GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Blowitupref on July 01, 2021, 08:16:15 PM

Title: Leinster U20 football championship 2024
Post by: Blowitupref on July 01, 2021, 08:16:15 PM
Half time in the first round games.

Kildare 0-7 Westmeath 0-6
Louth 1-8 Longford 3-7
Wicklow 1-5 Laois 2-5
Carlow 0-2 Wexford 1-5

Results

Kildare 1-13 Westmeath 1-15
Louth 3-13 Longford  4-11
Wicklow 2-11 Laois 2-08
Carlow 0-08 Wexford 2-09
Title: Re: Leinster U20 football championship 2021
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2021, 09:17:24 PM
Bit of chaos at the end of the Louth Longford match as the scoreboard had it all square at the end.

Most followers there had it right. Nonetheless the Louth boys kicked up a fuss.

Longford were 3-03 to 0-00 up after 4 minutes but can be considered lucky to win in the end.

High scoring all around.

Post by: macker15 on July 01, 2021, 09:41:13 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2021, 09:17:24 PM
Bit of chaos at the end of the Louth Longford match as the scoreboard had it all square at the end.

Most followers there had it right. Nonetheless the Louth boys kicked up a fuss.

Longford were 3-03 to 0-00 up after 4 minutes but can be considered lucky to win in the end.

High scoring all around.

Is Harte managing the u20 as well?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2021, 09:26:00 AM
Longford playing our good friends from Westmeath this evening.

Throw in at 7.30pm. Game is on YouTube.

https://youtu.be/ELTEQn_7E20 (https://youtu.be/ELTEQn_7E20)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2021, 06:13:45 PM
Three quarter-finals tonight
Longford v Westmeath, Glennon Bros Pearse Park, 7.30pm
Wexford v Offaly, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 7.30pm
Dublin v Wicklow, Parnell Park, 7.30pm

Semi finals next Thursday

Meath v Dublin or Wicklow
Wexford or Offaly v Longford or Westmeath
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2021, 08:51:10 PM
Drawn game in Pearse Park. 3-5 to 2-8 extra time to be played

FT Dublin 1-12 Wicklow 1-8. Good effort by Wicklow against a Dublin side that had 10 of last years All Ireland final team.

FT Offaly 1-10 Wexford 1-9
Post by: twohands!!! on July 08, 2021, 09:11:45 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2021, 08:51:10 PM

FT Dublin 1-12 Wicklow 1-8. Good effort by Wicklow against a Dublin side that had 10 of last years All Ireland final team.

Wouldn't be a surprise if the Longford Westmeath game ends up going to penalties.

Level in the 2nd half of extra-time - about 9 minutes left now.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2021, 09:22:31 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 08, 2021, 09:11:45 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2021, 08:51:10 PM

Wouldn't be a surprise if the Longford Westmeath game ends up going to penalties.

Level in the 2nd half of extra-time - about 9 minutes left now.

Penalties it is. 3-9 to 2-12.

Westmeath winners 5-4 after sudden death penalties
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2021, 07:20:13 PM
Both semi finals are live on YouTube. Starting shortly.
https://youtu.be/FqrYEnSlfNg

https://youtu.be/f0kpfJtD89A

Half time

Offaly 1-5 Westmeath 1-3
Meath 0-2 Dublin 1-5

Results

Meath 0-13 Dublin 4-7
Offaly 1-11 Westmeath 1-9
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2021, 08:10:53 PM
Half time in the Leinster final.

Offaly I thought was the better side but the two goals the difference. Dublin 2-3 Offaly 0-8
Post by: caprea on July 22, 2021, 08:31:43 PM
This is an entertaining game to say the least. Dubs up by one.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2021, 08:42:29 PM
Quote from: caprea on July 22, 2021, 08:31:43 PM
This is an entertaining game to say the least. Dubs up by one.
Certainly is. Offaly 2 ahead 10 minutes to play.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 22, 2021, 08:45:58 PM
This fella with the mullet is pacey
Post by: Schkite on July 22, 2021, 08:51:58 PM
Fantastic stuff. Fair play Offaly, delighted for them
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2021, 08:58:28 PM
Congratulations to Offaly i think that's their first U20/U21 title since the mid 90s. The goals basically kept Dublin in the game only 6 scores in total.
Post by: Gael85 on July 22, 2021, 09:01:35 PM
Well done to Offaly.  Way better team. Dublin probably should lost to Meath as they had lots wides. Offaly 13 and 14 were class.
Post by: MayoBuck on July 22, 2021, 09:05:04 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 22, 2021, 08:45:58 PM

