GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Aristo 60 on June 30, 2014, 09:48:45 AM

Title: An Dun -v- Cill Dara AIQ R2
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 30, 2014, 09:48:45 AM
The Home Advantage Gods smile on County Down once again.

We've had the upper hand over the lily whites for a few years now so they'll put up a massive fight you'd think.

Yesterday's performance is no indicator but all in all we have to be content enough. Laverty would have caused trouble to any team yesterday.

What odds on Benny signing off in Newry with another 'special' against Kildare?

Title: Re: An Dun -v- Cill Dara AIQ R2
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2014, 12:43:59 PM
Never been to Páirc Esler so directions and parking tips much appreciated. Will be looking for a quick exit  :D
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 30, 2014, 12:53:45 PM
Unless we learn to defend in the space of 13 days I can't see us winning. I can see us having loads of ball and scoring 14-20 points but I can't see us not conceding at least three goals. Down's forwards are made for goal scoring. The thoughts of us leaving 50 yards of space in front of two or three full backs is frightening when you're up against the likes of Poland, Laverty and Coulter and seeing as we haven't learned from the past dozen games it's hard to feel confident that we will for this one.
Post by: inexile on June 30, 2014, 01:14:42 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on June 30, 2014, 12:53:45 PM
Unless we learn to defend in the space of 13 days I can't see us winning. I can see us having loads of ball and scoring 14-20 points but I can't see us not conceding at least three goals. Down's forwards are made for goal scoring. The thoughts of us leaving 50 yards of space in front of two or three full backs is frightening when you're up against the likes of Poland, Laverty and Coulter and seeing as we haven't learned from the past dozen games it's hard to feel confident that we will for this one.

have to agree o2b.  We wont sort out yesterdays problems in 13 days. At €30 a ticket I Can't see very many travelling for this.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 30, 2014, 01:25:30 PM
€30?

that is a big lep from £13 yesterday.

Sean Og will be getting ideas.
Post by: snoopdog on June 30, 2014, 01:56:00 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 30, 2014, 01:25:30 PM
€30?

that is a big lep from £13 yesterday.

Sean Og will be getting ideas.

Thats a joke right, it cant be 30 euro a ticket.
Why was it the same price for the stand as for the Terracing yesterday?  Its madness who sets the pricese for qualifiers? is it up to the Ulster council for games in Ulster?
Also id suspect this game will be moved to Sun the 13th to avoid a clash with the other cultural activities of that weekend.
Title: Áthrach
Post by: drici on June 30, 2014, 02:41:45 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 30, 2014, 01:56:00 PM

Also id suspect this game will be moved to Sun the 13th to avoid a clash with the other cultural activities of that weekend.

Indeed. Sunday 13th of July has mysteriously crept into the Round 2B matches.
http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/3006141420-football-qualifier-fixture-details-confirmed/
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 02:54:19 PM
Big double header in Thurles next Saturday. Footballers at 4.45 v Longford, and the Hurlers v Galway
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2014, 02:56:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 02:54:19 PM
Big double header in Thurles next Saturday. Footballers at 4.45 v Longford, and the Hurlers v Galway

No doubt the Longford support will have to pay extra for the privilege.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2014, 02:58:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2014, 02:56:32 PM

At least some of the Tip ladeens might realise their footballers are no longer desperate basket cases.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 03:21:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2014, 02:56:32 PM

Probably, and the Galway lads too.
Title: Re: Áthrach
Post by: Agent Orange on June 30, 2014, 06:12:17 PM
Quote from: drici on June 30, 2014, 02:41:45 PM

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/3006141420-football-qualifier-fixture-details-confirmed/

Down men normally go to Scarva on the 13th, they enjoy an oul sham fight.
Title: Re: Áthrach
Post by: snoopdog on July 01, 2014, 09:34:56 AM
Quote from: Agent Orange on June 30, 2014, 06:12:17 PM
Quote from: drici on June 30, 2014, 02:41:45 PM

Down men normally go to Scarva on the 13th, they enjoy an oul sham fight.

yeah but as the 13th falls on a sunday they dont like to march on the day of rest so thats pushed out to monday the 14th so we can have 3 big days out. Gilford on sat Newry on sunday and then Scarva on Monday.
Post by: ardtole on July 07, 2014, 12:03:49 PM
If Kildare start OConnor at FF, should we expect Gordon to play FB? I wonder what way the defence would line out, possibly McArdle in the corner.
Post by: A man from Down on July 07, 2014, 01:23:39 PM
You would imagine so Ardtole. Big Dan has done well on the likes of Michael Murphy and Star Donaghy in there to name a few however if Dan was to play well in the middle you would hope the supply going into the Kildare Full forward line would be limited. Bit of a dilemma for James but at least there is a choice.

