GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hound on March 12, 2009, 08:16:39 AM

Title: Dublin v Derry - 14 March 2009
Post by: Hound on March 12, 2009, 08:16:39 AM
Throw-in at Parnell Park is at 7.30pm on Saturday evening.

Its pay at the gate, and its live on Setanta for those who can't make it.

Referee is Longford's John Bannon.

Hearing that Paddy Bradley is back fit and available after missing last week, but haven't heard the Derry selection yet.

Dublin have named an unchanged line-up. Flynn, Fennell and Moran all out injured for Dublin. Quinn has resumed training but will not be considered for a few weeks. Alan Brogan came off the bench last week, but according to the line-up remains on the bench. Ciaran Whelan is the captain as Gilroy continues the policy of rotating captaincy during the league.

S Cluxton
P Andrews, D Bastick, A Hubbard
J Brogan, G Brennan, B Cahill
C Whelan, R McConnell
D Connolly, C Keaney, D Henry
B Kelly, K Bonner, B Brogan
Title: Re: Dublin v Derry - 14 March 2009
Post by: INDIANA on March 12, 2009, 09:13:10 AM
I doubt that team will line out as selected. Derry are a good side but at home I would fancy Dublin narrowly. If Paddy Bradley and Mulddon start it could be a cracker if its a  good evening. James Kielt for Derry looks quite a talent as well and with Fergal Doherty at midfield Derry are building a nice side. Derry need to win to stay in the hunt for the top2 , we need the win to get rid of any threat of relegation and build from there.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 12, 2009, 01:44:35 PM
two teams still experimenting
What is it with Mickey whelan that he thiks all brigids lads are feckin defenders (esp when they are not)!
you need naturals (exp) at this level, not novice square pegs in round holes.

Whats the name of that pub on collins ave heading away from Parnell pk ?
Post by: screenexile on March 12, 2009, 01:48:09 PM
Looking forward to this one and think I'm going to head back to the big schmoke to make a day of it. Should be a good days craic with the Egg chasing on beforehand.

Have seen a few Dublin games on TV and if we make the necessary changes from last week I see no reason why we can't win this game. We played awful last week and still only lost by 2 points which is a main by product of our defensive system. If we can get a handle on Brogan I wouldn't be too worried of any of the other Dublin forwards. I fancy it to be a better game than that against Kerry last week which was ruined by the tight pitch but there should be a bit more room in Parnell Park to play around with so I'm going for an away win by 2 points.
Post by: screenexile on March 12, 2009, 01:50:21 PM
Is it Kitty Kiernans?? I think that's where my pre match scoops will be anyway... probably watch the Rugby there too LB if you're about?!
Post by: Canalman on March 12, 2009, 02:24:20 PM
Screenexile, you will be sadly disappointed if you are lookin for space in Parnell Park. A terribly tight pitch imo, which has led to many average Dublin players being caught out later on in the championship in the wide expanses of CP.
Post by: southoftheborder on March 12, 2009, 02:25:24 PM
heading down for about 4ish, to catch the rugby, anywere near parnell which would be recommended?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 12, 2009, 02:26:28 PM
Quote from: Canalman on March 12, 2009, 02:24:20 PM
Screenexile, you will be sadly disappointed if you are lookin for space in Parnell Park. A terribly tight pitch imo, which has led to many average Dublin players being caught out later on in the championship in the wide expanses of CP.

our boys will be used to a tight pitch,isnt that right lads ;)
Post by: INDIANA on March 12, 2009, 03:22:54 PM

You wont find any GAA pitch as big as Croker Canalman. PP is average size. If you think its too small, try and run up and down it a few times ;). Its quite wide but not that long. In theory every player is a WIP until they play in Croker regardless of county.
I agree Lynchy I would like to setup a petition not to play Andrews in the backs anymore, chronic waste of talent.
Post by: screenexile on March 12, 2009, 03:27:05 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on March 12, 2009, 02:26:28 PM

our boys will be used to a tight pitch,isnt that right lads ;)

Didn't seem that used to it on Sunday past... seeing as they scored 1-18 last time they were on a decent sized pitch I'm sure they'll appreciate something a little bigger !!!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 12, 2009, 03:51:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 12, 2009, 03:22:54 PM

You wont find any GAA pitch as big as Croker Canalman. PP is average size. If you think its too small, try and run up and down it a few times ;). Its quite wide but not that long. In theory every player is a WIP until they play in Croker regardless of county.
I agree Lynchy I would like to setup a petition not to play Andrews in the backs anymore, chronic waste of talent.
him and Lally, but I'm not going to get caught up in that whole debate again !

