Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2013, 11:15:34 PM

Title: Boxing Day
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2013, 11:15:34 PM
So how do you prefer to spend Boxing Day? I prefer to give the Boxing Day sales a miss. I prefer to spend Boxing Day lazing around doing nothing, what else is Boxing Day for? I've spent this part of Boxing Day so far watching old films with the woman. Going for a walk here now in a minute, as Boxing Day weather goes this particular Boxing Day's not too bad.

I like Boxing Day. Boxing Day's the kind of day when you don't have anything urgent to do, there's not many days in the year like Boxing Day.
Title: Re: Boxing Day
Post by: orangeman on December 26, 2013, 11:17:08 PM
It's over.

We'll talk about it next year. Give us a wee reminder. We'll have plenty of time to consider it.
Post by: armaghniac on December 26, 2013, 11:23:02 PM
West Brit, about 8500KM West.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2013, 11:23:52 PM
Not in the states ;) Though I'd imagine it's called St. Stephen's day
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 26, 2013, 11:30:00 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2013, 11:15:34 PM
So how do you prefer to spend Boxing Day? I prefer to give the Boxing Day sales a miss. I prefer to spend Boxing Day lazing around doing nothing, what else is Boxing Day for? I've spent this part of Boxing Day so far watching old films with the woman. Going for a walk here now in a minute, as Boxing Day weather goes this particular Boxing Day's not too bad.

I like Boxing Day. Boxing Day's the kind of day when you don't have anything urgent to do, there's not many days in the year like Boxing Day.

A fair few Boxing days in that post.
Post by: orangeman on December 26, 2013, 11:37:58 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 26, 2013, 11:30:00 PM

It's said that Christmas is one of the most common times for falling out domestically. Has anybody boxed on Boxing Day ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2013, 11:42:09 PM

Armaghniac and MR took it hook, line and sinker.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2013, 11:44:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2013, 11:42:09 PM

I'd a smiley in so I'm out ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2013, 11:47:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2013, 11:44:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2013, 11:42:09 PM

I'd a smiley in so I'm out ::)
You get a pass then.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2013, 05:36:07 AM
My work here is done.  8)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2013, 09:52:01 AM
Generating one hook is very poor in fairness :P
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 27, 2013, 10:19:47 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2013, 09:52:01 AM
Generating one hook is very poor in fairness :P

Tony Boloney pulled the line back up, but in fairness it was poor bait.
Post by: Rudi on December 27, 2013, 11:04:08 AM
It really does my head in to hear Irish people refer to St Stephens Day as  Boxing Day. Only the Brits could come up with such a pathetically named day. I have little to be bothering me.
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2013, 11:42:38 AM
St Stephen me arse. Did he even exist they're asking.

Happy holidays I say.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 27, 2013, 11:45:29 AM
What do our atheist Southern brethren call Boing Day/St Stephen's Day? 
Post by: ardal on December 27, 2013, 03:21:28 PM
The origins of "Boxing Day"?

Apparently it comes from when the Victorians boxed up all their unused / eaten food on Christmas day and gave it to the poor on the Saint Stephen day
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 27, 2013, 03:30:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 27, 2013, 11:45:29 AM

The day after xmas.
Post by: ardal on December 27, 2013, 03:33:41 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

The 26th December?
Post by: J OGorman on December 27, 2013, 03:35:59 PM
Born and raised in the north and for the last 20 odd years have spent Christmas in donegal (from donegal stock) but feel odd calling the 26th st stephens day..I call it boxing day but wouldnt overthink it. Dont feel any less irish :-)

Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2013, 06:23:55 PM
An la arna mharach
Post by: Syferus on December 28, 2013, 01:32:51 AM
Any Wren Boyeens out there? Yahoooo
Post by: Hardy on December 28, 2013, 11:49:37 AM

Everybody just calls it Stephens's Day.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2013, 07:34:30 PM
The only time I ever heard St Stephen's Day was when I opened up free state papers and there was the Christmas TV guide. Our ones always called it Boxing Day and thought nothing of it.