I would like to see:

Cunningham
D McCartan
McArdle
O'Hagan
Garvey
Turley
R Johnston
McKernan
Gordon
Coulter
Maginn
Poland
O'Hare
J Johnston
Laverty

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 07, 2014, 01:46:46 PM
Very hard to know what to expect from Kildare. It's potentially a winnable game if we alter our tactical gameplan to offer the full back line a lot more protection. Equally we could ship a heavy beating if we are not clued in again.

Hoping to see a more organised defensive structure and a lot more aggression and urgency in the performance. Doubtful whether that will be enough to get the win in Down's backyard.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on July 07, 2014, 02:14:09 PM
Sunday
2-00pm   Páirc Esler

(https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t1.0-9/10426338_505758639555679_6468848672814947248_n.jpg)

Post by: elk on July 07, 2014, 03:51:13 PM
Quote from: A man from Down on July 07, 2014, 01:23:39 PM
You would imagine so Ardtole. Big Dan has done well on the likes of Michael Murphy and Star Donaghy in there to name a few however if Dan was to play well in the middle you would hope the supply going into the Kildare Full forward line would be limited. Bit of a dilemma for James but at least there is a choice.

I would like to see:

Cunningham
D McCartan
McArdle
O'Hagan
Garvey
Turley
R Johnston
McKernan
Gordon
Coulter
Maginn
Poland
O'Hare
J Johnston
Laverty
Agree largely, but I would start C Mc Cartan instead of R. Johnston.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 07, 2014, 11:28:18 PM
Elk is right to point out that it would be harsh to drop Ciaran McCartan after a promising debut, and most Down fans would be amazed if Madine did not start as well. The odds must be that the Kilcoo trio will be on the bench after their holiday trip, although they are well capable of making an impact whenever they are introduced.

Kildare will not be lacking motivation after unexpectedly losing to Meath in a game which had a level of intenstity way ahead of Down's training stroll against an understrength Leitrim.  There will probably not be much between the teams, so avoiding black cards, particularly in the early stages, could be the key.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2014, 11:43:01 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2014, 12:43:59 PM
Never been to Páirc Esler so directions and parking tips much appreciated. Will be looking for a quick exit  :D

It's very walkable from the centre of town Dinny, so you can just turn your veh-hick-il! ;) around 180 degrees and point her homewards on the Dublin Road, before or around the Quays shopping complex on your right hand side before you cross any bridge. It's a 10 minute walk from there over the bridge, taking a right down by the river.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2014, 11:44:43 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2014, 11:43:01 PM

It's very walkable from the centre of town Dinny, so you can just turn your veh-hick-il! ;) around 180 degrees and point her homewards on the Dublin Road, before or around the Quays shopping complex on your right hand side before you cross any bridge. It's a 10 minute walk from there over the bridge, taking a right down by the river.

Thank you Sir.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2014, 11:45:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2014, 11:43:01 PM

For a typical Kildare vehicle on a standard road, that's a 9 point turn.
Post by: Gabriel on July 08, 2014, 12:17:47 AM
Ciaran McCartan did rightly the last day out but it'd surely be unwise to base his suitability to start against Kildare on what was effectively a practice match against Leitrim. In terms of quality, intensity and physicality it will be a massive step up. I'd expect Carr to come back in at CHB and McArdle returning in the full backs, possibly with Gordon or Turley for cover as we saw in the championship last year. Also hope we stick with Cunningham in goals, the time has come to install him as long-term keeper instead of playing him in fits and starts.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2014, 10:44:58 AM
Kildare are 15/2 in some places

http://www.oddschecker.com/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/down-v-kildare/winner

Is that a fair price ? I thought they'd be better than that.
Post by: thewobbler on July 08, 2014, 10:58:12 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2014, 10:44:58 AM
Kildare are 15/2 in some places

http://www.oddschecker.com/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/down-v-kildare/winner

Is that a fair price ? I thought they'd be better than that.

The draw is 15/2 not Kildare!

Kildare are around 6/4, which is still a pretty good price - but home advantage is a huge thing in these qualifiers.

Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 09, 2014, 09:46:11 AM
Paul Cribbin and Sean Hurley both played fir their club on Saturday. Presume that means they are not in the match day squad. Anyone else see club action iver the weekend?!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2014, 01:06:35 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 09, 2014, 09:46:11 AM
Paul Cribbin and Sean Hurley both played fir their club on Saturday. Presume that means they are not in the match day squad. Anyone else see club action iver the weekend?!

Ryan allows players play for their clubs if he feels they need games time, Cribben certainly those and maybe he felt Hurley could do with a run to find some form. Mulhall, Hyland and Flynn all played in Moorefield/Athy game as well.

