Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 12:19:37 PM

Title: Oktoberfest
Post by: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 12:19:37 PM
Hey Guys,

Was wondering if any of you have ever went over there for the festival?  Myself and a few of the lads are thinking of going over.  Flights to Munich are next to nothing with Aer Lingus when it's on so we were thinking of booking it!

Where do most people stay while over there?  Can you get day passes for the Beer tents, to save you paying for each beer individually?
Title: Re: Oktoberfest
Post by: stpauls on March 25, 2009, 12:40:07 PM
118cmal,

the flights might be cheap enough but i would doubt there will be too many hotels that haven't already been booked out for it.
you might have a better chance of getting into a hostel if there is a big crowd of you, and you might want to consider camping as well.
there is a huge camp site out at a place called ThalKirchen, and it is very reasonable, as long as you get the weather for it.

with regards to the day pass, unfortunately there is no such thing, but i would be handy alright, saves you having to dip into your pocket everytime you grab a stein, and having to hoke for change. you may need to try and book a table in some of the beer tents, the likes of Augustiner and Franziskaner, but you should be able to get in to most of the others, but you may not get everyone to the same table, depending on the size of your group

if you need any more info, give me a pm.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 25, 2009, 12:57:36 PM
Jaysus it's 14 years since I was at the Oktoefest

bier her bier her bier her bier her
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:37:16 PM
My mate was asking if I wanted to go on a corporate thing but the tables were a fortune!   He said it's all about which tent you get and the best ones are a fortune to have seats reserved at?  any truth in this?
Post by: stpauls on March 25, 2009, 02:39:18 PM
didn't think you needed to pay to reserve a table, possibly for a corporate thing, as you then probably wouldn't have to put your hand in your pocket for anything.
Post by: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 02:43:18 PM
Cheers lads, I see on the official website that a litre of beer will cost between €7.80 and €8.30.  What's that - around €4.20 a pint?

Not the cheapest!  Jaysus a day pass would be some job.  

So what way do the tents work?  Can you just go up and fill up whenever you want, or do you have to wait to be served?  Can you stand in the tents, or is it sitting only?
Post by: stpauls on March 25, 2009, 02:53:08 PM
the price depends what tent you go into, each tent is owned by one of the different breweries in the city.
you go into the tents and try to grab a table if you want, and i think you can stand but if you are going to be there for a while.
the waitresess then come round with the steins, or mass, and you just call them over if you want one.

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/99/Oktoberfest_bierzelt.JPG)
(http://www.rtttravel.com/images/tourpics/rttbus/oktoberfest-express.jpg)

some of the waitresess can hold a lot more than that one can though!!
Post by: Mid Mon on March 25, 2009, 02:55:00 PM
You couldn't beat it it a big stick.
This will be my 3rd year. I'm going every year
got return flights for belfast fo £35 fly out sat morn and home tue which is long enough.
Check out "The Tent" €18 a night for a bunk bed in the big hall.
Post by: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 02:57:27 PM
Cheers Mid Mon, where exactly is this 'The Tent' place?
Post by: stpauls on March 25, 2009, 02:59:43 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on March 25, 2009, 02:55:00 PM
You couldn't beat it it a big stick.
This will be my 3rd year. I'm going every year
got return flights for belfast fo £35 fly out sat morn and home tue which is long enough.
Check out "The Tent" €18 a night for a bunk bed in the big hall.

i heard about the tent, not a place to stay if you want any sleep!!  ;D
Post by: Mid Mon on March 25, 2009, 04:10:44 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 02:57:27 PM
Cheers Mid Mon, where exactly is this 'The Tent' place?

