Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 09:22:33 AM

Title: Dog Advice
Post by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 09:22:33 AM
Thinking about getting a dog for the kids....well they have me tortured and I'm on the verge of giving in.
I wouldn't have the time or knowledge to train a pup so wondering what kind of dog to get that is low maintenance, can be kept outside in a kennel overnight and most importantly is good with kids.
I like labradors myself, but I think they're probably quite high maintenance in that it will need long walks etc.
I'm thinking probably a small dog of some sort that gets enough exercise in the garden.

Any recommendations?
Title: Re: Dog Advice
Post by: Hound on May 01, 2013, 09:49:00 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 09:22:33 AM
Thinking about getting a dog for the kids....well they have me tortured and I'm on the verge of giving in.
I wouldn't have the time or knowledge to train a pup so wondering what kind of dog to get that is low maintenance, can be kept outside in a kennel overnight and most importantly is good with kids.
I like labradors myself, but I think they're probably quite high maintenance in that it will need long walks etc.
I'm thinking probably a small dog of some sort that gets enough exercise in the garden.

Any recommendations?
If you can't bring the dog on a daily walk then I'd recommend waiting until the kids are big enough, and commit to, bringing the dog on a walk themselves. Every dog needs walking, bigger dogs need more walking. Also someone needs to commit to cleaning up the "dirt" from the garden every day.

There's a huge range of little dogs you can get that are fine with kids. Take note on how often they should have their coat brushed, and again that's a job someone has to take on. If you are getting a little dog and leaving it outside all the time, obviously make sure it has adequate shelter and strongly consider getting two of them, so one alone doesn't have a miserable experience. Obviously two means a bit more work and more cost.
Post by: southdown on May 01, 2013, 10:19:52 AM
Labrador.  Lovely temperment, can be kept outdoors and low maintenance.  Lovely dog and no fear of it turning nasty with young kids.  I had one for 16 years and she was actually very protective of my younger sisters.

Labradors do need exercize.  I you have a decent sized garden you will be fine.
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2013, 10:43:49 AM
Quote from: southdown on May 01, 2013, 10:19:52 AM
Labrador.  Lovely temperment, can be kept outdoors and low maintenance.  Lovely dog and no fear of it turning nasty with young kids.  I had one for 16 years and she was actually very protective of my younger sisters.

Okay, so in the first six months it chewed the legs of the furniture but hey - we love her. We started by keeping it outside during the day, but it cried and now we keep her in, but hey, we love her. And it casts an awful lot but hey, we love her. And it takes over the couch, but hey, we love her. And it wants to go everywhere with us, but hey, we love her. And being a bitch, it burned and ruined my lawn, but hey, we love her.
Post by: T Fearon on May 01, 2013, 12:04:51 PM
I wouldn't have the time or knowledge to train a pup so wondering what kind of dog to get that is low maintenance, can be kept outside in a kennel overnight and most importantly is good with kids

Is it a dog or a new wife you're after?
Post by: 5 Sams on May 01, 2013, 12:08:25 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2013, 10:43:49 AM
Quote from: southdown on May 01, 2013, 10:19:52 AM

Okay, so in the first six months it chewed the legs of the furniture but hey - we love her. We started by keeping it outside during the day, but it cried and now we keep her in, but hey, we love her. And it casts an awful lot but hey, we love her. And it takes over the couch, but hey, we love her. And it wants to go everywhere with us, but hey, we love her. And being a bitch, it burned and ruined my lawn, but hey, we love her.

Agree with everything Orior says. When a lab is a pup keep everything 4 feet of the ground cause they'll munch everything. Doors, table legs, etc will be destroyed. I disagree with South Down however. It won't be grand if you leave it in a big back garden. The hoors need good long runs or walks  daily.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 12:21:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 01, 2013, 12:04:51 PM
I wouldn't have the time or knowledge to train a pup so wondering what kind of dog to get that is low maintenance, can be kept outside in a kennel overnight and most importantly is good with kids

Well I'll consider anything.... :)
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2013, 12:56:29 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 12:21:38 PM