No convinced that Ryan actually know what he is doing at all, all I want to see is some sort of defensive improvement on Sunday, I don't think I will.
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2014, 01:10:38 PM
I'd be quite confident Kildare will win this one with a bit to spare.
There will be a backlash and they probably finished with a stronger team than they started with against us.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 09, 2014, 01:19:29 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 09, 2014, 09:46:11 AM

What was the nature of Paul Cribbin's injury? He didn't appear to be with the squad the last day. Successive Kildare managers have tried to turn him into a half back which I cannot fathom at all. He would be one of my first names on the teamsheet in the forward line.

Hurley appears to be something of an enigma. All the talent in the world but appears to be far too languid to make it as a senior inter-county midfielder at the moment. He probably got away with that at underage and Sigerson level where he could physically dominate players without too much effort. Is his Aussie Rules contract a done deal in the Autumn?
Post by: Zulu on July 09, 2014, 03:11:08 PM
Haven't seen too much of Hurley but if he is too languid for football would he not be too languid for AR?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 09, 2014, 10:40:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 09, 2014, 03:11:08 PM
Haven't seen too much of Hurley but if he is too languid for football would he not be too languid for AR?

He was on trial with Freemantle last year and is believed to be joining them in October. I think he set some really good figures in the AFL Draft tests that the Australians seem to place a lot of stock in.

Yet to do it consistently for Kildare in senior football but it's not for a lack of talent. He did fall out with McGeeney a number of times over disciplinary issues. He strikes me as a player that needs a good kick up the backside every now and again to get him motivated.
Post by: western exile on July 10, 2014, 01:01:26 PM
Wee James McCartan is quoted in the media that he is preparing without Benny McArdle due to his angle injury.

I think that both Aidan Carr and Ciarán McCartan might start with Conor Garvey in half back line, and Kevin McKiernan as half forward, which would mean that Benny Coulter might have to start on the bench.
Post by: bcarrier on July 10, 2014, 08:47:14 PM
From Kildare gaa twitter

Notes to Supporters Travelling to Newry

To the Supporters of Kildare may I firstly extend to you a warm welcome to Newry and Pairc Esler ahead of your visit for the All Ireland Round Two B Qualifier on Sunday 13th July.

We hope that your journey will be a safe and pleasant one and to this end we are making some suggestions re travel, parking and hospitality.

You will be travelling on the M1 heading for Belfast and we suggest that you take the first exit for Newry at what is signposted as the Cloghogue Junction. Here you will branch left, then at the roundabout take the 2nd exit onto the Dublin Road- A2 Signposted Newry Warrenpoint.

Continue forward onto the Dublin Road- A2 entering Newry. You will proceed to a set of traffic lights and then enter Bridge Street. In Bridge Street on your right hand side is located The Quays Shopping Centre and you can park safely here on Sunday for just £1, Down GAA will also be providing a Shuttle Bus from 12.30 at The Quays to take patrons to the game.

Pairc Esler is located on the Warrenpoint Road in Newry approximately 0.7 miles from the Shopping Centre. If you are seeking to park close to the Ground then Match Parking is available in the Greenbank Industrial Estate which can be found by following the road signs for Warrenpoint. Here also a Shuttle Bus will be available from 12.30pm to take patrons to the game.

There are many fine restaurants in the Town Centre whilst the Canal Court Hotel can be found on merchants Quay, the Canal Court Hotel are offering a discount of 10% to patrons who eat in the Hotel on Sunday and quote the reference GAA2014. This offer also applies in the sister Hotel the Carrickdale Hotel which is located just off the M1 at the exit for Jonesborough.

Both Hotels are also offering excellent overnight packages for Patrons wishing to come and spend the weekend in the Mourne County.

Inside the ground there are shops serving Tea/Coffee or Soup and Sandwiches with a full range of soft drinks and confectionary on sale.

We hope your visit to Newry and Pairc Esler will be an enjoyable one, the Turnstiles will open at 12.30pm and there will be a Ticket Unit in operation from 12.15 to allow you to purchase your tickets before you reach the Turnstiles. There will be no cash taken at the turnstiles.

Is Mise

Seán Óg McAteer
Runaí Coiste Chontae an Dúin
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 11, 2014, 03:24:16 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 09, 2014, 10:40:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 09, 2014, 03:11:08 PM

He was on trial with Freemantle last year and is believed to be joining them in October. I think he set some really good figures in the AFL Draft tests that the Australians seem to place a lot of stock in.

Yet to do it consistently for Kildare in senior football but it's not for a lack of talent. He did fall out with McGeeney a number of times over disciplinary issues. He strikes me as a player that needs a good kick up the backside every now and again to get him motivated.

