GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Armagh => Topic started by: Applesisapples on August 10, 2010, 04:34:22 PM

Title: Club Hurling in Armagh
Post by: Applesisapples on August 10, 2010, 04:34:22 PM
Is there no club hurling in Armagh or just nothing worth posting about?
Title: Re: Club Hurling in Armagh
Post by: under the bar on August 10, 2010, 09:11:02 PM
<tumbleweed>
Post by: mrgaa1 on August 12, 2010, 10:15:43 PM
not enough clubs - poor standard.  Underage doing ok. 
but really in the bigger scheme of things until more clubs take on hurling and promote it properly then hurling in Armagh will always be small change. 
Yes underage have had a decent year but will it translate to bigger things - no.
But great to see it being pushed on.
Post by: Wee Shea on August 12, 2010, 10:43:23 PM
Can you not read?

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=769.16290
Post by: thewanderer on August 13, 2010, 11:35:32 AM
heard our beloved county minor manager told the players not to worry about roscommon last sat as they would beat them by at least 12pts and then proceeded to hold a tough trainin session the nite before the game in prep for the semifinal. talk about biting you in the ass rossies won by 4 with the armagh team dead on its feet in the 2nd half. info from 3 lads on the team. senior semi 1st weekend in sept i think mtown v cuchulainns
Post by: Applesisapples on August 13, 2010, 01:01:46 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 12, 2010, 10:43:23 PM
Can you not read?

Don't see any hurling there, my question was rhetorical, there is just an absence of debate on Club hurling.
Post by: Wee Shea on August 13, 2010, 09:53:52 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 13, 2010, 01:01:46 PM
Can you not read?

Don't see any hurling there, my question was rhetorical, there is just an absence of debate on Club hurling.

Not see the hurling in the thread title? Maybe if you posted about hurling in the thread it might spark some debate.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on August 14, 2010, 04:23:49 PM
I used to post on this board a fair bit about hurling in armagh but a user called 'Mr Taylor' took offense to some minor criticisms i had of he county board structure so to avoid this ass from giving off again i hold comments to myself alhtough if applesisapples wants any info just pm me.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 16, 2010, 03:50:48 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 13, 2010, 09:53:52 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 13, 2010, 01:01:46 PM
Can you not read?

Not see the hurling in the thread title? Maybe if you posted about hurling in the thread it might spark some debate.
Hurling in the title but not in the content, typical of football counties only see the big ball. I was hoping to spark a bit of debate.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 18, 2010, 04:43:57 PM
Does anyone know whos playing who in the Hurling Championship and at what venues?
Post by: thewanderer on August 18, 2010, 04:51:23 PM
armagh club hurling ( back of a stamp for the fixtures) semi-final   middletown v cuchulainns,  keady a bye to the final. big debate now.
Post by: nutsy--1 on August 18, 2010, 05:37:56 PM
i thought keady played Lurgan in a semi-final, maybe im wrong
Post by: CountyGK on August 19, 2010, 12:51:48 AM
Quote from: thewanderer on August 18, 2010, 04:51:23 PM
armagh club hurling ( back of a stamp for the fixtures) semi-final   middletown v cuchulainns,  keady a bye to the final. big debate now.
Quote from: nutsy--1 on August 18, 2010, 05:37:56 PM
i thought keady played Lurgan in a semi-final, maybe im wrong

Sean treacys play keady nxt sunday in the semi final..
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 19, 2010, 04:08:34 AM
What, hold the phone!!!!!!!!!!!!  The wanderer was fed mis-information, for the love of god why, why.
Post by: thewanderer on August 19, 2010, 09:47:35 AM
real u know im not wrong i said keady in the final. unless u want to go with a calculator to see keady v lurgan when scoreboards only count goals to 9 take it from me keady are in the final. ps are u still net minding?
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 19, 2010, 11:01:59 AM
Sadly retired. You're probably right about the keady match, but the other semi will be tight. The Cuchulainns are coming into this game a lot quieter than last year when we had beat Middletown 5 times in the year and were probably favourates for the 1st time in a Championship match for 20 years. It didnt go our way and Middletown went on to win the title. They will be a tough opponent as usual but we will definately give them a run.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 19, 2010, 02:45:41 PM
Quote from: thewanderer on August 19, 2010, 09:47:35 AM
real u know im not wrong i said keady in the final. unless u want to go with a calculator to see keady v lurgan when scoreboards only count goals to 9 take it from me keady are in the final. ps are u still net minding?
Have lurgan no chance?
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on August 19, 2010, 03:23:42 PM
When Lurgan arent even turning up for refixed league matches i wouldnt give them much chance of a performance against Keady
Post by: Applesisapples on August 19, 2010, 03:40:54 PM
Who'll win the other tie? Middletown surely by a good bit?
Post by: Red Hurley on August 19, 2010, 06:45:56 PM
I'd say bt at least 15 points in it to the County Champions
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 19, 2010, 10:09:18 PM
Quote from: Red Hurley on August 19, 2010, 06:45:56 PM

If your offering i would like to wage some of my not so hard earned cash on that score.  Clearly a bit of WUMery going on here
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 30, 2010, 08:05:49 PM
Quote from: Red Hurley on August 19, 2010, 06:45:56 PM

