GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on June 25, 2021, 05:57:41 PM

Title: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2021
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2021, 05:57:41 PM
Couldn't find a thread on this so I thought why not start one?
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2021
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2021, 06:41:25 PM
Some interesting games this Sunday.

Offaly v Louth, Pairc Tailteann, 1.30pm.  John Maughan v Mickey Harte.

Carlow v Longford, Bord na Mona O'Connor Park. Carlow rising or lift off for the larries?

Wicklow v Wexford, Aughrim, 3pm -  the winner plays Dublin.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 25, 2021, 11:27:05 PM
Are we guessing who winning the leister championship? 🤔🙄
Post by: From the Bunker on June 26, 2021, 12:30:20 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2021, 06:41:25 PM
Some interesting games this Sunday.

Offaly v Louth, Pairc Tailteann, 1.30pm.  John Maughan v Mickey Harte.

Carlow v Longford, Bord na Mona O'Connor Park. Carlow rising or lift off for the larries?

Wicklow v Wexford, Aughrim, 3pm -  the winner plays Dublin.

To be fair they are all interesting ties
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2021, 09:16:28 AM
Carlow can be a banana skin but I would hope we have enough firepower up front as well as a pretty solid full back line to progress.

We had a very bad start in the League (Derry looks fitter than they should have been  :-X ) but each game saw improvement and to avoid the hell that is Division 4 was certainly welcome.

Winners play The Royals.......who seem to be in all sorts of bother with the aul in-fighting. Bernard Flynn threw in the towel with the U20s and Andy McEntee is daily adding things to his list of things he wants to moan about.

Wicklow will beat Wexford and no amount of rosaries will save Louth from Offaly's skill.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 26, 2021, 11:10:49 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2021, 09:16:28 AM
Carlow can be a banana skin but I would hope we have enough firepower up front as well as a pretty solid full back line to progress.

We had a very bad start in the League (Derry looks fitter than they should have been  :-X ) but each game saw improvement and to avoid the hell that is Division 4 was certainly welcome.

Winners play The Royals.......who seem to be in all sorts of bother with the aul in-fighting. Bernard Flynn threw in the towel with the U20s and Andy McEntee is daily adding things to his list of things he wants to moan about.

Wicklow will beat Wexford and no amount of rosaries will save Louth from Offaly's skill.

Meath are seen historically as the team to put it up to the Dubs. They have taken embarrassing beatings from Dublin in the Championship despite making progress outside of this. To be a Meath Manager, Player or even supporter ha become a hard sell and not improving.
Post by: macker15 on June 26, 2021, 11:53:01 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 25, 2021, 11:27:05 PM

Kilkenny strong favourites.  Galway will put it to them. Wexford has come and gone
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2021, 01:19:02 PM
Quote from: macker15 on June 26, 2021, 11:53:01 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 25, 2021, 11:27:05 PM

Kilkenny strong favourites.  Galway will put it to them. Wexford has come and gone

It's fair to say Galway are 5 points the better of the Cats, Kilkenny just shading Wexford who on turn are a point or two better than Dublin who are 4 points better than Antrim and Laois.

On the football front surely with all the resources Dublin have always had,  they have massively underachieved
Post by: stevecw on June 27, 2021, 03:43:48 AM
Back with a great bet, Longford to get over 19.5 today v Carlow at 11/10. Will happen for sure. New manager Carew in and he got all out attacking style, in complete contrast to the Turlough O'Brien & Steven Poacher era where we just sat back and relied on Broderick Frees to win a low scoring game.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2021, 01:21:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 26, 2021, 11:10:49 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2021, 09:16:28 AM

Meath are seen historically as the team to put it up to the Dubs. They have taken embarrassing beatings from Dublin in the Championship despite making progress outside of this. To be a Meath Manager, Player or even supporter ha become a hard sell and not improving.
Maybe the winning margin in the final will fall this year.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 03:07:14 PM
FT Offaly 1-15 Louth 0-18. Extra time required to separate the two.
Post by: MayoBuck on June 27, 2021, 03:33:39 PM
Gaelic football is a great game when there are evenly matched teams playing!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 27, 2021, 03:53:35 PM
Extra game even though a defeat paid off for Offaly
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 03:54:41 PM
2-4 to 0-1 in extra time, Louth used up all of the energy to bring that game to extra time and had nothing left. Result Offaly 3-19 Louth 0-19.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 04:53:40 PM
Wicklow 0-14 Wexford 2-11.  Mini shock there.
Post by: joemamas on June 27, 2021, 06:36:23 PM
Quote from: stevecw on June 27, 2021, 03:43:48 AM
Back with a great bet, Longford to get over 19.5 today v Carlow at 11/10. Will happen for sure. New manager Carew in and he got all out attacking style, in complete contrast to the Turlough O'Brien & Steven Poacher era where we just sat back and relied on Broderick Frees to win a low scoring game.

Good call. Congrats.
Post by: Rossfan on June 27, 2021, 06:46:03 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 04:53:40 PM
Wicklow 0-14 Wexford 2-11.  Mini shock there.
"Prize" for the winners ... Dublin
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2021, 08:45:51 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 03:54:41 PM
2-4 to 0-1 in extra time, Louth used up all of the energy to bring that game to extra time and had nothing left. Result Offaly 3-19 Louth 0-19.

Harte found out. A bluffer. Has he improved Louth? No.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on June 27, 2021, 08:52:14 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 27, 2021, 03:33:39 PM

Yeah and what did Mayo beat Sligo by yesterday you dumb clown!
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 27, 2021, 08:54:35 PM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on June 27, 2021, 08:52:14 PM

He might have meant in general, yesterday's weren't great games for the neutral.
Post by: MayoBuck on June 27, 2021, 09:09:13 PM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on June 27, 2021, 08:52:14 PM

What's up with you?
Post by: Hill16 Blues on June 27, 2021, 09:17:13 PM
I'd suggest you comment on the inequities of the Connacht championship before you decide to comment satirically on those of other championships subtly or not so subtly! It's the typical hypocritical bolloxollogy that this this site is infested with.
Post by: MayoBuck on June 27, 2021, 09:24:17 PM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on June 27, 2021, 09:17:13 PM
I'd suggest you comment on the inequities of the Connacht championship before you decide to comment satirically on those of other championships subtly or not so subtly! It's the typical hypocritical bolloxollogy that this this site is infested with.

I was just talking about the Offaly and Louth game which was on earlier. No hidden message despite what you think.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 10:27:34 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2021, 08:45:51 PM

Louths season objective would be league promotion. Most would have expected Offaly promoted to Div 2 to win that game today and not needing extra time to do it.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2021, 08:03:08 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2021, 10:27:34 PM

Louths season objective would be league promotion. Most would have expected Offaly promoted to Div 2 to win that game today and not needing extra time to do it.
Louth arguably a bit unlucky in normal time. 1-15 to 0-18 at full time and Offaly's goal a fluke. Plus Louth very nearly won it at the end of the 70.  Didn't show it on the Sunday Game but Louth came inches from causing an upset with the final kick.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2021, 08:52:14 AM
Offaly have improved a lot and are half decent for that level. Just a poor dig at Harte. Offaly are now division 2 and Louth division 3. A division gap is a big difference. Getting it to ET was a big result for Louth.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2021, 08:53:27 AM
Longford will travel to Navan with a pep in the step. Upward trajectory since the opening hammering by Derry so that's a positive. Forwards were scoring at will yesterday but they won't get the same freedom against Meath. Carlow were game but limited and if Carew is given time he can shape them into something.

Rumours of Meath-in-a-heap may be simplistic but I do hope we can give them a good game. Nothing to lose so I would imagine we'll give it a good lash.

Top ten things for Andy McEntree to moan about

1. The ref
2. The ref's mother
3. Brexit
4. Longford scoring more
5. The wind
6. Covid
7. The Dubs
8. The meeja
9. The linesman
10. Ulster football

Feel free to add your own
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2021, 10:20:02 AM
Huge credit must be given to Leinster GAA that they are still running this competition.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 28, 2021, 11:33:54 AM

Not really, it was a really close game that Louth could have won only for some poor wides at crucial stages.
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2021, 08:42:02 AM
Yeah not overly optimistic given the injury list and suspensions (if they still apply next weekend?). I don't think the row over the U20s will matter a whole lot to the seniors performance. We'll need Costello and Hickey anyway and they need to be playing to their best next weekend if we're to win.