I think it a bit odd when I hear people call a hurley a 'hurl,' but I don't let it get to me.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 28, 2013, 11:07:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 28, 2013, 11:49:37 AM

Everybody just calls it Stephens's Day.

I call it Stephens Day even over here in the United Kingdom. Then again I'm Western not Southern, defo an atheist though. Was only in the last 5 years that I learnt that folk up North call it Boxing, still find it bizzare that the British term is used up there.

Then again I find it weird Northerners call hurling hurley and say youse instead of ye. Ye are defo weird feckers up there. By the way what is all this craic with "we" for small, are ye all from Ayrshire or Dumfries?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 28, 2013, 11:53:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 28, 2013, 01:32:51 AM

Anseo! Lá an Dreoilín!
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 29, 2013, 01:19:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 28, 2013, 01:32:51 AM

You didn't have Wren Boys in your area, did you?
I thought you would have had mummers instead.
Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2013, 07:01:50 PM
Wran Boys always in Ros.
I think they start becoming mummers as you go North through Laythrum.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 29, 2013, 08:06:35 PM
I think there hould be a movie trilogy:

Christmas Day
Christmas Day II : Boxing Day
Chrsitmas Day III : St Stephen Strikes Back
Post by: 5 Sams on December 29, 2013, 09:14:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2013, 07:01:50 PM
Wran Boys always in Ros.
I think they start becoming mummers as you go North through Laythrum.

Dingle is some spot for the Wran....mad crack this year despite the weather.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2013, 09:32:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 28, 2013, 11:07:59 PM
By the way what is all this craic with "we" for small, are ye all from Ayrshire or Dumfries?

It's wee, not we.

My only problem is its overuse. "Do you want a wee bag?" says the girl on the checkout. I started talking to her about how everything was "wee" these days. She says "Here's your big change."
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2013, 09:34:12 PM
And what are youse doing driving on the left and speaking English? Did you tune in for the Queen's Christmas Speech while you were at it?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 29, 2013, 10:05:51 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2013, 09:32:01 PM
By the way what is all this craic with "we" for small, are ye all from Ayrshire or Dumfries?

It's wee, not we.

My only problem is its overuse. "Do you want a wee bag?" says the girl on the checkout. I started talking to her about how everything was "wee" these days. She says "Here's your big change."

Full conversation in Dunnes a week ago. "Ny. That's 12 99. Do you want a wee beg. Put your wee cyard in there. Ny. Put in your wee PIN. There's your wee cyard and your wee receipt."
Post by: Minder on December 29, 2013, 10:21:50 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 29, 2013, 10:05:51 PM

It's wee, not we.

Full conversation in Dunnes a week ago. "Ny. That's 12 99. Do you want a wee beg. Put your wee cyard in there. Ny. Put in your wee PIN. There's your wee cyard and your wee receipt."

I was in Next in Belfast City Centre and a young fella on the till was exactly the same, "do you want a wee bag, put your wee pin in, there's your wee receipt".

f**king numpty.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2013, 11:18:52 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2013, 09:34:12 PM
And what are youse doing driving on the left and speaking English? Did you tune in for the Queen's Christmas Speech while you were at it?

Well that's because you lunatics are already dangerous enough on our autobahns when ye come off those old decrepit queen's highways when you cross the border into our liberal democratic republic.

We speak Hiberno-English as opposed to that Mid-Ulster and Ulster Scots Twaddle ye lot propagate.

I hear there was another Grimaldi born there recently, good Mayo stock that family.

Give me Bosco, Pennys and real Tayto any days.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2013, 11:23:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 29, 2013, 10:21:50 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 29, 2013, 10:05:51 PM

It's wee, not we.

I was in Next in Belfast City Centre and a young fella on the till was exactly the same, "do you want a wee bag, put your wee pin in, there's your wee receipt".

f**king numpty.

That's a terrible sitch-Uuu-Aaa-shuun
Post by: laoislad on December 29, 2013, 11:27:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2013, 11:18:52 PM

Well that's because you lunatics are already dangerous enough on our autobahns when ye come off those old decrepit queen's highways when you cross the border into our liberal democratic republic.

