21, 2008, 12:55:52 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 21, 2008, 12:46:22 PM
QuoteI definitely dont want to be persevered as having any sort of "West Brit attitude".

Why have one then?

I dont actually. Your completely missing the point.

Quote from: armaghniac on November 21, 2008, 12:46:22 PM
Quote(I dont want to start a political debate!

Why start talking about the first world war then.

because Canalman mentioned it first

Seems ok though for "Official Ireland" to pine away big time maudlinstyle about the British Army dead in WW1 for some reason.

BTW im leaving the thread in case more people try to spill over into a political debate and the original message by Teachtaire is lost.
PM me if you want to continue a debate.
Post by: Zapatista on November 21, 2008, 12:56:19 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on November 21, 2008, 12:37:33 PM
I would like to see more than the Rosery being said as a memorial to the above. A monument and remembrance commemoration would be more in line. 

That wouldn't sit to well with a State who are trying to hide what really happened in theDUblin and Monaghan bombings never mind killings 88 years ago.
Post by: Orior on November 21, 2008, 01:34:40 PM
Does anyone knoiw anything about the actual match? Was it in the league? How many attended etc?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 21, 2008, 01:46:57 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 21, 2008, 01:34:40 PM
Does anyone knoiw anything about the actual match? Was it in the league? How many attended etc?

It was a 'Great Challenge Match' Orior, and there were about 10,000 at it.

Report Here (http://www.gaa.ie/page/bloody_sunday.html)

Post by: Sean3 on November 21, 2008, 02:27:34 PM
As far as I can recall there was another incident during the Munster championship that year where crown forces invaded the pitch during the match (think it was Clare & Tipp) although there was nobody hurt. I've pasted a few excerpts from the newspapers of the time

The Irish Times Monday 22nd November 1920
DREADFUL SERIES OF MURDERS IN DUBLIN

CONCERTED ATTACKS ON OFFICERS OF HIS MAJESTY'S FORCES

FOURTEEN SHOT DEAD AND MANY OTHERS WOUNDED

WILD SCENES AT GAELIC FOOTBALL MATCH

Yesterday morning there was enacted in Dublin a series of crimes unparalleled in the history of the city. As a result, fourteen members of His Majesty's Forces were murdered in their houses, and a number of others seriously wounded.

The attacks, which were apparently preconcerted, in every case occurred at the same hour. At nine o'clock in the morning the houses and hotels where these officers resided were entered by civilian bands. Most of the officers were in their bedrooms; some were dressed and ready to go to breakfast.

At least twelve were shot dead in this way, while two auxiliary police officers who were on their way to procure assistance were set upon and taken into a private house, where in a back garden they were shot dead. The official report indicates that most of these men were in some way connected with the administration of the law.

Later in the day, while a Gaelic football match was being played at Croke Park Jones's Road, where many thousands of people were assembled, Forces of the Crown arrived, with the object of searching for perpetrators of the crimes of the morning. According to the official report, these forces were instantly fired on by pickets of civilians guarding the grounds, and the Crown Forces immediately replied.

The result of this action was a violent stampede amongst the spectators and more firing, in the course of which it is estimated that ten persons were killed and upward of fifty wounded. In addition to those wounded by gunfire, many suffered from injuries received in the stampede.

The Freeman's Journal Monday 22nd November 1920
AMRITZAR REPEATED IN DUBLIN

ARMED FORCES OF THE CROWN KILL PLAYER
AND SPECTATORS IN CROKE PARK

AGONISING SCENES ON FOOTBALL FIELD

ELEVEN OR TWELVE PERSONS, INCLUDING A WOMAN, KILLED,
AND FROM EIGHTY TO ONE HUNDRED WOUNDED

Scenes of bloodshed on a football field, unparalleled in the history of the country, were enacted at Croke Park yesterday by armed forces of the Crown.

Almost 15,000 spectators had gathered to witness a football match between Tipperary and Dublin, when suddenly, the game being in progress, shots rang out, fired by the armed forces, and Michael Hogan, a prominent member of the Tipperary team, fell dead, shot through the mouth. Many of the onlookers were also seen to fall, dead or wounded. A woman is amongst the killed.

