Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 10:34:45 AM

Title: Student Days
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 10:34:45 AM
Decided to open this thread given all the nostalgia on the 'WTF' one....

Really enjoyed reading all the recent comments (including the old MS link lol)

Great days with great stories no doubt....

Time to gather them all up in one thread....student days from any part of the world you were in...

Hopefully provides some great stories and a bit of good old honest (or not so honest) craic!

Title: Re: Student Days
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 09, 2021, 11:05:22 AM
ooh. This could be good. Dont wana go too early so ill sit and read for a bit 😃😃
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 11:21:16 AM
'Famous' Eating Houses up in Belfast....

Spud's (wasn't keen on it!)

Bishops- possibly the place across the road!? Not bad...

McDonalds (Next door- think they shut it down)

KFC Shaftburys Square (Literally taking your life into your own hands)

Esperanto's (burn your head off as well as you arse sometimes!)

Empire- Meal Deal (not great!)

Kam- Wah (taking your life into your own hands visiting that wee hatch!)

Centra (always handy for a roll!)

Subway (the same!)

Julie's Armpits (Maybe became a Harry Ramsden's??)

Maggie Mays (useful for when the loan came in- also bring your own bottle!)

Temps (anybody remember when these guys employed their own DJ- such was the crowds in there after the bars/clubs had finished lol)

Sit in Chinese across the road (useful for when the loan came in- 3 courses for £10)

Queens Chaplaincy (more a home-made vibe about it- not bad)

The Bot (See Empire Note)

Cafe Nostra (Ormeau Road- not much crossing over the Ormeau Road in my day)

Baracuda (Ormeau Road)

Helen's Bakery (Ormeau Road)

French Village (Stanmillis)

Movie Star Cafe Botanic Avenue (for a bottle of beer, Chilli Con Carne.....never bothered with desert lol  ;))

Holylands Spar (Hangover Jambons etc)

Anywhere else???

Post by: FermGael on May 09, 2021, 12:30:06 PM
Spinx.

Hungry Hound on the Ormeau Road
Post by: Substandard on May 09, 2021, 01:36:33 PM
UCG mid-90s.  I suppose everyone sees their era in college as a golden era, but I genuinely believe there's a compelling case for that particular time.
A lot changed while I was there: Smoky Joes when you could smoke, for one.  The staff there were sound, I lived on coffee, doughnuts, playing cards and having the craic.  There was the H block, the old college bar, and I can't remember the name of the canteen between the Quad and the library, it's the conference office now, or was the last time I was around.
Mussolini used to patrol the corridors, caught me smoking in the early days and I thought I was going to be arrested!!

No social media, but emails were beginning to be a thing.  Everything went by word of mouth: the River Inn was a great spot,  but Cookes always seemed too far up.  Parties in Legoland were massive for us 1st years, but usually lost in what seemed like a labyrinth for a poor culchie,  because most of the signs were nicked.  The Hole in the Wall was the 1st year pub, after that you graduated to the King's Head.  Salthill was where it all was at: the Castle was the biz, and then CJs.  There was one beside the Warwick,  I can't remember the name but it changed a few times while I was there.
As you progressed (only a year or two, but back then it was eons), McSwiggans became the local, with discerning heads settling in Bar an Chaladh, or Neachtains.  The cool alt set were Roisin Dubh or the Crane aficionados, but they were a bit  out of my way, although I retired in Monroes.  I forgot Matt's bar for shots as you were following the promotions and the free passes into whatever nightclub.  The GPO for drinking and music (loved Shite Night), CPs was more upmarket.  Cuba had a few great years in Eyre Square.  The obligatory once a term visit to Padraig's Place on a particularly ferocious drinking session to prove you were hardcore.
All in all, I loved it.  I'd give anything to live those years again.
The people,  the music, the fact that there was always something going on in Galway.
Magic.
One final thing: despite the fact that many of them to this day are my best friends, it kills me anytime Galway or Mayo win anything!!
Post by: andoireabu on May 09, 2021, 02:28:44 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 11:21:16 AM

Subway (the same!)