Fuckin animals the lot of them.
Title: Re: Stephens
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2013, 11:32:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 29, 2013, 11:26:32 PM
Suppose it's like adding ín to the end of every feckin wordín.

Don't you think your being a bitin harsh there  :(
Title: Re: Stephen's
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2013, 11:36:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 29, 2013, 11:27:49 PM

Fuckin animals the lot of them.

They make Kerry folk look like fierce socialites.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 30, 2013, 01:56:21 AM

Don't worry about us. We can handle ourselves on motorways, we've had them since the 60s and we're used to them. That's why we don't have the problem of oul dolls from the country in Honda Civics driving into the exits and ending up going the wrong way, so we don't need to put signs up facing the wrong direction saying "Danger! Turn back!"

But I'm glad you've finally joined the civilized world in having motorways. Took you long enough, but you got there in the end.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 30, 2013, 02:04:31 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 30, 2013, 01:56:21 AM

Don't worry about us. We can handle ourselves on motorways, we've had them since the 60s and we're used to them. That's why we don't have the problem of oul dolls from the country in Honda Civics driving into the exits and ending up going the wrong way, so we don't need to put signs up facing the wrong direction saying "Danger! Turn back!"

But I'm glad you've finally joined the civilized world in having motorways. Took you long enough, but you got there in the end.

;D Now who is taking the bait  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on December 30, 2013, 08:42:58 AM
If motorways are civilisation then no wonder you went to California!
Post by: seafoid on December 30, 2013, 09:27:56 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 30, 2013, 01:56:21 AM

I thought the motorways up north were for the use of protestants. They seem to be concentrated in unionist areas. They never bothered building one to Derry . I wonder why.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2014, 08:39:39 AM
Any plans for Boxing Day the year then? As I said before when talking about Boxing Day, Boxing Day's one of my favourite days of the year. There's something relaxed about Boxing Day, like a day you can lie about and not do an awful lot.
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2014, 11:25:16 AM
It is a day for ould lads falling asleep in front of the telly while the racing is on and others getting sick of the sight of chocolate. If you call it Boxing day what sort of accent would you use ?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 26, 2014, 12:25:52 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2014, 08:39:39 AM
Any plans for Boxing Day the year then? As I said before when talking about Boxing Day, Boxing Day's one of my favourite days of the year. There's something relaxed about Boxing Day, like a day you can lie about and not do an awful lot.

It's the Wren's (prounounced "rans")Day where I am...best day of the year by far.
Post by: illdecide on December 26, 2014, 12:46:10 PM
They should rename it "Bookies Day"
Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2014, 02:00:56 PM
Buildin fcukin Lego.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 26, 2014, 02:35:12 PM
said 5-12yrs on mine. did it in half an hour - feeling smug 8)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 26, 2014, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 26, 2014, 02:35:12 PM
said 5-12yrs on mine. did it in half an hour - feeling smug 8)

You do realise....no, nevermind!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2014, 07:57:01 PM
Electrical box keeps tripping!! Lucky enough I've found fault and had dinner made for 12! But I've located problem to dishwasher (not her indoors) but when I turn it on it trips kitchen plugs.... What can I do (other than keep dishwasher off) Laoislad can help ;D...
Post by: armaghniac on December 26, 2014, 08:03:08 PM
Plug the dishwasher into an extension lead on the living room plugs, that way your dinner will get cooked but you will have the films on TV interrupted.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2014, 08:47:09 PM
Everything is working provided I don't turn the dishwasher on!!!!
Post by: armaghniac on December 26, 2014, 09:08:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2014, 08:47:09 PM

Then you need one of these
(http://geelongbrush.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/4449_SparkleDishBrush-255x255.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2014, 09:08:30 PM
Wash them in the sink. You know like in the old days.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2014, 09:23:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2014, 09:08:30 PM
Wash them in the sink. You know like in the old days.