One will give 100% unconditional love... and the other.... hmmm tough choice.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 01, 2013, 12:59:38 PM
Remember, Gun dogs/hounds/sporting dogs (labs,setters,springers, collies etc) will need at least one hour 'off lead' high tempo excercise a day otherwise they will literally go round the bend.
Small dogs (Wesites, yorkies etc) dont need alot of excercise with smaller legs ie throw a ball up and down the drive for a half hour is suffice but they mightened adapt to sleeping outside.
My bet is to get a gold fish! Only joking. 'If' you do proceed I would recomend a mongrel / cross bred not mixed with high energy breeds as a pup from a local kennell or rehoming centre.
Think long and hard.......
Post by: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 01:27:54 PM
Get them a tamogachi and see how they on with that first. If they let it die, they ain't getting no dog!!
Post by: rosnarun on May 01, 2013, 01:35:04 PM
if you have a big back yard get a few cats and rabbits too . that'll take care of excercize problem.
nothing they like like chasing small animals
Post by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 02:06:26 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on May 01, 2013, 12:59:38 PM
Remember, Gun dogs/hounds/sporting dogs (labs,setters,springers, collies etc) will need at least one hour 'off lead' high tempo excercise a day otherwise they will literally go round the bend.
Small dogs (Wesites, yorkies etc) dont need alot of excercise with smaller legs ie throw a ball up and down the drive for a half hour is suffice but they mightened adapt to sleeping outside.
My bet is to get a gold fish! Only joking. 'If' you do proceed I would recomend a mongrel / cross bred not mixed with high energy breeds as a pup from a local kennell or rehoming centre.

When you say "mightened adapt to sleeping outide", do you mean even in a shed?
Purely from a practical point of view for things like transportation I was thinking of some of the smaller breeds. Though I have always liked the labradors and boxer type dogs.
But I think if we get one it'll have to be a small dog, but only if we can keep it outside. We have a good sized garden and it wouldnt be left exposed to the elements, but I get the feeling these small dogs (like westies/shitzue's/lhasa apso) need to be kept in the house.

Quote from: rosnarun on May 01, 2013, 01:35:04 PM
if you have a big back yard get a few cats and rabbits too . that'll take care of excercize problem.
nothing they like like chasing small animals

We've been down the rabbit road before....twice....and it ended badly both times! So definitely not getting another one of them.
Oh and I hate cats....plus one of our cubs seems to be allergic to them. He has exczema and our childminder recently got a cat, ever since then his skin has been flaring up. He seems to be grand with dogs though, my auld fella had one and it never seemed to affect him.
Post by: Main Street on May 01, 2013, 02:13:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2013, 12:56:29 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 12:21:38 PM

One will give 100% unconditional love... and the other.... hmmm tough choice.
Thing is, a dog is for life but a wife is disposable. Choose your dog with the utmost care.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 01, 2013, 02:34:19 PM
I have had a dog(or 3 at one stage) since I was 5.  We currently have a Jack Russell and a Border Collie cross breed of some description(pup of the FILs Sheepdog)  The Jack is fine but the Collie needs a lot of excercise.   It wouldn't be as high maintenance though as a Lab would and is very intelligent and obedient and great with kids.  We have had the Jack 13 years now and he is brilliant with the kids.  Low maintenance, though he loves the house but doesn't shed.  He is also a very clever dog.  I can walk both dogs lead-less and it is completely no issue.
Post by: Main Street on May 01, 2013, 03:12:08 PM
If you have a good sized garden, you can train the collie to do laps.
Usually they are self motivated to do a few sentry rounds, then you just have to keep them doing the rounds.
Much easier than training the wife.
Post by: beer baron on May 01, 2013, 03:13:11 PM
Friend of mine got a little dog called a Bichon friese i think it is,very friendly little white dog,not too mad and don't shed any hair at all  :D Unlike my Jack Russell who sheds enough to fill the hoover every day  >:( Where does it all come from?She's tiny
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 01, 2013, 03:15:05 PM
Dogs are pack animals, and will see a family as the pack if no other dogs are around. Therefore do not like being alone. And small 'toy' dogs can frighten easy especially when left alone so tend to attach themselves to their owners more. Thats why Guard dogs are always anger merchants
Post by: qubdub on May 01, 2013, 03:54:41 PM
anyone any dealings with rottweilers?
Post by: Hound on May 01, 2013, 04:14:23 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on May 01, 2013, 03:15:05 PM
Dogs are pack animals, and will see a family as the pack if no other dogs are around. Therefore do not like being alone. And small 'toy' dogs can frighten easy especially when left alone so tend to attach themselves to their owners more. Thats why Guard dogs are always anger merchants
Indeed.
A small dog left outside all the time, rarely if ever gets walked, on it own for a big part of the day, will be absolutely miserable.
A big dog would be worse.
All would be more likely to become cranky.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 04:22:12 PM
So if I'm reading this right, a small dog really needs to be kept in the house?
If the dog was to be kept outside it would need to be one of the larger types as it doesnt get as attached or scared as easy?