He gave a great interview for a 20 year old. Well done Offaly.
Post by: laoislad on July 22, 2021, 09:10:16 PM
Great game of football. Well done to Offaly.
Post by: Muck Savage on July 22, 2021, 09:17:05 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 22, 2021, 09:05:04 PM

Only 18, was on the 2020 minor team that got beat a few weeks ago in the final by Meath. Also played in the 2020 Leinster Minor hurling final a few weeks ago.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 22, 2021, 09:22:07 PM
Great match, well done offaly.
Post by: yellowcard on July 22, 2021, 09:24:09 PM
Great performance and result for Offaly. They were much the better side and looked like a very well coached outfit where everyone knew their role. Dublin for a county with superior resources on the other hand looked very ragged and disorganised. The Offaly barrel chested corner forward with the mullet produced some second half display, at times it felt like he was taking on the entire Dublin defence single handedly. Offaly were dogged in defence but once they turned over possession they were able to break at serious pace. The Offaly no 11 almost scored what would have been goal of the season in the first half only for a lack of composure at the finish.

Great to see this U20 competition getting exposure, it shows what can be done when a competition is properly promoted and TG4 do a great job.
Post by: Rudi on July 22, 2021, 09:33:56 PM
Something about Offaly, have to admire them, can always win big games. About 12 points the better team, Dublin were awful in the second half. Egan is a fantastic footballer.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2021, 09:57:31 PM
Brilliant watch. I was very impressed with Offaly's conditioning. 5, 9, 11 and 13 all very athletic and they all had a habit of changing direction/breaking the tackle just before a hand came in - kudos to the coaches there!

You can definitely see Dublin returning into the pack over the next few years. Barring their number 10 no one really stood out.
Post by: yellowcard on July 22, 2021, 11:02:30 PM
Dublin were physically bullied after the first quarter which was epitomised by the Dublin no.11 who started the game like a house on fire but faded badly after getting some close attention from his Offaly marker after the first water break. He was rattled after that and so were a lot of the Dublin team, they just couldn't match the intensity of the Offaly tackling and closing down space. The longer the match wore on the more Offaly upped their tackle rate, they were seriously well conditioned.

You have to give great to the Offaly coaching set up but they had some great individual performances as well.
I agree on an upcoming Dublin dip, they are not dominating at underage level and I think they will fall back in the next 5 or so years. They'll still be competitive but definitely won't be a shoe in for AI titles, just one of 3/4 teams capable of winning it.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 22, 2021, 11:27:04 PM
A couple of remarkable things about the game. Dublin scored their last point in the 12th minute. They got one score in the entire second half.

Like the games against Westmeath and Wexford, Offaly should have romped home but somehow didn't. However the team showed massive courage in making sure they didn't lose it either.

The fearlessness of the players was superb to watch. Continually driving forward with the ball, showing courage. Too many teams get possession and spend the day running back towards their own goal as that sense of adventure has been coached out of players. Dublin found it difficult to deal with the direct runners and regularly missed tackles or fouled.

In recent years Offaly have been quietly and gradually getting the house in order at underage and it's brilliant to see it starting to pay off.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2021, 11:59:28 PM
Ironic that the person who is responsible for a lot of this improvement in S&C in Offaly is a Dub.
Recently returned to Dublin as a GPO however
Post by: TheGreatest on July 23, 2021, 07:03:46 AM
Well done Offaly, great for Leinster, hope they go all the way and gradually mend into the senior panel, would love to see Egan light up Croker for years to come.

Post by: fearsiuil on July 23, 2021, 07:50:57 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2021, 11:59:28 PM
Ironic that the person who is responsible for a lot of this improvement in S&C in Offaly is a Dub.

Who is that?
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2021, 08:10:24 AM
Great result . Great to see Offaly footballers winning .
Post by: Hound on July 23, 2021, 10:07:42 AM
Well done to Offaly. Especially when they were so much the better team throughout yet couldn't kill off the 'big team', but they never waivered. Maybe the earlier games BnM mentioned stood to them in that regard.

Quote from: fearsiuil on July 23, 2021, 07:50:57 AM

Who is that?
Exactly, and was he really in charge of the Offaly U20 S&C? And any other teams?