Temps (anybody remember when these guys employed their own DJ- such was the crowds in there after the bars/clubs had finished lol)

Sit in Chinese across the road (useful for when the loan came in- 3 courses for £10)

Baracuda (Ormeau Road)

Movie Star Cafe Botanic Avenue (for a bottle of beer, Chilli Con Carne.....never bothered with desert lol  ;))

Anywhere else???

Have to add The Emerald Chinese down the Dublin road and Ruschi on the Ormeau Rd to this. Helen's was a great fry after a night of pints in the Hatfield.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2021, 03:09:19 PM
The burger van outside the Egg/Bot, woke up one morning with two uneaten burgers in my pockets, certain food poison thon spot
Post by: Newbridge Exile on May 09, 2021, 03:27:31 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 11:21:16 AM

Subway (the same!)

Baracuda (Ormeau Road)

Anywhere else???
Harveys I think it was called at the shaftsbury square end of great Victoria street, Bleekers (beside the Egg)  and whilst not a late night haunt The Lamplighter on The Ormeau Road was hard to beat for value for money
Post by: screenexile on May 09, 2021, 04:37:40 PM
Used to be a place called Grumbles which did a cheap feed when I first moved up.

The Other Place was decent if you had a few pound.

Centra in the middle of Botanic did an unreal sandwich when hungover.

Anytime I was heading out for lunch though it was the Chaplancy wile handy and a good price.

Also if we didn't head out drinking we would hit the burger van outside Renshaws/Dukes for a sneaky cheeseburger and to try and clean up any breaking ball from the night out!

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 04:58:25 PM
The Other Place was a handy spot for a date and then to QFT or dander down to Virgin cinema. Importantly wasn't too dear!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2021, 05:08:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 04:58:25 PM
The Other Place was a handy spot for a date and then to QFT or dander down to Virgin cinema. Importantly wasn't too dear!

Yes the other place was a great spot for splashing out ! BYO
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 05:10:50 PM
Forgot about The Other Place...

Maybe too high end for me at the time!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 05:32:27 PM

Sunday night-  few pints with the house mates...nothing major....

Monday night- Serious RIP in Queens Union, Renshaws or Dukes

Tuesday night- Empire comedy club or Limelight....maybe the night off...

Wed night-  RIP in the Bot

Thursday night- Union or Bot....or preparing to go home for the weekend....before getting ready to do all over again...

All the above mixed in with a bit of day drinking in Renshaws...or wherever

Serious life when you look back at it...
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 09, 2021, 06:32:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 04:58:25 PM

Did i date you at a stage?!

😃😃😉
Post by: RedHand88 on May 09, 2021, 07:00:43 PM
Temps, cowboy supper in Maggie May's, wee curry out of the Emerald, Bishops.
Completely forgot about the other place.

Beach club, Rain, Union,  6 shots for £6 in the Eg, 3 for a fiver in Renshaws,

Poker tournaments in Dukes, crazy Tuesday in movie House Dublin Road
Post by: charlieTully on May 09, 2021, 07:35:18 PM
Anyone mind vicos or am I too fecking old?
Post by: FermGael on May 09, 2021, 07:54:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2021, 03:09:19 PM
The burger van outside the Egg/Bot, woke up one morning with two uneaten burgers in my pockets, certain food poison thon spot

Was there a time where the bank links beside the Bot were actually a late night burger spot ?
Post by: APM on May 09, 2021, 08:13:11 PM
I remember being in Vicos. 

They used to talk about the golden mile, from Great Victoria Street, Dublin Road, Shaftesbury Sq, University Road etc.  Long time since I heard that term used and I'll bet the students now are more about the City Centre and the Golden Mile is no longer that golden. 

