GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 20leg-end08 on August 03, 2008, 10:20:49 PM

Title: Pat Spillane
Post by: 20leg-end08 on August 03, 2008, 10:20:49 PM
What's the general opinion of him? Personally everytime I see him on Sunday game or read him in the Sunday World he seems to be getting smugger and more of a pr**k.
Title: Re: Pat Spillane
Post by: Yes I Would on August 03, 2008, 10:22:33 PM
Patronising gobshite!
Post by: downgirl on August 03, 2008, 10:24:08 PM
The take they did of him on Apres Match summed him up really.

Agree with everything you said leg-end...can't wait to hear what he has to say about Down and Ulster football in general...
Post by: tyronefan on August 03, 2008, 10:24:23 PM
cant watch  the sunday game anymore
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:24:43 PM
Quotegetting smugger and more of a pr**k.
Id say that would be the general opinion
Post by: stiffler on August 03, 2008, 10:24:50 PM
Hes the GAAs Eamon Dunphy, only he actually believes the keek he talks.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 10:26:52 PM
Don't think it's fair to slate him here folks, without a right of reply. If we've a problem with him we should address him face-to-face, or not visit him in his pub in Templenoe.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 11:47:24 PM
Another Pat Spillane thread started by a Nordie..  ::) ::)

If you want to talk about smug presenters/pundits lets first address that obseqious little bollix Brolly. Could he be any more pro-northern ? Did ye here him on the Tyrone-Mayo game saying Tyrone were much better than Mayo...ffs they won by a point in a game that Mayo could have, and should have, won imo. Did ye hear him contrasting the goal attempts by Tyrone and mayo. The Tyrone attempt was a great move altogehter yet Mortimers goal was "lucky"  ..you'd swear it was Tyrone that scored and not Mayo...jesus, what a twat....I cant believe how biased he is and you lads just laugh away at how "funny" he is whilst having coniptions about Pat Spillane...
Post by: Yes I Would on August 03, 2008, 11:49:18 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 11:47:24 PM

If you want to talk about smug presenters/pundits lets first address that obseqious little bollix Brolly. Could he be any more pro-northern ? Did ye here him on the Tyrone-Mayo game saying Tyrone were much better than Mayo...ffs they won by a point in a game that Mayo could have, and should have, won imo. Did ye hear him contrasting the goal attempts by Tyrone and mayo. The Tyrone attempt was a great move altogehter yet Mortimers goal was "lucky"  ..you'd swear it was Tyrone that scored and not Mayo...jesus, what a t**t....I cant believe how biased he is and you lads just laugh away at how "funny" he is whilst having coniptions about Pat Spillane...

Did you not see him tear Down to shreds??
Post by: johnpower on August 03, 2008, 11:51:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 10:26:52 PM
Don't think it's fair to slate him here folks, without a right of reply. If we've a problem with him we should address him face-to-face, or not visit him in his pub in Templenoe.

Well said Fear . How many posts have we on this subject ? Contact some politician who maybe able to influence the Management of RTE .
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 04, 2008, 12:03:41 AM
QuoteIf you want to talk about smug presenters/pundits lets first address that obseqious little bollix Brolly.

Brolly is not presenting the main GAA programme on a Sunday night - Spillane is. It was an excellent programme when Lyster presented it but since Spillane took over it has gone downhill. He has none of the attrubutes needed to present a programme like this and his smugness and "show me your all ireland medals" does not help. He was an outspoken and occassionally entertaining panellist but that does not necessarily make a good presenter. I thought by now he might have improved a bit but no he has not and he is particualr annoying when it comes to hurling as he seems to have little passion for the sport and limited knowledge.

Brolly's views etc are irrelevant to this debate.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 12:06:38 AM
QuoteDid you not see him tear Down to shreds??

He didnt have much choice did he ? they were absolutely terrible.

The point is that he always gives the nothern teams a more favourable review whilst rubbishing the sourthern teams. If ye cant see this ye are blind.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 12:22:30 AM
QuoteBrolly's views etc are irrelevant to this debate.

All the things ye accuse Pat Spillane of could equally be applied to Brolly yet you nordies  never start these threads about him do you ? So his views are relevant to the debate. If ye showed some even handedness on the issue then maybe then this debate could get somewhere. And i dont care whether its the presenter or pundits or whatever. If ye're complaint is smugness, patronizing , whatever, the standard has to be applied across the board.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2008, 08:07:54 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 12:22:30 AM
QuoteBrolly's views etc are irrelevant to this debate.

