2021 Schedule - All Ireland Championship wrapped up by mid-July

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, December 19, 2020, 04:58:01 PM

Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 16, 2021, 06:09:38 PM
It's not even full training from 12th April. Can be no more than 15 players.

You'd wonder when games will ever start given how slow we are to even be allowed pack on the pitch
Yeah good luck with that.

Quote from: dublin7 on March 18, 2021, 09:53:53 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 17, 2021, 12:39:02 AM
Quote from: macker15 on March 16, 2021, 10:09:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 16, 2021, 09:59:22 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 16, 2021, 09:00:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 16, 2021, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: macker15 on March 16, 2021, 08:00:54 PM
Can they not do a open draw? Provincials bar Ulster are too predictable.

The AI championship is more predictable than the Provincials, should we just get rid of that?
From seeing your posts over the last while it would appear that that is actually what you want

Meanwhile you seem to be a keen fan of Scottish soccer, which has been ultra-competitive for the last decade, I think

It's steadily looking more likely that it will slowly reach it's conclusion. You have the traditionalists hoping Kerry break Dublin's stranglehold but that would only prolong the misery. We have reached the point of no return.
My kids have no interest in intercounty football. They play the game competitively, but they'd never get caught up in what they see as the same inevitable result every year. It's just too boring. I'd imagine this is becoming a common theme around the country.

Your kids didn't lick it off a  stone . Terrible to be brainwashed like that. Think of all the Leitrim supporters every year. Mayo had every to win All Ireland 2012-2017. An outstanding team.

You could also think of a lot of other counties. Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois - why just pick Leitrim? Speaking of Brainwashed, I bet you are one of those people who think this Dublin team/squad are a one in a generation and money has had nothing to do with their success?
Its all about perspective. Leitrim look at Galway/Mayo and think they can't compete with them. Mayo look at Dublin and think they can't compete with them and Mayo think because they can't win things are unfair.
What do Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois, think? Why have these counties become like this? Especially Meath? Do you think the best players play for Meath anymore? What's Meaths perspective anymore? Do you think your perspective has changed in the last ten years? Do you think the perspective of Inter-county football has changed in the last ten years?  Do you miss the buzz on Leinster final day? Do you miss the fear of losing a game and the thrill when you win it? Do you remember games anymore or are they now just a collective memory of winning all the time? Do you care about 7 in a row? Will you be on cloud nine if it is achieved? Do you miss the away fans in Croker for the Leinster Championship? Do you spend more time taking to your mates than watching the game anymore? Do you laugh at other counties with their pauper funding? Do you see Croker as a neutral venue? Do you wonder what it would be like to play a Championship game in an away venue? Do you know anything other than getting the dart to Croker for a knockout championship match? Do you think the GAA having Dublin as their golden child is good? Do you think that Dublin is the GAA's golden child? Do you think Leitrim care about an All Ireland Football Championship?

They care as little as ye do. But from different perspectives. Leitrim are so far behind they don't even get the chance to care and Dublin are so far in front, winning is only a formality.

dublin7

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 19, 2021, 12:36:37 AM

The AI championship is more predictable than the Provincials, should we just get rid of that?
From seeing your posts over the last while it would appear that that is actually what you want

Meanwhile you seem to be a keen fan of Scottish soccer, which has been ultra-competitive for the last decade, I think

It's steadily looking more likely that it will slowly reach it's conclusion. You have the traditionalists hoping Kerry break Dublin's stranglehold but that would only prolong the misery. We have reached the point of no return.
My kids have no interest in intercounty football. They play the game competitively, but they'd never get caught up in what they see as the same inevitable result every year. It's just too boring. I'd imagine this is becoming a common theme around the country.

Your kids didn't lick it off a  stone . Terrible to be brainwashed like that. Think of all the Leitrim supporters every year. Mayo had every to win All Ireland 2012-2017. An outstanding team.

