GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 24, 2015, 01:16:07 AM

Title: The Bord Na Mona O'Byrne Cup S.F. 2016
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 24, 2015, 01:16:07 AM
The Bord Na Mona O'Byrne Cup S.F. 2016

THE BORD NA MONA O'BYRNE CUP  - GROUPINGS 2016
Group A:  Dublin, Wexford, Wexford, D.C.U,  I.T.Carlow
Group B:  Kildare, Offaly, Louth, D.I.T.
Group C:  Meath, Laois, Carlow, UCD
Group D:  Westmeath,  Wicklow, Longford, Maynooth University

GROUP A
1. Wexford v Dublin    3.1.2016 @Wexford   
2. I.T. Carlow v D.C.U.    3.1.2016 @Carlow IT   
3. Dublin v Carlow I.T.    6.1.2016 @Dublin   
4. Wexford v D.C.U.    6.1.2016 @Wexford   
5. Wexford v I.T. Carlow    10.1.2016 @Wexford   
6. Dublin v D.C.U.    10.1.2016 @Dublin

GROUP B
1. Louth v Offaly    3.1.2016 @Louth   
2. Kildare v D.I.T.    3.1.2016 @Kildare   
3. Kildare v Louth    6.1.2016 @Kildare   
4. Offaly  v D.I.T.    6.1.2016 @Offaly   
5. Offaly v Kildare    10.1.2016 @Offaly   
6. Louth v D.I.T.    10.1.2016 @Louth

GROUP C
1. Carlow v Meath    3.1.2016 @Carlow   
2. Laois v U.C.D.    3.1.2016 @Laois 
3. Laois v Carlow    6.1.2016 @Laois   
4. Meath v U.C.U.    6.1.2016 @Meath   
5. Meath v Laois    10.1.2016 @Meath   
6. Carlow v U.C.D.    10.1.2016 @Carlow   

GROUP D
1. Wicklow v Westmeath    3.1.2016 @Wicklow   
2. Longford v Maynooth University    3.1.2016 @Longford   
3. Westmeath v Longford    6.1.2016 @Westmeath   
4. Wicklow v Maynooth University    6.1.2016 @Wicklow   
5. Longford v Wicklow    10.1.2016 @Longford   
6. Westmeath v Maynooth Unviersty    10.1.2015 @Westmeath   

Semi-Finals  -  17.1.2016
A:     Winner D v Winner A 
B:     Winner B v Winner C 

Final   - Winner A  v  Winner B.  -  24.1.2016

Title: Re: The Bord Na Mona O'Byrne Cup S.F. 2016
Post by: SCFC on December 23, 2015, 07:43:47 AM
UCD game in Ratheniska and Carlow game in Crettyard.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 02, 2016, 12:46:16 AM
Group A: Dublin, Wexford, DCU, IT Carlow
Group B: Kildare, Offaly, Louth, DIT
Group C: Meath, Laois, Carlow, UCD
Group D: Westmeath, Wicklow, Longford, Maynooth University

This weeks fixtures

Round 1

Wexford v Dublin
IT Carlow v DCU
Louth v Offaly
Kildare v DIT
Carlow v Meath
Laois v UCD  - Ratheniska
Wicklow v Westmeath
Longford v Maynooth University

Round 2

Dublin v IT Carlow
Wexford v DCU
Kildare v Louth
Offaly v DIT
Laois v Carlow - Crettyard
Meath v UCD
Westmeath v Longford
Wicklow v Maynooth University
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 02, 2016, 12:50:27 AM
Is there any news on a team for Sunday's game??
Post by: SCFC on January 03, 2016, 10:37:22 PM
Team today was Brody, Paul Cotter, Timmons, Tony Connolly, Strong, Trevor Collins, Alan Farrell, JOL, Jamie Farrell, Damien O'Connor, Donie, Nigel Murphy, Costello (Emo), Gary Walsh, Colm Murphy.   Some subs used were Meaney, Dillon, Cahillane, Ruairi O'Connor and Matty Campion (think it was Matty). 
Post by: SCFC on January 03, 2016, 10:54:20 PM
Players missing.

Munnelly - coming back
Attride - don't know
Quigley - don't know
Donoher - injured
O'Carroll -  college tied
Lowry - played with UCD
Keogh - sub keeper, played with UCD
Begley - don't know
Paul Kingston - was due to play for UCD but didn't line out
Shiel - college tied?
Boyle - don't know
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 04, 2016, 11:54:49 AM
Anyone show well?
Post by: Tony on January 04, 2016, 12:12:17 PM
Anyone know what time the Carlow game is at, Crettyard on Wednesday?
Post by: merman on January 04, 2016, 12:38:39 PM
Changed to O' Moore Park, Tony, 7:30.
Post by: redsetanta on January 04, 2016, 04:14:16 PM
PsychoWalsh v Woolberto.