Jeez, it's starting to sound like more bother than its worth.

Anyone know anything about Goldfish?

Post by: Billys Boots on May 01, 2013, 04:35:21 PM
Dog advice - if you're not 100% sure and committed to having a dog, don't do it.  For your sake and theirs. 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 01, 2013, 04:37:35 PM
Having a dog is like having a child

Seriously
Post by: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 04:44:33 PM
Quote from: qubdub on May 01, 2013, 03:54:41 PM
Great family dogs. Females much smaller and easier handled. Very very smart. Good protectors and companions for kids.
We have a new 18 month old doberman coming on the 18th of this month  - can't wait!

Post by: Aerlik on May 01, 2013, 04:48:58 PM

I house-shared with a lad in Queensland who had the most beautiful natured large dog I have ever had the pleasure of being around, a Rottweiler.  He was absolutely fantastic and I used to love taking him for walks. He was powerful and intelligent but scared shitless of the cat.  BUT, God help any other dog round about as he would have torn lumps out of him.  Sadly he died only two years ago at aged 8.  Bear that in mind with any dog bigger than a Collie.
I cannot say enough about Jack Russells.  We had a few when I was a wane growing up in Co.Derry.  Loyal, funny, great guard dogs, superb around young children, and we never had any issues with them staying out in the shed at night, just so long as they were kept warm.  If you do decide to get a JR, don't do what Aussies do and spend hundreds for what is essentially a mongrel.  We had a JR that could count.  We would ask: Two from two, and it would say nothing.

Re. temperament around children, as with any dog as long as you train the dog from day dot that it is the bottom of the hierarchy you shouldn't have any issues.  I know people who had a Belgian Shepherd for a family pet.  They are used by French police and are considered more aggressive and effective than Alsations, Dobermans and Rotties.  Those people never had any issues.
Post by: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 04:53:40 PM
wouldnt have a westie near young kids. They arent the friendliest. i know from seeing my neighbours westie go for a baby, the dog was fine any other time i seen it but it flipped once. didnt last after that incident. Rightly so.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 01, 2013, 04:54:39 PM
Btw – I should say I have a ten month old beagle – and he's brilliant.  ;D

He gets a 20 minute walk in the morning, 45 minutes to an hour off-lead in the dog park when I get home and another quick 10 minute walk before bedtime.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 01, 2013, 05:05:39 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 04:53:40 PM
wouldnt have a westie near young kids. They arent the friendliest. i know from seeing my neighbours westie go for a baby, the dog was fine any other time i seen it but it flipped once. didnt last after that incident. Rightly so.

Fook that! I would have thought its one of the mildest temperament of breeds, but cheers for the info. I'll defo be avoiding it if we do decide to go for one.
Post by: Aerlik on May 01, 2013, 05:20:07 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 04:53:40 PM

My brother has a Westie. It is an absolute angel.  Well bred and a great wee pet.  Now the Cairn Terrier, however, my aunt had one and Jesus any time you move the fekker would make a go for you.  When the aunt wasn't watching the hoor got a skelp from me.  Fekker
Post by: qubdub on May 01, 2013, 05:44:02 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 04:44:33 PM
Great family dogs. Females much smaller and easier handled. Very very smart. Good protectors and companions for kids.
We have a new 18 month old doberman coming on the 18th of this month  - can't wait!

Quote from: Aerlik on May 01, 2013, 04:48:58 PM

I house-shared with a lad in Queensland who had the most beautiful natured large dog I have ever had the pleasure of being around, a Rottweiler.  He was absolutely fantastic and I used to love taking him for walks. He was powerful and intelligent but scared shitless of the cat.  BUT, God help any other dog round about as he would have torn lumps out of him.  Sadly he died only two years ago at aged 8.  Bear that in mind with any dog bigger than a Collie.
have a female lab already but she's getting old and am considering a pup for some companionship for her as she is alone a lot of the time. would love a rottweiler (or another lab - something that needs plenty of exercise) but people seem put off by rottweilers.

