Quote from: From the Bunker on March 19, 2021, 12:36:37 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 18, 2021, 09:53:53 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 17, 2021, 12:39:02 AM
Quote from: macker15 on March 16, 2021, 10:09:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 16, 2021, 09:59:22 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 16, 2021, 09:00:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 16, 2021, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: macker15 on March 16, 2021, 08:00:54 PM
Can they not do a open draw? Provincials bar Ulster are too predictable.

The AI championship is more predictable than the Provincials, should we just get rid of that?
From seeing your posts over the last while it would appear that that is actually what you want

Meanwhile you seem to be a keen fan of Scottish soccer, which has been ultra-competitive for the last decade, I think

It's steadily looking more likely that it will slowly reach it's conclusion. You have the traditionalists hoping Kerry break Dublin's stranglehold but that would only prolong the misery. We have reached the point of no return.
My kids have no interest in intercounty football. They play the game competitively, but they'd never get caught up in what they see as the same inevitable result every year. It's just too boring. I'd imagine this is becoming a common theme around the country.

Your kids didn't lick it off a  stone . Terrible to be brainwashed like that. Think of all the Leitrim supporters every year. Mayo had every to win All Ireland 2012-2017. An outstanding team.

You could also think of a lot of other counties. Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois - why just pick Leitrim? Speaking of Brainwashed, I bet you are one of those people who think this Dublin team/squad are a one in a generation and money has had nothing to do with their success?
Its all about perspective. Leitrim look at Galway/Mayo and think they can't compete with them. Mayo look at Dublin and think they can't compete with them and Mayo think because they can't win things are unfair.
What do Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois, think? Why have these counties become like this? Especially Meath? Do you think the best players play for Meath anymore? What's Meaths perspective anymore? Do you think your perspective has changed in the last ten years? Do you think the perspective of Inter-county football has changed in the last ten years?  Do you miss the buzz on Leinster final day? Do you miss the fear of losing a game and the thrill when you win it? Do you remember games anymore or are they now just a collective memory of winning all the time? Do you care about 7 in a row? Will you be on cloud nine if it is achieved? Do you miss the away fans in Croker for the Leinster Championship? Do you spend more time taking to your mates than watching the game anymore? Do you laugh at other counties with their pauper funding? Do you see Croker as a neutral venue? Do you wonder what it would be like to play a Championship game in an away venue? Do you know anything other than getting the dart to Croker for a knockout championship match? Do you think the GAA having Dublin as their golden child is good? Do you think that Dublin is the GAA's golden child? Do you think Leitrim care about an All Ireland Football Championship?

They care as little as ye do. But from different perspectives. Leitrim are so far behind they don't even get the chance to care and Dublin are so far in front, winning is only a formality.

Offaly last won Leinster in 1997 and that was their first Leinster title since 1982.
Kildare last won Leinster in 2000.
Westmeath have won 1 Leinster in their history and that was in 2004.

You can't possibly blame that lack of success over all that time all on big bad Dublin, but strangely you do. It also puts into perspective complaints from Mayo that things are unfair and they can't win given they've just won a connaght championship.

Mayo/Galway are lucky to be in connaght and are helped by the lob sided format that the championship operates in and can reach the provincial final some years by wining just one game, but that's not Dublin's fault so don't mention that.

The national league is always interesting because it follows a simple plan of matching teams of similar ability against each other on a weekly home/away basis. Given this is how most sports around the world run their main competitions you would hope that this is something that someone in the GAA will realise and consider introducing this template into the football championship. It's been done in the hurling championship and it has also been a success.

Club championships around the country are based on ability and not geography which makes them extremely competitive and is another template to base an alternative championship on.

While your anger/bitterness/self pity is that Mayo can't beat Dublin and can ONLY WIN CONNAGHT CHAMPIONSHIPS I feel sorry for the smaller counties like Carlow, Leitrim, Waterford who have no chance of wining anything in the championship. That's why I'm glad the Tommy Murphy cup was introduced. It gives these counties of similar ability a realistic chance of silverware and the opportunity to play championship football in the summer when they'd normally be long gone having been hammered in their provincial championships and/or qualifiers by a far stronger team like a Mayo, Kerry or Dublin

Also you keep saying you've been supporting/cheering on Dublin the last few years anyway so does that not give you any pleasure watching your team win? It's a strange fan who gets angry/upset when his team is successful and wins trophies

Yeah, Tommy Murphy - Yawn! Where do Kildare fit in all of this grand plan of a competitive championship? Down? Cork? Meath? Roscommon? Laois? Armagh? Cavan?