Its about 15 mins on the "free" tram from the oktoberfest site
Post by: thebandit on March 25, 2009, 04:35:39 PM
Christ, midmon, does your woman know you're going?  :D :D
Post by: illdecide on March 25, 2009, 05:00:39 PM
Jasus lads i knocked a thing off one time about 30 min drive from Munich towards the Austrian border, i'll have to drop her an e-mail again and see is she still free and maybe get a freebie to one of these beer gardens :)
Post by: Mid Mon on March 25, 2009, 05:34:29 PM
Quote from: thebandit on March 25, 2009, 04:35:39 PM
Christ, midmon, does your woman know you're going?  :D :D

She send d brother with to keep an eye.
Post by: 118cmal on March 25, 2009, 06:15:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 25, 2009, 05:00:39 PM
Jasus lads i knocked a thing off one time about 30 min drive from Munich towards the Austrian border, i'll have to drop her an e-mail again and see is she still free and maybe get a freebie to one of these beer gardens :)

Aye sure drop her e-mail to us and we can have a rattle at her too
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2009, 08:28:39 PM
Been to Munich a load of times and it is one of my favorites places to go. I stayed in a hostel over there right beside haupbahnhoff (main central train station). Here is a link to it...

http://www.wombats-hostels.com/munich/

This is not a hostel Ireland style. It is clean, has its own bar and is really cheap. Probably booked out but give them a ring and you never know.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 25, 2009, 08:45:57 PM
How many pissers are on site? I could imagine lines a mile long with all the beer ready to flow.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2009, 08:52:30 PM
Don't know about Octoberfest but i was at a smaller festival in Munich once and there were 3 queues into the jacks. One for the Urinals, one for the cubicles and the third for a bucket to puke in!

They were serving tankards of Dunkel Bier, 8% alcohol and about 2 pints per tankard. They needed a big bucket!!!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 25, 2009, 10:06:15 PM
8% alcohol and 2pints per tankard sounds like great stuff!!!bound to spend a clean fortune tho are you not at oktoberfest??
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2009, 10:11:26 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on March 25, 2009, 08:45:57 PM
How many pissers are on site? I could imagine lines a mile long with all the beer ready to flow.
I remember being a several hundred year old beer hall in Prague and they had a hole in the wooden bench and a trough in the floor so you could drop the auld lad through the hole and slash away while you kept on drinking.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 25, 2009, 10:22:58 PM
QuoteI remember being a several hundred year old beer hall in Prague and they had a hole in the wooden bench and a trough in the floor so you could drop the auld lad through the hole and slash away while you kept on drinking.

Are you sure you're not gettin Prague and Amsterdam mixed up?  Are you sure it was  really a beer hall? ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2009, 10:25:37 PM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on March 25, 2009, 10:06:15 PM
8% alcohol and 2pints per tankard sounds like great stuff!!!bound to spend a clean fortune tho are you not at oktoberfest??

Never got to the big one unfortunately. Some of my mates went there and reckon it was mental craic.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 12:01:04 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2009, 08:52:30 PM
They were serving tankards of Dunkel Bier, 8% alcohol and about 2 pints per tankard.

Would that not be the Doppelbock at that strength Myles?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 12:06:05 AM
Nah, you're confusing cause and effect.
Post by: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 09:16:52 PM
Well I'm all booked up for my 1st oktoberfest so what are the must see/do's? have been to Berlin for New Years eve, imagine this should top it?

(http://brazil4tour.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/oktoberfest-womans-beer1.jpg)
Post by: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 10:39:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 09:16:52 PM
Well I'm all booked up for my 1st oktoberfest so what are the must see/do's? have been to Berlin for New Years eve, imagine this should top it?

(http://brazil4tour.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/oktoberfest-womans-beer1.jpg)

are you going over just to drink or are you planning to do some sight seeing?
Post by: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 10:47:25 PM
bit of both have 3 days
Post by: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 11:10:06 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 10:47:25 PM
bit of both have 3 days

well i can give you a couple of things to see but what do you prefer to do when on holiday, do you want to just take it easy or do you want to do some touristy (spl) stuff?
Post by: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 11:14:02 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 11:10:06 PM
bit of both have 3 days

well i can give you a couple of things to see but what do you prefer to do when on holiday, do you want to just take it easy or do you want to do some touristy (spl) stuff?

