Should Leo stand down until investigation complete?

Started by macker15, March 15, 2021, 07:47:33 AM

Should  Leo Stand down

Yay
30 (75%)
Nay
10 (25%)

Total Members Voted: 40

sid waddell

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:17:04 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:10:37 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:05:37 PM
Seems like very few people care

Sinn Fein have been less than vocal anyway and that's hardly a surprise given they have no moral authority whatsoever to call out corruption

Though maybe they could use some of the Northern Bank money to fund their own "investigation"

You're trying to do one of two things Sid.

Trying to wind up SF posters, and don't give a sh!t if you side track another thread to do so just so you can point score.

Trying to supress discussion about the actual issue by trying to use distracting whataboutery.

Neither is an addition to the board and you are acting like a complete child.
Sorry but the strategy of Sinn Fein supporters literally any time anything to do with the PIRA or Sinn Fein corruption or murder is brought up is to whatabout, deflect and deny

See what happened when the Paul Quinn story raised its head before the last election

So it's absolutely laughable to see SF supporters complaining here

There's a very serious point here

And that is that Sinn Fein supporters have zero moral authority to call any sort of corruption - alleged or proven - and this case is far from proven

Again, Varadkar's mistake was that he didn't order a human bomb, rob a bank, cover up child sex abuse, cover up murders, or commemorate a Nazi collaborator

Because these are the exact things that Sinn Fein supporters not just tolerate but celebrate

Did you criticise those posters for their whataboutery, deflection and denials? Or were you happy enough for them to do so and believed it was an good debating strategy?
Shinners believe it's a good deflection strategy

That's why they do it

Sinn Feiners believe there should be one rule for themselves and another for everybody else

It's perfectly legitimate for people to believe Varadkar should resign if he is proven to done something that merits resigning

I would be of that opinion myself

The point is, Shinners only believe that others should face consequences for wrongdoing

They believe that Sinn Fein should be immune not just from consequences for corruption and crime, the consequences of murder and gross misconduct etc. but that nobody should have the right to even talk about it

That's what makes their fake concern about alleged corruption so laughable

The brazen hypocrisy and shamelessness

Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:27:23 PM

Sinn Fein have been less than vocal anyway and that's hardly a surprise given they have no moral authority whatsoever to call out corruption

Though maybe they could use some of the Northern Bank money to fund their own "investigation"

Trying to wind up SF posters, and don't give a sh!t if you side track another thread to do so just so you can point score.

Trying to supress discussion about the actual issue by trying to use distracting whataboutery.

Sorry but the strategy of Sinn Fein supporters literally any time anything to do with the PIRA or Sinn Fein corruption or murder is brought up is to whatabout, deflect and deny

See what happened when the Paul Quinn story raised its head before the last election

And that is that Sinn Fein supporters have zero moral authority to call any sort of corruption - alleged or proven - and this case is far from proven

Again, Varadkar's mistake was that he didn't order a human bomb, rob a bank, cover up child sex abuse, cover up murders, or commemorate a Nazi collaborator

Because these are the exact things that Sinn Fein supporters not just tolerate but celebrate

Did you criticise those posters for their whataboutery, deflection and denials? Or were you happy enough for them to do so and believed it was an good debating strategy?

That's why they do it

Sinn Feiners believe there should be one rule for themselves and another for everybody else

It's perfectly legitimate for people to believe Varadkar should resign if he is proven to done something that merits resigning

The point is, Shinners only believe that others should face consequences for wrongdoing

They believe that Sinn Fein should be immune not just from consequences for corruption and crime, the consequences of murder and gross misconduct etc. but that nobody should have the right to even talk about it

I didn't ask what Shinners think of that. I'm trying to see your motivation for the posts you've made on this thread. Do you think whataboutery, denial and deflection helps discussion?

sid waddell

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:30:33 PM

That's why they do it

I didn't ask what Shinners think of that. I'm trying to see your motivation for the posts you've made on this thread. Do you think whataboutery, denial and deflection helps discussion?
What's my motivation?

To expose the blatant and shameless hypocrisy of Shinners as regards corruption and wrongdoing

And I am doing just that

Shinners don't care one jot about corruption and wrongdoing by politicians

If they did, they wouldn't be Shinners

Preening, sanctimonious, virtue signalling hypocrites

Baile Brigín 2

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/garda%C3%AD-set-to-send-file-on-varadkar-leak-to-the-dpp-1.4510220?mode=amp

File will go to the DPP. Seems to hinge on whether he would have gained snd if his mate doing so falls under the legislation

Angelo

If posters want to engage in unhinged, incoherent SF bashing there is a thread with 520 pages of such nonsensical and embittered tripe already on the board here with with them regular posters topping it up every so often.