At the moment it could be Keoghan, Menton, Jones and McGill are out. It'll be a very makeshift midfield and defense for next weekend.

Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 29, 2021, 11:31:13 AM
Kildare were poor v Offaly last year but we have a small bit of momentum and more speed up front, so summer football should be an advantage compared to last year. Although it was speed of thought that Offaly had us on in that game.

There are a few niggles being nursed with Daniel Flynn missing the Meath game and Jimmy Hyland plus Kevin Feely going off injured but the word is good on them. Although Flynn was meant to be getting game time v Meath but there was no sign.

I would hope for a decent win and another Meath v Kildare game would be a bit of craic IF we both get through.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 30, 2021, 12:17:06 PM
500 can now be in Navan on Sunday.

That's good news.

We can get the Longford Brass Band in now to whip up a frenzy throughout the match.
Post by: thejuice on July 02, 2021, 09:31:23 AM
Probable Meath starting 15 at the weekend. No news on Keoghan and Mentons injuries.

A Colgan

S Lavin - R Ryan - C Hickey
J McEntee-S McEntee- F Reilly

E Devine - P Harnan

J Scully - B McMahon - M Costello
J Morris - T O'Reilliy - C O'Sullivan

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2021, 09:34:25 AM
Lads

Meath are 10/1 on with Longford at 7s on PP

If you had a few bob left over from holidaying local I would slap a ton on Longford.

I have that feeling in me waters that a semi-shock is on the cards.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2021, 11:09:44 AM
A semi shock as in ye might half win or that Longford batin Meath wouldn't be much of a surprise.
Anyway best of luck to our nicest neighbours.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2021, 12:06:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 02, 2021, 11:09:44 AM
A semi shock as in ye might half win or that Longford batin Meath wouldn't be much of a surprise.
Anyway best of luck to our nicest neighbours.

Ah thanks Rossfan. I think when the opposition is 10/1 on then to go agin the bookies would be at least a semi-shock.

I can see ye boys beating Galway.......good luck anyway

#handsacrosstheshannon
Post by: thejuice on July 02, 2021, 06:08:14 PM
I think we're 1/10 not 10/1. Any way I don't we're that much of certainty with the injuries and suspensions.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2021, 01:43:03 PM
Did say 10/1 on

Meath would be 10/1 facing Dubs.

If any of ye Meath boys are feeling lucky put €500 on a win and invest the winnings here

https://clublongford.ie/raffle-contest/ (https://clublongford.ie/raffle-contest/)
Post by: thejuice on July 04, 2021, 01:30:20 AM
I wasn't far off my team.

Here's the starting line up. Keoghan and Menton on the bench.

Andy Colgan;

Seamus Lavin, Ronan Ryan, Eoin Harkin;
Cathal Hickey, Shane McEntee, Fionn Reilly;

Ethan devine, Padraic Harnan;

Cillian o'Sullivan, Bryan McMahon, Mathew Costello;
Jordan Morris, Michael Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

Subs - Harry Hogan, DonalKeogan, Jordan Muldoon, James McEntee, Jack O'Connor, Joey Wallace, James Conlon, Eamon Wallace, Bryan Menton, Jason Scully, Darragh Campion.
Post by: MayoBuck on July 04, 2021, 04:11:58 PM
Dublin poor enough against Wexford in the first half, 6 points to 3. Robbie McDaid looks like he dislocated his shoulder.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2021, 04:48:47 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 04, 2021, 04:11:58 PM
Dublin poor enough against Wexford in the first half, 6 points to 3. Robbie McDaid looks like he dislocated his shoulder.

Ah, the unfamiliarity of an away fixture.
Post by: macker15 on July 04, 2021, 05:20:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 04, 2021, 04:48:47 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 04, 2021, 04:11:58 PM

Ah, the unfamiliarity of an away fixture.

The Jackeens are in decline. Kerry v Mayo final.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 04, 2021, 05:22:06 PM
Fair play to Wexford for a competitive performance against the Dubs. I was half tempted to place money on Longford with the way Shamrock Shore was talking up his team chances, glad I didn't.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2021, 06:09:12 PM
Leinster semi final draw

Dublin v Meath
Kildare v Westmeath
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 04, 2021, 06:14:01 PM
Ouch

That was painful. Half a cup of Meath were very good and half a cup of Longford were very bad.

Some marginal calls went against Longford but dems the breaks.

Meath for Sam on that performance.
Post by: Go home ref on July 04, 2021, 06:24:02 PM
A good win for Kildare in the end a superb performance from Neil Flynn with 1-7 and I have to say that was the worst refereeing performance I've seen I years some of the frees given to Offaly were scandalous it was Cormac Reilly levels of bad. Great to see such guts and fight in second half previous kildare teams would self destruct when things were going against us these boys dug in well and deserved the win for the second half performance. Will need to be better the next day against Westmeath especially after the hiding they gave Laois.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2021, 08:23:43 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 04, 2021, 06:24:02 PM
A good win for Kildare in the end a superb performance from Neil Flynn with 1-7 and I have to say that was the worst refereeing performance I've seen I years some of the frees given to Offaly were scandalous it was Cormac Reilly levels of bad. Great to see such guts and fight in second half previous kildare teams would self destruct when things were going against us these boys dug in well and deserved the win for the second half performance. Will need to be better the next day against Westmeath especially after the hiding they gave Laois.

He was bad for both teams I thought, we were Dublinesque with our steps at times. The red card was farcical though.
Post by: thejuice on July 04, 2021, 08:44:32 PM
Won't read too much into it. We got the job done but Longford were able to get into decent positions quite often so Dublin will be doing the damage when they get up there. Dublin looked rusty enough but won't do them any harm.

Perhaps we'll do better than last year but it's hard to be certain.
Post by: Go home ref on July 04, 2021, 11:03:28 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2021, 08:23:43 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 04, 2021, 06:24:02 PM

He was bad for both teams I thought, we were Dublinesque with our steps at times. The red card was farcical though.

The red card was hilarious it was so bad I suppose I'm biased only noticed the soft calls against us. On another happier note Laois have to be the worst team in Ireland at this point.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 05, 2021, 11:11:42 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 04, 2021, 08:44:32 PM
Won't read too much into it. We got the job done but Longford were able to get into decent positions quite often so Dublin will be doing the damage when they get up there. Dublin looked rusty enough but won't do them any harm.

Perhaps we'll do better than last year but it's hard to be certain.

Only saw the first 25 or so minutes and like Kildare v Offaly the defences get opened up very easily. If Longford were a but braver and committed more men forward they could have done more damage at that stage.

Kildare relied on a class individual performance but you would worry how we got opened up too. No real mobility in the middle either.

If we get to have 8k at the semis, like the hurling, it will be great to get in to Croke Park. I live locally and it was brilliant to see jerseys around this weekend and a few pints being had outside places.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 14, 2021, 01:14:59 PM
I know I am clutching at straws but is there any hope Meath will push the Dubs? With Cluxton and now Lowndes going, it must cause some kind of blib?

Westmeath v Kildare should be an interesting one. I was hopeful after Meath in the league that we would brush Offaly aside but it didn't pan out that way.

Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2021, 10:37:29 AM
Tickets still on sale for Sundays double header!
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2021, 03:20:46 PM
The Leinster Footbal Championship reminds me of this

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/44292/the-deserted-village

What are the chances of a Johnny Doyle or a Dessie Dolan emerging now ?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 03:40:57 PM
FT Kildare 2-14 Westmeath 0-18.

