Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Tormund

If we can pick up at least one more win that should hopefully keep us in div 1 for next year. If we do that and are competitive in the other games i think that'll be a success

Auld donal og still thinks he's right. Not very gracious.

They said Clare were diminutive- tell that to the full back, right half back or right half forward who were absolute beasts of men. Conlon or Shanaher not exactly small either. They are small compared to Limerick too :o

Quote from: imtommygunn on May 09, 2021, 10:30:07 PM

They said Clare were diminutive- tell that to the full back, right half back or right half forward who were absolute beasts of men. Conlon or Shanaher not exactly small either. They are small compared to Limerick too :o

Never watched it but there is no way he'd have backed down

Quote from: imtommygunn on May 09, 2021, 10:30:07 PM

Cork and gracious are mutually exclusive words.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

A lot of serious chips on shoulders about donál ógs comments last year. His comments were not that bad and he has always been much more supportive of Ulster hurling then most. Antrim were carrying few seriously out of condition players last year, they looked much improved today. Good luck to yous

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 09, 2021, 11:17:11 PM
A lot of serious chips on shoulders about donál ógs comments last year. His comments were not that bad and he has always been much more supportive of Ulster hurling then most. Antrim were carrying few seriously out of condition players last year, they looked much improved today. Good luck to yous

Seriously? His comments were based on one match, you actually believe he's watched anything other than that Kerry game?

Antrim last year were head and shoulders above anything in that league, today they raised the bar further

north_antrim_hound

He's a terrible analyst, talk about lazy journalism. A good journalist would have probably watched some of their matches on the lead up to the final and new it was an under-par performance aided by a Kerry team who set up with two sweepers and wanted to make the game a slug fest. Fair play to Joanne Cantwell she made him squirm tonight on the Sunday Game. It's just another Donal Og howler nearly as bad as his views on hurling people who don't like the sweeper systems as the "last remnants of British culture on these islands" .
Really he's cringe worthy
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on May 10, 2021, 12:30:09 AM

He's a terrible analyst, talk about lazy journalism. A good journalist would have probably watched some of their matches on the lead up to the final and new it was an under-par performance aided by a Kerry team who set up with two sweepers and wanted to make the game a slug fest. Fair play to Joanne Cantwell she made him squirm tonight on the Sunday Game. It's just another Donal Og howler nearly as bad as his views on hurling people who don't like the sweeper systems as the "last remnants of British culture on these islands" .
Really he's cringe worthy

He is the most dour Boll*cks on the TV. Glass always half empty.

He watched one game then made a sweeping statement on it. Like was said it was pure laziness and poor to not just congratulate us and leave it at that rather than talk about shipping heavy beatings.

John Egans left boot

Quote from: imtommygunn on May 10, 2021, 07:25:52 AM
He watched one game then made a sweeping statement on it. Like was said it was pure laziness and poor to not just congratulate us and leave it at that rather than talk about shipping heavy beatings.

Fair play yesterday to ya, we had a cracking second half to blow Down away. Donal og is there to give his opinion he maybe went a bit far. But let's talk turkey clare are a team and a county in turmoil only have to listen to A Daly on Sunday sport yesterday. I'm not taking away from Antrim's performance what I am saying is this t he usual flash in the pan you get from Antrim like Laois, Offaly, Westmeath against the tier 1 counties every now and again - I think so,Wexford and Kilkenny will let you know the true picture.

Na Glinntí Glasa

Hi lads well done on your win, but..... :o

The usual garbage from folk after a defeat to a team like Antrim where everything from the weather will be rolled out as an excuse.

Here's a good one to try - Clare were beat by a better team.

We are good at seeing that up here in Antrim when we lose to a better team. We don't make excuses why a team like Clare, Wexford, Offaly etc beat us, we accept we weren't good enough and try and find ways to better what is going on.

And if Kilkenny do show us 'the true picture' we will be the better for having taken on a better team and hopefully can learn lessons from it to improve.
hurl like f**k boi!

I would agree with most of what you say. We will find it tough and Laois the big game for us. We have definitely upped it physically but kk, Wexford and even Dublin probably a step up in that regard and we might struggle in the physical stakes. Being competitive the key thing here.

It was a good win for Kerry. You looked to be getting it tight for a while.

(Donal og watched one game is the main bugbear. We had played some great stuff last year but didn't in the final. He formed his opinion on the one game which was the one we didn't play well in. Also again after a great win yesterday  he just seemed to want to piss on our parade)

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: John Egans left boot on May 10, 2021, 07:39:38 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 10, 2021, 07:25:52 AM

Fair play yesterday to ya, we had a cracking second half to blow Down away. Donal og is there to give his opinion he maybe went a bit far. But let's talk turkey clare are a team and a county in turmoil only have to listen to A Daly on Sunday sport yesterday. I'm not taking away from Antrim's performance what I am saying is this t he usual flash in the pan you get from Antrim like Laois, Offaly, Westmeath against the tier 1 counties every now and again - I think so,Wexford and Kilkenny will let you know the true picture.

playing  Laois and  Dublin will let us know the real picture. If we can get one victory from those matches and compete in the other matches then we are progressing. Covid means you guys down there aren't floating about playing challenge matches left right and centre. Seems to have evened things up a small bit for us ones up here.
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Quote from: imtommygunn on May 10, 2021, 08:21:59 AM
I would agree with most of what you say. We will find it tough and Laois the big game for us. We have definitely upped it physically but kk, Wexford and even Dublin probably a step up in that regard and we might struggle in the physical stakes. Being competitive the key thing here.

It was a good win for Kerry. You looked to be getting it tight for a while.

(Donal og watched one game is the main bugbear. We had played some great stuff last year but didn't in the final. He formed his opinion on the one game which was the one we didn't play well in. Also again after a great win yesterday  he just seemed to want to piss on our parade)

Donal O'g gets paid to give an opinion and IMO in the McDonagh final he hadn't done one puff of research and trotted out a lazy narrative in trying not to trot out another lazy narrative in "yer doing a great job up there"....

Another thing that grates on me is that it's purely Darren Gleeson that has those players well coached. Now Gleeson is probably a good coach indeed but if he hadn't got the players at his disposal capable of playing that style then it wouldn't matter how good his gameplan is.
Eoghan Campbell, Molloy, McKenna probably never had any involvement with Gleeson until he took over. It was the clubs and previous development coaches all probably to a man from Antrim that developed them, which in fairness to Dowling he recognised from his club battles.