GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on June 28, 2007, 07:50:54 PM

Title: Hurling Management Sim
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 28, 2007, 07:50:54 PM
I know this was talked about before but can't find the thread,according to this website it is to be released today

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.hurlingblog.com/2007/06/13/new-hurling-computer-game/

[ # ] New Hurling Computer Game 
June 13th, 2007

A new hurling managment computer game is about to be launched by a company called Tailteann Games. The game, called "Bainisteoir – Hurling©", is due for release on June 28th.

One of the most impressive aspects of it is that they have the real life player names - according to their website they have " the 32 Irish Inter-County, New York and London Senior Hurling panels, which comprise of over 1,000 real-life Hurling stars, including D.J Carey, Ken McGrath, Brian Lohan and Eugene Cloonan". This is one aspect that seriously let down the other GAA offering out there, Gaelic Football on the Playstation, it didn't have any real players.

The company is apparently based in Nenagh in Tipperary, it's great to see a local Irish software company producing a quality GAA product. Their website seems to be still under development but they have background on themselves and the product on their "About" page. http://tailteanngames.com/2.about.php

Title: Re: Hurling Management Sim
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2007, 09:41:09 AM
I hope this is a good game, and fair play to them for trying. Hope it goes well for them.

Nice to see this as the featured player as well, and they Nenagh men and all :D Not sure about the socks though!

(http://tailteanngames.com/images/product_player.jpg)

Post by: tayto on June 29, 2007, 09:59:46 AM
Anyone try it yet? Fair play for them making it hurling, you'd think football would have the bigger audience.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 30, 2007, 12:54:21 AM
Hope to buy this tomorrow.  A mate of mine got it today, dont know what he thinks of it yet though.  Should be interesting to have a go at it though.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 30, 2007, 03:49:55 PM
Bought it today haven't had chance to play but from reading the manual it looks very professional
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 01, 2007, 02:48:27 AM
Had a go at this this evening.  Seems quite good, I'm finding the training hard enough to handle though.  I done a good bit of stamina training early on but now I'm way behind in other areas and my overall for the Galway team has fallen from 100 to 75 and Ive only played three challange games.  I hammered Longford and Derry before losing to the Cats by four points despite leading by five at one point.  As my overall rating continues to fall this season may not be a good first season for me, as I struggle to figure out this training.

Hows everyone else finding the game?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 01, 2007, 10:57:21 AM
I can't get it to install on my laptop,Have you XP or Vista Galwayboy? Keep getting a error message when i load it
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 01, 2007, 12:07:08 PM
I have XP and it installed ok for me.  Do you have XP, and what does the error message say?
Post by: corn02 on July 01, 2007, 12:23:54 PM
Hoping to pick this up tommorow, I am a Football man but like the old management games, worth the buy? What would you rate it?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 01, 2007, 03:12:31 PM
Ya so far I'd say its worth the buy.  I love the way the matches are done, commentry style just like Football/Champ Manager.  I'm struggling at the training part of the game, but I'm hoping to get the hang of that.  I cant rate the game properly though until I get a better chance to play the game though.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on July 01, 2007, 04:35:51 PM
Any chance of some screenshots?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 01, 2007, 08:07:16 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on July 01, 2007, 12:07:08 PM
I have XP and it installed ok for me.  Do you have XP, and what does the error message say?

I have Vista
error says

F:\Install
Data error (cyclic redundancy check).
Post by: flairgun on July 02, 2007, 04:54:43 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 01, 2007, 08:07:16 PM

F:\Install
Data error (cyclic redundancy check).

I've heard lots of bad things about Vista, but typically that error just refers to corrupt data.
Check whether the disc is scratched, it shouldn't be as it's new, but try giving it a polish.
Try the disc in another drive and see if the same thing happens. If it does, then take it back to the store and ask for a new disc.
Post by: flairgun on July 02, 2007, 04:55:51 PM
No sign of availability of bainisteoir for download yet. Us abroad will have to wait a while.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 02, 2007, 05:44:07 PM
Quote from: flairgun on July 02, 2007, 04:54:43 PM
If it does, then take it back to the store and ask for a new disc.
Shop, you mean!  ;D
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 02, 2007, 05:49:56 PM
Great to hear that the game isn't dogged with glaring flaws or oversights.
I would have been a bit sceptical about the ability of a software house without big a budget to pull this one off.
I'm sure feedback for the developers would be appreciated since they seem to be enthusiasts.