I've a theory, dogs are only as good or as bad as they've been trained.
Post by: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 06:24:02 PM
I don't understand why anyone would have killer dogs anywhere near children. I wouldn't trust any dog, but especially not dobermans, rottweilers etc.
Post by: Hardy on May 01, 2013, 06:53:33 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 01, 2013, 04:35:21 PM
Dog advice - if you're not 100% sure and committed to having a dog, don't do it.  For your sake and theirs. 

... and the neighbours'.
Post by: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 07:55:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 06:24:02 PM
I don't understand why anyone would have killer dogs anywhere near children. I wouldn't trust any dog, but especially not dobermans, rottweilers etc.
Any dog abused by its owners could be a killer dog.
Post by: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 08:03:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 07:55:29 PM

A dog doesn't have to have been abused to be a potential killer. Any dog is capable of ripping a young child to pieces, or doing serious harm.
Post by: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 08:10:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 08:03:47 PM

A dog doesn't have to have been abused to be a potential killer. Any dog is capable of ripping a young child to pieces, or doing serious harm.
So you're not a dog person then.
What about most farm animals? A good kick from a cow or a goat or a butt from a yo would do serious harm or even kill a child. Do you trust them?

Post by: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 08:35:45 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 08:10:45 PM
What about most farm animals? A good kick from a cow or a goat or a butt from a yo would do serious harm or even kill a child. Do you trust them?

It's not a case of whether I'm a dog person or not. Alot of dogs live in the home these days, around young children all the time. Most farm animals like cows, sheep, horses etc have their own environment/spaces, for obvious reasons. And no, I wouldn't trust them when around them either. But most people would exercise caution with children around animals, but don't seem to with dogs.
Post by: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 08:43:07 PM
the dog is a domesticated animal. It's ok if you dont understand why people have dogs in their homes or trust that their family pets wont kill their kids.
We can agree to disagree.
I love dogs. I love big dogs. This will be my second Doberman - I wouldn't have another breed (at this point)
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2013, 08:50:08 PM
Also, if you're not sure about commitment, then buy a couple of goldfish.

That requires discipline from the kids, and after a week see if they get bored with cleaning the bowl etc.

PS. Give the 2 goldfish names like "One" and "Two". Therefore if one dies you will still have two.
Post by: qubdub on May 01, 2013, 09:11:37 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 08:35:45 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 08:10:45 PM

It's not a case of whether I'm a dog person or not. Alot of dogs live in the home these days, around young children all the time. Most farm animals like cows, sheep, horses etc have their own environment/spaces, for obvious reasons. And no, I wouldn't trust them when around them either. But most people would exercise caution with children around animals, but don't seem to with dogs.
Any dog owner with half a brain cell wouldn't leave a young child or toddler unsupervised with a pet dog.
Post by: moysider on May 01, 2013, 11:21:17 PM

Not true.
Post by: moysider on May 01, 2013, 11:22:06 PM

Also not true.
Post by: BennyCake on May 01, 2013, 11:30:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 01, 2013, 11:22:06 PM

Also not true.

Which bit isn't true?
Post by: trileacman on May 02, 2013, 12:25:27 AM

Also not true.

What part isn't true?
Post by: moysider on May 02, 2013, 01:11:55 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 02, 2013, 12:25:27 AM

Also not true.

What part isn't true?

The bits in bold are both shite. The underlined bits especially so. Go have a look at a few dog breeds. They re not all Rotts, Dobers and Pitts.

People that keep King Charles, Labs, Chi s, Shi s etc. are not likely to abuse by negligance ,or deliberately abuse their dogs to be vicious. But some 'individuals'  will buy a pup from a breed of reputation for viciousness, for status, and treat it as a young Mike Tyson. I've  see this happening. I m aware of at least one person that tried to make an Alsatian vicious by kicking the shite out of it. That does happen with certain individuals and certain breeds of dogs. In this instance the poor dog was a patsy with all temper bred out of it. But that type of stuff goes on.
In the big scheme 99% of dogs are 100%.

