AIF 2021 -- Maigh Eo vs Tír Eoghain

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, August 28, 2021, 06:30:37 PM

the goal was on

Agree tyrone got better with each game but 4 week break for Mayo and Kerry didn't help them in any way.

Dubhaltach

First of all, Comhghairdeas Tír Eoghain, you were deserving winners on the day. I've watched Mayo lose a number of finals to Dublin in the last decade and I have to say, Tyrone didn't engage in a fraction of the cycnicism/off the ball shite that the Dubs regularly engage in. The negative rep Tyrone get from sections of the media is tiresome but they won this year's final fair and square. Any of their supporters I met after the match were also very gracious in victory so well done to all involved.

From a Mayo point of view, it was basically our old failing coming back to haunt us again....not enough scoring forwards. We had the chances to win the game but didn't take them, Mayo had 31 shots to Tyrone's 28 but we just couldn't score enough of them. Only 2 of our 6 forwards, Conroy and O Donoghue, looked like threatening the scoreboard from open play and unfortunately, even those 2 missed the chances that could have put us in a winning position.

I would personally be delighted for Aidan if he finally got his hands on a celtic cross and some of the personal abuse he has to put up with is way over the top. At the same time, there are some reasonable questions that can be asked. I've no problem with Gaelic players making a few quid off the back of their status, but was the Sunday World 'baywatch' article, 13 days out from the final really necessary? Particularly after his poor semi final performance. All that stuff does is heap the pressure on him and open himself up to the inevitable criticism afterwards.

Rob Hennelly had his best year in a Mayo jersey, he has taken his kickouts to a new level and they are now up there with the very best in the country. Unfortunately for him, his old issues under the high ball came back once more in the final. I'm not sure it's something he can resolve at this stage in his career but hopefully he can.

On a more positive note, I think if we can get an injury free year out of Cillian and Jason Doherty we'll be well in contention again next year. A forward line containing those 2, Conroy and O Donoghue would be far more dangerous than what we put out at the weekend. A fit again Eoghan McLoughlin and Brendan Harrison would also make a difference.

chrissears

Tyrone08 was spot on about Aidan O'Shea, very overrated for a player who cannot catch a ball cleanly or pass it with hand or foot. Our management team have made a few mistakes this year with some selections but few in the county thought we would get to the AI final last year, let alone this year. That said, we cannot keep coming back each year to accept defeat so easily and making cheap excuses, any of those players who played in the AI final should have been kicking down doors to win this year. Tyrone were the better team on the day, they did the simple things well and some of their scores were top drawer, well done. You give counties like Mayo the hope that one day we will eventually get over the line but we need to change this casual mindset and stop comments like " sure we will be back next year".

the goal was on

No all Ireland with horan . All this talk of learning every year. Pure cop out

What was the Baywatch article referred to above all about?

APM

Look at the table below (last final in brackets).

In the last 50 years:

Kerry have been in 24 finals, losing 9 (2019)
Dublin have been in 20, losing 7 (2020)
Mayo have been in 11, losing 11 (2021)
Cork have been in 9 finals, losing 6 (2010)
Meath have been in 7, losing 3 (2001)
Tyrone have been in 7, losing 3 (2021)
Galway have been in 7 finals, losing 5 (2001)
Offaly have been in 4, losing 1 (1982)
Down have been in 3, losing 1 (2010)
Donegal have been in 3, losing 1 (2014)
Armagh have been in 3, losing 2 (2003)
Derry has been in 1, losing 0 (1993)
Roscommon have been in 1, losing 1 (1980)

It is very difficult to make it to an All Ireland final. In the last 50 years only 13 counties by my reckoning have reached All-Ireland finals. Outside of Dublin and Kerry, no-one has made it to more than Mayo. 

They have lost them all (shocking), but look at Meath, Galway, Cork - big beasts of the football world and 20 year gaps since the last appearance (and getting longer).  Bad and all as the last 10 years have been for Mayo, they have been at the top table and they have given a lot of joy (and heartache) to their followers. 

However, as Galway and Meath have found out, your place at the top table is not guaranteed. Some year, they won't bounce back and could very well slip into mediocrity. 

APM

Interesting theme coming through here:

Connacht teams have a terrible record in finals.  Galway and Roscommon aren't much to write home about either:
Between them , they have been in 8 and lost 6.
Ulster not bad and Leinster very impressive. 

* Win ratio in brackets

Connacht 19 finals - lost 17 (11%)
Ulster, 17 finals - lost 7 (59%)
Munster, 33 finals, lost 15 (55%)
Leinster, 31 finals, lost 11 (65%)

Of course all of this is completely meaningless, except it shows that far from being awake, the West are a pack of sleepy feckers

APM

Quote from: APM on September 13, 2021, 07:39:35 PM
Interesting** theme coming through here:

Connacht teams have a terrible record in finals.  Galway and Roscommon aren't much to write home about either:
Between them , they have been in 8 and lost 6.
Ulster not bad and Leinster very impressive. 

* Win ratio in brackets

Connacht 19 finals - lost 17 (11%)
Ulster, 17 finals - lost 7 (59%)
Munster, 33 finals, lost 15 (55%)
Leinster, 31 finals, lost 11 (65%)

Of course all of this is completely meaningless, except it shows that far from being awake, the West are a pack of sleepy feckers

** The word interesting doing a lot of heavy lifting here

Quote from: APM on September 13, 2021, 07:12:35 PM

In the last 50 years:

It is very difficult to make it to an All Ireland final. In the last 50 years only 13 counties by my reckoning have reached All-Ireland finals. Outside of Dublin and Kerry, no-one has made it to more than Mayo. 

They have lost them all (shocking), but look at Meath, Galway, Cork - big beasts of the football world and 20 year gaps since the last appearance (and getting longer).  Bad and all as the last 10 years have been for Mayo, they have been at the top table and they have given a lot of joy (and heartache) to their followers. 

However, as Galway and Meath have found out, your place at the top table is not guaranteed. Some year, they won't bounce back and could very well slip into mediocrity.
Interesting. Ultimately every final has a loser. The 2 sides have to balance. Without Mayo the losses would have been distributed anongst the other teams.
In 89 Cork beat Mayo. They have the next worst record.

Quote from: chrissears on September 13, 2021, 06:26:56 PM
Tyrone08 was spot on about Aidan O'Shea, very overrated for a player who cannot catch a ball cleanly or pass it with hand or foot. Our management team have made a few mistakes this year with some selections but few in the county thought we would get to the AI final last year, let alone this year. That said, we cannot keep coming back each year to accept defeat so easily and making cheap excuses, any of those players who played in the AI final should have been kicking down doors to win this year. Tyrone were the better team on the day, they did the simple things well and some of their scores were top drawer, well done. You give counties like Mayo the hope that one day we will eventually get over the line but we need to change this casual mindset and stop comments like " sure we will be back next year".

100%. There will come a day when we will stop getting to finals regularly. Sure it was 38 years after 1951.

Quote from: APM on September 13, 2021, 07:12:35 PM

In the last 50 years:

Are you a cute Kerry hoor by any chance?? Claiming all Ireland's  that you didn't actually win

No wonder you have 37  ;D

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2021, 08:45:47 PM

100%. There will come a day when we will stop getting to finals regularly. Sure it was 38 years after 1951.

It's mad that Mayo only won 7 Connachts between 1952 and 1989.

Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2021, 09:10:44 PM

Between 1954 and 1981 they only won 2! and won none in the 70's!

lenny

Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2021, 09:10:44 PM

The power of the curse must be wearing off as the years go on, it was deadly strong initially but at least in modern times they've been allowed to win a few connachts and get to a few AI finals.