Close on 17 points out there Red.
Post by: Red Hurley on August 30, 2010, 08:59:06 PM
What Happened Middletown Spirit?
Post by: thewanderer on August 31, 2010, 12:16:30 PM
spirit might have picked a wrong year to retire. Realistic what is the chances of a cuchulainns win, it must be 20 years from the last victory. now looking like a good decision for the boys not to commit to county hurling this year and concentrate on the club.? I heard the younger guys played well particularily the 2 duffys not surprising when u remember their dad.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 31, 2010, 05:28:24 PM
good win for Cuhullains hopefully they'll go all the way nice to see a change. Keady struggled to beat lurgan from what I hear.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 01, 2010, 09:09:07 PM
Great win for the city side. Hurling in Armagh is on the up.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 08, 2010, 02:35:52 PM
Camlough vs Keady II in the Junior, there's a shock. Derrynoose must have been odds on this year with Lurgan in the senior.
what was the score in the SF? Good opportunity for Camlough.
Post by: BenDover on September 09, 2010, 08:55:28 AM
Senior final is this Sunday in Cross of all places  ???
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 09, 2010, 09:09:26 AM
Not exactly very convenient.  Our match against the Clans is at 2.  You'd be getting tight to even see the second half
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on September 09, 2010, 11:02:43 AM
Quote from: BenDover on September 09, 2010, 08:55:28 AM

Joke - but rules are that Co. Finals take place in Co. Ground.

Quote from: Applesisapples on September 08, 2010, 02:35:52 PM
Camlough vs Keady II in the Junior, there's a shock. Derrynoose must have been odds on this year with Lurgan in the senior.

In fairness Derrynoose had the beating of Keady in their semi-final which went to a replay,Keady managed to win the replayed game by a point with a last minute goal scored 4mins into inj time.
Camlough in the final should be no problem for the Keady boys as i think camlough are too reliant on bradley and cunningham although im sure they will make a good contest of it.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 09, 2010, 12:32:52 PM
Quote from: Armagh Cúchulainns on September 09, 2010, 11:02:43 AM
Quote from: BenDover on September 09, 2010, 08:55:28 AM

Joke - but rules are that Co. Finals take place in Co. Ground.

Quote from: Applesisapples on September 08, 2010, 02:35:52 PM

In fairness Derrynoose had the beating of Keady in their semi-final which went to a replay,Keady managed to win the replayed game by a point with a last minute goal scored 4mins into inj time.
Camlough in the final should be no problem for the Keady boys as i think camlough are too reliant on bradley and cunningham although im sure they will make a good contest of it.
Derrynoose must be sick, been on the end of those types of results myself.
Post by: Mack the finger on September 12, 2010, 11:43:44 AM
Anyone know what time the Hurling final takes place at today?
You'd think there'd be some information on the county web site.
Post by: Red Hurley on September 12, 2010, 12:15:19 PM
3 30 Cross
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 12, 2010, 05:43:43 PM
Senior Final

Keady 0-13 Cuchulainns 0-9

Cuchulainns won the U16 final
Post by: Applesisapples on September 13, 2010, 05:15:06 PM
Cuchullains had there for the taking, great defence but forwards didn't take their chances.
Post by: Mr.T on September 14, 2010, 08:45:42 PM
Any reports on the keady 2nds v camlough game?
Post by: nrico2006 on September 15, 2010, 08:46:39 AM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 14, 2010, 08:45:42 PM
Any reports on the keady 2nds v camlough game?

Who won that game?
Post by: Mr.T on September 15, 2010, 08:55:23 AM
Keady 2nds (I was told by 5 or 6pts??) but never heard any reports and there doesn't seem to be anything in the papers. 
Post by: Applesisapples on September 15, 2010, 01:20:02 PM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 15, 2010, 08:55:23 AM
Keady 2nds (I was told by 5 or 6pts??) but never heard any reports and there doesn't seem to be anything in the papers.

Poor Game never in doubt.
Post by: bredaghgael86 on September 16, 2010, 05:41:17 PM
will Cuchulainns play in the ulster intermediate this year?
Post by: CountyGK on September 16, 2010, 09:18:18 PM
Quote from: bredaghgael86 on September 16, 2010, 05:41:17 PM
will Cuchulainns play in the ulster intermediate this year?

No, only county champions progress through to Ulster Cship.

Keady won the Junior against Camlough 0-16 to 1-09
Post by: bredaghgael86 on September 17, 2010, 01:02:56 AM
I ask cause i wondered who will represent armagh in the intermediate year then. I know keady will now play in the senior ulster leaving a spot free.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 08:33:24 AM
Quote from: bredaghgael86 on September 17, 2010, 01:02:56 AM
I ask cause i wondered who will represent armagh in the intermediate year then. I know keady will now play in the senior ulster leaving a spot free.
Keady - Senior
Cuhullains-Intermediate
Craobh Rua-Junior
Post by: Mr.T on September 17, 2010, 09:43:01 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 08:33:24 AM
Keady - Senior
Cuhullains-Intermediate
Craobh Rua-Junior

Are you sure about that ??? - I thought its just Keady in senior and Craobh Rua are in Intermediate. - i though u could only enter 3 teams if you have 3 competitions like in down (ards teams in senior, bredagh in inter, and clonduff in junior). - i'm not 100% but thats the way i though it worked.

