St. Molaise Gaels
Ballymote
Calry/St. Joseph's
Tourlestrane
St. Mary's
St. Farnan's
St. John's

Onlooker

Sligonian, after the harsh we words exchanged last week re the Colleges Final, I would like to congratulate you on Sligo's promotion to Div. 2.  No hard feelings for sure and it is great to see someone so passionate about his county's footballers.  Again, well done and best of luck in the Connacht Championship.

Quote from: Onlooker on April 12, 2010, 11:07:04 AM
Sligonian, after the harsh we words exchanged last week re the Colleges Final, I would like to congratulate you on Sligo's promotion to Div. 2.  No hard feelings for sure and it is great to see someone so passionate about his county's footballers.  Again, well done and best of luck in the Connacht Championship.

Thanks onlooker, from my point of view my report on the attractas was accurate and honest and not a slight on tipp football, was delighted ye won u21 and was hoping we take heart from that in our final. I am sore loser and dont take it well especially when its our own fault like the u21 or a ref treats us differently to the opposition. Clonmel are very good side and it wasnt there fault ref was kind to them but they were fortunate to hang on. Good luck in Munster yereselves.

The St Attractas manager quotes after the game, there is a fairly scathing but accurate report from Liam Maloney aswell..

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=eyaucweycw&cat=sport

Was at our club game this evening, it was a dogfight akin to u21 final a few weeks, dire football, but we won by 1 pt against Easky, frustrating performance and handicapping manager once again.

