Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: billy the kid on November 07, 2008, 03:15:55 PM

Title: Prayers Badly Needed
Post by: billy the kid on November 07, 2008, 03:15:55 PM
This is a very serious thread and I would appreciate your co-operation.

A friend of mine and her husband had been trying for a child for over 3 years and happily announced a while back that they had successfully conceived  but that this time was basically their last chance.

She is now in hospital after having a baby boy yesterday. The little fella isnt very well however as he was born at 22 weeks and was under 2 Lbs.

The next 24-48 hours are critical to his survival and his mother has asked everyone to pray for him.

What Im asking is that everyone take a stop and take a moment to say a prayer for mother and childs survival.

The childs name is Miceal (pronounced Me - Hall) and he is in Craigavon area hospital in the spealist baby ward.

Please could everyone take a moment and offer a prayer for this childs life.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Prayers Badly Needed
Post by: youngfella on November 07, 2008, 03:17:56 PM
I hope he sticks it out. poor wee fella
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2008, 03:19:10 PM
I'll say the prayers billy and I hope everything works out. Please keep us informed.

(http://catholicconvert.files.wordpress.com/2007/09/you-are-in-my-thoughts-and-prayers-candle-and-hands.jpg)
Post by: Zapatista on November 07, 2008, 03:27:06 PM
Will do Billy.
Post by: corn02 on November 07, 2008, 03:31:45 PM
Hope it turns out well.
Post by: full back on November 07, 2008, 03:32:19 PM
Done
Keep us informed
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2008, 03:32:28 PM
Nice to see a thread like this Billy and i can assure you lad i will say a prayer for the wee one and light a candle for him aswell. Hopefully he will get through it. I look forward to your post saying that the kid was grand in 4 or 5 months time.
Post by: nifan on November 07, 2008, 03:40:07 PM
Terrible news altogether.
I hope he gets through it, it must be a tough time for all concerned.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 07, 2008, 03:45:19 PM
My prayers are with them, keep us informed, hope all is well
Post by: billy the kid on November 07, 2008, 03:48:03 PM
Thanks lads.

As much as we all argue and take the piss and lets be honest, be downright twisted with each other at times I knew yous would step up to the plate.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2008, 03:48:53 PM
All concerned are in my thoughts.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2008, 03:50:37 PM
Something like this puts it all in perspective.
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2008, 04:00:05 PM
Best wishes to the little lad and his family.
Post by: The Gs Man on November 07, 2008, 04:03:34 PM
Yes, best wishes.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 07, 2008, 04:35:53 PM
In the hope that it might help raise the spirits,  5 years ago my sister gave birth in very similar circumstances to the smallest baby ever born at the Rotunda in Dublin.
It was a horrendous first year for baby and parents.

But they both made it through and my 5 year old niece started school in september.  I hope there is a similar outcome here.
Post by: Puckoon on November 07, 2008, 04:59:52 PM
Bless them all.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2008, 05:09:11 PM
22 weeks is possible these days. Here's hoping.....
Post by: rrhf on November 07, 2008, 05:12:56 PM
God bless them. 
Post by: Franko on November 07, 2008, 05:15:52 PM
Will say a prayer for the wee man surely.  Hope all turns out for the best Billy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2008, 05:28:25 PM
We just took our wee man home from the neo natal unit in Craigavon five weeks ago. He had a few days in the special care unit and the nurses are absolute angels in there.

I was shocked at the size of the tiny babies at 2lb and under in the special care unit but there are photos up all over the place of the success stories. I hope this is another one!
Post by: leenie on November 07, 2008, 05:34:07 PM
heres a prayer that was given to me that i know has help others.

The Miracle Prayer.
Dear heart of Jesus in the past i have asked for many favours. This time i ask for a special one.(mention here). Take it dear heart of Jesus and place it within your own broken heart where your father sees it. Then in his merciful eyes it will become your favour, not mine. amen.

in my thoughts.
Post by: The Iceman on November 07, 2008, 05:40:41 PM
sending the prayers up now Billy

Post by: Estimator on November 07, 2008, 05:57:14 PM
Goes without saying Bill - my prayers are with them!
Post by: aroundincircles on November 07, 2008, 06:02:57 PM
Prayer for all involved here from me as well.I was born 2pound weight in 1972 10 weeks premature and survive am now married with 4 kids myself at a stapping 6ft 3" and around 17 stone so hopefully all will be fine good luck and god bless.