Currently doing lol.... I'll be off to England soon so wont be my problem lol! But why is it tripping lol
Post by: CD on December 26, 2014, 10:03:59 PM
My day started with building a Lego castle and drinking copious quantities of tea. Then off to the in laws where I didn't have to dip and was fed and watered like a king. Home, dressed a few Barbies, read a book or two and now ensconced on the sofa with a couple of fingers of Jameson and Ron burgundy on the box.
Love Boxing Day!  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on December 26, 2014, 10:07:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2014, 09:23:29 PM
Currently doing lol.... I'll be off to England soon so wont be my problem lol! But why is it tripping lol

England eh, that would explain why this is in the Boxing Day thread.
Post by: Throw ball on December 26, 2014, 10:55:31 PM

Had the same problem about a month ago. Cost £70 to get it fixed including part. Still no idea what it was though.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2015, 07:56:48 PM
What are yiz all doing on this Boxing Day then? I always liked Boxing Day. Boxing Day is a time of relaxation and not being in any particular rush to get anything done.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2015, 08:54:01 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2015, 07:56:48 PM
What are yiz all doing on this Boxing Day then? I always liked Boxing Day. Boxing Day is a time of relaxation and not being in any particular rush to get anything done.

Split house today, boxing day yokes in one corner, St Stephens yokes in the other!!
Post by: laoislad on December 26, 2015, 08:57:07 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2015, 07:56:48 PM
Brit boy.
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2015, 09:42:17 PM
Today is St. Stephen's day to the Irish.
It is also the feast day of Roscommon's patron Saint - St. Coman.
Only boxing that might happen would be in an odd pub.
Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2015, 09:44:16 PM
Jaysus I love Boxing Day.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2015, 10:10:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2015, 09:44:16 PM
Aye. Boxing Day is a quare one.
Post by: Orior on December 26, 2015, 10:23:09 PM
9 holes of golf, walked the dog, watched the soccer - a good St Stephen's Day.
Post by: ziggysego on December 26, 2015, 10:32:59 PM
I met Mickey Harte today.  He said "Hello ZIGGY". I guess that means he reads the GAA Board
Post by: BennyCake on December 26, 2015, 10:48:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 26, 2015, 10:32:59 PM
I met Mickey Harte today.  He said "Hello ZIGGY". I guess that means he reads the GAA Board

Did you have your Bowie makeup on at the time?
Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2015, 11:00:01 PM

Mickey is Cold Tea.
Post by: ashman on December 27, 2015, 12:08:47 AM
La an Dreoilin in West Kerry !!!
Post by: laoislad on December 27, 2015, 12:24:47 AM
Did you tell him he was shite at the Eurovision?
Post by: laoislad on December 27, 2015, 12:32:05 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2015, 10:10:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2015, 09:44:16 PM
Aye. Boxing Day is a quare one.
Brit boy.
Post by: Estimator on December 27, 2015, 10:11:50 AM
You're verging on Tony Fearon territory with that little story.
Post by: ziggysego on December 27, 2015, 04:56:40 PM
Quote from: Estimator on December 27, 2015, 10:11:50 AM
You're verging on Tony Fearon territory with that little story.

Didn't win any competitions to meet him.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2015, 05:08:45 PM
Ziggy I may be mistaken as to who you are here but was that you who did green castle 5 miler on boxing day with paddy barnes?? if so looked like you raised a lot of money etc which is great.
Post by: ziggysego on December 27, 2015, 05:10:09 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 27, 2015, 05:08:45 PM
Ziggy I may be mistaken as to who you are here but was that you who did green castle 5 miler on boxing day with paddy barnes?? if so looked like you raised a lot of money etc which is great.

That was me, thanks :)
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2015, 05:13:38 PM
Well done as looked like you raised quite a bit too.