And what Dublin club is he going to?

I'd be very surprised if he was going in as a standard GPO/GDO (ie half your time is spent taking PE classes for primary school boys and girls and the other half dealing with the young kids at the club).

2 or 3 of the big Dublin clubs hire an additional GPO, pay them more than the normal GPO. All funds come from the club membership or sponsors. Badging these guys as GPOs gets then around the ban on paid coaches. They are few and far between, Kilmacud have a well known one like this (who's name escapes me!).
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2021, 11:03:11 AM
Well done the Biffos.
A Dublin forward line scoring only 3 points.....
The u20 grade has given some great entertainment last few weeks and shows how attractive a game gaelic football can be.
Abolishing u21 didn't lead to the end of football as some doom merchants prophesied.
With Dublin and Kerry gone the 5 still standing will have no mental inferiority complexes.
Post by: larryin89 on July 23, 2021, 11:07:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 23, 2021, 11:03:11 AM
Well done the Biffos.
A Dublin forward line scoring only 3 points.....
The u20 grade has given some great entertainment last few weeks and shows how attractive a game gaelic football can be.
Abolishing u21 didn't lead to the end of football as some doom merchants prophesied.
With Dublin and Kerry gone the 5 still standing will have no mental inferiority complexes.

bar both Mayo games , where mayo contributed absolutely nothing in the context of attractive football . Sheridan and his management team would be banned for 20 years from management in crimes against gaelic football if it were up to me.
Post by: johnnycool on July 23, 2021, 11:28:11 AM
TG4 and their coverage of U20 hurling and football has been fantastic.

These levels are in my mind a purer version of the games where ability overrides tactical strangling of the games which is inclined to happen at senior.

Post by: Cunny Funt on July 23, 2021, 12:01:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 23, 2021, 11:28:11 AM

These levels are in my mind a purer version of the games where ability overrides tactical strangling of the games which is inclined to happen at senior.

TG4 are a national treasure. Imagine no TG4? Probably left to twitter updates for these games.
Post by: Gael85 on July 23, 2021, 12:56:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 23, 2021, 10:07:42 AM
Well done to Offaly. Especially when they were so much the better team throughout yet couldn't kill off the 'big team', but they never waivered. Maybe the earlier games BnM mentioned stood to them in that regard.

Who is that?
Exactly, and was he really in charge of the Offaly U20 S&C? And any other teams?

And what Dublin club is he going to?

I'd be very surprised if he was going in as a standard GPO/GDO (ie half your time is spent taking PE classes for primary school boys and girls and the other half dealing with the young kids at the club).

2 or 3 of the big Dublin clubs hire an additional GPO, pay them more than the normal GPO. All funds come from the club membership or sponsors. Badging these guys as GPOs gets then around the ban on paid coaches. They are few and far between, Kilmacud have a well known one like this (who's name escapes me!).

Padraic McDonald is one of Crokes GPO.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2021, 02:03:16 PM
Quote from: Muck Savage on July 22, 2021, 09:17:05 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 22, 2021, 09:05:04 PM

Only 18, was on the 2020 minor team that got beat a few weeks ago in the final by Meath. Also played in the 2020 Leinster Minor hurling final a few weeks ago.

Only joined the panel 2 weeks ago, he's in some shape for a lad that's 18. Outstanding interview, very mature.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2021, 02:16:44 PM

Who is that?
Dave Hare.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2021, 02:17:49 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 23, 2021, 12:01:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 23, 2021, 11:28:11 AM

TG4 are a national treasure. Imagine no TG4? Probably left to twitter updates for these games.
Thank you Michael D
Post by: caprea on July 23, 2021, 04:57:45 PM
Here's the link. Whole match is worth watching but if you only want to watch one part I'd recommend the run from the Offaly no. 11 in the 36th minute of the video (23rd minute of the match). Terrible miss at the end of it but electrifying run.

https://www.tg4.ie/en/player/categories/sport-tv-player/play/?pid=6264799139001&title=Áth%20Cliath%20v%20Uíbh%20Fhailí%20-%20C.C.%20Peile%20Laighean%20Fé%2020&series=GAA%20Beo&genre=Sport&pcode=624223
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 23, 2021, 05:22:58 PM
Quote from: caprea on July 23, 2021, 04:57:45 PM
Here's the link. Whole match is worth watching but if you only want to watch one part I'd recommend the run from the Offaly no. 11 in the 36th minute of the video (23rd minute of the match). Terrible miss at the end of it but electrifying run.