Touristy in day take it easy at night as i do with most cities
Post by: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 11:39:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 11:14:02 PM
bit of both have 3 days

not in Munich during the Oktoberfest!!  :P

but if you do want a few things to do, go to the Oktoberfest site during the day and use some of the fairground rides and things.
also, if you are looking a relaxing day, just wander round the pedestrian area, Marienplatz to Karlsplatz, as well as the Hofgarten and the Englisher Gartens, some beautiful buildings and a very large green area.

if you are looking to do some sightseeing, go to Schloss Nymphenburg and Olympia Park. make sure you go up the tower in the park for some great fews of the city, and if the weather is clear enough, you might even see The Alps when you are up there.
you could even go to the BMW museum to see some classic and F1 cars.
if you want a day trip out of the city, take in the Dachau prison camp just to see it for what it was.
Post by: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 11:44:38 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 11:39:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 16, 2010, 11:14:02 PM
bit of both have 3 days

not in Munich during the Oktoberfest!!  :P

but if you do want a few things to do, go to the Oktoberfest site during the day and use some of the fairground rides and things.
also, if you are looking a relaxing day, just wander round the pedestrian area, Marienplatz to Karlsplatz, as well as the Hofgarten and the Englisher Gartens, some beautiful buildings and a very large green area.

if you are looking to do some sightseeing, go to Schloss Nymphenburg and Olympia Park. make sure you go up the tower in the park for some great fews of the city, and if the weather is clear enough, you might even see The Alps when you are up there.
you could even go to the BMW museum to see some classic and F1 cars.
if you want a day trip out of the city, take in the Dachau prison camp just to see it for what it was.

Cheers i'll keep those tips in mind
Post by: stpauls on July 16, 2010, 11:49:01 PM
No problem R4L
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 01:27:43 AM
Well that was an experience & a half  :D

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5202.jpg)
Few tips for others wishing to go next year

Avoid Saturday night cause it's crazy... massive queues to get into everything.. other night's are fine! most table's are pre-booked in the tents but if you stand at a table you'll get served

Olympia Park is a great place to walk off an hangover & the BMW museum is half price one hour before it closes

Post by: StGallsGAA on October 07, 2010, 11:23:16 AM
any more pics ross?  looks like ball!
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 07, 2010, 11:40:24 AM
jesus ross4life ya pickeda great table
Post by: Santino on October 07, 2010, 02:25:53 PM
Looks class! Was in Munich few months ago and it was cracker then too.
Anyone know if the Belfast incarnation on this yr? Was quality last yr but no word of it this yr, or sign online.
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 03:02:31 PM
Have a few more pics from the other night's that i'll upload later...

This year the average price for two pints glasses were € 8.90 & tents are opened from 11am to 11pm

Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 04:05:41 PM
More photos..

one of the bands

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5197.jpg)

The Food

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/Oktoberfest-41.jpg?t=1286550092)

The Drink

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/Oktoberfest-44.jpg)

Has anyone been to this? http://www.oktoberfest-dublin.com/ i might tag along this weekend to see how it compares to the real thing
Post by: Puckoon on October 08, 2010, 04:08:23 PM
Jesus I could stare at that last picture for hours.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 08, 2010, 04:48:18 PM
QuoteHas anyone been to this? http://www.oktoberfest-dublin.com/ i might tag along this weekend to see how it compares to the real thing

Yeah was at it last year, probably go tomorrow as well. Had a good laugh at it. I think they only have a few different beers though which I'd iamgine is nothing like the real thing.
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 05:32:21 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on October 08, 2010, 04:48:18 PM
QuoteHas anyone been to this? http://www.oktoberfest-dublin.com/ i might tag along this weekend to see how it compares to the real thing

Yeah was at it last year, probably go tomorrow as well. Had a good laugh at it. I think they only have a few different beers though which I'd iamgine is nothing like the real thing.

The beers they had/i seen was Lowenbrau, Hacker-Pschorr, Hofbrau, Augustiner, Spaten and Paulaner all Munich beer's i think?

& i hear the Dublin one has pigs on spits? didn't see that at oktoberfest but plenty of chicken's
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 08, 2010, 09:41:48 PM
Was at it a few years ago, savage craic. I was wearing a 2003 Tyrone shirt and these lads come over and say "vas is Dolan?" It took me a second to realise they had spotted the big WJ Dolan on my shirt. I said "Das is Fussball Irelande" and they let a big roar out of them "Irelande ist gud!" Great place for a break, the Germans are magnificent hosts.

(http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/2913/dsc00571lp.jpg)
(http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/7497/dsc00532wg.jpg)
(http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/2356/dsc00572p.jpg)