When I started QUB, the City Centre wasn't really the place to be as it was early-mid-90s - the nightlife there hadn't recovered at that stage and there was no Cathedral Quarter in the way there is now.   In terms of going down the town, The Limelight / Katy Daly's and the odd time to the Crown was as far as you would have got - although Thompsons started shortly after I arrived on the scene.  There used to be the Washington Bar in the City Centre, which I remember going into once in the middle of the day for a few beers.  Remember being in Morrison's all day one Paddy's day.  Chicago Pizza Pie Factory also was there - it was like a novelty place.  A crowd called Direct Action Against Drugs shot someone in there around the time the first ceasefire.

Same craic as many mentioned above; Egg on Wednesday night (middle floor for live music and then upstairs to the disco), Speakeasy on a Thursday for Blackthorn, followed by the Elms (where they didn't sell Guinness, only Beamish - they also had Jenga and an L shaped Pool table) and maybe Lavery's or the the Crescent. Bot became a staple after the first term. Went out most nights - can barely remember staying in for the first couple of years.  Liked the Bunatee in the Union for a quiet beer or the Egg had a pub quiz on a Monday. 

Later on it became more about the Ormeau Road, the Errigal, Pavilion etc.  Plenty of late nights in the city centre then in places like Vicos, La Lea.  If you wanted late night drinking there were some middlin' places in the early 2000s.  You could have got very late night drink in Bittles, Larry's and Rumpoles. There was another spot on Bruce Street called the Venue, which I think I was in once. 

Dukes and Renshaws not bad either.  Ended up in the Orpheus a few times. 

Remember doing a pub crawl, probably in second year.  Went to a lot of bars that I wasn't in before, but went to after. Places like the Rotterdam, Pat's Bar, The Front Page, the Elbow, Kelly's, Duke of York (I think). 

The oddest place I probably drank in Belfast was a Social Club attached to St Malachy's Chapel on Alfred Street. 
Post by: SHEEDY on May 09, 2021, 08:29:46 PM
the crescent was a dodgy spot, used to be a pound a drink in there on a thursday night. 5 or 6 of us used to go there before we went to the bot and we always had to make sure we never called each other by real first names, wouldnt have ended well for an oisin or padraig in there.
Post by: APM on May 09, 2021, 08:34:16 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on May 09, 2021, 08:29:46 PM
the crescent was a dodgy spot, used to be a pound a drink in there on a thursday night. 5 or 6 of us used to go there before we went to the bot and we always had to make sure we never called each other by real first names, wouldnt have ended well for an oisin or padraig in there.

I never heard of anyone that came to any harm in it.  I was on the top floor of the city hospital once and remember looking down on it, amazed that it ever got a license as it looked like a complete shack.     
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 08:35:44 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 09, 2021, 05:32:27 PM

Sunday night-  few pints with the house mates...nothing major....

Monday night- Serious RIP in Queens Union, Renshaws or Dukes

Tuesday night- Empire comedy club or Limelight....maybe the night off...

Wed night-  RIP in the Bot

Thursday night- Union or Bot....or preparing to go home for the weekend....before getting ready to do all over again...

All the above mixed in with a bit of day drinking in Renshaws...or wherever

Serious life when you look back at it...

Few nights out in Orpheus and the M Club too.....
Post by: SHEEDY on May 09, 2021, 08:40:09 PM
Quote from: APM on May 09, 2021, 08:34:16 PM

I never heard of anyone that came to any harm in it.  I was on the top floor of the city hospital once and remember looking down on it, amazed that it ever got a license as it looked like a complete shack.   
was complete dump, wiped your feet on way out.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 09, 2021, 08:53:01 PM
On reading this and on the WTF thread I'm surprised how you guys are still about to tell the tale
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 09:29:17 PM

QuoteRemember doing a pub crawl, probably in second year.  Went to a lot of bars that I wasn't in before, but went to after. Places like the Rotterdam, Pat's Bar, The Front Page, the Elbow, Kelly's, Duke of York (I think). 

