Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on September 18, 2017, 10:40:10 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on September 18, 2017, 10:19:41 PM
Quote from: barelegs on September 18, 2017, 10:15:59 PM
Colin Holmes played with Armagh Harps during the 2000s.

On Harte and the Dublin game what I couldn't understand was the failure to man mark any of Dublin's key players. We did it against Murphy and Donegal but seemingly not against Dublin. Dublin made sure they marked Harte, McCann, Sludden and Donnelly we left Kilkenny and McCaffrey have the freedom of the park.

Mayo didn't make the same mistakes

Apples and oranges. Mayo went man to man on Dublin effectively.

We man marked Murphy and McBrearty against Donegal and were zonal after that. Dublin have 6 match winners in their forward line and another 3 or 4 on the bench ready to come in.

Can u think for yourselve instead of repeating the press/media line. Mayo man marked Kilkenny everywhere he went, the remainder of there backs played there men the way a bloody decent defender should, got stuck into them and made it a war, not standing off them when the ball was 60 yards up the field, whilst they has a player drop back almost 50% of the time to sweep in front of the full back line. Andrews, O Gara, Flynn, Manion, Scully are not match winners, v good players yes. Brogan was a match winner but isn't anymore.

I watched the game.

What sort of fantasy world are you living in?

Mannion is a match winner.

Andrews is a match winner, ask Mayo fans about what he did to them in 2015.

Flynn is a 4 time All Star and a bonafide matchwinner, maybe past his best but still capable of it. Costello who got a few minutes near the end came on in the All Ireland final last year and won the match for them.

Did any of you see Kilkenny's stats in SF v Final? He had 66 possessions in our game and 8 against Mayo!!! Holy f**k!!

Now I fully understand that we don't have a Keegan type player but Christ almighty that is shameful and a total reflection of all that was wrong in our gameplan. We aren't as well set up to match the Dubs than Mayo but feck me pink we should have done a whole lot better.

Legoman5

Quote from: southtyronegael on September 18, 2017, 10:26:49 PM
why would teamtalkmag have mickey harte on talkin shite after the all ireland? the man has no relevance in the modern game. you think hed be ashamed to talk about football the way he has left tyrone.

Harte has not left Tyrone anywhere and currently he has Tyrone in a better place than when he took over...

southtyronegael

Quote from: Legoman5 on September 19, 2017, 08:42:06 AM
why would teamtalkmag have mickey harte on talkin shite after the all ireland? the man has no relevance in the modern game. you think hed be ashamed to talk about football the way he has left tyrone.

Harte has not left Tyrone anywhere and currently he has Tyrone in a better place than when he took over...
really? Ulster champs 2001, div 1 league champs 2002 playing good football. Are we better than that now?

WT4E

Quote from: southtyronegael on September 19, 2017, 09:48:25 AM
Quote from: Legoman5 on September 19, 2017, 08:42:06 AM

really? Ulster champs 2001, div 1 league champs 2002 playing good football. Are we better than that now?

Ah now - I'm not a major Harte supporter but you really do make and idiot of yourself sometimes.

southtyronegael

Ok so tell me how Tyrone are any better off in 2016/17 than they were in 2001/02?

WT4E

Quote from: southtyronegael on September 19, 2017, 12:20:25 PM
Ok so tell me how Tyrone are any better off in 2016/17 than they were in 2001/02?

We have 3 Sams  :o

vallankumous

Quote from: WT4E on September 19, 2017, 01:09:55 PM

And a centre of excellence

Legoman5

Quote from: vallankumous on September 19, 2017, 01:23:04 PM

And a centre of excellence

Winning Ulsters at ease and tryin to win All Ireland against the greatest ever Gaa team! I dont think any team before Hartes era would get close to the current Dublin team!
Dont get me wrong i dont like his style but what you said is complete rubbish!
We are a top 4 in Ireland by a distance

Frank_The_Tank

Quote from: omagh_gael on September 19, 2017, 12:40:13 AM
Did any of you see Kilkenny's stats in SF v Final? He had 66 possessions in our game and 8 against Mayo!!! Holy f**k!!

Now I fully understand that we don't have a Keegan type player but Christ almighty that is shameful and a total reflection of all that was wrong in our gameplan. We aren't as well set up to match the Dubs than Mayo but feck me pink we should have done a whole lot better.

Petey Harte?
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

southtyronegael

did we win Sam in 2016/17?

Quote from: southtyronegael on September 19, 2017, 03:14:15 PM

Is this a pre-requisite for "success" in Tyrone? If so, we went the first 110 years of the GAA without "success". Count yourself lucky you arent from Derry or Armagh. Its because of Harte we havent sunk to their depths.

Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on September 19, 2017, 02:45:11 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on September 19, 2017, 12:40:13 AM

Petey Harte?

So you would have out Harte on Kilkenny to do a spoiling job? Kilkenny is the key cog in Dublin's transition from defence to attack. His stats alone indicate the difference in Tyrone's performance v Mayo's.

Quote from: southtyronegael on September 19, 2017, 03:14:15 PM

Did we win Sam pre-2001? How many AI semi finals did we appear in the 5 years preceding 2001? Are we likely to get put of the championship by a team like Sligo next year? We regularly hammer teams of that ilk these days. We are short of the very best teams at the minute, but that just might be our level for now. How are Armagh in comparison to where they were in 2001? What about Derry? They were similar levels to us then and are nowhere near us now. I'll take that for starters.

southtyronegael

Lads yous are missing the point. We were very good on 2002 then went to new level under Harte for around 7 or 8 years and now we are back to 2002 level. Only now we are much less enjoyable to watch.