BTW thanks for the 'report' on the junior final - u could get a job in the News Letter with extensive GAA reporting like that ;) :D
Post by: nrico2006 on September 17, 2010, 09:50:47 AM
Camlough will go into the Ulster.  In Tyrone they only have the one Competition, play a round robin and the top two teams go into the Senior Final and the 3rd and 4th teams go into the Junior final.  The winners of the Senior Final go into the Ulster Intermediate and the Junior winners would go into the Ulster Junior (if Naomh Colmiclle win the Junior then the runners up represent Tyrone in the Ulster Junior as Naomh Colmcille won last years Ulster Junior).  Are Cuchulains into the Intermediate by virtue of being the 2nd team in the County?
Post by: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 01:21:05 PM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 17, 2010, 09:43:01 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 08:33:24 AM
Keady - Senior
Cuhullains-Intermediate
Craobh Rua-Junior

Are you sure about that ??? - I thought its just Keady in senior and Craobh Rua are in Intermediate. - i though u could only enter 3 teams if you have 3 competitions like in down (ards teams in senior, bredagh in inter, and clonduff in junior). - i'm not 100% but thats the way i though it worked.

BTW thanks for the 'report' on the junior final - u could get a job in the News Letter with extensive GAA reporting like that ;) :D
The reason Keady go into the Ulster senior is because they won the Ulster intermediate in 08 and must compete in senior for two years. They lost in the final to middletown last year and so Middletown played intermediate with Armagh having no representative in the Senior and Sean Treacy's played in the Junior. Second teams can't play Ulster hence the beaten finalists Camlough represent Armagh in the Junior ulster and as Keady are in Senior Cuchullains fly the intermediate flag.

as to my report on the Junior Final, Camlough tried hard but Keady just had the edge on the scoring front. Fiachra Bradley being their biggest scoring threat was pretty anonymous, for a number of reasons partly his own faillure to go looking ball, partly the poor ball being played in and partly Keady's tactics. Derrynoose should have beaten Keady in the semi, I don't know what happened there Michael Lennon didn't start and Nial McKee is a big loss to them as well. There appears to be a gap between Derrynoose, Lurgan and the rest in Division 2.
Post by: Mr.T on September 17, 2010, 01:57:56 PM

Going by that then, i'd say Cuchullains would have the best chance of the 3 to progress in ulster. i'd say keady wouldn't compete agains the like of antrim or down winners.

as to the junior final, i think camlough were always going to be relying on fiachra. also heard paul cunningham was injured, so they would have been up aginst it.

Regarding keady II / derrynoose, i though d'noose would have beat them too, but i'm also surprised m'town II didnt beat keady II.
From the limited hurling i see, i would have picked m'twn, d'noose & keady in that order to come through that side of the draw.

Are lurgan not still in div 1? or did they go straight back down again? - but yes, there would be a gap between them & d'noose and the like of c'lough and kileavy
Post by: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 02:57:09 PM
Middletown II and Keady II drew and Middletown couldn't field in the replay for some reason. You would have expected Derrynoose to have won the Junior pretty easily this year with Lurgan playing Senior but wasn't to be. Keady II were no great shakes and it is a surprise that Derrynoose lost. As I said Michael Lennon did not start the replay I can only presume he was injured as he is a good player.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on September 17, 2010, 04:45:59 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 17, 2010, 02:57:09 PM
As I said Michael Lennon did not start the replay I can only presume he was injured as he is a good player.

Did he not line out midfield, no. 9 - yellow helmet???

I personally felt derrynoose were unlucky  (;)) to lose in the semi
Post by: Applesisapples on September 18, 2010, 10:30:24 AM
No apparently not, so I'm told as I said we can only presume a player of his calibre must have been injured.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 18, 2010, 11:16:44 PM
I heard coleraine have been NOMINATED in Derry to represent Derry at junior without even playing a championship match! Think thery are to play Armagh champs. Now they cant play because they are in senior football on same day and want match brought forward so that Mc Goldricks etc can play. Where else but Derry.
Post by: Mr.T on September 20, 2010, 02:03:41 PM
yeah Fear BnS, heard that coleraine play camlough on sat 2nd oct. is their football final on on the 3rd?
Post by: Applesisapples on September 20, 2010, 03:52:24 PM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 20, 2010, 02:03:41 PM
yeah Fear BnS, heard that coleraine play camlough on sat 2nd oct. is their football final on on the 3rd?
Where at?
Post by: Mr.T on September 20, 2010, 04:06:15 PM
I think its in armagh, so prob cross. (assuming the athletic grounds are still closed)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 20, 2010, 09:58:05 PM
Thats right Mr T. They have football next day. If I was Camlough I would have stuck to my guns and asked to play game on original date which was 3rd. These guys in Coleraine get away with murder in Derry now it appears that they are at the same craic in Ulster
Post by: Mr.T on September 21, 2010, 01:51:18 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 20, 2010, 09:58:05 PM
Thats right Mr T. They have football next day. If I was Camlough I would have stuck to my guns and asked to play game on original date which was 3rd. These guys in Coleraine get away with murder in Derry now it appears that they are at the same craic in Ulster