On an aside, what ever happened to the Gaelic football Playstation game after the initial release? There was plenty of scope for improvement for a second version and it could have been a very good game if some obvious and straightforward modifications were implemented. Did the company who developed it make a loss on the first edition?
Post by: flairgun on July 02, 2007, 06:05:19 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 02, 2007, 05:44:07 PM
Quote from: flairgun on July 02, 2007, 04:54:43 PM
If it does, then take it back to the store and ask for a new disc.
Shop, you mean!  ;D
:D   :-[
Heh, been in the states too long!
Post by: corn02 on July 02, 2007, 06:32:53 PM
Excellent to see that GAME in Newry had not heard of this game today when I tried to get it.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 02, 2007, 07:03:10 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 02, 2007, 06:32:53 PM
Excellent to see that GAME in Newry had not heard of this game today when I tried to get it.

Yeah Gamestop in Athlone didnt have it either, so I went straight to Smiths and got it there.

Lads the quicker one of ye play the game the better.  I'd like to know how ye sort out training.  Ive spent a few hours yesterday trying to sort it out.  My back line were doing well, had marking, tackling and control stats well up and my stamina and speed stats for the players was good as well from the training.  The problem though was that my team could not pass a ball, every pass except for about two in a league match against Limerick was intercepted.  I had Joe Canning full forward as Eugene Cloonan was injured but he drove free after free wide because the free taking stats for the team had gone down.  I got hammered out the gate despite leading at half time.  Typical Galway though, in a challange match against Kilkenny earlier in the season I lost a five point lead to lose by about four.  I havent got a chance to play it yet today though.

Post by: tayto on July 03, 2007, 03:33:30 PM
You can buy it online here:

http://www.pride.ie/
Post by: turk on July 03, 2007, 03:38:17 PM
Can you pick vintage teams like CLARE-90s and run the shite out of them all Winter and see what happens?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2007, 03:39:58 PM
You can't hold a lads head down in the dressing room and ask 'Do you f*cking want to feel like that? Do you? Do You????', can you? That would be great :D
Post by: turk on July 03, 2007, 03:43:04 PM
Can you bring the squad to the pub in Birr the night before the game and let them hammer the shite out of each other ala OFFALY in the 90s? (allegedly)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2007, 04:08:11 PM
Can you discipline a lad for being carried home out of Melba's in Birr the friday night before an All Ireland final (Offaly again - allegedly), or can you at least make him buy the drink after the next training session?
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 03, 2007, 04:31:57 PM
That Melba's was one quare rough joint. Got a belt off a flying bottle there one night.

Post by: flairgun on July 03, 2007, 06:59:50 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 03, 2007, 04:31:57 PM
That Melba's was one quare rough joint. Got a belt off a flying bottle there one night.
Just collateral damage so.
Count yourself lucky you didn't get asked to choose a side in one of the inter-parish c**k waving contests held there most weekends, sometimes extra time was required to decide a winner, resulting in the stretch from melba's to wondermac's seeming more like the Gaza strip.

Ah, the memories!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 03, 2007, 07:44:35 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on July 01, 2007, 02:48:27 AM
Had a go at this this evening.  Seems quite good, I'm finding the training hard enough to handle though.  I done a good bit of stamina training early on but now I'm way behind in other areas and my overall for the Galway team has fallen from 100 to 75 and Ive only played three challange games.  I hammered Longford and Derry before losing to the Cats by four points despite leading by five at one point.  As my overall rating continues to fall this season may not be a good first season for me, as I struggle to figure out this training.

Hows everyone else finding the game?