All the things ye accuse Pat Spillane of could equally be applied to Brolly yet you nordies  never start these threads about him do you ? So his views are relevant to the debate. If ye showed some even handedness on the issue then maybe then this debate could get somewhere. And i dont care whether its the presenter or pundits or whatever. If ye're complaint is smugness, patronizing , whatever, the standard has to be applied across the board.
Well you start a thread on Joe Brolly if you want MS, istead of moaning about this one.
Post by: rrhf on August 04, 2008, 08:43:33 AM
In the programmes last night they all wore their pyjama tops - must have been a bet. 4 men sitting around talking football in their pyjamas unnerves me.   
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:08:08 AM
11 munster titles,8 all irelands and 9 all stars.spillane has earned the right to give his views but when he is host of the sunday game he needs to be balanced and fair.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on August 04, 2008, 10:01:20 AM
Each of their presenters brings their own natural bias to the table. Spillane has to be more herlihy and less dunphy because he is the anker.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 11:06:15 AM
QuoteWell you start a thread on Joe Brolly if you want MS, istead of moaning about this one.

To be honest, it doesn't really bother me that much what Brolly says. He is a one-time-lucky-AI-winner-when-Kerry-were-shite type bozo who dines out on his one-hit wonder status. Not fit to lick the boots of any Kerry player or, for that matter,  any other players he criticizes. What bothers me is the way you bies whinge about something that ye constantly indulge in i.e one eyed Ulster parochialism disguised as "criticism" . Ye're all as bad as brolly, the wee shite.
Post by: Main Street on August 04, 2008, 11:22:25 AM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on August 04, 2008, 12:03:41 AM
QuoteIf you want to talk about smug presenters/pundits lets first address that obseqious little bollix Brolly.

Brolly is not presenting the main GAA programme on a Sunday night - Spillane is. It was an excellent programme when Lyster presented it but since Spillane took over it has gone downhill. He has none of the attrubutes needed to present a programme like this and his smugness and "show me your all ireland medals" does not help. He was an outspoken and occassionally entertaining panellist but that does not necessarily make a good presenter. I thought by now he might have improved a bit but no he has not and he is particualr annoying when it comes to hurling as he seems to have little passion for the sport and limited knowledge.

Brolly's views etc are irrelevant to this debate.
That's about it.
I think Spillane is much better on the radio.

It's an embarrassment to the program to have Spillane as the anchor  staring at the screen like a tensed up Owl with those shifty eyes and his hands gripping his leg, or was that the Apres Match spoof?  they did Spillane better that he does himself.

Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:44:31 AM
brolly may be what he is. but he was a class footballer and he would have walked onto a lot of kerry teams. he's entertaining anyway, spillane isn't. the pundits on RTE need to be shaken up.
Spillane should be back to being a pundit because he ain't a presenter. but he was a decent pundit.
adios to lyons,flynn and davis.
retain tohill, mc stay and maybe switch goggins to the night programme.
bring back lyster as presenter of the sunday game and give daragh moloney the daytime gig.
If Tv 3 had a decent presenter they might get some competition.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2008, 01:07:10 PM
It would be nice if Bernie Flynn would actually form a coherent sentence instead of just saying random words in no particular order.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 04, 2008, 01:15:09 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 12:06:38 AM
QuoteDid you not see him tear Down to shreds??

He didnt have much choice did he ? they were absolutely terrible.

The point is that he always gives the nothern teams a more favourable review whilst rubbishing the sourthern teams. If ye cant see this ye are blind.

Sheehy your heads up your hole. Last time i checked Down was in the north of Ireland. Read your posts again before posting shite.
Was very little favourable said about Down. Brolly calls it as is, and yes he can be an irritating little shit sometimes, with an element of smugness.
The point was that Spillane is a patronising gobshite. This north south bias thing that your so preoccupied with is becomong a bit boring.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2008, 01:54:04 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 11:06:15 AM
QuoteWell you start a thread on Joe Brolly if you want MS, instead of moaning about this one.

To be honest, it doesn't really bother me that much what Brolly says. He is a one-time-lucky-AI-winner-when-Kerry-were-shite type bozo who dines out on his one-hit wonder status. Not fit to lick the boots of any Kerry player or, for that matter,  any other players he criticizes. What bothers me is the way you bies whinge about something that ye constantly indulge in i.e one eyed Ulster parochialism disguised as "criticism" . Ye're all as bad as brolly, the wee shite.
Mike, your blood pressure must be through the roof! I've never come across such a highly-strung individual.

The fact is that Brolly was a class player and if he had been born in Kerry and Spillane in Derry, their respective haul of medals would be reversed. Spillane was part of a team - he'd have won nothing on his own.  Brolly is also highly articulate and insightful, hence his job as an analyst.

