GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Cunny Funt on May 09, 2017, 08:25:42 PM

Title: Football championship referees’ panel
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 09, 2017, 08:25:42 PM

20 refs for the summer ahead Niall Cullen from Fermanagh and Mayo's Jerome Henry called up for the first time.

Ciaran Branagan (Down), Barry Cassidy (Derry), David Coldrick (Meath), Niall Cullen (Fermanagh), Maurice Deegan (Laois), Marty Duffy (Sligo), David Gough (Meath), Jerome Henry (Mayo), Rory Hickey (Clare), Padraig Hughes (Armagh), Sean Hurson (Tyrone), Fergal Kelly (Longford), Conor Lane (Cork), Joe McQuillan (Cavan), Noel Mooney (Cavan), Paddy Neilan (Roscommon), Anthony Nolan (Wicklow), Derek O'Mahony (Tipperary), Padraig O'Sullivan (Kerry), Cormac Reilly (Meath

Hoganstand.com taking the piss with their picture of the return of Cormac Reily.

(http://files.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/22222inpho_00841483.jpg)
Title: Re: Football championship referees’ panel
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 09:11:17 PM
Jerome Henry is the chap responsible for this decision at 1:44.59 here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_e802AT-5Ac

It says it all about the GAA when guys like this seem to get lifts for being completely incompetent.

Marty Duffy still an intercounty referee?

Of that list I'd only be confident that Coldrick and Gough would not let the game descend into farce.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 09:13:14 PM
Christ. Why are they returning to that well. Henry from Mayo isn't a great ref either.

Can we just get Gough to do all the matches and Neilan to do the ones involving Meath?
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2017, 09:31:33 PM
Congrats to Paddy Neil and.
Seems Jim Gavin doesn't totally run the GAA yet.
Marty and Cormac !!!!! Has to be a joke??
Post by: rrhf on May 09, 2017, 09:51:57 PM
the unsung hero of the gaa has to be the escort Gardai who ensure safe passage for our Endangered referees.
Whoever  tripped that Garda. Did he get prosecuted?
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 09, 2017, 10:12:46 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 09, 2017, 09:51:57 PM
the unsung hero of the gaa has to be the escort Gardai who ensure safe passage for our Endangered referees.

He was well knocked to the ground anyway. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjhuhnGapi0
Post by: mrdeeds on May 09, 2017, 10:29:42 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 09:11:17 PM
Jerome Henry is the chap responsible for this decision at 1:44.59 here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_e802AT-5Ac

It says it all about the GAA when guys like this seem to get lifts for being completely incompetent.

Marty Duffy still an intercounty referee?

Of that list I'd only be confident that Coldrick and Gough would not let the game descend into farce.

Holy feck that red card. Wow.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 09, 2017, 10:37:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 09:13:14 PM
Christ. Why are they returning to that well. Henry from Mayo isn't a great ref either.

Can we just get Gough to do all the matches and Neilan to do the ones involving Meath?

Unbelievable that Paddy Neilan is own the panel after his last outing in a major game.  No doubt he will get plenty of games as his own county won't be troubling us many times this year.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2017, 11:10:12 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 09, 2017, 10:37:39 PM

Unbelievable that Paddy Neilan is own the panel after his last outing in a major game.  No doubt he will get plenty of games as his own county won't be troubling us many times this year.

Are you a Dub by any chance? In fairness he was way better in that major game than i seen Marty Duffy, Conor Lane, Cormac Reilly in any major games.
Post by: regal on May 09, 2017, 11:28:51 PM
An absolutely pitiful list - lane, Cassidy, mcquillan, Cullen, Hughes, Duffy. God help the weaker counties as the season progresses.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 11:35:00 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2017, 11:10:12 PM

Are you a Dub by any chance? In fairness he was way better in that major game than i seen Marty Duffy, Conor Lane, Cormac Reilly in any major games.