Do u think the big guns will play or be rested for the football. - i'd imagine they would make some difference to their hurling team?
Post by: Applesisapples on September 21, 2010, 02:19:00 PM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 21, 2010, 01:51:18 PM

Do u think the big guns will play or be rested for the football. - i'd imagine they would make some difference to their hurling team?
Two of the McGoldricks are committed hurlers with the club, a third can take it or leave it. The football club calls the shots though so they may be missing.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 05:55:09 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 21, 2010, 02:19:00 PM
Quote from: Mr.T on September 21, 2010, 01:51:18 PM

Two of the McGoldricks are committed hurlers with the club, a third can take it or leave it. The football club calls the shots though so they may be missing.

I dont know if they will play. That said the Mc Goldricks they are not the clubs best hurlers, although the best guys also play football, basically they have maybe 8 on football team who are on hurling team-most have Ulster medals for their county, if they play and I dont mean to be disrespectful Craobh Rua will get whipped badly. They dont have much in reserve outside the guys that play football-should have went for match on 3rd to be sure.
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 21, 2010, 06:47:00 PM
Sorry for launching into a thread for Armagh hurling but...

how so? how and when have our hurlers got off with murder?

and how in under f**k do you expect it to be reasonable to ask our hurling team to play an Ulster junior hurling championship in Armagh on the same day as our footballers play in a Derry senior football final in Celtic Park??

If you see that as anything other than a non-runner you are a complete loon.

And no, not one single footballer is gonna pick up a stick and play a hurling cship match the day before a derry football final either.

I would have thought that was not only reasonable but pretty f**king advisable  :D. 'Where else but derry' eh?

Other wee quirks to your lunacy - our nomination before playing a game... Derry has 2 lower tier clubs, Eoghan Rua and Na Magha. There are also 2 lower tier levels in GAA, intermediate and junior. So what do you know, each club gets nominated for Ulster before they play a cship match, same as last year, and the year before that, and the year before that....

'most have ulster county medals'... sean leo mcg and niall holly have ulster u21 medals. thats it.

'the mcgoldricks are not the clubs best hurlers'... more nonsense...

'They dont have much in reserve outside the guys that play football'... bang on the money, well done sir. this is true, we can struggle to field without them.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 07:57:48 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 21, 2010, 06:47:00 PM

and how in under f**k do you expect it to be reasonable to ask our hurling team to play an Ulster junior hurling championship in Armagh on the same day as our footballers play in a Derry senior football final in Celtic Park??

And no, not one single footballer is gonna pick up a stick and play a hurling cship match the day before a derry football final either.

I would have thought that was not only reasonable but pretty f**king advisable  :D. 'Where else but derry' eh?

Other wee quirks to your lunacy - our nomination before playing a game... Derry has 2 lower tier clubs, Eoghan Rua and Na Magha. There are also 2 lower tier levels in GAA, intermediate and junior. So what do you know, each club gets nominated for Ulster before they play a cship match, same as last year, and the year before that, and the year before that....

'most have ulster county medals'... sean leo mcg and niall holly have ulster u21 medals. thats it.

'They dont have much in reserve outside the guys that play football'... bang on the money, well done sir. this is true, we can struggle to field without them.

Oh Dear Whisky Steve-its true what they say whiskey makes you aggressive! If you are a dual club why couldnt they play same day??Why should everyone suffer because you are stretched? A true hurler would rather swing ash than watch the big ball any day
Nobody mentioned your hurlers getting away with murder or cant you read -probably not you are probably pissed on whiskey :D If each club gets nominated why werent Na Magha nominated at any level, its a small province and word travels fast. Maybe I have been misinformed on county medals but the other guys  are still good and at least another 2 have played for county at senior.
Young Rafferty and Holly better than Mc Goldricks I heard.
Post by: doodaa on October 02, 2010, 05:37:45 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 07:57:48 PM

Oh Dear Whisky Steve-its true what they say whiskey makes you aggressive! If you are a dual club why couldnt they play same day??Why should everyone suffer because you are stretched? A true hurler would rather swing ash than watch the big ball any day
Nobody mentioned your hurlers getting away with murder or cant you read -probably not you are probably pissed on whiskey :D If each club gets nominated why werent Na Magha nominated at any level, its a small province and word travels fast. Maybe I have been misinformed on county medals but the other guys  are still good and at least another 2 have played for county at senior.

You sir, are an idiot.
Dual clubs rely on dual players, of which we have about 11.
There are not many teams, if any (especially in Ulster) who could field a full strength hurling team and a full strength football team on 2 consecutive days. Lavey (Derry reps in Ulsterhurling ) fielded 14 hurlers in their senior football match against Ballinderry.
Asking us to play an Ulster hurling match the day before we play in our first ever senior football final is not only unfair, but downright cruel.
Whoever sanctioned this obviously has no interest in furthering hurling in Derry or indeed Ulster.
As for why Na Magha were not nominated, both Na Magha and Coleraine take it year about to enter into the Ulster junior champ. This was our year.

