Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: resdubwhite on February 14, 2007, 11:16:08 AM

Title: Fantasy Baseball
Post by: resdubwhite on February 14, 2007, 11:16:08 AM
AZ.

Is this happening this year.
Title: Re: Fantasy Baseball
Post by: turk on February 14, 2007, 11:47:33 AM
IS barry bonds in the draft for it?
Post by: lurganblue on February 14, 2007, 12:54:26 PM
is it run on the same format as the NFL one? or is it a league?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2007, 01:07:22 PM
If ye are interested I'm happy to do it. Any ideas for a host? We've been using Yahoo for the past couple of years.

I would prefer one with weekly matchups rather than a pure 'points gathering' exercise.

Lemme know.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 14, 2007, 01:14:10 PM
Can you not do head-to-head in the baseball?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2007, 01:17:07 PM
You can. We did last year. I'm just wondering if any lads have another preference for the software.

We need : Free entry;
                At least 16 people allowed play;
                Head to Head matchups;
                Both AL and NL player pool (including Big Bad Barry Bonds)

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 14, 2007, 01:22:24 PM
count me in
Post by: heganboy on February 14, 2007, 02:57:59 PM
I'm up for it
Post by: Jack Dempsey on February 14, 2007, 06:51:04 PM
I am in for sure. Quiet enjoyed the head to head thing with playoffs at the end. Keeps it more interested all season long. Yahoo one is open tomorrow I think. Looking forward to the draft allready I am....
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 14, 2007, 10:43:28 PM
Last years format on Yahoo was pretty good. The Baseball fantasy signup begins on the 16th of Feb this year.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on February 20, 2007, 02:22:40 PM
who wants the honour. Was very happy with the way it went last year. AZ I believe is the man. Will set it up myself if requested.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 20, 2007, 02:37:31 PM
Yahoo Allows you 20 people in a head-to-head league
League Name: GaaBoard
Password: GaaBoard

I've invited all that were on the hockey league

Link is http://baseball.fantasysports.yahoo.com/b1

Its an automatic draft, done when the league is full or a few days before the first game

If anyone wants to check the scoring settings for the head-to-heads and suggest changes feel-free
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2007, 02:41:09 PM
The cheek of you. I have been usurped!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 20, 2007, 02:58:28 PM
you need the Yahoo ID# - not the name of the league

League ID#: 81603
Post by: Jack Dempsey on February 20, 2007, 03:05:31 PM
What about a live draft ?
Post by: heganboy on February 20, 2007, 03:21:09 PM
autopick draft is a load of cack- live draft is a must have! please change
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 20, 2007, 04:06:56 PM
Will it be affected if all the people in the group are not on-line when the draft is taking place?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 20, 2007, 04:17:05 PM
Make it a time when most people will be on-line
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 20, 2007, 04:24:34 PM
What happens if there is someone how isn't on-line at that time?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 20, 2007, 04:30:26 PM
You can pre-rank the players you want to draft
Post by: heganboy on February 20, 2007, 06:47:02 PM
If you're not participating in the live draft, one of 2 things happens
If you have pre-ranked the players then whoever is the highest on you list that is still available will be drafted for you, however, if you don't pre-rank, then you will be assigned whoever is the highest ranked player in yahoo's own rankings. The biggest advantage in being in on the live draft is making sure you have your bases covered (literally) Otherwise you can end up with 5 first basemen and no outfielders, that sort of thing.
If you haven't got encyclopaedic knowledge of baseball (i.e. all of us) then I recommend that you look at a few of the different fantasy rankings available. Most of the big ones only differ by  a couple of places for the top 200 odd players which is pretty much 20 teams. You can rank the players any time before the live draft and have it saved on yahoo.
Post by: resdubwhite on February 21, 2007, 12:38:21 PM
noticed top ranked pitcher is only 39 on the list.

i presume scoring has chqanged, as pitchers were quite a storng currency last time I played two years ago.
Post by: lurganblue on February 21, 2007, 01:10:51 PM
the lurgan langers have signed up.
is it still gonna be an automatic draft then?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on February 21, 2007, 02:51:24 PM
admin might not be able to change type of draft.  :o, starting from scratch could be needed. Find the whole draft thing the best thing about the whole league
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 21, 2007, 03:03:32 PM
It looks like i will have to start from scratch but an idea before i do would be to decide on a day of the week and a time to suit the most people for the draft.
I'll leave nominations open until 3 pm tomorrow for the time and day and then pick that day of the week late in march when i set up the new league.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 21, 2007, 03:34:04 PM
Mayo - were you in the Fantasy Baseball last year. You can use the same settings that were used then.

Anyway - it's up to you
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 21, 2007, 03:36:04 PM
No i wasn't but if its possible to transfer the setting then someone who was should set it up
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2007, 03:37:48 PM
Do ye want me to set it up??
Post by: heganboy on February 21, 2007, 09:53:50 PM
go for it AZ- we need your reports every week too
Please?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 22, 2007, 10:13:26 AM
Are we going with another league or just a different time?  If there is a live draft please start at least 1 pm as I am 6 hours behind everyone else?

Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 22, 2007, 10:14:47 AM
Another league has to be set-up to get the live draft & i believe AZ is going to do the honours

I would suggest 3pm on a thursday at the end of march, possibly the 22nd?

Post by: heganboy on February 27, 2007, 10:21:30 PM
I think AZ is going to set up a new league?
Post by: lurganblue on February 28, 2007, 09:17:58 AM
and there was me having my pre draft rankings an all sorted out on the other one.  :(

will this new one still be on yahoo?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2007, 09:35:10 AM
OK Lads,

I'll set up one today/this evening. I'll let ye all know. It will be Yahoo.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 02, 2007, 04:02:10 PM
OK Lads,

All set up, same as last year, The League ID is 151429 and the password is diamondbacks

(It's Yahoo League)

head to Head scoring
20 teams max.

Cheers
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 02, 2007, 04:08:29 PM
Springfield Isotopes
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 02, 2007, 04:10:22 PM
Ardboe Blue Jays
Post by: lurganblue on March 02, 2007, 04:33:55 PM
shitloadofdimes
Post by: dec on March 02, 2007, 05:10:16 PM
Big Apple Orchards
Post by: heganboy on March 02, 2007, 05:12:14 PM
the helmets
Post by: stew on March 02, 2007, 09:00:12 PM
I will get in if there is any roomleft, i finished 2nd last term which is nothing new for an armagh man.  :'(
Post by: flairgun on March 02, 2007, 09:41:12 PM
Faithful Dodgers signed up.
Is that live draft date of March 9th final?
I'd be in favour of pushing it back a bit if that suits everyone else as I'll be in Mexico next week...
Post by: AZOffaly on March 02, 2007, 09:59:13 PM
Loads of room left stew. I can move it back no bother flairgun. Nice to have another biffo on board :) How does the following monday sound?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 02, 2007, 10:21:49 PM
Just remember us on this side of the water when you are deciding on the time?

Is it the 12th then?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 03, 2007, 09:09:45 PM
Do as last year. Put up a few dates and let the majority rule. Id be in favour of date after paddy's weekend
Post by: AZOffaly on March 05, 2007, 09:04:52 AM
I can't do after Paddy's weekend because I'm away on business. I promised myself that I  am not missing anymore drafts :D

I'll do a poll so, and I'll say March 9th, March 12th, 13th,14th,15th or 16th. Maybe March 23rd and 26th as well.