Barnes seems like good craic to be fair to him. Michael Conlon too.
Post by: ziggysego on December 27, 2015, 05:17:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 27, 2015, 05:13:38 PM

Yeah, I was surprised how much we raised. Delighted for the charity.  Paddy Barnes was some craic. Part of me was wondered I'd injury him and rule him out for the Olympics. lol
Post by: redcard on December 27, 2015, 10:37:03 PM

Has to keep on the right side of the mods  ;)
Post by: omaghjoe on December 28, 2015, 12:59:06 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 27, 2015, 05:17:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 27, 2015, 05:13:38 PM

Yeah, I was surprised how much we raised. Delighted for the charity.  Paddy Barnes was some craic. Part of me was wondered I'd injury him and rule him out for the Olympics. lol

Fair play ziggy although TBF Barnes had all the hard work, although listening to him rabbit on could not have been easy
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2016, 05:50:55 PM
Well that wraps Boxing Day up for another year. How did youse spend Boxing Day? I spent Boxing Day putting up shelves and redding up the house with the GF. Went to see Rogue One later, which was the second time. First time we saw it was in an IMAX dome and it was projected onto a planetarium screen, so it was all distorted and banana shaped. Hard to even see what was going on at times. Last night we saw it on a flat screen and it was a lot better. Some film. Probably the best Star Wars film I've seen yet. Good way to round off Boxing Day.
Post by: Orior on December 27, 2016, 08:29:57 PM
I spent St Stephen's Day playing golf.
Post by: armaghniac on December 27, 2016, 08:34:33 PM
(https://blogiverstravels.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/man-with-box-on-head-300x300.jpg)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2017, 06:17:32 PM
How did youse spend Boxing Day this year? We went to the beach, played some arcade games on the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, and saw Darkest Hour at the pictures. Not a bad show. Interesting look at the behind-the-scenes goings on in Westminster at the outbreak of WWII. A lot of stuff I didn't know about, like how much influence Chamberlain still had after Churchill took over.

A thoroughly enjoyable Boxing Day.
Post by: Puckoon on December 27, 2017, 06:30:23 PM
Had a nice brunch with the spouse then played golf. Hit my first Hole In One on the 17th at the end of what was a pretty shitty round!

Proceeded to get well toasted in the clubhouse (thank f**k for insurance, bar tab was ridiculous) and went out to dinner with some friends and am currently suffering the tequila sunrise.

Whatever it's called, it's always been my favorite day of the year and yesterday was no exception
Post by: Syferus on December 27, 2017, 09:42:14 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2017, 06:17:32 PM
How did youse spend Boxing Day this year? We went to the beach, played some arcade games on the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, and saw Darkest Hour at the pictures. Not a bad show. Interesting look at the behind-the-scenes goings on in Westminster at the outbreak of WWII. A lot of stuff I didn't know about, like how much influence Chamberlain still had after Churchill took over.

A thoroughly enjoyable Boxing Day.

The glorification of Churchill is one of the most rotten elements of the post-war period. His behaviour towards India during the war was to let famine ravage it while still demanding endless numbers of cannon fodder for his war machine. He kept redirecting Indian food to the homelands despite it being in much more demand on the sub-continent. His attitude towards Ireland wasn't much better.

When the time comes that a truly critical biopic of Churchill is produced I'd be very interested.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 09:44:38 PM
Churchill's role in the Gallipoli fiasco should have ruled him out of being a wartime prime minister, but I suppose it all worked out in the end, probably thanks to the RAF and the Battle of Britain.
Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2017, 09:52:45 PM
It's St Stephen's Day.
Post by: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 09:53:51 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 27, 2017, 09:52:45 PM
It's St Stephen's Day.

No that was yesterday  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2017, 10:30:33 PM
 :P
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2017, 12:52:46 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 09:44:38 PM
Churchill's role in the Gallipoli fiasco should have ruled him out of being a wartime prime minister, but I suppose it all worked out in the end, probably thanks to the RAF and the Battle of Britain.

They touched on that in this film actually, his defence was it could have worked if the navy hadn't squandered the element of surprise.

Darkest Hour is a bit glorifying of him but it showed the fact that he wasn't universally popular at the time and was a controversial figure in the establishment. I don't think it shows him to be perfect by any means.
Title: Re: St Stephen's Day
Post by: omochain on December 28, 2017, 04:39:30 AM
Just because Dev thought Churchill was a bollix doesn't mean he wasn't. Gallipoli, India, Dieppe, Coventry and the orange card makes him a callous b@$t@rd in my world but he did let the US and Russia beat Hitler. Yep it gets curiouser and curiuoser but in Ireland the 26th of December is Stephen's Day.  Happy New Year to ye all and thank you for keeping an old man entertained and informed all year.
Post by: ONeill on December 28, 2017, 11:55:15 AM
Had a deadly Boxing Day.
Post by: foxcommander on December 28, 2017, 04:32:40 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2013, 05:36:07 AM
My work here is done.  8)