I know he's 21/22, so hopefully there's time for him to change, but his current approach would lead me to believe that he is never going to reach his potential in any code of football. Really hope I'm wrong as he seems a likeable guy, with all the skills.
Post by: Down Follower on July 11, 2014, 10:59:30 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 10, 2014, 08:47:14 PM

We hope your visit to Newry and Pairc Esler will be an enjoyable one, the Turnstiles will open at 12.30pm and there will be a Ticket Unit in operation from 12.15 to allow you to purchase your tickets before you reach the Turnstiles. There will be no cash taken at the turnstiles.

Is Mise

Seán Óg McAteer

Is it just me or is this system simply not working!!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 11, 2014, 11:44:20 AM
1 Mark Donnellan - Maynooth
2 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Kilcock
3 Hugh McGrillen - Celbridge
4 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
5 Emmet Bolton - Eadestown
6 Fergal Conway - Celbridge
7 Keith Cribbin - Johnstownbridge
8 Tommy Moolick - Leixlip
9 Gary White - Sarsfields
10 Cathal McNally - Johnstownbridge
11 Niall Kelly - Athy
12 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurence's
13 Éamonn Callaghan - Naas
14 Pádraig Fogarty - St Laurence's
15 Paddy Brophy - Celbridge

Some of those players selected are very lucky to retain their places. I would have liked to see Hyland and O'Flaherty in there. Chalky should add a bit of badly needed leadership around the middle but we will be travelling more in hope than in expectation.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 11, 2014, 12:39:31 PM
that's a very 'clean' defensive setup - is there no more dirty south (east) Kildare defenders that could come into this lineup?

Kildare just need a run of games in the qualifiers to find themselves. they have a decent squad but just haven't got going this season.
not sure if down would be the team id pick to try and gain momentum with.

IF Moolick is told not to shoot, then Kildare have a better chance. id like to see smith in the FF line alongside one of the big lads and the other big lad coming out to hf (I get mixed up with brophy and fogarty - id leave the freetaker in and the other big lad out).

Obv Callaghan will come out. Id play Oneill behind mf to 'sweep'. Or drop back to mf and white to stay back to cover defence.

If Kildare catch fire, they could still o well in championship yet as only three maybe four teams have shown well thus far.
Dublin, Kerry, monaghan and Donegal.
Mayo could start their run this weekend.

if Kildare defenders were a bit more physical, they could rebuff the small nippy down attackers. You never know what you will get from down. Sublime perf or fall flat.
Form would indicate Down, but I think theres still a good chance for the flourbags!
Carrickdale best place to come off the motorway and stop for food btw Dinny.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 11, 2014, 02:08:09 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 11, 2014, 12:39:31 PM
that's a very 'clean' defensive setup - is there no more dirty south (east) Kildare defenders that could come into this lineup?

Kildare just need a run of games in the qualifiers to find themselves. they have a decent squad but just haven't got going this season.
not sure if down would be the team id pick to try and gain momentum with.

IF Moolick is told not to shoot, then Kildare have a better chance. id like to see smith in the FF line alongside one of the big lads and the other big lad coming out to hf (I get mixed up with brophy and fogarty - id leave the freetaker in and the other big lad out).

Obv Callaghan will come out. Id play Oneill behind mf to 'sweep'. Or drop back to mf and white to stay back to cover defence.

If Kildare catch fire, they could still o well in championship yet as only three maybe four teams have shown well thus far.
Dublin, Kerry, monaghan and Donegal.
Mayo could start their run this weekend.

if Kildare defenders were a bit more physical, they could rebuff the small nippy down attackers. You never know what you will get from down. Sublime perf or fall flat.
Form would indicate Down, but I think theres still a good chance for the flourbags!
Carrickdale best place to come off the motorway and stop for food btw Dinny.

+1 Fierce good grub in there...don't forget the discount.

There are many fine restaurants in the Town Centre whilst the Canal Court Hotel can be found on merchants Quay, the Canal Court Hotel are offering a discount of 10% to patrons who eat in the Hotel on Sunday and quote the reference GAA2014. This offer also applies in the sister Hotel the Carrickdale Hotel which is located just off the M1 at the exit for Jonesborough.

Hopefully that's all youse Flourbags will get out of us ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2014, 02:52:08 PM
They'll regret that discount.
Them Kildare lads eat like horses.
Post by: johnneycool on July 11, 2014, 03:15:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 11, 2014, 02:52:08 PM
They'll regret that discount.
Them Kildare lads eat like horses.

The mixed grill in the Canal Court would choke a horse.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 11, 2014, 03:30:12 PM
Have had me head stuck in the Armagh Tyrone thread all week as we dig up aul hostilities.
Fighting like Cats and Dogs all week and then I stick my head in here and ye lads are buying each other dinners with no mention of the Orangemen
Post by: johnneycool on July 11, 2014, 03:31:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 11, 2014, 03:30:12 PM
Have had me head stuck in the Armagh Tyrone thread all week as we dig up aul hostilities.
Fighting like Cats and Dogs all week and then I stick my head in here and ye lads are buying each other dinners with no mention of the Orangemen

Some counties have that bit of class about them, some don't Fuzzman!
Post by: charlieTully on July 11, 2014, 05:06:31 PM
Quote from: Down Follower on July 11, 2014, 10:59:30 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 10, 2014, 08:47:14 PM

Is Mise

Seán Óg McAteer
Is it just me or is this system simply not working!!
[/quote.