2nd semi final Dublin v Dublin coming up shortly.
Post by: clarshack on July 18, 2021, 03:51:56 PM
What station is Dublin v Meath on?
Post by: MayoBuck on July 18, 2021, 04:08:52 PM
GAA Go
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2021, 04:46:24 PM
Jesus Dessie Dolan reckons meath def penalty and dublins had not much contact.???.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 04:55:16 PM
Game over already
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 04:56:33 PM
Meath def should had a penalty
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2021, 04:59:58 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 04:56:33 PM
Meath def should had a penalty

Not for me. Dublin possibly should have had one before that. Meath bringing no intensity to this. I thought they were going to give it a go?
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2021, 05:11:31 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 03:40:57 PM
FT Kildare 2-14 Westmeath 0-18.

2nd semi final Dublin v Dublin coming up shortly.

Kildare's prize is a Leinster Final hammering

https://youtu.be/S8kPqAV_74M
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 05:11:43 PM
HT Dublin 2-11 Meath 0-6.  All to easy for the Dubs
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 05:12:26 PM
Fenton run straight into his back in the square, how's it not a penalty
Post by: Eire90 on July 18, 2021, 05:13:24 PM
was there talks that this could be an upset before the start of game do do hear that every year
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2021, 05:13:51 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 05:12:26 PM
Fenton run straight into his back in the square, how's it not a penalty

For me he's falling forward already. it doesn't matter, Dubs are barely in 1st gear here and they will win by as many points as they want to win by.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 18, 2021, 05:16:00 PM
Dublin in Croke Park on a day like today are very tough to beat. Their athleticism to get up and down the field is just too much to handle for 70 minutes. Added to the fact they have a bench that always contributes scores.
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2021, 05:18:25 PM
In terms of competitiveness the Leinster Fuball championship is a joke

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/0718/1235811-sundays-football-championship-updates/

Meath handed Dublin their last defeat in the Leinster SFC, a 5-09 to 0-13 victory back in 2010. Since then the Dubs have claimed 10 successive provincial titles.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 05:19:47 PM
As bad as Juventus in Seria A
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2021, 05:26:10 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 18, 2021, 05:16:00 PM
Dublin in Croke Park on a day like today are very tough to beat. Their athleticism to get up and down the field is just too much to handle for 70 minutes. Added to the fact they have a bench that always contributes scores.

I agree and Dublin at full flow are just too good but honestly Meath haven't laid a glove on them and have brought no intensity to the contest and all the talk before hand was that Meath would die with their boots on. Dublin jave spent much of this half just trotting around.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 05:31:32 PM
Meath goal at the start of the 2nd half. Gap down to 8 points.

Two more points a bit of a fight back by Meath. 6 between the sides.

4 points between the sides now. Meath showing plenty of fight.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 05:42:42 PM
Looks like Dublin and Tipperary in the hurling haven't turned up in the 2nd half
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2021, 05:51:59 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 05:31:32 PM
Meath goal at the start of the 2nd half. Gap down to 8 points.

Two more points a bit of a fight back by Meath. 6 between the sides.

4 points between the sides now. Meath showing plenty of fight.

Showing fight now but when you let Dubs go 11 ahead it's unlikely to be enough
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2021, 05:58:10 PM
It looks more respectable but by the time say in 2 or 3 years that  get close to parity,  Dublin will have a brand new team ready to win another 5 in a row.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 06:01:48 PM
Meath 1-13 Dublin 2-13. Meath goal chance not taken there, 45 scored. 67 minutes played.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2021, 06:12:43 PM
FT Dublin 2-16 Meath 1-13. Fair play to Meath after a poor show 1st half they went down fighting. 
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 18, 2021, 06:14:47 PM
First time in a while you could probably say Dublin are there for the taking if Kerry/Mayo/Tyrone step up to the plate. Meath looked fitter in that second half.

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2021, 06:18:56 PM
Dublin are clearly there to be beat, it won't say much for the opposition if they don't take advantage.
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2021, 06:32:35 PM
Good show but Dubs still on course for 11 in a row.
Even the EPL is more competitive.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 18, 2021, 06:58:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 18, 2021, 06:32:35 PM
Good show but Dubs still on course for 11 in a row.
Even the EPL is more competitive.

What's that old saying about a broken record   .?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2021, 07:04:31 PM
Kildare still looking disjointed in the championship. Depending on individuals rather than a finely tuned tactical system. Neil Flynn again today and Dan Flynn really stood up. The loss of Feeley, Hoolohan and Doyle caused disruption that Westmeath couldn't take advantage of. Westmeath kicked 10 wides, just bad shot selection for most. Kildare created about 6 goal chances which was a positive. Free shot at Dublin who look unsettled, best chance for Kildare since 2011 and the phantom free.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2021, 10:11:32 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2021, 06:18:56 PM
Dublin are clearly there to be beat, it won't say much for the opposition if they don't take advantage.

Based on what?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2021, 10:53:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 18, 2021, 10:11:32 PM

Based on what?

One score game with Meath today 70 minutes played. The previous day only managed 0-15 against Division 4 Wexford.

In the league 19 scores to 13 against Kerry and less than convincing against Galway and Donegal.

Dessie Farrell would be worried with the amount of cracks that are appearing and will be hoping the opposition are no better than last year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2021, 11:19:07 PM
Dublin fairly poor 2 games running, well outside the first half today, missing Mannion, McCafferty, etc, can't understand why Archer and a few of the u-20 are not getting a chance, new blood needed, and I know Dublin tend to pick the best players showing at club level. On that form Kerry would beat them, possible Tyrone, and Monaghan as well.
Post by: StPatsAbu on July 18, 2021, 11:30:15 PM
Doping Dubs...
Post by: thejuice on July 18, 2021, 11:45:21 PM
Hard one to analyze. We were awful in the first half they were at their usual slickness cutting us up and then the second half started in a total contrast. Are Dublin just not as focused under DF than JG. I'd say they eased up a bit but at the same time they did get rattled. We have plenty to work on for next year and get everyone fit for the league.

We need to develop a few more options in attack, get Shane Walsh fit again and offer a physical presence up there like Sheridan used to. Morris is good but he makes a fair few mistakes along with all the good he does.

Dublin will probably win Leinster again but certainly things looking a bit closer if they come up against Mayo, Kerry or Tyrone.
Post by: Ash Smoker on July 18, 2021, 11:53:52 PM
My hunch is that Dessie Farrell is not at the same level as Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy were and this will eventually cause Dublin to get caught.
Post by: larryin89 on July 19, 2021, 12:51:51 AM

Based on what?

Seriously ,I'm not sure some of ye are afraid of been wrong or have an inferiority complex but the Jack's are on the ropes , no two ways about it
Post by: Itchy on July 19, 2021, 06:49:59 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 19, 2021, 12:51:51 AM

Based on what?

Seriously ,I'm not sure some of ye are afraid of been wrong or have an inferiority complex but the Jack's are on the ropes , no two ways about it

You'd have to say that Meath did show in that 2nd half that the dubs are not what they were, they looked a bit gassed and I dont remember the last time I thought that watching Dublin. The Connacht Champs have a real chance to take them in the semi final if they can come with all guns blazing.
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 08:51:08 AM
Even if Dublin get beaten this year the structure remains unchanged. They can build another team and dominate again.
The system sucks
Post by: Rossfan on July 19, 2021, 09:26:23 AM
Did Dublin Co Board stop all collective  training after they were found at it that time?
Mind you the Ulster teams don't  seem to have any fitness issues.
Post by: AnGaelGearmanach on July 19, 2021, 10:15:05 AM
Dublin were rattled. Dessie Farrell isnt the one folks.
Post by: JoG2 on July 19, 2021, 10:26:18 AM
For once Dublin were a little complacent. It won't happen again this championship. They're probably in a better position now than walking another Leinster Championship
Post by: AnGaelGearmanach on July 19, 2021, 10:39:24 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 19, 2021, 10:26:18 AM
For once Dublin were a little complacent. It won't happen again this championship. They're probably in a better position now than walking another Leinster Championship

Do you think they will walk the AI?
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 19, 2021, 10:41:36 AM

Don't think it's anything to do with complacency. Their form in the league and the two championship games has been iffy. They had simliar form in 2012, just doing enough to see past Laois, Wexford and Meath before Mayo took them out.
Post by: Hound on July 19, 2021, 12:57:27 PM
I wouldn't be pointing the finger at Dessie at all. I'm sure if you go onto Dubs fan sites, you'll see that starting already, but it's lazy analysis.