27 Apr U12D1G1 2 St Mary's 0 - 10 0 - 7 St John's
27 Apr U12D2G2 2 St Mary's 0 - 8 0 - 10 St John's
27 Apr U14LD2 5 St Molaise Gaels 2 - 21 1 - 4 CooleraStrandhill
27 Apr Snr Lge D1 5 Eastern Harps 3 - 10 0 - 10 St John's
26 Apr U16LD1S1 7 St Molaise Gaels 3 - 17 3 - 6 St Farnan's
26 Apr U16LD1S1 7 St Patrick's/Dromard 4 - 6 4 - 10 St John's
26 Apr U16LD1S1 7 Castleconnor 3 - 10 2 - 10 Owenmore Gaels/Ballisodare
26 Apr U16LD1S1 7 St Mary's 9 - 29 0 - 0 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's
26 Apr U16LD1S2 7 Eastern Harps 1 - 10 3 - 10 Tubbercurry
26 Apr U16LD1S2 7 CooleraStrandhill 1 - 3 5 - 14 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige
26 Apr U16LD1S2 7 Ballymote/Bunninadden 4 - 13 2 - 6 Coolaney/Mullinabreena
26 Apr U16LD2 7 Easkey 2 - 21 0 - 2 St Michael's/Naomh Mícheál
26 Apr U16LD2 7 Curry/Curraigh 6 - 9 3 - 6 Enniscrone/Kilglass
26 Apr U16LD2 7 Drumcliffe/Rosses Pt 4 - 16 1 - 11 Cloonacool
25 Apr Snr Lge D2 5 Castleconnor 2 - 14 1 - 5 Eastern Harps
25 Apr U16LD1S1 6 Castleconnor 2 - 18 0 - 8 St Patrick's/Dromard
25 Apr Snr Lge D1 5 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane 2 - 14 0 - 10 Geevagh
25 Apr Snr Lge D1 5 CooleraStrandhill 2 - 13 2 - 8 Bunninadden
25 Apr Snr Lge D2 5 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige 1 - 17 3 - 10 St Molaise Gaels
25 Apr Snr Lge D2 5 Easkey 0 - 5 0 - 9 Drumcliffe/Rosses Pt
25 Apr Snr Lge D3 5 St Patrick's/Dromard 1 - 8 0 - 7 St Farnan's
25 Apr Snr Lge D1 5 Ballymote 0 - 15 2 - 9 Curry/Curraigh
25 Apr U16LD1S2 4 CooleraStrandhill 2 - 9 1 - 7 Coolaney/Mullinabreena
24 Apr NFL3   Aontroim 1 - 11 0 - 19 Sligeach
23 Apr U14LD2 5 Ballymote 2 - 2 5 - 13 Curry/Curraigh
23 Apr DMHLge 1 Western Gaels 1 - 18 3 - 7 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's
23 Apr MLD2A 5 St Patrick's/Dromard 2 - 9 0 - 15 Enniscrone/Kilglass
23 Apr MLD2B 5 Castleconnor 1 - 12 3 - 8 St Molaise Gaels
23 Apr Snr Lge D3 5 St Michael's/Naomh Mícheál 2 - 17 0 - 8 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane
23 Apr U14LD1 5 Tubbercurry 1 - 13 1 - 8 St Mary's
23 Apr U14LD1 5 Ballisodare 4 - 5 8 - 18 Easkey
23 Apr U14LD3 5 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige 4 - 9 2 - 9 St Michael's/Naomh Mícheál
23 Apr U14LD2 5 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane 4 - 12 2 - 8 Eastern Harps
23 Apr U14LD2 5 St John's 6 - 5 2 - 8 Coolaney/Mullinabreena
23 Apr Snr Lge D4 5 Ballymote 3 - 9 0 - 9 Owenmore Gaels
23 Apr Snr Lge D4 5 St Molaise Gaels 0 - 8 2 - 11 Cloonacool
23 Apr Snr Lge D4 5 CooleraStrandhill 0 - 15 0 - 16 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's
23 Apr U14LD3 5 Geevagh 10 - 12 3 - 5 St Farnan's
22 Apr MLD1 5 Tubbercurry 2 - 11 0 - 10 Curry/Curraigh
22 Apr MLD1 5 Eastern Harps 2 - 11 3 - 8 St John's
22 Apr MLD1 5 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's 0 - 11 5 - 12 St Mary's
21 Apr U14LD1 2 Tubbercurry 3 - 7 2 - 9 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's
21 Apr U14LD2 2 Curry/Curraigh 2 - 5 1 - 11 St John's
20 Apr U16LD1S1 1 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's 3 - 8 1 - 9 Castleconnor
20 Apr U12D1G1 2 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige 0 - 12 0 - 15 St Molaise Gaels
20 Apr U12D1G1 2 Drumcliffe/Rosses Pt 0 - 7 0 - 20 Tubbercurry
20 Apr U12D1G1 2 CooleraStrandhill 0 - 14 0 - 16 Eastern Harps
20 Apr U12D1G2 2 Ballymote 0 - 9 0 - 10 Coolaney/Mullinabreena
20 Apr U12D1G2 2 Easkey 0 - 17 0 - 4 Calraigh/Naomh Iósef/Calry/St Joseph's
20 Apr U12D1G2 2 St Farnan's 0 - 21 0 - 12 Curry/Curraigh
20 Apr U12D1G2 2 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane 0 - 12 0 - 20 Owenmore Gaels
20 Apr U12D2G1 2 St Michael's/Naomh Mícheál 0 - 22 0 - 8 Ballymote
20 Apr U12D2G1 2 Castleconnor 0 - 17 0 - 5 Geevagh
19 Apr U16LD1S2 6 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane 4 - 19 0 - 4 CooleraStrandhill
19 Apr U16LD1S2 6 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige 4 - 12 2 - 7 Coolaney/Mullinabreena
19 Apr U16LD1S2 6 Ballymote/Bunninadden 1 - 7 1 - 6 Eastern Harps

Seanie a few worrying underage results for your club, Harps drawing with Johns is a huge suprise at minor, and Marys hammering Calry at minor. Is there a shift at underage, as I would always of thought  Calry and Johns were always very strong at minor. Harps usually are poor underage but its good to see them coming strong again.

A few surprises there alright in the minor grade but there have been plenty in that grade so far.

Our U-16's will be better come the championship. You wouldn't want to read too much into league results with the way the competitions are being run. Our U-16's had to play on consecutive evenings at the beginning of the week - how is that helping football? Last year we got to the A2 championship (top 4 in league were in A1) final and lost a great game so things aren't so bad. Also, when a neighbouring club poaches your best player the damage is not just the loss of the player - its what it does to the morale of the rest of them. We're working on that. Our U-12's and U-11's have plenty of talent coming through as well - again results not too hugely important.

