Guess the Sindo Headline

Started by mylestheslasher, October 14, 2011, 10:58:37 PM

clonadmad

Quote from: Angelo on May 12, 2021, 01:03:59 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on May 12, 2021, 12:05:09 PM
Quote from: Angelo on May 11, 2021, 08:39:48 PM
The Old IRA engaged in what was termed an ethnic cleansing campaign down in Cork.

There definitely seemed to have been a much more overt sectarian agenda to the Old IRA than the Provos.

Tying a few prisoners of war to a tree and detonating a landmine under them would probably meet the definition of psychopathic too.

You've obviously swallowed hook line and sinker the Eoghan Harris lies about Ethnic Cleansing in Dunmanway

Which was started by the likes of Peter Hart to give moral cover as to what went on in the Belfast shipyards around the same time

Sad to see you being conned but then again your hatred of the south blinds you to reality and makes you stand with the likes of Harris and Hart in peddling this lie.

Eoin Harris never talked about ethnic cleansing in Dunmanway.

He never criticised the Old IRA.

It's you who is trotting out Eoghan Harris and his airbrushed version of history.

You are showing yourself to be clearly clueless in relation to Eoghan (not Eoin) Harris

A quick google search will show you that he is a virulent critic of the Southern Winning IRA and has taken Harts side in the likes of Dunmanway,Coolacrease and the surrender myth of Kilmichael.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2021, 03:49:19 PM
The Old IRA engaged in what was termed an ethnic cleansing campaign down in Cork.

There definitely seemed to have been a much more overt sectarian agenda to the Old IRA than the Provos.

Tying a few prisoners of war to a tree and detonating a landmine under them would probably meet the definition of psychopathic too.

You've obviously swallowed hook line and sinker the Eoghan Harris lies about Ethnic Cleansing in Dunmanway

Which was started by the likes of Peter Hart to give moral cover as to what went on in the Belfast shipyards around the same time

Sad to see you being conned but then again your hatred of the south blinds you to reality and makes you stand with the likes of Harris and Hart in peddling this lie.
Rather sad to see Provo supporters taking the word of those 2 cnuts as gospel.
And repeating it ad nauseam to avoid having to give a straight answer re Le Mons, murders of Gardai, bank robberies, sectarian killing of Senator Fox, disgraceful cowardly act in Warrington etc etc.
Dan Breen or the Cork Brigade executing informers is no justification for those actions.
Most of the informers in 1920/21 were unmasked by Collins' spies in the Castle.
In contrast the Provos Informer catcher was the biggest Informer of all.

IMO at lot of those atrocities mentioned, Le Mon (even if squaddies did drink in it), Warrington and the murders certain Gardai members were wrong or badly carried out with little or no warning and should not have happened but they did. I can't justify them and won't try to just like you are right to not justify what Breen did and Collins ordered others to do.

When you say unmasked by Collins' spies, was it something like Scooby doo or did something more sinister happen to them?
did these informers just walk away, far cop guvnor or were they slaughtered in their beds in front of their wives and children?

clonadmad

And repeating it ad nauseam to avoid having to give a straight answer re Le Mons, murders of Gardai, bank robberies, sectarian killing of Senator Fox, disgraceful cowardly act in Warrington etc etc.
Dan Breen or the Cork Brigade executing informers is no justification for those actions.

Angelo siding with Peter Hart and Eoghan Harris says it all about his partionist mentality

Both proven to be liars and fabricators as to what happened in the war of independence

Both would die happy if Ireland was still under British rule

Angelo

Yer man is trying a little too hard.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Angelo

So you're now justifying the sectarian murders down in Cork?

https://www.historyireland.com/volume-22/massacre-west-cork-dunmanway-ballygorman-killings/
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Johnny C, an awful lot of them were identified in correspondence spotted in Dublin Castle.
They got short shrift once they were apprehended.
But even if Collins, Breen,Barry etc were total psychopaths it still didn't give the Provos carte blanche for blowing passers by to bits, or murdering Gardai, or the sectarian murder of Senator Fox etc.
If I'm done for speeding not much point telling the Guard that his oul fella used to beak the speed limit.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2021, 04:26:12 PM
Johnny C, an awful lot of them were identified in correspondence spotted in Dublin Castle.
They got short shrift once they were apprehended.
But even if Collins, Breen,Barry etc were total psychopaths it still didn't give the Provos carte blanche for blowing passers by to bits, or murdering Gardai, or the sectarian murder of Senator Fox etc.
If I'm done for speeding not much point telling the Guard that his oul fella used to beak the speed limit.

Except your father was a hoor for speeding and you are denying he was speeding at all.

Even if he allegedly was it still doesn't excuse me speeding.

grounded

Quote from: Pub Bore on May 12, 2021, 12:54:10 PM
High profile northern journalist Allison Morris has joined Paul Larkin and Prof Colin Harvey in legal action against Eoghan Harris to try to discover who else is behind the various Twitter accounts that Harris ran.

Can you think of a few people who've been very quiet this week?

Aoife Moore has issued proceedings as well. It will be interesting to see how this plays out. I assume any of the other contributors to these accounts will be outed.

Hopefully. The whole thing is bonkers.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2021, 05:09:15 PM
It's not allegedly. That's the bit that sticks in your throat.

Snapchap

If you think it's wrong to speed now, wouldn't it be just as wrong for your granda to have done so?

If killing civilians in a conflict was wrong now, wasn't killing just as big if not a bigger proportion of civilians also wrong when your granda was involved in a conflict?

grounded

Quote from: Snapchap on May 12, 2021, 06:00:57 PM

If you think it's wrong to speed now, wouldn't it be just as wrong for your granda to have done so?

If killing civilians in a conflict was wrong now, wasn't killing just as big if not a bigger proportion of civilians also wrong when your granda was involved in a conflict?
Bit of a difference between a Civilian who is giving info to the Tans and a poor individual going about their business when a bomb goes off.
As I said before even if Collins, Barry etc were total murdering psychopaths it still doesn't excuse some of the disgraceful things Provos did.
Sectarian murder Senator Fox?
Any views?
No if their supporters could only realise that...

Snapchap

Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2021, 09:48:45 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on May 12, 2021, 06:00:57 PM

Bit of a difference between a Civilian who is giving info to the Tans and a poor individual going about their business when a bomb goes off.
As I said before even if Collins, Barry etc were total murdering psychopaths it still doesn't excuse some of the disgraceful things Provos did.
Sectarian murder Senator Fox?
Any views?
No if their supporters could only realise that...

So the only civilians the Old IRA killed were informers? Ellen Morris, a 54 year old mother of 15 children, murdered in her own home. If the perpetrator had been the PIRA 50 years later, you'd no doubt have used her name as en example of the "terrorists" the Provos were. But she was murdered by the Old IRA. So it's "Move along. Nothing to see here".

Recently, audio tapes were uncovered Martin Corry (former FF TD who died in 1979) laughed and joked about torture and executions he and his Old IRA comrades carried out in a "torture vault" nicknamed 'Sing Sing' in Cork and how they buried "countless" bodies in the nearby bog known as "The Rea". Move along. Nothing to see here.

You talk about sectarian murders carried out by the PIRA but frantically try to attack and demean anyone who brings up The Dunmanway Massacre. I assume you probably don't want anyone talking about things like the 83 year old John Northridge, beaten to death for being a Protestant in Cork?