The casualty list, the extent of which has not been definitely ascertained, is a long one. It is estimated that eleven or twelve persons are dead, and from 80 to 100 wounded, in varying degrees of seriousness.

The armed forces, according to many of the onlookers, gave no warning to the spectators to disperse, beyond a preliminary volley of shots in the air. Then the bullets came as thick as hail, dealing out death in their swift passage; a wild scene of panic ensued, and women and children were knocked down and walked on.

A priest, who was a spectator of the tragic occurrence, says, 'I found poor Hogan lying on his back in a pool of blood. His feet were on the playing pitch and his body on the gravel walk.'

The Dublin Castle official report, which gives the number of dead at about 10 and the number of wounded and injured about 54, states 'it was believed that a number of gunmen came up today under the guise of wishing to attend the Gaelic football match between Dublin and Tipperary, but that their real motive was to take part in the series of murderous outrages which took place in Dublin this morning.'

Terrible scenes took place during the Tipperary and Dublin match at Jones's Road yesterday.

The match opened at 2.45, and the stands and grounds were crowded with spectators, numbering between 10,000 and 15,000. At about 3.10 about 12 lorries containing armed forces of the Crown arrived. It is alleged that the grounds were dominated from four points. Machine guns placed on the railway which traverses the end of the field and both gates leading from Jones's Road were forced by the raiders. It is stated the gate money was seized.

As the raiders entered the ground they immediately opened fire, first into the air and then at the crowd.

The armed forces, according to many present, gave no warning to the spectators to disperse beyond the preliminary volley in the air.

A general stampede followed, men, women and children rushed wildly for shelter. Michael Hogan, a well known Tipperary player, was shot dead through the mouth and many people were wounded or injured in the stampede.

The Irish Times Wednesday 24th November 1920
THE CROKE PARK SHOOTING

WHY THE POLICE FIRED

GUN-MEN ON THE FIELD

A PRECONCERTED SIGNAL

STATEMENT BY SIR HAMAR GREENWOOD
In the House of Commons yesterday Lieut-Commander Kenworthy asked the Chief Secretary for Ireland whether he had any further information with regard to the killing and wounding of about 80 civilians, including women and children, at Croke Park, Dublin football ground on Sunday last; how many volleys were fired into the crowd; how long the firing continued and whether any inquiry would be held, and by whom.

Sir Hamar Greenwood – 'The following account has been compiled from reports of the police and military:- The round-up and search was carried out by the authorities according to a preconcerted plan, with the object of securing Sinn Fein gunmen who had taken part in the assassinations that morning of fourteen British officers and who, in some cases, were believed to have come into Dublin under cover of attending the match in the afternoon. Events in the football ground go to show that this belief was well founded and that a considerable number among the football crowd were carrying arms on their persons. That was proved beyond doubt by their efforts to escape, which had fatal consequences to a number of innocent people.'

'The police were fired upon from two corners of the field. Simultaneously men rose from their places on the grand stand and fired three quick shots with revolvers into the air. Of this there is indisputable evidence. It seems quite clear that these shots were a prearranged signal as a warning to a certain section of the crowd. A stampede was caused, not alone by the firing, but also by the rush of men seeking to make their escape from the field... Meanwhile a number of armed pickets outside policed, no doubt, by gunmen making their escape from inside, were maintaining a fire in the direction of the police who returned it. The fire did not last more than three minutes. About 30 revolvers, thrown away by men who formed part of the spectators, were picked of the ground. Twelve people lost their lives, eleven were injured seriously enough to warrant their detention in hospital and about 50 persons sustained light injuries. The responsibility rests entirely on those assassins whose existence is a constant menace to all law-abiding people. (Cheers)
Post by: Orior on November 21, 2008, 02:28:36 PM
This just underlines the issue i have with poppies- inextricably linked to british forces which includes the black and tans
Post by: magpie seanie on November 21, 2008, 02:43:42 PM
The wonderful "paper of record" printed some lies in those articles!
Post by: zoyler on November 21, 2008, 03:44:41 PM
In fairness the IT of today os not the same as it was 90 years ago! 
As some one whose grandfather served in WW1 the words of the Foggy Dew always resonate -

O would they died by Pearses side or had fought with DeValera/Cathal Brigha(first thing on the agenda is always the split!) then their graves we would keep where the Fenians sleep neath the shroud of the foggy sew.
Post by: Zapatista on November 21, 2008, 03:48:17 PM
Quote from: zoyler on November 21, 2008, 03:44:41 PM
In fairness the IT of today os not the same as it was 90 years ago! 