Post by: Puckoon on May 02, 2013, 05:15:34 AM
Moysider, you're way off base with the assertion that any dog cannot cause damage. I'm a dog lover, and I think you're trying to say that most dogs WON'T cause damage. That's very very different from saying that they CAN'T cause damage. They are animals, with physical mechanisms designed for hunting and or protection. Any dog breed can inflict damage, particularly on a small child or baby. Just cause it's a King Charles doesn't mean it doesn't have the apparatus to hurt.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 02, 2013, 10:21:11 AM
Ok....so now we're onto the topic of dangerous dogs.
Not really the intention of this thread, but some interesting points.
For what its worth, I wouldnt leave a child on its own with a dog...unless it's a really small dog and the child is at least 8 or 9.
Anything other than that its not worth the risk. Animals is animals and all that.

My kids range from 7 all the way down to 9 months. So part of the reason why I was thinking of a small dog as opposed to the likes of a labrador was the safety aspect. And as we have twin 9 month old babies, I wouldnt want it in the house.

So should we go for one, it would have to be a small dog that's hardy enough to sleep outside (in a shed) at night. we've a good size garden and ample space in a shed to protect a dog from elements.

So what breed to go for, given the age of the kids and the requirements for it to stay outside?
Post by: moysider on May 02, 2013, 10:32:50 AM
Dont agree with dogs being kept in sheds in gardens. Why bother with one at all?

But if you must, a Jack Russel, or any small mongerel terrier is probably best. Smart and good with kids as well.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 02, 2013, 10:46:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 02, 2013, 10:32:50 AM
Dont agree with dogs being kept in sheds in gardens. Why bother with one at all?

But if you must, a Jack Russel, or any small mongerel terrier is probably best. Smart and good with kids as well.

Can you explain why? Personally I dont agree with animals of any sort being kept in the house for hygiene and odour purposes.
That doesn't mean we wouldn't look after it properly, but at the end of the day its an animal, not a person and should be treated as any other animal. I was brought up on a farm, though we never had dogs, but all our animals were kept in sheds...they didn't seem to mind too much.
Post by: BennyCake on May 02, 2013, 11:39:19 AM
No animal should get through the door. I can't fathom these house dogs who are treated better than a child, and the house is feckin' stinking because the owners can't smell it, as their smell becomes atuned to it.
Post by: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 11:43:55 AM

I don't agree with dogs being kept in the house. How do you teach them to wipe their arses? Would you live with a human walking around where you eat with dangleberries hanging out of him?
Post by: snoopdog on May 02, 2013, 04:34:25 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 02, 2013, 10:21:11 AM
Ok....so now we're onto the topic of dangerous dogs.
Not really the intention of this thread, but some interesting points.
For what its worth, I wouldnt leave a child on its own with a dog...unless it's a really small dog and the child is at least 8 or 9.
Anything other than that its not worth the risk. Animals is animals and all that.

My kids range from 7 all the way down to 9 months. So part of the reason why I was thinking of a small dog as opposed to the likes of a labrador was the safety aspect. And as we have twin 9 month old babies, I wouldnt want it in the house.

So should we go for one, it would have to be a small dog that's hardy enough to sleep outside (in a shed) at night. we've a good size garden and ample space in a shed to protect a dog from elements.

So what breed to go for, given the age of the kids and the requirements for it to stay outside?
My opinion i would wait 18 months until the babies are older, could pick up anything from a dog, regardless of whether they are around it, the other kids will be.
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2013, 04:41:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 11:43:55 AM

I don't agree with dogs being kept in the house. How do you teach them to wipe their arses? Would you live with a human walking around where you eat with dangleberries hanging out of him?

Dogs generally never sh1te on their own doorstep. They have quite a clever "exhaust" system that means they never need to wipe their arses (unlike cows).

PS. Have you never spent time in a naturist reserve? You should give it a try!
Post by: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 05:32:00 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2013, 04:41:00 PM
PS. Have you never spent time in a naturist reserve? You should give it a try!

I've been in Newcastle on a Saturday night.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2013, 05:52:33 PM

Plenty of people in hospitals or homes aren't able to wipe their own arses. Should they be kept outside in a shed?
Post by: 5 Sams on May 02, 2013, 06:28:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2013, 05:52:33 PM

Plenty of people in hospitals or homes aren't able to wipe their own arses. Should they be kept outside in a shed?