Neilan put in a quality performance in the final alright. Already in the conversation for second best in the country after Gough, but when you look at the competition that wasn't too hard.
Post by: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 11:58:29 PM
Great to see Cormac back where he belongs.
You can't keep a good man down.
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 02:17:29 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 11:58:29 PM

How can one county produce both Cormac Reilly and David Gough?
Post by: Buttofthehill on May 10, 2017, 07:35:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 11:35:00 PM

Neilan put in a quality performance in the final alright. Already in the conversation for second best in the country after Gough, but when you look at the competition that wasn't too hard.

Thought Neilan had a decent game but you have to get the big decisions right. Haven't heard him explain why he didn't give the clear penalty. It's common knowledge to explain big decisions now isn't it?
Post by: mackers on May 10, 2017, 10:41:32 AM
That Niall Cullen fella from Fermanagh is a poor referee.  There'll be trouble there.
Post by: Jinxy on May 10, 2017, 11:34:55 AM
Quote from: rrhf on May 09, 2017, 09:51:57 PM

It was probably Lee Keegan.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 10, 2017, 12:42:30 PM
Some terrible referees there, agree that Gough is the pick of the bunch. There is the slight consolation that the abject Eddie Kinsella appears to be missing from the list.
Post by: joemamas on May 10, 2017, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 02:17:29 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 11:58:29 PM

How can one county produce both Cormac Reilly and David Gough?

Don't forget Colm O Rourke, he refereed the 1988 all-Ireland replay.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 10, 2017, 01:48:52 PM

Wow! That's certainly a high bar you have set for him.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 10, 2017, 01:56:36 PM
Who are the members of the National Referee Development Committee which is chaired by Sean Walsh?
Post by: Hound on May 10, 2017, 01:57:52 PM
While Duffy was a complete disaster 2 or 3 years ago, I thought he was bordering on competent when I saw him last year.
Post by: The Bearded One on May 10, 2017, 02:14:46 PM
When is the last time Dublin had a referee judged to be at the championship panel level?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 10, 2017, 02:31:34 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 10, 2017, 01:48:52 PM

Wow! That's certainly a high bar you have set for him.
Strangely you found it unbelievable that Neilan made it onto the panel eventhough consistently worse refs are on that list..
Post by: Itchy on May 12, 2017, 03:35:46 PM
Cormac Reilly and Jerome Henry are good refs. Just because they have made a mistake  or two in a game that involved your team doesnt mean they are useless. FFS do you think a referee should never make a mistake.

The only ones I can think of that makes more mistakes than is acceptable on that list is Maurice Deegan and Duffy.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 12, 2017, 03:52:55 PM
Quote from: The Bearded One on May 10, 2017, 02:14:46 PM
When is the last time Dublin had a referee judged to be at the championship panel level?

David Gough :)
Post by: StephenC on May 12, 2017, 04:07:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 12, 2017, 03:35:46 PM
Cormac Reilly and Jerome Henry are good refs. Just because they have made a mistake  or two in a game that involved your team doesnt mean they are useless. FFS do you think a referee should never make a mistake.

The only ones I can think of that makes more mistakes than is acceptable on that list is Maurice Deegan and Duffy.

Agree. There's not a ref in the country that someone couldn't tell a story about how they made a mistake.
Post by: Throw ball on May 12, 2017, 09:50:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2017, 03:52:55 PM

And Joe McQuillan  ;)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 12, 2017, 10:18:41 PM

And Joe McQuillan
Post by: Itchy on May 12, 2017, 11:38:12 PM
Only way the poor Armagh team will get fair play is too have Padraig Hughes ref all their games as every other referee in Ireland has it in for ye.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2017, 12:03:29 AM

You are on the funny pills? Cormac Reilly?
Post by: The Bearded One on May 13, 2017, 12:32:36 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2017, 03:52:55 PM

Well played AZOffaly 👏🏼
Post by: Itchy on May 13, 2017, 12:30:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 13, 2017, 12:03:29 AM

Maybe Mayo should take some responsibility for their constant bottling of big games instead of pinning it on a ref?
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2017, 01:05:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 13, 2017, 12:30:05 PM

Maybe Mayo should take some responsibility for their constant bottling of big games instead of pinning it on a ref?