As for Spillane, at this stage i find him entertaining more than anything. You know what to expect, so why get upset about him.
Post by: red hander on August 04, 2008, 04:17:46 PM

If you want to talk about smug presenters/pundits lets first address that obseqious little bollix Brolly. Could he be any more pro-northern ? Did ye here him on the Tyrone-Mayo game saying Tyrone were much better than Mayo...ffs they won by a point in a game that Mayo could have, and should have, won imo. Did ye hear him contrasting the goal attempts by Tyrone and mayo. The Tyrone attempt was a great move altogehter yet Mortimers goal was "lucky"  ..you'd swear it was Tyrone that scored and not Mayo...jesus, what a t**t....I cant believe how biased he is and you lads just laugh away at how "funny" he is whilst having coniptions about Pat Spillane...

You'll get no argument from a Tyrone man about Brolly, but ffs Mike take the blinkers off just because he's from Kerry ... Spillane was a great footballer but he's a total gobshite as a pundit, and he'd be a total gobshite as a pundit if he was from Carlow, Leitrim or Rathlin Island
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 07:23:54 PM
QuoteMike, your blood pressure must be through the roof! I've never come across such a highly-strung individual

I'm as calm as Kieran Donaghy in front of goal. Dont mistake my use of "colourful" language with being upset. I actually enjoy this kind of slagging.
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 01:02:56 AM
Quote from: red hander on August 04, 2008, 04:17:46 PM

You'll get no argument from a Tyrone man about Brolly, but ffs Mike take the blinkers off just because he's from Kerry ... Spillane was a great footballer but he's a total gobshite as a pundit, and he'd be a total gobshite as a pundit if he was from Carlow, Leitrim or Rathlin Island

He has nothing fresh to say. The GAA pres was on today or yest about TSG comments often being dull.and they are. But the hurling is great.
Post by: Syferus on August 26, 2015, 01:07:48 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 01:02:56 AM
Quote from: red hander on August 04, 2008, 04:17:46 PM

He has nothing fresh to say. The GAA pres was on today or yest about TSG comments often being dull.and they are. But the hurling is great.

In fairness to Joe dull is one thing he never is.

Mr. Got My Dander Up striking again I see too. Deal with the BS on the field (and off it) and not the people capitalizing on it.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 01:16:26 AM
What do you think of that Joe Brolly?
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 01:26:52 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 01:16:26 AM
What do you think of that Joe Brolly?
youtube.com/watch?v=ReOwtTzUAZQ
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 01:59:26 AM
Say what you will about Joe Brolly but let nobody question his character
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 01:59:54 AM
He's some man in fairness
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 10:10:36 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 01:59:26 AM
and he has the smarts whereas Spillane doesn't
Post by: rosnarun on August 26, 2015, 11:19:44 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 10:10:36 AM
Pretty Brolly know feck all about football.
hes paid to be the class clown ala dunphy and hook and ability to annoy people,
in short to be a bollix
Post by: deiseach on August 26, 2015, 11:30:33 AM
In fairness to Spillane and Brolly, they're just doing what they are being asked to do. Remember SBB and his pyrotechnics on all manner of shows in the 80's and 90's? You'd think it was impossible for him to be anything other than a maggot. Yet stick on Seó Spóirt and there is the same man with a very cool and insightful take on the hurling issues of the day. Maybe the time has come for the GAA to give all coverage to TG4, where people seem to be encouraged to actually express a love for the game(s).
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 26, 2015, 11:34:30 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 26, 2015, 11:19:44 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 26, 2015, 10:10:36 AM
Pretty Brolly know feck all about football.
hes paid to be the class clown ala dunphy and hook and ability to annoy people,
in short to be a bollix

Brolly knows what he is at
Post by: regal on August 26, 2015, 07:34:08 PM
Another asshole
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2015, 11:13:46 PM
Quote from: regal on August 26, 2015, 07:34:08 PM
Another asshole

???
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 27, 2015, 01:22:48 PM
Quote from: regal on August 26, 2015, 07:34:08 PM
Another asshole

He seems like a decent bloke, I think he's now a rubbish pundit but that doesn't make him an asshole.

Post by: Red eye on August 27, 2015, 01:31:43 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 11:06:15 AM
QuoteWell you start a thread on Joe Brolly if you want MS, istead of moaning about this one.

Just seen this - brilliant :)
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 01:40:03 PM
Spillane is on RTE for the passive GAA supporter. He's there to tell you if a game is good or bad, no more really. He's there for the people who don't think about football (in an analytical sense) and just watch it. Being a Journalist (funny i know) for the Sunday World covers that demographic as well. Pre-rehearsed metaphors and similes are dished out. Quips and puns cover his lack of thought or analysis on the game. To be fair for most of the given audience don't care about sweepers, blanket defences, marquee forwards, kick passing etc. They just want approval of how good their county has played.
Post by: Jinxy on August 27, 2015, 02:01:57 PM
Spillane's role is redundant now.
Brolly generates all the sound bites and headlines so Pat is neither controversial enough to be the guy who 'Tells it like it is', nor is he knowledgeable enough to be the straight man, a la the senior analyst, Colm O'Rourke.
Post by: deiseach on August 27, 2015, 02:37:42 PM
I wonder how many All-Ireland medals 'Mike Sheehy' has.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 27, 2015, 02:53:11 PM
In fairness, in Kerry when you are born they give you one just to save time later.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 04:25:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 27, 2015, 02:53:11 PM
In fairness, in Kerry when you are born they give you one just to save time later.