You could also think of a lot of other counties. Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois - why just pick Leitrim? Speaking of Brainwashed, I bet you are one of those people who think this Dublin team/squad are a one in a generation and money has had nothing to do with their success?
Its all about perspective. Leitrim look at Galway/Mayo and think they can't compete with them. Mayo look at Dublin and think they can't compete with them and Mayo think because they can't win things are unfair.
What do Meath, Kildare, Offaly, Laois, think? Why have these counties become like this? Especially Meath? Do you think the best players play for Meath anymore? What's Meaths perspective anymore? Do you think your perspective has changed in the last ten years? Do you think the perspective of Inter-county football has changed in the last ten years?  Do you miss the buzz on Leinster final day? Do you miss the fear of losing a game and the thrill when you win it? Do you remember games anymore or are they now just a collective memory of winning all the time? Do you care about 7 in a row? Will you be on cloud nine if it is achieved? Do you miss the away fans in Croker for the Leinster Championship? Do you spend more time taking to your mates than watching the game anymore? Do you laugh at other counties with their pauper funding? Do you see Croker as a neutral venue? Do you wonder what it would be like to play a Championship game in an away venue? Do you know anything other than getting the dart to Croker for a knockout championship match? Do you think the GAA having Dublin as their golden child is good? Do you think that Dublin is the GAA's golden child? Do you think Leitrim care about an All Ireland Football Championship?

They care as little as ye do. But from different perspectives. Leitrim are so far behind they don't even get the chance to care and Dublin are so far in front, winning is only a formality.

Offaly last won Leinster in 1997 and that was their first Leinster title since 1982.
Kildare last won Leinster in 2000.
Westmeath have won 1 Leinster in their history and that was in 2004.

You can't possibly blame that lack of success over all that time all on big bad Dublin, but strangely you do. It also puts into perspective complaints from Mayo that things are unfair and they can't win given they've just won a connaght championship.

Mayo/Galway are lucky to be in connaght and are helped by the lob sided format that the championship operates in and can reach the provincial final some years by wining just one game, but that's not Dublin's fault so don't mention that.

The national league is always interesting because it follows a simple plan of matching teams of similar ability against each other on a weekly home/away basis. Given this is how most sports around the world run their main competitions you would hope that this is something that someone in the GAA will realise and consider introducing this template into the football championship. It's been done in the hurling championship and it has also been a success.

Club championships around the country are based on ability and not geography which makes them extremely competitive and is another template to base an alternative championship on.

While your anger/bitterness/self pity is that Mayo can't beat Dublin and can ONLY WIN CONNAGHT CHAMPIONSHIPS I feel sorry for the smaller counties like Carlow, Leitrim, Waterford who have no chance of wining anything in the championship. That's why I'm glad the Tommy Murphy cup was introduced. It gives these counties of similar ability a realistic chance of silverware and the opportunity to play championship football in the summer when they'd normally be long gone having been hammered in their provincial championships and/or qualifiers by a far stronger team like a Mayo, Kerry or Dublin

Also you keep saying you've been supporting/cheering on Dublin the last few years anyway so does that not give you any pleasure watching your team win? It's a strange fan who gets angry/upset when his team is successful and wins trophies

Quote from: dublin7 on March 19, 2021, 02:21:44 PM

Offaly last won Leinster in 1997 and that was their first Leinster title since 1982.

You can't possibly blame that lack of success over all that time all on big bad Dublin, but strangely you do. It also puts into perspective complaints from Mayo that things are unfair and they can't win given they've just won a connaght championship.

Mayo/Galway are lucky to be in connaght and are helped by the lob sided format that the championship operates in and can reach the provincial final some years by wining just one game, but that's not Dublin's fault so don't mention that.

The national league is always interesting because it follows a simple plan of matching teams of similar ability against each other on a weekly home/away basis. Given this is how most sports around the world run their main competitions you would hope that this is something that someone in the GAA will realise and consider introducing this template into the football championship. It's been done in the hurling championship and it has also been a success.

Club championships around the country are based on ability and not geography which makes them extremely competitive and is another template to base an alternative championship on.

