snooker world championship

Started by anportmorforjfc, April 09, 2007, 01:13:57 PM

Dire Ear

Quote from: Boycey on May 04, 2021, 11:00:59 AM
Eurosport? I actually thought the same watching it last night... I also never realized that there was such a depth of feeling against Selby til this tournament

Actually BBC2,  Virgo and was it Hendry,  ?

Quote from: Dire Ear on May 04, 2021, 10:49:29 AM
Fair play to Selby,  very professional in his play.
Would it be fair to say that the commentators weren't exactly impartial ie. gunning for Murphy more;  could be my immagination??
There were certainly some comments on BBC over the last week or so about his slow play and Murphy in full flow is a joy to watch* but I didn't think there was any real bad feeling towards feeling.

*There was a clear up in one of the later sessions when he was under pressure and he cleared the last few reds and colours in such a way that I was just shaking my head. He couldn't have put the cue ball in better positions using his hand.

I quite enjoy him, being able to play safety should be applauded not ridiculed. The evening session on day 1 of the final that ultimately won him the world title was as positive as you would see...

Wallace and Doherty into the senior quarters. White currently beating Knowles.

Taylor hung up the cue today.

Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2021, 08:31:56 PM

Are you living in 1987?

lenny

Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2021, 08:31:56 PM

Tyrone's greatest sportsman. He'd a great career.

Brazilian lad just bate Parrot

Dire Ear

Wallace Taylor match would have been great , but nice final touch with the interview

Brazilian lad just hammered Hendry

Wallace through to the semis.

Doherty getting it tough to meet him. 2-3 down in the quarters.

A show on Alex Higgins BBC 2.

Jim Bob

Tony kniwles has let himself go a bit....

An Watcher

See Mark Allen won last night.  Tense final frame v Higgins

Rich Ricci

Watched the majority of it. A decent enough match now to be fair. Allen wasn't as big a home town favourite as some would have you believe. Higgins had a decent share of support from the crowd. Allen's unionist persuasion probably played played part.

I watched the last 4 or 5 frames myself (first snooker I've watched in a long time), I said to the wife as we were watching, I'm torn here as Higgins is a good Celtic man, Allen is a bit of a hateful hoor with some very unlikeable politics. Wasn't the greatest snooker but it was tense & exciting.