Longford Football (& Hurling) Thread

Started by North Longford, November 17, 2006, 09:47:45 AM

What a mess.............and the JMC wing on the County Board will point and say "I feckin told yiz so"

Killoe getting all the blame, as far as I can see. For extra FFS-idness one of the players in the frame seems to be a Covid-19 denier on twitter. Ya couldn't make it up.

On the good news from Eggistown/Ballinalee bate Slashers in the minor final.

God only knows when we'll face Mullinyarta in the final........could be next year.

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 26, 2020, 04:38:49 PM
What a mess.............and the JMC wing on the County Board will point and say "I feckin told yiz so"

Killoe getting all the blame, as far as I can see. For extra FFS-idness one of the players in the frame seems to be a Covid-19 denier on twitter. Ya couldn't make it up.

On the good news from Eggistown/Ballinalee bate Slashers in the minor final.

God only knows when we'll face Mullinyarta in the final........could be next year.

If Derek and The Dominos hadn't put their oar in the final would have been tomorrow and the issue might well have been academic.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Qwerty28

Is there a deadline by which county championships have to be finished, this day 2 weeks?
Maybe semi finals next weekend, final sat/sun 11th?
Suppose it depends on any more covid cases 🙄

LaurelEye

Apparently the county team have priority after October 11th so it will depend on when Longford get knocked out of the championship.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

The Insider

There is still a chance both Senior semi finals and Inter Final this week with Senior final on the 11th . The club will have to come before the County .Circumstances have changed many times since commitment was given to PadrĂ¡ic . To help the county set up we'll try and arrange Mostrim v Slashers final .25th anniversary  Repeat of 1995 with a Mostrim win this time .

KilloeMan15

Quote from: The Insider on September 28, 2020, 08:30:49 PM
There is still a chance both Senior semi finals and Inter Final this week with Senior final on the 11th . The club will have to come before the County .Circumstances have changed many times since commitment was given to PadrĂ¡ic . To help the county set up we'll try and arrange Mostrim v Slashers final .25th anniversary  Repeat of 1995 with a Mostrim win this time .
Did Killoe not play Ardagh in the final in 1995? You may have to go back 29 years to find the game you're looking for.

The Insider

Time flies, I remember us 8 or 9 points down and then almost stealing it with the last kick of the game. Being told since it was 91

LaurelEye

Congrats to the Crossmaglen of Longford hurling on their 20th title.

Good win for the WT hurlers in awful conditions.

Slashers were poor in the second half. Losing a lad early on didn't help. Their second red was flagged as soon as the chap came on. He had a yellow after 15 seconds and was like the gunslinger in the old West - you could seem him itching for a row.

Semis in the football, perhaps the rest of the Championship, are in doubt I would imagine.

QuoteTheir second red was flagged as soon as the chap came on. He had a yellow after 15 seconds and was like the gunslinger in the old West - you could seem him itching for a row.

Reminds me of that 1979 Intermediate Final between Killashee and whoever beat them - the same thing happened, and we found out afterwards that the sub had been so incensed (with management) at not starting the game, that he vowed to get sent off as soon as he had been introduced.  And thus it happened ...

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 05, 2020, 08:27:55 AM
Good win for the WT hurlers in awful conditions.

Slashers were poor in the second half. Losing a lad early on didn't help. Their second red was flagged as soon as the chap came on. He had a yellow after 15 seconds and was like the gunslinger in the old West - you could seem him itching for a row.

Semis in the football, perhaps the rest of the Championship, are in doubt I would imagine.
Could the Supreme Court not do a 24 hour service?

LaurelEye

Congratulations to Derek, James Mel, Pat, Martin, Albert, Eugene and the boys for successfully preventing Killoe or Mullinalaghta from winning another title.

We will never forget any of their contributions.

QuoteWe will never forget any of their contributions.

The contributions have been notable mainly because of the scarcity of previous instances. 

LaurelEye

https://www.longfordleader.ie/news/sport/602604/powerful-gaa-committee-unsure-why-longford-u16-championship-continued-as-killoe-objection-is-successful.html

So...

Having been rapped on the knuckles once at national level over the 48-week suspension, Longford County Board get pulled up again at national level over the original Killoe complaint over the under-16 championship and lose that battle too. For this we ended up with a bucketload of negative publicity and last year's championships not being completed.

Heck of a job, lads. Well done to all concerned.