Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 10:05:15 AM

Title: Continental Christmas Market
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 10:05:15 AM
Boys O'boys, shes back!  ;D

Continental Christmas Market coming back to Belfast City Hall - its going to be here even longer this year.

19th November until 20th December - class love it.

Christmas is coming - yeehaw.
Title: Re: Continental Christmas Market
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2008, 10:06:00 AM
Never been, but I've heard great things about it.
Post by: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 10:08:36 AM
A bottle of German beer and an Ostrich burger for lunch Gaoth...???
Post by: T Fearon on November 13, 2008, 10:09:46 AM
Fecking pricey, £3 for a Brattwurst! But you're right its a sign that Christmas is coming ;D
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 10:12:20 AM
Aw f**k I love that wee market!!

Those burgers are king, plus its great just standing about the german meat place when they are giving out the tasters...

I was mainly  astudent when I went thats why I am sounding like a tr**p
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2008, 10:13:20 AM
You always sound like a tr**p Nail ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on November 13, 2008, 10:14:12 AM
True Ziggy, true  :D

Can't wait to get a visit, maybe Sunday if I behave myself! Love that place!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 10:15:39 AM
Thats nice!! Will have to get in the nieighbours thread get an update, been neglecting it lately...

Back to the thread, do you think there is muhc difference between the burgers lads?? It always seems to me there re about eight sitting looking the same and no matter which one you ask for they just lift te nearest!!

How are we gonna differentiate between a kangaroo, an ostrich or a wild boar!!
Post by: SidelineKick on November 13, 2008, 10:23:51 AM
I don't think we can!  All this time we've been telling people how nice kangaroo was when we've actually been chewing on a nice big horse!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 10:46:44 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 10:08:36 AM

Defo the beer, but I avoid the burgers (as someone else said - you can't tell the difference between them) it's the big bratwurst for me, meet few of the lads few beers - excellent, if a wee bit pricey.
Then down with the wife and do a bit of shopping - German meats, cheese etc...  :)
Post by: Donagh on November 13, 2008, 10:48:57 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 10:46:44 AM
Defo the beer, but I avoid the burgers (as someone else said - you can't tell the difference between them) it's the big bratwurst for me, meet few of the lads few beers - excellent, if a wee bit pricey.

Didn't see you avoid them last year when someone else was paying for them  :P
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 10:50:17 AM

Then down with the wife and do a bit of shopping - German meats, cheese etc...  :)

So Mrs GDA likes the german meat then?? Hmmm

:o
Post by: Over the Bar on November 13, 2008, 10:53:16 AM
Have been every year since it started.  Definately gets you in the Christmas spirit but have noticed fewer and fewer stall-holders from other countries.   Bangor & Ballymena accents on most of the food-stalls.   
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 11:24:04 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 10:50:17 AM

So Mrs GDA likes the german meat then?? Hmmm

:o

Quote from: Donagh on November 13, 2008, 10:48:57 AM

Didn't see you avoid them last year when someone else was paying for them  :P

Classy lads, trust Lurgan lads to lower the tone!   ;) :D ;D
Post by: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 11:34:24 AM
Excuse me that Nail lad is from Craigavon. remember they're Belfast rejects... :D
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 02:25:54 PM
Hi boy you looking a slap!! No Belfast in me at all, ma from bleary and da from maralin!
Post by: youngfella on November 13, 2008, 02:30:26 PM
They have they market all ove the place, im surpised there are any one left over there. Its serious experience stuff. Im wonder could we set up are own paddys market in berlin at this time of year, We could selll stew, Irish coffee.... all at marked up prices we'd make a killing
Post by: full back on November 13, 2008, 02:33:13 PM
Quote from: youngfella on November 13, 2008, 02:30:26 PM
Its serious experience stuff. Im wonder could we set up are own paddys market in berlin at this time of year, We could selll stew, Irish coffee.... all at marked up prices we'd make a killing

You on the drink today youngfella?
Post by: lurganblue on November 13, 2008, 02:39:22 PM
brilliant. never been to this. do they do them kasekrainer hotdogs that have the cheese inside the sausage (i know what your thinking illdecide  ;)  )....????
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 02:43:06 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 13, 2008, 02:39:22 PM
brilliant. never been to this. do they do them kasekrainer hotdogs that have the cheese inside the sausage (i know what your thinking illdecide  ;)  )....????