I have been at two games with this system in operation and both times throw in was delayed.
Post by: bridgegael on July 11, 2014, 06:22:46 PM
one of them times was a club game with very few in attendance.  wouldv advise trying to buy your ticket before going to pairc esler
Post by: Gabriel on July 11, 2014, 10:42:07 PM
1 Michael Cunningham - Castlewellan
2 Dan McCartan - Burren
3 Niall Donnelly - Tullylish
4 Darren O'Hagan - Clonduff
5 Ciaran McCartan - Warrenpoint
6 Conor Garvey - Mayobridge
7 Kevin McKernan - Burren
8 Dan Gordon - Loughinisland
9 Peter Turley - Downpatrick
10 Benny Coulter - Mayobridge
11 Conor Maginn - Bryansford
12 Mark Poland - Longstone
13 Donal O'Hare - Burren
14 Niall Madine - Saval
15 Conor Laverty - Kilcoo

So McCartan & Donnelly both keep their places. Benny McArdle seems to have been ruled out, any word on whether Carr is injured? Garvey, if fit, is a solid selection at CHB anyway. As always with James you can't help but feel there'll be changes before the game.
Post by: orangeman on July 11, 2014, 11:17:45 PM
Kildare to pip Down on Sunday for me.
Post by: inexile on July 11, 2014, 11:54:33 PM
By any chance does anybody know if will this be on tv/internet anywhere?
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2014, 09:05:09 AM
Quote from: inexile on July 11, 2014, 11:54:33 PM
By any chance does anybody know if will this be on tv/internet anywhere?

The fantasy channel.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 12, 2014, 04:51:00 PM
Hello to everyone going to match. Disappointed to be missing it. Hope the boys can get us another day out. I think they will.
Post by: armaghniac on July 12, 2014, 05:31:02 PM
Aristo, sure isn"t Rois giving you a day out.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 12, 2014, 06:24:22 PM
Done and dusted. Bride looked the part. Great feed. Danced till the wee hours. Doing the tourist thing now.
Post by: Zulu on July 13, 2014, 01:52:02 PM
Changes on Kildare team 20 Johnny Byrne replaces Paddy Brophy

24 Micheal Conway 25 Mick O'Grady 26 Sean Hurley 27 David Hyland 28 Jimmy Gately
Post by: Zulu on July 13, 2014, 01:56:34 PM
According to kildare it's Eoghan O Flaherty replacing Paddy Brophy
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 02:30:56 PM
FFS Can get no radio nor nothin. Living on scraps here. 5-2? What's happening?.?
Post by: bigfrank on July 13, 2014, 02:43:58 PM
HT: Mayo 1-9 Galway 0-5. Qualifiers: Carlow 1-6 Clare 2-15 (HT), Down 0-2 Kildare 0-7. not sure if you are on twitter but you will get updates every few mins on it
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 13, 2014, 02:44:50 PM
KFM have live commentary, 97.6fm or listen live on the website
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 02:51:59 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 13, 2014, 02:44:50 PM
KFM have live commentary, 97.6fm or listen live on the website

Thanks tried that but it won't connect
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:03:01 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on July 13, 2014, 02:43:58 PM
HT: Mayo 1-9 Galway 0-5. Qualifiers: Carlow 1-6 Clare 2-15 (HT), Down 0-2 Kildare 0-7. not sure if you are on twitter but you will get updates every few mins on it

Aye scraps! Thanks anyhow
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:11:47 PM
By Jesus we,re cooking now.   8-8
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:19:29 PM
Down 0-09 Kildare 0-10
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:21:06 PM
Down 0-10 Kildare 0-10
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:22:40 PM
Looks like a goal could do it?
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:24:31 PM
Save by Cunningham. Kildare score the 45 to lead by a point. 15mins left
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:28:19 PM
Down 0-11 Kildare 0-13
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:31:18 PM
Quote from: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:28:19 PM
Down 0-11 Kildare 0-13

Good work knock it down thanks
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:33:03 PM
Down 0-11 Kildare 0-15.   7mins left
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:36:06 PM
Sounds like its all over for James and co
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:36:14 PM
Down 0-11 Kildare 0-17.      3mins left.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 13, 2014, 03:39:37 PM
Shocking score line now.   Goodnight from aristo
Post by: knockitdown on July 13, 2014, 03:42:20 PM
Ft Down 0-11 Kildare 1.18