Players should really stay off twitter, no need to engage.

The media will pick up on anything that moves nowadays in the thirst for news.

Post by: Keyser Söze on January 04, 2016, 05:29:38 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 04, 2016, 04:14:16 PM
PsychoWalsh v Woolberto.

Players should really stay off twitter, no need to engage.

The media will pick up on anything that moves nowadays in the thirst for news.

There was no need for the initial tweet.

Extremely disrespectful to the players, club, selectors and set up as a whole.

If the tweet was posted after the team announcement for the first round of the championship, when presumably all possible players had been looked at and the strongest team available was to be put out, then it would make some sense, but still be distasteful.

It makes absolutely no sense to make such a remark about a team picked for the first game in the new management's term. In a competition where experimentation, trialing new players and giving people a chance are both accepted and expected.

Cheap, and nonsensical dig from an idiot* with an axe to grind.

*I did think about whether I would use that word or not. On mature reflection I decided to use it. He has given me several reasons to think of him as one.
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 04, 2016, 06:19:39 PM
Cp was the most obnoxious player to ever don any county jersey. He is pontificating on Newstalk now (how did he get the gig? ... brass neck I suppose) and you would think he butter wouldn't melt in his mouth. A serial sledger when playing.
Post by: Tony on January 04, 2016, 08:36:25 PM
The initial tweet was the more disrespectful of the two. Gary was just having a laugh, Colm's was malicious. Idiot is attracting unnecessary negative attention to Laois. Get over it Colm, just because you couldn't kick a ball further than me granny.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on January 04, 2016, 08:49:23 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 03, 2016, 10:37:22 PM
Some subs used were ..... Matty Campion (think it was Matty).
Paper today has Marty Scully and Daniel O'Reilly as the other subs.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 05, 2016, 07:20:06 PM
Woolie let himself down with the comments about the setup.
Its the first week in January ffs, give the setup a chance.
Good to see Gary Walsh back, a talented player on his day.
Disappointing to see a former player wanting their county to lose.
Personal scores being settled in public. Cringy carry on.

Still some very good players willing to pull on the jersey although the backs are
gonna be very thin again .. I'll be there to support them play Galway at the end of the month.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 06, 2016, 11:05:23 AM
Woolie was stupid and even his third tweet to the whole episode has been a bit childish.

Still I suppose 7 was  high numbers from Emo and Ballylinan who are the clubs of the selectors.

Good to see Cotter and Seale been brought in and cathy back

I have heard Liliils is going is but Boyle is taking a year out.

Quigley is just after getting married and is taking a month out.

Not sure after that....

The game tonight is In O Moore park
We should beat Carlow but you never know trying out all these players still its the right thing to do.

I thought Mick Lillis spoke well after the UCD game on radio 3.

I am however worried about rumors from in camp that the setup players saying it was a step back in time and the whole package as regards Physio the training etc was not up to the standard of other counties or even Laois in previous years I just hope the lads can pull together a good backroom team in time to get Laois Prepared the way they should be to give them every chance of progression !

We still have good players and Mick Lillis has proven himself as a manager so if we can get the structures right going forward I don't see why Laois can't have a positive year!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 06, 2016, 02:39:37 PM
I know it's an old article but he still can't resist getting in the odd dig at Portlaoise, very childish from a so called professional journalist.
Maybe an apology might help him get on to that intermediate team but I'd say that's beyond him...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/off-the-ball/colm-parkinson-its-hard-for-for-me-to-have-sympathy-for-portlaoise-despite-dublin-transfer-edge-34271955.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/off-the-ball/colm-parkinson-its-hard-for-for-me-to-have-sympathy-for-portlaoise-despite-dublin-transfer-edge-34271955.html)
Post by: SCFC on January 06, 2016, 07:07:17 PM
He's 37 or 38. Some junior C team might have him but he wouldn't get near Portlaoise second team.
Post by: south Laois on January 06, 2016, 11:53:11 PM
Decent game tonight in terrible conditions. Paul Cahilane and Garry Walsh will be huge additions to our forward line.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 07, 2016, 01:40:06 AM
Good game and some great scores despite the horrible conditions, looking forward to the Meath game now...