The AI is seriously broke! We are all seriously well behind Dublin. The nearest county is probably Kerry (based completely on tradition), then Donegal (based on being the best in Ulster) after that Mayo/Galway/Tyrone. The rest aren't within an arses roar and never will be.

Mayo are spent, A complete fluke to make the AI final last year. There is a part of me glad we are no longer in the category of giving Dublin a game. We have drifted back to the chasing pack and may even fall behind that pack.

At our best 2013-2020 Mayo were beaten every time in both League and Championship by Dublin. The media built it up as a rivalry. But really it was a procession of Dublin domination. But you have to sell tickets, sponsorship and papers. So Mayo filled the void intermittently with Kerry to make believe we had a competitive Championship. A well worked illusion based on one or two games every year!   

Yes, I'll be cheering for Dublin again this year. A result other than a Dublin win will only hide the grim reality. Just like Meaths fluke win in 2010 broke what would have been 16 in a row last year instead of 10 in a row.
Claiming the Mayo-Dublin rivalry of the last decade was nothing more than a Dublin procession is a huge insult to all the Mayo lads involved. Absolutely brilliant team who were unlucky to come up against this Dublin side and managed to beat themselves more often than the Dubs did between own goals and daft red cards.

Armagh18, You contradict yourself in the above paragraph. True Mayo had a good side, but the results tell of nothing other than a procession of dominance by Dublin - 8 League wins in a row and 6 wins and 2 draws in Championship from 2013-2020. That's 16 times both counties met between 2013-2020. Dublin have won 14 times, 2 Draws and 0 losses!

Louther

League semi finals and finals a bit odd. Plus relegation play offs. This to line up the split championship next year? Or to give more games, not allow challenge games?

What is odd is that after semi finals played, if one of the finalists has a championship game the weekend after the final, they title is shared and final not played. Seems a bit pointless.

I enjoyed the knock out last year and happy to go again. With prospect of no crowds, would have bit of craic and opportunity to say feck it, all in open draw across everyone. But maybe the success of Cavan and Tipp warranted keeping the provinces again.

Quote from: Angelo on April 08, 2021, 04:13:54 PM
Sorry. Missed this thread.

Straight knockout again.

Semi final pairings

Dublin v Connacht
Ulster v Munster

Dublin v Kerry/Tyrone/Donegal final you'd suspect.

Hopefully they can do at least a 75% full Croke Park for the final.

A Mayo Armagh final it is then.

Quote from: BennyCake on April 08, 2021, 08:43:24 PM
A Mayo Armagh final it is then.

A Mayo-Armagh final where you couldn't go would be frustrating.

Quote from: Louther on April 08, 2021, 08:26:14 PM
League semi finals and finals a bit odd. Plus relegation play offs. This to line up the split championship next year? Or to give more games, not allow challenge games?

What is odd is that after semi finals played, if one of the finalists has a championship game the weekend after the final, they title is shared and final not played. Seems a bit pointless.

I enjoyed the knock out last year and happy to go again. With prospect of no crowds, would have bit of craic and opportunity to say feck it, all in open draw across everyone. But maybe the success of Cavan and Tipp warranted keeping the provinces again.

As odd as it might be the idea is to have every team get at least 5 competitive games from those two competitions.

I'd expect challenge games will be played by the end of this month.

MayoBuck

League semi-finals and relegation play-offs are needed to sort out promotion and relegation.

Interesting to see Croke Park spokesman McGill say the League is the more important competition for most Counties.
Doesn't say much for that other competition!

Louther

Quote from: MayoBuck on April 09, 2021, 02:00:42 PM

League semi-finals and relegation play-offs are needed to sort out promotion and relegation.

Yes and no. Top and bottom could go up and down. Would be harsh given only 3 games. Div 1 doesn't need semi final and final. Belittles it if you plan for finals but then say it's shared anyway if they playing the next weekend.