PS. my weight dropped to 1 pound 8 onzes after a few days.
Post by: billy the kid on November 07, 2008, 06:18:51 PM
Cheers everyone. Just got report from hospital there that he is holding up rightly and that they are hopeful but asked for the prayers to continue.

Ps Aroundincircles, thats the best yet 6'3 an 17 stonne, theres hope.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 07, 2008, 06:25:14 PM
Billy Mrs BC was a similar weight and 12 weeks early and that was over 30 years ago.  She made it through and now has brought 3 more monsters into the world.  It is tough now, but having to fight as a baby will make him stronger later on.  Prayers and thoughts from Cork.
Post by: aroundincircles on November 07, 2008, 06:31:58 PM
Billy i tell you that is not a lie. Was in the incabater for 6 months was the size of my dads hand.
Post by: Square Ball on November 07, 2008, 06:39:20 PM
done, a friend of mine gave birth to twins at 24 and a half weeks, weight 1.9 and 1.11 both are well and are out of hospital
Post by: heganboy on November 07, 2008, 07:27:29 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 07, 2008, 06:25:14 PM
Mrs BC was a similar weight and 12 weeks early and that was over 30 years ago.  She made it through and now has brought 3 more monsters into the world. 

And she's right and pleasing on the eye too....
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2008, 07:37:18 PM

I had a wee girl last June who decided at 28 weeks to suddenly enter the world (Typical woman) weighing in at 2lb 8! She also decided to stop breathing, and 'die' for a few minutes after a few weeks!

However as I type is in MY LIVING ROOM and WATCHING MY TV, and can skip between the angel, and a divil every few minutes!

I'll say an extra wee wan tonight Billy for the bairn and the parents!
Post by: Bensars on November 07, 2008, 07:41:51 PM
Done Billy. If its any consolation my wee lad was born in that hospatal in feb and the staff are amazing.

On another note a friend of mine was under 2 lb. Turned into a 6ft + animal and played at the highest level
Post by: stew on November 07, 2008, 08:04:46 PM
Billy, the prayer is winging its way to the big fella. I hope that all goes well, it woudl be heartbreaking for that poor couple if anything bad happened the child. I will say another prayer for them the night.
Post by: Top of the hill on November 07, 2008, 08:27:59 PM
Prayers will be offered up from here too. We're all hoping everything turns out well.
Title: Prayer
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 07, 2008, 09:02:48 PM
Just after saying a wee prayer with my boy for the sick baby please god he will be ok and his parents are in our thoughts . Had a cousin who was born at under 2 lbs and who was given little chance to live she now has 3 of her own children now so there is hope
Post by: Tyrones own on November 07, 2008, 09:16:35 PM
Hope all works out there for the wee lad Billy, like a few of the others here, I know a girl born in the same circumstances
and everything turned out great. Modern technology is great nowadays for these things.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 07, 2008, 09:40:56 PM
i too have seen children in similar cases to this and they are now thriving normal boys + girls years later. they do get great care and attention and everything that can be done will be done believe you me. fingers crossed billy.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 07, 2008, 09:50:41 PM
Billy, just said a wee prayer there for the wee boy and his Mam. They are in my thoughts.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 07, 2008, 10:05:43 PM
Prayer sorted,hope they both manage a full recovery
Post by: the green man on November 07, 2008, 10:22:04 PM
Its amazing what these nurses can do. A friend of mine had a wain born at 24 weeks. Shes a wee bit small now compared to the rest at ther age, but shes functioning well. Her da has a picture of her covered in a ten pound note, thats how small she was. Good luck to your friends Billy, I hope he pulls through.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 07, 2008, 10:58:19 PM
"Se do bheatha a Mhuire" raite...go maire se go deo.
Post by: Yes I Would on November 07, 2008, 11:54:17 PM
May God see him through!!!
Post by: kickingmule on November 08, 2008, 12:31:00 AM
my thoughts and prayers are with the little man ..... and he WILL pull through.
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 08, 2008, 12:46:28 AM
said a little prayer there myself - best of luck to the young fella.
Post by: Spirit of 94 on November 08, 2008, 10:05:13 AM
Sorry I missed this thread yesterday.  Prayers said and hope he's doing well.

Miceal (Michael) the patron saint of soldiers. Sure sign that he's fighter.   
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 08, 2008, 11:00:22 AM
Lord Jesus Christ, Good Shepherd of the sheep, you gather the lambs in your arms and carry them in your bosom: We commend to your loving care this child. Relieve his pain, guard him from all danger, restore to him your gifts of gladness and strength, and raise this child up to a life of service to you. Hear us, we pray, for you dear Name's sake. Amen.