Has to be one of the posts of the year Captain.  ;D ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2013, 08:14:19 PM

Edwin Poots is trying to organise that at the minute.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 02, 2013, 10:04:39 PM
R :-\ Unfortunately you're right. :-\
Post by: moysider on May 03, 2013, 12:37:45 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 02, 2013, 11:39:19 AM
No animal should get through the door. I can't fathom these house dogs who are treated better than a child, and the house is feckin' stinking because the owners can't smell it, as their smell becomes atuned to it.

If you feel that way about it, fine. But please dont inflict your standards on some poor dog.

I used to breed pedigree labs and cairns. Not farming, just a couple of litters from pet, house bitches. I always made sure that no pup would end up in a shed. Easy enough to suss out that before committing a pup.

If you feel a dog should not be in the house then do dogs a favour and let them have a better life. Farm dogs, guard dogs and pack dogs are different of course. Single family pet dogs kept in sheds and given the odd walk and thrown the odd ball draw the short straw. Let somebody else have them. People that like dogs, rather than people that don t like dogs but want to keep their kids onside. Forget about dogs. Anybody that thinks a dog is an animal should not keep a dog. Anybody that questions that should definitely not keep a dog.  Anybody that thinks a dog shouldn t get inside a door should never bother with a dog. Dogs are a social animal that feels part of a pack, and behaves as such. Confining it to a shed apart is only going to make it miserable. Of course it will wag its tail and fawn when you feed it and will go wild when it gets a walk because thet like to please. But most dogs have a miserable time of it. A lot of people that think they re giving a dog a good home should really get a cat instead. Cats are loners and can cope with or without attention.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 03, 2013, 09:19:59 AM

The difference of course is that dogs are animals and people are.....well, people! Are you saying that dogs are on an equal standing with people?
Either you REALLY love dogs, or REALLY DONT like people!
Post by: tbrick18 on May 03, 2013, 09:24:25 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 03, 2013, 12:37:45 AM

If you feel that way about it, fine. But please dont inflict your standards on some poor dog.

I used to breed pedigree labs and cairns. Not farming, just a couple of litters from pet, house bitches. I always made sure that no pup would end up in a shed. Easy enough to suss out that before committing a pup.

If you feel a dog should not be in the house then do dogs a favour and let them have a better life. Farm dogs, guard dogs and pack dogs are different of course. Single family pet dogs kept in sheds and given the odd walk and thrown the odd ball draw the short straw. Let somebody else have them. People that like dogs, rather than people that don t like dogs but want to keep their kids onside. Forget about dogs. Anybody that thinks a dog is an animal should not keep a dog. Anybody that questions that should definitely not keep a dog.  Anybody that thinks a dog shouldn t get inside a door should never bother with a dog. Dogs are a social animal that feels part of a pack, and behaves as such. Confining it to a shed apart is only going to make it miserable. Of course it will wag its tail and fawn when you feed it and will go wild when it gets a walk because thet like to please. But most dogs have a miserable time of it. A lot of people that think they re giving a dog a good home should really get a cat instead. Cats are loners and can cope with or without attention.

WOW! Are you a dog psychologists? It amazes me how some people are able to understand how an animal feels in its head!
You could make a fortune with that skill. When did you first realise you could get inside the dogs head?  ::)

And as for the part in bold, last time I looked a Dog is an animal. There's no debating that.
Post by: trileacman on May 03, 2013, 10:05:01 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 03, 2013, 09:24:25 AM

WOW! Are you a dog psychologists? It amazes me how some people are able to understand how an animal feels in its head!
You could make a fortune with that skill. When did you first realise you could get inside the dogs head?  ::)

And as for the part in bold, last time I looked a Dog is an animal. There's no debating that.

You're caught there Moysider. There's no disputing that a dog is an animal. Anything else is just bullshit.

If you had such regard for dogs and their behaivour then why would you force one to make an unnatural association with a different species? Raising a dog in a human household is the same principal as letting a child be raised by wolves. If you are so in tune with dogs and their "social" needs then you'd allow it to roam free in a pack with the freedom to hunt, rather than being kept in a stone fort and being feed dry chicken necks.
Post by: qubdub on May 03, 2013, 12:34:28 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 03, 2013, 10:05:01 AM

You're caught there Moysider. There's no disputing that a dog is an animal. Anything else is just bullshit.