Hard luck to our lads after today, beat by 3 points and from reports, a flukey goal is what won it for Camlough.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 02, 2010, 07:43:59 PM
Quote from: doodaa on October 02, 2010, 05:37:45 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 07:57:48 PM

Thats right Mr T. They have football next day. If I was Camlough I would have stuck to my guns and asked to play game on original date which was 3rd. These guys in Coleraine get away with murder in Derry now it apwwpears that they are at the same craic in Ulster

You sir, are an idiot.
Dual clubs rely on dual players, of which we have about 11.
There are not many teams, if any (especially in Ulster) who could field a full strength hurling team and a full strength football team on 2 consecutive days. Lavey (Derry reps in Ulsterhurling ) fielded 14 hurlers in their senior football match against Ballinderry.
Asking us to play an Ulster hurling match the day before we play in our first ever senior football final is not only unfair, but downright cruel.
Whoever sanctioned this obviously has no interest in furthering hurling in Derry or indeed Ulster.
As for why Na Magha were not nominated, both Na Magha and Coleraine take it year about to enter into the Ulster junior champ. This was our year.

Hard luck to our lads after today, beat by 3 points and from reports, a flukey goal is what won it for Camlough.
I would argue that you are the idiot and once more a damn rude one. There has been two responses which I believe have eminated from Coleraine and they both have been abusive.This does not reflect well on you or your club, I have heard S Mc Goldrick speak and he is a gentleman so I am sure you are in the rude minority. Maybe you are not from Coleraine because I have never heard anyone there say "You Sir" Are you one of these wanabe Dungiven men who arent from there and think that to be part of the GAA you must stick sir on the end of everything? When could the Ulster Council have played the game ? Last week?No because you have said within your own couny  that you couldnt play your own hurling championship because of Div 1 football and senior football c'ship. Could have played after Sunday I hear you say. The Ulster Council couldnt take a gamle on this in case you won football and then went into Ulster Senior Football and stopped guys playing hurling. As for Na Magah  I cant comment on rotation thing, I dont know enough about that club, but what I was getting at was why didnt Derry nominate them to play intermediate.
Hard luck today, I am certain you would have won that competition with full complement but at the minute you are unfortunately a victim of your own success, but it cant be used to hold fixtures up for evryone else. I am not anti Coleraine at all, I just think that you are streteched a little and that this is making it hard for you and others
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2010, 09:27:03 PM
Congratulations to Camlough today. The better team on the day and they fully deserved their victory. Good clean game of hurling also. Great overhead pull by the full forward was the difference in the end.

FBNS, you have talked some amount of crap on here, its no wonder you got the response you did. Saying we 'get away with murder' in light of the circumstances our hurlers faced with this game especially. A strange comment indeed.

Well done to Camlough and Mr T!!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 02, 2010, 09:37:00 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2010, 09:27:03 PM
Congratulations to Camlough today. The better team on the day and they fully deserved their victory. Good clean game of hurling also. Great overhead pull by the full forward was the difference in the end.

FBNS, you have talked some amount of crap on here, its no wonder you got the response you did. Saying we 'get away with murder' in light of the circumstances our hurlers faced with this game especially. A strange comment indeed.

Well done to Camlough and Mr T!!
Is that it? You know I am right on most points and you havent got the humility to admit it. Give me a suggestion for when the Ulster Council could have changed the game to. Or are they loons,idiots crap talkers etc. You need to lay off the tipples
Post by: Applesisapples on October 04, 2010, 01:39:31 AM
Who next for Camlough?
Post by: nrico2006 on October 04, 2010, 10:49:36 AM
Coleraine or Camlough won't win this competition, it will probably be won by Ballybofey or Cloughmills.

As for the rotation thing, why doesn't Na Magha and Coleraine play-off each year in a 'Junior' final to get to represent the county in the Ulster.  Alot of other counties do this kind of thing.  Is there no reserve championship anymore in Derry that these two play in?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 04, 2010, 09:56:37 PM
Common sense is not possible for county board, provincial boards are daft also. they only want to promote their own areas.

Coleraine would have been  handy enough at that level. We were lucky last year, our runs in Ulster and the All Ireland didn't collide on the same day?

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 04, 2010, 11:20:19 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 04, 2010, 10:49:36 AM
Coleraine or Camlough won't win this competition, it will probably be won by Ballybofey or Cloughmills.

As for the rotation thing, why doesn't Na Magha and Coleraine play-off each year in a 'Junior' final to get to represent the county in the Ulster.  Alot of other counties do this kind of thing.  Is there no reserve championship anymore in Derry that these two play in?

