Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM

Title: hen party and themes...any ideas
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM
organizing a hen weekend

any ideas on where we should go and themes?
Title: Re: hen party and themes...any ideas
Post by: fred the red on November 05, 2008, 07:08:41 PM
post up a few pics after please.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 07:10:20 PM
did you want to fly somewhere or stay in ireland?
Post by: Yes I Would on November 05, 2008, 07:22:11 PM
L plates, Veils all that sort of nonsense is played out.

Depends on the hen and her chicks i suppose.!!
If they are a crowd of lively firecrackers like yourself then just get kitted out in next to nothing, hit the town and get blind drunk and yous should have a good night.

Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:23:09 PM
i think the south of ireland is to expensive

i don't think the girls want to go to the south of england

i would want to go somewhere that you can have a low key friday night, do something during the day on sat and go mental the sat nite and then come back on the sunday to the local!

don't want a tacky theme... not our style
Post by: youngfella on November 05, 2008, 07:45:54 PM
id go to http://www.roespa.com/ in limaavady on friday pramper yourselfs have a quite drink out in the sticks then go mad in derry on saturday
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 07:48:35 PM
Newcastle is meant to be good for Hen Parties.

Also a friend was at one in Sligo a few weeks ago and loved it. Work colleague is going to one in Sligo this weekend too and the theme is Sex and the City.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 07:54:11 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 07:48:35 PM
Newcastle is meant to be good for Hen Parties.

Also a friend was at one in Sligo a few weeks ago and loved it. Work colleague is going to one in Sligo this weekend too and the theme is Sex and the City.

In Sligo?
They must be being ironic
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:02:30 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 07:54:11 PM
In Sligo?
They must be being ironic

Velet Nightclub or something. I don't know, tend to switch off when I heard them mention "Sex in the City" "Ugly Betty" "Desperate Housewives" or any of them endless 'talent' cum reality shows.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:04:33 PM
Im surprised you aren't heading with them zig  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:06:11 PM
Wasn't for the want of trying Maggie.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:07:33 PM
sure maybe you could go on leenie's one-be the token male
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:09:16 PM
I'd be too afraid. Rumour has it, the last man that went as the token male on a Hen Do with leenie hasn't been seen since.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 05, 2008, 08:32:17 PM
Superhero theme. Batgirl, wonder woman, supergirl, catwoman etc.
Just a thought.
Post by: The Iceman on November 05, 2008, 08:40:51 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 05, 2008, 08:32:17 PM
Superhero theme. Batgirl, wonder woman, supergirl, catwoman etc.
Just a thought.

Fell in with a Supergirl hen party from wales one year in dublin - mad craic
definitely looked the part
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:49:12 PM
I felt into a Welsh Hen Party in Edinburgh three years ago. They were all dressed as dragons.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:57:35 PM
i quite like the idea of a sailor girl theme and going somewhere on a boat.
Oi-oi Captain
ship mate etc etc
Jus dunno where you could on a boat to
Post by: Rois on November 05, 2008, 09:23:15 PM
Jeez I've been on loads of these, helped organise a few too.

"Classy" - go for Black and Bling, everyone to wear black and lots of sparkly accessories/jewellery.  Got sooooo many comments in Barcelona at the time. 

London was a fantastic place for a hen party - Fri night in O'Neills, shopping Sat, cocktails in the Ritz in the early evening, then onto a cheesy club.

Have been to Sligo twice on a hen party, and both times were really good.  The Velvet Rooms that I think Ziggy mentioned were good but you're not allowed hen party stuff, which was grand.  Met a lovely fella down there one time.  Pity about the distance btw there and Belfast.  :-\

Westport was good fun, pubs during the day were the best part.

Belfast is actually great for a hen party, we went to McHugh's for dinner, took a carryout on the boat on the Lagan, then off to Cathedral Quarter.

Letterkenny - also good but spent my formative years there so not as much fun as it should have been.

Dublin - too expensive now.

Next year we're combining two and going to Puerto Banus but might head to the races at Down Royal for the "home" version of one.

