Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 12:53:51 AM

Title: Songs (or singing voices) that you can’t bear to listen to
Post by: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 12:53:51 AM
Not sure there's been  a thread similar , but today I was very unfortunate to hear two songs I cannot bloody stand. I physically have to turn off the  radio/TV if I hear them.

Spice Girls -  Wannabe
Neil Diamond- Sweet Caroline

(Tbh I absolutely can't stand Neil Diamond's  voice at all. Christ but it's annoying)

Anyway, thought I'd start  a thread.

Let's have it...........
Title: Re: Songs (or voices) that you can’t bear to listen to
Post by: RedHand88 on November 03, 2022, 01:10:38 AM
Bono.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 03, 2022, 01:44:56 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 12:53:51 AM
Not sure there's been  a thread similar , but today I was very unfortunate to hear two songs I cannot bloody stand. I physically have to turn off the  radio/TV if I hear them.

Spice Girls -  Wannabe

(Tbh I absolutely can't stand Neil Diamond's  voice at all. Christ but it's annoying)

Let's have it...........

I'd like to hear who you like if you can't bear a good singer like Neil Diamond.
Post by: screenexile on November 03, 2022, 02:16:11 AM
Was looking for a thread to talk about music.. Amazon acting the bollix with their new music app. Limited "skip" for Prime members the bastards!!

£9 extra for Prime members per month!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 03, 2022, 04:13:13 AM
George W Bush, especially when he says "nucular."
Donald Trump, especially when he pronounces China as "dyina."

Women who speak with vocal fry (a bit like Neil Diamond). Or vocal fry combined with uptalk. The trifecta is vocal fry, uptalk, and a load of filler words like "um," "sort of," and "you know" that just pad it out. Then there's the ones who say "right?" at the end of every sentence. Recently took some classes where the lecturers did that. They'd say "right" about 1000 times every night. I had to give them feedback so they could knock it off.
Post by: seafoid on November 03, 2022, 06:44:53 AM
When I was younger I hated the Corrs.
Now in the car our daughter insists on playing her music all the time. I am sick of Adele and Sia. Chandelier has a big beat but it's really despairing.

I really don't like Uptown Funk, animals by Maroon 5 and Treat you better.
Post by: ONeill on November 03, 2022, 06:59:24 AM
Alan Carr and Chris Evans. Evans just shouts. People who shout on tv. Or maybe it's just the shouting and not the people. Shouters then. That Rylan fella. The more you shout the more you're on the TV. That Micah Richards boy is a shouter. Graham Norton doesn't shout as much as he used to. So the answer is Chris Evans.
Post by: Truth hurts on November 03, 2022, 08:42:20 AM
Galway girl  (any version)
Post by: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 09:56:10 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 03, 2022, 01:44:56 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 12:53:51 AM

Spice Girls -  Wannabe

Let's have it...........

I'd like to hear who you like if you can't bear a good singer like Neil Diamond.

Awful voice he has.  Can't listen to him at all.

Btw, I was thinking  more of singing voices you can't bear rather than  speaking voices
Post by: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 10:03:51 AM
Can't listen to Ellie Goulding . Awful piercing voice

Adele as well . I really can't  understand her popularity . Very sore on  the ears, that one

Can't bear Lulu - especially that  song Shout.  Oh Christ

That fella from the stereophonics. Most of their songs  I can't hack
Post by: tbrick18 on November 03, 2022, 10:13:14 AM
Not songs, but voices that really annoy me:

Jeffery Donaldson
Arlene Foster
Jim Allister
Stephen Nolan
Jaimie Bwyson

Anyone with a Belfast accent who thinks they are posh.
Anyone with a Bangor accent who thinks they are posh.

Ryan Tubridy

Adrian Logan

I happened to switch on a show last night on BBC1 about some tyrone country singer girl getting married to a drummer from westmeath (I think). Sweet jaysus her accent would make you want to stick pencils in your ears. In fact, any of those tyrone bbc fly on the wall things....no idea who thought they were a good idea. No place like Tyrone? Seriously WTF.