I'll count the votes on Wednesday 7th.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 05, 2007, 06:31:55 PM
12 in now. wouldnt be too bad I suppose as long as the majority will be active.
Post by: SammyG on March 19, 2007, 08:50:04 PM
Sorry I've only just found this thread (after AZ's prompt on the other thread). Sammy's Sox are go.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 20, 2007, 11:48:24 AM
frigging firewall or something in work is going to prevent me taking part in the live draft. Ah well
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 21, 2007, 10:20:10 PM
Just checked the Yahoo site and we need at least one more team to make it even, three more would be better.
Post by: heganboy on March 22, 2007, 07:49:20 PM
reminder the draft is tomorrow
Still a few  slots available if anyone wants to join in?
Post by: flairgun on March 22, 2007, 08:11:17 PM
Quote from: Jack Dempsey on March 20, 2007, 11:48:24 AM
frigging firewall or something in work is going to prevent me taking part in the live draft. Ah well

Looks like I've a similar issue, suppose I'd better spend some time putting together my rankings tonight and hope for the best!
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 22, 2007, 08:41:50 PM
Quote from: flairgun on March 22, 2007, 08:11:17 PM
Quote from: Jack Dempsey on March 20, 2007, 11:48:24 AM

Looks like I've a similar issue, suppose I'd better spend some time putting together my rankings tonight and hope for the best!

just spent 5 mins there making sure I wont be drafting A-Rod or any other pensioner of a Yankee.... Reyes is the man....lets go mets
Post by: heganboy on March 22, 2007, 08:46:57 PM
he who laughs last rodders
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:16:38 PM
just waring ye lads nowe - I'm still locked from last night as i mkae my pciks
Post by: dec on March 23, 2007, 01:21:10 PM
There are still only 13 teams. That means every week there is a bye. Some teams get two byes others get one

AZOffaly could you create a 14th unmanaged team (auto pick for the draft and no changes during the season) This would even up the numbers.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:23:14 PM
i'd rather he didn't do that in all fairness - what happens if that team gets a lot of good players?
Post by: lurganblue on March 23, 2007, 01:25:02 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:23:14 PM
i'd rather he didn't do that in all fairness - what happens if that team gets a lot of good players?

yeah i couldnt handle losing to an unmanaged team aswell
Post by: dec on March 23, 2007, 01:25:19 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:23:14 PM

Then all the rest of us suffer equally with those players not being available
Post by: dec on March 23, 2007, 01:33:08 PM
Draft order selected, I don't know if that means no one else can sign up

Round 1
1.         Howya now
2.         the helmets
3.         XMG Hitmen
4.         Res Dubs
5.         shitloadofdimes
6.         Springfield ...
7.         Slugger Squa...
8.         Big Apple Or...
9.         Red Hand Hit...
10.         Ardboe Blue ...
11.         AZ Diamondbacks
12.         Father Joe's...
13.         Faithful Dod...
Round 2
1.         Faithful Dod...
2.         Father Joe's...
3.         AZ Diamondbacks
4.         Ardboe Blue ...
5.         Red Hand Hit...
6.         Big Apple Or...
7.         Slugger Squa...
8.         Springfield ...
9.         shitloadofdimes
10.         Res Dubs
11.         XMG Hitmen
12.         the helmets
13.         Howya now
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:37:07 PM
We cannot do a draft with only 13 members
Post by: lurganblue on March 23, 2007, 01:40:09 PM
how long does this draft think last for?

i cants kive off work all day....

or maybe i can!!  ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:42:09 PM
It looks like we can't draft because we've an odd number of entrants
Post by: dec on March 23, 2007, 01:42:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:37:07 PM
We cannot do a draft with only 13 members

From the site "Your league will not be permitted to conduct its draft if it contains an odd number of managers."

I think we will need to do the "dummy team"
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:43:56 PM
can't we postpone it until monday when I'm not hungover?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 23, 2007, 01:46:36 PM
Hi All,

Bad news. I just got an email from Yahoo saying that our live draft cannot go ahead as we have an odd number of teams. They changed it to an autopick draft, and that is the order you saw there.

I went back in and changed to Live draft, but had to move the date back to Monday at 2.00. Can anybody who is interested please join up. We just need 1 more to allow us have a head-to-head league with a live draft.

Cheers
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 23, 2007, 01:57:27 PM
Right, I've joined, was sick of losing these American Fantasy Sports but call me a masochist, Go Padres.... ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 23, 2007, 01:58:40 PM
Good man Dinny.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2007, 01:59:03 PM
fair play to ya Dinny
Post by: flairgun on March 23, 2007, 02:20:56 PM
On the plus side, maybe I'll get a higher draft pick next time around. Not that it'll do me any good of course.
Post by: heganboy on March 23, 2007, 06:09:39 PM
bugger- 2nd pick- that would have been nice
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 26, 2007, 12:48:12 PM
it's this morning lads
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 12:55:24 PM
About an hours time lads.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:08:29 PM
We seem to be all set. The draft order will be set about a half hour before draft time. It'll be interesting, as always, to see the strategy. Will a big bat go first, llike Pujols, or will it be a pitcher like maybe Santana. Will lads try to load up on Position players and take their chances with the pitchers, or try to be more balanced?

I like the drafts, and hopefully I'll be able to enter this one properly :D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 26, 2007, 01:11:49 PM
I was involved in a live draft yesterday - some fella just kept picking Red Sox players - it was laughable
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:12:43 PM
Like me with the Cardinals in the NFL? :D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 26, 2007, 01:15:56 PM
yeah kinda  ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 26, 2007, 01:33:19 PM
Draft Order set

Round 1
1.         Res Dubs
2.         Maynooth Padres
3.         Slugger Squa...
4.         Father Joe's...
5.         Springfield ...
6.         shitloadofdimes
7.         AZ Diamondbacks
8.         the helmets
9.         Ardboe Blue ...
10.         Red Hand Hit...
11.         Faithful Dod...
12.         Howya now
13.         XMG Hitmen
14.         Big Apple Or...
Round 2
1.         Big Apple Or...
2.         XMG Hitmen
3.         Howya now
4.         Faithful Dod...
5.         Red Hand Hit...
6.         Ardboe Blue ...
7.         the helmets
8.         AZ Diamondbacks
9.         shitloadofdimes
10.         Springfield ...
11.         Father Joe's...
12.         Slugger Squa...
13.         Maynooth Padres
14.         Res Dubs
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:34:03 PM
Draft order is set, and the draft room is open.