Cormac Rielly as a linesman took a point off us from the fücking sideline, overruling both the umpires and the referee who was happy enough to play on. Of course it was an obvious point.

You're not safe from The Joker even when he's not even the referee.
Post by: Itchy on May 13, 2017, 01:17:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2017, 01:05:21 PM

Cormac Rielly as a linesman took a point off us from the fücking sideline, overruling both the umpires and the referee who was happy enough to play on. Of course it was an obvious point.

Maybe he had the best view and it was a point? The problem is that lads like you cannot be objective and blame referee for when ye don't win. Do you think in that game Roscommon didn't get the advantage in a decision or two which you could argue means ye were lucky to get a point.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2017, 01:25:43 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 13, 2017, 01:17:05 PM

Maybe he had the best view and it was a point? The problem is that lads like you cannot be objective and blame referee for when ye don't win. Do you think in that game Roscommon didn't get the advantage in a decision or two which you could argue means ye were lucky to get a point.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html)
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2017, 01:28:32 PM

I was literally behind the bollix in the stand, which is how I even know it was him. It was a clear point even from the sideline.

Overruling the lads whose only job is to judge the points from the sideline makes a total mockery of the officiating. Has nothing to do with the team or who I support.
Post by: Itchy on May 13, 2017, 01:34:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 13, 2017, 01:25:43 PM

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html)

So he was poor in this game. It also say mcquillan was brilliant but according to many on here he is useless and biased to Dublin. I never said refs are perfect or get it right every time. We would need an eye in the sky for that. I just think you need to look at this objectively and over a large number of games. I've seen Cormac Reilly ref some very challenging games very well too.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 25, 2019, 04:19:26 PM
Panel for this summer.

Ciaran Branagan (Down)
Barry Cassidy (Derry)
Brendan Cawley (Kildare)
David Coldrick (Meath)
Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)
Maurice Deegan (Laois)
David Gough (Meath)
Jerome Henry (Mayo)
Sean Hurson (Tyrone)
Fergal Kelly (Longford)
Conor Lane (Cork)
Martin McNally (Monaghan)
Joe McQuillan (Cavan)
James Molloy (Galway)
Noel Mooney (Cavan)
Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)
Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)
Derek O'Mahoney (Tipperary)

Newcomers are Brendan Cawley from Kildare and James Molloy from Galway, who replace Cormac Reilly (Meath) and Padraig Hughes (Armagh).
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 25, 2019, 06:31:31 PM
Not one referee from Dublin
Post by: BennyCake on April 25, 2019, 06:37:03 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 25, 2019, 06:31:31 PM

There is one - Joe McQuillan.
Post by: joemamas on April 25, 2019, 11:45:01 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 25, 2019, 06:37:03 PM

Don't forget the smiley Laois one who chickened out of a blatant call in an all Ireland final
Post by: kerryforsam19 on April 26, 2019, 12:10:57 AM
Quote from: joemamas on April 25, 2019, 11:45:01 PM

Don't forget the smiley Laois one who chickened out of a blatant call in an all Ireland final

The Jason Doherty red card?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on April 26, 2019, 12:15:04 AM
Hopefully we have don't Fergal Kelly for another game this year.
Post by: whitey on April 26, 2019, 01:59:06 AM
I heard Cormac Reilly has retired from refereeing due to bad eyesight
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2019, 08:00:46 AM
No harm to see Hughes gone off the list I must say.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 26, 2019, 03:56:57 PM
Retiring ref won't miss hate mail

Rory Hickey has revealed how he received hate mail during his time as a referee.

The Clare match official, who hung up his whistle this week after missing the cut for this year's football championship panel, says the most disturbing mail he received was after he awarded Cork a controversial penalty against Limerick in the 2009 Munster SFC final.

"I got letters sent to me a few years ago," Hickey told the Clare Champion.

"I gave a penalty to Cork in a Munster football final and the people of Limerick weren't too happy about it. The letters came to my mother's house and she opened them and they were't too complimentary. Someone had gone out of their way to cut words out of magazines and newspapers, so that the handwriting couldn't be traced.

