Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:08:33 PM

Title: Speeding
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:08:33 PM
Whilst driving home from Donegal got done for speeding just coming out of Castlefin. No excuse really other that I'd been behind two old biddys since Ballybofey and it was the first chance I got to overtake them. Doing 91 in a 50 just yards from the end of the 50 limit. No penalty points as I'm from the North but I will get a fixed penalty fine. Are those things enforceable in the North?
Title: Re: Speeding
Post by: Lecale2 on November 04, 2007, 08:12:18 PM
Were you towing a caravan at the time or a load of tarmac?
Post by: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 08:17:57 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 04, 2007, 08:12:18 PM

;D my thoughts exactly. we don't need that sort of driving here we have enough road deaths!!!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 04, 2007, 08:29:58 PM
Milan Baros was caught outside Lyon recently doing 270kph!!!! in his Ferrari (obviously).
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:31:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 08:17:57 PM

;D my thoughts exactly. we don't need that sort of driving here we have enough road deaths!!!

So Tankie, can you explain how the comment ' were you towing a caravan at the time or a load of tarmac' echoes your thoughts exactly. What have you derived from that comment.

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 04, 2007, 08:34:48 PM
QuoteAre those things enforceable in the North?
I don't think so but  if they get the car in the south again they'll lift it. - could be wrong though.
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2007, 08:39:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 04, 2007, 08:34:48 PM
QuoteAre those things enforceable in the North?
I don't think so but  if they get the car in the south again they'll lift it. - could be wrong though.

I think they are bringing it in, so whatever happens on either side of the border will be reflected on the other.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:44:53 PM
I intend paying it of course but was just interested to see how the land lay. I didn't have any identification with my address on it so technically I could have given a false one had I wanted to but I'm not into that sort of thing. The Garda just wrote the details down in a little note book there was no form filled in or anything. He was actually a nice guy, no lectures or anything to be homest he seemed more interested in our cocker spaniel who was in the back of the car with the kids.
Post by: Sky Blue on November 04, 2007, 08:47:22 PM
If you pay the fine you're ok. If you don't your car and caravan will be lifted. The garda have these new computer things that link into the system in the North that has car registation details.

Are you a member of the travelling community Mighty Quinn?
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:50:31 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on November 04, 2007, 08:47:22 PM
If you pay the fine you're ok. If you don't your car and caravan will be lifted. The garda have these new computer things that link into the system in the North that has car registation details.

LOL. Not at all. I have a touring caravan and Lecale likes to link me with our Travelling friends. By the way I didn't have the caravan with me when I was in Donegal, 91 KPH in a 50 limit while towing a caravan would be madness
Post by: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 09:00:00 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:31:40 PM

So Tankie, can you explain how the comment ' were you towing a caravan at the time or a load of tarmac' echoes your thoughts exactly. What have you derived from that comment.

Would you like to explain why you put innocent peoples lives in danger when driving like a mad man doing 91 in a 50 Zone?
Post by: Bogball XV on November 04, 2007, 09:05:50 PM

They do??  I very much doubt that, and even if they did, would they be able to use it without extra money?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 04, 2007, 09:28:21 PM
is mightyquinn who I think he is?
Post by: SammyG on November 04, 2007, 09:51:34 PM
Complete bollix, the NI system doesn't even link properly with the rest of the UK, nevermind linking across the border. However in the next 12-18 months the European wide licencing system will be active and you will be able to be tracked for infringements in any EU country.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 10:26:03 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 09:00:00 PM

Would you like to explain why you put innocent peoples lives in danger when driving like a mad man doing 91 in a 50 Zone?

Point is I wasn't driving like a madman. I was close to the end of a 50 kph section, the road ahead was completely clear, there were no pedestrians about and no junctions from which vehicles might emerge. The car in front was going slowly my 91 kph was as a result of a burst of speed to overtake rather than an average speed, I had a wife, 2 kids and a dog in the car so I wasn't going to take any chances with their lives. However as I said I had no excuse but I'm not going to be lectured by someone like you. So that's my explanation. Can you now explain what you derived from the comment ' were you towing a caravan at the time or a load of tarmac'
Post by: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 10:29:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 04, 2007, 10:28:28 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:44:53 PM
The Garda just wrote the details down in a little note book there was no form filled in or anything. He was actually a nice guy, no lectures or anything to be homest he seemed more interested in our cocker spaniel who was in the back of the car with the kids.

He should have given you a ticket, which you would have been obliged to pay. I doubt you will hear any more about it.