Thinking of all concerned
Post by: orangeman on November 08, 2008, 11:14:58 AM
He'll  make it ok Billy !
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 08, 2008, 11:26:25 AM
My thoughts and prayers are with the little fella and his family............................
Post by: aroundincircles on November 08, 2008, 10:41:55 PM
How is the man today
Post by: balladmaker on November 08, 2008, 10:58:47 PM
Puts the worries of every day life into perspective. 

Hope the wee lad pulls through, prayer is sorted for him and all concerned.  It's amazing the fight that babies have in them, I would be hopeful all will turn out well.
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 08, 2008, 11:07:22 PM
Backing you all the way Billy; you have my prayers for what they're worth. Keep us informed.
Post by: Fun Bobby on November 08, 2008, 11:12:26 PM
Just after seeing this billy.

Will say an extra pray for all involved 2nite
Post by: dublin15man on November 09, 2008, 03:12:04 PM
Said a little prayer for the youngfella' this morning.

Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 09, 2008, 03:57:30 PM
Please God the 'wee man' will pull through Billy.  Prayers have been said.  Aside from that, nice to see the human side of everyone on the board.  Keep us informed Billy
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 09, 2008, 05:54:14 PM
niece had twins lasy year, born prematurely. One little lad was only 2Lbs.   Got a picture of the two of them last week on tricycles, both well on their way to becoming Laois fotballers. Prayer said, the little lad will make it so don't worry Billy.
Post by: cornerback on November 09, 2008, 07:49:24 PM
My thoughts and prayers are with miceal and his parents.

Sincerely hope everything works out.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 09, 2008, 08:11:23 PM
Will light a candle for him now Billy. As a new Dad I know how precious a new child can be, cant imagine going through that.

As a word of encouragement, my little brother was born severly ill, he had open heart surgery aged 7 days. Imagine the size of his heart.

He turned 18 this year, a fine lump of a lad!

My thoughts and prayers are with wee Miceal and all the family.
Post by: billy the kid on November 10, 2008, 04:18:23 PM
The little lad is holding on rightly and they are sayiong that each day his chances improve. I will keep yous up to date as best I can and thanks for all the kind messages.
Post by: Square Ball on November 10, 2008, 05:00:28 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on November 10, 2008, 04:18:23 PM
The little lad is holding on rightly and they are sayiong that each day his chances improve. I will keep yous up to date as best I can and thanks for all the kind messages.

greta to hear BTK, keep us posted
Post by: his holiness nb on November 11, 2008, 08:04:25 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on November 10, 2008, 04:18:23 PM

Good stuff Billy, her holiness NB has had a candle lit permanantly for wee Miceal. Hope he stays well
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 12, 2008, 05:15:49 PM
Any update Billy?
Post by: thebandit on November 12, 2008, 06:22:12 PM
God bless him
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2008, 06:43:28 PM
Hope things get better for him and his family.
Post by: D4S on November 12, 2008, 08:42:38 PM
Hi Billy first time Ive seen your thread I havent been on for a few days.  3days now and it looks like he's holding on he's a fighter, my thoughts and prayers are with all the family and miceal hope he continues to fight!
Post by: D4S on November 18, 2008, 04:51:39 PM
Hi I was just wondering how the baby is, just came into my head today in work when I heard of a similar case.  Hope he is doing ok!
Post by: billy the kid on November 19, 2008, 02:38:37 PM
He hanging in there Lad, was a bit hairy for a few days last week but he seems to be on the mend again. They say every day he's there his chances improve and the parents are trying to keep as positive about it as possible.  I told them a few of the stories people posted on here, and that honestly cheered them up no end, as the saying goes, 'Where theres life, theres hope' 

Cheers for asking Dub, and thanks to everyone for their kind messages and Prayers. 

