Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on May 11, 2007, 02:02:07 PM

Title: Sanchez Quits
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 11, 2007, 02:02:07 PM
Lawrie Sanchez has resigned as Northern Ireland manager with immediate effect to take up a permanent role in the Premiership.
Sanchez has presided over a hugely successful period for Northern Ireland since taking up the job just over three years ago.

However, questions had been raised about his future after he decided to take over as caretaker manager at Fulham last month, while also retaining his international post.

He has now decided to relinquish the Windsor Park job after being appointed to the Fulham vacancy on a permanent basis.

I suppose Fearon will be happy.

Title: Re: Sanchez Quits
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2007, 02:04:17 PM
That's hard luck for the NI fans. Dodgy move by Sanchez as well I think. He struck me as more of a motivator than a tactician, and a motivator only gets so far in the Premiership, especially at a club like Fulham.

He may regret this.

any obvious candidates?

I reckon give it to Felix Healy. It would probably get that pain in the a*se off Setanta. Better yet, a Felix/Pat Dolan double team.
Post by: thebandit on May 11, 2007, 02:08:03 PM
Send for John Morrison  ;D
Post by: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 02:12:14 PM
Absolutely gutted. I thought he'd see out his contract as it was only another few months.

Having said that you can't really blame him, how many of us would turn down a 4 or 500% pay rise?

As far as successors the only obvious one is Jim Magilton, all the other candidates would be either too expensive or already in a job or both.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2007, 02:15:06 PM
If he had stayed on and gotten results against Spain and Sweden away, he may have even qualified for Euro 2008. That would have been some achievement from where he started.

I think he should have tried to combine both jobs. Especially given the fact that the domestic season is nearly over anyway.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on May 11, 2007, 02:32:57 PM
So much for honouring his contract!

Money talks at the end of the day!

I think they should try for 'handsome' Dowie!  ;)
Post by: Uladh on May 11, 2007, 02:34:09 PM
One o them ifa bigwigs was on dunseth earlier to quash rumours of this, saying noone had approached him or his colleagues and that sanchez had given him personal assurances that he would be in the job til the end of this qualification campaign...
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 11, 2007, 02:40:49 PM
I swiped the breaking news off the Indo site, so dont be blaming me.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2007, 02:43:08 PM
I'd say the bigwig was talking through his hoop. Was it Dublinfella???

This is from the IFA website.

QuoteLAWRIE SANCHEZ
11/05/2007
THE Irish FA is obviously aware of the situation between Fulham Football Club and Lawrie Sanchez and we would be the first to congratulate him on his appointment as their new manager and to recognise the outstanding job he has done for Northern Ireland football and the IFA.

The IFA will be considering its position over the next few days and no further comment or statements will be made.
Post by: illdecide on May 11, 2007, 02:47:49 PM
Who gives a f**k
Post by: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 02:49:00 PM
Quote from: Uladh on May 11, 2007, 02:34:09 PM
One o them ifa bigwigs was on dunseth earlier to quash rumours of this, saying noone had approached him or his colleagues and that sanchez had given him personal assurances that he would be in the job til the end of this qualification campaign...

It's definitely happened but apparently the IFA knew feck all about it until the press told them and hadn't agreed to release him. If it's true (and you never know when the IFA are involved) it's hopefully good news as we should at least get some compensation.
Post by: stew on May 11, 2007, 02:51:00 PM
If I was a fan of the six I would be pissed, so much for his word, i have no problem with him leaving  except for the fact he gave his word and said he would stay until the end of the current campaign and he lied.

I understand he has a right to earn a living but he is walking out on them at the worst possible time, they should have known better after his spat with the press a while back.

There is a lot to be said for amateur status, these pro's are feckin mercenaries. :(
Post by: wesaysanchez on May 11, 2007, 03:11:36 PM
f**k SAKE
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2007, 03:12:50 PM
What do you say now? New username needed? ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2007, 03:14:42 PM
Sammy seeing as you poo pooed me a few weeks back when I said this would happen I accept your apology, thank you very much :D

It is bad form in fairness and shows how mercenary the professional game is.  Honour, whatever vestige was left, has truly been usurped by the pound and it is a very sad reflection on how the game has changed, and not for the better.
Post by: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 03:21:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2007, 03:14:42 PM
Sammy seeing as you poo pooed me a few weeks back when I said this would happen I accept your apology, thank you very much :D

It is bad form in fairness and shows how mercenary the professional game is.  Honour, whatever vestige was left, has truly been usurped by the pound and it is a very sad reflection on how the game has changed, and not for the better.