1. Res_Dubs
2. Maynooth Padres
3. Slugger Squad 57
4. Father Joes Dynamos
5. Springfield Isotopes
6. Shitloadofdimes
7. AZ Diamondbacks
8. The Helmets
9. Ardboe Blue Jays
10. Red Hand Hitters
11. Faithful Dodgers
12. Howya Now
13. XMG hitmen
14. Big Apple Orchards

Good Luck everybody.
Post by: SammyG on March 26, 2007, 01:40:01 PM
Why are Sammy's Sox not showing in the draft list? I signed up last week and had my confirmation email through. Typical bloody anti-Nordie bias, I suppose.  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:44:01 PM
Shite Sammy. Are you sure you entered???
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:44:57 PM
I bet you entered MayoforSams one. That one is not happening. Feck it anyway.
Post by: SammyG on March 26, 2007, 01:46:41 PM
Definitely signed up and got a confirmation email. Must have been the wrong one.  ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:49:00 PM
Balls. Sorry about that Sammy. This is what happens when some upstart tries to steal my thunder :) What was the league ID you joined?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 01:54:35 PM
5 minutes left
Post by: dec on March 26, 2007, 04:14:41 PM
All the teams
Res Dubs
1.    (1)    Albert Pujols
2.    (28)    Andruw Jones
3.    (29)    Vernon Wells
4.    (56)    Johnny Damon
5.    (57)    B.J. Ryan
6.    (84)    Huston Street
7.    (85)    Chipper Jones
8.    (112)    Édgar Rentería
9.    (113)    Dan Haren
10.    (140)    Howie Kendrick
11.    (141)    Nick Swisher
12.    (168)    Mark Prior
13.    (169)    Michael Barrett
14.    (196)    Bartolo Colón
15.    (197)    Kerry Wood
16.    (224)    Adam Wainwright
17.    (225)    Melvin Mora
18.    (252)    Aaron Rowand
19.    (253)    Scott Olsen
20.    (280)    Jake Westbrook
21.    (281)    Luis Castillo
Maynooth Padres
1.    (2)    Johan Santana
2.    (27)    Matt Holliday
3.    (30)    Miguel Tejada
4.    (55)    Brian Roberts
5.    (58)    Paul Konerko
6.    (83)    John Lackey
7.    (86)    Aaron Harang
8.    (111)    Josh Barfield
9.    (114)    Chris Ray
10.    (139)    Hank Blalock
11.    (142)    Nick Markakis
12.    (167)    A.J. Pierzynski
13.    (170)    Josh Willingham
14.    (195)    Tom Glavine
15.    (198)    Freddy García
16.    (223)    Francisco Liriano
17.    (226)    Morgan Ensberg
18.    (251)    Mark Loretta
19.    (254)    Aubrey Huff
20.    (279)    Casey Blake
21.    (282)    Nate Robertson
Slugger Squad 57
1.    (3)    José Reyes
2.    (26)    Jimmy Rollins
3.    (31)    Derrek Lee
4.    (54)    Brian McCann
5.    (59)    Scott Rolen
6.    (82)    Rickie Weeks
7.    (87)    J.J. Putz
8.    (110)    Chris Young
9.    (115)    Torii Hunter
10.    (138)    Brian Fuentes
11.    (143)    Barry Bonds
12.    (166)    Ryan Freel
13.    (171)    Andy Pettitte
14.    (194)    Chris Duffy
15.    (199)    Kenny Rogers
16.    (222)    Cliff Lee
17.    (227)    Rafael Soriano
18.    (250)    Geoff Jenkins
19.    (255)    Adrián González
20.    (278)    José Vidro
21.    (283)    Cla Meredith
Father Joe's Dynamos
1.    (4)    Alfonso Soriano
2.    (25)    Hanley Ramírez
3.    (32)    Chone Figgins
4.    (53)    Ben Sheets
5.    (60)    Scott Kazmir
6.    (81)    Cole Hamels
7.    (88)    Dontrelle Willis
8.    (109)    Álex Ríos
9.    (116)    Mike Cameron
10.    (137)    Nomar Garciaparra
11.    (144)    Brandon Phillips
12.    (165)    Eric Byrnes
13.    (172)    Todd Jones
14.    (193)    Octavio Dotel
15.    (200)    Noah Lowry
16.    (221)    Paul Lo Duca
17.    (228)    Bobby Crosby
18.    (249)    Pedro Feliz
19.    (256)    Chris Burke
20.    (277)    Matt Murton
21.    (284)    Chuck James
Springfield Isotopes
1.    (5)    Ryan Howard
2.    (24)    Jason Bay
3.    (33)    Joe Mauer
4.    (52)    Robinson Canó
5.    (61)    Carlos Delgado
6.    (80)    Felipe López
7.    (89)    Julio Lugo
8.    (108)    C.C. Sabathia
9.    (117)    Justin Verlander
10.    (136)    Scott Podsednik
11.    (145)    J.D. Drew
12.    (164)    Josh Beckett
13.    (173)    Armando Benítez
14.    (192)    Josh Johnson
15.    (201)    Kevin Millwood
16.    (220)    Ian Snell
17.    (229)    Chad Tracy
18.    (248)    Gary Matthews Jr.
19.    (257)    Anibal Sánchez
20.    (276)    Shawn Green
21.    (285)    Jeff Francis
shitloadofdimes
1.    (6)    Manny Ramírez
2.    (23)    Chris Carpenter
3.    (34)    Troy Glaus
4.    (51)    Gary Sheffield
5.    (62)    Adrián Béltre
6.    (79)    Jeremy Bonderman
7.    (90)    Tom Gordon
8.    (107)    Iván Rodríguez
9.    (118)    Omar Vizquel
10.    (135)    Craig Biggio
11.    (146)    Willy Taveras
12.    (163)    Coco Crisp
13.    (174)    Ryan Dempster
14.    (191)    Frank Thomas
15.    (202)    John Patterson
16.    (219)    Ian Kinsler
17.    (230)    Mark Buehrle
18.    (247)    Milton Bradley
19.    (258)    Greg Maddux
20.    (275)    B.J. Upton
21.    (286)    Jonathan Broxton
AZ Diamondbacks
1.    (7)    Álex Rodríguez
2.    (22)    Ichiro Suzuki
3.    (35)    Jake Peavy
4.    (50)    Francisco Rodríguez
5.    (63)    Todd Helton
6.    (78)    Kenji Johjima
7.    (91)    Tadahito Iguchi
8.    (106)    Brad Lidge
9.    (119)    Jeff Francoeur
10.    (134)    Bronson Arroyo
11.    (147)    Jhonny Peralta
12.    (162)    Mike Piazza
13.    (175)    Pedro Martínez
14.    (190)    Brad Hawpe
15.    (203)    Brian Giles
16.    (218)    Kelvim Escobar
17.    (231)    Scot Shields
18.    (246)    Ryan Shealy
19.    (259)    Jeremy Hermida
20.    (274)    Javy López
21.    (287)    Dan Wheeler
the helmets
1.    (8)    Carlos Beltrán
2.    (21)    Grady Sizemore
3.    (36)    Joe Nathan
4.    (49)    Mariano Rivera
5.    (64)    Jason Giambi
6.    (77)    Daisuke Matsuzaka
7.    (92)    Jonathan Papelbon
8.    (105)    Chien-Ming Wang
9.    (120)    Akinori Iwamura
10.    (133)    Chris B. Young
11.    (148)    Stephen Drew
12.    (161)    Pat Burrell
13.    (176)    Marcus Giles
14.    (189)    Javier Vázquez
15.    (204)    José Contreras
16.    (217)    Bengie Molina
17.    (232)    Orlando Hudson
18.    (245)    Brandon Inge
19.    (260)    Carlos Quentin
20.    (273)    Sean Casey
21.    (288)    Orlando Hernández
Ardboe Blue Jays
1.    (9)    David Ortiz
2.    (20)    Justin Morneau
3.    (37)    Roy Halladay
4.    (48)    Brandon Webb
5.    (65)    Raúl Ibañez
6.    (76)    Magglio Ordóñez
7.    (93)    Chad Cordero
8.    (104)    Bobby Jenks
9.    (121)    Orlando Cabrera
10.    (132)    Eric Chávez
11.    (149)    Barry Zito
12.    (160)    Jon Garland
13.    (177)    Jorge Cantú
14.    (188)    Moisés Alou
15.    (205)    A.J. Burnett
16.    (216)    Gregg Zaun
17.    (233)    Vicente Padilla
18.    (244)    Rich Aurilia
19.    (261)    Jason Frasor
20.    (272)    Jacque Jones
21.    (289)    Jonny Gomes
Red Hand Hitters
1.    (10)    Chase Utley
2.    (19)    Travis Hafner
3.    (38)    Michael Young
4.    (47)    Víctor Martínez
5.    (66)    John Smoltz
6.    (75)    Bill Hall
7.    (94)    Richie Sexson
8.    (103)    Rocco Baldelli
9.    (122)    Curt Schilling
10.    (131)    Francisco Cordero
11.    (150)    Eric Gagne
12.    (159)    Ervin Santana
13.    (178)    Austin Kearns
14.    (187)    Joe Borowski
15.    (206)    Jim Edmonds
16.    (215)    Joel Zumaya
17.    (234)    Mark Teahen
18.    (243)    Conor Jackson
19.    (262)    Andre Ethier
20.    (271)    Zach Duke
21.    (290)    Woody Williams
Faithful Dodgers
1.    (11)    Miguel Cabrera
2.    (18)    Mark Teixeira
3.    (39)    Bobby Abreu
4.    (46)    Aramis Ramírez
5.    (67)    Dan Uggla
6.    (74)    Carlos Guillén
7.    (95)    Matt Cain
8.    (102)    Corey Patterson
9.    (123)    Randy Johnson
10.    (130)    Ramón Hernández
11.    (151)    Chris Capuano
12.    (158)    Rich Harden
13.    (179)    Bob Wickman
14.    (186)    Derek Lowe
15.    (207)    Brad Wilkerson
16.    (214)    Akinori Otsuka
17.    (235)    Plácido Polanco
18.    (242)    Dave Roberts
19.    (263)    Troy Tulowitzki
20.    (270)    Edwin Encarnación
21.    (291)    Héctor Carrasco
Howya now
1.    (12)    David Wright
2.    (17)    Carl Crawford
3.    (40)    Roy Oswalt
4.    (45)    Rafael Furcal
5.    (68)    Ryan Zimmerman
6.    (73)    Adam Dunn
7.    (96)    Jered Weaver
8.    (101)    Delmon Young
9.    (124)    Jason Schmidt
10.    (129)    Erik Bedard
11.    (152)    Rich Hill
12.    (157)    Ray Durham
13.    (180)    José Valverde
14.    (185)    Michael Cuddyer
15.    (208)    Mike González
16.    (213)    Russell Martin
17.    (236)    Shea Hillenbrand
18.    (241)    Lyle Overbay
19.    (264)    Jeremy Sowers
20.    (269)    Kei Igawa
21.    (292)    Kevin Mench
XMG Hitmen
1.    (13)    Carlos Lee
2.    (16)    Vladimir Guerrero
3.    (41)    Carlos Zambrano
4.    (44)    Jermaine Dye
5.    (69)    Trevor Hoffman
6.    (72)    Félix Hernández
7.    (97)    Jim Thome
8.    (100)    Prince Fielder
9.    (125)    Joe Crede
10.    (128)    Freddy Sánchez
11.    (153)    Tony Graffanino
12.    (156)    Adam LaRoche
13.    (181)    Jason Varitek
14.    (184)    Curtis Granderson
15.    (209)    Mark DeRosa
16.    (212)    Takashi Saito
17.    (237)    Craig Monroe
18.    (240)    Dave Bush
19.    (265)    Nick Punto
20.    (268)    Mark Mulder
21.    (293)    Bob Howry
Big Apple Orchards
1.    (14)    Derek Jeter
2.    (15)    Lance Berkman
3.    (42)    Hideki Matsui
4.    (43)    Garrett Atkins
5.    (70)    Billy Wagner
6.    (71)    Juan Pierre
7.    (98)    Brett Myers
8.    (99)    Jeff Kent
9.    (126)    Mike Mussina
10.    (127)    Roger Clemens
11.    (154)    Jorge Posada
12.    (155)    Nick Johnson
13.    (182)    Ken Griffey Jr.
14.    (183)    Jason Isringhausen
15.    (210)    Ted Lilly
16.    (211)    Juan Rivera
17.    (238)    Johnny Estrada
18.    (239)    Brad Penny
19.    (266)    Tim Hudson
20.    (267)    José Guillén
21.    (294)    Kevin Youkilis
Post by: lurganblue on March 26, 2007, 04:23:57 PM
when does the league start then?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2007, 04:34:18 PM
Games begin April 2nd I think.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 26, 2007, 04:34:23 PM
This weekend - Sunday
Post by: lurganblue on March 26, 2007, 04:43:16 PM
are you doing reports an all like the NFL AZ?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 26, 2007, 04:43:21 PM
Happy enough with my lot 'Father Joe's Dynamos'. Willing to listen to trade offers. Hope we a have a good few active players
Post by: resdubwhite on March 26, 2007, 11:38:52 PM
willing to listen for offers for thst judas damon.