Screen, I am meeting with 'Isourboydownyet' so will be trying that pub, not sure what time though, might miss the rugby - well theres a bigger game on isnt there !You still have my mob number ?
Post by: INDIANA on March 12, 2009, 06:05:48 PM
We'll argue there lynchy Lally is not a forward and they are correct to use him as a half back. He was man of the match in the sigerson final as a wing back and thats his best position. He isn't a forward.
Post by: heffo on March 12, 2009, 09:51:49 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 12, 2009, 01:44:35 PM
two teams still experimenting
What is it with Mickey whelan that he thiks all brigids lads are feckin defenders (esp when they are not)!
you need naturals (exp) at this level, not novice square pegs in round holes.

Whats the name of that pub on collins ave heading away from Parnell pk ?

Kavanaghs or Graingers - both on Malahide rd..
Post by: heffo on March 12, 2009, 09:52:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 12, 2009, 01:50:21 PM
Is it Kitty Kiernans?? I think that's where my pre match scoops will be anyway... probably watch the Rugby there too LB if you're about?!

Nah thats in Whitehall..
Post by: móidín doire on March 12, 2009, 10:50:56 PM
Derry Team named: interesting enough line up... obviously giving all the boys a chance and trying a few different positions etc.

1                  John Deighan

2                  Kevin Mc Guckian
3                  Naill Mc Cusker
4                  S.M. Lockhart

5                  Paul Cartin
6                  Barry Mc Goldrick
7                  Sean Leo Mc Goldrick

8                  Fergal Doherty
9                  Enda Muldoon

10                Enda Lynn
11                Paul Murphy
12                Paul Young

13                Paddy Bradley
14                Eoin Bradley
15                Barry Mc Guigan

16                Shane Mc Guckian
17                Kevin mc Cloy
18                Ryan Dillon
19                Gerard O'Kane
20                Joe Diver
21                Brian Mullan
22                Paul Bradley
23                Eoghan Brown
24                Patsy Bradley
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on March 12, 2009, 11:37:47 PM
Interesting side - obviously still toying around to find the right combination.

Glad to see Barry McGuigan get his chance - would prefer it was in the half back line though.  In saying that, he is one lad who can operate in a number of positions.  Would like to see Patsy Bradley back in midfield as well. 

At some point we are going to have to get the half back line in order - i'm not a fan of any of the current incumbents.

Whatever happened to Seamus Bradley? He has been left off the last two panels.
Would also like to see Ryan Dillon given a shot.

Don't think there will be more than 2 points in this either way.
Post by: cornerback on March 13, 2009, 08:32:24 AM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on March 12, 2009, 11:37:47 PM

Glad to see Barry McGuigan get his chance - would prefer it was in the half back line though.  In saying that, he is one lad who can operate in a number of positions.  Would like to see Patsy Bradley back in midfield as well. 

At some point we are going to have to get the half back line in order - i'm not a fan of any of the current incumbents.

I think he was called into the panel for the Kerry game after Paddy Bradley was ruled out, but still... i'm sure it's very frustrating for the likes of him who are putting in the same amount of training & not getting any nfl game time!
It kinda puts brian mullan's huffing at getting taken off against kerry into perspective - at least he's getting a chance to prove his worth
Post by: southoftheborder on March 13, 2009, 09:34:15 AM
does anyone agree with the 24 players idea???

it kinda makes the sub bench light, and players that train and put the same effort in, should be made feel part of the squad, even if they just travelled with the panel
Post by: Sonny Joe on March 13, 2009, 09:45:15 AM

Quote from: cornerback on March 13, 2009, 08:32:24 AM

At some point we are going to have to get the half back line in order - i'm not a fan of any of the current incumbents.Whatever happened to Seamus Bradley? He has been left off the last two panels.

