Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Sandy Hill

Quote from: BerfArmagh on September 30, 2008, 01:37:37 PM
I am sure Collie will recieve some form of official club recognition at the November Gala shin dig...

SO whats the thoughts on the 2 matches on sunday guys. I reckon the Harps will give it a good lash against cross. Though to be honest I don't think we have the scoring power to beat them, but sure ye never know, if your not in, you can't win!  ;D

Ogs v Killeavy should be a good game also, hopefully its a good day weather wise & all 4 teams (Well not cross  ;)) play to their potential. I fancy the Ogs to pip Killeavy
Are both games in the Athletic Grounds?
"Stercus accidit"

aye, double header Ogs game @ 02:00pm, cross take the stage @ 03:45pm

crossfire

Quote from: border rabbit on September 29, 2008, 03:52:13 PM

If Hearty refs a few Cross games then they wouldnt finish with too many players.

What do you mean by that statement. :-\

ogshead

Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 30, 2008, 06:51:54 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 30, 2008, 01:17:15 PM
Anyone know if the Harps will have a dinner or reception for Collie Holmes of if they did any previous year he won an AI?

This is the same player who, I was informed, held an "anti Armagh" party at his house on the day that Armagh beat Kerry in the 2002 AIF?

I'd say that's bull, he was already playing for the /harps at that stage as well... in fact, how low could you be to have an anti-anything party. one thing i did hear was that they used an Armagh jersey to wipe their feet in the door way to one of the pubs in the Moy,

Thats fact, It was Jordans in the Moy, Phily Jordans das pub, I know a fella who went to it and turned away as soon as he seen it at the door

winsamsoon

Crossfire what border rabbit means is that the Tullysaran lad was sent of for something in his opinion that the cross specialise in ie hitting of the ball and third man tackling. He is then stating that if Hearty (who sent the Tullysaran guy off) was ref at a cross game he would have sent loads off for similar incidents. So he was trying to put the incident as he saw it into perspective to some of the tactics adopted by cross. Now i wasn't at the game but that is what i took out of it.

The issue of Colie Holmes, if this guy did what certain folk are alledging then he should be ashamed of himself. I know there are rivaries in football but there is a fine line between disrspect and humour. Especially when this guy is playing his club football in Armagh. There is an old saying "one should never bite the hand that feeds you" If this hearsay about Holmes is true then he should seriously question the reasons behind what can ony be discribed as hatred. A little respect goes a long long way. When one looses this it is very hard to get it back.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Goats Do Shave

QuoteA little respect goes a long long way. When one looses this it is very hard to get it back.

As you have found out on here!!  :D

Candyman

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 30, 2008, 06:01:24 PM
QuoteSO whats the thoughts on the 2 matches on sunday guys. I reckon the Harps will give it a good lash against cross. Though to be honest I don't think we have the scoring power to beat them, but sure ye never know, if your not in, you can't win! 

Was at both Harps' and Cross' quarter finals and thought Harps looked very average against a limited Mullaghbán side. In contrast Cross were superb. Looking at the two sides it seems impossible to imagine how Harps stand any chance. Vernon and Holmes are good. But they aren't that good.

Hopefully Harps will make a game of it but its difficult to see them getting any closer than 5 or 6 points. That said, its all on the day and hopefully I'll be wrong.

Ógs on paper would be expected to beat Killeavy, but as people have mentioned earlier int his thread, Killeavy are in a great vein of form. May come down to which team gets the most out of its star county forward.

Quote from: Candyman on September 30, 2008, 01:05:07 PM
Quote from: topgun on September 30, 2008, 01:01:52 PM
Any one no where to get odds for the minor championship?
I would try a Bookmakers shop in Armagh, should be able to help out a high profile character like yourself!!  ;)

Which bookies is likely to have odds Candyman?

Hughes or Tommy French possibly?? I checked my local (O'Neills) and he was just offering exactly the same as PP.

Cross 1/14
Draw 11/1
Harps 8/1

NO HANDI-CAP BETTING AT ALL!!!

