The Official Golf Thread

Started by laoislad, December 28, 2006, 07:07:48 PM

My putting is pure shite at the minute, so I bought a new driver  ;D ;D. Ping 425! Weapon.

Quote from: JimStynes on June 09, 2021, 03:13:55 PM
My putting is pure shite at the minute, so I bought a new driver  ;D ;D. Ping 425! Weapon.

I have the G400 unreal yoke. Have my eye on G425 upgrade though as my chipping is terrible.

Quote from: trailer on June 09, 2021, 03:40:37 PM

I have the G400 unreal yoke. Have my eye on G425 upgrade though as my chipping is terrible.
You'll get a G410 at a better price for the same result. I changed to ping last year and striking has improved, class gear.

Quote from: Applesisapples on June 09, 2021, 04:37:17 PM

You'll get a G410 at a better price for the same result. I changed to ping last year and striking has improved, class gear.

I went from a titliest 910 so it's massive upgrade for me. Xstiff shaft as well! Goes out like a bullet compared to the titliest.

I like to get fitted though and I've yet to see anywhere fit you into the previous iterations.

Quote from: trailer on June 09, 2021, 04:49:30 PM

I like to get fitted though and I've yet to see anywhere fit you into the previous iterations.

We had a fitting day at the club but I went and booked another one at laganview. I tried all the other models and spent plenty of time trying different adjustments but the Ping 425 still came out the best. My putting is shite though so I might look at different putters this next while. I am not sure a different putter makes a whole pile of difference though.

Quote from: JimStynes on June 09, 2021, 05:18:06 PM

We had a fitting day at the club but I went and booked another one at laganview. I tried all the other models and spent plenty of time trying different adjustments but the Ping 425 still came out the best. My putting is shite though so I might look at different putters this next while. I am not sure a different putter makes a whole pile of difference though.

Made a huge difference for me although it was a good few years ago. Changed from a PING to a Never Compromise with a much shorter shaft. Went from a horrible putter to a decent one overnight. Went from 26 to 17 in three weeks and got down to 13 in a summer. Haven't played in years due to a bad car accident but bought a new to me Tittleist Driver today to see would it motivate back on to the course.

Quote from: JimStynes on June 09, 2021, 05:18:06 PM

Bought myself one of these yokes and find it's been a huge help not to worry about line and just concentrate on distance control!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08L7H8K4Z/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_ZGDJX2AKY0BRKJ9C2FMH

Andrew Morris will do a fitting for you, in drivers its mainly to do with loft, shaft and bias and both G410 and G425 should be available.

Mikhail Prokhorov

No interest in the golf?

Rory well enough placed for the weekend but only 6 pars yesterday probably indicates his game is too inconsistent at present....

Leona Maguire shooting the lights out too.

JPGJOHNNYG

Rory gets himself in contention and then it all goes a bit wrong. 2 clutch putts though will hopefully get him going again

How's Leyton Hewitt doing?