I think he was called into the panel for the Kerry game after Paddy Bradley was ruled out, but still... i'm sure it's very frustrating for the likes of him who are putting in the same amount of training & not getting any nfl game time!It kinda puts brian mullan's huffing at getting taken off against kerry into perspective - at least he's getting a chance to prove his worth

Tim were you at the Mayo game or the Donegal game or the Fermanagh game. Patsy was yellow carded in each of those games. In th Mayo NFL game he lasted 10 minutes. In the Westmeath he came on and I mean literally gave the ball the way every time he got it. Seriously were you at any of those games?

Were you not at the Mayo game Cornerback, Seamus Bradley played in it. Seamus Bradley is a full forward player, who would you have him on for in this game, Eoin Bradley, Paddy Bradley?

Seamus Bradley played against Mayo and was taken off with 15 to go. IMO he pulled out of 2 balls that he needed and the team needed for him to win

From the team I see above Mullan is dropped.

What would your half back line be? I think its a correct decesiuon to continue with Barry Mc Goldrick at CHB, he did decently there against Kerry considering it was his second game, he wasn't one of our problem areas IMO

Barry Mc Guigans selection in the position he is in, is  very interesting. He will surely pull out to the HFL to ensure a 2 man FFL

IMO its great to see the experimentation. Each player on the panel know that they will bet opportunities, either great or small, its suurely up to each to make the best of it.

I'm sure that there are some players disappointed at getting dropped, Mc Cloy, O'Kane, Mullan, Diver.

It is a team mixed with experince and new faces and new positions. looking forwrad to the game as usual. I was really disappointed with the second half last week.

No Kielt or Mc Kaigue, looks like they have been pulled due to U21 s next week
Post by: fer fox ache on March 13, 2009, 09:45:46 AM
Lads, all Cass is doing is making sure to give everybody a chance, Bradley played in all three McKenna games and the first league match. Take a look at the goalkeepers, Digsy didn't get a jersey until  last week, gets a start this week, Barry doesn't get a jersey this week. I've no doubt that Seamus Bradley will see get another start before the league is over.
Think Paul Young needs a big game on Saturday, seemed to be trying too hard against Kerry and didn't get in the game.
As regards only taking 24 I believe Cass's policy is that it frees players up to focus on their clubs, although this is a little less relevant for Saturday evening games.
Post by: screenexile on March 13, 2009, 09:46:29 AM

Looks to me like McGuigan will be playing the workhorse HF role up and down the pitch and I think he is one man who can play this properly. Full of running, a good passer of the ball and able to set up play well I'm expecting a good game from him. He's also not inclined to take too much out of the ball which should help.

Also agree on the Seamus Bradley situation I would have thought he deserved more of a chance than Brown after his McKenna cup performances but hopefully he will get some game time in the coming weeks.

Can't agree on Patsy playing MF for us. I would always be of the mind that you need a defensive and attacking midfielder and Patsy and Doc are too similar for my liking which is why I'd prefer to see Muldoon there. Put him in MF and get him on the ball is just what we need to get everything clicking right I think. I expect us to win this by2 points!
Post by: INDIANA on March 13, 2009, 10:00:08 AM
Strange derry team, a lot of their best players on the bench- then again dublin are very similar at the moment. could be very tight. 2 very experimental teams.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 11:01:01 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 12, 2009, 06:05:48 PM
We'll argue there lynchy Lally is not a forward and they are correct to use him as a half back. He was man of the match in the sigerson final as a wing back and thats his best position. He isn't a forward.
Didnt he play FF for Dub minors, - Jeez Indiana - pls dont start me ranting about him again. I think I am the only person that rates him as a forward, but imo hes a better bet for breaking ball winning wing half forward or a third midfielder.
I know Iam in the minority of ONE ! Sure would you believe I've even had this argument with Lally himself!  :D
(i know I know !  :D)

Heff - the pub heading to DCU (when walking away from parnell pk) on the left hand side - think theres a chipper beside it ?
is that graingers ?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 13, 2009, 11:20:52 AM
Lynch, if "isourboydownyet" is meeting you for the rugby, he wont see a ball kicked in the Gaelic. He isn't called two beers for nothing !! Hope you have broad shoulders to carry him.
Post by: heffo on March 13, 2009, 12:33:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 11:01:01 AM

Heff - the pub heading to DCU (when walking away from parnell pk) on the left hand side - think theres a chipper beside it ?
is that graingers ?