https://www.tg4.ie/en/player/categories/sport-tv-player/play/?pid=6264799139001&title=Áth%20Cliath%20v%20Uíbh%20Fhailí%20-%20C.C.%20Peile%20Laighean%20Fé%2020&series=GAA%20Beo&genre=Sport&pcode=624223

Great run indeed, but he's no Mugsy!  ;)
Title: Re: Leinster U20 football championship 2023
Post by: Blowitupref on April 04, 2023, 11:16:34 PM
Group stages of the Leinster championship finished tonight

Final standings

Group 1
1st Laois points 6   SD +10
2nd Meath points 4   SD +16
3rd Longford points 2 DS -9
4th Carlow points 0  SD -17

Group 2
1st Dublin points 6 SD 26+
2nd Louth points 3  SD -14
3rd Wicklow Points 2  SD  -1
4th Offaly points 1  SD -1

Group 3
1st Westmeath points 4  SD +13
2nd Kildare points 2 SD 8
3rd Wexford points 0 SD -15

Knock out stages

Meath v Westmeath
Louth v kildare

The winner of those two games will play Dublin,Laois in the semi finals (open draw)

Post by: shark on April 05, 2023, 01:01:20 PM
Meath getting home advantage against Westmeath makes absolutely no sense.
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 07:05:50 PM
Hopefully we'll turn things around tonight. Hard to understand the capitulation against Laois.

£11:99 to watch it on Clubber is a bit steep. LMFM will have to do.
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 07:44:36 PM
Meath 0-02
Westmeath 0-00

14 mins

Rough conditions, wind and rain in Ashbourne.
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 07:58:31 PM
Meath 0-03
Westmeath 0-00

28 mins

Meath with all the possession but not many scores
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 08:33:09 PM
Second half -  16mins

Meath            00-07
Westmeath  00-01

Westmeath finally grabbing their first score of the game.
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 08:42:54 PM
06mins 2nd half

Kildare: 0-7
Louth: 1-4
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 08:54:33 PM
Full Time 

Meath          0-08
Westmeath  1-03

Last kick of the game is a successful penalty for Westmeath but result was never in doubt as Meath dominated possession for most of the game in rough conditions.
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 08:55:48 PM
19mins 2nd half

Kildare: 0-10
Louth: 1-5
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 09:04:20 PM
28mins 2nd half

Kildare: 0-11
Louth: 1-6

Semi finals
Meath vs Dublin
Laois vs Kildare/Louth
Post by: thejuice on April 11, 2023, 09:15:23 PM
Full time

Kildare: 0-12
Louth: 1-06

Semi to be played next week.
Meath vs Dublin
Laois vs Kildare
Post by: Blowitupref on April 17, 2023, 06:56:51 PM
Semi finals tomorrow.

Meath v Dublin, Pairc Tailteann, 6.30pm
Laois v Kildare, Portlaoise, 7.30pm

Link to watch matches

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGxJv8MQ8gs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWeHlfyPz-c
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 07:04:17 PM
Half time in the first of the two semi finals.

Meath 0-6 Dublin 0-8
Post by: imtommygunn on April 18, 2023, 07:30:12 PM
Dublin are just a better team so far. Some good football in the,. Meath not a bad team either the to them.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 07:52:53 PM
Strong 2nd half showing by Dublin to win 0-14 to 0-10. On the evidence of tonight Meath haven't built on their success at minor level 2020/21 while Dublin not for the first time at U20 or U21 level have greatly improved since then.

Half time in the other semi final Laois 0-4 Kildare 0-9

Post by: Gael85 on April 18, 2023, 08:07:40 PM
Kildare will start as favourites against Dublin. Luke Breathnach appeared to put up a serious injury for Dublin.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 08:17:49 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 18, 2023, 08:07:40 PM
Kildare will start as favourites against Dublin. Luke Breathnach appeared to put up a serious injury for Dublin.

They outscored Meath tonight after Luke Breathnach went off injured  0-11 to 0-6. Dubin should be favourites against whoever they face in the final.

And Kildare it will be who had it all too easy against Laois. A repeat of last years U20 Leinster final.

Post by: Gael85 on April 18, 2023, 09:26:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 08:17:49 PM

They outscored Meath tonight after Luke Breathnach went off injured  0-11 to 0-6. Dubin should be favourites against whoever they face in the final.