Galwaybhoy are you really Ger Loughnane?  :D
Post by: corn02 on July 04, 2007, 07:31:03 PM
Galwaybhoy, from the sites Q AND A.....

Q. I found changing a training session's content to be a little tricky, any advice?

A. When one alters the time of a training session etc, the outcome may seem a little complex at first but upon reflection, I think you will see the logic of the situation shining through. However, for the first time user, the best idea is probably to cancel all of the default training session routines and to plan your training session from scratch.

Post by: screenmachine on July 04, 2007, 09:05:51 PM
has anyone came across this game in the 6 counties yet? any shop i've been in (hmv/game) havent heard tell of it??
Post by: corn02 on July 04, 2007, 09:40:30 PM
Same here Screen, not only did they not stock it, they never heard of it.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 12:08:53 PM
Can't find it in Mayo a bit like real hurling up to 15 years ago  ;)
Post by: screenmachine on July 05, 2007, 02:46:28 PM
just ordered it off pride.ie there..anyone else ordered it this way? what timescale are we talking about for delivery? any screenshots anywhere?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 05:21:08 PM
Is it a Championship Manager style game or is it like the football game, that turned out to be woefull, also if its a PC game will it work on a really crap computer or does it need fairly up to date software to run?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2007, 07:02:34 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 05:21:08 PM
Is it a Championship Manager style game or is it like the football game, that turned out to be woefull, also if its a PC game will it work on a really crap computer or does it need fairly up to date software to run?

It's like championship manager.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 07:07:19 PM

I have a brand new laptop with Windows Vista and i can't get the bloody game to work >:(
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2007, 09:15:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 07:07:19 PM

I have a brand new laptop with Windows Vista and i can't get the bloody game to work >:(

Go onto their forum for the game Laois Lad. They might be able to tell you how to get it running on Vista.

Got the game today but haven't had a chance to have a go yet.
Post by: neilthemac on July 06, 2007, 11:16:01 PM
right. getting this game tomorrow.

at least I won't be missing the fine hurling weather   ::)
Post by: corn02 on July 07, 2007, 05:36:19 PM
Excellent to see Dundalk don't have it either.
Post by: corn02 on July 08, 2007, 11:37:49 PM
Any more reviews lads?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2007, 12:19:48 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 08, 2007, 11:37:49 PM
Any more reviews lads?

I only played one challenge game in it. Haven't done any training or played a full season yet.

Went down to Ennis to play Clare. Game finished 2-13 apiece so it's fair to say that I'm an improvement on Ger Loughnane. ;D
Post by: GY Joe on July 09, 2007, 08:58:14 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2007, 12:19:48 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 08, 2007, 11:37:49 PM
Any more reviews lads?

I only played one challenge game in it. Haven't done any training or played a full season yet.

Went down to Ennis to play Clare. Game finished 2-13 apiece so it's fair to say that I'm an improvement on Ger Loughnane. ;D

You've got the job GBB...
Post by: Balboa on July 09, 2007, 09:10:30 AM
You can get it in Gaa Store, www.thegaastore.com
Post by: AZOffaly on July 09, 2007, 12:40:46 PM
I picked it up in a newsagent in Killaloe on Saturday morning. It's in all the little shops in Tipperary :D I like it I have to say. The training and stuff is the most important thing it looks like. I started as Offaly, spent tiny money (to simulate real life :D) on coaches, selectors etc, and proceeded to ignore my Coach's consultations regarding the training times, content etc. I won the first two challenge matches against Tyrone and Derry, but got beaten by Louth!! The players turned turk on me, (again quite realistically I thought!) and started doing dodgy newspaper interviews. Dylan Hayden had to be severely reprimanded a couple of times, and I revoked his press access. The slide continued though, and in our next pre-season friendly, Dublin beat us 2-22 to 0-08. The County Board, again totally realistically for Offaly, gave me my P45, before even playing a league game. I had brought Offaly from 9th ranked to something like 25th :D

Simmering with Resentment I went on to coach Westmeath. I spent money on Selectors and Coaches, thanks to a wealthy supporters club and sponsorship from Hogan Stand. Beat Derry and Longford twice each in pre-season. Lost to Tipperary by 5 points in the final pre-season game and then got my revenge as Offaly visited Cusack Park in the first game of the League. Result Westmeath 2-15 Offaly 1-10.