Theres a chipper on the right beside what was the Parnell park house - Graingers is the first pub on the left - there could well be a chipper beside it - tend to head for the more salubrious surroundings of Kavanaghs and a toastie :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 12:34:27 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on March 13, 2009, 11:20:52 AM
Lynch, if "isourboydownyet" is meeting you for the rugby, he wont see a ball kicked in the Gaelic. He isn't called two beers for nothing !! Hope you have broad shoulders to carry him.
he mightnt, but I will. Off booze for lent ! Carried plenty in my time, not sure if the old (bionic) hip is up to it these days !  You down for the match ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 12:36:17 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 13, 2009, 12:33:17 PM

is that graingers ?
Sounds too upmarket for me Heff   :D- Thanks , may venture in there though...if not will see you on 12th july when we play yous next , and we can have our own wee orange march around russel park clubhouse !
Theres a chipper on the right beside what was the Parnell park house - Graingers is the first pub on the left - there could well be a chipper beside it - tend to head for the more salubrious surroundings of Kavanaghs and a toastie :)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 13, 2009, 12:51:45 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 12:34:27 PM
he mightnt, but I will. Off booze for lent ! Carried plenty in my time, not sure if the old (bionic) hip is up to it these days ! You down for the match ?

An armchair fan during the winter/spring im afraid to say, apart from last week when it was in the front yard. Thats why i dont get involved in discussions about the county team selections, tactics, who played well etc etc cause im not in the best position to judge.
Post by: Sean3 on March 13, 2009, 01:53:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 12:36:17 PM

is that graingers ?
Sounds too upmarket for me Heff   :D- Thanks , may venture in there though...if not will see you on 12th july when we play yous next , and we can have our own wee orange march around russel park clubhouse !

Lynchboy, that is Kitty Kiernan's that you are talking about. 5 mins walk up Collins Ave on the way to Whitehall but still in Donnycarney
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 02:02:48 PM
Quote from: Sean3 on March 13, 2009, 01:53:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 12:36:17 PM

is that graingers ?

Lynchboy, that is Kitty Kiernan's that you are talking about. 5 mins walk up Collins Ave on the way to Whitehall but still in Donnycarney
thanks Sean,
I park the car round there so its handy for me and on the way home
Hate to admit that screenexile was correct  :o

So Screen, isourboydownyet and anyone else care to join us to watch the rugby and then on to Parnell pk to see the real game?

Hoof
"nter/spring im afraid to say, apart from last week when it was in the front yard. Thats why i dont get involved in discussions about the county team selections, tactics, who played well etc etc cause im not in the best position to judge. "
Jeez - it doesnt stop the rest of them commenting  - myself included !

Post by: Tim Buzaglo on March 13, 2009, 02:03:26 PM
Sonny Joe - was at them surely!  Was also in Bellaghy last week and the amount of ball won at midfield was nothing short of alarming.  I think its fair to say that in recent years our best ball winning combination has been Bradley and Doherty (ably assisted by Muldoon at times as well as the ball winning skills of Murphy).

In response the the other question, my half back line would be O'Kane, McCusker and McGuigan (With McKaigue as first back up for winghalf - he will be a superb county player in time).  I would also utilise Barry McGoldrick in the position that McGuigan is currently employed in.

Post by: isourboydownyet on March 13, 2009, 02:45:23 PM

your some boy to be talkin,had to carry you many a time,sorry thats not true i never played reserve :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 13, 2009, 03:09:57 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on March 13, 2009, 02:45:23 PM

your some boy to be talkin,had to carry you many a time,sorry thats not true i never played reserve :D
apart from the footballing days, this reminds me of the time I had to carry a former cavan CHB home from a night out on the rip - 2 miles on ma fcukin shoulder from dundalk town sq to where he lived ...stopping every few minutes for the fcuker to puke !
Post by: Doire abú on March 14, 2009, 07:01:24 PM
Any live streams of the match?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 07:09:21 PM
Did I here the guy on Setanta wrong,  thought he said he expected 400 or 500 at this? Surely that can't be right,maybe he meant 4 or 5,000.
Post by: superman321 on March 14, 2009, 08:12:36 PM
Dublin 0-7 Derry 0-9 at half time