While your anger/bitterness/self pity is that Mayo can't beat Dublin and can ONLY WIN CONNAGHT CHAMPIONSHIPS I feel sorry for the smaller counties like Carlow, Leitrim, Waterford who have no chance of wining anything in the championship. That's why I'm glad the Tommy Murphy cup was introduced. It gives these counties of similar ability a realistic chance of silverware and the opportunity to play championship football in the summer when they'd normally be long gone having been hammered in their provincial championships and/or qualifiers by a far stronger team like a Mayo, Kerry or Dublin

Also you keep saying you've been supporting/cheering on Dublin the last few years anyway so does that not give you any pleasure watching your team win? It's a strange fan who gets angry/upset when his team is successful and wins trophies

Yeah, Tommy Murphy - Yawn! Where do Kildare fit in all of this grand plan of a competitive championship? Down? Cork? Meath? Roscommon? Laois? Armagh? Cavan?

The AI is seriously broke! We are all seriously well behind Dublin. The nearest county is probably Kerry (based completely on tradition), then Donegal (based on being the best in Ulster) after that Mayo/Galway/Tyrone. The rest aren't within an arses roar and never will be.

Mayo are spent, A complete fluke to make the AI final last year. There is a part of me glad we are no longer in the category of giving Dublin a game. We have drifted back to the chasing pack and may even fall behind that pack.

At our best 2013-2020 Mayo were beaten every time in both League and Championship by Dublin. The media built it up as a rivalry. But really it was a procession of Dublin domination. But you have to sell tickets, sponsorship and papers. So Mayo filled the void intermittently with Kerry to make believe we had a competitive Championship. A well worked illusion based on one or two games every year!   

Yes, I'll be cheering for Dublin again this year. A result other than a Dublin win will only hide the grim reality. Just like Meaths fluke win in 2010 broke what would have been 16 in a row last year instead of 10 in a row.

macker15

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 19, 2021, 09:55:36 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 19, 2021, 02:21:44 PM

Yeah, Tommy Murphy - Yawn! Where do Kildare fit in all of this grand plan of a competitive championship? Down? Cork? Meath? Roscommon? Laois? Armagh? Cavan?

The AI is seriously broke! We are all seriously well behind Dublin. The nearest county is probably Kerry (based completely on tradition), then Donegal (based on being the best in Ulster) after that Mayo/Galway/Tyrone. The rest aren't within an arses roar and never will be.

Mayo are spent, A complete fluke to make the AI final last year. There is a part of me glad we are no longer in the category of giving Dublin a game. We have drifted back to the chasing pack and may even fall behind that pack.

At our best 2013-2020 Mayo were beaten every time in both League and Championship by Dublin. The media built it up as a rivalry. But really it was a procession of Dublin domination. But you have to sell tickets, sponsorship and papers. So Mayo filled the void intermittently with Kerry to make believe we had a competitive Championship. A well worked illusion based on one or two games every year!   

Yes, I'll be cheering for Dublin again this year. A result other than a Dublin win will only hide the grim reality. Just like Meaths fluke win in 2010 broke what would have been 16 in a row last year instead of 10 in a row.

Jumping  on the bandwagon now following the jackeens? Are the kids wearing Dublin jerseys now? 🤣🤣

dublin7

That's probably spot on Macker. It's not just the fact that Mayo couldn't beat dubs but now FTB jr or multiple jr's are running around in Dublin jersies pretending to be Ciaran Kilkenny/Con O'callaghan etc. and that's just too much. No wonder he doesn't go to games any more.

Ah, the kids don't follow the intercounty game. They play for the club and they enjoy playing the game.

Dublin winning every year is comedy gold. Pundits trying to analyse games, Co-commentators trying to pretend the opposition are putting up a good fight, everybody in denial of the money, everybody in denial of the home advantage and everybody in denial of the gulf in class. All dancing around the Money rich Dubs afraid to say anything. All want to hold onto their handy jobs, their sponsors and so on. Even Dublin have learned to waterdown hammerings to the opposition in order not to highlight how good they are.

Dubs fans are in their own lockdown when it comes to Championship football. They are not allowed to travel outside the pale and have to play all their games at home. They are in their own cocoon as to what other counties have to do.

I have not been at an inter-county game since 2017. There is a trend there of people not going. Lads I know from Westmeath, Galway, Meath, Kildare, Sligo, Longford that were hardcore followers and no longer go. To be fair they are older now, but most would rather spend the time and money on other activities.

Anyway 7 in a row is on the way.  ;D

Enjoy it if you can, as satisfaction of the titles diminish every year.   :-\

dublin7

That's some serious self pity there FtB. If anything it makes Dublin's victories sweeter knowing how it upsets non dubs like yourself.

