Eating Habits

Started by Maroon Manc, January 26, 2021, 03:41:07 PM

Red meat 2-3 times a month, lasagne or steaks for a treat. Fish or veg based 4-5 times a week and fish 1-2 times a week. Have been living like that the last 3-4 months and haven't felt healthier for years. Have way more energy and sleeping mush better. Skin is great too. Much 'fresher' looking and other parts of the body definitely in better working order.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 26, 2021, 05:51:54 PM
Red meat 2-3 times a month, lasagne or steaks for a treat. Fish or veg based 4-5 times a week and fish 1-2 times a week. Have been living like that the last 3-4 months and haven't felt healthier for years. Have way more energy and sleeping mush better. Skin is great too. Much 'fresher' looking and other parts of the body definitely in better working order.

What parts ?  ;D

The big lads eatin the viagra innit.

I suppose it could be classed as vegetarian..

Quote from: tonto1888 on January 26, 2021, 05:22:14 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 26, 2021, 03:52:46 PM
My thoughts on this.

1. Humans simply wouldn't have evolved from being primates and cave dwellers, without eating meat, fish and other animal produce.

2. So it's a completely unnatural thing to do. Maybe not a quite as unnatural as say cutting off fingers and toes to take a dump on evolution. But still, very unnatural.

1. Is there any evidence to back this up?

2. What's more natural. Eating plants growing around you or deciding to eat another living being?

To be clear. I'm not vegan or even veggie. I eat all the meat.

Is it not one of the fundamentals of Darwinism that you adapt to your surroundings or extinction beckons?

That's why humans eat meat.

We may have now actually be reaching a stage in our existence where we can thrive without meat. But from my largely uneducated vantage point, it would seem to be a stage where we would become dependent on imported food and a wide range of tablet supplements. Id be sceptical if this a better approach for our continued survival than doing what comes naturally.

Quote from: thewobbler on January 26, 2021, 03:52:46 PM
My thoughts on this.

1. Humans simply wouldn't have evolved from being primates and cave dwellers, without eating meat, fish and other animal produce.

2. So it's a completely unnatural thing to do. Maybe not a quite as unnatural as say cutting off fingers and toes to take a dump on evolution. But still, very unnatural.
Meat was a small % of diet
The return from hunting of food v energy expended was often very poor.
Generally meat was very seasonal and unreliable for hunter gatherers

Much more protein was got from roots, grubs and other plant based sources.

Everything in moderation and you'll not go far wrong. I just have to start practising what I preach. If you can minimise processed meat and stick to a decent bit of red meat every now and again, you'll be grand.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2021, 07:11:27 PM

What parts ?  ;D

The right parts....

JohnDenver

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2021, 05:45:49 PM
The odd time I have an Indian takeaway, can't remember the last Chinese takeaway I've had, must be 10 years.

Fresh food cooked, mixture of meat fish and chicken throughout the week.

Have done the odd veg week or two only. It's just more difficult to find the right mix and prepare it but if there was no meat available I wouldn't miss it..

I'm not going to change to veg and feel a moderate mix of goods is good enough for you.

Flavour is my thing for food, if it's got great textures and flavour I'll enjoy it.

Chocolate is my biggest downfall unfortunately and I keep trying to reduce it, but its a feckin drug!

Finally Wine! My beer consumption has dropped by about 90% and red wine consumption increased, weekends only and I try to leave at the least a glass or more in the bottle before bed!

There are very few things lately which are enjoyable, good food though is a bonus during this shit storm.. enjoy it, we don't have much time left

Keeping it for breakfast??  ;D

You cut down on dairy at all?

Quote from: Maroon Manc on January 27, 2021, 09:16:41 AM

You cut down on dairy at all?

I try to but I'm not great at that. Love the cheese and porridge with milk in the mornings. Have tried oat milk and a few other alternatives but just doesn't cut it. I know if I did cut the dairy out it would be better from my breathing as it is absolutely linked to a mucus I get in my throat but it's not too bad so I can live with it.

Day 1 off the dairy. Curious to see if it makes any difference. Cheese will be missed.

GetOverTheBar

It's hard to do.....but I think you'll notice a big difference in your general day to day by Monday.

Ethan Tremblay

I have started to adopt a more veganism diet with some slight changes to the norm.  Oat/Soy milk has replaced regular milk and I can't tell the difference as I gather the flavour of my tea/coffee/porridge from them themselves. 

I have tried quorn mince on lasagne/bolognaise and again the main taste is coming from the sauces and veg contained within.
I like the idea of cutting down on red meats when I can, but meat will forever be a feature of my diet, I am content with the small changes I have made so far as they don't impact me. 

On the topic of eating habits themselves, the majority of my colleagues in work eat food dictated by their tastebuds and its often pure rubbish.  One guy would eat chips everyday for lunch (one time we shared a bus into work and he was wolfing down a burger king at 8.30 in the morning), another would resort to eating pot noodles (he is 35) out of laziness and the majority would horse a few cans of fizzy juice into them everyday and about 4-5 coffee's. 

They look at me with astonishment/disdain that I would happily eat the same lunch for the week (I meal prep on a Sunday to free up my evenings during the week) but to me that's standard.

I cant fathom how grown adults can't create proper lunches on a regular basis.   
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

you can make your own oat milk
much cheaper

Quote from: JohnDenver on January 27, 2021, 12:29:08 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2021, 05:45:49 PM
The odd time I have an Indian takeaway, can't remember the last Chinese takeaway I've had, must be 10 years.

Fresh food cooked, mixture of meat fish and chicken throughout the week.

Have done the odd veg week or two only. It's just more difficult to find the right mix and prepare it but if there was no meat available I wouldn't miss it..

I'm not going to change to veg and feel a moderate mix of goods is good enough for you.

Flavour is my thing for food, if it's got great textures and flavour I'll enjoy it.

Chocolate is my biggest downfall unfortunately and I keep trying to reduce it, but its a feckin drug!

Finally Wine! My beer consumption has dropped by about 90% and red wine consumption increased, weekends only and I try to leave at the least a glass or more in the bottle before bed!

There are very few things lately which are enjoyable, good food though is a bonus during this shit storm.. enjoy it, we don't have much time left

Keeping it for breakfast??  ;D

It works well with Corn Flakes