Then I did an Eamon Cregan on it and cried for the evening :D

All in all, very enjoyable so far, and I like the fact that you can set up your tactics and training to complement each other, and you can see the effect that it has on individual players, and can tailor their training according to their needs. For example, Andrew Mitchell was missing a few frees for Westmeath until I gave him a boot up the hole and he is now knocking them over for fun. Also the Pre-Match and Half time team talks can work as well.

All the above was in a few hours at beginner level, so I'd imagine it will get even more engrossing at higher levels. If I get time!!.
Post by: screenmachine on July 10, 2007, 12:03:33 PM
my copy arrived their yesterday...decided to take on cork hoping that kilkenny would be the top dogs and try to challenge them but cork are unbelieveable in it...joe deane scores about 10 points a game (deadly from frees)... kilkenny beat me by 2 points in a friendly at the start of the season but i've went through the league and won comfortably in all games bar my revenge on kilkenny which ended in a 4 point victory...training is good but i read in higher levels you arent able to consult your coach for hints about training so ya'd need to play a bit in the lower levels for a while i would imagine.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on July 11, 2007, 05:49:33 PM
Real Laois Lad,

Did you ever get the game to work?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 06:05:09 PM
Quote from: Craigyhill Terror on July 11, 2007, 05:49:33 PM
Real Laois Lad,

Did you ever get the game to work?

No couldn't get it too work
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on July 11, 2007, 06:32:29 PM
I had exactly the same problem as you. New laptop, Vista, same error message. I emailed the makers and they emailed this back. It worked perfectly.

After considering your situation, our initial hunch is that your
difficulty installing the game may very well relate to the fact that your
computer runs on Microsoft Vista. As this operating system is still in its
infancy, Microsoft Vista is still not compatible with huge amounts of
software and hardware. Microsoft has recently encountered some problems
regarding the installation of copy protected CD ROM's onto their Vista-ran
computers. Some Vista owners have been able to install and play
Bainisteoir – Hurling©, while it appears others have not. As Microsoft are
constantly tweaking with Vista to improve it, it appears that your problem
installing the game may well be because of the particular version of Vista
that you own.

As we could not fully guarantee that a copy-protected CD ROM like
Bainisteoir – Hurling© would successfully install on Vista, we omitted it
from the game's system requirements, which are stated upon the game's
cover.

HOWEVER, we are committed to enabling our customers to play the game on
Microsoft Vista and so contacted Microsoft to find a solution to overcome
this problem. They passed on the following resolution, which should allow
you to play Bainisteoir – Hurling© on a Microsoft Vista ran computer:

The solution requires that you have temporary access to a PC running
Microsoft XP or 2000 and a USB Memory Stick with about 250MB free space.

1. Place the Bainisteoir – Hurling© CD ROM in a PC running on the
Microsoft XP operating system and proceed to install the game on that
machine.
2. Enter the USB memory stick in the USB port on this PC, running on XP.
3. On the XP PC, Open My Computer.
4. Double-click on the Hard Drive (C:) icon.
5. Double-click on the "Program Files" folder.
6. In this folder, copy the directory entitled "Tailteann Games".
7. Copy this entire directory (about 220MB) to the USB memory stick.
8. Once fully copied over, remove the USB memory stick from the XP
computer properly.
9. Uninstall Bainisteoir Hurling from the PC running on Microsoft XP.
10. Insert the USB Memory Stick in your Microsoft Vista PC.
11. On the Vista PC, Open My Computer.
12. Double click on the Hard Drive (C:) icon.
13. Double click on the "Program Files" folder.
14. Copy the "Tailteann Games" folder from the USB Memory Stick to the
"Program Files" folder. (please wait for the contents to transfer over
completely).
15. On the Vista PC, double-click the "Tailteann Games" folder.
16. Double-click on the "Bainisteoir Hurling" folder.
17. Right click on the "Start_Bainisteoir.exe".
18. Select the "Create Shortcut" option.
19. Drag this shortcut onto your Desktop and double-click to start the game

Of course, you must have the Bainisteoir-Hurling CD in the CD-ROM Drive
for the game to run.