"I am not the only one that has happened to. I know other lads at national level who would have had the same thing happen to them.

"It's disturbing and at that stage then you are handing the letters over to the guards and hoping that there won't be repeat stuff or anyone calling to the door. Thankfully, I never had anyone calling to my house because of a decision in a game, but I have gotten texts and that kind of thing. People would seek out your number and send you those texts.

"I am big enough and bold enough to handle that, but when it is going to your mother's house, or your wife and children might be reading it, it's not nice." 
Post by: tippabu on April 27, 2019, 09:02:46 AM
What's the standard of reffing like in Dublin. When was the last time there was a Dublin ref on the panel and at that it mustn't have been for a sustained time or high profile?
Post by: Hound on April 29, 2019, 12:38:45 PM
Impossible to judge a ref unless you're totally impartial. Most people are complete idiots when it comes to judging refs, they only see the 50/50s that go against them and completely ignore the 50/50s that go their way, and often they don't know the rules themselves!

About two years ago I went to see local rivals play in a Division 1 game in Dublin. I generally hate them, but a cousin of mine had progressed to the first team, so I was hoping he'd do well and didn't care about the opposition either way, so found myself neutral as to the result. The ref had a fine game (drawn match), yet both sets of fans gave him absolute dog's abuse and I realised if I'd been a fan of either, I probably would have been in the same boat. Overnight my perspective and reaction to refs changed completely!

In Dublin division 1, the standard is pretty high I would say. They've gotten rid of most of the old fogies who just stand between the 45s (or 65s). The new bunch are young, fit and reasonable.

Most important factors for refs (in no particular order):
1. Fit and keeps up with play
2. Not an arsehole who thrives on the power his whistle holds
3. Explains decisions when he makes them
4. Consistently gives frees (or doesn't give frees) for similar incidents
5. Doesn't get intimidated by he who shouts loudest
6. Knows the rules inside out

From a fan's perspective, the key one for me is number 3 above. "He gave it for a push by the corner back". So even if you didn't see the push, or didn't think the push warranted a free, at least you have his perspective and almost always, that's not unreasonable.
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2019, 12:46:11 PM

don't forget Dublin deegan
Post by: Itchy on April 30, 2019, 06:03:42 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 29, 2019, 12:46:11 PM

Having lived close to Mayo for 15 years now and studied this strain of humanity and it's odd ways I can conclude that the only way mayo will win Sam is by having all refs from mayo. It is strongly believed in mayo that if referees were not biased against them that Mayo would never have lost any game ever and would have amassed well over 100 AI titles. Bias against Mayo is rampant in the other 31 counties, probably in the rest of the world too.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 30, 2019, 06:33:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 29, 2019, 12:38:45 PM
Impossible to judge a ref unless you're totally impartial. Most people are complete idiots when it comes to judging refs, they only see the 50/50s that go against them and completely ignore the 50/50s that go their way, and often they don't know the rules themselves!

About two years ago I went to see local rivals play in a Division 1 game in Dublin. I generally hate them, but a cousin of mine had progressed to the first team, so I was hoping he'd do well and didn't care about the opposition either way, so found myself neutral as to the result. The ref had a fine game (drawn match), yet both sets of fans gave him absolute dog's abuse and I realised if I'd been a fan of either, I probably would have been in the same boat. Overnight my perspective and reaction to refs changed completely!

In Dublin division 1, the standard is pretty high I would say. They've gotten rid of most of the old fogies who just stand between the 45s (or 65s). The new bunch are young, fit and reasonable.

Most important factors for refs (in no particular order):
1. Fit and keeps up with play
2. Not an arsehole who thrives on the power his whistle holds
3. Explains decisions when he makes them
4. Consistently gives frees (or doesn't give frees) for similar incidents
5. Doesn't get intimidated by he who shouts loudest
6. Knows the rules inside out

From a fan's perspective, the key one for me is number 3 above. "He gave it for a push by the corner back". So even if you didn't see the push, or didn't think the push warranted a free, at least you have his perspective and almost always, that's not unreasonable.