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 08, 2021, 08:04:03 PM
Armagh18, You contradict yourself in the above paragraph. True Mayo had a good side, but the results tell of nothing other than a procession of dominance by Dublin - 8 League wins in a row and 6 wins and 2 draws in Championship from 2013-2020. That's 16 times both counties met between 2013-2020. Dublin have won 14 times, 2 Draws and 0 losses!

But at least you gave them a serious game most of the time.

Outside of McGuinness outsmarting Gavin and catching them on the hop in 2014, and Kerry getting that draw when Jonny Cooper got the line in the first half, no one else has so much as laid a finger on them since you beat them in 2012.

Its Mayo misfortune that their 2010s team may have been better than quite a number of teams that actually won All Irelands over the past 25 years. I remember one of the Kerry lads commenting on here years ago that Cork were probably the second best team in the country many years, based on the relative challenges the Kerry teams faced (think he was responding to the old accusation that Kerry always had it easy and won a load of handy All Irelands). But if so, they had the misfortune of being in the same province as Kerry, and in the absence of the backdoor, are not remembered. Mayo will be though.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 09, 2021, 02:07:18 PM
Interesting to see Croke Park spokesman McGill say the League is the more important competition for most Counties.

It is more important and the best format competition the GAA have. A pity they are messing around with it but hopefully the format of 7 games each is restored for 2022.

Quote from: J70 on April 09, 2021, 03:28:51 PM

Outside of McGuinness outsmarting Gavin and catching them on the hop in 2014, and Kerry getting that draw when Jonny Cooper got the line in the first half, no one else has so much as laid a finger on them since you beat them in 2012.

Its Mayo misfortune that their 2010s team may have been better than quite a number of teams that actually won All Irelands over the past 25 years. I remember one of the Kerry lads commenting on here years ago that Cork were probably the second best team in the country many years, based on the relative challenges the Kerry teams faced (think he was responding to the old accusation that Kerry always had it easy and won a load of handy All Irelands). But if so, they had the misfortune of being in the same province as Kerry, and in the absence of the backdoor, are not remembered. Mayo will be though.

Was it really a case of McGuinness outsmarting Gavin in 2014?  The big factor for me was the goal conversion rate - Donegal scored 3-1 from 4 shots on goal compared to Dublin who had 5 shots on goal and missed all 5.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 09, 2021, 03:44:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 09, 2021, 02:07:18 PM

It is more important and the best format competition the GAA have. A pity they are messing around with it but hopefully the format of 7 games each is restored for 2022.
If its passed at Congress the League will be the only avenue to get to the Championship.

Quote from: twohands!!! on April 09, 2021, 03:56:03 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 09, 2021, 03:28:51 PM

Was it really a case of McGuinness outsmarting Gavin in 2014?  The big factor for me was the goal conversion rate - Donegal scored 3-1 from 4 shots on goal compared to Dublin who had 5 shots on goal and missed all 5.

Yeah, Dublin missed a few goal chances, but even after the two big ones in the first half (one a scuffed shot from Connolly from which he should have done better, the other blown under pressure on O'Gara and Brogan), they were still five points up, even though Donegal were starting to get to grips with them and the long range shots were starting to miss their target. The goal attempts late on were desperation stuff.

McGuinness had the Donegal players doing drills in training, over and over again, where the midfielders or half-forwards would run through the centre of the Dublin half, everything opening up in front of them, to exploit a weakness that no one else had done to that point. Apparently McGuinness had seen other teams getting into that position earlier in the championship, but their players generally panicked and didn't know what to do, whether to go on themselves or try to find a teammate. According to Rory Kavanagh's book, the Donegal players were the same until McGuinness drilled into them what to do to exploit it. And they made hay in the second half  doing exactly that.

There were obviously no guarantees that Donegal would beat Dublin by targeting their absent half-backs on the break, but what is guaranteed is that they would have not won if McGuinness hadn't set them up and drilled them to exploit that weakness.

And Dublin were never again caught out throwing everyone forward and being outnumbered on the break after that.

please remove the  the green and red from your Avatar ya traitor .
Mayo are coming strong with a new team and reached  AIF on first attempt . the skys the Limit for these Guys