I think a full Coleraine side could have won this but there just didn't seem to be any way that could have happened with all they are were involved at this time. Not enough days in calender etc. I think there was a play off in Derry last year and Na Magha got into Ulster that way as they won. This year they didn't playoff, as a Coleraine poster said they brought in rotation instead. A full Coleraine team or Na Magah would have given this a good rattle based on results have I have seen in Ulster leagues,c'ships and domestic leagues over last couple of years.
As it stands Innisken will be very hard challenge for Camlough, they are Monaghan Senior champions, hate to admit this but Inniskeen will probably win. Mc Cumhaills/Cloughmills very hard to call, I think Cloughmills may squeeze through to meet Inniskeen in final. Couldn't call final
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 10, 2010, 04:54:31 PM
Somehow Keady beat Lavey 1-15 to 2-10 & are through to the Ulster final. Lavey totally shit the nest in the second half.
Post by: ogshead on October 10, 2010, 06:16:49 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 10, 2010, 04:54:31 PM
Somehow Keady beat Lavey 1-15 to 2-10 & are through to the Ulster final. Lavey totally shit the nest in the second half.

Unreal, well done to Keady!!
Post by: Mack the finger on October 10, 2010, 08:56:09 PM
Fantastic result for Keady Lamb Dearg!

When's the last team there was a team from Armagh in the Ulster Senior Hurling Final?

I could be wrong, but I don't think there ever has been?

Great for hurling in the county.
Post by: Mr.T on October 10, 2010, 09:31:08 PM
did i hear correct that Cuchulainns got tanked today against C'more?
i left at HT and they were 1pt down and hurling well - what happened?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 10, 2010, 09:58:31 PM
How did Craobh Rua do
Post by: CountyGK on October 10, 2010, 10:05:00 PM
Keady won by 2 pts, Cuchullains lost by 1 pt, Craobh Rua won (by 5 i think).
Post by: Mr.T on October 10, 2010, 10:08:19 PM
craobh rua beat by 4pts. 0.16-1.09
Post by: offthefence on October 10, 2010, 11:38:07 PM
eire ogs carrickmore stuffed cuchullains 7-11 to 3-10 and only for a few mistakes they would never have had 3 goals, well done 2 keady on reaching senior final
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 11, 2010, 09:51:01 AM
Quote from: Mr.T on October 10, 2010, 09:31:08 PM
did i hear correct that Cuchulainns got tanked today against C'more?
i left at HT and they were 1pt down and hurling well - what happened?
Quote from: offthefence on October 10, 2010, 11:38:07 PM
eire ogs carrickmore stuffed cuchullains 7-11 to 3-10 and only for a few mistakes they would never have had 3 goals, well done 2 keady on reaching senior final

I think you were sitting behind me, we actually came out and scored a goal to go 2 up after ht, the game was very tight up until the last ten minutes, the game turned on a strange refereeing decision. the Cuchulainns had a sideline on the 65 and took it too short, the ref blew it up and gave a FREE from the spot were the player received the short sideline, the free was dropped into the square and buried by carrickmore. In saying that the tyrone side were far more up for the fight and over the 60 minutes the better team and fully deserved their win and I hope they go on and win the final as they are an Armagh League team.

Post by: thewanderer on October 11, 2010, 11:01:24 AM
spirit does that mean the county final was a flash in the pan as keady would have tanked c,more im sure. big set back or a one off?
Post by: thewanderer on October 11, 2010, 11:16:25 AM
spirit just browsed the derry board there. i take it keady are in for some tanking now from loughgiel ? or is it just hard cheese.
Post by: BenDover on October 11, 2010, 11:22:33 AM
Quote from: thewanderer on October 11, 2010, 11:01:24 AM
spirit does that mean the county final was a flash in the pan as keady would have tanked c,more im sure. big set back or a one off?
I think since the county final the heart just wasn't in it for the boys but in saying that i didn't expect to see them beat by 14points
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on October 11, 2010, 01:02:57 PM
Quote from: BenDover on October 11, 2010, 11:22:33 AM
I think since the county final the heart just wasn't in it for the boys but in saying that i didn't expect to see them beat by 14points

A mixture of a few small problems added to the performance, missing goalkeeper and a couple of players played that werent fit but just a bad ten minutes saw carrickmore take the game, would agree with spirits assessment.

Good luck to Keady and Carrickmore in their respective finals.
Post by: Mr.T on October 11, 2010, 01:42:22 PM
what do the cuchulainns fellas think about going into the ulster champ after getting beat in the armagh champ?
from a camlough point of view i think we found it hard to get up for it after the disappointment of the armagh champ. ur heart just doesn't be in it for a week or 2.
i think if we were playing anyone other than a weakened coleraine team in the ulster 1/4 final we'd have got beat. it took us until half time in the iniskeen game to start playing again.
did u's find this too? or are we unmotivated hures!!?
Post by: Mr.T on October 11, 2010, 02:31:04 PM
PS: well done to Keady.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 11, 2010, 03:13:42 PM

I don't think Keady would tank Carrickmore to be honest, wouldn't be much between them.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 12, 2010, 06:41:31 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 11, 2010, 03:13:42 PM

I don't think Keady would tank Carrickmore to be honest, wouldn't be much between them.

Agreed, Keady/carrickmore would be tight. A four point defeat in a county final a flash in the pan, what you on about.
Post by: UGAAWA on October 13, 2010, 11:54:04 PM
Ulster Gaels' big night out!

Tickets are now on sale for the 23rd Ulster GAA Writers' Association Banquet which will be held this year in the Slieve Russell Hotel, Co Cavan.