And Kildare it will be who had it all too easy against Laois. A repeat of last years U20 Leinster final.

Since change from u21 to 20 Dublin haven't beaten Kildare at this level. Injuries starting to pile up with O'Connor-Flanagan also going off injured and already missing Hugh O'Sullivan and James Cotter.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 09:40:45 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 18, 2023, 09:26:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 18, 2023, 08:17:49 PM

Since change from u21 to 20 Dublin haven't beaten Kildare at this level. Injuries starting to pile up with O'Connor-Flanagan also going off injured and already missing Hugh O'Sullivan and James Cotter.

Odds with Paddy Powers to win Leinster final Dublin 8/15 Kildare 11/8.
Post by: Gael85 on April 18, 2023, 09:52:25 PM
Game fixed for Carlow next Tuesday @7-30.
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2023, 06:05:15 AM
Disappointing, thought we matched them in most places except in attacking which didn't use the space that was there and just some poor shooting in general.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 25, 2023, 08:02:52 PM
Kildare and Dublin two well matched teams going by that 1st half.
Post by: Gael85 on April 25, 2023, 08:14:54 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 25, 2023, 08:02:52 PM
Kildare and Dublin two well matched teams going by that 1st half.

Dublin doing ok but Kildare have the breeze in second half.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 25, 2023, 08:41:40 PM
54 minutes played level game 0-10 each. Extra time required. FT Dublin 0-11 Kildare 0-11
Post by: Gael85 on April 25, 2023, 08:54:59 PM
Dublin have never beaten Kikdare at u20.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 25, 2023, 09:14:41 PM
Half time in extra time last. Dublin 0-12 Kildare 0-14
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 25, 2023, 09:16:19 PM
Both teams leaving it all out there. They are young lads so plenty of rushes to the head throughout but the defending has been outstanding.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 25, 2023, 09:29:05 PM
FT AET Kildare 0-16 Dublin 0-13. First time Kildare have retained a Leinster U20/21 title since the mid 60s

Post by: Captain Obvious on April 25, 2023, 09:35:12 PM
Dublin getting into a habit of losing underage finals now. How many of the Naas Hogan cup winning team from last year is on that Kildare U20 team?
Post by: blanketattack on April 25, 2023, 10:11:19 PM
The GAA won't stand for this lack of underage success for Dublin, tomorrow expect to hear the gaa announce 50 new full-time coaches for Dublin and a blank cheque.
Post by: Hound on April 26, 2023, 08:17:14 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on April 25, 2023, 10:11:19 PM
The GAA won't stand for this lack of underage success for Dublin, tomorrow expect to hear the gaa announce 50 new full-time coaches for Dublin and a blank cheque.
Games development funding was at club level not county level. Low level coaches half funded by clubs mostly at primary school age - boys and girls - to get them up to the club to participate in football and hurling/camogie. Such coaches do not go near elite level players, who are coached from U14 up by ex-Dublin players who volunteer. They do get diet plans and other add-ons, which has to be paid for and I presume is funded by sponsorship, but I doubt they are looked after better than Kildare, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone.
Dublin have always underachieved at minor level given our population advantage. We tend to improve a lot from minor to U20, and then lads tend to kick on again from there - which I put down to playing in Div 1 and 2 of club football in Dublin, which is a very high level and much more depth than most other counties.

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 25, 2023, 09:16:19 PM
Both teams leaving it all out there. They are young lads so plenty of rushes to the head throughout but the defending has been outstanding.
Game could have gone either way, Dubs will feel they should have won it in normal time. But fair play to Kildare for getting the draw and then definitely deserved to win in extra time. I think that's 3 years in a row Kildare have beaten us?
Personally I think this was the best Dubs U20 team in a while - certainly in terms of the numbers who I expect to progress to senior intercounty level. So could be a good sign for Kildare
Post by: High Fielder on April 26, 2023, 08:58:05 AM
Quote from: Hound on April 26, 2023, 08:17:14 AM
Games development funding was at club level not county level. Low level coaches half funded by clubs mostly at primary school age - boys and girls - to get them up to the club to participate in football and hurling/camogie. Such coaches do not go near elite level players, who are coached from U14 up by ex-Dublin players who volunteer. They do get diet plans and other add-ons, which has to be paid for and I presume is funded by sponsorship, but I doubt they are looked after better than Kildare, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone.

