Recent posts

General discussion / Re: You know what really grind...
Last post by Puckoon - Today at 08:17:33 PM
Ray Hudson commentating on CBS sports for the Champions League. Worse than Tommy "onion bag" Smyth.
GAA Discussion / Re: Leinster Senior football c...
Last post by Dunneroyal - Today at 08:17:19 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 05:41:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 04:35:00 PMThere is a lot of back and forth re Dublin who I think we should all admit would dominate any province. They are dominating the All-Ireland long enough so it's fair to say their depth would manage Ulster too.

But, that doesn't excuse Kildare and Meath especially. They should be up and around Div 1 or solid Div 2. I know lads are saying when we are waiting to be hammered in Leinster it breeds a bad vibe, but the league is something different and Kildare were annihilated by Cork and Derry last year. That is not excuseable.

There will be a reset and some fresh blood on the pitch and on the line next year, but the Dubs are going nowhere!
Meath and Kildare should be at least around the level of a Roscommon/Monaghan. Dublin being great is not an excuse for them being shite.

Somewhat agree. Meath under mcentee we're around Roscommon and Monaghan (drew with Monaghan in league ) lost by 4 to Dublin and only for a complete howler from gk had mayo beat.   
What has happened since hasn't helped
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Wildweasel74 - Today at 08:13:04 PM
Usually a 101 Tyrone posters around here, not saying much about Saturdays  game, lying in the long grass or what!
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 08:11:06 PM
Absolutely, but seen the days where we were losing to Fermanagh and Cavan in Ulster first round games. (Did Down actually beat us under Geezer as well?)

Yes, the complete shame of being beaten by Down.
We are in the race now, but it is amazing that Geezer was kept on through Div 3 and not winning a game in Ulster.
General discussion / Re: Things that make you go Wh...
Last post by AustinPowers - Today at 07:35:17 PM
Right, own up. Who  named their child Monte Carlo?  ::)

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-68825489
Last post by balladmaker - Today at 07:32:03 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 03:43:32 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on Today at 03:32:44 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on Today at 02:53:00 PM
Quote from: Tones on Today at 01:48:29 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 01:02:45 PM
Quote from: Tones on Today at 11:28:47 AMIs it really? Most counties have goals at the start of the year, get promoted, avoid relegation, beat neighbours etc. do they really need a coping mechanism of devaluing competitions, I seriously doubt it.  There are about 26 counties under the new system never going win Sam, Derry don't need another Ulster but will probably win it, any other county would relish it.

I believe JoG2 was referring the fans attempting to devalue a competition as a defense mechanism for if they don't win it. Armagh will have failed this year (again) if they do not win Ulster. How anyone can think different is beyond me.

Armagh will have failed agreed, Armagh will continue to fail until the County Board grows a set and get rid of McGeeney but they aren't devaluing it.  Who's these fans devaluing it two people on a discussion board, most counties would love to win Ulster, doubt Fermanagh, Antrim and Monaghan are sitting there thinking as sure it means nothing.

Would be a failure for Armagh not to reach the Ulster final. Derry will be strong favourites to win the final should they reach it.  Armagh comfortably bounced back to Div 1 and in 2025 will be their 4th year in the last 5 years to play in Div 1 and the last two years they reached the All Ireland quarter final only losing out on penalty shootouts.

Would another manager have got much more out of Armagh than McGeeney has? I highly doubt it when you consider Armagh haven't won U20/21 Ulster title since 2007 and U17/18 Ulster title since 2009 plus club football especially Crossmaglen hasn't been as strong as they use to be.

theres an opinion within Armagh that we have left behind an Ulster and at least one AISF in the last 2 years due to the negative tactics we have seen. So maybe another manager might, and I stress might, have achieved more than McGeeney. Or we could have got thumped in all those games

It's a tough one for me. I think Geezer deserves a lot of credit for building a strong squad with 23/24 players who I would consider all to be good inter county footballers albeit without too many superstars.

That said I think he also deserves criticism for an ultra conservative approach to games against good teams. Is that because

a he doesn't think Armagh are good enough to go toe to toe with a big team.

B Armagh are not good enough and he's trying to cover weaknesses

Or

C He lacks the ability to take Armagh to the next level.

For me the jury is still out. I would love to see us really go for teams with a fast flowing direct style of attack that we showed in some games over the last three years (Dublin at Croke Park for example). That way I think Armagh and Geezer could be fairly analysed.

If you listen to Monday's GAA Social Podcast, you'll hear Paddy Burns saying that they're sent out to play attacking football every game, and for some reason it doesn't come to pass every time ... he was adamant Kieran McGeeney sends them out to attack, attack, attack. 
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 06:52:12 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 06:19:46 PMI just want to point out this stat. Cavan are unbeaten in championship against Tyrone in Breffni for more than 40 years.

How many Cavan v Tyrone championship matches has been played in Breffni the last 40 years?
General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by Itchy - Today at 06:25:08 PM
Quote from: illdecide on Today at 03:51:39 PMGot my last 5 fixtures slightly wrong...

Sunday 28th April v Dundee (A)
Saturday 4th May v Hearts (H)
Saturday 11th May v Huns (H)
Wednesday 15th May v Kilmarnock (A)
Saturday 18th May v St Mirren (H)

What Rangers run in?
Last post by Itchy - Today at 06:19:46 PM
I just want to point out this stat. Cavan are unbeaten in championship against Tyrone in Breffni for more than 40 years.
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by marty34 - Today at 06:15:58 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 12:22:51 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on Today at 10:55:18 AM"Hurling referees have been advised to be mindful of players ducking into tackles in an attempt to win frees. Examples of recent league games were provided to officials of decisions going in favour of those who were simulating the fouls.

Across both codes, referees have been given the following checklist to factor in when considering to send off a player for a head-high tackle: if a contact is made to opponent's head, if the opponent has no opportunity to protect himself, if contact/impact is excessive or causes injury, if the elbow/forearm/shoulder is part of the contact, if the player making contact jumps or has been two feet off the ground, if the player making contact had a realistic alternative by way of challenging opponent and to the direction and distance covered by the player who makes contact."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41375074.html

It's going like rugby that players must have a 'duty of care' to other players in the tackle.

That's a good thing in my opinion. Anything hit around the head is dangerous.

You'll be looking for mitigating circumstances etc etc as well now  ;D

Maybe a TMO JC?  :)