Jacob Reece Mog

Rylan Clarke

Alan Carr

Des Bishop

Mark Sidebottom - I feel bad about this one as he seems a dead on sort of boy, but I can't listen to him.

Joanne Cantwell - nails on a blackboard

Snowpatrol...borefest

Any of this modern rap rubbish

Post by: weareros on November 03, 2022, 10:29:03 AM
Any of those processed boy singer voices all singing what sounds like same whiney song, or squeaky Ed Sheerin murdering an Irish ballad.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 03, 2022, 10:37:38 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 03, 2022, 10:13:14 AM

Jeffery Donaldson
Arlene Foster
Jim Allister
Stephen Nolan
Jaimie Bwyson

Ryan Tubridy

Adrian Logan

I happened to switch on a show last night on BBC1 about some tyrone country singer girl getting married to a drummer from westmeath (I think). Sweet jaysus her accent would make you want to stick pencils in your ears. In fact, any of those tyrone bbc fly on the wall things....no idea who thought they were a good idea. No place like Tyrone? Seriously WTF.

Jacob Reece Mog

Rylan Clarke

Alan Carr

Des Bishop

Mark Sidebottom - I feel bad about this one as he seems a dead on sort of boy, but I can't listen to him.

Snowpatrol...borefest

Bet you feel better gettin all that off yer chest tbrick 😃
Post by: general_lee on November 03, 2022, 10:54:35 AM
Pretty much any song on cool fm and any of their presenters as soon as they open their mouths.

There's been a surge in "food reviewers" on social media, mainly Instagram and tiktok - all seem to be a person who has
a Belfast accent who thinks they are posh.
a Bangor accent who thinks they are posh.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on November 03, 2022, 11:00:57 AM
James Cordon - can't even watch Gavin & Stacey because of him
Post by: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 11:50:37 AM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on November 03, 2022, 11:00:57 AM
James Cordon - can't even watch Gavin & Stacey because of him
I like him in it and never really paid much heed to him at anything else but does seem like a clown.
Post by: Square Ball on November 03, 2022, 12:53:28 PM
on to the second page and no mention of either Nadide Coyle or Graeme McDowell, make me cringe.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 03, 2022, 01:05:27 PM
yer man from coldplay
Post by: RedHand88 on November 03, 2022, 01:10:43 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 03, 2022, 12:53:28 PM
on to the second page and no mention of either Nadide Coyle or Graeme McDowell, make me cringe.

I'm sure you've seen this but for those that haven't....

https://youtu.be/ljyUGPyHqFc (https://youtu.be/ljyUGPyHqFc)
Post by: Blowitupref on November 03, 2022, 01:25:54 PM
Wooly Parkinson.
Post by: Square Ball on November 03, 2022, 01:44:38 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 03, 2022, 01:10:43 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 03, 2022, 12:53:28 PM

I'm sure you've seen this but for those that haven't....

https://youtu.be/ljyUGPyHqFc (https://youtu.be/ljyUGPyHqFc)

never seen it, and never will again
Post by: gawa316 on November 03, 2022, 01:53:41 PM
David Feherty has to be up there
Post by: CK_Redhand on November 03, 2022, 02:01:49 PM
Not many will agree but Van Morrisson. His normal singing voice is fine but when he goes over the top it's terrible (e.g. Moondance verse vs chorus).

Florence and the machine type modern pop vocals. More the bland accent-less under pronounced words than the singing.