Dessie did superb to win an All Ireland after the crescendo of the 5 in a row.  The 5 was the aim. Regardless of what the camp said, that was the goal. For Dessie to get them to go again was excellent management. Even if he never wins another one, he can take great credit for that.

The simple answer is the players we've lost over the last 3 years have been replaced with inferior players. Despite the nonsense that people come up with as the reason the Dubs are so good, the games developlment funding did not produce Jack McCaffrey and Paul Mannion etc (especially as the GDOs never coach elite players at club level!) and the funding doesn't produce clones of them when they finish!

We will always have promising players on the bench, due to pure numbers and the quality of our club game. Because of our numbers we've a better chance of getting a special player. And in recent years Con and Howard have added to what already was the best team. But nothing like that coming in the immediate horizon. Archer could be a special freetaker, which is always good to have, but (and I'd love to be wrong here) I don't think he has the attributes to make it at intercounty level apart from the free taking. And nobody else in that U21 team will set senior intercounty alight either.

So now team has 2 or 3 unproven lads in the starting line up, with a subs bench who won't really improve the team (and certainly won't frighten the opposition the way previous benches did). We're still the team to beat - any team with Fenton, Kilkenny, Howard, McCarthy, Con will take a bit of beating.

Not sure Kildare are the team to test us. They certainly have some great talent (although will some of their important players be missing?). They'd need a good start, and to have it absolutely drilled into them not to put the head down if they concede a goal
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2021, 01:54:31 PM
Kildare not test you but Mayo will
Post by: yellowcard on July 19, 2021, 02:05:51 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2021, 01:54:31 PM
Kildare not test you but Mayo will

It will be like Mayweather fighting Pacquiao about 5 years too late when both sides are long past their best. Dublin will still beat Kildare but will Mayo even get past Galway?
Post by: JoG2 on July 19, 2021, 02:44:43 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 19, 2021, 10:41:36 AM

Don't think it's anything to do with complacency. Their form in the league and the two championship games has been iffy. They had simliar form in 2012, just doing enough to see past Laois, Wexford and Meath before Mayo took them out.

Just feel the hornets nest has been poked. Their panel is full of winners, still seriously strong in a sectors and will improve game on game from here on. Will win the Leinster handy enough and bulldoze their way to another title... imo
Post by: larryin89 on July 19, 2021, 02:52:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 08:51:08 AM
Even if Dublin get beaten this year the structure remains unchanged. They can build another team and dominate again.
The system sucks

what like all top teams in all sports , how many top tennis players win tournaments , golfers etc etc, i dont know what kind of airy fairy world you live in.

The natural advantages should not be tampered with the unnatural ones should be but you can blame the likes of meath for that , not a word ever about taking a championship game to navan or newbridge in leinster v dublin . Youve the likes of sean boylan talking scutter about croke park is where they want to play , well comere and ill tell sean mr voodoo medicine if that game was in navan yesterday in normal times with a big hostile home support giving the dubs their fill , meath would of won , ya big ham ya.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 19, 2021, 03:16:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 19, 2021, 12:57:27 PM

Dessie did superb to win an All Ireland after the crescendo of the 5 in a row.  The 5 was the aim. Regardless of what the camp said, that was the goal. For Dessie to get them to go again was excellent management. Even if he never wins another one, he can take great credit for that.

Teams Dublin beat to win the All-Ireland last year

Laois, Meath, Cavan and Mayo side off the back of Div 1 relegation. Let's be honest of the 6 in a row titles that was the easiest on paper and grass to win by Dublin.
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 03:18:40 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 19, 2021, 02:52:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 08:51:08 AM
The system sucks

what like all top teams in all sports , how many top tennis players win tournaments , golfers etc etc, i dont know what kind of airy fairy world you live in.

The natural advantages should not be tampered with the unnatural ones should be but you can blame the likes of meath for that , not a word ever about taking a championship game to navan or newbridge in leinster v dublin . Youve the likes of sean boylan talking scutter about croke park is where they want to play , well comere and ill tell sean mr voodoo medicine if that game was in navan yesterday in normal times with a big hostile home support giving the dubs their fill , meath would of won , ya big ham ya.
Tennis and golf are pro. GAA is not.
Even pro team sports make an effort to be competitive.
The GAA does not.
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 03:35:35 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/meath-comeback-falls-short-as-dublin-struggle-to-six-point-win-1.4624115

If anyone needed solid evidence of the decline in the champions' composure this season, it could be glimpsed in the familiar, 'hands up,' keep-ball routine that they rolled out to stall the momentum of many a team.
On Sunday after the second water break it was all a bit aimless and the patient passing movements brought to nothing when poorly conceived wides were kicked on more than one occasion.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2021, 03:49:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 19, 2021, 03:35:35 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/meath-comeback-falls-short-as-dublin-struggle-to-six-point-win-1.4624115

If anyone needed solid evidence of the decline in the champions’ composure this season, it could be glimpsed in the familiar, ‘hands up,’ keep-ball routine that they rolled out to stall the momentum of many a team.
On Sunday after the second water break it was all a bit aimless and the patient passing movements brought to nothing when poorly conceived wides were kicked on more than one occasion.

Dublin showed plenty of composure with their keep-ball routine in the 5 minutes of injury time, Meath players was left to chase around in the heat while supporters booed it.
Post by: thejuice on July 19, 2021, 10:49:17 PM
Dublin remind me a bit of Meath in the early 90's past their absolute peak but still able to find a way to win without performing 100%. Doing the right thing when it really counts.

And similarly to that Meath team Dessie has a job of building a new team, it won't be enough if he tries to just maintain Jim Gavins legacy, he needs to put his own stamp on things and build a team of his own. They are still very formidable but Meath gave them far too much room in the first half.

Dublin might have eased off a bit but there was a plausible chance of them getting caught out, like had Morris been a bit more composed with his point taking or if Ronan Jones looked to slot his shot low to the corner rather than blasting it at Comerford.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 21, 2021, 12:47:18 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 19, 2021, 12:57:27 PM
Not sure Kildare are the team to test us. They certainly have some great talent (although will some of their important players be missing?). They'd need a good start, and to have it absolutely drilled into them not to put the head down if they concede a goal

Feely is definitely out, on top of the loss of Cribbin earlier in the season. I'm assuming Doyle has done his hamstring and also won't play. That's three big players and probably kills our chances of making the game competitive.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 30, 2021, 10:58:17 AM
Kildare team named:
M Donnellan
M Dempsey
M O'Grady
E Doyle
R Houlihan
D Hyland
K Flynn
L Flynn
A Masterson
A Beirne
F Conway
N Flynn
B McCormack
D Flynn
J Hyland

A lot of surprise to see Eoin Doyle's name there to be honest. I don't see any tricks up Jack O'Connor's sleeve. Dublin being Dublin I am worried about nearly all their players but David Hyland and Mick O'Grady can't engage physically with Con or Kilkenny.
Luke Flynn is not as fast as Dan, but is amazingly quick for his size so hope he could run with Fenton.

We need everything to stick with Dan and the others inside and a way to free up Kevin Flynn to do some damage running forward. That's a lot of ifs and buts...

The Dubs will will all the same but I just want Kildare to stand up.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2021, 11:55:32 AM
Hon the flourbags
Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2021, 12:30:49 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 30, 2021, 10:58:17 AM
Kildare team named:
M Donnellan
M Dempsey
M O'Grady
E Doyle
R Houlihan
D Hyland
K Flynn
L Flynn
A Masterson
A Beirne
F Conway
N Flynn
B McCormack
D Flynn
J Hyland

A lot of surprise to see Eoin Doyle's name there to be honest. I don't see any tricks up Jack O'Connor's sleeve. Dublin being Dublin I am worried about nearly all their players but David Hyland and Mick O'Grady can't engage physically with Con or Kilkenny.
Luke Flynn is not as fast as Dan, but is amazingly quick for his size so hope he could run with Fenton.