Excellent post.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 30, 2019, 09:36:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 30, 2019, 06:03:42 PM

Having lived close to Mayo for 15 years now and studied this strain of humanity and it's odd ways I can conclude that the only way mayo will win Sam is by having all refs from mayo. It is strongly believed in mayo that if referees were not biased against them that Mayo would never have lost any game ever and would have amassed well over 100 AI titles. Bias against Mayo is rampant in the other 31 counties, probably in the rest of the world too.

I don't know! Mayo people have always blamed decisions made on the line more. Maughan, Horan, Roachford have taken huge criticism for past failures.

And to be fair we took the greatest riding from a referee in Limerick in 2014.
Post by: westbound on May 01, 2019, 12:06:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 30, 2019, 09:36:22 PM

I don't know! Mayo people have always blamed decisions made on the line more. Maughan, Horan, Roachford have taken huge criticism for past failures.

I think the good people of louth might disagree!
Post by: twohands!!! on May 01, 2019, 09:40:30 PM
Quote from: westbound on May 01, 2019, 12:06:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 30, 2019, 09:36:22 PM

I think the good people of louth might disagree!

I'd imagine most people would say Louth have that title - were Mayo even that hard done by in Limerick?
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2023, 05:11:00 PM
David Coldrick who was the ref for 4 All-Ireland finals and Derek O’Mahoney, who was the ref for this year's All-Ireland club final are cut from the championship referees panel after failing fitness tests.
Post by: Itchy on April 19, 2023, 05:18:20 PM
O Mahoney is a poor enough ref but I always found Coldrick ok.
Post by: GoldCoastRossie on April 20, 2023, 03:41:01 PM
I would think the same of Coldrick as decent enough ref. Its a thankless task. You blow for every free you are too officious and if you let the game go you are too lax.

I still think its only a matter of time before GAA at intercounty moves to 2 referees in a match due to the speed and hard hitting and size of players although with the passing over and back all day long and 15 behind the ball, a pensioner would be able to ref it!. The game is a lot cleaner nowadays compared to watching GAA Gold and the evolution to include the linesmen helps.

If there is any inconsistency its I feel northern refs let more physical stuff go which is more in tune with Ulster football than elsewhere but any good player and management should be able to adjust and play the ref. 
Post by: Armagh18 on April 20, 2023, 03:44:29 PM
Quote from: GoldCoastRossie on April 20, 2023, 03:41:01 PM
I would think the same of Coldrick as decent enough ref. Its a thankless task. You blow for every free you are too officious and if you let the game go you are too lax.

I still think its only a matter of time before GAA at intercounty moves to 2 referees in a match due to the speed and hard hitting and size of players although with the passing over and back all day long and 15 behind the ball, a pensioner would be able to ref it!. The game is a lot cleaner nowadays compared to watching GAA Gold and the evolution to include the linesmen helps.

If there is any inconsistency its I feel northern refs let more physical stuff go which is more in tune with Ulster football than elsewhere but any good player and management should be able to adjust and play the ref.
yeah any half decent team should know within 5 minutes what way a ref is and how much physicality they will let go. Problem is when they let something go then 5 minutes later blow for the same thing!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 20, 2023, 11:09:47 PM
When players play within the rules, stop questioning every decision pestering ref's, ganching at every miss bad pass, but concentrating on the ball we'd have a cleaner game without the shite thrown up now.

Having two refs won't change that. Stupid idea, two conflicting views and different calls! Players would be seriously confused
Post by: From the Bunker on April 21, 2023, 12:44:51 AM
The world expects perfection. Referees are not given the required rules to adhere to this. Most of the time they have to go with interpretation. And interpretation is mathematically impossible to get right all of the time!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 21, 2023, 07:15:02 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 21, 2023, 12:44:51 AM
The world expects perfection. Referees are not given the required rules to adhere to this. Most of the time they have to go with interpretation. And interpretation is mathematically impossible to get right all of the time!

That's all fine, but it's the inconsistent application of those interpretations that does the damage.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 21, 2023, 07:30:08 AM
So the answer is?