It makes you wonder what is really happening in Iraq and Afganistan though.
Post by: armaghniac on November 21, 2008, 04:17:01 PM
QuoteO would they died by Pearses side or had fought with DeValera/Cathal Brigha(first thing on the agenda is always the split!) then their graves we would keep where the Fenians sleep neath the shroud of the foggy sew.

De Valera did not split with Cathal Brugha, who is most often mentioned in the song.

Brugha's daughter's book is a good read, by the way, for anyone seeking an human interest/historical book for the Xmas.
Post by: zoyler on November 21, 2008, 04:48:05 PM
I know there was no split between Brugha & Dev - I was referring to our general willingness to have spilts and the way there are two versions of the song!
Post by: antoinse on November 21, 2008, 04:54:09 PM
Teachtaire - a great thread and one that should not be lost on us. Those that were murdered in our name and those that came after them gave us a wonderful legacy. We should remember them all and  I would suggest that all those that read your thread take a minute out and pay due respects to those great people.
Post by: Hardy on November 21, 2008, 05:03:19 PM
I always think The Foggy Dew should be Meath's song - anything but that shite "Beautiful Mead". It always brings up images for me of the Meath fotballers and supporters converging on Croke Park to do down the Dubs.

"And from the plains of Royal Meath strong men came hurrying through ..."
Post by: Main Street on November 21, 2008, 05:47:35 PM
Until they hit some pub on the outskirts of Dublin
Post by: anglocelt39 on November 21, 2008, 08:33:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 21, 2008, 05:03:19 PM
I always think The Foggy Dew should be Meath's song - anything but that shite "Beautiful Mead". It always brings up images for me of the Meath fotballers and supporters converging on Croke Park to do down the Dubs.

Strong history element on this thread alright
Post by: magickingdom on November 21, 2008, 08:38:34 PM
a horrible day in irish history, may they rest in peace.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 21, 2008, 08:49:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 21, 2008, 05:03:19 PM

For me too Hardy, at least it helps me banish recollections of the Meath Militia in 1798!  ;)
Post by: Hardy on November 22, 2008, 10:24:37 AM
They were doing grand till ould Preston the distiller sent a wagon load of whiskey down the road past the encampment at Tara, knowing what would happen. They were hardly able to stand up straight when the Reagh Fencibles came up the hill and that was that.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 23, 2008, 08:57:34 PM
Páid O´Donoghue
Patrick Archer
The Yeos were in Dunshaughlin, and the Hessians in Dunreagh,
And spread thro´ fair Moynalty were the Fencibles of Reagh,
While Roden´s godless troopers ranged from Skreen to Mullachoo,
When hammered were the pikeheads first by Páid O´Donoghue.

Young Páid, he was as brave a boy as ever hammer swung,
And the finest hurler that you´d ever find the lads of Meath among;
And when the wrestling match was o´er no man could boast he threw
The dark-haired smith of Curroghá, young Páid O´Donoghue.

So Pádraig lived a happy life and gaily sang each day
Beside his ringing anvil some sweet old Irish lay,
Or roamed light-heartedly at eve thro´ the woods of lone Kilbrue,
With her who´d given her pure heart´s love to Páid O´Donoghue.

But Ninety-Eight´s dark season came and Irish hearts were sore;
The pitch-cap and triangle the patient folk outwore;
The blacksmith thought of Ireland and found he´d work to do:
"I´ll forge some steel for freedom," said Páid O´Donoghue.