Here is said thread.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15128.0

GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:34:40 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:30:33 PM

That's why they do it

What's my motivation?

To expose the blatant and shameless hypocrisy of Shinners as regards corruption and wrongdoing

And I am doing just that

Shinners don't care one jot about corruption and wrongdoing by politicians

If they did, they wouldn't be Shinners

Preening, sanctimonious, virtue signalling hypocrites

So to hell with any debate on matters as long as you get to dictate the agenda on the board?

Grow up. 

tiempo

So Leo is guilty of corruption?

sid waddell

Shinners calling on others to "grow up" is quite the irony

Preventing children from growing up was something the PIRA were expert at

When Slab Murphy was convicted of mass tax evasion, Gerry Adams' only response was to call him a "good Republican"

Shows how much SF care about corruption

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/slab-murphy-a-good-republican-despite-jailing-gerry-adams-1.2554445

sid waddell

Quote from: tiempo on March 15, 2021, 12:45:20 PM

No

That's why there's an investigation

Do you believe in due process?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: tiempo on March 15, 2021, 12:45:20 PM

By any political theory definition yes. No question.

By the legal definition tbc.

But the reality is the Tainiste and future Taoiseach is under criminal investigation.

Quote from: johnnycool on March 15, 2021, 11:25:50 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 11:21:06 AM
Shinners think everybody who opposes them is a troll

Shows how in touch with reality they are

The exact same coin as the DUP and the Tories

So you're OK with a senior Gov minister breaking the official secrets act by leaking a confidential document to his mate?

No deflection please.

Can a member of Government even break the Official Secrets Act. It appears to be written in a way (by Haughey I believe) that members of  government are exempt. It was mainly written to put Public Servants on notice. The act is at pains to say members of government are not included in public servants. On top of that it was written in a way that gave members of government far too much power to be non-transparent. But it looks like it gave them similar power to share. It will be interesting to see where this goes but don't see anything in OSA that he broke.

Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:47:33 PM

When Slab Murphy was convicted of mass tax evasion, Gerry Adams' only response was to call him a "good Republican"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/slab-murphy-a-good-republican-despite-jailing-gerry-adams-1.2554445

You really should grow up. If not for your own sanity then to help everyone else on this board that we don't have to discuss only what you want us to.

Your posts today have been those of a spoilt child that wants to always decide what game is being played and throws the head up when they don't they way. You only want to allow debate on things you want to debate. For someone who is so left wing, I find that staggering.

sid waddell

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:56:10 PM

You really should grow up. If not for your own sanity then to help everyone else on this board that we don't have to discuss only what you want us to.

Your posts today have been those of a spoilt child that wants to always decide what game is being played and throws the head up when they don't they way. You only want to allow debate on things you want to debate. For someone who is so left wing, I find that staggering.
Shinners have behaving like spoilt children on this forum for many, many years

The modus operandi of Shinners is exactly what you describe there

The points I have raised here have not been rebutted

Quote from: sid waddell on March 15, 2021, 12:59:44 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 15, 2021, 12:56:10 PM

Shinners have behaving like spoilt children on this forum for many, many years

The modus operandi of Shinners is exactly what you describe there

The points I have raised here have not been rebutted

So you are happy acting like a spoilt child now. Grand so, It's what I expected to be honest. Feel free to take your ball home with you anytime.

straightred

I'll avoid saying anything about the Shinners lest I get accused of being a bot.

There is some smell off this story. The smell is so deep that it won't go away. Even the way it appeared in yesterday's papers has a bang off it. I would think someone decided that the best course of action would be damage limitation and get the story out. Would the guards have said publicly that they were upgrading it to a criminal investigation. I doubt it very much.

There's no point in talking about innocent until proven guilty either. Varadkar has (reluctantly) admitted that he did it but he has come up with a c**k and bull story to justify it. I doubt many really believe his story. In particular I doubt very much that the rank and fie in FF believe him but they are too afraid to do anything because they are so low in the opinion polls. Village magazine have goaded him to the sue them but he hasn't done so. That in itself tells all you need to know if you are willing to open your eyes and accept what is staring you in the face.

Look at how Varadkar has treated his own government colleagues over the years. Francis Fitzgerald had to resign the Justice portfolio for a lot less. While the trail doesn't go back directly to Varadkar FF lost 2 agriculture ministers last year for less but for whatever reason Varadkar seems to be untouchable. The party of law and order my arse. To cap it all we have the stand in Justice Minister publicly standing square with him on TV yesterday.  Can they not see how bad a look that is ? Laws are only for the little people it seems