This made me smile. I remember doing a similar pub crawl in possibly 96/97 as you had to start away down in the Docks to get a proper run at it back in those days. I think we did Pats to The Bot and most in between and the only place we got turned from was Lavery's as one of the fellas was too pished (we all were!). I think it was 17 pints Guinness by the end. I'd be killed by half of it now.
Post by: general_lee on May 09, 2021, 09:31:37 PM

Bit of nostalgia
https://www.vice.com/amp/en/article/ez8epp/john-calvert-the-crescent-bar-belfast
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2021, 09:52:10 PM
QUB 1994 -97. First year I went buck mental. Split up with yeh girlfriend the Wednesday of Freshers and went crazy. Fell in with a few lads from the Halls, one lad in particular, who drank wine by the gallon and gin for fun. We used to drink in the Bunatee and Speakeasy an awful lot. Loved rocking into Shine after if I was fit! 

My English friend was in his final year in Philosophy. He was an only child and his parents were quite old. They didn't trust him with money as they feared he would go to the pub so they sent him M&S vouchers. He would get hundreds of pounds worth every few weeks. We would hit M&S in the city centre and fill up with red wine, nibbles, loads of rich tasting stuff and lie out in Botanic Gardens watching the world go by!
Post by: armaghniac on May 09, 2021, 09:57:10 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2021, 09:52:10 PM
QUB 1994 -97. First year I went buck mental. Split up with yeh girlfriend the Wednesday of Freshers and went crazy. Fell in with a few lads from the Halls, one lad in particular, who drank wine by the gallon and gin for fun. We used to drink in the Bunatee and Speakeasy an awful lot. Loved rocking into Shine after if I was fit! 

My English friend was in his final year in Philosophy. He was an only child and his parents were quite old. They didn't trust him with money as they feared he would go to the pub so they sent him M&S vouchers. He would get hundreds of pounds worth every few weeks. We would hit M&S in the city centre and fill up with red wine, nibbles, loads of rich tasting stuff and lie out in Botanic Gardens watching the world go by!

We always knew that you were one of the prawn sandwich types.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 10:03:01 PM
QUB 1994 -97.
Same years. I think we knew some of the same reprobates.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2021, 10:15:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2021, 10:03:01 PM
QUB 1994 -97.
Same years. I think we knew some of the same reprobates.

Probably Tony, though first year was a wash out. Kept away from GAA till second year but rejoined the Cross senior panel then and the rest as they say is history!

@armaghniac...f**k off!!
Post by: charlieTully on May 09, 2021, 10:39:31 PM

I had some serious messy sessions with lads you would know well. University Street was a mad spot.
Post by: orchard 8195 on May 09, 2021, 10:47:50 PM
Anyone here Steve Irwin day vintage?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2021, 10:49:56 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on May 09, 2021, 10:39:31 PM

I had some serious messy sessions with lads you would know well. University Street was a mad spot.

There was some crew of us round Wolsley Street, long, late nights!
Post by: tiempo on May 10, 2021, 12:16:26 AM
Was about 2004, I'm a Celeb get me outta here must have been the first series or 2, pretty big, so the boffins at M club decided to do a promo "I'm a student get me outta here" with flights to oz as the first prize no less! f**king deadly incentive!

Except, they took the parallel to Ant and Dec v seriously, in order to win these flights and a few grand spending money you had to chunter down a pile of f**king live feed lol. You name it worms, dogs balls, hedgehog c**k, the full 57 varieties... this went on for 4 or 5 nights til some Ted was crowned champ and walked off with the golden ticket... it dawned on me from the outset imagine being the poor fecker to come second, all that grub for no end.