Literally worlds away from what happens in most counties

Post by: blanketattack on April 26, 2023, 10:39:06 AM
Quote from: Hound on April 26, 2023, 08:17:14 AM
Dublin have always underachieved at minor level given our population advantage. We tend to improve a lot from minor to U20, and then lads tend to kick on again from there - which I put down to playing in Div 1 and 2 of club football in Dublin, which is a very high level and much more depth than most other counties.

It looks like €16million wasn't enough (coaching/game development grants from GAA central funds from 2007 to 2017)

(https://tinypic.host/images/2023/04/26/DVEAWZUX4AAl8ck.jpeg)
Post by: Laois Rising on April 27, 2023, 02:49:37 PM
The high investment in Derry is certainly starting the bear fruit at senior level now.
Post by: Hound on April 27, 2023, 04:35:00 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on April 26, 2023, 10:39:06 AM
It looks like €16million wasn't enough (coaching/game development grants from GAA central funds from 2007 to 2017)
Well absolutely. Paying young coaches to teach young primary school children very basic gaelic and hurling skills at PE (mainly with little bean bags according to my kids)  once a week will increase participation but will do nothing to turn children into elite players.

I would say most of the current Dublin panel never received a single proper training session from these games development officers that received the 50% funding, yet they seem to get all the credit! An Offaly lad on the Leinster thread said the reason Offaly v Meath didn't draw a 45,000 crowd was because of these coaches organising bean bag throwing sessions for Dublin 6 year old boys and girls. It's hilarious! Believe the lies and ignore the truth. And there must be dozens of people from the country who live in Dublin and post here and know what these games development/promotion funding is all about, but people prefer to believe the social media hyperbole and blame their own county's failures on it.

Post by: Blowitupref on April 10, 2024, 01:01:07 AM
2024 group stage done and dusted. 

Two Quarter finals next week.

Laois v Meath
Louth v Wicklow

The two winners play Dublin and Kildare in the semi finals.
Title: Re: Leinster U20 football championship 2024
Post by: Blowitupref on April 16, 2024, 10:22:22 PM
Result tonight

Meath 4-8 Laois 1-10
Louth 2-11 Wicklow 1-9

Semi final line up

Dublin v Louth
Meath v Kildare
Post by: Rossfan on April 23, 2024, 09:05:25 PM
Wins for Louth and Meath (u17 AI Champions 2021).
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 23, 2024, 09:19:07 PM
Brilliant from Meath tonight. With two of our best players out injured. (Along with earlier injuries). Some performances. Great game management and brilliant performance from sideline.
Hon the royal
Post by: Blowitupref on April 23, 2024, 09:36:20 PM
Leinster U20 semi final results.  No repeat of last years and 2022 Leinster final and the defending All Ireland champions out.

Louth 1-13 Dublin 1-9
Meath 2-9 Kildare 0-10

Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 24, 2024, 03:34:31 AM
Congratulations to Louth and Meath.  Hopefully those U-20s can be part of successful senior teams.
Post by: Dunneroyal on April 24, 2024, 08:04:45 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 24, 2024, 03:34:31 AMCongratulations to Louth and Meath.  Hopefully those U-20s can be part of successful senior teams.
Lot of them u20s are from the minor all ire and Leinster winning team from Meath.  That's why so many of us gets annoyed when we here no underage succes been spouted by o'se and co. We have extremely talented footballers coming up. Some on senior team already like frayne etc who have won Leinster at underage and indeed in this group who have minor all ire medals. Now that does not guarantee success at senior but it gives a good foundation. O'Bric the current u20 manger and the one who managed the minors to all ire has to be installed as senior manager next year. To allow these players to come through and develop what is there. I said it before under him Meath will win Leinster and challenge for sam within 5 years. But if we keep with Colm we will go nowhere and probably lose many of these players to other sports
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 24, 2024, 11:10:13 AM
I think the massive issue with Kildare and Meath especially is that we are really failing the talented players making the step up from underage.

Like Kildare have won U20 titles in 2018, were finalists in 2022 and won it again in 2023. The issue is that these lads are thrown into a shitshow and are not let bulk and train to be really ready to make a difference.

Dublin only need 1 or 2 lads and they sit down in a dressing room with the likes of Fenton and Kilkenny to guide them. Plus, all the other supports.

Meath were very direct and have some great hard-running young lads. Fully deserved the win.