It must be great to be able to choose your Irishness when it suits you ::)
Post by: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 10:34:35 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 10:26:03 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 09:00:00 PM

Point is I wasn't driving like a madman. I was close to the end of a 50 kph section, the road ahead was completely clear, there were no pedestrians about and no junctions from which vehicles might emerge. The car in front was going slowly my 91 kph was as a result of a burst of speed to overtake rather than an average speed, I had a wife, 2 kids and a dog in the car so I wasn't going to take any chances with their lives. However as I said I had no excuse but I'm not going to be lectured by someone like you. So that's my explanation. Can you now explain what you derived from the comment ' were you towing a caravan at the time or a load of tarmac'

I thought that the poster was saying you may have been carrying a full load and that may have increased your speed. But sorry i was mistaken!

And don't worry i wont lecture you, generally you law breakers get that from the Garda (Irish Police)
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 10:35:28 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 04, 2007, 10:28:28 PM
The Garda just wrote the details down in a little note book there was no form filled in or anything. He was actually a nice guy, no lectures or anything to be homest he seemed more interested in our cocker spaniel who was in the back of the car with the kids.

He should have given you a ticket, which you would have been obliged to pay. I doubt you will hear any more about it.

No he said he passes the details on to some company that deals with fixed penalty notices and they will send out the fine which is €80 if paid within 30 days, increasing to €150 and then, if not paid, a prosecution.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 10:44:35 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 04, 2007, 10:39:05 PM
Must be a new way of dealing with speeders from the North. I got a ticket on the M1 a few years ago. Though I have to say the Gardas attitude done more to slow me down than any ticket, he was spot on, no silly lecture, just a bit of common sense.

I don't know about whether its a new way of dealing with speeders from the North but as you say it was a much better way of dealing with speeding per se than giving a lecture. His attitude made me feel guilty whereas a lecture would have made me feel angry.
Post by: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 11:16:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 04, 2007, 10:47:03 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 04, 2007, 10:29:55 PM
It must be great to be able to choose your Irishness when it suits you ::)

Nothing to do with "Irishness", just a bit of common sense, but that would be way above your head.

Should you not be out looking for your dealer  ;)

Typical Nordie answer ::)

Doing any knee-cappings tonight ;)
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2007, 11:38:44 PM
Quote from: SammyG on November 04, 2007, 09:51:34 PM
Complete bollix, the NI system doesn't even link properly with the rest of the UK, nevermind linking across the border. However in the next 12-18 months the European wide licencing system will be active and you will be able to be tracked for infringements in any EU country.

Are you confusing things with Schengen? I think the two forces exchange VRNs by fax.
Post by: tyssam5 on November 05, 2007, 07:20:26 AM
The cops (North and South) are always giving out these easy tickets at the edge of towns, they should be out where the really dangerous driving occurs on open country roads instead of manufacturing bullshit stats.
Post by: armaghniac on November 05, 2007, 10:37:17 AM
They are linking the systems in these islands though and if you have accumulated a lot of points which couldn't be allocated then these may all hit you together.
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2007, 11:41:32 AM
Did the dog have a seat belt?

Shooshoo Duff was a Drogheda character who was waved down by a Garda once in West St. Having no licence, he knew he was in trouble, so he drove on about 50 yards before stopping and by the time the guard came up to the car, Shooshoo was sitting in the passenger seat and his dog was in the driver's seat with his paws on the wheel.

"Can I see your driver's licence" , says the guard.

"What would I want a driver's licence for?", says Shooshoo, "sure I don't drive".  He went on to explain that the dog was driving.

Shooshoo was duly summoned to court for driving without a licence and he kept up his story that it was the dog that was driving the car. Justice Dunleavy decided to play along. "And does the dog have a licence?", asked the Judge. "He does, Judge", says Shooshoo. "Well can you show it to the court?", says the judge. Shooshoo had come prepared and he produced a dog licence.

I don't think he got away with it though.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 08, 2007, 10:01:33 PM
I got done in Dundalk in 2006 (January I think). I was doing 63 KPH in a 50. Guard pulled me in an give me a lecture, pointed out that I had two bald tyres and was using a phnoe when he caught me. Never heard another thing about it.

Thank God he didn't breathalyse me!
Post by: ardal on November 08, 2007, 10:26:16 PM
Only 31km over the limit Mighty and you'll get a €80 or so fine, fecking lucky bast#rd; I'd string you up by the goolies.
Christ I'd love be have the confidence ( and driving ability) to spped like you :'(
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 08, 2007, 10:30:57 PM
Quote from: ardal on November 08, 2007, 10:26:16 PM
Only 31km over the limit Mighty and you'll get a €80 or so fine, fecking lucky bast#rd; I'd string you up by the goolies.
Christ I'd love be have the confidence ( and driving ability) to spped like you :'(

And him towing a caravan to boot!!

Balls of steel!!