AFAIK they do them alright.
Post by: lurganblue on November 13, 2008, 02:45:24 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 13, 2008, 02:43:06 PM

fcuk they're lovely. i'll have to call in when i'm down doing some christmas shopping  :)
Post by: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 03:26:13 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 13, 2008, 02:45:24 PM

fcuk they're lovely. i'll have to call in when i'm down doing some christmas shopping  :)

aye and when you're down i'll show you're wife my German Sausage :D :D
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 03:26:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 03:26:13 PM

Typical lurganite  ::)

Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2008, 05:08:27 PM
Schnitzel is fantastic, with a few Kölsch to wash it down with. Briliant!  ;D
Post by: JimStynes on November 13, 2008, 05:45:18 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on November 13, 2008, 03:26:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 13, 2008, 03:26:13 PM

Typical lurganite  ::)

Typical shineys nail.
Post by: Rois on November 17, 2009, 04:36:42 PM
Opened today - walked through at lunchtime, it was like Groundhog Day.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 17, 2009, 05:16:59 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 17, 2009, 04:39:11 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 17, 2009, 04:36:42 PM
They doing Groundhog burgers now?

Punxsutawney Phil?
Post by: Square Ball on November 17, 2009, 05:36:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 17, 2009, 04:39:11 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 17, 2009, 04:36:42 PM
They doing Groundhog burgers now?

are they the ones that keep repeating on you, coat and hat please.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 17, 2009, 08:10:31 PM
Was at it today. I see Lavery's have a fine looking bar at it. Hog Roast does great food as does the boyo selling Chicken Tikka, naan bread and a drink for 4 squid.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 03:52:33 PM
Markets back but only until Monday, heading down after work.
Post by: Franko on May 28, 2010, 04:10:53 PM
Think they're starting to rip the ass out of it a bit.

Come to think of it, that's exactly what the paella did to me.   :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 14, 2011, 08:18:01 PM
Well it's that time of year again, Market coming from this Friday 19th November until Monday 19th December, lovely jubbely, was needing to restock the "meats"  ;) ;D
Post by: whitegoodman on November 14, 2011, 08:26:22 PM
Always loved the market when it comes at christmas, burgers at the various stalls are top notch and remember Laverys was good spot last year.  Belfast in general at the wkend coming up to christmas always has a great atmosphere about the town and the talent doesnt be too bad either
Post by: Don Johnson on November 14, 2011, 08:32:06 PM
The German sausage stand has overtaken the burger stall for me since last year. Had a lovely hotdog with tobacco onions and this curry ketchup. I know the curry ketchup sounds rank and I only put it on by accident but it was brilliant.

The strawberry beer on the other hand, not good. Nice for the first sup, by the end of the pint I was sick of it.

Suppose I may start saving the pennies now for my visit to it.
Post by: whitegoodman on November 14, 2011, 08:38:36 PM
Tobacco onions and curry ketchup...... christ, i take it u werent talken to any wemen after that!!!!

The strawberry beer, where did ya find that, wouldnt mind gettin a sup of one of those.  Suppose its just like a bad cocktail??
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 15, 2011, 10:43:51 AM
Christmas Continental Market
Date: Saturday 19 November - Monday 19 December 2011
Venue: Belfast City Hall grounds

The Christmas Continental Market will be at Belfast City Hall from 12 noon on Saturday 19 November to 6pm on Monday 19 December, selling a range of food, drinks and crafts.

Kids can enjoy the merry-go-round and visit Santa in his grotto! They can also post their letters to Santa using Santa's postbox.
Opening times

Monday - Wednesday: 10am - 8pm (except Monday 19 December when it will close at 6pm)
Thursday - Saturday: 10am - 10pm
Sunday: 1pm - 6pm
Food and drink

Highlights include:
Bratwurst sausages and German beers
warming gluhwein
liqueur coffees
gourmet burgers
Spanish paella
toasted baguettes
waffles, crêpes and Dutch pancakes
cakes, fudge and sweets
Continental and Irish cheeses
exotic meats from around the world.
Gifts and other items

If you are looking for an unusual Christmas gift then you are bound to find something among the great selection of gifts and crafts, including:
leather handbags, purses and wallets from France
candles
jewellery
'smellies' from Provence
natural carved wooden furniture, statues, figurines from Kenya
pashminas and scarves.