Free flowing game
Post by: magickingdom on March 14, 2009, 08:28:23 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 07:09:21 PM
Did I here the guy on Setanta wrong,  thought he said he expected 400 or 500 at this? Surely that can't be right,maybe he meant 4 or 5,000.

there at least 5000 there but thats as small a crowd as i've seen in pp in years. the dubd probably didnt make it home yet from the liv v man u match ;)
Post by: INDIANA on March 14, 2009, 09:13:43 PM
Congrats to derry. Fine performance. Magic its in keeping with the apathy around the scene. the hurlers will be drawing bigger crowds soon.
We were an absolute disgrace. We were so bad I'm thinking of opening the johnny walkers , i'll post later when I gather my thoughts.
Post by: magickingdom on March 14, 2009, 09:27:28 PM
hard to know how dublin were so bad, they really were awful. derry have some great individual players but they aint world beaters and they made the dubs look very bad. no fight in them at all..
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 09:34:07 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 14, 2009, 08:28:23 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 07:09:21 PM

there at least 5000 there but thats as small a crowd as i've seen in pp in years. the dubd probably didnt make it home yet from the liv v man u match ;)

Frig sake there'll not be many club houses built round the country with tonights gate receipts. Maybe the pro croke park dublin supporters count this as an away game and boycotted the match.
Post by: INDIANA on March 14, 2009, 09:38:04 PM
Will you ever and go and f**k off. If you've nothing to add to this thread in a footballing sense dreamer then piss off. Another nordie who loves ruining threads by hijacking them.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 14, 2009, 09:56:18 PM
Won a few quid on Derry tonight. Was surprised at how generous the bookies' odds were for this one. So, Dublin very much in the relegation mix now, especially with Mayo away and Kerry still to play.
Post by: Hound on March 14, 2009, 10:54:44 PM
Hats off to Derry who kicked some tremendous scores and totally dominated the 2nd half.

Ger Brennan is worth his place on the team, but definitely not at 6.

It'll be Henry and Griffin at 2 and 4 come championship, because they are our best two intercounty corner backs.

Most insipid Dublin performance in Parnell that I can remember.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 11:58:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 14, 2009, 09:56:18 PM
Won a few quid on Derry tonight. Was surprised at how generous the bookies' odds were for this one. So, Dublin very much in the relegation mix now, especially with Mayo away and Kerry still to play.

Actually got me thinking about betting on Dublin games. You obviously will always get more generous odds on the opposition than you should due to Dublin's population. Certainly over the last few years if you bet against Dublin in all league games and championship matches outside Leinster you'd surely be up considerably.

Thought Derry looked excellent at times tonight, they moved the ball really well. Was impressed with Muldoon round the middle and wonder has be been wasted in the full forward line for much of his inter county career. There are other positives for them like Lynn, Eoin Bradley and the half back line. Cassidy looks like he's doing a good job so far and will be interested to see if he can translate these type of performances into championship form. Derry are going to be very dangerous this year. I dont think they'll win the All Ireland but I think they'll be much tougher to beat than previously. Is Mark Lynch injured or out of Cassidys plans at the minute?

Indiana I see you using this "Nordie" term quite a lot to put people down. You seem to be big into your geography. Just out of interest you southie who exactly are you referring to with this term? Everyone north of Dublin? Everyone in Ulster? Antrim,Down,Tyrone,Derry,Fermanagh,Armagh?

Post by: Hound on March 15, 2009, 12:39:14 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2009, 11:58:25 PM
Indiana I see you using this "Nordie" term quite a lot to put people down. You seem to be big into your geography. Just out of interest you southie who exactly are you referring to with this term? Everyone north of Dublin? Everyone in Ulster? Antrim,Down,Tyrone,Derry,Fermanagh,Armagh?