Respect!
Post by: Orior on November 08, 2007, 10:35:24 PM
Speeding kills.
Post by: Tankie on November 09, 2007, 09:26:22 AM
its grand they were south of the boarder so apparently it aint the same! ::)
Post by: Gnevin on November 09, 2007, 11:35:37 AM
Quote from: Tankie on November 09, 2007, 09:26:22 AM
its grand they were south of the boarder so apparently it aint the same! ::)
You'd think a true gael like himself would have no problem obeying the laws of the Republic
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 11, 2007, 12:12:28 PM
Isn't it priceless that the 2 previous posters are very concerned at the treatment of a Dublin player found in possession of cocaine but are happy to pontificate to a Northerner caught speeding down south!
Post by: Gnevin on November 11, 2007, 12:18:31 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 11, 2007, 12:12:28 PM
Isn't it priceless that the 2 previous posters are very concerned at the treatment of a Dublin player found in possession of cocaine but are happy to pontificate to a Northerner caught speeding down south!
Isn't is priceless that you find it strange the two people are concerned about Bud talking bullshit and the the 2 posters who are on record on this board as being anti speeding are none to happy with a Northern tries to dodge the law by running back over the border .
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 11, 2007, 12:43:17 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 11, 2007, 12:18:31 PM
Isn't is priceless that you find it strange the two people are concerned about Bud talking bullshit and the the 2 posters who are on record on this board as being anti speeding are none to happy with a Northern tries to dodge the law by running back over the border .

Interesting one that. Can you tell me how you have made the assumption that I tried to dodge the law by running across the border?
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:23:47 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 04, 2007, 08:08:33 PM
Whilst driving home from Donegal got done for speeding just coming out of Castlefin. No excuse really other that I'd been behind two old biddys since Ballybofey and it was the first chance I got to overtake them. Doing 91 in a 50 just yards from the end of the 50 limit. No penalty points as I'm from the North but I will get a fixed penalty fine. Are those things enforceable in the North?
Looks like your trying to dodge it to me
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 02:35:17 PM
I intend paying it of course but was just interested to see how the land lay. I didn't have any identification with my address on it so technically I could have given a false one had I wanted to but I'm not into that sort of thing. The Garda just wrote the details down in a little note book there was no form filled in or anything. He was actually a nice guy, no lectures or anything to be homest he seemed more interested in our cocker spaniel who was in the back of the car with the kids.

Looks like I'm not to me.
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 12, 2007, 02:49:23 PM
When I was at home 3 years ago I was caught speeding by one of those camera/radar guns as I drove the rental car into Dublin. They sent the speeding ticket to me here in Florida, I could not believe that they went to all that effort to track me down. I paid the 70 euro fine as I did not know if there would have been any repercussions the next time that I rented a car in Ireland.
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 05:40:45 PM

Well if we didnt have people from outside the state speeding we wouldnt need to get upset. You boys are great, don't pay VRT or Road Tax to the Irish state but you are happy to come down in your foreign cars and breaking the law and speeding on our roads. I'm sick of driving up the M1 and having Nordies piss bye at god knows what speed.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 12, 2007, 05:48:06 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 05:40:45 PM

Well if we didnt have people from outside the state speeding we wouldnt need to get upset. You boys are great, don't pay VRT or Road Tax to the Irish state but you are happy to come down in your foreign cars and breaking the law and speeding on our roads. I'm sick of driving up the M1 and having Nordies piss bye at god knows what speed.
you forgot about us stealing your women.
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 08:17:10 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 12, 2007, 05:56:55 PM

Great to see the partitionist attitude is alive and well among the Jackeens.

Yes i like when people from outside the state come down and break our speeding laws, so when you crsh it costs me money, to stop you speeding its costs me money and to supply the roads it costs me money. Pay some road tax and i might change my mind, or just appriciate the roads that you are provided to you and don'y speed!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 08:35:49 PM

Why would nordies pay an internal (and illegal btw) free state tax??  Do they have to pay income tax on crossing the border nowadays too??
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 08:45:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 12, 2007, 08:26:21 PM
Its good to see that even the junkies on the board have a Full License (not a second provisional now Tankie) and have tax and insurance.
I take it that you have a full license Tankie?

Just to let you know that I pay my road tax in the same jurisdiction as yourself and probably pay a lot more than you do.

Which members of the board would you be calling "junkies"?
Post by: Sky Blue on November 12, 2007, 09:25:03 PM
I have a full licence and I have a real problem with the standard of driving in Ireland. It's f**king really scary! I've seen drivers with L plates on motorways who haven't a clue and some without L plates don't understand how to use an outside lane.

Northern drivers are generally better than southern drivers by a country mile IMO.

Donagh - what do Sinn Fein HQ tell you to think about that?