Taken from: http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/events/christmascontinentalmarket.asp
Post by: 5 Sams on November 15, 2011, 10:50:15 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on November 14, 2011, 08:32:06 PM
The German sausage stand has overtaken the burger stall for me since last year. Had a lovely hotdog with tobacco onions and this curry ketchup. I know the curry ketchup sounds rank and I only put it on by accident but it was brilliant.

The strawberry beer on the other hand, not good. Nice for the first sup, by the end of the pint I was sick of it.

Suppose I may start saving the pennies now for my visit to it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Currywurst

Lovely stuff....had it in Berlin.
Post by: thejuice on November 15, 2011, 10:53:15 AM
Ich liebe diesen Märkten. Bratwürste sind die Bienen Knie. Ich liebe deutsches Bier. Versuchen Sie, den Rauch Bier, wenn Sie es finden können.

Unschlagbar Stehen in der Kälte schlürfen Glühwein in einer mondhellen Nacht im Dezember.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 15, 2011, 12:08:47 PM
I was curious and had the time.  What did we do before the Google translate button?

Ich liebe diesen Märkten. Bratwürste sind die Bienen Knie. Ich liebe deutsches Bier. Versuchen Sie, den Rauch Bier, wenn Sie es finden können.

Unschlagbar Stehen in der Kälte schlürfen Glühwein in einer mondhellen Nacht im Dezember

I love these markets. Sausages are the bees knees. I love German beer. Try the smoked beer, if you can find it. Unbeatably standing in the cold sipping mulled wine on a moonlit night in December.

Post by: Olly on November 15, 2011, 12:19:41 PM
Ich bin Ihr Meister. Sie befolgen mich. Gebühr für die Gewehren. Ich sehe tote Leute. Widerstand ist vergeblich.
Post by: screenexile on November 15, 2011, 12:29:29 PM
Quote from: Olly on November 15, 2011, 12:19:41 PM
Ich bin Ihr Meister. Sie befolgen mich. Gebühr für die Gewehren. Ich sehe tote Leute. Widerstand ist vergeblich.

Ich bin das Walroß
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 16, 2011, 01:01:17 PM
For those of youse with kids, there is a Santas grotto this time  ;D
Post by: Rois on November 16, 2011, 01:07:43 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 16, 2011, 01:01:17 PM
For those of youse with kids, there is a Santas grotto this time  ;D
There was one last year too, stood in the queue (not long mind you) to hear a Santa that supported Ardoyne Kickhams talk to my nephew about St Enda's. 
It was for charity, hope it continues to be the same this year.
Post by: mc_grens on November 16, 2011, 01:33:45 PM
Anybody know when the Dublin version of this at the IFSC is happening?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 16, 2011, 03:03:37 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 16, 2011, 01:33:45 PM
Anybody know when the Dublin version of this at the IFSC is happening?

This one:
The Docklands Christmas Market
will now take place under new management from Dec 8th -23rd at George's Dock, IFSC. The event is organised by HSGZander and Raw Marketing. Please contact Raw Marketing on info@rawmarketing.ie or call Lisa Geoghegan at 01 496 9883 for queries and booking information

or this one:
Welcome to the German Christmas Market
at The Square Shopping Centre, Dublin's
newest and best Christmas Market.
Located in the heart of West Dublin,
the Square Christmas Market is a place to visit for all the family. With up to 50 stalls lit up by more than a 1,000 Christmas lights, it is going to be a fun filled delight for all your Christmas Shopping.

The 24th November, 2011 marks the opening of the German Christmas Market. With its ideal location you will be
tempted by the aromas of the season in this
wonderful tree lined setting.

For more info see below
http://www.dublin.ie/disp_list.aspx?catId=118&Page=1&letter=&noOfPages=3
Post by: Sky Blue Gael on November 16, 2011, 04:37:29 PM
Cant wait for this. I have to say i love the strawberry beer even if it does get a bit sickening after a few
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 24, 2011, 04:51:09 PM
Anyone been yet?
Hopefully heading down with the lovely lady wife tomorrow.
Post by: Hashtag on November 24, 2011, 09:09:31 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 24, 2011, 04:51:09 PM
Anyone been yet?