Following the above steps should allow you to successfully play
Bainisteoir – Hurling© on your computer.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2007, 09:17:46 PM
Can you watch them play or what?
Post by: belleaqua on July 12, 2007, 10:42:33 PM
Match commentary - like Championship/Football Manager.

Got it wednesday and have to say its very impressive for a first attempt. lots of things can be improved on but that will probably develop.

Its amazing how much detail and time is required. Took over as Galway, got to league semi final against Kilkenny who had given me a good beating in the group. I trained them like f**k the week before, tactics, personal regimes and spent about an hour and a half at it. went out and bet them fairly well and then won league final. ud think all would be ok then! got lazy as i had 18 training sessions planned before first championship match and just didnt bother changin it round outta boredom. I got fired less than half way through June havin won the league and havin not played a Championship match! They wouldnt be half as quick to fire Loughnane!

Too many goals scored from frees too.

Has anyone completed a season yet?
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on July 14, 2007, 12:56:38 PM
After three failed attempts with Cork to get to the second League game, I decided to try the 32 county knockout competition as Tipp. The first round draw paired me with Galway but I was pegged back after a good start and it took a last minute Eoin Kelly free to level it. Imagine my surprise then to be faced with a screen saying my season was over and the county board had decided not to keep me on, and Down ended up hammering some crowd called 'Draw' instead of the winners of the Tipp-Galway replay
Post by: corn02 on July 14, 2007, 07:22:31 PM
Anyone order off Pride? Ordered it last Saturday I think and still no sign.
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2007, 01:28:02 PM
Have played a wee bit of it, looks very very good. However it seems extremely hard.

I was Cork and got sacked after two friendly games, albiet this included a one point defeat to Tyrone.

Training seems to be the key to success, very dteailed.
Post by: thejuice on July 22, 2007, 09:39:51 AM
going to order it from GAAstore.com Hopefullly bring Meath hurling to new and unprecedented levels of excellence.  ;D

Post by: tayto on July 22, 2007, 11:55:09 AM
GAA store charging a lot more.
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2007, 01:08:43 PM
It is the hardest game in the World, I think about one league match is as far as I have ever got before being given the chop.
Post by: tayto on July 23, 2007, 01:14:21 PM
Got sacked after winning a couple challenge matches wit dublin ... tricky enough alright ... anyone know if you can play more then one year? [if you manage to stay int he job more then a couple of weeks that is]
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2007, 01:36:04 PM
I would say so because there is alot of stories saying this will happen at the end of the season.

Anyone any tips on how not to get sacked?
Post by: tayto on July 23, 2007, 01:40:34 PM
think you have to keep the press sweet
Post by: belleaqua on July 23, 2007, 05:11:59 PM
Very tough game. playing it 2 weeks now and gets frustrating when ya constantly get the sack. However i think i might have turned a corner. goin well with Limerick in the league. The media part i find is the key. take time to anwer and respond to all stories. its amazing how much the squad and fan confidence levels change due to the nature of your response.

Also, play weak teams in challenges to keep morale high-seems to help.

After that time has to be taken with training which is a pain but must be done
Post by: galla on July 30, 2007, 05:18:32 AM
I played it as meath and won division 2 and had the confidence/morale at about 55 - 60. I thought i best organise some friendlies to bridge the gap to the championship and choose easy games and won them all but the confidence continually dropped. So the next time I tried to play tougher friendlies. In the first i beat Laois who were ranked one place higher than me but the morale went down to 30ish.

I think the training is so time consuming. How can it be one week i need more stamina training, the next week less, the next week more and on and on forever.