Connie Murphy must have been cesarean section! :P
Post by: AZOffaly on August 27, 2015, 04:26:45 PM
Gave him an Allstar instead :)
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 04:30:27 PM
He has an All Ireland Club.......
Post by: AZOffaly on August 27, 2015, 04:32:35 PM
He has. We fucked his knee up the next Easter in a tournament down in Tralee.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 04:40:53 PM
Mick O'Dwyer told the Laois lads back in the noughties (who had won minor AI titles) that Minor AI medals were used in Kerry to prop up tables.

I was thinking there must have been a lot of wobbly tables in Kerry!  ;)
Post by: trileacman on August 27, 2015, 08:25:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 04:40:53 PM
Mick O'Dwyer told the Laois lads back in the noughties (who had won minor AI titles) that Minor AI medals were used in Kerry to prop up tables.

That's actually complete bollocks. Parkinson was on Off the Ball and said that was never said by Mick in his time.
Post by: Syferus on August 27, 2015, 08:30:33 PM
The real question is if he's manly enough to be such close proximity to the Paragon of Manliness.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 08:49:24 PM
Quote from: trileacman on August 27, 2015, 08:25:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 27, 2015, 04:40:53 PM

That's actually complete bollocks. Parkinson was on Off the Ball and said that was never said by Mick in his time.

Dara O'Se said he said that on Off the Ball.
Post by: rrhf on August 27, 2015, 10:40:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 27, 2015, 02:01:57 PM
Spillane's role is redundant now.
Brolly generates all the sound bites and headlines so Pat is neither controversial enough to be the guy who 'Tells it like it is', nor is he knowledgeable enough to be the straight man, a la the senior analyst, Colm O'Rourke.
The squeezed middle
Post by: Maroon Manc on November 20, 2018, 09:14:33 AM
Spillane names his best 30 players of 2018, naturally he's as impartial as ever.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-picks-his-top-30-gaelic-footballers-of-2018-and-14-players-from-his-2017-selection-are-missing-37542309.html

Naturally could argue all day long about a few players but I'd imagine everyone would agree Geaney had a woeful championship and should be nowhere near the list.
Post by: seafoid on November 20, 2018, 10:08:31 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on November 20, 2018, 09:14:33 AM
Spillane names his best 30 players of 2018, naturally he's as impartial as ever.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-picks-his-top-30-gaelic-footballers-of-2018-and-14-players-from-his-2017-selection-are-missing-37542309.html

Naturally could argue all day long about a few players but I'd imagine everyone would agree Geaney had a woeful championship and should be nowhere near the list.
Nice to see Graham Brody making the list
Post by: Cunny Funt on November 20, 2018, 02:29:06 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on November 20, 2018, 09:14:33 AM

Yes Geaney was better in 2017. Not putting Ian Burke in his list of 30 players is just tiresome attention seeking from Pat.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 20, 2018, 04:57:01 PM
Who cares what Spillane thinks?

What has he ever won as a Manager?
Post by: seafoid on November 20, 2018, 08:56:18 PM
Any GAA list is usually shite especially in the very long months between the football final and the league , now with extra 2 bonus weeks.
Btehpny on the Indo is an awful hoor for lists as well.
Spillane is light intertainment.

I wouldn't have him anywhere near my list of greatest Kerry people however.

Adrian Tierney is very good imitating him.

https://mobile.twitter.com/tierneytalks
https://mobile.twitter.com/tierneytalks/status/1043147966175961088

Post by: tonto1888 on November 20, 2018, 09:37:10 PM
Nice to see Grugan in there
Post by: macker15 on April 18, 2021, 08:48:53 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thesun.ie/sport/gaa-football/6856970/pat-spillane-dublin-gaa-covid-breach/amp/
Post by: From the Bunker on April 18, 2021, 09:07:03 AM
Quote from: macker15 on April 18, 2021, 08:48:53 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thesun.ie/sport/gaa-football/6856970/pat-spillane-dublin-gaa-covid-breach/amp/

Very insightful stuff from Pat as usual!  ::)
Post by: Gael85 on January 16, 2023, 04:46:33 PM
https://www.benchwarmers.ie/tyrone-kerry-gaa-gaelic-football-fossa/258390/