I apologise unreservedly. I honestly thought he'd stay until November (at least part-time) and then move on. I didn't expect him to just jump ship.  :(
Post by: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 03:24:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on May 11, 2007, 03:22:50 PM
What is it they say about rats and a sinking ship?

I think this is the first case of a rat refloating a sinking ship and then leaving.
Post by: slievegullion on May 11, 2007, 03:30:16 PM
I hear that young fella Staunton is a good bet, why don't yous' hire him?
Post by: nifan on May 11, 2007, 03:36:05 PM
Thought he would stay to the end of the campaign and be on his way.

I think the IFA got lucky with Sanchez and I hope they can get lucky again with his successors.
Post by: Hardy on May 11, 2007, 03:44:53 PM
I think you lads are limiting your options by hiring the first fella called Lawrie that shows up every time.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 11, 2007, 03:49:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 11, 2007, 02:15:06 PM
If he had stayed on and gotten results against Spain and Sweden away, he may have even qualified for Euro 2008. That would have been some achievement from where he started.

Quite possibly he knew that wasnt going to happen making this a good time to escape to a high profile club job. Bit like Walter Smith after leading Scotland to the top of the group and beating France then jumping ship when he knew it probably couldnt be sustained.
Shame for both parties though,  I have a suspicion that Norn Iron and Sanchez were made for each other....not sure he will do as well anywhere else and unlikely they will get anybody else who can get so much out of a pretty limited set of players.
Post by: magickingdom on May 11, 2007, 04:00:50 PM
there must be more to this story as surely he could have stayed on til november if he felt like it...
Post by: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 04:10:22 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 11, 2007, 04:00:50 PM
there must be more to this story as surely he could have stayed on til november if he felt like it...

Apparently Al-Fayed wouldn't let him, the offer was full-time or not at all but we'll probably never know the full story.
Post by: Donagh on May 11, 2007, 07:35:07 PM
Doesn't exactly bode well for the future at his new club i.e. from the sounds of this we know who the real boss is at Fulham and it ain't the Ecuadorian.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 11, 2007, 07:46:08 PM
My God if I had the chance to beat the crap out of one person in the entire world I'm dead certain it would be thet p***k Steven Beacom from the Belfast Telegraph, did anyone see the creepy little fcuker on the ITV news.
What a dickhead
Post by: deiseach on May 11, 2007, 07:48:17 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 11, 2007, 02:12:14 PM
Having said that you can't really blame him, how many of us would turn down a 4 or 500% pay rise?

I'd be leery about a job which offered me an "indefinite, rolling contract". In other words, "we can sack you whenever we like and not give you a washer in compensation".
Post by: ziggysego on May 11, 2007, 07:52:21 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 11, 2007, 07:46:08 PM
My God if I had the chance to beat the crap out of one person in the entire world I'm dead certain it would be thet p***k Steven Beacom from the Belfast Telegraph, did anyone see the creepy little fcuker on the ITV news.
What a dickhead

Seem him on UTV chatting to Logie. Creepy looking fella, thought he was going to cream himself with the cream. I'm guessing he doesn't like Sanchez then.

As for Sanchez quitting, well can't say I'm surprised. Once he said he was moving to Fulham as care-taker manager, the writing was on the wall. Didn't believe for one minute when he said that he would see out his existing contract with Northern Ireland. Disappointed that he didn't and I'm sure that some of the fans aren't either.
Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2007, 08:25:51 PM
As mentioned, it's hard to argue with a zillion% salary increase and EPL management. I thought he had a bizzare reaction after the victory against Spain, missing out on the pleasure of rubbing it in with 40 grit. I guess that most NI fans were hoping against hope after that.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 11, 2007, 08:36:22 PM
Gotta say I'm no fan of the wee six, but my heart goes out to you guys, Sanchez dirty joe'd youse badly - there's no call for dishonesty!

Wesaysanchez (if it's really you) welcome back - you illiterate bast*rd you!  ;)
Post by: Redgreenery on May 11, 2007, 10:41:45 PM
This is a huge blow for NI, he's done some good things for them!! Hope they can get a good enough successor, but not too good!!! ;)
Title: Re: Sanchez Quits... who now?
Post by: ExiledGael on May 30, 2007, 08:57:50 PM
All you NI fans must be too busy fighting on other threads to worry about your wee country now!
Lot of speculation about who's going to get the nod, though whoever it is will be announced on Friday
Big money for whoever it is, one million for a year apparently, any ideas?
Neil Warnock seems to think he's a candidate, though I've heard whisperings for Glenn Hoddle lately
Post by: AZOffaly on May 30, 2007, 08:58:58 PM
I thought I saw some mention of Dave Beasant? I think he was on Sanchez' backroom team.
Post by: ziggysego on May 30, 2007, 09:02:22 PM
I see on the BBC website, someone said that the Pope is in with a shout!  :D
Post by: stew on May 30, 2007, 09:02:47 PM
Dave beasant would be a great hire for the six, I hope they dont get him though.