If you had such regard for dogs and their behaivour then why would you force one to make an unnatural association with a different species? Raising a dog in a human household is the same principal as letting a child be raised by wolves. If you are so in tune with dogs and their "social" needs then you'd allow it to roam free in a pack with the freedom to hunt, rather than being kept in a stone fort and being feed dry chicken necks.
What are you on about? How is it unnatural for a domesticated animal to be surrounded by humans? Dogs view their owners and their family as their pack. So separating them is the unnatural thing to do.
Post by: trileacman on May 03, 2013, 07:11:37 PM
Quote from: qubdub on May 03, 2013, 12:34:28 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 03, 2013, 10:05:01 AM

What are you on about? How is it unnatural for a domesticated animal to be surrounded by humans? Dogs view their owners and their family as their pack. So separating them is the unnatural thing to do.

How do you know that a dog sees it's owners as part of it's pack? You'd don't hunt/ share food/ breed so don't go saying that it's a "natural" arrangement.
Post by: qubdub on May 03, 2013, 11:31:43 PM
It's not like it's a wild animal that's been tamed.

It's a domesticated animal, that has descended from a species that has lived around humans for generations upon generations hence being around humans, living with them etc is a natural environment for it to be in!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 03, 2013, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 03, 2013, 09:19:59 AM

The difference of course is that dogs are animals and people are.....well, people! Are you saying that dogs are on an equal standing with people?
Either you REALLY love dogs, or REALLY DONT like people!
I was exploring the logic of arse wiping not a love hate relationship with people or dogs.

Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 04, 2013, 12:24:43 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 01, 2013, 08:43:07 PM
the dog is a domesticated animal. It's ok if you dont understand why people have dogs in their homes or trust that their family pets wont kill their kids.
We can agree to disagree.
I love dogs. I love big dogs. This will be my second Doberman - I wouldn't have another breed (at this point)

I have a Black German Shepherd, a nine month old Dobie and a 10 month old Dobie/Shepherd cross.  I love big dogs too.  They are great companions.
Post by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2013, 01:00:08 PM
After a lot of careful consideration and research into what type of dog to get or not to get we went for a "Cockapoo".
Funny as the name sounds, it's a great wee thing.
A non-shedding breed which was important for us as one of the kids has Exczema.
Apart from an initial settling in period it's been relatively plain sailing. He stays outside, tries to get in the house from time to time but has come to learn he's not allowed and generally doesnt come in.
We have an insulated kennel for him which is kept inside a shed and he has free run of the garden all day. We've been able to train him to fetch and sit and the kids love him.
There is a bit of a barking/howling (or as one of the kids calls it..."aroooing") problem. I put him in at night or chain him under a lean-to in the good weather as he's a bit stupid in that if it rains he would stand in it getting soaked all night. He doesnt like this and will bark and howl for 10 minutes but apart from that he's quiet enough.

The biggest problem is the shit!
No matter what I try, I cant get him trained to shit in one part of the garden. His favourite spot is in the area just outside our back door around the clothes line. Mrs. tbrick18 doesnt like it! And the kids usually step on it.
Can anyone give me any advice on how to train him to go to a certain place? If we dont get something sorted soon, I'm probably going to have to build a run for him and keep him locked in there through most of the day which I dont want to do.
Post by: Orior on September 12, 2013, 03:23:09 PM
When bitches pee, they burn the grass, so after getting a dog my garden was completely destroyed.

So I uprooted the front garden and put down bushes and woodchip. The back garden is still grass. My dog is not allowed to do any business in the back garden - we had to fence it off for a year.

So, the only way to teach your dog is

a) rub their noses in it. This generally works for deposits in the house
b) create a run which takes the dog away from your precious area. In my case this was the front garden
Post by: heganboy on September 12, 2013, 04:16:20 PM
we have a 7 year old wheaten terrier that doesn't shed, is hypoallergenic, the 3 kids love her, and you couldn't ask for a better dog, don't need much in the way of exercise, but do need a hair cut every 6-8 weeks.