The Quinn Insurance Ulster GAA Writers Banquet is the only awards ceremony that honours players from all codes as well as grass-roots Gaels.

There is plenty to celebrate this year with Down's run to the All-Ireland SFC final, Tyrone lifting the minor title, Antrim's hurlers regaining their place amongst the sport's big guns, Armagh's rise up the hurling ranks, St Galls' march to All Ireland glory, the ladies of Tyrone and Donegal on the All Ireland stage, Paul Brady continuing to set the world handball benchmark and the Saffron camógs' All Ireland among the Ulster success stories.

As usual a star-studded guest list from all codes will celebrate all that is good in Gaelic games in the province. Tickets are priced £50 or €60 and are available by contacting Tony McGee at tony.mcgee@btinternet.com or visit www.ulstergaawriters.com for full details.

Accommodation in the Slieve Russell Hotel can be booked here: www.slieverussell.ie. Click here for a list of alternative accommodation in the area:  http://www.irishtourist.com/directory/accommodation/north/cavan/
Post by: Applesisapples on October 21, 2010, 04:24:16 PM
Good luck to Keady on Sunday, if winker doesn't play or true to form gets the line, ye never know.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 24, 2010, 04:16:15 PM
Keady getting beat 0-10 to 0-5 ht. Keady playing a lot better than I thought they would.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 24, 2010, 04:42:15 PM
Think Keady are going to get beat. Now 1-21 to 0-6!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 24, 2010, 04:49:35 PM
Shooting in match in the second half. Keady only scored one point. Final score Loughgiel 2-24 Kead 0-6!
Post by: thewanderer on October 25, 2010, 09:40:25 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 24, 2010, 04:42:15 PM
Think Keady are going to get beat. Now 1-21 to 0-6!
think you got that one right harold. unfortunately the result most where expecting. would not be better seeding the antrim and down champions in opposite side of the draw to give a competitive ulster final and if keady happen to beat the down champs well then its fair play to them.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 04, 2011, 02:44:42 PM
Big shock in the hurling last night, Sean Treacys beat Keady. 
Post by: ogshead on May 04, 2011, 09:58:08 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2011, 02:44:42 PM

Jeez, I was gonna go out to watch that game last night when I heard it was in the Ogs field. Than I thought to myself that there was no point because Keady would tank them.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on May 04, 2011, 10:01:10 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2011, 02:44:42 PM

They did indeed win, but its Mc Cormack Cup so i wouldnt read too much into it although its good to see a different face in the final so long as it doesnt play out like last years cup final
Post by: nrico2006 on May 11, 2011, 11:30:14 AM
Sean Treacys beat Middletown in the McCormack Cup Final last night.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 11, 2011, 03:34:22 PM
Thats a bit of a shock. Was it a good game? I thought from other posts Middletown were going to walk it.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 11, 2011, 03:41:45 PM
It was a good game, think there was 4 in it at the end. 
Post by: ogshead on May 12, 2011, 11:11:58 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 11, 2011, 03:41:45 PM

Fair play to them... they beat Keady and Middletown to win it. Well done
Post by: Applesisapples on May 12, 2011, 12:38:03 PM
Quote from: ogshead on May 12, 2011, 11:11:58 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 11, 2011, 03:41:45 PM

Fair play to them... they beat Keady and Middletown to win it. Well done
I suppose when you look it that way it's a sign of improving standards in Armagh.
Post by: Applesisapples on June 02, 2011, 10:10:43 AM
There's a serious lack of interest in Armagh Hurling on this site. How are all the leagues going? Who's winning what? Serious lack of Information from the County Board also.
Post by: ogshead on June 02, 2011, 11:55:35 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 02, 2011, 10:10:43 AM
There's a serious lack of interest in Armagh Hurling on this site. How are all the leagues going? Who's winning what? Serious lack of Information from the County Board also.

Your right there... my working hours dictate the amount of games I go to which is zero for the year so far but there is no information on results or anything on internet from the county board. The cuchulianns do have a facebook page so I get their results handy enough but no other results or league tables
Post by: Applesisapples on June 03, 2011, 09:18:27 AM
Quote from: ogshead on June 02, 2011, 11:55:35 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 02, 2011, 10:10:43 AM

Your right there... my working hours dictate the amount of games I go to which is zero for the year so far but there is no information on results or anything on internet from the county board. The cuchulianns do have a facebook page so I get their results handy enough but no other results or league tables
Just saw the Irish News. Football tables in full, any sign of the Hurling? Nah! Armagh CB should look with shame at the Antrim and Down websites.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 10:04:37 AM
Cuchulains site is pretty good too, but generally the information available is poor.  2 years ago the tables were in the Irish News on a Friday.  In Division 2 so far the results that I know are:

Lisbellaw 9-16 Lisnaskea 1-4
Lisnaskea  1-15 Sean Tracey's 2-13
Naomh Colmcille 3-11  Lisbellaw 2-13
Sean Treacys 7-17 Naomh Colmcille 1-10
Castleblaney 1-13  Naomh Colmcille 2-13

I am not up to speed with the games involving Derrynoose.