Also I havent figured out a way to change free takers or captains

That concludes my debut post
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 30, 2007, 11:52:02 AM
the changing free taker is in one of the individual screens, I cant remember how to get to it exactly, I think its under squad development, click on an individual player and then there are options to make him captain, free taker etc. The "long range" free taken dosent seem to work, I had my CHB (Paddy Barret) selected to take them but my corner forward (Adrian Freeman) keeps coming out to take 65's and the like. I suppose it depends on what your definition of what  long range free is.
Its a very difficult game allright. So difficult in fact that you'd have to wonder if all the changes you make, make any difference. I'm managing Mayo and have seen squad confidence drop like a stone under my tenure! Played 3 challenge matches, lost to Kerry and Sligo and just beat Longford last night. I think one trick might be not to change the training sessions too much from week to week. My teams confidence level was dropping by 2 points after every training session so continuing like that twas only a matter of time before I got the boot. I have now given customised sessions to each of my starting 15, will do the subs when I get a chance. I have also had them do the same training session twice now and after the second one, confidence only dropped by one point so maybe I've turned the corner. I let them off on a "team building" exercise to kenmare which cost 5K and it went up by two.
One thing that might be worth looking at is the score ratings for each of the players, e.g my best player has a ranking of about 17.6 or something. i went through each of the positions and based on the score for each player and his preferred position set up the team that way. before that, as they were challenge games I was giving everyone a run and trying things as its very early in the year. But it didnt seem to like that, now I'm going to have a settled 22 and only bring fellas on for injures. Theres also one or two who's ratings are dropping like hell but they were low to bring with so I might drop them off the panel alltogether as they are probably bringing my overall score down. That might have an effect (either way) on morale.
Putting out my best team and the changes in training seem to have worked a bit as I beat longford by 2 points, however, they hit alot of wides and could have won. Based on scores for individual players however I should have hammered them so I'm probably still doing something wrong, they had only one player who was close to my team in terms of score ratings but it was a close match.
Of course I'm assuming these player score ratings have something to do with it, if they dont then my whole strategy is shot.
I did notice that switches during matches can make a difference, one of my midfielders was getting cleaned in the first half, I swapped him with the CHF and the midfielder (Derek Mc Conn) scored two points from play and the CHF (Pierce Higgins) shut down the Longford midfielder who was causing me all sorts of problems in the first half.
I made them spend alot of time on shooting practice as most of them were lacking in that and had hit alot of wides in the previous challenge and that seemed to improve. Tis a hard game no doubt though.
Post by: corn02 on July 30, 2007, 06:08:59 PM
Havent got a run at it this week but one question, how do you choose your friendlies? It always seems predetermined.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 31, 2007, 03:55:57 PM
You can add events in the calander/schedule section, for friendlies its practice matches. Interestingly on that, I tried to add Kerry a week before the Christy Ring cup on a Sunday and it said "Kerry will not play a challenge in Castlebar on a Sunday at that time of year". They'd be dead right too.
Post by: Ruairi Og exile on July 31, 2007, 06:12:30 PM
Msgr.Hogan...if you ask the other county to play the match on the saturday they might agree to it.You can change free takers in the Game details during the match, not sure about before it.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 01, 2007, 11:23:40 AM
Yes, they did agree to play on Saturday. It was interesting though that it was refused on Sunday, very realistic.
Post by: the ship on August 01, 2007, 11:56:05 AM
did you get permission from jp lambe to take them to kenmare even in fantasy hurling they would not allow that
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 02, 2007, 11:34:12 AM
Quote from: the ship on August 01, 2007, 11:56:05 AM
did you get permission from jp lambe to take them to kenmare even in fantasy hurling they would not allow that
There was allegedly some cheap home heating oil available in Kenmare so JP came along for the spin, allegedly.
Post by: galla on August 17, 2007, 03:17:51 AM
While I enjoy the challenge of this game there are a few things that are really starting to bug me

1. Is the point of a coach not to run training sessions. It really annoys me to have to adjust the timings for each section of the training session until you are in agreement with the coach.

