The Armagh Harps Thread

Started by Rufus T Firefly, November 10, 2006, 11:11:04 PM

Quote from: thewingedlady on April 14, 2008, 08:17:17 PM
Molloy, Gadaffi, Mickey McGleenan and seamy co, 4 gents of the highest! You keep good company Stew  :D

Here, I didnt say I missed malloy, I havent spoken to Mickey in twenty years or so as I havent seen the man, Gadaffi scunders me every time I see him and Seamy co kicks the shite of of me in snooker down at the club and delights in getting me in headlocks, the fcuker is as strong as a bull.

There are soem powerful characters in Armagh and when you dont see them that often it is brilliant to see them but if I had to deal with gadaffi on a daily basis I would shoot somebody, probably gadaffi! :P

Candyman

He was over at the Cheltenham festival there recently.... some stories to be told on his return!!!!  :D

Quote from: Candyman on April 17, 2008, 03:26:09 PM
He was over at the Cheltenham festival there recently.... some stories to be told on his return!!!!  :D

make sure you post them.

Other lunactics of the harmless variety.

Twit H.
Bing.
Joe crow.
Biff.
Kevin O, the fruit & veg man.

Candyman

we should start a thread for local heroe's... let every1 tell their own piece about the local legend in their part of the world?!?!?!?
i'll let u work away....  ;)

Goats Do Shave

Gadaffi went down to Kerry one year with Seamy Corrigan, Gary Hughes & a crowd of fella's for the Armagh game.

Gadaffi got rote aff before he got down there, the lads listened to him for a while then he started going round the restaurant asking if anyone needed tea or coffee.... they  returned him to the hotel... hoping he'd sleep it off.

Next thing they were walking down the street & noticed a horse & cart coming, who was in it only the main man!

Eejit!!

We had Gaddaffi with us on a lads holiday in the Canaries about 12 yrs ago, great craic, but a lot of babysitting!

Candyman

I/WE took gadaffi to the Canaries about 5 years ago myself and Jesus it was mental!!! there was about 12 of us and we decided to go banana boating 1 day.... the mad Haffey couldnt swim but we persuaded him to go anyway for the craic... (a few volvo's involved ;))
We were out in the sea on the back of this when every1 couped off it and gadaffi was splashing about like a wee child but we told him it was ok cause he had the life jacket on!!! he managed to paddle over to one of the girls for help and pushed her under the water tryin to keep himself afloat on top of her!!!!
Also went on a booze cruise.... Gadaffi standing there in the middle of the boat singing with only a straw hat and a pair of sandles on him and about 200 mad young 1's in tears laughin!!!  :D :D :D There is a video of this somewhere too....  :o

thewingedlady

Favourite Gadaffi story...

There was a hen night in McVeighs a few years back and there was about 30 english women over for it, and aul Gadaffi as usual in the mix, as game as a pheasant.

At around ten or so he had exceeded his limit and was acting the maggot, including eating the banana which the stripper had brought with him and was using as a prop with the tied-up and blind folded bride-to-be!  :D  Anyway, i was escorting him out the door, which took the usual ten minutes or so cos he'll try and talk to everyone on the way out the door. Eventually i got him to the door, at which point he turned around to me and said "You're a dickhead, I couldda got the ride tonight!"

I nearly pished myself laughing!

Candyman

Ach now wingedlady there's another little story about a member of that party who nearly lost a nipple??? lol  :D :D :D  ;)

Lads seen a good article in last weeks papers about the Grimleys and their tour in Australia. there was good photo's in the paper with a few Harps supporters as well. Is this all to do with you're anniversary?

Skiddybadoo

Comisserations to the Feile team and management this evening.  The lads have played some great football this seson, but just came up against a very good side in Killeavy, whose No. 11 the quickest U14 I've ever seen.

Quote from: Skiddybadoo on April 19, 2008, 11:06:01 PM
Comisserations to the Feile team and management this evening.  The lads have played some great football this seson, but just came up against a very good side in Killeavy, whose No. 11 the quickest U14 I've ever seen.

Shhh, keep that quiet lad, if the cross wans see that he will end up playing for them before too long. :P

There was a hen night in McVeighs a few years back and there was about 30 english women over for it, and aul Gadaffi as usual in the mix, as game as a pheasant.

At around ten or so he had exceeded his limit and was acting the maggot, including eating the banana which the stripper had brought with him and was using as a prop with the tied-up and blind folded bride-to-be!  :D  Anyway, i was escorting him out the door, which took the usual ten minutes or so cos he'll try and talk to everyone on the way out the door. Eventually i got him to the door, at which point he turned around to me and said "You're a dickhead, I couldda got the ride tonight!"

Gadaffi and the roide should never be mentioned in the same sentence.

in 95 we went to Cork to watch Armagh v Cork in the national league and it ended in a draw, there were about 20 of us and it was a great wekend altogether however Gadaffi was expected at the game and was a no show. We wondered what had happened to him and on Monday night we found out. Gadaffi and biff and Joe crow and some other lunatic decided to buy a car from a scrapyard for fifty quid, the filled it up with beer and Armagh's finest Buckfast and the plan was to attack Cork, the problem was that they ended up at Clea lake near keady and thats as for as the car would go so naturally they drank until they passed out for two straight days. When me and Hooley asked gadaffi what happened all the could say was clea lake and make a sound like he was turning the ignition key in a car, that told us he broke down. Biff later filled in the blanks and I nearly pished meself laughing at the thought of them trying to get to Cork and managing to end up at Clea lake, they thumbed home polaxed and Biff sent the others on in front of him because he said they were duds and sure enough as soon as he lost gadaffi he got a lift inside five minutes. :D

Rufus T Firefly

Harps V Crossmaglen Rangers

Harps entertained Armagh and Ulster Champions Crossmaglen Rangers at Abbey Park on Sunday evening. Harps were hoping to continue their good form from last week's away win at Killeavey, but the opposition represented a major step up in class, and this was unfortunately reflected in the way the match panned out.

In dry and bright conditions, Harps started off attacking the dressing room goals and playing into a stiff enough breeze. In a half that never reached any great heights, Harps struggled to make any impact on the game. We were under pressure throughout the pitch, with chances for scores at a premium. However, any chances that did present were fired wastefully wide through some poor and hurried shooting. Crossmaglen's play was not of a particularly high standard either. They were guilty of some poor shooting. Despite this, they were clearly the better team, and indeed appeared to be playing within themselves. Despite their wides, they fired over five points without reply, and when a ball across our goals found John McEntee for a brilliant finish to the net, the game already looked up. This goal prompted Harps to make a change, with Kevin Daly being replaced by Sean Morrison, who immediately moved into the attack. Nippy had a wide from a scoreable free before Sean Morrison saved our blushes somewhat with a well taken point from play. However Rangers responded with a point on the stroke of half time to leave eight points in it at the break.

Half time, Harps 0-01, Rangers 1-06.

Harps started the second half with renewed determination, and were given hope when Kevin Kelly pointed a close in free. Although Rangers cancelled this out with a well taken fisted point, two further points from Kevin Kelly frees gave fresh hope. However it was to be short lived. Harps players twice turned over possession when under no pressure and on each occasion the ball ended over the bar. Rangers were now introducing a formidable array of substitutes and added a further two points almost at their ease. Harps attacks were now of the sporadic and hopeful variety, although they did bring a two further points, one from a Kevin Kelly free and the other a well taken fisted effort from Sean Morrison. Harpo was introduced in attack and gave his all but there was no doubt about the result. In the closing minutes Rangers played some effective possession football and ended the game with another fisted point to leave nine points in it at the finish.

Full time, Harps 0-06, Rangers 1-12.    

On reflection, this was a depressing performance all round for the Harps. The opposition represent a level where we would ideally like to be at, but Harps never looked like getting close despite the fact that Rangers played well within themselves and indeed fielded a team well short of full strength. The impression given was that many of the Harps players did not believe they could win the game, stood off their opponents and generally paid them too much respect, and that is what is particularly disappointing.

The Harps fielded as follows. Willie McSorley, Chuckie Morris, Martin Gill, Kevin Daly (Sean Morrison 0-2), Paddy Grimes, Collie Holmes, Jungle McKee, Philly McKinney, Charlie Vernon, Nippy Swift, Minnie Holmes (Harpo McKenna), Martin McCoy, Ebby Toal, Kevin Kelly 0-4 (0-4 frees) and Gerard McDonagh.

fcuksake

Quote from: stew on April 21, 2008, 06:27:25 PM

Gadaffi and the roide should never be mentioned in the same sentence.

in 95 we went to Cork to watch Armagh v Cork in the national league and it ended in a draw, there were about 20 of us and it was a great wekend altogether however Gadaffi was expected at the game and was a no show. We wondered what had happened to him and on Monday night we found out. Gadaffi and biff and Joe crow and some other lunatic decided to buy a car from a scrapyard for fifty quid, the filled it up with beer and Armagh's finest Buckfast and the plan was to attack Cork, the problem was that they ended up at Clea lake near keady and thats as for as the car would go so naturally they drank until they passed out for two straight days. When me and Hooley asked gadaffi what happened all the could say was clea lake and make a sound like he was turning the ignition key in a car, that told us he broke down. Biff later filled in the blanks and I nearly pished meself laughing at the thought of them trying to get to Cork and managing to end up at Clea lake, they thumbed home polaxed and Biff sent the others on in front of him because he said they were duds and sure enough as soon as he lost gadaffi he got a lift inside five minutes. :D

:D :D :D :D :D :D

classic
I don't know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.