Tho´ the Yeos were in Dunshaughlin and the Hessians in Dunreagh,
Tho´ spread thro´ fair Moynalty were the Fencibles of Reagh;
Tho´ Roden´s godless troopers ranged from Skreen to Mullachoo,
The pike-heads keen were hammered out by Páid O´Donoghue.

And so in Curroghá each night was heard the anvil´s ring,
While scouting on the roadways were Hugh and Phelim King,
With Gillic´s Mat, and Duffy´s Pat, and Mickey Gilsenan, too,
While in the forge for Ireland worked young Páid O´Donoghue.

But a traitor crept amongst them, and the secret soon was sold
To the captain of the Yeomen for the ready Saxon gold;
And a troop burst out one evening from the woods of dark Kilbrue,
And soon a rebel prisoner bound was Páid O´Donoghue.

Now Pádraig Óg pray fervently, your earthly course has run;
The captain he has sworn you´ll not see the morrow´s sun.
The muskets they are ready, and each yeoman´s aim is true;
Death stands beside thy shoulder, young Páid O´Donoghue.

"Down on your knees, you rebel dog," the yeoman captain roared,
As high above his helmet´s crest he waved his gleaming sword.
"Down on your knees to meet you doom, such is the rebel´s due;"
But straight as pike shaft ´fore him stood bold Páid O´Donoghue.

And there upon the roadway where in childhood he had played,
Before the cruel yeoman he stood quite undismayed
"I kneel but to my God above, I ne´er shall bow to you;
You can shoot me as I´m standing," said Páid O´Donoghue.

The captain gazed in wonder, then lowered his keen edged blade,
"A rebel bold as this," he said "tis fitting to degrade.
Here men!" he cried, "unbind him, my charger needs a shoe;
The King shall have a workman in this Páid O´Donoghue."

Now to the forge young Páid has gone, the yeomen guard the door,
And soon the ponderous bellows is heard to snort and roar;
The captain stands with reins in hand while Pádraig fits the shoe,
And when ´tis on full short the shrift he´ll give O´Donoghue.

The last strong nail is firmly clenched, the captain´s horse is shod!
Now rebel bold thine hour hath come, prepare to meet thy God!
But why holds he the horse´s hoof there´s no more work to do?
Why clenches he his hammer so, young Páid O´Donoghue?

A leap! a roar! a smothered groan! the captain drops the rein,
And sinks to earth with hammer-head sunk deeply in his brain;
And lightly in the saddle fast racing towards Kilbrue
Upon the captain´s charger sits Páid O´Donoghue.

A volley from the pistols, a rush of horses´ feet
He´s gone! and none can capture the captain´s charger fleet;
And on the night wind backwards comes a mocking loud "Halloo!"
That tells the yeomen they have lost young Páid O´Donoghue.

Young Páid fought at Tara, you know the nation´s tale;
Though borne down in that struggle, not hopeless is the Gael,
For still in Meath´s fair county, there are brave lads - not a few
Who would follow in the footsteps of bold Páid O´Donoghue.
Post by: gorm agus bui on November 23, 2008, 09:18:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 21, 2008, 04:17:01 PM
QuoteO would they died by Pearses side or had fought with DeValera/Cathal Brigha(first thing on the agenda is always the split!) then their graves we would keep where the Fenians sleep neath the shroud of the foggy sew.

De Valera did not split with Cathal Brugha, who is most often mentioned in the song.

Brugha's daughter's book is a good read, by the way, for anyone seeking an human interest/historical book for the Xmas.
As a matter of interest what is the name of the book.?
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2008, 09:26:25 PM
I never came across that before, Fear, though I was born and reared a few miles from Curragha (or Curroghá, as it's rendered here) and Curragha GFC is amalgamated my own old club for under-age.   John McDermott played his first football with Curragha - a man in the Páid O'Donoghue mould, I'm sure Tyrone people will agree and I'm waiting now for the first of the posts to point out that Páid O'Donoghue wouldn't be the last Meathman to hit a fella between the two eyes and brain him.

Thanks for that.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 23, 2008, 09:33:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2008, 09:26:25 PM
John McDermott played his first football with Curragha - a man in the Páid O'Donoghue mould, I'm sure Tyrone people will agree and I'm waiting now for the first of the posts to point out that Páid O'Donoghue wouldn't be the last Meathman to hit a fella between the two eyes and brain him.