nothing wrong with picking just red sox
Post by: heganboy on March 27, 2007, 02:49:02 PM
so whats the plan- is everybody doing a wait and see in the first few weeks of the season- no trades yet? Should we use that trading block tool on the yahoo site?
Post by: lurganblue on March 27, 2007, 02:54:05 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 27, 2007, 02:49:02 PM
so whats the plan- is everybody doing a wait and see in the first few weeks of the season- no trades yet? Should we use that trading block tool on the yahoo site?

i'm happy with my lot at the minute. i'd like to see how they perform before i consider trades. i could do with a better outfield though i think
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 30, 2007, 04:26:17 AM
don't forget baseball starts sunday - most teams start monday
Post by: Jack Dempsey on March 30, 2007, 06:45:52 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 27, 2007, 02:49:02 PM

I'll use the tading block but willing to listen to all offers
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 02, 2007, 02:47:56 AM
I will be at the Chicago White Sox home opener proudly wearing my crossmaglen jersey.

Post by: heganboy on April 02, 2007, 01:14:08 PM
I see what you're doing there but trust me the sox are not winning anything this year and the cross luck will not rub off on them. Maybe if the team came out in cross jersies?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 02, 2007, 03:00:41 PM
The mets played the first game there last night, with Pedro back come summer time they will be playing the last one also
Post by: heganboy on April 02, 2007, 03:16:35 PM
QuoteThe mets played the first game there last night, with Pedro back come summer time they will be playing the last one also

Hmmm- there's a shot at them playing in it- but against another New York team and Mariano's going to close it out with a smile on his face...
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 02, 2007, 04:40:00 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 02, 2007, 01:14:08 PM
I see what you're doing there but trust me the sox are not winning anything this year and the cross luck will not rub off on them. Maybe if the team came out in cross jersies?

I will talk to Ozzie and see wait he thinks about the Cross jersies ;)

Only team the sox should worry about is Detroit but missing a key pitcher till July should hurt the Tigers.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 02, 2007, 05:52:02 PM
We'll beat the Tigers today
Post by: dec on April 02, 2007, 09:30:25 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 02, 2007, 03:16:35 PM
Hmmm- there's a shot at them playing in it- but against another New York team and Mariano's going to close it out with a smile on his face...