We need everything to stick with Dan and the others inside and a way to free up Kevin Flynn to do some damage running forward. That's a lot of ifs and buts...

Open to correction but just 3 starters from the 2018 U20 All-Ireland winning team. The step to senior has been bigger than U21 was.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 30, 2021, 01:35:32 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 30, 2021, 12:30:49 PM
Kildare team named:
M Donnellan
M Dempsey
M O'Grady
E Doyle
R Houlihan
D Hyland
K Flynn
L Flynn
A Masterson
A Beirne
F Conway
N Flynn
B McCormack
D Flynn
J Hyland

Open to correction but just 3 starters from the 2018 U20 All-Ireland winning team. The step to senior has been bigger than U21 was.

Yeah Dempsey, Masterson and Hyland. In reality Hyland was in there earlier. Masterson has yet to really kick on.
Shane O'Sullivan and Brian McLoughlin are on the bench too and have shown flashes this year.

Without Feely and Paul Cribbin we have lost fielding and passing from the former and the legs and running of the latter.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2021, 03:05:33 PM
Having a feeling Dublin could win this one.
Post by: JoG2 on July 30, 2021, 03:07:20 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 30, 2021, 03:05:33 PM
Having a feeling Dublin could win this one.

Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2021, 04:44:41 PM
This game should be about Kildare making a statement if the Dubs are winding down.
I hope it's competitive.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 30, 2021, 06:01:10 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 30, 2021, 12:30:49 PM
Kildare team named:
M Donnellan
M Dempsey
M O'Grady
E Doyle
R Houlihan
D Hyland
K Flynn
L Flynn
A Masterson
A Beirne
F Conway
N Flynn
B McCormack
D Flynn
J Hyland

The extra year is definitely a factor obviously compared to U21.
Also there's no short-cut around the time it takes waiting for lads to physically mature.
I think COVID hasn't helped lads from U20 teams making the step-up with a lot less games being played.
Shorter leagues and no qualifiers definitely hasn't helped.
Post by: larryin89 on July 30, 2021, 06:44:35 PM
dublin by 31 points
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2021, 11:17:24 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2021, 06:44:35 PM
dublin by 31 points

Dublin will score 31 points ............. 3-22!

Kildare 1-9
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 31, 2021, 01:20:11 PM
Lads it's easy to sneer the Leinster championship but the Dubs would be killing off competition in any province over the past few years.

Kildare v Westmeath was a good entertaining game. Kildare v Meath in the last game of Division 2 was a good close and full-on game too. There is a massive mental block within Leinster now, but you would hope if the Dubs get beaten this year in the All-Ireland it might lift everyone else.

You would imagine IF Kerry were to see them off in a final a few more might retire...

If Kildare keep it within 8 I would be very happy, but if we defend like we did the last day down the middle the Dubs will have 6 or 7 goals. Westmeath butchered so many chances.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 31, 2021, 01:53:28 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2021, 11:17:24 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2021, 06:44:35 PM
dublin by 31 points

Dublin will score 31 points ............. 3-22!

Kildare 1-9

8 point winners against Wexford and  just 6 points the better team over Meath. Sounds like you lads are expecting Dublin to click into form for this Leinster final? they'll need to as their current form won't be good enough to beat your county Mayo in the All Ireland semi final
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 31, 2021, 05:28:28 PM
Dubs team for Sunday

https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dublin-senior-football-team-named-for-leinster-final-clash-with-kildare
Post by: screenexile on August 01, 2021, 03:32:08 PM
This text montage TSG are doing is creepy as f**k!!
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 04:11:05 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 31, 2021, 05:28:28 PM
Dubs team for Sunday

https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dublin-senior-football-team-named-for-leinster-final-clash-with-kildare

John Small starting instead of Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne.

3 points each 11 minutes played.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 04:17:52 PM
Kildare doing ok so far but Dubs finding it easier to get scores,
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 04:20:55 PM
20 mins played water break. Kildare holding their own. Dublin 0-5 Kildare 0-4
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2021, 04:21:39 PM
That Dublin team are not unbeatable. I can't see Kildare beating them but Kerry definitely have a good shot.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:24:16 PM
Scully a poor mans Dermot Connolly, terrible effort.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:25:42 PM
Dublin again poor enough, Flynn eating Byrne,
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 04:26:23 PM
Kildare point to get them within a point.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:27:36 PM
There's a big difference to a Dublin forward line with Brogan, Flyyn, Kilkenny, Connolly, Rock and Mannion to what they currently got.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:27:45 PM
Dublin's evil plan to keep their unbeaten record against Mayo- lose to Kildare
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:28:19 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:27:36 PM
There's a big difference to a Dublin forward line with Brogan, Flyyn, Kilkenny, Connolly, Rock and Mannion to what they currently got.

They seem to have absolutely nothing on the bench these days too
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2021, 04:30:02 PM
Mayo heads watching this Leinster final.

(https://reactiongifs.me/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Animated.gif)
Post by: fearsiuil on August 01, 2021, 04:30:49 PM
If Marty pants & Dessie Dolan were on the pitch they'd be subbed before 1st water break. Really poor commentary.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:31:23 PM
Why are Kildare taking so many long shots when it just isn't working? The long ball is, use it a bit more
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:32:51 PM
There was a lad Doran played No. 11, I think on a underage team 4yrs ago scored 5 from play against Derry minors, should had 9 that day, he Disappeared, I though he be a cert to come through. Archer to from a few yrs bck, is he even on the panel
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:33:32 PM
Oh dear god, they better check OCallaghan for a concussion there 🙄
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:34:13 PM
Wonder now how much a change in manager has affected the way Dublin play
Post by: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 04:34:16 PM
I'm convinced that Mayo have a real chance against this Dublin side. They will end up winning fairly comfortably here but they've definitely regressed a lot.
Post by: joemamas on August 01, 2021, 04:34:33 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on August 01, 2021, 04:30:49 PM
If Marty pants & Dessie Dolan were on the pitch they'd be subbed before 1st water break. Really poor commentary.

They are brutal. Pathetic .
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 04:37:35 PM
Dublin are down to just 2 good Forwards and Fenton and Mccarthy who are no where what they were. Dublin def there to be taken
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 04:38:10 PM
HT Dublin 0-9 Kildare 0-5. Without taking away from the Kildare competitive showing the Dubs for the 3rd championship game in a row are a long way off their All-Ireland winning form.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2021, 04:45:50 PM
I expect Dublin to pull away but they just don't seem as well organised or clinical. They are taking on shots you would never have seen them take on under gavin.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:53:38 PM
Hill to stay closed for semi final?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 04:59:52 PM
Does the overcarrying rule just not exist for Ciarán Kilkenny? Feels like he's been at it for a decade
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 05:01:41 PM
What happened John Small?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:02:39 PM
Fenton poor the day, The Flynn brothers very alike, hard to tell the difference outside of their Jersey no's
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:04:42 PM
What's happened to J Small, I be asking what the he'll has happened Dublin in a year, very poor by previous standards. All 3 remaining semi final teams have a good chance against them.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 05:06:33 PM
If Kildare could reduce the errors they could be in with a chance.
Post by: joemamas on August 01, 2021, 05:07:53 PM
Kildare just look happy to keep it respectful on the scoreboard.
A pyrrhic victory
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 05:08:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 05:06:33 PM
If Kildare could reduce the errors they could be in with a chance.

If they could kick a score
Post by: StPatsAbu on August 01, 2021, 05:10:48 PM
The referee giving a free to Dublin every time a player asks for one. Pathetic.

A hop ball when a Dublin player lies on the ball? Joke
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:11:15 PM
Need a goal as they not pull the game bck by points alone.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2021, 05:11:26 PM
They're just not good enough and running out of steam. They need Flynn out the field and in the field but he can't be everywhere.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 05:11:45 PM
Quote from: StPatsAbu on August 01, 2021, 05:10:48 PM
The referee giving a free to Dublin every time a player asks for one. Pathetic.