Kildare out scored down 1.08 to 0.01 in last 20mins. It had been all square at 0-10 a piece after 50mins
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2014, 04:45:36 PM
Much better display. Showed a bit of steel when Down were coming back at us. We might salvage a bit of pride from this year yet.
Post by: thejuice on July 13, 2014, 05:10:14 PM
Funny, Kildare probably played almost identical to their game against us, but it worked today. But what does it tell anyone going up against Kildare. The gameplan is pretty evident now.
Post by: stew on July 13, 2014, 05:13:27 PM
Always liked Kildare, well done and now I want the donkeys that are Down........................................ Oh wait  :P ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2014, 05:52:15 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 13, 2014, 05:10:14 PM
Funny, Kildare probably played almost identical to their game against us, but it worked today. But what does it tell anyone going up against Kildare. The gameplan is pretty evident now.

Pretty much apart from one or two tweaks. We had Gary White sweeping in front of the full back line today but he was probably only free because Down had a sweeper themselves. Fitzpatrick did well and was an improvement on Mick Foley. Apart from that Kildare were pretty much as you were the last day against Meath.

Callaghan started where Brophy would normally be positioned but was black carded early on. Smith looked sharp enough when he replaced him. Emmet Bolton was very lucky to escape a second yellow card at one stage in the second half when the game was still tight. Had Coldrick shown him the line we would probably have seen a different result.

I suppose Kildare were possibly due a bit of good fortune against Down so we'll take it. Ollie Lyons, Podge Fogarty and Tommy Moolick were our best performers on the day as far as I'm concerned. Moolick kicked a great goal to cap off his display.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 13, 2014, 06:02:17 PM
This was the sort of performance we produce every so often when our game plan does not work, there is little leadership on the field and our substitutions are largely ineffective. Apart from our purple patch just after half time, it was a dismal effort and the fact that, having amazingly got level, we were outscored by 1-8 to a point in the last 20 minutes despite a strong wind advantage, tells the tale.

Benny, possibly in his last game and even on his last legs, was really our only threat, and, regardless of who is in charge, there is now the prospect of a series of retirements which may weaken an already limited squad. The way in which we effectively threw in the towel after conceding a point which was admittedly two yards wide was alarming and indicated a general lack of belief.

Kildare should probably have won by a wider margin, as they had a large number of first half wides, although, if either of Benny's two goal chances had gone in, they might have found out more about themselves.

Cunningham made one excellent save but his kick-outs were often poor and his free and 45 were pretty dismal. Our entire defence struggled, with only the odd break from McKernan making a difference. Gordon took some fine catches in the middle but appeared to go over on his ankle before half time and had practically no mobility afterwards. Peter Turley lacks pace but would be disappointed that he was not even given to the break.

Poland has had a poor summer up front, with the captaincy not suiting him, while Laverty was well marked and only played in flashes. Maginn worked hard without ever hurting the opposition, while Madine and O'Hare were ineffective.

Our substitutions looked a little odd, with Toner not able to cope with the marking job he was asked to do on Kelly and Ryan Johnston sent on and then replaced by Dee Turley when his brother Jerome might have made more sense. If both Ambrose and Doyler were not fit for even a brief run, you have have to be pessimistic about their futures.

The only spark came when Benny moved to full forward, tortured the Kildare defence and forced their full back to be replaced, but he cannot work miracles on his own and we can only hope that he gives us another year. He would have graced any Down team in any era and it will be truly sad if he leaves without an Ulster medal. However, our last Anglo-Celt was 20 years ago this week and on today's form another one looks as far away as ever.

Post by: Agent Orange on July 13, 2014, 06:08:41 PM
I hear McCartan informed the players that he is going. He left the ground pretty sharpish according to a friend who was at the game.

Down and Trone out, not a bad oul day at all.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2014, 06:57:00 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2014, 05:52:15 PM

Pretty much apart from one or two tweaks. We had Gary White sweeping in front of the full back line today but he was probably only free because Down had a sweeper themselves. Fitzpatrick did well and was an improvement on Mick Foley. Apart from that Kildare were pretty much as you were the last day against Meath.

Callaghan started where Brophy would normally be positioned but was black carded early on. Smith looked sharp enough when he replaced him. Emmet Bolton was very lucky to escape a second yellow card at one stage in the second half when the game was still tight. Had Coldrick shown him the line we would probably have seen a different result.

I suppose Kildare were possibly due a bit of good fortune against Down so we'll take it. Ollie Lyons, Podge Fogarty and Tommy Moolick were our best performers on the day as far as I'm concerned. Moolick kicked a great goal to cap off his display.