As a Nordie you have the persecution complex off to a tee anyway.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2009, 12:40:24 AM
Great result for Derry - Gilroy is up against it now. He was always going to be up against it but it's going to be tougher from here on.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 09:19:32 AM
Quote from: Hound on March 14, 2009, 10:54:44 PM
Hats off to Derry who kicked some tremendous scores and totally dominated the 2nd half.

Ger Brennan is worth his place on the team, but definitely not at 6.

It'll be Henry and Griffin at 2 and 4 come championship, because they are our best two intercounty corner backs.

Most insipid Dublin performance in Parnell that I can remember.

We were beyond belief we were so poor. We're going backwards at a rate of knots and there is no sector of the team functioning. They take off Bonner when we can't win a ball at midfield . Derry had the luxury of taking off their best players last night. There is no question about it but having watched Laois last night- Leinster is by far the weakest province at the moment.
I think the management are in big trouble too. If they don't win next week metaphorcially speaking the shit will hit the fan. Poorest crowd at a sat night league game in a long time. Totally depressed this morning.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 15, 2009, 09:46:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 09:19:32 AM
There is no question about it but having watched Laois last night- Leinster is by far the weakest province at the moment.
Have to agree there. Westmeath seem to have taken a step back, Meath and Laois are threading water in Division 2, Wexford are on the way back to Division 3, three other Leinster teams are in Division 3 (and quite possibly all staying there) and three more in Division 4 (again, all quite possibly staying there). It's bleak. Kildare for the Leinster title in 2009?
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 09:52:03 AM
Kildare would be favourites at this stage. Unbelievably Dublin are not prioritising a leinster title. Its not about priortising anything in my view its about winning games. Winning games breeds confidence. i've never subscribed to the idea that winning leinster championships has stopped us in the all-ireland race. We just haven't been good enough outside our province similar to Armagh.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 11:26:12 AM
Unlike Laois, I didn't think Dublin were that bad, in the second half they were very poor alright but I thought they played some good football in the first half. I also think they do have good footballers but some of them just aren't playing well at the moment, they're also short some of their main players and they clearly need these guys back if they are going to compete. I do think the management need to look at settling down the team for championship from now on though, for example Brennan at center back won't do IMO, wing back maybe but center no. I'd drop Henry back to corner back now, he hasn't set the world alight at wing forward (though he has done alright in fairness) but he is needed at CB so get him in there. Play Keaney at full forward and leave him there with Bernard Brogan in one of the corners, I'd also give Ciaran Whelan a break for a game or two and play McConnell and Ryan midfield. I thought Whelan was very poor last night but the reason I'd do this is to give McConnell his head and see how he goes, with Whelan beside him he is the junior partner but with him gone he would be the main ball winner with Ryan offering the mobility. One way or another Dublin need to nail down who is going to play championship at 2, 4, 6, 9, 11 & 14 soon.
Post by: David McKeown on March 15, 2009, 12:08:20 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 09:52:03 AM
Kildare would be favourites at this stage. Unbelievably Dublin are not prioritising a leinster title. Its not about priortising anything in my view its about winning games. Winning games breeds confidence. i've never subscribed to the idea that winning leinster championships has stopped us in the all-ireland race. We just haven't been good enough outside our province similar to Armagh.

Not disagreeing with what your saying but just out of curiosity Armagh have only been beaten by teams from outside Ulster 3 times in the last 8 championships (since the back door came in) contrasted with 7 defeats to ulster teams (3 in ulster championship) in that period where Armagh won 5 Ulsters. Armagh also have beaten a significantly higher number of non ulster teams than they lost to in that period.   How does Dublins record compare to this?

Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 02:10:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 11:26:12 AM
Unlike Laois, I didn't think Dublin were that bad, in the second half they were very poor alright but I thought they played some good football in the first half. I also think they do have good footballers but some of them just aren't playing well at the moment, they're also short some of their main players and they clearly need these guys back if they are going to compete. I do think the management need to look at settling down the team for championship from now on though, for example Brennan at center back won't do IMO, wing back maybe but center no. I'd drop Henry back to corner back now, he hasn't set the world alight at wing forward (though he has done alright in fairness) but he is needed at CB so get him in there. Play Keaney at full forward and leave him there with Bernard Brogan in one of the corners, I'd also give Ciaran Whelan a break for a game or two and play McConnell and Ryan midfield. I thought Whelan was very poor last night but the reason I'd do this is to give McConnell his head and see how he goes, with Whelan beside him he is the junior partner but with him gone he would be the main ball winner with Ryan offering the mobility. One way or another Dublin need to nail down who is going to play championship at 2, 4, 6, 9, 11 & 14 soon.