What's new
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 05:13:35 PM
I don't understand why Kildare are still refusing to let the ball in
Post by: dec on August 01, 2021, 05:14:05 PM
Kildare are very good at passing the ball back and forth across the middle of the field
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 05:16:16 PM
About 20 minutes left. Dublin 0-15 Kildare 0-8. The Lillywhites running on empty at this stage.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2021, 05:19:26 PM
This is pure muck
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 05:24:06 PM
Goal for Kildare. Fair play
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:24:18 PM
Goal of the year
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2021, 05:24:36 PM
Dublin are still going to see this out without much trouble, but they've looked pretty flat at times and made more uncharacteristic mistakes that you wouldn't have seen in past years.

Not sure if Mayo without O'Connor can take them, but it's really starting to feel like it's set up for Kerry to do them in the final. Will be interesting to see the response of this Dublin side when a top team are doing well against them in the championship.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 01, 2021, 05:25:27 PM
Lovely goal by Flynn
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:27:20 PM
Kilkenny will go Down as the best forward to ever play for Dublin.
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2021, 05:28:42 PM
Did Dublin CB pull collective training after they were caught?
Causing their "flatness"???
Post by: Tubberman on August 01, 2021, 05:29:49 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:27:20 PM

No opinions are invalid I suppose.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2021, 05:30:06 PM

Having a laugh?
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 05:30:10 PM
Quote from: Schkite on August 01, 2021, 05:24:36 PM
Dublin are still going to see this out without much trouble, but they've looked pretty flat at times and made more uncharacteristic mistakes that you wouldn't have seen in past years.

Not sure if Mayo without O'Connor can take them, but it's really starting to feel like it's set up for Kerry to do them in the final. Will be interesting to see the response of this Dublin side when a top team are doing well against them in the championship.
Dublin might gift Kerry one or two Sams in between 6 in a rows.
Beating Dublin won't change the system. Dublin have the money, the population,  the coaches and the process .
Post by: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 05:31:28 PM
All year I thought it was pretty much a nailed on Dublin v Kerry final. However Dublin have laboured against Meath and Kildare in successive matches now and Mayo are a notch up from those 2 sides. Who knows but Mayo can at least travel with some hope. Let's hope so anyway because Dublin matches are just incredibly boring to watch now.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:35:50 PM
Dublin lad been fouled on the led up to that disallowed goal there
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2021, 05:38:57 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2021, 05:35:50 PM
Dublin lad been fouled on the led up to that disallowed goal there

I thought he'd taken too many steps before you think he was fouled
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 05:40:05 PM
FT Dublin 0-20 Kildare 1-9. I see Mayo winning the All-Ireland semi final if Dublins bring their form from today, Wexford and Meath games into that match.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 01, 2021, 05:43:19 PM

Maybe there's an argument for that but Diarmuid Connolly was far more enjoyable to watch in his prime. Kilkenny is a serious athlete but not very adventurous. He loves to run back into his own half of the field when he receives the ball near to goal, which is hard to watch.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2021, 05:46:47 PM
Dubs definitely not the side they were a few years ago but I do think they are content to just do enough these days to win games. I do think they have a big performance or two still in them. And a lot of people will be tipping Mayo now in the semi-final which might get them going.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 05:49:49 PM
Meh! Kildare were competitive enough. Accuracy was not where it needs be but with Division 1 football next season Feeley, Doyle and Cribben to return I am optimistic that we can close the gap as Dublin will transition for a year or two before kicking on. The mad Flynn brothers were class, Dan best player on the pitch and Luke marked Fenton out of the game. A decent year. Everyone was expecting a trimming so confidence maintained. Only 2 goals conceded all year.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 05:50:37 PM
A lot here getting carried away. Dublin don't care about hammering teams anymore. It's hard for Dublin to get themselves up for a Championship that they have dominated for the guts of 17 year now. They won't fear Mayo. Most of this group have never lost to Mayo in League or Championship.
Post by: trailer on August 01, 2021, 05:52:33 PM
Boring and unwatchable.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 01, 2021, 05:54:53 PM
Hopefully both Meath and Kildare actually build on this season next year unlike previous campaigns where they regress. Offaly and Westmeath on the up as well.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 05:55:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 05:49:49 PM
Meh! Kildare were competitive enough. Accuracy was not where it needs be but with Division 1 football next season Feeley, Doyle and Cribben to return I am optimistic that we can close the gap as Dublin will transition for a year or two before kicking on. The mad Flynn brothers were class, Dan best player on the pitch and Luke marked Fenton out of the game. A decent year. Everyone was expecting a trimming so confidence maintained. Only 2 goals conceded all year.
It all depends on whether Kildare can build on today. Next year fewer of the dropped shots, more cuteness etc. They do have the potential but will need to stay in D1.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 01, 2021, 05:56:34 PM
Leinster football would sicken your hole.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 01, 2021, 05:58:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 05:50:37 PM
A lot here getting carried away. Dublin don't care about hammering teams anymore. It's hard for Dublin to get themselves up for a Championship that they have dominated for the guts of 17 year now. They won't fear Mayo. Most of this group have never lost to Mayo in League or Championship.

Yup - they very much look a team who know they don't get anything extra beating the opposition by 8 points or 18 points.

Double-digit hammerings only hasten the day that Dublin will be split.
More "competitive" winning margins delay that day a bit further.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2021, 06:05:13 PM

Of course they care, today was another championship match where Dublin have showed lacklustre form that is very simliar to 2012. The upcoming All-Ireland semi final is there for Mayo to win.
Post by: APM on August 01, 2021, 06:09:42 PM
Quote from: trailer on August 01, 2021, 05:52:33 PM
Boring and unwatchable.

I don't give a shite about the Dub's process.  That crap is unwatchable and frustrating for any viewer - surely even for the Dubs.  Passing the ball about between them, between midfield and the oppositions 21 is not worth watching.  They get away with it because of their fitness, but also because of the fear of the opposition who will rarely do what Flynn did and show bravery and conviction and tear into them.  Only Mayo and Kerry have done it in recent years at a team level.

People talk about Ciaran Kilkenny.  For the same reason people admire him, I find him to personify the entire Dublin approach.  Take no risks; solo on the spot and always give the 100% pass.  Boring, boring crap.

The media fawning over them for the last 10 years has been excruciating. They get too much respect from everyone; referees, other players, media, commenators, pundits!! These boring f**ckers have emasculated the rest of Leinster.  Mayo or Kerry urgently need to beat them.

Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 01, 2021, 06:13:49 PM
Quote from: APM on August 01, 2021, 06:09:42 PM
Boring and unwatchable.

I don't give a shite about the Dub's process.  That crap is unwatchable and frustrating for any viewer - surely even for the Dubs.  Passing the ball about between them, between midfield and the oppositions 21 is not worth watching.  They get away with it because of their fitness, but also because of the fear of the opposition who will rarely do what Flynn did and show bravery and conviction and tear into them.  Only Mayo and Kerry have done it in recent years at a team level.

People talk about Ciaran Kilkenny.  For the same reason people admire him, I find him to personify the entire Dublin approach.  Take no risks; solo on the spot and always give the 100% pass.  Boring, boring crap.

The media fawning over them for the last 10 years has been excruciating. They get too much respect from everyone; referees, other players, media, commenators, pundits!! These boring f**ckers have emasculated the rest of Leinster.  Mayo or Kerry urgently need to beat them.

You do realise the reason Dublin were boring and unwatchable today was because Kildare dropped 14 men back into their own half. They didn't press up on Dublin, even when Flynn got the goal after the water break to cut it back to a five point deficit.

Kildare didn't come into this one hoping for a win, just damage limitation and not wanting to put a sour note on a successful campaign. Completely understandable but you can't blame Dublin for playing keep ball and baiting Kildare to come out and tackle them.
Post by: APM on August 01, 2021, 06:20:32 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 01, 2021, 06:13:49 PM
Boring and unwatchable.

You do realise the reason Dublin were boring and unwatchable today was because Kildare dropped 14 men back into their own half. They didn't press up on Dublin, even when Flynn got the goal after the water break to cut it back to a five point deficit.