Heading down Saturday week with the Mrs. looking forward to it. Haven't been before. I actually not sure what to expect. Is there a list of what will be at it?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 24, 2011, 09:23:52 PM
Heading down tomorrow evening. I'll be having a light lunch that's for sure.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2011, 10:07:27 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on November 24, 2011, 09:23:52 PM
Heading down tomorrow evening. I'll be having a light lunch that's for sure.
Too much information.

http://m.urbandictionary.com/#define?term=light%20lunch (http://m.urbandictionary.com/#define?term=light%20lunch)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 25, 2011, 03:18:05 AM
Sounds about right.
Post by: Rois on November 25, 2011, 09:15:30 AM
I'll be heading in this evening after work, but going to a black tie event in City Hall at 8 so will be all dolled up in the glitzy gear to tr**p around a sweaty, condensation-filled tent.  Can't wait!
Post by: Don Johnson on November 25, 2011, 10:16:23 AM
Heading down tomorrow about 5 or 6pm for pints and a bit of feeding with my mates.

Then will head down the week after at some stage with the woman for a more civilised affair.
Post by: paco on November 25, 2011, 11:48:09 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 24, 2011, 09:09:31 PM
Anyone been yet?

Heading down Saturday week with the Mrs. looking forward to it. Haven't been before. I actually not sure what to expect. Is there a list of what will be at it?

Never been either, anyone post a link to said list or something similar?
Post by: Hashtag on November 25, 2011, 11:51:03 AM
Quote from: paco on November 25, 2011, 11:48:09 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 24, 2011, 09:09:31 PM
Anyone been yet?

Never been either, anyone post a link to said list or something similar?

Here Here. Any Chance?
Post by: Olly on November 25, 2011, 11:53:06 AM
Food and drink

Highlights include:
Bratwurst sausages and German beers
warming gluhwein
liqueur coffees
gourmet burgers
Spanish paella
toasted baguettes
waffles, crêpes and Dutch pancakes
cakes, fudge and sweets
Continental and Irish cheeses
exotic meats from around the world.

Gifts and other items

If you are looking for an unusual Christmas gift then you are bound to find something among the great selection of gifts and crafts, including:
leather handbags, purses and wallets from France
candles
jewellery
'smellies' from Provence
natural carved wooden furniture, statues, figurines from Kenya
pashminas and scarves.
Post by: Ulick on November 25, 2011, 12:29:52 PM

'Waddling down' you mean. Has she not sprogged yet?
Post by: Don Johnson on November 25, 2011, 12:37:40 PM
The best bits of it imo are the weird burgers: kangaroo, wild boar, ostrich and others. Then the German sausage stand is brilliant too.

The beer tents are always bunged as well.
Post by: whitegoodman on November 25, 2011, 01:12:02 PM
Kangaroo burgers are great.

Laverys beer tent was very good last year.
Post by: Olly on November 25, 2011, 01:18:03 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on November 25, 2011, 01:12:02 PM

What was it made of?
Post by: johnneycool on November 25, 2011, 01:33:40 PM
Quote from: Olly on November 25, 2011, 01:18:03 PM

What was it made of?

Not sure, but somehow they were able to capture that truely Lavery's 'atmosphere' of stale piss and burning herbs.

Really christmassy
Post by: laoislad on November 25, 2011, 05:20:29 PM

What was it made of?

Polyester taffeta
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2011, 09:17:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 25, 2011, 05:20:29 PM

What was it made of?

Polyester taffeta
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2011, 10:30:12 AM
Going later today. Where is handiest for parking if coming in from M1?
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on November 27, 2011, 11:36:48 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2011, 10:30:12 AM
Going later today. Where is handiest for parking if coming in from M1?

Does the car park at Townsend st (bottom of Shankill Rd) open on Sunday's? It is only £3 per day and handy to and from the M1.
Post by: Don Johnson on November 27, 2011, 12:02:30 PM
Hope for your sake it is less bunged than yesterday!