I can't agree Zulu, last night was the worst dublin display bar last august since the early 70's . It really was that bad. Derry took off all their main players and won in a canter. No disrepect to Derry but they are barely top5 - it wasn't as if we were playing kerry-tyrone,galway or cork. I know Derry have underachieved and its obvious they have a lot of talent but on the basis of prior championship form they are barely top 5, thats what made it so bad at the moment- but I think they will make a major challenge this year.
I mean Paddy Andrews is one the best club forwards in the county- and we play him at corner back? Some of the others are not up to it either and they were afraid to take off big names last night. Not a good sign.
We don't have many to come back Zulu. Vaughan isn't a regular starter, Griffin hasn't been great either for us recently. Cian O Sullivan is one who could add somthing. Shane Ryan has an arse the size of a small country at the moment and he needs to ship weight sooner rather than later. Hard to know where we're going at the moment and the management don't seem to know either which makes it worse.
We have absolutely no chance of an all-ireland in the near future. We don't have the players , but we're not even getting the best out of what we have either.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 02:24:29 PM
obviously I'd bow to your knowledge of dublin football over the past 30 years but I don't agree that it was that bad Indiana, the first half wasn't bad at all, though the second was woeful. Nevertheless I think Henry, Bastick and Griffin in the FB line and maybe Brennen and O'Sullivan on either side of 6 (or maybe Lally) would be a decent half back line, though I'm not sure who should be 6, maybe Shane Ryan? Midfield Whelan and AN other and upfront the 2 Brogans and Keaney are certainties with Vaughan, Sherlock, Connelly, Bonner, Andrews etc. looking to fill the gaps. It's not bad IMO though I agree Dublin won't win the AI this year and the management need time, certainly more than a year to make their mark. I'd also disagree with you about Derry, they are as much a threat as Cork or Galway to Tyrone's title IMO. I can understand your frustration though Indiana and Dublin football looks like it could do with a root and branch review, yer not producing enough really top quality players especially when you consider you have 3 or 4 of the country's best clubs.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 02:36:06 PM
Too many foreign stars plying their trade up here Zulu and the clubs have to be blamed for that but i beleive the county board is going to step in soon- at last on that one.
Our underage record is poor and doesn't help. The problem is for the mangement if they lose a lot of games this year there won't be a second year. They need to put some shape on the team now and forget about experimentation. Can never understand Dublin's constant apathy towards the league- we have the arrogance to think we can turn up in the championship and turn it on-while tyrone and kerry constantly do well in the league as preparation for the championship. Brainless.
Post by: criostlinn on March 15, 2009, 04:27:52 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 09:52:03 AM

Paddy Power still giving 10/1 on kildare. Ladbrokes were 12/1 this morning but have moved them to 8/1. Definatley worth a punt I think
Post by: Canalman on March 15, 2009, 05:45:21 PM
Nowhere near good enough I'm sad to say and going nowhere quickly. An abject display encapsulated by Diarmuid Connolly's inability (yet again) to hold on to the football. McConnell was anonymous and but for Cluxton's saves humiliation (yet again) was on the cards.

Maybe, rearranging deckchairs on the Titanic, but Henry should be shipped back corner back pronto and left there. Only Cluxton,Brogan (B), Keaney (barely) and Cahill  can hold their heads up after last night.

I fear I caught a glimpse of the future for Dublin football last night and it wasn't pleasant.
Post by: screenexile on March 15, 2009, 09:49:26 PM
Indiana we would beat Cork comfortably and will give Galway a right game next week. For me the rankings at the minute would be Tyrone, Kerry, Galway, Monaghan, Derry.