As for Mighty Quinn - the guy has held his hands up. Leave him alone. He'll pay the fine and clearly has learnt from his experience.

One thing though - I hope the children and the dog weren't in the Caravan when you were caught. That would be cruel.
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:30:59 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 08:35:49 PM

Why would nordies pay an internal (and illegal btw) free state tax??  Do they have to pay income tax on crossing the border nowadays too??
Where is this free state you speak of?
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:33:08 PM
Cheers Sky Blue. You've restored my faith in humanity. Perhaps you might like to cast your vote on the poll I've set up.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 09:35:04 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:30:59 PMWhere is this free state you speak of?
True, there's feck all free in the state, what with the stealth taxes yous have everywhere, well, I suppose if yous are all stupid enough to vote for Bertie the bollox, yous get all you deserve.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:36:27 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 09:35:04 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:30:59 PMWhere is this free state you speak of?
True, there's feck all free in the state, what with the stealth taxes yous have everywhere, well, I suppose if yous are all stupid enough to vote for Bertie the bollox, yous get all you deserve.

Yeah and crooks (allegedly) like Beverley Cooper Flynn
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:37:37 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 09:35:04 PM
I'd rather vote for Bertie ,than for any of the fools you have running around up their
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 09:49:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 12, 2007, 09:11:21 PM
The Junkie remark was a bit of a joke, but you can take it whatever way you want.

Do you actually have a full driving license or are you like so many in the south, on the road illegally?

I do have my full license, Passed the test first time aroung too  ;D
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:49:53 PM
Hope you guys weren't too inconvenienced by the bus strike. I was very inconvenienced as the removal of the thread meant I had no way of continuing my more important conversation with POG about the south Armagh Junior Scor
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:50:59 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 08:35:49 PM

Any luck locating it?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 12, 2007, 10:02:58 PM
Oh that's right, it's the 26 county Republic, men died for hundreds of years fighting for that.
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 10:04:28 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:49:53 PM
Hope you guys weren't too inconvenienced by the bus strike. I was very inconvenienced as the removal of the thread meant I had no way of continuing my more important conversation with POG about the south Armagh Junior Scor

Cheers for the concern but I would not be a man who uses buses, also I think that only affected the northside.

Post by: Guillem2 on November 12, 2007, 10:07:51 PM
Quinn - don't pay the f**kers! What can they do? Don't do it. Sending you the fine is a bluff.
Write "Feck off" on it and send it back. You'll never hear from them again.
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 10:10:11 PM
Quote from: Guillem2 on November 12, 2007, 10:07:51 PM
Quinn - don't pay the f**kers! What can they do? Don't do it. Sending you the fine is a bluff.

Ah Nordies charm at its best. With a bit of luck the Garda will send it back tell you to "Feck off" back to your own country ::)
Post by: J70 on November 12, 2007, 10:11:56 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 10:10:11 PM

Ah Nordies charm at its best. With a bit of luck the Garda will send it back tell you to "Feck off" back to your own country ::)

With "you British bastard" added in for good measure! :)
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 10:12:51 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 12, 2007, 10:11:56 PM

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 12, 2007, 10:20:02 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 10:12:51 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 12, 2007, 10:11:56 PM

Yous will be looking for a lend of a pen from Gordon Brown then?
Post by: Bogball XV on November 12, 2007, 11:10:46 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:37:37 PM
I'd rather vote for Bertie ,than for any of the fools you have running around up their
Well, are you going to finish the sentence?  "running up around their.....?"

You didn't actually vote for delbert did you Gnevin, ah, come on, you couldn't have?
Post by: Mike Tyson on July 30, 2021, 06:28:58 PM
Folks speed camera clocked me doing 38 in a 30 on the 30th June. Ticket arrived in the door today dated the 28th July. Can anyone shed light on whether it's time barred and I can appeal it as it's outside the 14 day notice period?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2021, 06:34:21 PM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on July 30, 2021, 06:28:58 PM
Folks speed camera clocked me doing 38 in a 30 on the 30th June. Ticket arrived in the door today dated the 28th July. Can anyone shed light on whether it's time barred and I can appeal it as it's outside the 14 day notice period?

Why would you appeal?
Post by: Nanderson on July 30, 2021, 06:40:18 PM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on July 30, 2021, 06:28:58 PM
Because your ticket is already dated more than 14 days after the offence i'd say you should have no problem getting it squashed. It would be different if letter was dated within 14 days of offence and there are external factors that may have delayed the ticket getting to your address i.e postal problems. The rule is that if the police could prove that under normal circumstances the letter would have made it to your address within the 14 days then you have to pay the fine but since yours is impossible to make it in 14 days you should have no trouble appealing