I thought Fergal Conway had a great game as well. The point that was a wide was amusing 4 year old karma for the Alan Smith point that wasn't given.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2014, 09:02:17 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2014, 06:57:00 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2014, 05:52:15 PM

I thought Fergal Conway had a great game as well. The point that was a wide was amusing 4 year old karma for the Alan Smith point that wasn't given.

He was very solid. Bit concerned when he was booked early on but he carried it well.
Post by: T Fearon on July 13, 2014, 09:51:31 PM
Everyone in Armagh hoping for a clash with Lilywhites next weekend!
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2014, 12:02:37 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 09, 2014, 01:10:38 PM
I'd be quite confident Kildare will win this one with a bit to spare.
There will be a backlash and they probably finished with a stronger team than they started with against us.

Listen to this lad.
He knows his football.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 14, 2014, 12:15:39 AM
Tony,you might want them but you are wrong as Kildare are good. Watch the second half of the Meath game and see why James,Moyna and Jerome made a monumental error by not instructing the team to welt in to the Flourbags in the first twenty as Meath did. The defence stood off them and allowed Kildare to swan about and show what we know; that they are good footballers but don't have resilience. T O Se said that he was not convinced about them as they haven't produced when the chips were down and based on our second half perfmonance in Omagh we would have too much for them. Tomas seems to have forgotten about the first half in Omagh which is what we saw today from Down. Bolton,Conway and Kelly ran the show and Kildare were worthy winners.Too soon for a full postmortem but this was a decisive defeat with long term significance. I don't think Down supporters are going to put up with what we have seen but tolerated over last three years.The Eoin stuff,the ignoring of bad team behaviour by disrespectful attitude towards panel members and allowing RJ and JJ back in were the actions of a management team who crossed the line between confidence and arrogance.James was blessed with Marty Clarke in his first year and tbf his teams were always competitive ,often against the odds. Today was Kildare's day so good luck to them.Our last clash was the high watermark for James; today was the low.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2014, 01:12:40 AM
One thing Ryan has got right is our conditioning, judging by the very strong finishes against Meath and Down.

We have a lot of faults but I don't think heart is one, not when you consider the age/inexperience of some of the players. A lot of the boys who stood up in the last 10 minutes in Down are aged 20-22. Now it might not look any big deal but put yourself in their shoes: torn apart in and outside the county after the Meath game, three key players missing through injury, two black cards, frittering away a five-point lead in a few minutes, draw match, against the wind, experienced players like Laverty and Poland and Coulter on the opposing team, home crowd finding its voice.

They might be a million miles off the Dublins and Mayos and Kerrys and even a bit behind the teams below that, but it wasn't an easy scenario is all I'm saying.

Unfortunately I live abroad so I'm restricted to radio commentary but it sounds like the players leading the late charge included Conway, Moolick, Niall Kelly, Podge etc so that bodes well for the future.

Final point, maybe Meath deserved more credit for what they did do us in the first 50 minutes than a lot of people were willing to give them.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2014, 08:23:42 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2014, 01:12:40 AM
One thing Ryan has got right is our conditioning, judging by the very strong finishes against Meath and Down.

We have a lot of faults but I don't think heart is one, not when you consider the age/inexperience of some of the players. A lot of the boys who stood up in the last 10 minutes in Down are aged 20-22. Now it might not look any big deal but put yourself in their shoes: torn apart in and outside the county after the Meath game, three key players missing through injury, two black cards, frittering away a five-point lead in a few minutes, draw match, against the wind, experienced players like Laverty and Poland and Coulter on the opposing team, home crowd finding its voice.

They might be a million miles off the Dublins and Mayos and Kerrys and even a bit behind the teams below that, but it wasn't an easy scenario is all I'm saying.

Unfortunately I live abroad so I'm restricted to radio commentary but it sounds like the players leading the late charge included Conway, Moolick, Niall Kelly, Podge etc so that bodes well for the future.

Final point, maybe Meath deserved more credit for what they did do us in the first 50 minutes than a lot of people were willing to give them.

Not sure if you can understate how poorly we were but you're right credit should go to Meath. In fairness Mick O'Dowd doesn't have a big name but is doing a very good job and tactically against Kildare was very good and you can see he is slowly building a very competitive squad.
Post by: snoopdog on July 14, 2014, 09:40:34 AM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 14, 2014, 12:15:39 AM
Tony,you might want them but you are wrong as Kildare are good. Watch the second half of the Meath game and see why James,Moyna and Jerome made a monumental error by not instructing the team to welt in to the Flourbags in the first twenty as Meath did. The defence stood off them and allowed Kildare to swan about and show what we know; that they are good footballers but don't have resilience. T O Se said that he was not convinced about them as they haven't produced when the chips were down and based on our second half perfmonance in Omagh we would have too much for them. Tomas seems to have forgotten about the first half in Omagh which is what we saw today from Down. Bolton,Conway and Kelly ran the show and Kildare were worthy winners.Too soon for a full postmortem but this was a decisive defeat with long term significance. I don't think Down supporters are going to put up with what we have seen but tolerated over last three years.The Eoin stuff,the ignoring of bad team behaviour by disrespectful attitude towards panel members and allowing RJ and JJ back in were the actions of a management team who crossed the line between confidence and arrogance.James was blessed with Marty Clarke in his first year and tbf his teams were always competitive ,often against the odds. Today was Kildare's day so good luck to them.Our last clash was the high watermark for James; today was the low.