Trolling. Sad.  Where's the moderator that I can squeal to?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2018, 04:33:39 PM
How's everyone spending Boxing Day the year? I'm spending this Boxing Day working, although I get to work from home which is nice. I usually find Boxing Day a relaxing day off, so I'll probably throw on some Netflix films while I work. Not the worst way you could spend Boxing Day.
Post by: Itchy on December 26, 2018, 04:39:53 PM
Can with rename this thread the contrary cnut thread
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2018, 04:41:51 PM
Quiet.
Post by: Boycey on December 26, 2018, 04:44:00 PM
I'm at work too but enjoying watching the Boxing Day football and racing
Post by: armaghniac on December 26, 2018, 05:21:59 PM
People don't cease to be West Brits just because it is Christmas.
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2019, 12:35:22 PM
Calling Lá an dreoilín « Boxing Day » may emerge as a topic of contention in United Ireland negotiations. It's even worse than Ireland's call.
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2019, 01:30:25 PM
The compromise will probably be "Box the wren day" ::)
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2019, 02:16:49 PM
If there is an ILA will the day be called lá na mBoscaí Ó thuaidh?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2019, 03:39:15 PM
How are youse spending Boxing Day this year? The missus has to work on Boxing Day this year, which is a shame. But daycare is open on Boxing Day so I can drop the wee one off and get some Boxing Day chores done.
Post by: illdecide on December 26, 2019, 08:22:18 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2019, 03:39:15 PM
How are youse spending Boxing Day this year? The missus has to work on Boxing Day this year, which is a shame. But daycare is open on Boxing Day so I can drop the wee one off and get some Boxing Day chores done.

Take that boxing glove off u saan and put the tissues back ;)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 26, 2019, 11:45:19 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2019, 03:39:15 PM
Having looked at a couple of these your life seems pretty mundane to be honest. I suppose in some respects it shows why you get a kick about winding people up on the internet, it's the only bit of excitement you get in an otherwise empty life
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2020, 01:54:39 AM
How was Boxing Day for everyone this year? My Boxing Day was relatively quiet for the obvious reason. I'd imagine a lot of people had a quiet Boxing Day too.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 27, 2020, 09:24:23 AM
My boxing day was good, in some ways it was better than the day before boxing day.
The funny thing is the people I know who chastise anyone who doesn't use "St Stephen's day" haven't been near a chapel in years themselves and preach the rest of the year about the separation of church and state  ???.
Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2020, 10:08:09 AM
Being from the 26 we dont have a "Boxing day" .
It's Stephenses Day whether we're Catholic, Protestant Atheist, Agnostic or Muslim.
Well maybe some Sky Sport soccer brainwashed eejits might let the term slip occasionally .
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2020, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 27, 2020, 10:08:09 AM
Being from the 26 we dont have a "Boxing day" .
It's Stephenses Day whether we're Catholic, Protestant Atheist, Agnostic or Muslim.
Well maybe some Sky Sport soccer brainwashed eejits might let the term slip occasionally .

I think it pre dates Sky sports to be honest, 1800's and a fairly decent reason for the name, unless you believe giving the poor present is a bad thing
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2020, 10:22:22 AM
A fresh catch every year Eamonnca!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2020, 10:35:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2020, 10:22:22 AM

It's still St Stephen's day, but I'll not lose any sleep over it being called anything else. Some people are easily offended
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2020, 10:21:15 PM

It's a Boxing Day tradition!
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 28, 2020, 12:16:58 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2020, 10:21:15 PM

It's a Boxing Day tradition!