Kildare didn't come into this one hoping for a win, just damage limitation and not wanting to put a sour note on a successful campaign. Completely understandable but you can't blame Dublin for playing keep ball and baiting Kildare to come out and tackle them.

I do - they have been emasculated. They stood off them and showed them too much respect. 
My problem is not just with Dublin, its that teams don't take the fight to them. 
It is the antithesis of competition.
They are boring and the opposition increasingly tends to be gutless.

I had thought about getting into a conversation about financial fair play as part of that, but that's for another day. 
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 06:50:40 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 01, 2021, 05:58:51 PM

Yup - they very much look a team who know they don't get anything extra beating the opposition by 8 points or 18 points.

Splitting Dublin is inevitable. Accepting the funding and the plan 15 years ago was a poisoned chalice , all Irelands notwithstanding. The basis of sport anywhere  is competition.
Post by: caprea on August 01, 2021, 07:12:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 06:50:40 PM

Splitting Dublin is inevitable. Accepting the funding and the plan 15 years ago was a poisoned chalice , all Irelands notwithstanding. The basis of sport anywhere  is competition.

Splitting Dublin will mean a new 30 k stadium having to be built on the south side. We'll see if that happens
Post by: APM on August 01, 2021, 07:22:19 PM
Quote from: APM on August 01, 2021, 06:20:32 PM
Boring and unwatchable.

I do - they have been emasculated. They stood off them and showed them too much respect. 
My problem is not just with Dublin, its that teams don't take the fight to them. 

I had thought about getting into a conversation about financial fair play as part of that, but that's for another day.

I should add,
I know my original post was somewhat irrational, but that surely is most long term GAA followers' gut reaction to watching the last 25 minutes of that game.  Anger, frustration, sickened that the game has come to this. 
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2021, 07:26:06 PM
Unlike boxing the Ref can't stop the contest.
Post by: northsideboy on August 01, 2021, 07:29:31 PM
As a Dub, it was good to see Kildare make an attempt today. A county of Kildare's size, genuine support and heritage should be closer to the top table than they have been over the past 10 years. Perhaps like Pat Gilroy in 2010, Jack O' Connor has made Kildare tough to beat first and perhaps there might be a way to utilise the talents of Daniel Flynn etc next.
There was a complete lack of goal threat from Dublin today. Rediscovering that is the real key to winning the All Ireland.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2021, 07:36:16 PM
Quote from: northsideboy on August 01, 2021, 07:29:31 PM
As a Dub, it was good to see Kildare make an attempt today. A county of Kildare's size, genuine support and heritage should be closer to the top table than they have been over the past 10 years. Perhaps like Pat Gilroy in 2010, Jack O' Connor has made Kildare tough to beat first and perhaps there might be a way to utilise the talents of Daniel Flynn etc next.
There was a complete lack of goal threat from Dublin today. Rediscovering that is the real key to winning the All Ireland.

Limerick in the hurling don't chase goals, goals come along but scoring over 30 unstoppable points will win the game in most cases.

Dublin seemed happy enough to get a cluster of points, dominate possession and win the game.

Dublins game will change obviously if they go behind and they'll punch holes in most teams and create goal chances. 
Post by: Sportacus on August 01, 2021, 07:37:21 PM
Quote from: APM on August 01, 2021, 07:22:19 PM
Quote from: APM on August 01, 2021, 06:20:32 PM
Boring and unwatchable.

I should add,
I know my original post was somewhat irrational, but that surely is most long term GAA followers' gut reaction to watching the last 25 minutes of that game.  Anger, frustration, sickened that the game has come to this.
I know where you are coming from, but to their credit they killed off Donegal and Tyrone whose 'systems' would have been a disaster altogether for Gaelic football and to be fair some of their finals against Mayo and Kerry have been fantastic. 
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 09:48:36 PM

But no other sport I know of tries to introduce competition by handicapping the best team...

It's not Dublin's fault Kildare missed easy chances and generally shat themselves.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2021, 10:03:16 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 09:48:36 PM

But no other sport I know of tries to introduce competition by handicapping the best team...

It's not Dublin's fault Kildare missed easy chances and generally shat themselves.

https://mobile.twitter.com/TheSundayGame/status/1330254398535176204

Dublin broke the model
The next model will break Dublin.

Ní uasal agus íseal ach thuas seal agus thíos seal
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2021, 10:03:49 PM
The flip side to that is very few other sports allow a team to play all their major games at home. I don't buy Parnell park is their home ground btw...
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:20:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2021, 10:03:49 PM
The flip side to that is very few other sports allow a team to play all their major games at home. I don't buy Parnell park is their home ground btw...

That argument is old hat! We have had the authorities drag their heels on such issues. Feck sake Donegal were called 'divisive and mean-spirited' for questioning this a few years back.

Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:25:44 PM

But the handicapping is happening already for counties outside Dublin.

No other sport heavily funds one of it richer members?

No other sport gives all important home games to to one of it's members?

The GAA is not like any other sport.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:29:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 01, 2021, 07:26:06 PM
Unlike boxing the Ref can't stop the contest.

Dublin in their own way dropped down the gears at various stages and just played keep ball!
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 10:31:28 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:25:44 PM

The IRFU fund Leinster more than their other franchises, so thats not even unique in Dublin.

Linfield used to play their derbies v Cliftonville at home plus cup finals, so not unique to Ireland.

Its the antithesis of sport to try and pull in a winning side by handicapping as opposed to raising your own game. Inter, Lille and the new Rangers didn't whine about Juve, PSG and Celtic winning with huge material advantages. They got on with it and got their rewards.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:37:19 PM

Yes, but teams playing Dublin are severely handicapped by finances, home venue, etc.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 10:45:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:37:19 PM

Yes, but teams playing Dublin are severely handicapped by finances, home venue, etc.

Odd that the Dubs on Croke Park wasn't an issue when they were bad. Then it was simply a funding vehicle for your infrastructural improvements. This has always been the case yet Dublin have only achieved their potential properly recently. So there is more going on.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:45:39 PM
I'm not totally in favour of the split idea. How do you deal with titles, Crests, Colours, venues. How do you deal with the split counties History?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:51:13 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 10:45:00 PM

Odd that the Dubs on Croke Park wasn't an issue when they were bad. Then it was simply a funding vehicle for your infrastructural improvements. This has always been the case yet Dublin have only achieved their potential properly recently. So there is more going on.

Ok, but there is an issue now!

You have difficulties with the organisation handicapping Dublin. But when the handicap works the other way - you see it as a sort of entitlement?

Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 10:51:19 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 10:31:28 PM

The IRFU fund Leinster more than their other franchises, so thats not even unique in Dublin.

Linfield used to play their derbies v Cliftonville at home plus cup finals, so not unique to Ireland.

Its the antithesis of sport to try and pull in a winning side by handicapping as opposed to raising your own game. Inter, Lille and the new Rangers didn't whine about Juve, PSG and Celtic winning with huge material advantages. They got on with it and got their rewards.

The IRFU don't.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:00:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 10:51:19 PM

The IRFU don't.

Of course they do. Do you think Connaught have the same wage bill as Leinster?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:04:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:51:13 PM

You have difficulties with the organisation handicapping Dublin. But when the handicap works the other way - you see it as a sort of entitlement?

I don't think Leitrim having less funding than Dublin is a handicap. Its the reality of a population of 32k versus 1.4m. Football was Dublin's 3rd sport, hurling 5th. A push in the capital was needed and you were perfectly happy to take cheques written on the Hill. Don't bother complaining that Dublin got organised and fulfilled their potential
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 11:07:21 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:00:35 PM

The IRFU don't.

I don't think you have a clue how IRFU funding works.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:14:44 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:04:19 PM

I don't think Leitrim having less funding than Dublin is a handicap. Its the reality of a population of 32k versus 1.4m. Football was Dublin's 3rd sport, hurling 5th. A push in the capital was needed and you were perfectly happy to take cheques written on the Hill. Don't bother complaining that Dublin got organised and fulfilled their potential

My argument is that every county that meets Dublin have the handicap of less funding and away matches. Why are the chasing bunch continuously handicapped?

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:16:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 11:07:21 PM

The IRFU don't.