The contestants were near off their heads on drink too so I can only imagine the scenes later and the next morning when that came up around the sink and bog lol. And all that to hawk off as much Castlemaine for £1 a bottle as M club could shift. Textbook magnificence  ;D ;D
Post by: John Egans left boot on May 10, 2021, 09:01:30 AM
Quote from: orchard 8195 on May 09, 2021, 10:47:50 PM

Do Explain !!
Post by: tbrick18 on May 10, 2021, 02:35:14 PM

I loved it!
It was a hole, dangerous as fook around that area especially for us country boys.
But the drink was cheap, all the students went and the craic was deadly.
Fell down the stairs manys a time...but never had any real trouble in it.
I did hear a few stories of boys getting severe beatings around it though. I'd say for 2 years, we went at least once a week.

The early mid 90s was still dodgy enough around Belfast but tbh, as a student you kind of ignored a lot of that and were just out for the rip and trying to pick up!

Some of the dodgier places would have been the Crescent but Orpheus and the Menagerie I always found a bit dodgy.
Dukes at the weekend was a no-go for me.

A general week would have been head back to Belfast on a Sunday night....possibly the Union for a few pints.
Monday night used to be the Fly or maybe a quiet night so the Cinema with a couple of pints somewhere.
Tuesday would have been Crescent/Laverys/Morrisons
Wed bot and in later years MClub
Thursdsay Crescent/Bot/Egg/Laverys
Friday usually back home to head out with the lads not at uni on Fri/sat night and the occasional sunday night.

Had to fit in football with all that too. Looking back at it now, it was some life. Always broke....but always money to go out.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 10, 2021, 02:39:56 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 10, 2021, 12:16:26 AM
Was about 2004, I'm a Celeb get me outta here must have been the first series or 2, pretty big, so the boffins at M club decided to do a promo "I'm a student get me outta here" with flights to oz as the first prize no less! f**king deadly incentive!

Except, they took the parallel to Ant and Dec v seriously, in order to win these flights and a few grand spending money you had to chunter down a pile of f**king live feed lol. You name it worms, dogs balls, hedgehog c**k, the full 57 varieties... this went on for 4 or 5 nights til some Ted was crowned champ and walked off with the golden ticket... it dawned on me from the outset imagine being the poor fecker to come second, all that grub for no end.

The contestants were near off their heads on drink too so I can only imagine the scenes later and the next morning when that came up around the sink and bog lol. And all that to hawk off as much Castlemaine for £1 a bottle as M club could shift. Textbook magnificence  ;D ;D

After my time that, but I remember the M-Club used to give you two free bottles of millar when you paid in.
Two of my mates hated the stuff, so I'd get 6 bottles on the way in. Pure pish, but when you're living on a budget it does the job.
It was a funny place, I was barred out of for about the first 6 months it was opened even though I'd never been in it. Sods law, first night I did get in a fight broke out behind where I was standing and I got threw out in the middle of it. Barred again. lol.
Post by: JimStynes on May 10, 2021, 03:12:10 PM
Quote from: orchard 8195 on May 09, 2021, 10:47:50 PM

In the middle of it!
Post by: tiempo on May 10, 2021, 03:32:37 PM
Moved into the digs for freshers in Belfast, found a bag of coppers in the pad, seemed to be enough for a few pints, walked up to one of the pubs with one of the flat mates, ordered 2 pints, handed over the bag of coppers, it was fairly heaving, the look of distain from the barman was comical  ;D ;D drank them and walked out lol
Post by: JimStynes on May 10, 2021, 04:35:30 PM
Anyone remember the spotlight programme about the Holylands? Some craic explaining that to the parents. It was around the mid 2000s. Best days of my life and made some great friends along the way.
Post by: johnnycool on May 10, 2021, 04:41:09 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 10, 2021, 02:35:14 PM

I loved it!
It was a hole, dangerous as fook around that area especially for us country boys.
But the drink was cheap, all the students went and the craic was deadly.
Fell down the stairs manys a time...but never had any real trouble in it.
I did hear a few stories of boys getting severe beatings around it though. I'd say for 2 years, we went at least once a week.

Younger vintage lad from home got a bit of a bad beating down there one night from the locals, might have been a Saturday night the stupid bollox. The lure of cheap shots was just too much..

Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 10, 2021, 05:10:43 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 10, 2021, 04:35:30 PM
Anyone remember the spotlight programme about the Holylands? Some craic explaining that to the parents. It was around the mid 2000s. Best days of my life and made some great friends along the way.

There was a few, one of the wrecking and one on the state of the houses that followed.

I was down in those days - Declan Boyle was the one got the brunt of that, he converted a load of houses into 3 floor flats and some of the rooms didn't meet basic regulations. I know a few boys got their money back over all that, Belfast council into houses with measuring tapes, the lot.

The one with the wrecking was bad enough viewing, men playing hurling up the street....only thing surprising was they were Tyrone boys 😂

St Patricks day was the day I hated the most down there though, the Holylands just became an excuse to behave like animals....majority students, but there were a right lock just landed that day for the carnage.

Still though, come those days in April and May and the sun out, being a student in Belfast was as good as it got.

Post by: andoireabu on May 10, 2021, 05:39:23 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 10, 2021, 05:10:43 PM

There was a few, one of the wrecking and one on the state of the houses that followed.

I was down in those days - Declan Boyle was the one got the brunt of that, he converted a load of houses into 3 floor flats and some of the rooms didn't meet basic regulations. I know a few boys got their money back over all that, Belfast council into houses with measuring tapes, the lot.

The one with the wrecking was bad enough viewing, men playing hurling up the street....only thing surprising was they were Tyrone boys 😂

St Patricks day was the day I hated the most down there though, the Holylands just became an excuse to behave like animals....majority students, but there were a right lock just landed that day for the carnage.

Still though, come those days in April and May and the sun out, being a student in Belfast was as good as it got.

The blue reek and the smell of disposable barbecues the first dry day in April even it was only 10 degrees outside. Some memories
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 10, 2021, 07:42:59 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 10, 2021, 02:39:56 PM

After my time that, but I remember the M-Club used to give you two free bottles of millar when you paid in.
Two of my mates hated the stuff, so I'd get 6 bottles on the way in. Pure pish, but when you're living on a budget it does the job.
It was a funny place, I was barred out of for about the first 6 months it was opened even though I'd never been in it. Sods law, first night I did get in a fight broke out behind where I was standing and I got threw out in the middle of it. Barred again. lol.

Howd did the original barring come about if you hadn't been in it lol??
Post by: An Watcher on May 10, 2021, 10:25:47 PM
Planting the sofa out in the street and drinking away, great stuff
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on May 10, 2021, 10:33:53 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 09, 2021, 07:54:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2021, 03:09:19 PM

Was there a time where the bank links beside the Bot were actually a late night burger spot ?

Absolutely correct sir - there was a built in fast food there beside the bot - kinda on the grounds of the Wellie. Feck knows what they were serving and feck doesn't even know how the poor bollixes put up with us!
Post by: JimStynes on May 10, 2021, 10:54:13 PM
We were all on the rip one night that went on into the morning and ended up getting the early Seacat to Scotland for the day. Made it back for the Bot that night. Complete right off. Still not sure why we thought that was a good idea. Temps was the best eating house back in the day. The craic in the place was nearly better than the night out itself. I'm glad social media and Snapchat etc wasn't about in those days. Bebo was the only thing on the go really and that was enough.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 11, 2021, 10:11:40 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 10, 2021, 10:54:13 PM
We were all on the rip one night that went on into the morning and ended up getting the early Seacat to Scotland for the day. Made it back for the Bot that night. Complete right off. Still not sure why we thought that was a good idea. Temps was the best eating house back in the day. The craic in the place was nearly better than the night out itself. I'm glad social media and Snapchat etc wasn't about in those days. Bebo was the only thing on the go really and that was enough.

Bebo is meant to be reactivating. A lot of us would face some awkward questions should it reactivate old profiles.