yesterday must be the end of the Road for the management team, although who would want the job.  yesterday was terrible for the last 20 odd minutes there was barley a challenge made by a Down player, kildare were allowed to waltz through them. Why put all that commitment in over the year and do that yesterday
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 14, 2014, 03:31:28 PM
Yesterday was waiting to happen for a while now.
Being touted as favourites from alot of quarters and from watching that game some of our players must have thought it was a matter of just showing up.
Bad day for the players, the management and the supporters.

Young Cunningham in goals is a fine keeper and im sure he will get better with experience but he is no Cluxton or Morgan when it comes to stroking over the dead balls. Also it was killing us how many times we failed to retain possession from our own kickouts. The days of booting it long and high (regardless if you have Dan Gordon in the middle) are truly done and gone. Why why why were we not kicking the ball to the sidelines 40-50 yards and allowing our men to run onto the ball to collect rather than having it launched down their throats forcing them to collect above their heads . I dont blame the goalie solely here but also the management and the players. Players werent exactly demanding the ball kicked into space. And when they did a la Conor Toner the kick wasnt made, thus rendering his run useless and also taking him out of the play whenever the kick was aimed down the middle. It just looked as though we had no kickout strategy at all for retaining our own restarts.

Defensively i thought we had our match-ups wrong as well as our tactics. Whenever Kildare had the ball we completely retreated into space in our defence. Yes we did make some interceptions and cut out some supply but whenever we have 3 spare men trottin back to fill gaps its cat looking especially whenever they dont tangibly influence play, force a tackle, hit the ball carrier or get involved in the play in some way. Too many times in first half we had players back marking space and Kildare still scored at will. If they had their boots on the would have been easily in double figures by half time.
In comparison to Kildare their defensive approach was alot better. They relied on sheer hunger, guts and determination to get themselves up our players holes on every occasion. See Emmet Bolton or Ollie Lyons. They epitomised Kildare's hunger and attitude on sunday, Bolton especially. Playing on the edge all day and risking the long walk off he snarled and bullied his way through the game and wasnt going to cow down to anyone in red jersey. He clearly got inside Poland's head and got the better of him, and his influence also rubbed off on other defenders which saw Conor McGinn, Poland, Lavery and O'Hare (Actually nearly all our forwards) bullied and outmuscled on more occasions than i care to remember.

From an offensive viewpoint it was a poor day at the office and a poor return from a talented group of players. When 32 yr old Benny Coulter is your best attacker it simply isnt good enough. He was as good as you could hope for and led the fightback after half time on his own nearly. Not enough players weighed in to support or hurt the scoreboard. Laverty was kept in check by an able marker and when he is quiet like that he is made look very average. Donal O'Hare doesnt do enough from open play and the further he roams from the square the less effective he becomes.

Why bring on Ryan Johnson and replace him 15mins later? Why bring Damian Turley (a corner back) on in his place into the half forward line? Where has Aidan Carr gone to? Why wasnt Jerome Johnson used after making an impact in most previous games he played. Is Ambrose or Doyle not fit to play any part at all? Why invite Shea McArdle onto the squad in the last week or so and him only off a plane from a year in spain? To the casual observer some of the stuff that has went on this year is baffling.

Id expect alot of the older heads on that panel to step down after this year and id also expect the management to go too.
James got us to an All Ireland Final where a kick of the ball was the difference in the 2 teams. He also got us to Div1 where we were well able to compete at that time. I dont see many more being able to do that right away but i do think its time for a different voice and set up. McCorry/Dawson would be my choices. But cant see the county board goin for that.
Post by: stew on July 15, 2014, 03:16:49 AM
Quote from: Agent Orange on July 13, 2014, 06:08:41 PM
I hear McCartan informed the players that he is going. He left the ground pretty sharpish according to a friend who was at the game.

Down and Trone out, not a bad oul day at all.

Well said our fellah, cant happen enough!
Post by: PAULD123 on July 15, 2014, 01:50:00 PM
We could spend hours analyzing and dissecting Down's performances. But for me there is one overriding feature. Those players do not look happy. They do not seem t believe in the plan (if there is one!!). For a couple of years now their heads drop when in trouble. Worse is that when the game is starting they look nervous or worried. there is no optimism or joy in their faces. They look like a bunch of lads that simply don't believe.