Mariano started well today three strikeouts in the ninth, admittedly it was only the Devil Rays.
Post by: heganboy on April 02, 2007, 09:34:37 PM
Month did well, pity a rod hit a 2 run, otherwise it would have been a nice little save- ah well
Post by: heganboy on April 09, 2007, 04:24:01 PM
AZ- are you going to be doing weekly updates this year? updates from week 1

AZ Diamondbacks 6       Springfield Isotopes 4
Ardboe Blue Jays 3        Slugger Squad 57  7
Crossmaglen Hitmen 6   Res Dubs 5
Red Hand Hitters3       Father Joe's Dynamos 7
shitloadofdimes 1           Howya now 8
Big Apple Orchards 1      Faithful Dodgers 8
the helmets 8                 Maynooth Padres 3

and the league after week 1
1.         Faithful Dodgers         8-1-2     
2.       Howya now                8-1-2    
3.       the helmets                  8-3-0    
4.       Father Joe's Dynamos   7-3-1    
5.       Slugger Squad 57      7-3-1    
6.       AZ Diamondbacks          6-4-1    
7.       Crossmaglen Hitmen     6-5-0    
8.       Res Dubs                   5-6-0    
9.       Springfield Isotopes      4-6-1    
10.       Red Hand Hitters      3-7-1    
11.       Ardboe Blue Jays      3-7-1    
12.       Maynooth Padres     3-8-0    
13.       Big Apple Orchards     1-8-2    
14.       shitloadofdimes       1-8-2
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 09, 2007, 04:36:09 PM
Kick on Father Joes
Post by: resdubwhite on April 16, 2007, 12:05:28 PM
anyone got updates for week 2.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2007, 12:19:37 PM
I'll try and pull a biteen of a report later on today or tomorrow morning. The scores from Week 2 were ....

AZDiamondbacks 6 - 3 Ardboe Blue Jays  (Go on the Snakes!!)
Springfield Isotopes 9 - 1 Maynooth Padres
Crossmaglen Hitmen 5 - 5 Slugger Squad 57
Red Hand Hitters 3 - 7 Res Dubs
shitloadofdimes 2 - 9 Father Joe's Dynamoes
Big Apple Orchards 5 - 4 Howya Now
the Helmets 5 - 4 Faithful Dodgers
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 23, 2007, 12:35:12 PM
I know this is the fantasy thread but I stayed up last night and watched a cracker, Red Sox7 Yankees 6. great game with the sox hittin 4 straight homers in the 3rd.
Post by: lurganblue on April 23, 2007, 12:45:07 PM
this league is going in the same direction as the NFL one did for me.

i knew it was a bad idea to include "shit" in my team name.  :P
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 23, 2007, 01:51:38 PM
Possible Blockbuster trade in the works - Pujols for Big Papi
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 23, 2007, 02:47:57 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on April 23, 2007, 12:45:07 PM
this league is going in the same direction as the NFL one did for me.

i knew it was a bad idea to include "shit" in my team name.  :P

This league though is an absolute marathon. Would get too woried just yet
Post by: resdubwhite on April 23, 2007, 04:35:24 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 23, 2007, 01:51:38 PM
Possible Blockbuster trade in the works - Pujols for Big Papi
thought about that one. But pulled out.

He has been complaining of some problems including hip and blister issues, so its unfair to go into a trade when he maybe spending sometime on the 15 day dl.
Post by: heganboy on April 23, 2007, 11:39:00 PM
jaysus, watching the yankees at the weekend was a feckin' torture
Post by: resdubwhite on April 23, 2007, 11:55:33 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 23, 2007, 11:39:00 PM
jaysus, watching the yankees at the weekend was a feckin' torture
Was it?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 12:39:36 AM
they got swept by the Red Sox

:D :D :D

They'll do it to us, this week
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 12:56:03 PM
I hate the Yankees - but boy I love what A-Rod is doing at the minute
Post by: resdubwhite on April 24, 2007, 01:25:30 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 12:56:03 PM
I hate the Yankees - but boy I love what A-Rod is doing at the minute

He is turning out to be some player with them. And the only pay half of his salary.
to think Torre was going to trade him last november. Wonder if their still booing him at yankee stasium now.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 01:31:37 PM
most fickle fans around they are
Post by: resdubwhite on April 24, 2007, 01:38:09 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 01:31:37 PM
most fickle fans around they are

Gabriel.

I have a few Bluejays in my team if you fee like a trade for one of your own.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 01:41:49 PM
let's see who ya have - you aren't getting that fella from the Braves though
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 24, 2007, 01:51:13 PM
you have Hill there - who is playing out of his skin at the minute - he only had 6 HR's in 155 games last season - and has 4 in 19 games so far this year.

He won't keep it up though
Post by: resdubwhite on April 24, 2007, 01:53:00 PM
Papi for Pujols is unfair on you, as pujols is playing hurt.

Could anything else persuade, willing to go Wells plus duine eile to sweeten it.

I see you have Uribe wo was a star for the WS 2 years ago. Why is he ranked so low?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 24, 2007, 04:01:07 PM
Odds   Team                   Comment                        
8/1    the helmets   Early leader with decent pitching staff                        
7/1    Res Dubs                   Most active manager so far, has lots of HR potential. Should go close to making play-offs                        
13/2    Father Joe's Dynamos   Needs a fit Figgins but off to a good start and has talent in most areas                        
8/1    Faithful Dodgers   Teixeira needs to start hitting the long ball.Some key players on the DL but should challenge                        
10/1    Springfield Isotopes   Solid looking midtable team                        
10/1    Slugger Squad 57   Has the best player in Baseball in Reyes but pitching could well let team down                        
13/2    Crossmaglen Hitmen   Strong all over, will be a contender                        
10/1    AZ Diamondbacks   Will need Pedro to come back healthy but should back play-offs                        
12/1    Howya now   Weak pitching but manager looking to upgrade, midtable could be finishing position                        
16/1    Big Apple Orchards   Potential but lack of early season waiver action could be sign of bad things to come                        
8/1    Ardboe Blue Jays   Looks very solid all round, table position is false and a contender for the title                        
20/1    Red Hand Hitters   Team has talent but question marks over a lot of players                        
50/1    Maynooth Padres   Liriano in team, big outsider, on a par with Kansas !                        
33/1    shitloadofdimes   Key players on DL but not without a chance                        
Post by: heganboy on April 24, 2007, 04:15:55 PM
Surprisingly, no booing for alez in yankee stadium. Though they do call for bernie williams if anybody isn't batting well (stand up if you're at first base)
If that's a real book, I'll have 50 quid each way on all the 8/1s
Thanks
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 24, 2007, 05:00:16 PM
I dont think there is a bookie in the world who would price this up. Well not yet anyway. Someone here could have 2 teams and others could be very good mates. ( now im not suggesting anything but... ) But maybe after the allstar break I will price it for real. Likewise the non-triers should be more obvious and i'll be able to price a book leaving out all the deadwood.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 05, 2007, 11:07:49 PM
Watching Yankees game Chin Ming Wang is perfect through 7 innings!! No hitter is on! ;D they lead 6 0
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 05, 2007, 11:20:19 PM
Home run Seattle >:(
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2007, 01:42:45 PM
The Yankees have pushed the panic button big-time.

Bringing Clemens back again for half a season at $28 million. Its a joke
Post by: dec on May 07, 2007, 02:10:00 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2007, 01:42:45 PM
The Yankees have pushed the panic button big-time.

