O'Byrne Cup Final 2008

Started by Hound, February 06, 2008, 09:26:21 AM

tayto

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2008, 01:41:56 PM
Quote from: tayto on February 06, 2008, 01:16:26 PM
No Vaughan for the frees could be crucial.

That's all he's good for though. If yous could wheel him on a la American Football youw would be sorted  :P

ha ha, Would be handy alright! Vaughan has never had a run in the league, he's either been injured or on a run with Crokes, he could do with a good run this year, i expect him to improve from play this year, contributes well from play for his club. he's worth having for the frees anyway, nothing worse then missing easy frees and last summer it got to the point where you'd just assume he'd score from a 45. 

Quote from: tayto on February 06, 2008, 05:06:09 PM
ha ha, Would be handy alright! Vaughan has never had a run in the league, he's either been injured or on a run with Crokes, he could do with a good run this year, i expect him to improve from play this year, contributes well from play for his club. he's worth having for the frees anyway, nothing worse then missing easy frees and last summer it got to the point where you'd just assume he'd score from a 45. 
His running off the ball v Westmeath was the worst I have EVER seen. The chap just has not got a clue about how to get himself in a good position to receive a ball.

North Longford

Can anyone tell me what the parking is like around Parnell park and what the best way to get in from the N4 is?
Last time I was there I was playing for the U21's (long time ago) and when we got to the gate it was locked and we had a bit of a job to get in...we got off the bus before we went in through the gates for the some reason and we obviously weren't that recognisable to the gent on the gate!!!
As it transpired we'd have been as well staying outside!

Quote from: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 08:09:40 AM
Can anyone tell me what the parking is like around Parnell park and what the best way to get in from the N4 is?
Last time I was there I was playing for the U21's (long time ago) and when we got to the gate it was locked and we had a bit of a job to get in...we got off the bus before we went in through the gates for the some reason and we obviously weren't that recognisable to the gent on the gate!!!
As it transpired we'd have been as well staying outside!

Plenty of parking in the estate across the road.

Best way from N4 depends on the time you're going at - I'd go M50, come off at Ballymun, turn right and go straight down until you come to a four way junction, go left. You come to another four way junction (Whitehall church) on the left, go straight through, straight down past DCU, Whitehall Colmcilles GAA club, past Kitty Kiernans pub on your right and you can try and get parking anywhere around there.

Sean3

I presume that if you are coming from the N4 that you'll be using (ie be parked) the M50. If so, turn off at the Ballymun exit and head down through Ballymun as far as the intersection with Collins Ave extension. Turn left onto Collins Ave and its a straight run down to Donnycarney - about 2 miles. Your first major set of traffic lights will be the Collins Ave-Swords Rd intersection. It can take a long time to get across that. The next lights are at the Beaumont Rd intersection. Parking really depends on how late/early you are. Whitehall Colmcilles clubhouse is just past the lights at the Beaumont Rd on the right hand side. You could park there with no hassle but its just under a mile walk. The next right hand turn is Belton Park Ave. Go down to the end, left onto Donnycarney Rd and there are 3 left hand turns along there, each of them small little roads where you can park. On the other side of Collins Ave you can turn left just after Belton Park Ave onto Collins Park and again its only a few minutes from the pitch. If you are early enough you can continue down Collins Ave, through the Malahide Rd intersection and there is official parking at the back of Scoil Chiaran which backs onto Parnell Pk. Hope this helps.  

North Longford

Cheers lads. Actually lived off Mobhi road for a while so think I know this a bit better than I thought. The Ballymun end of it anyway, not so sure about the Donneycarney side but its seems straightforward enough

I'd be coming up the m50 from the n2 and would normally go to the very end of it, turn right onto the n1 then go straight till you get to Whitehall church, turn left at the lights and its straight down the road.

DART from Lansdowne to Clontarf for me and then a 15 min or so hoof up The Malahide Road. Decided to leave the car at home cos of the traffic.

Where will the Longford 'end' be?

North Longford

Am travelling as part of 3 generations of the NL family....One being nearly 70 and one being nearly 6 (the one thats making us go) so I want to get fairly close and be there in good time. Not sure where the Longford end is but I know one north Longford club are even going to put a bus on....great excitement indeed.

Oppostion fans tend to head for the seats in Parnell park.

Anywhere is fine, I wouldnt head behind the church end goal, you get some knackers in there. Not aggresive towards you or anything, just not pleasant to be around.
Of course the majority are grand.

QuoteKitty Kiernans pub

Might this be a good omen for Longford?  :P

Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 01:01:30 PM
QuoteKitty Kiernans pub

Might this be a good omen for Longford?  :P

What have they done to the entrance to Kitty Kierans by the way. It looks like the entrance to a casino or nightclub now. Terrible looking.

Incidentally Lonford lads, if ye happen to go into the spar beside Kierans for a hang sandwhich on the way to the game, allow approx 5 minutes per sandwhich.

The guy in there is seriously the slowest thing I have ever seen in my life.

Holiness

You do't seriously expect us to come without the Hang Sangwigges packed lovingly by The Mammy/The Mrs

Pay 4 euro for some wafter thin ham-ette shite stuck between two stale slices of bread with margarine???????? Are ya mad?

No - some fresh Pat's Pan with some home made hairy buhher with even hairier hang, washed down with a flask of strong tay.

Some Marietta to celebrate a win after as well.

Sean3

SS, why not get the DART to Killester? It'll save the feet.