Nordies are too easy  ;D
Post by: MoChara on December 28, 2020, 08:10:12 AM
Everyone knows the 26th is Wren Day, where we all dress up as a stack of hay and chase a small bird
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2021, 10:17:49 AM
Hope you're all enjoying this Boxing Day despite the cold and wet weather.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 26, 2021, 01:32:26 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2021, 10:17:49 AM

angry nordies be on soon enough  ;)

reliable stephens day tradition
Post by: Orior on December 26, 2021, 03:03:47 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 26, 2021, 01:32:26 PM

Shove it up your arse son
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 26, 2021, 05:17:49 PM
Jamaicans holding the traditional line that Boxing Day isn't until tomorrow.  Still St. Stephen's day today though.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Boxing_Day_to_be_observed_on_Monday_December_27 (https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Boxing_Day_to_be_observed_on_Monday_December_27)

In recent years, the day after Christmas Day, 26 December, is termed "Boxing Day" even when this falls on Sunday, though traditionally[15][16][17] Monday 27 December would be Boxing Day.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_Day  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_Day)

Post by: Targetman on December 26, 2021, 06:20:44 PM

We'll give you all the boxing you want son😜
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 26, 2021, 07:13:50 PM

Why would we be angry.
More like coming on here to laugh at raging freestaters
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2021, 08:09:50 PM
Free State was abolished 84 years ago this week.
Do try to keep up ;D
Still I suppose better to be stuck in 1937 than yer neighbours' 1690.
Happy Lá an Dreóilín t'ye all.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 26, 2021, 08:32:16 PM
There's another angry freestater
Post by: Itchy on December 26, 2021, 08:36:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 26, 2021, 08:09:50 PM
Free State was abolished 84 years ago this week.
Do try to keep up ;D
Still I suppose better to be stuck in 1937 than yer neighbours' 1690.
Happy Lá an Dreóilín t'ye all.

Did you not make enough of a fool of yourself this time last yesar :D
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2021, 09:22:57 PM
You still suffering from humour by pass?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 26, 2021, 11:23:44 PM
Freestaters rising to the bait is becoming an annual tradition on this board. Long may it continue!
Post by: Tubberman on December 27, 2021, 10:18:05 AM
Nordies at their favourite pass time - arguing with anyone they can find!
Post by: Targetman on December 27, 2021, 03:32:21 PM
No we're not!!
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:37:15 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 27, 2021, 10:18:05 AM

Marching 

Drumming

Painting Kerbs

Hanging Flegs

Suicide by Motorbike

Wanting to be from the South while resenting it at the same time

I'm sure there's lots more Nordie traits that we can add to
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:48:22 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:37:15 PM

Marching 

Drumming

Painting Kerbs

Hanging Flegs

Suicide by Motorbike

We don't want to be from the south.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:49:35 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:48:22 PM

Marching 

Drumming

Painting Kerbs

Hanging Flegs

Suicide by Motorbike

Unionists saying No

Well done,there's another one
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:55:05 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:49:35 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:48:22 PM

Marching 

Drumming

Painting Kerbs

Hanging Flegs

Suicide by Motorbike

Unionists saying No

Well done,there's another one
Neither do nationalists.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2021, 12:21:18 PM
Northerners want to be freestaters? News to me.
Post by: Blowitupref on December 28, 2021, 12:48:39 PM
South or Southern Ireland and the Northerners.

A bit silly terms when Donegal are more North than any of the six counties. Its a small island with North, South, East and west areas in it. South to me is the likes of Cork and Kerry.

Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 05:38:56 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2021, 12:21:18 PM

Much happier being British subjects with your British traditions such as Boxing Day

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2021, 05:48:10 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 05:38:56 PM

Much happier being British subjects with your British traditions such as Boxing Day

You've no issues speaking the queens language. What's your point?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 28, 2021, 05:49:05 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 05:38:56 PM

Boxing day in Donegal too you know
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 28, 2021, 10:51:57 PM
https://twitter.com/PolDeBuitleir/status/1475251312681906178?t=m0uNoZ6MLF53-SD4uyslXA&s=19