Bringing Clemens back again for half a season at $28 million. Its a joke

Can't blame them with the amount of injuries their pitchers have had.

Finally some good luck for my pitchers. I gambled picking Clemens, not knowing if he would pitch at all this season. I picked up Phil Hughes on waivers and he got injured 2/3 of the way through a no hitter.
Post by: resdubwhite on May 07, 2007, 02:25:03 PM
Jesus.

28 million is a lot of money.

By the looks of things, he's going to have to carry the pitchers of the yanks for a couple of months.

Genuine surprise in new england that he's going to NY.
They appeared to think the deal was done.
That would have been some pitching line up.
Schill, Beckett (6-0) already, dice-k, Wake and the rocket, but it wasn't to be.
Post by: heganboy on May 07, 2007, 08:38:50 PM
In fairness the rocket will ease a lot of the worries at yankee stadium, they needed another dependable pitcher- right now Wang is it. Yanks will start their 6th rookie pitcher this year tonight, Mariano has been wobbly for the first time in years. $18m for the rest of the season- not bad money if you can get it...
Post by: resdubwhite on May 14, 2007, 10:55:42 AM
Week 6 scores

Res Dubs                  6         
Faithful Dodgers         4

AZ Diamondbacks        0         
Big Apple Orchards     10

Springfield Isotopes     6         
shitloadofdimes           5

Ardboe Blue Jays         7         
Red Hand Hitters         4

Crossmaglen Hitmen       8    
Maynooth Padres   3

the helmets                6         
Slugger Squad 57        5

Howya now                8         
Father Joe's Dynamos  3

And the league.
1.         the helmets     40-22-4     .636     -     6-5-0     8     11
2.       Res Dubs                    37-24-5    .598    2.5    6-4-1    14    26
3.       Crossmaglen Hitmen    36-24-6    .591    3    8-3-0    9    13
4.       Howya now    34-24-8    .576    4    8-3-0    11    13
5.       Springfield Isotopes    32-27-7    .538    6.5    6-5-0    4    6
6.       Slugger Squad 57    34-29-3    .538    6.5    5-6-0    5    1
7.       Big Apple Orchards    30-28-8    .515    8    10-0-1    10    1
8.       Father Joe's Dynamos    33-31-2    .515    8    3-8-0    13    14
9.       Faithful Dodgers    29-31-6    .485    10    4-6-1    12    11
10.       AZ Diamondbacks    27-33-6    .455    12    0-10-1    2    1
11.       Ardboe Blue Jays    27-36-3    .432    13.5    7-4-0    7    4
12.       Red Hand Hitters    26-35-5    .432    13.5    4-7-0    1    1
13.       Maynooth Padres    22-41-3    .356    18.5    3-8-0    6    -
14.       shitloadofdimes    21-43-2    .333    20    5-6-0    3    1
Post by: bombidal on May 24, 2007, 07:44:44 PM
My guys beginning to heat up now led by David Wright. About time.
Anyone any view on the outright World Series at this stage of the season. Yankees finished allready
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 29, 2007, 01:22:54 PM
Tied for last place in the AL East  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Jack Dempsey on June 05, 2007, 12:50:13 PM
Im looking for a big bat ( at 1b if possible )... willing to give up some of my pitching talent if anyone is interested. Im Father Joe's btw.
Post by: resdubwhite on June 16, 2007, 12:02:56 PM
Lads, willing to listen to realistic offers. NEed a catcher.

thats realistic offers Jack Dempsey.
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2007, 02:09:23 PM
the helmets are a bit light in the hitting department, interesting trades for pitchers considered...
Post by: heganboy on August 17, 2007, 08:29:09 PM
anybody want to trade an outfielder for a catcher , Patterson Chris Young and Melky Cabrera are all available for a catcher. They're all in the top 12 OF for last month.
Post by: Don on August 17, 2007, 09:54:54 PM
Trading season is over I believe, home stretch around the corner now, quiet a few active players which is now
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 17, 2007, 10:12:37 PM
Trade deadline was last Sunday
Post by: heganboy on August 27, 2007, 07:42:35 PM
So the last week in the regular season starts today. Playoff spots are up for grabs.
Res Dubs and Father Joes Dynamos have pretty much been 1-2 for the last 10 weeks and have both their payoff spots already clinched. As a good indicator of form the Dubs spanked the dynamos last week 8-3.
There are 7 teams in contention for the next 4 spots:
crossmaglen Hitmen
helmets
Dodgers
Hoya Now
AZ Diamondbacks
Big Apple Orchards
Ardboe Blue Jays
as luck would have it there are a couple of them playing this week in what can be viewed as playoffs. AZ takes on Howya Now and must win convincingly to get through, and its an uphill battle, a couple of lineup changes may help though as hes only scoring 8 of his 9 players with a strong bench. Pitching should favour Howya, but A-rod and Suzuki are a really strong batting combo, and both on form.

Helmets take on the Blue Jays, Ordonez and Big Papi are on top of their game and anything is possible here offensively for the Blue Jays,  the helmets had a freakishly good week last week but that has been a one off recently despite a good start to the season. Pitching wise the Helmets look to have the edge in relief, but starters like brandon Webb, last weeks highest ranked players means that the BJs look to have an easy run.

Dodgers take on the isotopes and should be looking at a convincing win. texeira and Abreu are flying and Carlos Guillen's bad day is better than most players good ones. The dodgers pitching has been their weakness all season. The isotopes havent really done much, and their highest rank player for the season Ryan Howard is languishing on the bench. Cano Alou and Matthews jr ar enot on hot runs of form at the vital times. Again selections issues for the isotopes as their strongest starter Beckett is a bench warmer and one of their spots lies empty.

Hitmen play the Orchards in an all Armagh managerial contest. The cross boys are flying and the Orchards need a massive win to make the play offs.
Fielder Cabrera, Guerrero and Jermaine Dye are putting the numbers up, And even with such a good line up you'd question the benching of Carlos Lee. Solid pitching has been vital for the Cross men to back up their big bats and Saito and Okaima have been solid closers, the starters have been slowly but surely racking up the wins For the orchards posada has been brilliant but their scores eflect that hideki matsui and Jose guillen arent ecoring whilst benched. Same on the pitching side since Hughes' return he and clemence have been pitching well, but not scoring from the bench. Cross should take this handily and could probably lose by 7/8 and still make the playoffs.

So thats how it stands, next Monday I'll do a recap and a look forward to the playoffs, if I make them other wise feck the lot of ye!
Post by: Don on August 28, 2007, 09:34:24 PM
Great Stuff Heganboy, any odds updates at this stage
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 04, 2007, 03:39:21 PM
Playoff schedule released

Main Playoffs

(http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/9345/untitleddn4.jpg)

Consolation playoffs

(http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/8415/untitled1bj1.jpg)
Post by: heganboy on September 05, 2007, 08:00:50 PM
so here we are half way through the first week of the playoffs.

Just a quick note to explain how the scoring works. there are 11 categories 6 batting and 5 pitching, batting runs, RBI, Home runs, stolen bases, walks and batting average. Pitching, Wins, saves walks, strike outs and ERA. whatever your active players do during the week are totaled and then matched up against your opponent. You only get a point if you are ahead in that category. So Howya now is ahead in 5 categories, and the hitmen in 2 the other 4 categories are drawn as of Wed am

the top 2 teams have a bye week, and I have to say it would be daylight robbery if anyone other than these 2 wins, as they finished so far ahead of the chasing pack.