Candyman

Quote from: winsamsoon on October 01, 2008, 12:40:09 AM
Crossfire what border rabbit means is that the Tullysaran lad was sent of for something in his opinion that the cross specialise in ie hitting of the ball and third man tackling. He is then stating that if Hearty (who sent the Tullysaran guy off) was ref at a cross game he would have sent loads off for similar incidents. So he was trying to put the incident as he saw it into perspective to some of the tactics adopted by cross. Now i wasn't at the game but that is what i took out of it.

The issue of Colie Holmes, if this guy did what certain folk are alledging then he should be ashamed of himself. I know there are rivaries in football but there is a fine line between disrspect and humour. Especially when this guy is playing his club football in Armagh. There is an old saying "one should never bite the hand that feeds you" If this hearsay about Holmes is true then he should seriously question the reasons behind what can ony be discribed as hatred. A little respect goes a long long way. When one looses this it is very hard to get it back.

Lads, be rest assured that is complete and utter tripe!!!  ::)

el_cuervo_fc

Some of the stuff mouthed on this board is ridiculous.  That stuff about Collie Holmes is a load of rubbish.  So much for posting unfounded allegations  >:(

Final Whistle

QuoteQuote from: Sandy Hill on September 30, 2008, 06:51:54 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 30, 2008, 01:17:15 PM
Anyone know if the Harps will have a dinner or reception for Collie Holmes of if they did any previous year he won an AI?

This is the same player who, I was informed, held an "anti Armagh" party at his house on the day that Armagh beat Kerry in the 2002 AIF?

I'd say that's bull, he was already playing for the /harps at that stage as well... in fact, how low could you be to have an anti-anything party. one thing i did hear was that they used an Armagh jersey to wipe their feet in the door way to one of the pubs in the Moy,

Thats simply not true. There was NEVER any jersey used to wipe feet. Moy gaels have more respect. Any person that can say they actually seen that incident take place? No, thought not. We can all come up with instances where rumors have circulated concerning other counties players/managers/supporters but thankfully lads there is no backing to the stories.

Collie Holmes had a lot more on his mind in 2002 than having anti-armagh parties, such as plotting the downfall of Armagh the next summer.
How much was the entry fee to this anti armagh party?

Final Whistle

QuoteThats fact, It was Jordans in the Moy, Phily Jordans das pub, I know a fella who went to it and turned away as soon as he seen it at the door

Exactly onion(ball) bag you know a fella which means your claim comes fom a secondary source in other words your source is not reliable which means your writing inaccurate unsubstantiated material. The moy is situated right on the border, with clientel (more so from armagh) choosing to spend their sterling in the villages public houses. No one who owns a public house in the Moy would be stupid enough to what you ae claiming.

Quote from: Final Whistle on October 01, 2008, 08:43:27 AM
QuoteThats fact, It was Jordans in the Moy, Phily Jordans das pub, I know a fella who went to it and turned away as soon as he seen it at the door

Exactly onion(ball) bag   >:(you know a fella which means your claim comes fom a secondary source in other words your source is not reliable which means your writing inaccurate unsubstantiated material. The moy is situated right on the border, with clientel (more so from armagh) choosing to spend their sterling in the villages public houses. No one who owns a public house in the Moy would be stupid enough to what you ae claiming.

I am only writing it as a fact that someone told me that, How are you so 100% sure that it didnt happen, it may have been done as a joke as you say there is a lot of Armagh Clientel drinking in the Moy,

Final Whistle

because i know 100%, bet everything i own, swear on the holy bible, that it didnt happen. and there is no one on this board or elsewhere that could tell me otherwise because it DIDNT happen. armagh-tyrone relations are cordial in the moy area with a lot of families interlinked. it seems to be only those who have no connection with the moy (and probably never been in the moy for any length of time) that come out with REDICULOUS claims such as yours.

TBH you should apologise!!

Okay final whistle keep your hair on, calm down, Im not apologising for writing something that someone told me was Fact, anyways i make the initial allegation, i was only responding to a previous post,

Do you own a pub in the Moy or something and are afraid of your takings going down this weekend, if Armagh people are reading the board ;)