What a gimp bag
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2022, 11:05:15 AM
Lá 'le Stiofáin shona do na fíor Gaeil anseo.
Lá boscai/ dornnáiliocht shona do na Breatanaigh ar an mbord.
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2022, 11:36:55 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 26, 2022, 11:05:15 AM
Lá 'le Stiofáin shona do na fíor Gaeil anseo.
Lá boscai/ dornnáiliocht shona do na Breatanaigh ar an mbord.
Lá an dreolin duitse freisin.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 26, 2022, 12:16:40 PM
Freisin up here too to be fair
Post by: Itchy on December 26, 2022, 06:27:34 PM
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/why-do-irish-people-call-it-st-stephens-day-and-british-people-call-it-boxing-day-42244410.html

I think we can all agree St Stephen's day and the story of the hideous traitorous wren is much more interesting than upper class toffs boxing up their left overs for the peasants.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 06:46:06 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 26, 2022, 06:27:34 PM
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/why-do-irish-people-call-it-st-stephens-day-and-british-people-call-it-boxing-day-42244410.html

I think we can all agree St Stephen's day and the story of the hideous traitorous wren is much more interesting than upper class toffs boxing up their left overs for the peasants.

At least our reference is based on charity and not the Catholic Church.
Post by: Itchy on December 26, 2022, 07:22:07 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 06:46:06 PM

It's not charity to keep the masses in poverty and throw them a few crumbs from the table one day a year. I think some of ye boys have been so anglicized with your boxing day and cocktail sausages it's quite funny.

Catholic church was formed 1000 yrs after St Stephen was stoned to death too after being set up by those f**king wrens.
Post by: clonadmad on December 26, 2022, 09:25:37 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 06:46:06 PM

Spoken like a true British subject

FYI  St Stephen was neither a Catholic nor Protestant Saint
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 10:57:22 PM
The Catholic Church claims its roots to Jesus Christ.

Also the Catholic Church recognise St Stephen the early Christian and celebrate his saints day.
Cop out to say he wasn't a Catholic. You are like Ruth Patterson with her "St Patrick was a Protestant" spiel!  ;D
Post by: clonadmad on December 27, 2022, 12:50:46 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 10:57:22 PM
The Catholic Church claims its roots to Jesus Christ.

Also the Catholic Church recognise St Stephen the early Christian and celebrate his saints day.
Cop out to say he wasn't a Catholic. You are like Ruth Patterson with her "St Patrick was a Protestant" spiel!  ;D

People from Northern Ireland are really weird

Episode number 576
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2022, 05:56:11 AM
(https://media.tenor.com/DzTNDfHQaDkAAAAM/sml-jeffy.gif)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2023, 04:32:29 PM
How was everyone's Boxing Day? We just stayed local.
Post by: JoG2 on December 27, 2023, 05:04:59 PM
Residents of the Queens County seem to love the old partitionist craic.
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2023, 06:10:15 PM
Boxing Day is when Katie Taylor fights. Another great NI term is Leisure Centre. #Notions
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2023, 05:31:04 AM
Referring to a leisure centre as a leisure centre means you have "notions?"  How does that work?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 28, 2023, 10:42:51 AM
Galway leisure centres (https://www.galwaytourism.ie/things-to-do/leisure-centres/)

Yes that northern term leisure centre...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2023, 10:45:11 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 28, 2023, 10:42:51 AMGalway leisure centres (https://www.galwaytourism.ie/things-to-do/leisure-centres/)

Yes that northern term leisure centre...

Is it near the high street? Or close to the food banks?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 28, 2023, 11:03:25 AM
What are food banks? (https://www.centreforglobaleducation.com/food-bank-ireland#:~:text=The%20main%20distributor%20of%20food,own%20centres%20for%20the%20homeless.)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2023, 12:07:36 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 28, 2023, 11:03:25 AMWhat are food banks? (https://www.centreforglobaleducation.com/food-bank-ireland#:~:text=The%20main%20distributor%20of%20food,own%20centres%20for%20the%20homeless.)

According to Seafoid in the land of plenty and milk and honey there is no need for them..
Post by: jcpen on December 28, 2023, 01:25:18 PM
 ;D seafoid has really rubbed the those that call it boxing day crowd up the wrong way!
Post by: imtommygunn on December 28, 2023, 02:59:34 PM
Not really  ;D Just some nonsense comes from that keyboard sometimes  ;D