Still alot of praying and worrying to be done but heres hoping for the best.
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2008, 02:43:41 PM
We'll keep the prayers coming Billy. I'll light a candle in the Church on Friday for them.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 19, 2008, 02:45:04 PM
thats great that the wee lad seems to be getting better billy . My wee boy now asks to say a prayer for baby micael every night before he goes to bed, so he is in our thoughts and prayers
Post by: full back on November 19, 2008, 02:55:54 PM
Hope things keep getting better billy
Let them know our thoughts are still with them
Post by: under the bar on November 19, 2008, 04:04:49 PM
Hopefully he'll be leading a full and active life soon, Dia na thoiseach.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 19, 2008, 04:32:08 PM
2 weeks old tomorrow Billy.  Will continue to include him in my prayers.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 20, 2008, 08:51:37 AM
Just found this thread, my thoughts and prayers are with Miceal and his family
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 20, 2008, 08:58:50 AM
Just found this thread myself, thoughts and prayers are with Miceal and his family, best wishes.
Post by: thejuice on November 20, 2008, 10:03:47 AM
God Bless him, hope he pulls through
Post by: stiffler on November 20, 2008, 10:10:06 AM
Hope everything turns out good, prayers added to the cause.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 20, 2008, 12:14:33 PM
Good luck to all concerned, Billy.
Every day brings fresh hope.
Miceal is indeed very premature but I honestly have heard of other equally early arrivals who survived.
Please God he will do the same.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:16:20 PM
Any news Billy on the wee man? how is things now, its been a while since we all heard
Post by: wherefromreferee? on December 03, 2008, 02:02:04 PM
Just did a search for this thread as I was thinking about the child myself - any news Billy?
Post by: cornerback on January 05, 2009, 02:15:40 PM
Well billy, any news on how miceal is doing?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on January 13, 2009, 01:35:27 PM
Billy the Kid, any update on the child?
Post by: billy the kid on January 15, 2009, 11:57:52 AM
Unfortunately baby miceal didnt make it, he was just to small. He hung in there for 3 weeks but it wasnt to be.  Havent posted on the thread about it before now as it just didnt feel right.

The parents seem to be doing fine now but it was a bit hairy there for a while. 

Makes you realise how trivial all our gripes on the board are. Thanks for asking bout the wee lad and thanks to everyone who offered prayers.

If you all could maybe say a wee prayer for the parents it would do no harm.

BTK
Post by: corn02 on January 15, 2009, 12:00:35 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on January 15, 2009, 11:57:52 AM
Unfortunately baby miceal didnt make it, he was just to small. He hung in there for 3 weeks but it wasnt to be.  Havent posted on the thread about it before now as it just didnt feel right.

The parents seem to be doing fine now but it was a bit hairy there for a while. 

Makes you realise how trivial all our gripes on the board are. Thanks for asking bout the wee lad and thanks to everyone who offered prayers.

If you all could maybe say a wee prayer for the parents it would do no harm.

BTK

That is gutting. Prayer will be said of course.

RIP.
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 15, 2009, 12:08:51 PM
Billy. I am very sorry to hear that. My thoughts are with the family.
Post by: Off The Fence on January 15, 2009, 12:10:37 PM
Sorry to hear that. 

Puts things into perspective!
Post by: full back on January 15, 2009, 12:22:23 PM
Fcuk sake
Thoughts are with them
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 15, 2009, 02:16:36 PM
My heartfelt sympathies, Billy. I also was waiting on news and thought that as each day passed without incident the little lad's chances were improving. Sadly, it was not to be.
God bless the parents and all their friends and comfort them in their terrible loss.
Post by: aroundincircles on January 15, 2009, 03:20:39 PM
Billy i will for sure say a prayer and light a candle at my place of worship may god be with them they now have an angel looking down on them.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on January 15, 2009, 04:19:55 PM
Very very sorry to hear that news BTK.  Thoughts and prayers are with that family.
Post by: orangeman on January 15, 2009, 04:24:08 PM
Very,very sorry to hear the bad news. I'll light a candle later for you all and hope that time will bring some healing.

R.I.P.
Post by: under the bar on January 15, 2009, 04:42:07 PM
v sad.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 15, 2009, 04:52:08 PM
Heartbreaking.
RIP
Prayers said.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2009, 08:32:14 PM
This puts everything into perspective..Very Sad...My thoughts and prayers are with his family.

RIP
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 15, 2009, 09:00:46 PM
Heartbreaking. Thoughts &  prayers are with the parents.
Post by: D4S on January 15, 2009, 09:02:14 PM
Billy I'm so sorry to hear this news.  I had him in my thoughts from that first time I read this thread.  Told my wife about it at the time when I got home from work.  I hope the family can take the slightest comfort from knowing that so many people had them in their thoughts and prayers at this terrible time.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 16, 2009, 01:52:55 AM

Terrible news....RIP
Post by: gerry on January 16, 2009, 02:06:41 AM
having 3 kids myself, i can believe what his parents are going through. may he rest in peace