Post by: Applesisapples on June 03, 2011, 10:10:28 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 10:04:37 AM
Cuchulains site is pretty good too, but generally the information available is poor.  2 years ago the tables were in the Irish News on a Friday.  In Division 2 so far the results that I know are:

Lisbellaw 9-16 Lisnaskea 1-4
Lisnaskea  1-15 Sean Tracey's 2-13
Naomh Colmcille 3-11  Lisbellaw 2-13
Sean Treacys 7-17 Naomh Colmcille 1-10
Castleblaney 1-13  Naomh Colmcille 2-13

I am not up to speed with the games involving Derrynoose.
What about the other Divisions? I think Cuhullains have lost two but I don't know about Division 3. Information is just poor all around.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 10:27:19 AM
Division 3:
Killeavy 2-13 Dundalk 1-15
Dundalk 0-7 Craobh Rua 5-14
Craobh Rua 3-11 Clonduff 4-6

Division 1:
Middletown 4-9 Cuchulainns 2-7
Dungannon DNF Keady W/O
Cuchulainns 3-6 Dungannon 2-15
Keady 1-14 Carrickmore 2-10
Post by: Applesisapples on June 03, 2011, 10:36:04 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 10:27:19 AM
Division 3:
Killeavy 2-13 Dundalk 1-15
Dundalk 0-7 Craobh Rua 5-14
Craobh Rua 3-11 Clonduff 4-6

Division 1:
Middletown 4-9 Cuchulainns 2-7
Dungannon DNF Keady W/O
Cuchulainns 3-6 Dungannon 2-15
Keady 1-14 Carrickmore 2-10
Where do you get this info?
Post by: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 11:13:15 AM
http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/f26/ (http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/f26/)
Post by: Applesisapples on June 03, 2011, 11:29:15 AM
Thanks
Post by: thewanderer on June 08, 2011, 10:45:08 AM
ogshead cuchulainns seem to have went back this year after showing improvement in the last few years. looks bad that they have a number of lads who wer u16 last year now playing on the team. have they any chance in the championship?
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on June 08, 2011, 01:32:14 PM
No chance whatsoever  - Although when the previously mentioned improvement of the previous years was happening you seemed to question such improvement at the time!! Strange

oh to be a hurling basher!!
Post by: ogshead on June 08, 2011, 08:46:03 PM
Quote from: thewanderer on June 08, 2011, 10:45:08 AM
ogshead cuchulainns seem to have went back this year after showing improvement in the last few years. looks bad that they have a number of lads who wer u16 last year now playing on the team. have they any chance in the championship?

I can't fault the effort of the people who are there. At least they're trying. I feel they missed a chance of the championship last year. The first half of the final killed them but they certainly pushed Keady in the second half. I haven't seen them this year yet so I can't pass any judgement... Real would know more about it than me.

As far as the underage is concerned... there has been a great effort put in by the management and I would hope than it has a positive effect on the Senior team when these boys are ready to through
Post by: Applesisapples on June 09, 2011, 09:25:44 AM
Who won the Craobh Rua/Derrynoose Shield match, I think Killeavy won the other SF.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on June 09, 2011, 10:23:54 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 09, 2011, 09:25:44 AM
Who won the Craobh Rua/Derrynoose Shield match, I think Killeavy won the other SF.

game not played as far as i know
Post by: Applesisapples on June 09, 2011, 11:41:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh Cúchulainns on June 09, 2011, 10:23:54 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 09, 2011, 09:25:44 AM

game not played as far as i know
Why? I think Derrynoose are struggling to field at the moment. Did Killeavy beat Portadown? I heard they had but the guy wasn't too sure.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 09, 2011, 12:07:28 PM
Has anyone any results from the league for Derrynoose?
Post by: thewanderer on June 22, 2011, 02:01:20 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on June 08, 2011, 01:32:14 PM
No chance whatsoever  - Although when the previously mentioned improvement of the previous years was happening you seemed to question such improvement at the time!! Strange

oh to be a hurling basher!!
u still in nets or full-time refereeing ( improvement had to be mentioned after last year when they kept close to keady in the final but not prior to that.) would u fancy middletown this year?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 09, 2022, 11:13:32 PM
Bump

Just looking at the Armagh GAA website to catch up on the club championship. I see at U15 there's a "North Armagh Hurling Club" that played against Keady in the U15 hurling league. Is this an amalgamated Lurgan/Portadown team for U15? Are they really that short of numbers at that age? I've seen Sean Treacy's stuff on FB recently and they seem to be in good shape at underage.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 11, 2022, 12:28:49 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 09, 2022, 11:13:32 PM
Bump

Just looking at the Armagh GAA website to catch up on the club championship. I see at U15 there's a "North Armagh Hurling Club" that played against Keady in the U15 hurling league. Is this an amalgamated Lurgan/Portadown team for U15? Are they really that short of numbers at that age? I've seen Sean Treacy's stuff on FB recently and they seem to be in good shape at underage.
It's an amalgamation, numbers appear to be light in both clubs at underage. Football is very strong in that area.
Post by: DuffleKing on August 11, 2022, 10:33:35 PM

As fasr as I can see about half of underage hurling fixtures on the Armagh website don't take place every week between postponements and concessions.