So Connaught do have the same budget as Leinster?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:19:42 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:14:44 PM

My argument is that every county that meets Dublin have the handicap of less funding and away matches. Why are the chasing bunch continuously handicapped?

Less funding is new and the money goes to games development in a county generally disinterested in Gaelic games. Dublin are made play in Croker to fund the entire association. Your club has something paid for by the Dubs fans.

But regardless Lille overcame a far bigger material gap than Kildare faced today. It can be done.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 11:22:05 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:16:35 PM

The IRFU don't.

Connaught? Says it all.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:26:06 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2021, 11:22:05 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:16:35 PM

The IRFU don't.

Connaught? Says it all.

Maith go leor. Connacht agus Laighan. An bhfuil an buiséad céanna acu?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:27:51 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:19:42 PM

Less funding is new and the money goes to games development in a county generally disinterested in Gaelic games. Dublin are made play in Croker to fund the entire association. Your club has something paid for by the Dubs fans.

But regardless Lille overcame a far bigger material gap than Kildare faced today. It can be done.

So you agree that there is a Handicap in place favouring Dublin football and you have no difficulty with Handicaps?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:36:02 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:27:51 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:19:42 PM

So you agree that there is a Handicap in place favouring Dublin football and you have no difficulty with Handicaps?

No. I believe by the nature of a county system you will see that some counties have natural advantages over others. Population being obvious. Some counties are too hilly and windswept for hurling. And so on.

What you are proposing is deliberately punishing success by limiting what a county can put on a field. And no other sport even considers that.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:40:15 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:36:02 PM

What you are proposing is deliberately punishing success by limiting what a county can put on a field. And no other sport even considers that.

Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:53:28 PM

I never proposed that! Never said that?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:55:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:40:15 PM

I don't think you understand what handicapping means, do you.

That is sport. Some sides are bigger than others. Lille didn't waahh waah. They got on with it and upped their game and closed a far bigger financial gap.

If you don't like the Dubs in Croker, stop taking funding at your club and county as you don't cover yourselves.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:56:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 11:53:28 PM

I never proposed that! Never said that?
You didn't propose splitting Dublin in two?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:01:39 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 11:56:40 PM

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2021, 10:45:39 PM
I'm not totally in favour of the split idea. How do you deal with titles, Crests, Colours, venues. How do you deal with the split counties History?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 02, 2021, 12:03:17 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:01:39 AM

But your objections are not sporting in nature, purely mechanical
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:05:49 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 02, 2021, 12:03:17 AM

Elaborate
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 02, 2021, 12:15:48 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:05:49 AM

Elaborate

Your issue seems to be the mechanics, not the idea
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:35:12 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 02, 2021, 12:15:48 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2021, 12:05:49 AM

Elaborate

Your issue seems to be the mechanics, not the idea

If Spitting offered more intercounty football to players missing out, at all age groups. I'm in favour. Especially where there is a large pool like Dublin. Where many very good players miss out all the way up.

Artificially creating a handicap causes problems. In the reverse the GAA family realise this the way they have treated Dublin as a special child the last 15 years.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 02, 2021, 06:41:18 AM
the discussions in here are more boring than the bloody championship. The same posters dancing around each other being totally disingenuous and trying to put words in each others mouths.
Questions being answered with questions. Deflection and false equivalences.

Congrats to Dublin on another title.
For those that suggest Mayo will beat Dublin based on current form, they mustn't be watching Mayo's current form!
If each played like their latest match, Mayo would be 15 points down at half time and maybe win the second half by a point
Post by: TheGreatest on August 02, 2021, 07:15:47 AM
Slow, lethargic, labored, sloppy, poor decision making, play like that again the Dubs are gone.

A bit better the second half but that form Mayo and getting a chomping at the bit to get at them.

Still Kerry's to lose. . . .
Post by: Jayop on August 31, 2021, 04:36:10 PM
Didn't want to make a new thread for this so sticking it in here because it could well be news for the 2121 Leinster Championship.

Did anyone here mention the news that Rob Kearney is making his GAA comeback for his club in Louth? You'd have to imagine if he has a few games at club level this autumn and is interested in committing to county ball he'd be a no brainer to call up. Would surely give the county a massive lift having such a legend (in another sport) lining out for them. Would bring a real element of professionalism to them and he looks fit as a fiddle.
Post by: Cobra on August 31, 2021, 05:16:45 PM
Leinster should invite Kerry to play in their championship next year. Make a go of it.
Post by: Rossfan on August 31, 2021, 05:50:49 PM
Louth and Antrim might be in "Connacht" next year if Congress votes in a certain proposal!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2021, 03:30:04 PM
I'll add club into this thread...

Bit unfair for these teams to get a run out at Croke!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2021, 05:10:55 PM
With no sport on today if any note, this match is end to end! The lads are busted on both sides, a point away from penalties. Naas might just do enough at the end
Post by: twohands!!! on December 18, 2021, 05:14:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2021, 05:10:55 PM
With no sport on today if any note, this match is end to end! The lads are busted on both sides, a point away from penalties. Naas might just do enough at the end

Yeah - a right good game of club football.
Post by: rodney trotter on December 18, 2021, 06:02:56 PM
Portarlington playing lovely direct football.
Post by: Blowitupref on December 18, 2021, 06:18:26 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 18, 2021, 06:02:56 PM

The four point half time lead doesn't do them justice. Kilmacud have been very poor.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2021, 06:20:23 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on December 18, 2021, 06:18:26 PM

The four point half time lead doesn't do them justice. Kilmacud have been very poor.

They weren't great in their county final in fairness
Post by: Gael85 on December 18, 2021, 06:24:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2021, 06:20:23 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on December 18, 2021, 06:18:26 PM

They weren't great in their county final in fairness

Agree Crokes haven't played well since beating Boden. Too reliant on Paul Mannion. Portarlington should win handy enough.
Post by: grounded on December 18, 2021, 06:32:40 PM
Get the feeling Crokes have a lot more in tank and a few goals in them.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 18, 2021, 06:36:14 PM
15 wides, serious tally 40mins in
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 18, 2021, 06:45:40 PM
Some goal. You'd expect the keeper to do better

Pearson looks like the type of c**t you'd love to slap
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 18, 2021, 06:49:25 PM
Crokes can look a poor team for long periods then ignite in a 10/15min spell
Post by: imtommygunn on December 18, 2021, 07:05:44 PM
When you have mannion in your team you always have a big chance. Some player.
Post by: JoG2 on December 18, 2021, 07:07:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 18, 2021, 07:05:44 PM
When you have mannion in your team you always have a big chance. Some player.

Rolls Royce of a player... Caught the 2nd half, superb from both teams.
Post by: Gael85 on December 18, 2021, 07:13:09 PM
Big second half from Crokes. Pearson and Cunningham stepped up with Mannion.
Post by: Hound on January 08, 2022, 06:44:27 PM
So Kilmacud the Leinster champs.
Being a northsider, I've no particular gra for the Stillorgan men and would have been happy if the Naas men were good enough. I didn't see the very tight first half, but Naas didn't really show up for the second and Crokes won easy (Mannion wasn't available)

I am glad for Rory O'Carroll who had a really good second half - taking over the Cian O'Sullvan position. 

And just to note, John Heslin seems like an excellent pundit. Cian Ward on with him who i think is well known to be very good also. Hopefully see more of these two on RTÉ this year.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 08, 2022, 08:26:53 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 08, 2022, 06:44:27 PM
So Kilmacud the Leinster champs.
Being a northsider, I've no particular gra for the Stillorgan men and would have been happy if the Naas men were good enough. I didn't see the very tight first half, but Naas didn't really show up for the second and Crokes won easy (Mannion wasn't available)

I am glad for Rory O'Carroll who had a really good second half - taking over the Cian O'Sullvan position. 

And just to note, John Heslin seems like an excellent pundit. Cian Ward on with him who i think is well known to be very good also. Hopefully see more of these two on RTÉ this year.

Connacht champions Knockmore or Padraig Pearses for Kilmacud next. I presume that match won't be played in Croke Park maybe somewhere like Tullamore.