Looks like Mary's fairly gave it to Calry U-16's. I'll not comment further, I think it speaks for itself.

Westie

Seanie - - a disgrace at the moment...Our u16played on Sun afternoon, Monday evening, a number of them played for their school in a Connacht final on Tue and the minor board did everything in their power to make us play again Wed.  Never mind some of these boys being on u14 or minor teams also.  All in one week.  We did not call off any of the games that cause the fixture pile up. There will be no games then in June, July or August (when there is no rugby or soccer either!!!)
Marys gave us some lesson a few weeks back, a very good team even without the imports, so why import?????

Sure lets not bother with club boundaries or rules if thats the way they want it, sure we'll start targeting the town now for players, well thats the way tubber and marys play it so at least we'll all be singing from the same hymn sheet.

As for Coiste na nog they are some joke, i didnt look at the dates so didnt realise the games were so close together. Bad result for our minors last night lost 3-8 to 0-3 loss to Drumcliffe.

All they care about is gettng the games out of the way and looking good to the boffins in Croke Park to further peoples political careers. Its nothing about developing football in the county.

Sligo 0-20 Leitrim 3-8 AET in the Connacht Junior QTR.

This game probably showed me anything that is wrong with Sligo GAA at the minute, I was a little frustrated at Phillips starting FB, especially with Gavin Gilsenan on the bench but sure I go anyway and see.

Anyways I was pissed off with everyone of our defence, none of them wanted to defend, attack attack attack, Phillips pissed me off, he didnt within 10 yards of his man, and his man was no great shakes but still got 1-2 from play off phillips in normal time.  The goal was a joke, instead catching a comfortable ball phillips punched it straight to his man who scored. Then you couldnt write it, Phillips was bombing forward, I actually seen him run 60 yards up the field on the bilndside of the play, and his man stayed so that left 3 forwards 2 defenders, of course we lost the ball and they got a score.

David Rooney 0-2, Eoin McHugh 0-2, K cawley 0-1, but none of these lads played well defensively, Mulvey and Farrell both destroyed there opponents, rooney was moved and cawley moved out, but I just hope this was a blip for Cawley, as he was cleaned, hope this is once off and no better game to have an off day.

Lads Ive seen Shane Stenson make every league squad and im not joking he is unreal ordinary. Brian Kennedy was the only defender who was discplined and marked his man. I know lads are eager to impress and look good but we were like butter. There was much possesion going in and leitrim were erratic shooting that saved us.

I was impressed with James Murphy of Johns, he out shone Gilmartin by a long way, has pace, can field and rarely gave away possession, got 0-2 from play under a bit of pressure. He didnt show much in ET as he obviously tired.

It was 1-8 to 0-11 at FT... David Maye saved us, most of all our frees he won and McGee was taking them, McGee did well up until 20mins to go and missed aload of frees then. Like Cawley and Gilmartin hopefully just an off day and no better to have one. David maye to me is still a class act and definitly brings himself back into contention, he caused most of our scores and looked dangerous with the right ball. FF is probably his position and dont let him come deep. He got 0-2 from play and few long range frees at the end. He is filling out physically aswell.

McGorldrick had plenty of opportunites to score but hit a few wides, he came back on late and scored a long range, so he can do it, actually was his longest attempt.

Francis quinn worked hard but is awful limited footballer. Kieran finan was pretty anonymous, Stenson has no pace to beat his man so will pass it everytime, sometimes accurate sometimes not.

McGlynn looked good in patches and Eoin did well going forward but these lads really struggle with basic defending. I mean some of it was niave stuff, trying to stop players momentum with there arms, and running past the forward instead of staying goal side.

Gilsenan came on and didnt have much involvement, Paul Mctiernan came on aswell for about 40mins, It was my first time seeing McTiernan, and honestly hed struggle to make our club team. Timid isnt the word.

Well lads people are raving about this great squad, but if have any injuries and ewing, phillips, stenson are our back ups forget about it being a long summer, jees if Walsh thinks Phillips is our FB back up we will be massacred. Them 3 shouldnt be in the squad imo, David maye, Kennedy, McGlynn, James Murphy, EOH, Coen, Guaghan, s davey would be my subs against Mayo to make the 24.