Not I Hardy  :D

And you're welcome.
Post by: under the bar on November 23, 2008, 10:18:18 PM
QuoteIt makes you wonder what is really happening in Iraq and Afganistan though.

What's to wonder?  Iraq was invaded so the US could get it's hands on the world biggest oil reserve and Afghanistan was invaded because the Taliban refused massive bribes to allow the US to get it's hands on the world's biggest natural gas reserve in the Caspian sea by piping tit through Afghanistan to Turkey.   

Hey presto!  6 months after the invasion of Afghanistan the pipeline goes ahead.
Post by: boojangles on November 24, 2008, 12:01:13 AM
Superb poem Fear, love all them old Irish tales. Where did you get the words?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 24, 2008, 04:47:38 AM
Quotethe world's biggest natural gas reserve in the Caspian sea by piping tit through Afghanistan to Turkey

....is that along the old silk road or the old milk road  ?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 24, 2008, 10:55:07 AM
Quote from: boojangles on November 24, 2008, 12:01:13 AM
Superb poem Fear, love all them old Irish tales. Where did you get the words?

It's available in a few places booj, for example:

Here (http://celtic-lyrics.com/forum/index.php?autocom=tclc&code=lyrics&id=377)

And here (http://www.iol.ie/~fagann/1798/songs3.htm)
Post by: winsamsoon on November 24, 2008, 02:39:36 PM
Great thread lads without the name calling . There is a general conscientious of respect on here and that is crucial. reading some of them newspaper reports actually bring a lump to the throat. To put yourself in the shoes of our ancestors and to realise that times were very tough. Our history is crucial to our survival and the folk that were  slain in croke park should never be forgotten. I actually think something as simple as a rosary is very fitting. It is respectful and simple like the folk that lived in that particular period. It also signifies the role which the catholic church had in society and the respect people had for them.
Post by: thejuice on November 24, 2008, 04:01:09 PM
I used to play for Curragha when I was younger. Theres a statue of Páid O'Donaghue hammering away at his anvil at the cross-roads opposite Swans pub.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 24, 2008, 04:59:32 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2008, 09:26:25 PM
I never came across that before, Fear, though I was born and reared a few miles from Curragha (or Curroghá, as it's rendered here) and Curragha GFC is amalgamated my own old club for under-age.   John McDermott played his first football with Curragha - a man in the Páid O'Donoghue mould, I'm sure Tyrone people will agree and I'm waiting now for the first of the posts to point out that Páid O'Donoghue wouldn't be the last Meathman to hit a fella between the two eyes and brain him.

Thanks for that.
I'm somewhat surprised, Hardy, that you were not familiar with the recitation about Paid O'Donoghue's exploits.  I used to drink (quite) a lot in Patsy Swann's pub once upon a time and raised my glass to Paid's memory once or twice!
The old boys of the locality knew the recitation and could yap for hours (or as long as I was buying) about the goins' on of '98 and any other time I'd care to mention. I'm not saying Patsy, mine host of The Forge Bar, was a noted antiquarian or anything like that, but he could be relied on to chip in his tuppence worth as the craic got better.
When the fire was lit of a could winter's evening, it took little persuasion to get any Christian to tarry there.
No one knew for certain where the woods of 'dark Kilbrue' were.
Several of the old boys I used to meet up with thought it was a mile or so from Swann's bar on the Ratoath road. I think it was called the Commons, but it's over 25 years since I last drank there so my memory isn't what it used to be.
I don't think I ever heard the one about Preston, the distiller either. I heard assloads of tales about '98 in general and the scrap at Tara okay but no one ever mentioned that to me, far as I know.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 24, 2008, 05:12:35 PM
I'm just replying to teachtaire's thing about people pining away for the Irishmen who fought in WW1. Let me tell you that it was the must stupid war for anyone to get involved in and they only got involved in it because of the unemployment levels in Ireland at the time. I do agree with teachtaire's original point that we should not go out of our way to remember those who died in that war, however. Kevin Myers says they died for our freedom, I say they died to create the (what ultimately happened) Europe for Hitler and other Fascists to rise to power, the Treaty of Versailles being one of them etc. I do not know the causes of WW1, but of course they should RIP, however those who were shot dead by the British army in Croke Park should be remembered every year by us GAA men and women.
Post by: Hardy on November 24, 2008, 06:14:32 PM
I'm surprised myself, Lar. As I say, I was born and brought up about eight miles away (long gone from there now), but never heard of Páid O'Donoghue and the story never penetrated as far as my bailiwick - and that's having had a set of uncles who could tell stories for Ireland. We weren't twinned with Curragha in my day, so the only time I would pass through the metropolis itself would be on the way to Fairyhouse. I don't remember Juice's statue either - mustn't have been there in my day. In fact, the only time I was ever in Swans was relatively recently after a Meath AIF win - probably 1999 - and I don't even remember noticing the statue then, but there's probably a good reason for that.