Slipping a new woman into the top 16 was a major scandal back in the day.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 11, 2021, 11:04:09 AM

A young fella from our place was filmed sleeping in a phone box
Post by: tbrick18 on May 11, 2021, 06:41:41 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 10, 2021, 07:42:59 PM

I asked that question every night!
Post by: tyrone08 on May 11, 2021, 06:52:51 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 11, 2021, 06:41:41 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 10, 2021, 07:42:59 PM

I asked that question every night!

There were some dopey bouncers back in the day. I remember my mate getting turned away from the beach club for being too drunken which I thought was pretty amazing since he didn't even drink and showed the bouncers his car keys as he was driving. They somehow let me in even though I was steaming.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 11, 2021, 07:31:27 PM
That happened me in Laverys. Too much to drink the first night apparently even though I was only in the queue and I had had maybe 2 beers then that was me barred for what seemed like the whole of first year.

[Edit] Actually he checked my id then said I'd too much to drink. Always wondered was it a religious thing.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 11, 2021, 09:22:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 11, 2021, 07:31:27 PM
That happened me in Laverys. Too much to drink the first night apparently even though I was only in the queue and I had had maybe 2 beers then that was me barred for what seemed like the whole of first year.

[Edit] Actually he checked my id then said I'd too much to drink. Always wondered was it a religious thing.

Same thing happen to me in a different bar. I walked up to the bouncer sober as and he asked for my Id. I show it to him and he says naw not tonight. I walked away laughing at the set of him thinking he was some hardman
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 11, 2021, 10:44:45 PM

Sounds like Leo on the door. Ballbag. A mate and his girlfriend lifted weights at the PEC with him and he barred said mate for laughing that his girlfriend could lift more than him!
Post by: johnnycool on May 12, 2021, 09:54:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 11, 2021, 10:44:45 PM

Sounds like Leo on the door. Ballbag. A mate and his girlfriend lifted weights at the PEC with him and he barred said mate for laughing that his girlfriend could lift more than him!

A good few of the doormen in Lavery's around the early 90's were Kaflicks.. I'd have known some of them..

Was out if Wildwood NJ in 94 I think and the bar out there that the paddies drank in was called the Harbour I think and the first night I walked into it the doorman was a lad McHugh from Ballycastle who also always was on the door of the Elms in Belfast on a thursday night FFS.

Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 12, 2021, 10:13:49 AM
Not much mention of the Orpheus, I caught the tail end of it, was a anything goes spot.
Post by: JohnDenver on May 12, 2021, 10:37:06 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 12, 2021, 10:13:49 AM
Not much mention of the Orpheus, I caught the tail end of it, was a anything goes spot.

Think it re-opened as Karma for a few short years in the early 2000's from what I remember
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2021, 10:55:42 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 12, 2021, 09:54:55 AM

A good few of the doormen in Lavery's around the early 90's were Kaflicks.. I'd have known some of them..

Was out if Wildwood NJ in 94 I think and the bar out there that the paddies drank in was called the Harbour I think and the first night I walked into it the doorman was a lad McHugh from Ballycastle who also always was on the door of the Elms in Belfast on a thursday night FFS.

I was in Wildwood the summer before you, 93, The harbour bar was a regular joint, we stayed in some dive, I suppose the students would have been used to it but I was only heading out for a month so I was on holidays while all my mates were 'working' .

The boardwalk had a couple of waterparks on it that we went to everyday, mate was working there so handy to get in, friends working the food joints was handy to!

Id friends that went every year for 4 summers, place coming down with Culchie's who headed up to Philly at weekends to play footie

Post by: ardtole on May 12, 2021, 11:17:42 AM
I was there 96, 97 & 98, absoloute madness it was.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 12, 2021, 11:19:07 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2021, 10:55:42 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 12, 2021, 09:54:55 AM

I was in Wildwood the summer before you, 93, The harbour bar was a regular joint, we stayed in some dive, I suppose the students would have been used to it but I was only heading out for a month so I was on holidays while all my mates were 'working' .

The boardwalk had a couple of waterparks on it that we went to everyday, mate was working there so handy to get in, friends working the food joints was handy to!