2. Once you lose a game your confidence drops dramatically and i am finding it hard to reverse this(This could be the challenge of the game) but when you win there is very little increase

3.Irrespective of what style i choose to play I cannot see any change looking through the commentary or stats for the game ie: Playing a passing game you would expect more passes to be attempted than if you are playing a physical game

Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 17, 2007, 08:45:35 AM
this game is a load of bullshit. boring as hell
Post by: longball on October 04, 2007, 08:53:31 AM
Seen in the Smyths Toy Catalogue that Gaelic Games  Football 2 and Gaelic Games Hurling is coming out for hte pS2 in November. Football bound to be better than the last one!!!! Tried searching the net but no real news about it. anybody know anything?

Bought Bainisteoir Hurling arrive yday had quick go last night played one friendly so far> Cork (me) 3-16 Kerry 1-4.  I enjoyed it, More of a football man thou and would like to see a similar game with the footballers!

Is there anyway u can chose to play a third midfielder or an extra defender? played SOh corner forward in the hope of brining him back but never managed it.

Also can u edit players names, attributes etc before the season starts say if i wanted to create Colm Cooper for Kerry but wanted to make him to be a top player not some dungbag!
Post by: tayto on October 04, 2007, 12:02:32 PM
think they're planning a similar version for football. The scope for expansion of the series is massive. You should be able to start as a club manager and have to scout the u21s and minors and rise up to u21 county management and so on, they'd have to build an evolving enviroment where players age and change and so on, could be fantastic if they boys are able to keep the thing afloat long enough to get it that advanced.
Post by: the ship on October 04, 2007, 12:25:29 PM
we should get babs a copy for christmas
Post by: tayto on October 04, 2007, 12:28:02 PM
does the current game let you play more then one season?
Post by: Bogball XV on October 04, 2007, 09:29:55 PM
http://www.hurlingblog.com/2007/10/03/playstation-gaelic-games-hurling-game-due-for-christmas/
Post by: longball on October 05, 2007, 01:23:29 PM
Hows everyone getting on at this game. im cork and have played 3 challenges thus far operating Ben O'Connor in Full forward line and he working a treat have my two half backs sending low digional ball into the oposite corners and it worked very well in first games against Kerry and Tyrone but then was on the backend of a serious stuffing to The Cats.

Anybody come up with any answers to my previous post?
Post by: tayto on October 05, 2007, 02:20:03 PM
Have it but keep got sacked in preseason even after winning my challenge matches, didnt thinkt he DCB were that demanding ... havent had a chance to give it the tim eit obviously needs ...
Post by: Star Spangler on October 14, 2007, 12:37:13 PM
If I keep at it I think I might just get Tyrone to win Ulster in 2012.  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:18:07 PM
Quote from: longball on October 04, 2007, 08:53:31 AM
Seen in the Smyths Toy Catalogue that Gaelic Games  Football 2 and Gaelic Games Hurling is coming out for hte pS2 in November. Football bound to be better than the last one!!!! Tried searching the net but no real news about it. anybody know anything?

Bought Bainisteoir Hurling arrive yday had quick go last night played one friendly so far> Cork (me) 3-16 Kerry 1-4.  I enjoyed it, More of a football man thou and would like to see a similar game with the footballers!

Is there anyway u can chose to play a third midfielder or an extra defender? played SOh corner forward in the hope of brining him back but never managed it.

Also can u edit players names, attributes etc before the season starts say if i wanted to create Colm Cooper for Kerry but wanted to make him to be a top player not some dungbag!

I don't think these Playstation games will be any good unless a company like EA Sports take over the programming of them..I have played all the Aussie rule type games that IRGurus bring out and they never get any better.
I can't find anything about the Gaelic Football game on the net
Post by: Brandon on May 13, 2021, 05:11:36 PM
Anybody still have this game ?
Post by: delgany on May 13, 2021, 07:44:11 PM
Quote from: Brandon on May 13, 2021, 05:11:36 PM
Anybody still have this game ?

In the attic with PS2