I took Kilbrue to be Kilbrew, which I often heard mentione, but never knew the exact location of – somewhere along the Ashbourne road between Cushenstown and Curragha. Just a townland, I think There mightn't be any woods there now, but there might have been in 1798.

I can't reference my Preston story. I googled it there and nothing. I read it in Cork City Library a few years ago when I was reading up on 1798 in Meath, but I can't remember the source. I may have mixed up my Prestons a bit, though. Preston was Viscount Tara. Prestons were also the last distillers in Drogheda (closed in the 1960s). Preston of Tara, on checking now, probably wasn't the distiller – viscounts back then didn't tend to be merchants or industrialists – but the story is essentially the same. It said Preston of Tara sent a wagon of whiskey down the road, knowing it would be intercepted by the rebels, that they duly consumed it overnight and that the timing of the Reagh Fencibles' attack was not unconnected with this.
Post by: thejuice on November 26, 2008, 10:15:46 AM
The statue is new enough though i think it was unvieled in 1998 in commemoration (if that counts as new, it does to me). Kilbrew starts after Kilmoon cross roughly, and goes almost as far as Curragha, not really sure how far it extends in other directions
Post by: thehulk!! on December 09, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
sooner the gaa removes itself from all this political bull the better- the gaa is a sporting organisation not a republican idiots mecca. commemorating hunger strike in casement was the lowest ever for the gaa and they wonder why they are considered sectarian
Post by: carribbear on December 09, 2008, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: thehulk!! on December 09, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
sooner the gaa removes itself from all this political bull the better- the gaa is a sporting organisation not a republican idiots mecca. commemorating hunger strike in casement was the lowest ever for the gaa and they wonder why they are considered sectarian

And what part of OWC do you come from?

I didn't know Gregory Campbell was a subscriber to this board.....

Post by: Teachtaire on December 10, 2008, 09:19:28 AM
Hulk, where is the political bull in innocents being gunned down by murderers? This was not a political act. It was act of savagery. The victims were innocent civilians. All, with the honourable exception of Vol Michael Hogan, were non-combatants. How could this incident even be considered to be remotely political? All decent and right thinking people would admit that in remembering the slaughter of innocents is not in any way political.

However, does your post reflect your bigotry? Do you have a difficulty with recalling the memory of innocents because the terrorists who carried out this massacre were British?

I fail to see how recalling the memory of these poor people can considered to be secterian. By being so dismissive of this act of butchery carried out by murderous terrorists says much more about your narrow minded bitterness than it does about CLG. 
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 09:23:07 AM
I had a look at some of Hulks posts yesterday and turns out theyre all as stupid as that one.  A wind-up merchant me thinks.
Post by: Teachtaire on December 12, 2008, 02:02:50 PM
Again, I will ask the qusetion, "How is recalling the memory of innocents sectarian?"

I think that you don't undertsand the meaning of sectarianism.

Now, be a good lad and answer the question and try not to break off in a meaninless rant. Everybody laughs at you as it is, so, try and keep to the point.
Post by: Final Whistle on December 12, 2008, 02:06:47 PM
Hulk,,,,,,lol,,,,,,,,lol!!!!!