Id friends that went every year for 4 summers, place coming down with Culchie's who headed up to Philly at weekends to play footie

Friend of mine went out there round 96/97 and has stayed in Philly since!
Post by: ardtole on May 12, 2021, 11:20:50 AM
One of the lads who went with me is still in New York now.
Post by: An Watcher on May 12, 2021, 11:23:23 AM
Wildwood - great memories.
There are times when I think back to drinking the skull of myself in Belfast or Wildwood wasn't the right thing to do. Maybe I could have worked harder at college or done better at sports.
Over 20 years later, settled and with kids I'm glad I did it when I did as I wouldn't be physically able to do it now nor would it be fair on the wife n kids.
Some people say school is the best days of your life, I think it was uni, Wildwood etc and everything it entailed. Great memories
Post by: tbrick18 on May 12, 2021, 04:12:47 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 11, 2021, 09:22:49 PM

Same thing happen to me in a different bar. I walked up to the bouncer sober as and he asked for my Id. I show it to him and he says naw not tonight. I walked away laughing at the set of him thinking he was some hardman

It was probably because you were from Tyrone  :P :P ;D
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 12, 2021, 09:04:36 PM
Got turned away from the Bot one night.....must have been the young face...

Made my way into the Jurassic Park (Welly Park) to keep the rip going.....slipped in the front door and up to the bar.... in the hope of somehow getting back in the Bot eventually....

Anyway....it lived up to its name and I fell in with a absolute Milf from Downpatrick who was twice my age.....

What a night........will spare the details.....although when I woke up in the am there was 3 more of them watching morning tv in the room with us both....awkward......"can you pass me my jeans over please"?.....as I moved to the door.....

I often reminisce......and wonder how she looks now at the approximate age of 60 at this stage.......absolutely deadly in my mind anyway 👌🏻👌🏻
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 12, 2021, 09:14:21 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 12, 2021, 09:04:36 PM

Made my way into the Jurassic Park (Welly Park) to keep the rip going.....slipped in the front door and up to the bar.... in the hope of somehow getting back in the Bot eventually....

Anyway....it lived up to its name and I fell in with an absolute Milf from Downpatrick who was twice my age.....

What a night........will spare the details.....although when I woke up in the am there was 3 more of them watching morning tv in the room with us both....awkward......"can you pass me my jeans over please"?.....as I moved to the door.....

I often reminisce......and wonder how she looks now at the approximate age of 60 at this stage.......absolutely deadly in my mind anyway 👌🏻👌🏻
Post by: tyrone08 on May 12, 2021, 09:19:41 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 12, 2021, 04:12:47 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 11, 2021, 09:22:49 PM

It was probably because you were from Tyrone  :P :P ;D
😂 That's probably true.
Post by: tiempo on May 12, 2021, 09:43:04 PM

Anyway....it lived up to its name and I fell in with a absolute Milf from Downpatrick who was twice my age.....

Did ye do er up the shitter?
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 12, 2021, 09:56:43 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 12, 2021, 09:43:04 PM

Na....she wasn't a Muck Savage lad.....
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 12, 2021, 10:02:55 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on May 12, 2021, 09:56:43 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 12, 2021, 09:43:04 PM

Na....she wasn't a Muck Savage lad.....

This thread is heading in the muck savage direction
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 12, 2021, 10:57:52 PM
This is what we came for

*pulls up seat*
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 13, 2021, 10:23:09 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 12, 2021, 10:57:52 PM
This is what we came for

*pulls up seat*

More than happy to let street fighter take the floor from here.
Post by: John Egans left boot on May 13, 2021, 10:47:45 AM
Jesus lads we played a Sigerson up there around 2006/7, beat on the Friday beers etc went to some place down the road, Botantics I think, some jersey huggers hanging about. Sun beds must have been closed it was like my big fat gipsy wedding some pulling and dragging in there, Jesus joe mc Quillian would have been whistle happy about thon place