Howya now takes on the Crossmaglen Hitmen in the first game. Howya now has got himself a completely new tean with 8 transfers in the last week, not to be outdone the hitmen have a few fresh faces in too.
Current score is standing at 5-2 to Howya now however most of the categories are very very close. Mike Lowell is keeping Howya ahead almost on his own , Prince Fielder and Vladimir Guerrero haven't really got into their stride yet this week, so the hitmen should pull this back by Sunday night.  Its a battle but I think the Hitmen may just have too much strength in the tank to do it.

The helmets take on the Faithful Dodgers in the other championship playoff. The helmets last years champions started well and have faded badly in the last 6 weeks, Ryan Braun, Grady Sizemore and Carlos Beltran have been steady if unspectacular at bat for the helmets, but of the dodgers Cabrera, Teixeira, Carlos Guillen and Bobby Abreu have been red hot the last few weeks and should do enough to give the dodgers the advantage in the batting categories.
Pitching is a bit closer and the edge may go to the helmets, Papelbon and Mariano are getting the saves in, and Wang and Dice K have been pulling in regular wins. For the dodgers, Corpas is scoring well, Lowe Francis and Wainwright have been steady. So its going to come down to the oldest rule in baseball- they say good pitching always beats good batting... its 8-3 to the helmets as of Wed morning but every single category is a tight one.

Res Dubs to win this over all, i think

In the consolation games AZ and Big apple orchards are on a week off. Red hand hitters are 10-1 up and look uncatchable. The isotopes and the blue jays is too early to call, but it looks as if  rom Cano, Gary Matthews Jr and Julio Lugo are doing the business, Maglio Ordonez hasnt hit this week though and he could be enough on his own to bring the Blue Jays back. He's the only player even close to catching A-rod for MVP.  Not over yet, but not looking great for Toronto...

A-Rod in AZ's team should carry him to the Tommy Murphy cup too.
Post by: resdubwhite on September 06, 2007, 10:13:19 AM
Quote from: heganboy on September 05, 2007, 08:00:50 PM

Res Dubs to win this over all, i think

Oh christ.

The kiss of death.
Boys.

If the helmets get through they have a great record against me. I'm 0-2 for the season on a 10-12 scoreline.

all to play for still.
Post by: heganboy on September 11, 2007, 02:14:45 PM
so last weeks predictions weren't great (ringing bells from last year already)
Howya now beat the Hitmen - his new team just held on but it was damn close, another run given up by any of his pitchers and it would have been 5-5, and the hitmen's  better ERA would have brooken the tie-breaker in his favour. Thats what I call a close game.
Howya now takes on Fr Joe's Dyanmos who have an amazing offense led by the Mets David Wright and ably backed up the whole bloody team. His bats have 8 out of this years top 75 players and it shows. Fr Joe and Res Dubs ran away from the rest at the top of the league and they finished 10 games ahead of mid table obscurity.  Howya's pitching however has the edge overall- but Fr Joes pitching management has been pretty good so far this season. Fr Joe to go through comfortably I'd say

Res Dubs, the regular season winner is in action against the helmets. Last years winner vs this years leader. Res Dubs has the advantage in batting and is not too far behind on the pitching match up. Jones Byrnes and Pena have been solid all year, and Johnny Damon is hitting form at the right time for the Dubs. For the dubs pitching cordero and Haren are excellent, and Carmona has been  a surprisingly great selection this year.  In order to challenge the Helmets will need a big week from Carlos Beltran, still recovering from injury, another injury worry at catcher with Molina suffering from concussion may be enough to rule out the helmets who will as usual be relying on pitching to stay in the game. Nathan Rivera and Papelbon should be enough in saves, but Matzuzaka, davies and Vazquez are all coming of bad games. So res Dubs to take this one to go on to slug it out with Dynamos in the finals.

The Dodgers take on the hitmen in the 5th place playoff and you would fancy the hitmen, however after 1 day the dodgers are flying and the 40.5 ERA is the highest I've ever seen in this league for the hitmen, could be a long road back, just ran out of time last week, and the same could happen again this time...

Back in the littlewoods the red hand hitters actually was a prediction I got right and Ordonez, Ortiz and co brought the Blue Jays back to keep a smile on Gab's face this week. This week A-rod takes on and should beat the red hand hitters ( AZ does have other players but doesn't seem to need them) while a close game lies ahead with the Blue Jays against the Big Apple Orchard. BJs to win just because they're called the BJs...
Post by: Jack Dempsey on September 13, 2007, 04:57:29 PM
Father Joe's are going all the way I truely believe
Post by: heganboy on September 17, 2007, 04:44:14 PM
"so I'm yapping cos I got bate" as we say in Ballyhegan.
Going into the last game of the night last night, I needed a walk and a run from Melky Cabrera, and a scoreless save from either Mariano Rivera or Papelbon (who were both ready and playing each other)
Didn't happen! Cabrera goes 0-4 and rivera gives up a run in the save. Bastards- did they not realise the importance of the situation.

Anyway congrats to the rightful winner resdubs who goes into the final against what has really been his only competition this year Fr Joes Dynamoes, who won against an injury hit Howya Now.

This year has been marked by wholesale changes and not player loyalty and the Dubs went in this week with 7 new players from waivers at the weekend, at his gamble paid off in spades. Fit again Chipper Jones made the difference in offense with 3 runs, 1 HR, 5 RBI and batting.538. Had his back up 3rd baseman Melvin Mora played I would have won the tie 6-5 not that I'm bitter (yes I am). Great Pitching management worked well for the dubs with Carmona delivering as promised, But add that to the week of his life that Huston Street had for Oakland with 4 saves in 6 games (to add to the 12 he made in the other 165 games of the year- did I say I was bitter?) and Blanton and Suppan both contributed well. Poor pitching on the helmets with Wang losing his first game in 3 months, added to winless Davis, Dice K Bannister Shields and Vazquez and the team was fecked!
To be honest had I won it would have been a steal- He finished 20 odd games ahead of me for the season.

anyway moving on the the Dynamoes vs Howya now in 2nd vs 6th in the league. For Fr Joe another career week performance, this time from Florida short stop Ramirez who went 7 runs, 3 Homers, 6 RBIs and 4 walks, not too shabby. 2 of Howya nows players weren't ready to concede that handy, and Lowell's 5 runs, 5RBIs and .478 average added to LA's short stop 9 runs and 8 stolen bases meant that it wasn't quite the cake walk that could have been expected. Congrats to Fr Joe and this year we end up with the league's 1 and 2 in the final. expect a good game, but the Dubs should just edge it, However Fr Joe is a kerryman, and they tend to show up for big games...

In the consolation my prediction kiss of death struck again as AZ was pipped 6-5 in a cracking battle by the Red Hand Hitters. The red hands go on to face the Big Apple orchards who had enough to beat Gab's Ardboe Blue Jays. Armagh Tyrone final for the consolation, been that way all year really...
Post by: rdw on September 30, 2007, 11:21:20 PM
thanks for the nice words hegan.

Great fight.