Leona Lewis type warbly vocals (Whitney Houston as an older example). Yes they can sing but it's showboating and detracts from the song overall.
Post by: michaelg on November 03, 2022, 05:28:59 PM
Mary Lou McDonald
Title: Re: Songs (or singing voices) that you can’t bear to listen to
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 03, 2022, 06:51:13 PM
Brick we should asked who you do like!
Post by: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 06:52:25 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 03, 2022, 05:28:59 PM
Mary Lou McDonald
Shock lol
Post by: michaelg on November 03, 2022, 07:10:51 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 06:52:25 PM
Mary Lou McDonald
Shock lol
Nothing to do with her politics lol - Her voice would strip paint!
Post by: Gmac on November 03, 2022, 07:48:17 PM
Ursula jacobs voice would go through you have to mute tv
Post by: lurganblue on November 03, 2022, 08:00:49 PM
Pete Snodden
Post by: imtommygunn on November 03, 2022, 08:03:17 PM
Agree with McDonald and Pete snodden. Snodden also a tool.
Post by: shyted on November 03, 2022, 08:21:16 PM
Thon James Arthur hoor he;d put eels from under a bridge
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 04, 2022, 05:03:00 AM
Autotune has made a lot of female singers all sound the same, with that unlistenable straining voice like they're rehearsing on Pop Idol with no microphone.

Singers of the Star Spangled Banner at sporting events that turn it into a completely different tune with six times as many notes as the actual tune.

(http://whyevolutionistrue.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/image-1.jpeg)
Post by: Armagh18 on November 04, 2022, 08:49:00 AM
Piers Morgan. Hard to listen to wven if he does speak sense at times.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 04, 2022, 01:35:11 PM
I can't stand Zombie by the Cranberries.

The worst accent ever is the posh Scottish accent of Fraser Nelson.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 04, 2022, 06:28:55 PM
Des Cahill
Pat Spillane
Colm O'Rourke

Joe Duffy (Really hard to listen to as he lets no one speak that he disagrees with)
Luke O'Neill (You See)

Paul Murphy (Student Union Politics)
Pascal o'Donohue (has a condescending voice and tone)

Geldof and Bono (they've got lost along the way as to what they stand for)

Post by: seafoid on November 04, 2022, 08:41:32 PM
The Rewdwotch accent
Glasgow
Stoke
Ger Canning
Aisling O'Reilly on OTB,  here interviewing Diane O'Hora    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LROpPa9FcvM&t=535s
Post by: tbrick18 on November 07, 2022, 08:27:02 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 03, 2022, 10:37:38 AM

Jeffery Donaldson
Arlene Foster
Jim Allister
Stephen Nolan
Jaimie Bwyson

Ryan Tubridy

Adrian Logan

Jacob Reece Mog

Rylan Clarke

Alan Carr

Des Bishop

Snowpatrol...borefest

Bet you feel better gettin all that off yer chest tbrick 😃

;D ;D
To be honest I could keep going, but I think I'm starting to sound like a crabbit auld man.
Post by: Franko on November 07, 2022, 08:36:28 AM
Ursula Jacob's voice

Any drone of a song by Nickleback

Galway Girl sung by absolutely anyone

Post by: AustinPowers on November 21, 2022, 11:28:36 PM
Jermaine Jenas

Boring  is not the word. . He's a cure for insomnia
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 22, 2022, 08:05:58 PM
Mary Lou McDonald

I'm with you there. It's a voice I've come to associate with complaining.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 22, 2022, 09:13:58 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 10:03:51 AM

Adele as well . I really can't  understand her popularity . Very sore on  the ears, that one

Is there anyone you *do* like, is what the world is waiting to hear.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 22, 2022, 09:24:14 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on November 22, 2022, 09:13:58 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 03, 2022, 10:03:51 AM

Is there anyone you *do* like, is what the world is waiting to hear.

Too many to name .  A lot of songs come on the radio/tv I like/can listen to/appreciate/tolerate etc . But it's just  the really Annoying ones (like Neil Diamond, Goulding, Adele,  Mary Lou,joe Duffy etc  )  that you just have to switch off straight away
Post by: Sportacus on November 22, 2022, 10:03:55 PM
Hugo