Anyway I was impressed by the application of our lads last night. Muldoon in MF was great, McGuigan didn't play the workhorse WHF and stayed on the 45 as an orthodox HF and did well. Our defence was very solid all round with Barry again impressing at CHB and Sean Leo at WHB very good also. Skinner just had one of those games where everything he kicked went over and I was impressed with his general workrate as well hopefully he can keep this form up.

I have to take back my comments of last week about Lynn and Mullan, they stepped up last night and I was wrong to say they couldn't cut it at this level as they put in huge effort and both played well. I don't think both will be there come championship but if they keep playing as they did yesterday it will be hard to drop them.

Dublin were awful last night and even lynchbhoy said they had 5 of their starting 6 forwards from last year on at a time and they still couldn't muster a decent challenge at all. Again it was noticeable in the players they brought on that they were big men and worked hard in the gym but as usual this is useless unless you have the skills to play football as well. A mystery really why Dublin can't find these players as I'm sure they exist but the current crop just don't seem up to it.

Anyway relegation is not a worry anymore and hopefully we are starting to get the look of a championship team about us. A few lads still to come in and competition for places all over the park is the way a team should be and Derry definitely have that now, as well as strength in depth. Things are looking up although best not to get too carried away. Monaghan in the first round of the Championship will answer any questions over the team.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2009, 10:15:34 PM
Indiana we would beat Cork comfortably and will give Galway a right game next week. For me the rankings at the minute would be Tyrone, Kerry, Galway, Monaghan, Derry.

My rankings are on championship form and no disrespect but Derry haven't been at the races in the championship for a while. On current form I would agree but Derry have chroncially underachieved in the championship. Anyway in the context of the game it was  only a moot point. I'd certainly have Cork ahead of Monaghan. I think Cork are the most under-rated team in the country but have the best crop of young talent anywhere in the country at the moment at u21 level.
Anyway it looks good for Derry this year- Cassidy knows what he's doing.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 10:20:18 PM
QuoteIndiana we would beat Cork comfortably

This the same Cork that beat Kerry in the championship? Not sure why but Ulster lads don't seem to rate Cork very highly but yer wrong, Cork, as indiana points out have been consistently strong at U21 level for the last 5-6 years and have plenty of experienced quality players to backbone the team.
Post by: screenexile on March 15, 2009, 10:27:24 PM
That's fair enough Indiana and I do take your point that we are far from what you would call a 'Championship Team'.

The other thing is I would be of the opposite opinion of Cork in that I think they are massively over rated and the only reason they have managed to get far is because of the lack of any other competition in Munster and favourable draws this past few years. Last year they beat Kerry on an off day and only really beat Kildare then. The year before they beat Louth and a poor enough Meath team to get to an AIF. They may have some players coming through but I think they would struggle against an Armagh/Dublin/Mayo team if they had to play them this year. Maybe in a few years time when the last batch of U21s have matured they might threaten to win the big one but I'm not so sure at the minute.
Post by: Jinxy on March 15, 2009, 10:41:31 PM
Cork would make bits of ANY of the ulster teams at the moment and that includes Derry.
Post by: screenexile on March 15, 2009, 10:44:50 PM
Monaghan play them in a few weeks so I guess we'll know more then!
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 10:47:19 PM
I don't agree they would make bits of any Ulster team but they are a serious team and will be a threat to any team come championship.
Post by: Jinxy on March 15, 2009, 11:17:58 PM
At the moment they would.
They are flying.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 11:38:06 PM
Jinxy they only drew with Kildare who edged past Monaghan today, I'd say Tyrone and Derry would give them plenty but you're right they are flying and will go close this summer. Their Munster semi against Kerry will be the biggest attended game between them in Munster for a long time.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 15, 2009, 11:52:31 PM
This time last year, Derry were flying and won the league. They were then beaten by Fermanagh and lost a first round qualifier to Monaghan. Cork are going well, but it's too soon to really tell how things will go in the summer. Having said that, i'm looking forward to seeing how Monaghan measure up against them in 2 weeks.
Post by: screenexile on March 30, 2009, 04:48:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 15, 2009, 10:41:31 PM
Cork would make bits of ANY of the ulster teams at the moment and that includes Derry.

Jinxy??? Did you watch Cork make bits of Monaghan there the other day???!!! Or was that maybe the other way around?!