None of the goals were Farrells fault, unstoppable. His kickouts were good and his way quicker than greene  at setting up. Looks comfortable in Possesion.

Today for me was analysing the fringe players and seeing who really should be in the squad, the above is my take, and today seeing how some of our seniors did against a poor side has brought me back down to earth. It is a good thing as our lads know hard work is ahead if we are to beat mayo. I dont like be so abrupt but no point wasting time either with player who will never be good enough.

01 May Snr Lge D1 6 Curry/Curraigh 1 - 8 2 - 13 Tuarloistreáin/Tourlestrane
01 May Snr Lge D1 6 Bunninadden 1 - 10 2 - 8 Eastern Harps
01 May Snr Lge D1 6 Geevagh 2 - 11 3 - 7 CooleraStrandhill
01 May Snr Lge D1 6 St John's 0 - 11 4 - 7 Ballymote
01 May Snr Lge D2 6 Drumcliffe/Rosses Pt 3 - 3 1 - 12 Shamrock Gaels/Gaeil na Seamróige
01 May Snr Lge D2 6 St Mary's 1 - 16 0 - 11 Easkey
01 May Snr Lge D2 6 St Molaise Gaels 2 - 17 0 - 9 Castleconnor

Our lads played well tonight, CC were poor though. Gilsenan had judge in his pocket all game. Eoin McHugh impressed me, scoring at least 2-4 , hes given a free role in the forwards, he is attack minded player as was evident last night. This lad is not a defender, county take note. Darren Gilsenan scored 0-7 from play i reckon, he wouldnt be known for his point scoring ability so good to see. Id like to see CC be better as there a border club so i wish them well.

Geevagh and Harps had good wins in tight games, and tour seem to have the upper hand on curry at the minute. Quinn didnt play for us, but I know he has hamstring, were the county seniors allowed play this weekend?

Westie

Trust me Sligonian we are better than that. 4 lads made their senior debuts last night and it showed. However ye have a big (in stature ) team, with plenty of skill and after 10 mins it was obvious how this game was going. It will be a good learning experience for our lads though.
Off to div5 now, hope to get a game but now that we have a fairly good crop of young lads might have to be happy with the last 5 minutes ;)

Quote from: Westie on May 02, 2010, 10:08:35 AM
Trust me Sligonian we are better than that. 4 lads made their senior debuts last night and it showed. However ye have a big (in stature ) team, with plenty of skill and after 10 mins it was obvious how this game was going. It will be a good learning experience for our lads though.
Off to div5 now, hope to get a game but now that we have a fairly good crop of young lads might have to be happy with the last 5 minutes ;)
Glad to hear that tbh, we need our border clubs like us to be strong to attract players and keep them loyal. We have a good mix of physicality and skill for sure westie.

Very disappointing evening in Geevagh. Our lads never started and were 6 points down and in danger of a hiding when we finally woke up. Played much better after that and got back level with about 10-15 mins left. Had the most of the play in the latter stages and were lets just put it diplomatically - a little "unfortunate" - to not at least get a share of the spoils. We did miss two difficult frees into the breeze in the closing stages and were short a lot of players but its a bad defeat. County players were available. Keelan Cawley played for us (Costello was unavailable) and Kenneth Sweeney had a very good game for Geevagh.

Our game last weekend was called off in tubbercurry due to bereavement in tubber.

Eoin McHugh, Cathal Burns and the 2 Gilsenans are USA bound, which is a big blow to the club. TBH i dont blame as none of the players rate the current management and probably know deep down until we get a decent manager we wont Owen B. All the players Ive spoken to do believe it is in us no doubt in my mind if we get the right man we will win it in the next 5 yrs.

Sligo juniors play Fermanagh in the Connacht Semi on Friday evening in Markievicz at 19.30. Also the seniors have 2 more challenges before mayo, one against Clare this weekend and against Kildare the weekend after. Mark Quinn, David Kelly and Adrian Marren are our only injuries, Kelly and Quinn will be fine this weekend as they recovered from slight knocks, but Marren will probably only make the bench for mayo.