Egghhh.

it appears the final has finished in a draw?
5 a piece.
how is the league decided.
Post by: heganboy on October 01, 2007, 02:53:27 AM
well actually,
ties are decided by the following criteria:
   1. Lowest team ERA.
   2. Highest team AVG.
   3. Lowest team WHIP.
   4. Most team HR.
   5. Most team wins.
   6. Most team RBI.
   7. Most team saves.
   8. Most team runs.
   9. Most team SO.
  10. Most team SB.
  11. Random "coin flip."

So first up is ERA Dynamos finish with a very creditable 5.24 but the winner is the Dubs with a final ERA of 4.31.
The other games all have an outright winner. Last years winners the helmets finish third beating Howya now 8-3, in the consolation playoffs the Red Hand hitters beat the Big Apple orchards and the Blue Jays were pipped by AZ.

Final Order
1. Res Dubs
2. Fr Joe's Dynamos
3. Helmets
4. Howya Now
5. Crossmaglen Hitmen
6. Faithful Dodgers
7. Red Hand Hitters
8. Big Apple Orchards
9. AZ Diamondbacks
10. Ardboe Blue Jays
11. Springfield Isotopes
12. Slugger Squad 57
13. Shitloadofdimes
14. Maynooth Padres

And how funny was it that the Mets missed the playoffs?

Post by: rdw on October 01, 2007, 08:50:10 AM
If thats the case
Deadly.

Hegan thanks for all of the updates towards the end of the season. Really kept my interest going.

Could it be possible the Dubs have an all-ireland in 2007. Stat tracker is suspended so I can't get in anymore.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 01, 2007, 09:26:48 AM
Great news for the Diamondbacks, clinching their 4th NL West title in their 10th season of existence. And with no star players. Great stuff DBacks. They face the Cubbies now in the NLDS (World Series Quarter Final).
Post by: rdw on October 01, 2007, 09:27:44 AM
not forgetting the red soxs first pennant in 12 years.

Post by: AZOffaly on October 01, 2007, 09:42:46 AM
Here's the complete lineup for the playoffs in baseball. The 8th and final spot is still outstanding as the San Diego Padres and Colorado Rockies finished on identical records, and will therefore play off in a loser goes home 1 off game tonight. The matchups for the American and National League Divisional Series are :

ALDS :

New York Yankees versus Cleveland Indians
Los Angeles Angels (Anaheim) versus Boston Red Sox

NLDS
Chicago Cubs versus Arizona Diamondbacks
San Diego Padres OR Colorado Rockies versus Philadelphia Phillies
Post by: rdw on October 01, 2007, 11:32:13 AM
Its official.

I am your new Champion.

Not Smack talking now are we Fr Joe!

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 01, 2007, 02:12:30 PM
Jesus, how big did the Mets shit themselves?
Post by: rdw on October 01, 2007, 02:14:52 PM
Apparently the phillies went on a serious roll in the last few months something like .8 since August.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 01, 2007, 02:19:39 PM
The Rockies had a savage run as well to get that playoff wild-card spot

won 14 of last 15 games
Post by: dec on October 01, 2007, 02:43:53 PM
There are a few depressed Mets fans around the office today, I have tried not to gloat.
Post by: heganboy on October 01, 2007, 03:03:50 PM
the phillies went ok at the end of the season, it was a mets implosion rather than a fantastic phillies performance that did it. At Sept 12 Mets were 7 games up, yet managed to lose by a game.
Red sox aren't playing that well at the minute either neither are the cubs.
Rockies did well. I fancy the angels phillies as the world series final.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 02, 2007, 10:44:14 AM
The Rockies continued their fantastic end of season run by beating the Padres 9-8 after 13 innings in the 163rd game of the year. It took all of that to seperate the two teams, and the Rockies run (15 wins in 16 games) will mark them out as dangerous opponents for the Phillies in the NLDS.

Heartbreak for the Padres, who ended up just one game behind the Diamondbacks in the NL West, tied with the Rockies, in one of the closest Divisional races for years.

The Playoffs start in earnest tomorrow as the Rockies and Phillies lock horns in Philadelphia for Game 1 while the Cubs head to the Desert to face the Diamondbacks in their game 1. In the ALDS, tomorrow also sees the fist installment of the Angels and Red Sox tie, while the Yankees will face the Indians in Cleveland on Thursday in Game 1.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 09, 2007, 01:31:12 PM
The End of an era in the Bronx methinks - Joe Torre will be out the door soon enough

NLCS - Arizona Diamondbacks vs Colorado Rockies

ALCS - Boston Red Sox vs Cleveland Indians

I can't see past a Colorado - Indians World Series
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2007, 01:46:30 PM
Dunno Gab. The Dbacks have been upsetting the Odds all season. Homefield might prove crucial, especially if they can win the first one and start the doubts.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 09, 2007, 01:49:52 PM
they've been upsetting the odds alright AZ

but the Rockies are on one of those runs

17 wins in 18 games - that's momentum for ya
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2007, 01:51:39 PM
It is, but who beat them in the only game they've lost, which clinched a playoff spot? That's right.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 09, 2007, 01:56:01 PM
The Phillies  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2007, 01:59:41 PM
Nope, the Dbacks. They beat them in the first game of a 3 game series in Colorado, when the Dbacks needed one win to clinch the playoffs. They then lost the other 2 as the Rockies chased down the Padres. It'll be interesting.
Post by: heganboy on October 09, 2007, 02:18:33 PM
Torre is out, steinbrenner said he was gone if the yanks lost that series.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2007, 02:20:07 PM
Yep. The only question is whether he will be allowed to leave gracefully or get the boot. His contract is up anyway I think.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 09, 2007, 02:20:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 09, 2007, 01:59:41 PM
Nope, the Dbacks. They beat them in the first game of a 3 game series in Colorado, when the Dbacks needed one win to clinch the playoffs. They then lost the other 2 as the Rockies chased down the Padres. It'll be interesting.

I knew exactly who it was  :D
Post by: rdw on October 13, 2007, 07:04:24 PM
rockies are two up in nlcs.
red sox 1 up in alcs.
Post by: new devil on October 13, 2007, 07:09:43 PM
Torre is nearly 100% staying.....do any of yous go to the games
Post by: heganboy on October 14, 2007, 10:43:16 PM
i would get to a few games- why?
Post by: new devil on October 14, 2007, 11:22:32 PM
Just wondering..who do you follow heaganboy...was at the two yankee games last weekend, sunday night was best game ive been to
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 16, 2007, 11:46:36 AM
So much for the D'Backs  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on October 16, 2007, 12:05:57 PM
So much is right :( Big change in one week. Cardinals turn into the SOC (Same Ole Cardinals) and the Dbacks get swept. Fair play to the Rockies though, I'd love to see an NL Champion.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 11:09:25 PM
Torre gone it seems  :o :o
Post by: Puckoon on October 18, 2007, 11:16:30 PM
Internal politics at its dirtiest. How could he stay on!? They speculate publicly about his future before the team were even out. Steinbrenner and his sons knew he wouldnt take the bait. A pay cut and a performance based salary? A one year contract? If they think the fan on the street will not see through this and accept that Torre walked they must be right and naive. An attempt to rid themselves of the coach and remain on the moral highground. Someone spoke earlier about the motivation of the man inside each of us. Theres no way Torre could have accepted this offer. He probably should have not even given them the chance to table it. He should have walked the first minute the rumours started.
Post by: new devil on October 18, 2007, 11:18:34 PM
Yea looks like it Gab... f**k cant believe it  :( :(

He must of been offered less money