My choice: surf wkend in Bundoran, you can stay for next to nothing, do something active, then out in the town Sat night.

Re: boat, you can go on one at Carrick on Shannon and then off into town as well, think there's a club there. 
Post by: fred the red on November 05, 2008, 09:42:07 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 05, 2008, 09:23:15 PM
Jeez I've been on loads of these, helped organise a few too.

"Classy" - go for Black and Bling, everyone to wear black and lots of sparkly accessories/jewellery.  Got sooooo many comments in Barcelona at the time. 

London was a fantastic place for a hen party - Fri night in O'Neills, shopping Sat, cocktails in the Ritz in the early evening, then onto a cheesy club.

Have been to Sligo twice on a hen party, and both times were really good.  The Velvet Rooms that I think Ziggy mentioned were good but you're not allowed hen party stuff, which was grand.  Met a lovely fella down there one time.  Pity about the distance btw there and Belfast.  :-\

Westport was good fun, pubs during the day were the best part.

Belfast is actually great for a hen party, we went to McHugh's for dinner, took a carryout on the boat on the Lagan, then off to Cathedral Quarter.

Letterkenny - also good but spent my formative years there so not as much fun as it should have been.

Dublin - too expensive now.

Next year we're combining two and going to Puerto Banus but might head to the races at Down Royal for the "home" version of one.

My choice: surf wkend in Bundoran, you can stay for next to nothing, do something active, then out in the town Sat night.
Re: boat, you can go on one at Carrick on Shannon and then off into town as well, think there's a club there. 

A night out in bundoran? its not that hot to be fair
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 05, 2008, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:49:12 PM
I felt into a Welsh Hen Party in Edinburgh three years ago. They were all dressed as dragons.

Naughty.
Post by: Rois on November 05, 2008, 09:54:31 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 05, 2008, 09:47:38 PM
Surfing is a pile of shite too, unless getting hit in the face with a load of saltwater every 10 seconds is your idea of a good time  :-\

It is!  Bought my first wetsuit this year, intend to make use of it. 
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 10:25:09 PM
i wanted to tell every one it was a mystery and then turned up at loug derg... just to see their reactions!
Post by: fred the red on November 05, 2008, 10:27:57 PM
Boat trip down the shannon sounds like a plan....anyone done anything like this before?
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 10:29:56 PM
Lough Derg would be great for a hen- you wouldnt have to worry about what to wear-no high heels/make up required.
You would stay up all night and have the craic.
Plus there is a boat trip involved...............

And Leenie while you are there you could pray for a boyf,ticks all the boxes  ;)
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 10:52:04 PM
thanks maggie
don't need the prayers  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 11:04:25 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on November 05, 2008, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:49:12 PM

Naughty.

Fell.... fell.

Freudian slip there me thinks
Post by: Treasurer on November 05, 2008, 11:11:23 PM
Done the lot - nuns, nurses, schoolgirls etc and to be honest some of the best nights were the ones where nobody bothered with themes and just had a good night out (although the nuns night was particularly good craic in fairness)
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 11:12:21 PM
You had some dirty habits Treasurer
Post by: cavan4ever on November 06, 2008, 12:31:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM
organizing a hen weekend

Where are you from?  how far u willing to travel?
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 01:05:58 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on November 06, 2008, 12:31:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM
organizing a hen weekend

Where are you from?  how far u willing to travel?

from the north..........

will go anywhere, ireland, england or europe...  everyone going is good craic but wouldn't be into get full the whole weekend of going dressed as school girls....
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 01:07:06 PM
Eddie's in Greencastle leenie. I'll make sure you're well catered for.
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 01:08:31 PM

where is greencastle? is it between cookstown and omagh?
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 01:10:25 PM
Aye, like you don't know leenie. Centre of the known universe.
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 01:11:00 PM
(http://www.talentonline.com.au/dance-shows/modern-sydney/naughty-School-Girl.jpg)

leenie and friends on tour  ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on November 06, 2008, 01:18:18 PM
Ok what age range are u in?
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 01:27:55 PM
23-32

i hope u have ideas and aren't just fishing for info?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 01:42:08 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 01:11:00 PM
(http://www.talentonline.com.au/dance-shows/modern-sydney/naughty-School-Girl.jpg)

leenie and friends on tour  ;)

The wan in the middle looks like thon wan Roxy from Emmerdale!!

Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 01:42:58 PM
Haven't read through the thread Leenie but what about a weekend in Glasgow? It's just been named in the top 10 shopping cities in the world!
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2008, 01:56:18 PM
Don't know what theme you could have but I would recommend Carlingford as a good destination. Was at a stag there recently and had great craic. Its a lovely little town, nice pubs, really busy and lots of hens and stags about the place. There is an activities center there too, mostly water sports like canoes and kayaks and the like. Might be a bit cold now but I don't where you are going. We went into Dundalk the 1st night and it is a dump - stags/hens weren't welcomed so i'd avoid that.

A lot of people are heading to Poland now too as it is very cheap, but that is probably mostly stags. But you know, you make your own craic on these things.
Post by: cavan4ever on November 06, 2008, 01:59:05 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 06, 2008, 01:27:55 PM
23-32

i hope u have ideas and aren't just fishing for info?

Just fishing  ;D
Post by: miss mess on November 06, 2008, 02:09:39 PM
I'm organising my best friends hen and we are heading to kilkenny.  heard its meant to be mighty craic.
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 02:58:25 PM
Just a thought - and Im being serious.

Lough Derg. I think it would be a great time for some serious reflection among the bride to be and her friends.

Theres too much partyin goin on in ireland as it is. What with women getting strippers and all those phallic straws.

Lough Derg - Black tea and dry toast, and if she still really wants to get married - she is a keeper.
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:01:18 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 10:25:09 PM
i wanted to tell every one it was a mystery and then turned up at loug derg... just to see their reactions!

I guess it pays to read the entire thread before posting Puck. :-[
Post by: full back on November 06, 2008, 03:02:38 PM
WTF Puck?
Have you seen the light  :o
She wants to have a bit of fun not a time for reflection
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:06:45 PM
I was sitting at a bar once with a nice polished marble bar counter. There were two young things in short skirts sitting next to me. I wasnt there for reflection but a reflection came upon me and I suffered it intensly for an hour. I didnt think I was going to make it, it was a hairy moment that ended up being a close shave.
Post by: full back on November 06, 2008, 03:09:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:06:45 PM
I was sitting at a bar once with a nice polished marble bar counter.

Never heard them described as that before, but I would have went for her rather than the 2 with the skirts ;)
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:12:40 PM
i hear this place is good for hen weekends

http://www.lustybegisland.com/ (http://www.lustybegisland.com/)
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:28:13 PM

despite the hunger, the complete lack of sleep and having the knees cut of ya loug derg can be craic!!!!

but could ya imagine turning up dressed as school girls ..very funny!
Post by: leenie on November 08, 2008, 02:21:12 PM
  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Santa ponsa it is then!!!!

villa for four days....

sure the craic will be mighty
Post by: cavan4ever on November 10, 2008, 11:31:37 AM
Quote from: leenie on November 08, 2008, 02:21:12 PM
  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

villa for four days....

Salou would have been the spot to go, well id prefer it anyway.
Post by: lurganblue on November 10, 2008, 11:34:43 AM
Quote from: leenie on November 08, 2008, 02:21:12 PM
  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

villa for four days....

is ballyponsa not just like being in ireland only warmer?
Post by: illdecide on November 10, 2008, 05:23:42 PM
Was at a stag doo there 2 weeks ago in Manchester and met a few hen parties...1 hen party was dressed as coppers with short skirts and the stocking and suspenders showing...1st class ;D
Post by: maggie on November 10, 2008, 05:26:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 10, 2008, 11:34:43 AM

is ballyponsa not just like being in ireland only warmer?

is that not the point?
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2008, 05:27:17 PM
illdecide, were they Donegal girls?
Post by: Muzz on November 10, 2008, 05:58:40 PM
Hire a midget and handcuff it to the hen!

Might be funny with fellas but sure...
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2008, 06:53:03 PM
I'm available ;)