Also have had labs a king charles and a glen of imaal terrier back home.

the wheaten and the glen are very friendly and too bloody smart for their own good. Both bred for the Irish climate and excellent family dogs. Whilst energetic they don't need much walking, only issue for both is the need for hair cuts, both brilliant with small kids and very gentle. The wheaten is used a lot as a therapy dog because of its temperament. Some terriers attach themselves to an owner, but the wheaten tends to be more of a family dog, will bark at strangers, however non aggressive to humans so much more of a watch dog than a guard dog. Were bred originally as the poor mans wolf hound...
Post by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2013, 05:07:33 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 12, 2013, 03:23:09 PM
When bitches pee, they burn the grass, so after getting a dog my garden was completely destroyed.

So I uprooted the front garden and put down bushes and woodchip. The back garden is still grass. My dog is not allowed to do any business in the back garden - we had to fence it off for a year.

b) create a run which takes the dog away from your precious area. In my case this was the front garden

A few burnt patches in my garden...but this is a dog not a bitch. I'm guessing the same reason though. Looks like I'm going down the route of a run. I just know he'll bark like a fooker when he's closed in.
Post by: ardal on September 12, 2013, 05:20:20 PM
We concreted in a small section of the garden; about 1m by 1m. If the dog shat outside this the nose was rubbed in it. If it shat inside then no nose rubbing. After about 3 to 4 weeks no more shite in the garden
Post by: Olly on September 12, 2013, 05:36:23 PM
Dogs are remarkably clever. Over the course of 7 years I taught my dog basic maths like adding 3+4 ect. By the time it was 13 it could do long division and square roots. Although it was maybe cruel, I used the humiliating technique. I would tell the dog to make SEVEN by taking three logs from one pile and 4 from another. If he got it wrong i'd lock myself in a glass cage and eat all its dog food and bones. He'd go mad.
Post by: Orior on September 12, 2013, 05:56:01 PM
Quote from: Olly on September 12, 2013, 05:36:23 PM
Dogs are remarkably clever. Over the course of 7 years I taught my dog basic maths like adding 3+4 ect. By the time it was 13 it could do long division and square roots. Although it was maybe cruel, I used the humiliating technique. I would tell the dog to make SEVEN by taking three logs from one pile and 4 from another. If he got it wrong i'd lock myself in a glass cage and eat all its dog food and bones. He'd go mad.

I managed to teach my dog simple arithmatic. For example, I asked what is 7 + 4 - 11? And my dog said nothing!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 13, 2013, 01:29:18 AM

C). Get a dog crate.  By instinct, they won't relieve themselves in it, and if you bring them outside regularly during housebreaking, they will never foul the house.
Post by: tbrick18 on September 13, 2013, 08:56:51 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 13, 2013, 01:29:18 AM

C). Get a dog crate.  By instinct, they won't relieve themselves in it, and if you bring them outside regularly during housebreaking, they will never foul the house.

The dog stays outside, but he has a kennel and at night I put him in the kennel with a wee chain on so he deosnt go wandering. In the morning I take him on the lead to the part of the garden I want him to use, a stoned area we have. He'll occassionally pee there but refuses to sh*t. I've stood for an hour with him on a number of occassions. The second I let him off he runs up the garden and starts to sh*t. What do you do with that! It's frustrating, because apart from this he's great. And I dont want to tie him up all the time or have him locked in a run. Perhaps if I do it short term though he'll learn?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 13, 2013, 06:47:59 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on September 13, 2013, 08:56:51 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 13, 2013, 01:29:18 AM

The dog stays outside, but he has a kennel and at night I put him in the kennel with a wee chain on so he deosnt go wandering. In the morning I take him on the lead to the part of the garden I want him to use, a stoned area we have. He'll occassionally pee there but refuses to sh*t. I've stood for an hour with him on a number of occassions. The second I let him off he runs up the garden and starts to sh*t. What do you do with that! It's frustrating, because apart from this he's great. And I dont want to tie him up all the time or have him locked in a run. Perhaps if I do it short term though he'll learn?

That's what I'd do, short term.  If he won't take a dump where you want him to, just put him back in the kennel for another hour or so, and try again.   If possible, temporarily block off the part of the yard he wants to go in.  They're creatures of habit, so once he gets used to going where you want him to, that'll be that.