Some pics from tonight:

(http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/01/06221721/1095301.jpg)
                         (http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/01/06213919/1095269-1.jpg) (http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/01/06213922/1095275.jpg)
(http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/01/06213916/1095236.jpg) (http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/01/06213918/1095250.jpg)                       

Post by: Tony on January 08, 2016, 08:59:53 PM
What's Parkinson on about anyway. How is he surprised that there are more Emo players on the panel this year. I suppose it's not as if they should have beaten Portlaoise in the County Final this year. Of course they are going to have a few players knocking on the Laois door after the year they've had. What a donkey.

Time to just ignore him now, and support the committed lads who are doing the jersey proud.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2016, 12:43:37 AM
BORD NA MÓNA O'BYRNE CUP

Sunday, January 10

Meath v Laois, Páirc Tailteann, 2pm
Post by: Give and Go on January 09, 2016, 09:28:40 AM
I think Parkinson has got an easy ride from Laois people. He calls himself a professional journalist; is he? What qualification has he in journalism (apart rom a very big mouth)? The rest of the country may not know what he is like but we do. He has shown a total lack of respect for his club, county and fellow players with his antics over the years and now he sits in judgement!
Post by: OTF on January 09, 2016, 07:53:12 PM
What exactly did Parkinson say to earn all this vitriol.
Post by: Helix on January 09, 2016, 08:43:32 PM
Quote from: OTF on January 09, 2016, 07:53:12 PM
Have you been living under a rock for the last week? ;D

Post by: OTF on January 10, 2016, 04:46:40 PM
Quote from: Helix on January 09, 2016, 08:43:32 PM
Quote from: OTF on January 09, 2016, 07:53:12 PM
Have you been living under a rock for the last week? ;D

Well  now aren't you the clever lad.
You might post it there and we can all make our minds up as to its contents.
Post by: Helix on January 10, 2016, 09:10:23 PM
Apologies OTF I just seen what sort of a wally that last post made me out to be. I forgot to input rest of story on my last post. :-[

The story happened last Sunday during Laois vs UCD in O'Byrne cup when Wooly made a comment on Twitter regarding a higher than normal proportion of players from 2 clubs of the Laois team: "4 Emo lads and 3 Ballylinan lads on the Laois team. New selectors from this year from these clubs. " a direct quote from Wooly there

Started from there and questioned that "kind of sh*ite will set us back years" in reply to a tweet.
Then one of Laois players replied to Wooly harmlessly and stuff been blown out of proportion. Look at his Twitter page if you want that's the jist of it.

Personally I find no harm in giving lads of so called lesser clubs in competitions like the O'Byrne Cup. Jaysus it's January! If lads want to represent their county best of luck to them and wish Mick Lillis and team the best of luck for the coming season. It's hard enough to get our best lads to commit.
I've had enough of seeing discussing Wooly on this board regarding being disrespectful to Laois. He's not worth the acknowledgement when knocking the county team and disregarding lads willing to put themselves forward.

Hard luck to Laois today seemed unfortunate at the end, plenty of ammunition to return the beating in the league. Hopefully a good league campaign awaits. Will be difficult no doubt.
Post by: OTF on January 12, 2016, 07:26:06 PM
Quote from: Helix on January 10, 2016, 09:10:23 PM
Apologies OTF I just seen what sort of a wally that last post made me out to be. I forgot to input rest of story on my last post. :-[

The story happened last Sunday during Laois vs UCD in O'Byrne cup when Wooly made a comment on Twitter regarding a higher than normal proportion of players from 2 clubs of the Laois team: "4 Emo lads and 3 Ballylinan lads on the Laois team. New selectors from this year from these clubs. " a direct quote from Wooly there

Started from there and questioned that "kind of sh*ite will set us back years" in reply to a tweet.
Then one of Laois players replied to Wooly harmlessly and stuff been blown out of proportion. Look at his Twitter page if you want that's the jist of it.

Personally I find no harm in giving lads of so called lesser clubs in competitions like the O'Byrne Cup. Jaysus it's January! If lads want to represent their county best of luck to them and wish Mick Lillis and team the best of luck for the coming season. It's hard enough to get our best lads to commit.
I've had enough of seeing discussing Wooly on this board regarding being disrespectful to Laois. He's not worth the acknowledgement when knocking the county team and disregarding lads willing to put themselves forward.

Hard luck to Laois today seemed unfortunate at the end, plenty of ammunition to return the beating in the league. Hopefully a good league campaign awaits. Will be difficult no doubt.

No problem Helix thanks.