Dowie is the man for the job, either him or beefer morrison. :P
Post by: ExiledGael on May 30, 2007, 09:15:03 PM
Maybe Big Ian and Wee Marty could add that to their portfolios
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 30, 2007, 10:40:58 PM
Is Paul Le Guen not free at the minute?
Post by: stew on May 30, 2007, 11:24:19 PM
Wee marty is a follower not a leader, besides he like to catch flies with his mouth hanging open and is more into trying to get with that rubber doll at the games than he would be managing the team, he maybe watched ten minutes of the game i was at.

As for Big Ian, that hire couldnt hurt, it is not as if the half of the six that dont watch them are going to be any more interested in the team no matter who is the manager.

the only thing I know for sure is they wont be going to the Euros or the world cup in the next twenty or thirty years. ;D
Post by: Tonto on May 31, 2007, 12:10:43 AM
Quote from: stew on May 30, 2007, 11:24:19 PM
Wee marty is a follower not a leader, besides he like to catch flies with his mouth hanging open and is more into trying to get with that rubber doll at the games than he would be managing the team, he maybe watched ten minutes of the game i was at.

Er...Stew. *Whispers* I think he means Martin McGuinness. :-\
Post by: full back on May 31, 2007, 10:30:49 AM
Quote from: Tonto on May 31, 2007, 12:10:43 AM

:D :D
Oh fcuk sake stew :D
Post by: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 03:15:54 PM
After all their deliberations, the millions of revenue from Sky, the new exciting manager of Northern Ireland, with experience on the international stage is....

Nigel Worthington  :D
Post by: stew on May 31, 2007, 06:17:27 PM
Quote from: Tonto on May 31, 2007, 12:10:43 AM

Really, the fact that he referenced big ian in the same sentence never gave that away :-\ I knew who he was talking about but there is only one wee marty on this board and it aint Martin McGuinness even though he too is of diminuitive stature. ;D

Wee marty frenching that doll near made me sick, it's amazing the effect alcohol has on a person.

Post by: Syd on May 31, 2007, 09:18:10 PM
Nigel Worthington ??? Must get the pulses racing for Norn Iron fans  ;D
Post by: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 09:21:41 PM
They're conspicuos by their absence here!
I can see the headlines already
Nigel not Worthy!
Post by: Tonto on May 31, 2007, 09:33:50 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 09:21:41 PM
They're conspicuos by their absence here!
I can see the headlines already
Nigel not Worthy!
Why would people have an issue with it?

Not the man I would have chosen (Big Iain Dowie, btw), but a VERY Worthy candidate nonetheless.

He has more managerial experience at the highest level than Sanchez and actually took Norwich into the Premiership.  He has also represented us 66 times and, so, clearly has a passion for his country.

We'll give him a chance, if you don't mind.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 09:51:17 PM
Do what you want big man, but I think the fans, and the media will be very sceptical of this choice!
Wee grimy Beacom from the Tele will be on his case
Post by: SammyG on May 31, 2007, 11:28:03 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 09:51:17 PM
Do what you want big man, but I think the fans, and the media will be very sceptical of this choice!

Most people seem to be either happy with Worthington or at least prepared to give him a go. The only problem I have with him is that, when he was a club manager, he had a history of not releasing players for internationals but hopefully that sort of attitude will work in our favour now he's our manager.
Wee grimy Beacom from the Tele will be on his case

Given that Beaco knows the square root of fcuk all, I'd be more worried if he welcomed Worthy than if he doesn't.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 01, 2007, 08:49:16 AM
Quote from: SammyG on May 31, 2007, 11:28:03 PM

Most people seem to be either happy with Worthington or at least prepared to give him a go. The only problem I have with him is that, when he was a club manager, he had a history of not releasing players for internationals but hopefully that sort of attitude will work in our favour now he's our manager.

Always noticed that about Worthington and his reluctance to release players.  Don't know about his suitablity for the job, but on paper certainly looks better qualified than Sanchez did.  Glad it was given to an Irishman, rather than a manager obviously only interested in one last big payout, what with the IFA's big new TV deal.

Good luck to my fellow Antrim man in his new job.