I'm glad you think the dubs will win 7 in a row.

Quote from: dublin7 on March 20, 2021, 05:45:34 PM
That's some serious self pity there FtB. If anything it makes Dublin's victories sweeter knowing how it upsets non dubs like yourself.

Yeah, it kinda sad you are up there in your cocoon, in your own world never going outside the Pale. Courted by the media and the GAA to be oblivious to where the GAA intercounty game is and to where it is going.

The Competition is broke. Less and less care anymore.

Anyway back to your cocoon in the pale! I suppose somebody has to go to games up there. ;D

dublin7

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 20, 2021, 05:58:13 PM

Yeah, it kinda sad you are up there in your cocoon, in your own world never going outside the Pale. Courted by the media and the GAA to be oblivious to where the GAA intercounty game is and to where it is going.

Anyway back to your cocoon in the pale! I suppose somebody has to go to games up there. ;D

Everyone has always wanted to dubs to lose and for years they were the butt of everyone's jokes. Now they're hated even more, but the dubs are winning trophies so for us dubs it's great. You don't go to games anymore anyway do why do you care who wins anything? Just watch something else on tv. No one's forcing you to watch the dubs.

Marc O'Se used to love it when people hated Kerry when they were successful and has said he now hates that people almost feel sorry for Kerry because the dubs are so dominant. He longs for the day when Kerry will be successful and hated again (like you hate the dubs now)😉

Quote from: dublin7 on March 20, 2021, 08:22:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 20, 2021, 05:58:13 PM

Everyone has always wanted to dubs to lose and for years they were the butt of everyone's jokes. Now they're hated even more, but the dubs are winning trophies so for us dubs it's great. You don't go to games anymore anyway do why do you care who wins anything? Just watch something else on tv. No one's forcing you to watch the dubs.

Marc O'Se used to love it when people hated Kerry when they were successful and has said he now hates that people almost feel sorry for Kerry because the dubs are so dominant. He longs for the day when Kerry will be successful and hated again (like you hate the dubs now)😉
He may have to long for a lot longer that he anticipates.
There has been more change,, social. political, economic and sporting, in this country since the beginning of this century than in the whole of recorded history till then.
I think Kerry are tangled up in a web  of their own making. They expect victory because of what happened in the past. Well, the past is of very little relevance here.
I cannot see any county putting it up  to Dublin for a sustained period anymore but there's hope of sorts in the chasing pack that the Dubs will have an odd offday. That's only human. Scraps from the rich mans table, if you know what I mean.
But the likes of Mayo, Galway, Donegal, and a growing number of others are using all the latest in sports conditioning, psychology and can afford the best expertise  available to prepare their teams. They have every right to be wary of Dublin but not of Kerry, yesterday's king pins.

I was delighted when Dublin won the AI in 1995. If Tyrone had won I would have been glad also. That Dublin team had added to so many memorable games in the early 90's, missing out narrowly on so many occasions. It was great that so many servants were rewarded for their exploits.

The same could be said of winning in 2011. There vast majority (outside Dublin) enjoyed that win, You could sense the relief in the Capital.

True people like to see the Dubs on their arse, but that comes with the Townie looking down on the Culchie illusion. With the hope of the Culchie putting the townie in their place.

Dublin fans have suffered, and barring Kerry what county doesn't? The problem now is the winning side now is over laden with success. It has evolved since 2005 as a procession of winning Leinster's to winning AI's.

This long term is no good for anybody. Definitely not good for the losers and over time will not really be good for the dominant winner.

And for the GAA family (which we are all part of) it is a disaster.

Senior Inter County training starts from April 19th. NFL matches in May. What championship will be played June, July, August club or county?

Inter County training for U20 and minor teams not back until May it seems?

GAA HQ to publish a revised fixture schedule at the end of next week.

Angelo

Sorry. Missed this thread.

Straight knockout again.

Semi final pairings

Dublin v Connacht
Ulster v Munster

Dublin v Kerry/Tyrone/Donegal final you'd suspect.

Hopefully they can do at least a 75% full Croke Park for the final.

GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL