GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Tommo2 on September 18, 2011, 05:34:16 PM

Title: Stephen Cluxton
Post by: Tommo2 on September 18, 2011, 05:34:16 PM
Does anyone kno why Cluxton decided not to stay for the presentation or celebrations with the other Dublin players after the game. You would think he missed the free at the end rather than being the match winner. Strange!!!
Title: Re: Stephen Cluxton
Post by: gerry on September 18, 2011, 05:40:23 PM
he's up early for work tomorrow
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2011, 05:45:51 PM
Thinks he might have left the gas on.
Post by: Oak Leafer on September 18, 2011, 05:48:25 PM
Have spent the last 20 mins trying to get my head around it....they say he's claustrophobic but man never cracked a smile when final whistle went. I know apart from his frees and great catch it wasnt his best game.
What has he done in past when they won Leinsters? And crowd were allowed on
Post by: clarshack on September 18, 2011, 05:53:27 PM
cant mind if he has went out to australia to play in the compromise rules but surely if he's claustraphobic he'll not get on a plane?
Post by: stephenite on September 18, 2011, 06:00:41 PM
From kicking Oisin (I think?) in the hole and having his kick out strategy derided over the years, I have t say that I'm delighted for the guy, he's around a hell of a long time and deserves his All Ireland medal.

Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2011, 06:05:54 PM
Quote from: Oak Leafer on September 18, 2011, 05:48:25 PM
Have spent the last 20 mins trying to get my head around it....they say he's claustrophobic but man never cracked a smile when final whistle went. I know apart from his frees and great catch it wasnt his best game.
What has he done in past when they won Leinsters? And crowd were allowed on
Noticed that myself - thought it was strange! 
Post by: sawel on September 18, 2011, 06:07:24 PM
He seems to be stacks of craic!!!
Saw a glimpse of the Kerry team going down the tunnel after the game and he was along with them wearing a Diesel T shirt.
Very strange, although an exceptional talent
Post by: ExiledGael on September 18, 2011, 06:08:42 PM
www.inpho.ie/app/WebObjects/INPHO-Shop.woa/wa/p?cl=hdlvwfqY1SAYk_gPben7rg..a&ts=ygeADJWwWADhRy-Kn0iQP4EsxyAqWqyIPyrElxRv8k0.a
He seems happy enough at full-time here.
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 18, 2011, 06:24:34 PM
It'd be more agoraphobia than claustraphobia.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on September 18, 2011, 06:31:07 PM
Think he got word that Jason Mc Ateer was in Gills and he wanted to have a beer with him ;D
Post by: boojangles on September 18, 2011, 06:43:46 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 18, 2011, 06:00:41 PM
From kicking Oisin (I think?) in the hole and having his kick out strategy derided over the years, I have t say that I'm delighted for the guy, he's around a hell of a long time and deserves his All Ireland medal.

Post by: gallsman on September 18, 2011, 06:47:45 PM
Quote from: boojangles on September 18, 2011, 06:43:46 PM

+2. Definitely deserved.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 18, 2011, 07:03:21 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 18, 2011, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 18, 2011, 06:13:27 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 18, 2011, 05:53:27 PM
cant mind if he has went out to australia to play in the compromise rules but surely if he's claustraphobic he'll not get on a plane?
You could take some extra-drowsy sleeping pills and relaxants to deal with that. Can't really do the same in the middle of Croke Park!
Sorry, what I was supposed to say was that you could take some extra-drowsy sleeping pills, relaxants, or anything else that's available among the Dublin supporters to deal with that. Can't really do the same in the same in the middle of Croke Park!

Well done to Cluxo though, a very quiet person who doesn't seem to make much fuss about himself.

My recollection is that he doesn't put himself forward for selection for the trips to Australia.

Real pressure free at the end. Fair play to him for nailing it. The best goalkeeper of his era undoubtedly. My only gripe would be that the referee simply didn't add on anything like an appropriate amount of time to compensate for the time he wasted coming up for, and kicking, the free.
Post by: SHEEDY on September 18, 2011, 07:07:55 PM
delighted for cluxton and alan brogan. fully deserved after years of being nearly men.
Post by: deiseach on September 18, 2011, 07:28:05 PM
There's a shot of him on the news at 6 cracking a smile as he ran back towards his goal after the free. Some people are not very demonstrative.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 18, 2011, 07:56:04 PM
Saw him heading down the Tunnel with some of the Kerry lads.  Job well done.
Post by: Oak Leafer on September 18, 2011, 07:59:42 PM
I was not for any minute having a go at his footballing ability nor his deservance of a medal...however i still can't fathom how any team player wouldn't want to celebrate with his team-mates.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 08:15:32 PM
Cluxton and McGeeney are Live at the Apollo next year.
Post by: irunthev on September 18, 2011, 08:18:03 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 18, 2011, 05:53:27 PM

He refused to go to Oz previously as he doesn't like flying. That's why he has been absent from so many test series.

To be a good keeper you have to be a bit nuts. Cluxton is easily the best... Therefore the nuttiest as well. I say that with authority as a former keeper.
Post by: muppet on September 18, 2011, 09:27:34 PM
I recall Cluxton walking off the pitch after the 2006 semi-final with an arm around Conor Mortimer.

Despite the obvious bitter disappointment he still went to congratulate his Sigerson team-mate. He may have known some of the Kerry lads and wanted to commiserate.
Post by: ross matt on September 18, 2011, 09:31:23 PM
He's a fiercely driven individual who has carried huge responsibility on his shoulders (particularly this year with the frees etc). He is after nailing the winning score in the last minute of an AI final and reached the pinnacle of his career as a result. He's entitled to celebrate in any way he wants. Always comes across as a bit different so his reaction at the end today was consistent with him. Delighted for him.
Post by: Orangemac on September 18, 2011, 09:40:24 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on September 18, 2011, 07:07:55 PM
delighted for cluxton and alan brogan. fully deserved after years of being nearly men.
+1. 2 stalwarts who deserve this day. Although Cluxton didn't have his best day in terms of kickouts, there was a 5 min spell in the 2nd half where Kerry must have won 5 or 6 in a row, a couple kicked straight to Kerry players.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 18, 2011, 09:50:41 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on September 18, 2011, 09:40:24 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on September 18, 2011, 07:07:55 PM
+1. 2 stalwarts who deserve this day. Although Cluxton didn't have his best day in terms of kickouts, there was a 5 min spell in the 2nd half where Kerry must have won 5 or 6 in a row, a couple kicked straight to Kerry players.
+2 I thought that barring that period he had a good game. He has set such high standards from his kickouts that we all notice when they don't go to plan. Its not as if its the first time he has went straight down the tunnell. Have you seen the players bar? He probably just wanted to get in for a free (and well deserved) beer  ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on September 18, 2011, 09:51:22 PM
I doubt there's ever been a keeper who's been more influential on a team.

His kickouts have been instrumental in Dublin winning this. They weren't as good today mind.

Also thought it strange he didn't go up the steps. Wonder will he be on sunday game tonight.
Post by: lenny on September 18, 2011, 09:54:38 PM
Delighted that Dublin won. I love their brand of football and they have been involved in some great games in the last few years. However does anybody else think that the current trend of getting keepers up to take frees and 45s has to be looked at by the GAA authorities. When you consider how long it takes each time for the keeper to make his way up the pitch to take the free it wastes a lot of time. If an outfield player took the same amount of time over a free the ball would be hopped.
Post by: Jinxy on September 18, 2011, 10:02:59 PM
The best goalkeeper in the history of gaelic football.
If he wants to get away quickly to watch X-Factor that's his business.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 18, 2011, 10:04:27 PM
Quote from: lenny on September 18, 2011, 09:54:38 PM
Delighted that Dublin won. I love their brand of football and they have been involved in some great games in the last few years. However does anybody else think that the current trend of getting keepers up to take frees and 45s has to be looked at by the GAA authorities. When you consider how long it takes each time for the keeper to make his way up the pitch to take the free it wastes a lot of time. If an outfield player took the same amount of time over a free the ball would be hopped.

Straight answer - No!

Has a keeper ever won the player of the year?! He has to be in the running surely?
Post by: Denn Forever on September 18, 2011, 10:05:26 PM
Just looking at the Sunday Game there.  I was 1 minute from the time the foul was given when the ball went over.

Post by: imtommygunn on September 18, 2011, 10:09:35 PM
Definitely doesn't like the spotlight - not looking too comfortable!
Post by: Gold on September 18, 2011, 10:17:40 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 18, 2011, 10:05:26 PM
Just looking at the Sunday Game there.  I was 1 minute from the time the foul was given when the ball went over.

No, it was longer than one minute--Sunday game cut out a fair  bit (including the shot of the Ref waving for Cluxton to hurry up)

Ref was gonna let play on till Kerry got a shot but shit them when the Dubs fans started booing and he immedietely blew the final whistle
Post by: deiseach on September 18, 2011, 10:36:32 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 18, 2011, 10:17:40 PM
No, it was longer than one minute--Sunday game cut out a fair  bit (including the shot of the Ref waving for Cluxton to hurry up)

The free was awarded at 70:50. Cluxton took the free at 71:51. So you're right, it was longer than a minute

Ref was gonna let play on till Kerry got a shot but shit them when the Dubs fans started booing and he immedietely blew the final whistle

Yes, that's exactly what happened

(http://www.nimisis.com/images/0407/obelix.jpg)
Post by: Gold on September 18, 2011, 11:01:44 PM
1 minute, 1 minute 1 seconds or more--it doesnt matter --the ref should've  made sure that that lost time was made up.

I dont care who won and was delighted for Cluxton to win but as i said in the Boxing Thread last week after McCloskey's ropey win--i like fair play and correct calls and think that at least a further minute should've been played.

How many kicks did Cluxton attempt in 2nd half?

His kicks, coupled with Dec O'Sullivan's injury and substitutions all equated to more than 2 mins injury time
Post by: Orior on September 18, 2011, 11:22:16 PM

Looking back on that incident now with my rose tinted glasses, I think Oisin deserved it.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 11:24:30 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 18, 2011, 10:36:32 PM

The free was awarded at 70:50. Cluxton took the free at 71:51. So you're right, it was longer than a minute

Yea but hold on. Let's go through all free kicks and see how long they take. I'd imagine 30 seconds on average from time of award to sailing wide.
Post by: Orior on September 18, 2011, 11:26:46 PM
ONeill do you teach Physics or English?

Just wondering like.
Post by: muppet on September 18, 2011, 11:27:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 11:24:30 PM

Yea but hold on. Let's go through all free kicks and see how long they take. I'd imagine 30 seconds on average from time of award to sailing wide.

Mayo had a free tis year (Cillian O'Connor) disallowed for taking too long which was measured at 45 seconds (I think). That free didn't matter but the inconsistency is maddening.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 11:30:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 18, 2011, 11:26:46 PM

Just wondering like.

Psychology.
Post by: Orior on September 18, 2011, 11:40:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 11:30:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 18, 2011, 11:26:46 PM

Just wondering like.

Psychology.

Well jack it in, and take up journalism. You've missed your vocation!
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2011, 12:17:41 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 18, 2011, 11:27:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 11:24:30 PM

Mayo had a free tis year (Cillian O'Connor) disallowed for taking too long which was measured at 45 seconds (I think). That free didn't matter but the inconsistency is maddening.

That free mattered very much at the time Muppet as you know well. They all do. I ve been thinking about that all evening and I m not happy with selective interpretations by refs. McQuillan made an empty gesture to try and get Cluxton to hurry up - at no stage did he break even into a jog - he strolled - McQ should have thrown up that ball or stopped watch. He did neither.

In fairness Cluxton did a great job. You have to use what your given. Why is the added time announced and why is time shown on the screen - and why any f**king screen at all. I d hope that a keeper of mine would do the same, and Cluxton did run down the clock with his stroll up the field. It s a no brainer. The free is a gimmie and at worst a wide and replay. Even if Ref pulled him for time wasting it would probably have been a draw. Ref bottled it but fair play to Cluxton for calling his bluff and nailing it. He did it.

Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2011, 12:26:26 AM
Stop watch from what point until when?
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2011, 12:34:25 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2011, 12:26:26 AM

Time allowed for free to be taken.  If they are going for the posts. Watch stopped for those frees. Say 1 min to get free off . Sounds like rugby but so what. That today was a joke.
Post by: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 08:23:00 AM

I'd completely agree with that. I'm mystified as to why the ref didn't play extra time, especially seeing as he was aware with his gesticulations to Cluxton as he ran up the field that there was time being wasted. The only thing I can think of is that referees are told to only implement injury time in units of one minute and he didn't feel the extra delay due to the goalie taking the free was sufficient to add a full minute. If this is the case, it's still daft. However, I don't buy the idea that the ref whistled up when he did to ensure Dublin won or that he was somehow influenced by the Hill.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 19, 2011, 08:33:42 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 19, 2011, 12:34:25 AM

Time allowed for free to be taken.  If they are going for the posts. Watch stopped for those frees. Say 1 min to get free off . Sounds like rugby but so what. That today was a joke.

So is this idea in the rule book or do you think the ref should make up rules on the spot
Post by: nrico2006 on September 19, 2011, 08:46:09 AM
Glad to see Cluxton hit the winner, seems a likeable fella who is one of the major reasons why Dublin won the All Ireland. 

As for those knocking the length of time it took from the foul to the free being hit, I bet you if you analysed most frees (that are not 20 yards in front of goal) that it takes the guts of a minute for them to be hit from the time the whistle is blew.  I would be more interested in seeing how much time that whinging bollox Donaghy wastes running around torturing referees or pushing boys in the back.
Post by: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 08:46:57 AM
Quote from: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 08:23:00 AM

I'd completely agree with that. I'm mystified as to why the ref didn't play extra time, especially seeing as he was aware with his gesticulations to Cluxton as he ran up the field that there was time being wasted. The only thing I can think of is that referees are told to only implement injury time in units of one minute and he didn't feel the extra delay due to the goalie taking the free was sufficient to add a full minute. If this is the case, it's still daft. However, I don't buy the idea that the ref whistled up when he did to ensure Dublin won or that he was somehow influenced by the Hill.

He does seem to referee alot of Dublin games and and in my opinion seems to lean towards them in 50-50 calls. 
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2011, 09:25:18 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 19, 2011, 08:33:42 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 19, 2011, 12:34:25 AM

So is this idea in the rule book or do you think the ref should make up rules on the spot

No, not in rule book, but at the moment the refs seem to be making things up as they go. You get a ref throwing up a ball for time wasting in one game and no action taken in another.
Post by: here comes 6 on September 19, 2011, 09:50:27 AM
this tread is about Cluxton NOT the referee or anybody else
Post by: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 09:53:02 AM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 19, 2011, 09:50:27 AM

What you getting wound up about?
Post by: boojangles on September 19, 2011, 10:52:09 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 08:46:57 AM

He does seem to referee alot of Dublin games and and in my opinion seems to lean towards them in 50-50 calls.

Were you at the Dublin-Tyrone match this year Tommy?
Post by: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 11:20:21 AM
Quote from: boojangles on September 19, 2011, 10:52:09 AM

No were you?
Post by: boojangles on September 19, 2011, 11:29:36 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 11:20:21 AM
Quote from: boojangles on September 19, 2011, 10:52:09 AM

No were you?

I was Tommy. If you were at that game there is no way you would say he has gives the Dubs most 50-50s. The Dublin crowd were booing him on at least 6 occasions. Some decisions he gave that day against Dublin left me scratching my head. Just ask the Tyrone posters.

In Cavan I never liked Joe as a referee and have good reason to but I'd stand up for him yesterday. Over the whole game I felt that things evened out.
Post by: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 11:35:42 AM
I didnt see that game so i cannot comment on it, its just my opinion anyway.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 19, 2011, 11:46:53 AM
All the debate about the time over the free is missing the point, with 4 minutes to go Kerry had the game sewn up and couldn't close it out. Even when the Dubs equalised they wasted opportunities to get back in front. So fair play to Cluxton and the Dubs. It's nice to see a different name on the trophy.
Post by: INDIANA on September 19, 2011, 12:19:18 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on September 19, 2011, 11:35:42 AM
I didnt see that game so i cannot comment on it, its just my opinion anyway.

No argument about the best keeper in the country.

Balls of steel.
Post by: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 12:46:55 PM

Getting back to Cluxton, Colm Keys said in today's Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/no-fuss-no-fanfare-as-cluxton-lets-his-boot-do-the-talking-2880409.html) that Cluxton 'lists "not speaking to the media" as the best advice he has ever received in his personal profile on the Dublin website'. Can't find that, but it sounds plausible
Post by: mckieran on September 19, 2011, 12:50:59 PM
QuoteOver the whole game I felt that things evened out.

Just because things "evened" out does not mean the ref did a good job.....
Post by: INDIANA on September 19, 2011, 12:53:38 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 12:46:55 PM

Getting back to Cluxton, Colm Keys said in today's Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/no-fuss-no-fanfare-as-cluxton-lets-his-boot-do-the-talking-2880409.html) that Cluxton 'lists "not speaking to the media" as the best advice he has ever received in his personal profile on the Dublin website'. Can't find that, but it sounds plausible

quiet lad. Doesnt speak to the media. Keeps to himself. One of the best keepers of all time in my view. Better then O Leary IMO.
Post by: Doogie Browser on September 19, 2011, 12:57:32 PM
It was a real hollywood ending, all year it has been thrown at the Dubs that their 3rd/4th etc highest scorer as the Championship went on was their keeper and that this would count against them, for him to then step up at that stage with the associated pressure and knock it over was sensational.  Delighted for him.
Post by: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 12:59:51 PM
Quote from: mckieran on September 19, 2011, 12:50:59 PM

Good point. Kerry could plausibly claim that the reason things 'evened out' was because the ref could hardly do anything but give frees to Kerry between the 40th and 60th minute when Dublin were in full retreat. It is to the very great credit of Kerry folk that I'm not seeing anything along those lines from them. Okay, I'm going to lie down now . . .
Post by: borderfox on September 19, 2011, 01:02:08 PM
Delighted for Cluxton. Delighted for Dublin.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 19, 2011, 02:07:58 PM
Best I've ever witnessed, has redefined the role in GAA. Still another 5 years in him.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2011, 02:09:26 PM
Best ever goalkeeper was Martin Furlong. He redefined the position. Redefined it as a euphemism for GBH :D
Post by: deiseach on September 19, 2011, 02:12:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2011, 02:09:26 PM
Best ever goalkeeper was Martin Furlong. He redefined the position. Redefined it as a euphemism for GBH :D

Cluxton must have been channeling Furlong when he met Jason McAteer
Post by: muppet on September 19, 2011, 02:20:00 PM

John Madden re-defined goalkeeper as the best position to see the big screen.
Post by: ballinaman on September 19, 2011, 02:39:22 PM
Any truth in the rumour that he's in work teaching today? Legend of a man, delighted for him.
Post by: boojangles on September 19, 2011, 02:40:01 PM
Quote from: mckieran on September 19, 2011, 12:50:59 PM

Ah will ya quit. He could have booked Kerry lads but he didn't and he could have booked Dublin boys but he didn't.
He could have given some frees to Dublin but he didn't and he could have given some frees to Kerry but he didn't.
It wasn't the best refereeing performance I have ever seen but the best team won on the day. And that's all that matters.
Post by: mckieran on September 19, 2011, 03:39:25 PM
QuoteAh will ya quit. He could have booked Kerry lads but he didn't and he could have booked Dublin boys but he didn't.
He could have given some frees to Dublin but he didn't and he could have given some frees to Kerry but he didn't.
It wasn't the best refereeing performance I have ever seen but the best team won on the day. And that's all that matters.

I wasnt taking away from Dublins victory. I was merely pointing out that this "evening out" argument is flawed. I was frustrated yesterday watching the match because I disagreed with almost every decision the ref made. I had no preference who won yesterday, I didnt care it if it was Kerry or Dublin.
Just because a referee is consistent in his wrongness does not mean his perfromance should be overlooked. Likewise, just because the best team won (And that is debatable in yesterdays game, I thought a draw would have been a fair result and if it was a draw, everyone would be saying how a draw was the fair result today) does not mean a referees performance should be overlooked.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on September 19, 2011, 08:55:52 PM
it builds up the hype of the player when they do things differently.a bit like when mc geeney captained armagh in 2002 he was very serious and then talk of him training the next day to better himself.i reckon they know it hypes them up
Post by: Hardy on September 19, 2011, 11:51:03 PM
Shades of Mick O'Connell. I'll bore you youngsters about it sometime, whether you like it or not.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2011, 01:04:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 19, 2011, 02:20:00 PM

John Madden re-defined goalkeeper as the best position to see the big screen.

John Madden should be in charge of the IMF. A safe pair of hands
Post by: Denn Forever on September 22, 2011, 11:50:10 PM
I like this guy even more.  From Hogabstand.

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton has turned down the opportunity to cash in on his All-Ireland winning heroics.

According to the Irish Sun, the Parnell's clubman - who is a notoriously private person and rarely gives media interviews - could make up to €30,000 from sponsorship deals after kicking the winning free against Kerry last Sunday. However, the report says he is only interested in doing charity work.

"We've told him that he must be mad not doing any publicity with the money that's in it. But he won't do it," said John Honan, who is principal of St. Vincent's CBS, Glasnevin where Cluxton is a member of the teaching staff.

"He says he doesn't want it and he'll only do charity. He's only interested in the game, not the celebrity."

Former Dublin footballer and PR agent Mick O'Keeffe believes Cluxton is the most marketable star in Irish sport at present.

"Some players transcend counties and Cluxton is one of a small number of these. Youngsters from here to Galway would know his name and who he is," O'Keeffe said.

"The biggest stars in Ireland can make up to €50,000 per annum in deals. Counting ad campaigns, sponsorship deals, the value of a free car and so on, I'd say Stephen Cluxton could easily make in excess of €30,000 this year. I'd have clients falling over themselves to sign him up at the moment."
Post by: cadence on September 23, 2011, 12:31:52 AM
don't know much about him, like his principles though. and just as a thought (this topic has probably been rinsed on here to death, so apologies) i wouldn't have an issue with any gaa player making a few shillings. what are the rules around these types of deals spoken about?

personally, i can't see gaa ever being able to provide the megabucks needed to beget primadonnas like the soccer boys and the game becoming removed from it's grassroots. i could be wrong, but i think it's very unlikely.
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2011, 12:36:05 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 22, 2011, 11:50:10 PM
I like this guy even more.  From Hogabstand.

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton has turned down the opportunity to cash in on his All-Ireland winning heroics.

According to the Irish Sun, the Parnell's clubman - who is a notoriously private person and rarely gives media interviews - could make up to €30,000 from sponsorship deals after kicking the winning free against Kerry last Sunday. However, the report says he is only interested in doing charity work.

"We've told him that he must be mad not doing any publicity with the money that's in it. But he won't do it," said John Honan, who is principal of St. Vincent's CBS, Glasnevin where Cluxton is a member of the teaching staff.

"He says he doesn't want it and he'll only do charity. He's only interested in the game, not the celebrity."

Former Dublin footballer and PR agent Mick O'Keeffe believes Cluxton is the most marketable star in Irish sport at present.

"Some players transcend counties and Cluxton is one of a small number of these. Youngsters from here to Galway would know his name and who he is," O'Keeffe said.

"The biggest stars in Ireland can make up to €50,000 per annum in deals. Counting ad campaigns, sponsorship deals, the value of a free car and so on, I'd say Stephen Cluxton could easily make in excess of €30,000 this year. I'd have clients falling over themselves to sign him up at the moment."

This appears to be more about Mick O'Keefe than Cluxton to me.
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2011, 08:18:16 PM
However, the report says he is only interested in doing charity work.

If he'd kept that ball Tomas gave him he'd have made a fortune for charity.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 23, 2011, 09:20:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2011, 08:18:16 PM

So would've Tomás.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2011, 09:28:33 PM
The Dubs are on the Late Late tonight. Wonder will he show?
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2011, 09:33:00 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 23, 2011, 09:20:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2011, 08:18:16 PM

So would've Tomás.

I hadn't thought of that until I read Bogue's editorial in the GL but it was a good point. Anyway, I suppose he wasn't thinking of that at the spur of the moment.
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2011, 09:42:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2011, 09:28:33 PM

Show what?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2011, 09:49:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 23, 2011, 09:42:15 PM

Show what?
Whatever you're into. Let your imagination run riot.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 23, 2011, 09:53:32 PM

The whole panel were on....no sign of Clucko :-\
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 23, 2011, 09:53:59 PM
Kerry never on late late after winning AI.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2011, 09:55:42 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 23, 2011, 09:53:59 PM
Not enough makeup available for Gooch.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 23, 2011, 09:56:33 PM

Myself and the bean chéile said exactly the same...nor was Tyrone, Cork, Down, whoever..what do you expect???
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 23, 2011, 09:59:25 PM
Tubridy is only a bollix anyway
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2011, 10:01:55 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 23, 2011, 09:56:33 PM

Myself and the bean chéile said exactly the same...nor was Tyrone, Cork, Down, whoever..what do you expect???

Nearly sure Mickey and Michaela were on in '08. Also think they appeared on the Kelly Show in either '03 or '05.
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:03:42 PM

Typical RTE and Dublin media sh1te.
No one else won the All Ireland since 1995 I suppose ::)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2011, 10:12:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:03:42 PM

Ask me hole you, you never stop with your anti dublin sentiments get over it, they graced the screen for all of 4 to 5 minutes big deal

Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:15:17 PM
No problem with it if every other All Ireland winner got the same treatment.
And no I won't go any where near your hole ..thanks very much.
Post by: Minder on September 23, 2011, 10:19:54 PM
Kilkenny were on a few years ago, after the trimming of Waterford i think.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2011, 10:20:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:15:17 PM

Your fellow ploughing championship lads are truely representing you well there

gobshites getting more air time than the lads, embarrassing stuff
Post by: INDIANA on September 23, 2011, 10:23:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:15:17 PM

who ever said life was fair?

Post by: spuds on September 23, 2011, 10:59:56 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2011, 10:12:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2011, 10:03:42 PM

Ask me hole you, you never stop with your anti dublin sentiments get over it, they graced the screen for all of 4 to 5 minutes big deal

Any promotion for our games on TV should be welcomed and encouraged, any promotion for the GAA amidst the rugby wankathon that is RTE sports should be applauded.
Post by: muppet on September 24, 2011, 05:59:19 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cF30ocfHIU4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cF30ocfHIU4)
Post by: onefaircounty on September 24, 2011, 11:04:54 AM
I must say, i don't like the media attention Cluxton is, ironically, getting for not wanting media attention. so he doesn't like the spotlight, so what? Let him be.

On the other point, i think Armagh were on the late, late in 2002?
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2013, 03:59:50 PM
Captain for 2013 - Dublin
Post by: heffo on February 05, 2013, 04:21:47 PM
Strange one. He won't do normal media interviews and isn't comfortable in the spotlight.
Post by: Ard-Rí on February 05, 2013, 07:28:03 PM
Something to do with the game itself, perhaps.
Post by: theticklemister on February 06, 2013, 12:44:12 PM
Fcuk the media, he has the respect of the players.
Post by: highorlow on February 06, 2013, 03:15:25 PM
QuoteWhat is the point selecting a player if he isn't comfortable in dealing with the media.

Ironically that is probably the whole point. Great move by the Dubs I reckon, they don't want the hype to start about them winning the AI until at least May, when the soccer is over.
Post by: blanketattack on February 06, 2013, 04:45:18 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 05, 2013, 05:07:36 PM
He was captain of the International Rules team in 2011, but didn't do any media interviews etc. Ciaran McKeever was voice captain and looked after that. Mckeever even did the speech accepting the Cup, when Ireland won the series.

What is the point selecting a player if he isn't comfortable in dealing with the media.

How apt!
Post by: orangeman on May 11, 2014, 06:58:09 PM
The Dubs have it all worked out :

Keepers enjoy new freedom

Stephen Cluxton's influence has altered way goalkeepers play

Gary Matthews: 'We work with the 600g ball. A regular match ball is only 450g so you saw improved results very quickly
Damian Lawlor– Published 11 May 2014 02:30 AM

Two weeks ago, the Dublin under 15 development squad were playing a tournament game when midfielder Neil Matthews was summoned to kick a 45-metre free.

The team had only recently started working with a size five ball and so Matthews, son of the Dublin academy goalkeeping coach Gary, was the obvious choice for place-kicking duties. He is big and strong for his age and although his approach and technique were good, the effort fell short.

There's a culture of intensity and excellence in Dublin's underage academy these days, so the next time they were awarded a '45, another player was asked to strike it. This time it was their goalkeeper James Keoghan.

"James strode down the field and stuck it," recalls Gary Matthews. "My young lad was bigger and taller, but James hit that shot with ease. Goalkeepers are now hitting '45s and kick-outs from a young age, over and over again. It's become a reflex action and they see how the position has been refined by Stephen Cluxton and Niall Morgan."

Keepers average 23 kick-outs per game, so that's 23 chances to perfect their technique in each match. "They are now learning from a young age not to force their kicks or they will lose technique. Instead, they put all their energy into steering the ball in the right direction."

From under 14 to under 18, every Dublin goalkeeper is working with a low tee, not the brush tee used at senior level. That means that each 'keeper can approach a '45, place the ball on the merest tuft of grass and just let their technique take over. "It basically ensures that they can come out the field and kick off grass in the most natural manner possible," Matthews says. "So you're going to see a lot more of this in the future."

People from outside the capital are fearful that Dublin, with their vast resources and playing pool, will surge away from the pack in the coming years. But apart from their wealth and golden brand identity, the truth is they are also working harder than most to widen their competitive advantage.

At senior level, for instance, Stephen Cluxton has been working with a weighted 600g ball for the past seven seasons. It means that a normal ball can almost be treated like a balloon relative to the heavier ball he trains with. Matthews served as Cluxton's goalkeeping coach for six years and together they worked to develop every muscle that Cluxton uses in match-day situations. Before long, Matthews noticed how Cluxton's distance and accuracy had improved.

"He was literally kicking balls to the wing with the accuracy of a Peter Schmeichel throw," Matthews says. "Schmeichel worked with a 1kg ball on his throws. You couldn't bring that into the GAA so we work with the 600g ball. A regular match ball is only 450g so you saw improved results very quickly."

Goalkeepers kicking frees is no new practice in the GAA. Offaly's Pádraig Kelly was renowned for that skill in the early part of the noughties, for example. Tipperary's Philly Ryan spent 16 years at senior level in the gold jersey and said that he often fancied a crack at kicking 45s but could never get the ball from his team-mates.

"It just wasn't the done thing," says Ryan, who played for his county across all levels from 1995 to 2004. "But what Cluxton and Niall Morgan have done, apart from the place-kicking, is to raise the profile of the goalkeeper. They are now orchestrators of attack, not just netminders. When I was playing, you would nearly be shot for playing a quick one, or a short one. The tactics

were primitive enough and there were nights at training when I'd literally be left to myself, bored off me rocker. Then at the end of a session the lads would come up and try to take the head off me by drilling shots at me. That was a 'goalkeeping session' back then."

Nowadays it's footwork and handling drills, vertical jumping. Engineering quicker restarts and marshalling the defence. There are many other parts of the job specification.

From the time of Nolan's emergence to the trail set by Cluxton and company, goalkeepers like Brian Scanlon from Limerick and Portlaoise's Mick Nolan have helped raise the bar for those in the No 1 shirt. Scanlon hit a league title-winning free for Limerick against Waterford in Croke Park in 2010, while Nolan, despite conceding three early goals, showed his nerve to nail a '45 at a crucial time in a Leinster championship match against Longford Slashers last November.

The fact that Cluxton was Dublin's second highest scorer after Bernard Brogan last year (he scored 0-15), while Morgan hit 19 points in last year's league, tells you just how much the goalkeeping role has evolved. All of Cluxton's points came from frees and '45s and had Morgan not sustained a season-ending knee injury last June, he could have threatened the Dubliner's position at the top of the charts.

Critics are starting to get over the amount of time it takes 'keepers to hit a free up the pitch, and are instead figuring out ways to stop them raising white flags. Last May, Donegal placed three players with arms raised in front of Morgan. The plan worked – after a sensational league Morgan looked rattled and had an off-day.

Still, opposing sides will have to keep working because Cluxton, Morgan and others are demanding continual improvement and analysis. Matthews himself is already looking for a Grade 1 goalkeeping coaching certificate to be introduced to the GAA manual.

"It's non-stop, the demand for information from goalkeepers, and I think it needs to become part of the coaching formula.

"It's interesting to see how teams are stepping up their approach to this discipline now," Matthews continues. "I notice that questions are constantly being asked about goalkeepers. Like, could he have saved that? The days of a goal going in and everyone saying nothing could have been done about it are over. Now the only question is: is there a better 'keeper around?"

That was the reason Matthews, a former League of Ireland soccer player and qualified Uefa coach, got involved with the Dubs. After watching Owen Mulligan's wonder-goal knock Dublin out of the championship in 2005, Matthews rang Paul Clarke, a selector during Pillar Caffrey's tenure. The wider GAA world was still raving about Mulligan's swashbuckling run and devastating finish, but Matthews felt Cluxton opened his body up which reduced his chance of making a save.

He told Clarke that and ahead of the 2006 season took a session with Cluxton. It took some time to gain his trust, but eventually they forged a good working relationship and Matthews joined the set-up officially in 2006, staying there until Davy Byrne came in under Jim Gavin last year.

Matthews says that Cluxton has subsequently laid the foundation for a new era of goalkeeping.

"In many ways we are doing the same things goalkeepers were always asked to do," he notes. "But we're being asked to do them better. Stephen's kicks are into space and it's up to the outfielders to run into the relevant channels. That lifts the bar for them. If they do that right, the likes of Niall Morgan or Stephen will find you. We're also now encouraging 'keepers to attack the ball in one-on-one positions – 'into the line, down the line' is the phrase we use. It's basically encouraging aggression in making a block, instead of taking a step back and opening up the shoulders."

In the Dublin set-up, kick-outs are no longer referred to as such. Instead, they are called 'possession restarts'. It's a more positive description aiming to take the risk element out of kick-outs.

Philly Ryan argues, though, that 'keepers are becoming more renowned for those restarts than for making actual saves. "Sometimes you can go quite a while without seeing a proper point-blank save," he says. "That's disappointing but it shows how the new ways are perceived. Distribution is as important as making a block. It's hard for me to get my head around that, I suppose, but the game has changed. The lads are attackers now as much as defenders."

In an interview last year, Pascal McConnell recalled how his initial approach to goalkeeping involved carrying a pair of heavy rugby boots with him for the sole aim of hoofing the ball as far as he possibly could. McConnell realised, though, that things had to change when he saw no championship action in 2007.

"That's when I knew I really had to look at the whole thing again, especially in terms of where I was with my game," he says. "That rugby boot I had worn for years was just designed for gung-ho kick-outs the whole time. If I had tried to pick out a man who was just 30 yards away, I might just as easily have taken out the umpire behind me! So everything had to be looked at, right down to my kicking technique. I was looking at taking fewer steps and focusing on getting the ball to the man I wanted.

"Now everything has gone to a new level and that's been led by Stephen Cluxton. The man's a master craftsman. There's so much emphasis now on analysis and recovery, strength and conditioning and dissecting opposition teams – as well as your own game plan. Possession is absolutely vital from the kick-out so the opposition are under pressure right away."

Ryan agrees. "There's been a massive change. Now the goalkeeping position isn't just about standing in there and stopping goals. You're the vital cog now. You're the playmaker, the spare man and the sweeper. And if you don't make a block you still get f**ed out of it."

Matthews would like to see more flexibility work in the discipline, but says the prehab process helps keep goalkeepers relatively injury-free. With the future Dubs, he continues to preach the same principles – working on high balls, keeping possession from kickouts, catching when surrounded by a lot of bodies and trying to dispel the traditional ways of lobbing a rocket down on top of four towers at centrefield.

He uses the 2013 league final as a template when Cluxton emerged from his goal-line to take control of the ball on eight occasions and dispatched a perfect pass each time.

"We're operating on the same basic principles," he concludes. Maybe so, but there's a whole new line of attack.
Post by: Syferus on May 11, 2014, 07:17:00 PM
Cluxton is perhaps the greatest of all time in goals but the crediting of him popularising - or even innovating - with free-taking and varied kick-outs is a whitewashing of history. Cake says hi.
Post by: INDIANA on May 11, 2014, 07:41:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 11, 2014, 07:17:00 PM
Cluxton is perhaps the greatest of all time in goals but the crediting of him popularising - or even innovating - with free-taking and varied kick-outs is a whitewashing of history. Cake says hi.

Cluxton is the best keeper of the modern era.
Post by: under the bar on May 11, 2014, 11:49:44 PM
QuoteCluxton is the best keeper of the modern era.

And GAA's first ever professional keeper.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2014, 12:32:50 AM
Quote from: under the bar on May 11, 2014, 11:49:44 PM

Plenty of county keepers have been on actual professional bankrolls as goalkeepers. Cluxton has always been about the big bucks, though.

http://www.thescore.ie/dublin-goalkeeper-cluxton-snubs-e30000-sponsorship-deal-233771-Sep2011/

It's hard not to like Cluxton or his attitude and way of conducting himself. He is for goalkeepers what Gooch is for forwards.
Post by: heffo on May 12, 2014, 09:35:42 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 12, 2014, 12:32:50 AM
Quote from: under the bar on May 11, 2014, 11:49:44 PM

Plenty of county keepers have been on actual professional bankrolls as goalkeepers. Cluxton has always been about the big bucks, though.

http://www.thescore.ie/dublin-goalkeeper-cluxton-snubs-e30000-sponsorship-deal-233771-Sep2011/

It's hard not to like Cluxton or his attitude and way of conducting himself. He is for goalkeepers what Gooch is for forwards.

He was in school teaching the morning after they won it in 2011
Post by: Jinxy on May 12, 2014, 02:31:37 PM
Where would a man get hold of a set of bigger balls?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 12, 2014, 02:36:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 12, 2014, 02:31:37 PM

You might try a Russian bathhouse.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 12, 2014, 04:32:40 PM

Which of your county men are they for?
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2014, 04:35:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 12, 2014, 04:32:40 PM

Which of your county men are they for?

The ones in Westmeath, I assume.
Post by: macker15 on June 22, 2021, 10:37:11 AM
Did I hear right Cluxton has retired? Didnt see anything on news but hasn't played this year?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 22, 2021, 10:52:57 AM
Quote from: macker15 on June 22, 2021, 10:37:11 AM
Did I hear right Cluxton has retired? Didnt see anything on news but hasn't played this year?

So you think you heard and have not read about Cluxton?
Post by: Hound on June 22, 2021, 12:43:10 PM
Heard what supposedly was a strong rumour last week that a Dublin first team player has retired or opted out this year (on top of Jack and Mannion), but don't know if there's any substance in it and haven't checked to see what rumours are on any Dubs GAA sites.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2021, 02:12:12 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 22, 2021, 12:43:10 PM
Heard what supposedly was a strong rumour last week that a Dublin first team player has retired or opted out this year (on top of Jack and Mannion), but don't know if there's any substance in it and haven't checked to see what rumours are on any Dubs GAA sites.
Won't be any surprise if Cluxton does call time on his county career. He's 40 in September and the type of fellow that wouldn't let the media know that he has retired
Post by: Tyrdub on June 22, 2021, 03:14:41 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 22, 2021, 12:43:10 PM

There's substance in it alright
Post by: yellowcard on June 22, 2021, 03:28:11 PM
Cluxton is liable to just walk away with no fuss with no press releases or tweets. I know he is getting on in years but the timing would be very strange given the short nature of this season and the opportunity for him to win a record 9th AI medal.   
Post by: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 10:28:04 AM
According to David Brady he has retired. Huge blow for Dublin end of an era.
Post by: Tyrdub on June 23, 2021, 10:51:36 AM
He told a few club mates at the weekend that he was done, had enough. He's away, seemingly, on a short break, so we might not get a full announcement which is exactly how he would want it
Post by: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 11:01:42 AM
It puts a different complexion on the championship altogether then. He was still Dublins most important player and although Comerford looks like a decent keeper he has not come under any great scrutiny in championship football. His kickout will be targeted now by other top teams this year.

Cluxton undoubtedly was the best keeper in GAA history, he revolutionised the position so much so that all other top keepers are now viewed as semi clones of his.     
Post by: TheGreatest on June 23, 2021, 11:45:51 AM
Id hold my breath until the first or second round of championship, he did play a challenge match at the weekend with his club though, centre back.
Post by: BennyCake on June 23, 2021, 12:13:07 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 11:01:42 AM
It puts a different complexion on the championship altogether then. He was still Dublins most important player and although Comerford looks like a decent keeper he has not come under any great scrutiny in championship football. His kickout will be targeted now by other top teams this year.

Cluxton undoubtedly was the best keeper in GAA history, he revolutionised the position so much so that all other top keepers are now viewed as semi clones of his.   

Me arse.

McGeeney revolutionised the goalkeeper position by beginning the fly goalie revolution back in 2016 v Cavan. Look how many have copied it since. Sure keepers never are on their line these days. That was more influential than anything Cluxton ever did.
Post by: johnnycool on June 23, 2021, 12:13:19 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 22, 2021, 03:28:11 PM
Cluxton is liable to just walk away with no fuss with no press releases or tweets. I know he is getting on in years but the timing would be very strange given the short nature of this season and the opportunity for him to win a record 9th AI medal.   

You get the impression from Cluxton that these things don't really bother or matter to him all that much.

Great keeper who has a strong sense of decency running through him and is as admirable as his undoubted footballing abilities.
Post by: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 12:46:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 23, 2021, 12:13:07 PM

Me arse.

McGeeney revolutionised the goalkeeper position by beginning the fly goalie revolution back in 2016 v Cavan. Look how many have copied it since. Sure keepers never are on their line these days. That was more influential than anything Cluxton ever did.

Very true. Similar to the Bosman and the Panenka terms in soccer, it really should be known as 'doing a Courtney' when a gaelic football keeper comes marauding up the pitch. Revolutionary stuff alright!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2021, 12:56:13 PM

Fully agree on this. He revolutionised goalkeeping and Brian Dooher revolutionised the half forward position.

I don't think Dublin will be quite as good without him but they will still basically be unbeatable.
Post by: BennyCake on June 23, 2021, 01:06:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 23, 2021, 12:56:13 PM

Fully agree on this. He revolutionised goalkeeping and Brian Dooher revolutionised the half forward position.

I don't think Dublin will be quite as good without him but they will still basically be unbeatable.

Greg Blaney revolutionised the half forward position.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 01:15:21 PM
Larry Tompkins revolutionised going to a county that had a hope of winning an AI.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 01:18:37 PM
Pat Spillane revolutionised diving and playing dead in Gaelic football.
Post by: Armagh18 on June 23, 2021, 01:24:19 PM
If he has retired- all the very best to him. What player!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2021, 01:31:55 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 23, 2021, 01:06:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 23, 2021, 12:56:13 PM

Greg Blaney revolutionised the half forward position.

Ok to be more specific the wing half forward position.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 02:09:07 PM
The GAA revolutionised Dublin. What a success story that has turned out to be?
Post by: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:11:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 02:09:07 PM
The GAA revolutionised Dublin. What a success story that has turned out to be?

You need a hobby
Post by: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:13:43 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 12:46:53 PM

Me arse.

Very true. Similar to the Bosman and the Panenka terms in soccer, it really should be known as 'doing a Courtney' when a gaelic football keeper comes marauding up the pitch. Revolutionary stuff alright!

Cake curran was doing 20 year ago
Post by: Tyrdub on June 23, 2021, 02:15:24 PM
Quote from: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:13:43 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 23, 2021, 12:46:53 PM

Me arse.

Cake curran was doing 20 year ago

Cluxton started 20 years ago too, I'd say there's a few differences between them
Post by: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:16:17 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 01:18:37 PM
Pat Spillane revolutionised diving and playing dead in Gaelic football.

Greatest wing forward of all time . Dont be so spiteful
Post by: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:19:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 23, 2021, 01:15:21 PM
Larry Tompkins revolutionised going to a county that had a hope of winning an AI.

Andy Moran(Roscommon),Tom Parsons(Sligo),Keegan(Cavan),O'sheas(kerry) and Vaughan(cork) ye didn't have same luck
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 23, 2021, 02:38:13 PM

Tompkins was some man, joining a county's who biggest rivals had won 7 out of the previous 9 All Irelands was definitely motivated by the promise of success!!!

If only he'd have lived with Mayo men out in New York I suspect you'd have broke your duck a long time ago.

Post by: rodney trotter on June 24, 2021, 08:48:22 AM
Ciaran Kilkenny now saying Cluxton is back in training with Dublin
Post by: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 09:24:58 AM
Quote from: macker15 on June 23, 2021, 02:19:32 PM

Andy Moran(Roscommon),Tom Parsons(Sligo),Keegan(Cavan),O'sheas(kerry) and Vaughan(cork) ye didn't have same luck

You forgot James Horan (New Zealand).
Post by: shark on June 24, 2021, 10:33:49 AM

O'Shea's are from Mullingar originally. Their father is from Kerry, and has a couple of Westmeath senior championship medals.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 24, 2021, 10:36:48 AM
Seems he hasn't retired afterall. Apparently he is back training with the panel. According to a dublin GAA fan account on twitter
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 24, 2021, 10:42:53 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 24, 2021, 10:36:48 AM
Seems he hasn't retired afterall. Apparently he is back training with the panel. According to a dublin GAA fan account on twitter

Give someone else a chance
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 24, 2021, 11:00:05 AM
He's back. Close thread
Post by: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 11:12:04 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on June 24, 2021, 11:00:05 AM
He's back. Close thread

I think you mean keep thread open?
Post by: Tyrdub on June 24, 2021, 11:49:45 AM
now I don't know who to believe any more  :o
Post by: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 11:55:53 AM

Who would have read an interview Ciaran Kilkenny did were he said Cluxo is training at the moment with the team
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 24, 2021, 12:06:06 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 24, 2021, 10:42:53 AM

Give someone else a chance
Someone will eventually get the chance however the joy and pure emotion he gives in those after matches speeches will be unmatched.
Post by: yellowcard on June 24, 2021, 12:18:44 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 11:55:53 AM

Who would have read an interview Ciaran Kilkenny did were he said Cluxo is training at the moment with the team

So Ciaran Kilkenny says he is training away with them yet David Brady says he has walked away. Who to believe?

If only we had some GAA journalists who might have Dessie Farrell's phone number.
Post by: TabClear on June 24, 2021, 12:34:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 24, 2021, 12:18:44 PM

So Ciaran Kilkenny says he is training away with them yet David Brady says he has walked away. Who to believe?

If only we had some GAA journalists who might have Dessie Farrell's phone number.

Surely Brolly must know, someone is bound to have confided in wee Joe ;)
Post by: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:13:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 09:24:58 AM

👍 and Tomas Tierney
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2021, 01:19:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 24, 2021, 12:18:44 PM

I'm hoping he hasn't started training with the hurlers ffs!! he'd be a huge player for their team
Post by: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 01:26:12 PM
Quote from: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:13:49 PM

👍 and Tomas Tierney

Martin Carney (Donegal)

Seán Lowry (Offaly)

Tom Reilly (Monaghan)

Post by: rodney trotter on June 24, 2021, 01:27:15 PM
Since when was David Brady in the Dublin camp. He was only going on a hunch because Claxton hadn't played in the league and hadn't returned to training
Post by: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:36:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 01:26:12 PM

👍 and Tomas Tierney

Martin Carney (Donegal)

Seán Lowry (Offaly)

Tom Reilly (Monaghan)

Donegal gave ye back Podge Brogan. Was a Dublin lad too,  Paul Bealin?
Post by: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:36:57 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 24, 2021, 01:27:15 PM
Since when was David Brady in the Dublin camp. He was only going on a hunch because Claxton hadn't played in the league and hadn't returned to training

Does Brady live in Dublin?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 24, 2021, 01:40:24 PM
Quote from: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:36:05 PM

👍 and Tomas Tierney

Martin Carney (Donegal)

Seán Lowry (Offaly)

Tom Reilly (Monaghan)

Quote from: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 01:36:05 PM

👍 and Tomas Tierney

Martin Carney (Donegal)

Seán Lowry (Offaly)

Tom Reilly (Monaghan)

A Dub played for us v Fermanagh in Markovitz Park in 2003. He was living in Crossmolina at the time. He came on in the second half. Was completely off the pace. And taken off later. Can't think of his name.
Post by: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 02:01:33 PM
Enda Sheehy played for Mayo or Sligo in the early noughties
Post by: general on June 24, 2021, 02:30:37 PM
****BREAKING NEWS****

Stephen Cluxton has rejoined the Dublin fold ahead of the opening game of their championship defence.

The return of Dublin's record-breaking skipper was confirmed by Ciarán Kilkenny, with their Leinster SFC opener away to either Wicklow or Wexford now just ten days away.

Cluxton's future has been shrouded in mystery for several weeks, although Dublin selector Mick Galvin had allayed some of those doubts – after their final league outing against Donegal – when saying they expected to have him back "as soon as we step back into championship training".

"Yeah, he is," said Kilkenny, when asked if their 39-year-old 'keeper was now back. "Look, there's a lot of guys that are on the return-to-play list as well and that's the exciting piece, that these guys are coming back in and a lot of other guys are really competitive at the moment and have put their hands up for places.

#Dylan

-Irish Independent.ie
Post by: Hound on June 24, 2021, 02:35:40 PM
It's odd the headlines on both II and rte saying Cluxton "has rejoined", but Kilkenny said he's expected back - so hasn't actually rejoined yet.

Rock is still injured and has not trained, although I did see him out recently and there didn't look to be anything wrong him, so I'm presuming it won't be too long.
Post by: BennyCake on June 24, 2021, 03:18:39 PM
So that'll be 7 photos of the presentation of Sam Maguire the exact same.

Poor Dublin fans won't have a clue what framed presentation photo is from what year. At least we know what year our Sam photo is from!
Post by: Dunsilly King on June 24, 2021, 03:31:55 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 24, 2021, 03:18:39 PM

Poor Dublin fans won't have a clue what framed presentation photo is from what year. At least we know what year our Sam photo is from!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: sid waddell on June 24, 2021, 03:48:30 PM
At the age Cluxton is, he's on the vulnerable list as regards Covid

So understandably there has been a lot of confusion about whether it's safe for him to return

Dublin will need to put a protective cocoon around him if he does
Post by: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 04:12:27 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 02:01:33 PM

Is he a guard?
Post by: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 04:31:26 PM

Tell me about it!!

For the 5 in a row I got the picture of him lifting sam each year put into set that I got signed by him and then framed. Last year I had to have the picture reframed to add a 6th. Adding a 7th means more money and significant wall space for the picture. 
Post by: BennyCake on June 24, 2021, 04:44:28 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 04:31:26 PM

Tell me about it!!

For the 5 in a row I got the picture of him lifting sam each year put into set that I got signed by him and then framed. Last year I had to have the picture reframed to add a 6th. Adding a 7th means more money and significant wall space for the picture.

See what I mean!  ;)

You'll have plans in to build an extension in no time. This success will be end of some of ye Dubs. You'd have been sensible quitting after the one.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 24, 2021, 04:56:55 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 24, 2021, 03:48:30 PM
At the age Cluxton is, he's on the vulnerable list as regards Covid

So understandably there has been a lot of confusion about whether it's safe for him to return

Dublin will need to put a protective cocoon around him if he does
Looks well for over 60.
Post by: fearsiuil on June 25, 2021, 12:46:06 AM
Quote from: macker15 on June 24, 2021, 04:12:27 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 24, 2021, 02:01:33 PM

Is he a guard?
Was on Mayo panel for a short while, think he played a year with Crossmolina. He's a teacher in Clonkeen college.
Post by: yellowcard on June 27, 2021, 11:06:59 PM
Ciaran Whelan seemed to know very little about the Cluxton situation tonight either which is baffling at this stage just one week out from the championship. All he said was that he played for his club at the weekend but doesn't expect him to start in goal for the Dubs in the championship first match. It's a bizarre situation but very little report of it in the media despite him being the captain of the AI champions.
Post by: larryin89 on June 28, 2021, 01:00:52 PM
i personally seen him drive into training about 3 weeks ago on a friday about 5 o clock or just after .
Post by: Onthe40 on June 28, 2021, 01:14:14 PM
Guys they play Wexford next Sunday, I think Cluxton is hardly key for that one.. game time for the sub keepers..he will be back for the business end..
Post by: yellowcard on July 04, 2021, 06:19:04 PM
So Dessie Farrell has confirmed that he has stepped away from Dublin for now. I'd imagine that's him him retired then, seems that David Brady was right all along when he had it weeks ago. This could be a game changer in terms of the AI title now. Psychologically it's a huge blow for Dublin and Kerry must now have a great chance of breaking the Dubs stranglehold.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2021, 06:28:00 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 04, 2021, 06:19:04 PM
So Dessie Farrell has confirmed that he has stepped away from Dublin for now. I'd imagine that's him him retired then, seems that David Brady was right all along when he had it weeks ago. This could be a game changer in terms of the AI title now. Psychologically it's a huge blow for Dublin and Kerry must now have a great chance of breaking the Dubs stranglehold.

I'd think thats him retired also. As I said already the type of fellow that wouldn't let the media know that he's officially retired.

Kerry will still need to improve a lot in defence if they are to meet Dublin later and want to beat them.
Post by: skeog on July 04, 2021, 07:33:27 PM
What a career Stephen has had.Will be missed big time imo.
Post by: StPatsAbu on July 05, 2021, 08:46:15 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 28, 2021, 01:00:52 PM
i personally seen him drive into training about 3 weeks ago on a friday about 5 o clock or just after .

5pm on a Friday is when they lift their cheques. Can't be easy waking away from that gravy train
Post by: larryin89 on July 05, 2021, 08:51:20 AM
Quote from: StPatsAbu on July 05, 2021, 08:46:15 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 28, 2021, 01:00:52 PM

5pm on a Friday is when they lift their cheques. Can't be easy waking away from that gravy train

All jokes aside he most certainly turned into inis faels ground in the Dublin sponsored jeep . Make of that what you will but I know what I saw
Post by: StPatsAbu on July 05, 2021, 08:54:13 AM
Quote from: skeog on July 04, 2021, 07:33:27 PM
What a career Stephen has had.Will be missed big time imo.

Farrell could probably shave €100k off the wage bill if he can get him to retite.
Post by: Will it ever end on July 05, 2021, 08:57:44 AM
Paul Flynn would be one of Stephen's best mates - his words this morning show there's clearly more to this than retiring - hope all is ok.
Post by: lfdown2 on July 05, 2021, 09:10:09 AM
Quote from: Will it ever end on July 05, 2021, 08:57:44 AM
Paul Flynn would be one of Stephen's best mates - his words this morning show there's clearly more to this than retiring - hope all is ok.

He is 100% right, I'm sure Dessie and the squad are suitably informed as to Cluxton's availability or otherwise, what those on the SG are really complaining about is that they don't have the inside track on the story, they nor us have any entitlement to it imo.
Post by: APM on July 05, 2021, 09:47:09 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on July 05, 2021, 09:10:09 AM

He is 100% right, I'm sure Dessie and the squad are suitably informed as to Cluxton's availability or otherwise, what those on the SG are really complaining about is that they don't have the inside track on the story, they nor us have any entitlement to it imo.

What did Flynn say?
Post by: lfdown2 on July 05, 2021, 09:57:15 AM
Quote from: APM on July 05, 2021, 09:47:09 AM

What did Flynn say?

https://twitter.com/Flinto23/status/1411952520541487105 (https://twitter.com/Flinto23/status/1411952520541487105)

"Stephen Cluxton deserves time and space if he needs/wants it. It's an amateur sport, he isn't contracted or obligated play. He can opt in or out or be deselected at any time! Nobody knows what's going on in any players life as to why they need/ want a break. Nonsense on the SG!"
Post by: imtommygunn on July 05, 2021, 10:32:03 AM
It's a problem with society. The "public" don't own these people. You read the thread and it's like he owes x, y and z. Whoever in the dublin squad probably knows what is going on with him and it's nobody else's business.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 05, 2021, 10:37:54 AM
He owes nobody anything. I'm sure the Dublin management know whether or not he will be back. Pundits are just trying to create a story and are raging he hasn't made a statement and are kept out of the loop.

If he has retired all the very best to him. What a player.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2021, 11:04:46 AM
Unfortunately for him by not saying anything he is generating more wind in terms of speculation and comment.

He owes nobody anything so if he wants to do a Greta Garbo then that should be fine with everyone.

Vacant manager's position in Longford..........
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 05, 2021, 11:06:21 AM
I am sure Dessie and the management team are not as 'in the dark' as the headlines will tell you. They know Cluxton is a private fella and will only ever give away the bare minimum.

Cluxton was never going to take to Insta to thank the fans or do a big sit-down chat and f**k it he doesn't need to tell people anything. He was due back and now he is staying with the club a bit longer.

Post by: yellowcard on July 05, 2021, 11:23:45 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 05, 2021, 11:06:21 AM
I am sure Dessie and the management team are not as 'in the dark' as the headlines will tell you. They know Cluxton is a private fella and will only ever give away the bare minimum.

Cluxton was never going to take to Insta to thank the fans or do a big sit-down chat and f**k it he doesn't need to tell people anything. He was due back and now he is staying with the club a bit longer.

You have to admire Cluxton, he is his own man and doesn't give a stuff about the media or worrying about press releases unlike some players with a fraction of his standing in the game. I do get the impression that Dessie Farrell isn't being honest with the public here though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2021, 11:30:18 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 05, 2021, 11:23:45 AM

You have to admire Cluxton, he is his own man and doesn't give a stuff about the media or worrying about press releases unlike some players with a fraction of his standing in the game. I do get the impression that Dessie Farrell isn't being honest with the public here though.

Its got nothing to do with the public in fairness, whether Dessie feels what he said covers the truth or not is not up for debate really, was great to hear ones complaining on Sunday sport
Post by: Armagh18 on July 05, 2021, 11:37:12 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2021, 11:30:18 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 05, 2021, 11:23:45 AM

Its got nothing to do with the public in fairness, whether Dessie feels what he said covers the truth or not is not up for debate really, was great to hear ones complaining on Sunday sport
Absolutely
Post by: HP on July 05, 2021, 11:44:37 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on July 05, 2021, 09:57:15 AM

What did Flynn say?

https://twitter.com/Flinto23/status/1411952520541487105 (https://twitter.com/Flinto23/status/1411952520541487105)

"Stephen Cluxton deserves time and space if he needs/wants it. It's an amateur sport, he isn't contracted or obligated play. He can opt in or out or be deselected at any time! Nobody knows what's going on in any players life as to why they need/ want a break. Nonsense on the SG!"

That's it, why does he have to officially retire how many here "retired" from club action!
Post by: APM on July 05, 2021, 11:50:59 AM
Quote from: HP on July 05, 2021, 11:44:37 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on July 05, 2021, 09:57:15 AM

What did Flynn say?

That's it, why does he have to officially retire how many here "retired" from club action!

He is reputed to be very private.  When the big names retire, there is a routine these days where they announce it and then lap up the plaudits.  I can understand why players do it.  But if you are private and think all of that is a load of bollocks, I can understand why you wouldn't be arsed. 

But then again, that might have absolutely nothing to do with it ...... ;D

Post by: rodney trotter on July 05, 2021, 11:57:40 AM
He could still let the management know either way. Its no good for Evan Comferford  not knowing if he going to lose his spot if Cluxton goes back in. But I doubt he will at this stage.

There was some rumours Cluxton was annoyed about the Dublin training session during lockdown.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2021, 12:45:32 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 05, 2021, 11:57:40 AM
He could still let the management know either way. Its no good for Evan Comferford  not knowing if he going to lose his spot if Cluxton goes back in. But I doubt he will at this stage.

There was some rumours Cluxton was annoyed about the Dublin training session during lockdown.

If McCaffery made himself available again, he'd be taking someone's position, all players shouldn't think the position is theirs until the get the nod, hopefully Comerford keeps it when/if Cluxton comes back, to be honest the 14 other players usually win the game, and as good as Cluxton is I've always felt for most parts the better players were outfield players
Post by: rodney trotter on July 05, 2021, 12:55:01 PM
I don't see him coming back at this stage.  The season will be wrapped up in August. Cluxton was always committed to playing some part in the league and early rounds of championship

Post by: larryin89 on July 05, 2021, 04:14:20 PM
Hes so private and likes to do things on the low key , like sweeping the dressing room after winning the all Ireland,  I'd say he was awful upset when there was pics taken of him doing that him been soooooo low key and all that .
Post by: tonto1888 on July 05, 2021, 10:05:41 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 05, 2021, 04:14:20 PM
Hes so private and likes to do things on the low key , like sweeping the dressing room after winning the all Ireland,  I'd say he was awful upset when there was pics taken of him doing that him been soooooo low key and all that .

Did cluxton shite in your cornflakes one morning or something?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 05, 2021, 11:28:00 PM
Cluxton is a strange man and its no surprise we are in a strange situation.

He is either in or he is out. Short term, long term, doesn't matter. If he wants a year off, best of luck to him, he deserves it. Put he needs to piss or get off the pot.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 06, 2021, 09:17:34 AM
A lot of clowns on this thread as usual...  ;) I know you are all sick of the sight of Cluxton, but you cant deny his achievements and his contributions to GAA.

Agree with the above, if hes gone, hes gone, move on quickly, there is an all Ireland to be won. Dublin will be there or there abouts, a lot of new (ish) faces starting, may not be our year. Need Small back in the centre anyway and Rock starting etc.

Also bad news for you, Comerford is an excellent keeper and he will only get better.

Post by: Armagh18 on July 06, 2021, 10:00:37 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 05, 2021, 11:28:00 PM

He is either in or he is out. Short term, long term, doesn't matter. If he wants a year off, best of luck to him, he deserves it. Put he needs to piss or get off the pot.
[/b]Surprised to read this from a Dub tbh. I'm sure the people who need to know, know and for the rest of us it's none of our business.

Some loss if he is gone though. Comerford is a very good keeper but not on Cluxtons level. Maybe gives the rest of us some hope now!
Post by: yellowcard on July 06, 2021, 10:01:09 AM

A year out? He's 40 this year and the season is over next month so it's hardly a year off at this stage. If he doesn't come back he is finished.
Post by: Hound on July 06, 2021, 10:06:08 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 06, 2021, 10:00:37 AM

[/b]Surprised to read this from a Dub tbh. I'm sure the people who need to know, know and for the rest of us it's none of our business.

Some loss if he is gone though. Comerford is a very good keeper but not on Cluxtons level. Maybe gives the rest of us some hope now!

BB is a soccer Dub.

Many soccer Dubs hate the Dubs gaelic team more than any other group in the country. Not saying BB is on that level, as he seems to dislike other teams more.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2021, 10:18:01 AM
Seems that Cluxton wanted to slip into the background with little fanfare so that young Comerford would not be pushed into the spotlight on his breakthrough season. Ironically if that is the case the way it has generated interest has had the converse effect and brought the 'will he/won't be' to the forefront. I'd say the players themselves know the story and it is simply a matter of playing the same tune when approached by the press etc.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 06, 2021, 10:30:58 AM
Yeah there seems to be a school of thought that cluxton is very wrong here. I doubt it. Just a private person and where is the harm in that.
Post by: johnnycool on July 06, 2021, 11:35:34 AM

As long as Dessie Farrell and his team mates know the real story it doesn't matter two shiny shites what we and journalists know or don't know about his situation.

He's an amateur player giving up his time for free. Should he not want to do that anymore it's his business and his business alone.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 06, 2021, 11:51:36 AM
Do we honestly believe Dessie Farrell when he says that's all he knows?
And then there are two strands saying it's going to heap pressure on Comerford and another saying it's taking pressure off him and the rest of the team...

Comerford would not be wearing that jersey if he wasn't fit to handle it. All the talk is only a distraction on the outside and I am sure those within the camp know the full story and will plough on no matter.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 06, 2021, 12:18:12 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 06, 2021, 10:06:08 AM

BB is a soccer Dub.

Many soccer Dubs hate the Dubs gaelic team more than any other group in the country. Not saying BB is on that level, as he seems to dislike other teams more.

That doesn't even make sense
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 06, 2021, 12:20:15 PM

None of our business? I don't think its unreasonable for a team, management and fans to know if a player plans on showing up for a game or not. Legend or not, its not on to leave everyone guessing.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 06, 2021, 12:25:45 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 06, 2021, 12:20:15 PM

None of our business? I don't think its unreasonable for a team, management and fans to know if a player plans on showing up for a game or not. Legend or not, its not on to leave everyone guessing.

The team and management know. That's what matters
Post by: trailer on July 06, 2021, 12:40:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 06, 2021, 12:25:45 PM

I agree. The idea that DF doesn't know the story is ludicrous. It's a private matter.

I will say this, for a such a professionally run team they have made a mess of this. They should just say he's stepped away for some time while he deals with a personal issue / deals with work commitments / regains some fitness / takes time out to spend with family.... anything as a general holding statement.

Post by: imtommygunn on July 06, 2021, 12:41:29 PM
You wonder what Jim Gavin would have done.

Farrell clearly knows whatever is going on.
Post by: Louther on July 06, 2021, 12:53:28 PM
Stephen Cluxton was always one that seems to operate in his parameters. I'm not surprised he just walked away but doesn't feel the need to clarify that or make it a thing, he just either playing or not playing in his eyes. While it has turned into a drama in others eyes, he likely doesn't see it that way at all.

Maybe Dessie could have handled it better, say that we have a squad in place and are moving forward with that, door not closed but we planning with who we have blah blah blah. Don't think he could win no matter what he said but it feels like he has said nothing. Could be the case he trying to be honest and said as much as he knows. You just get the feeling that Jim Gavin wouldn't have let it go this way but he did take Connolly back late into a season.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 06, 2021, 01:13:09 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 06, 2021, 12:25:45 PM

That is not my understanding
Post by: dublin7 on July 06, 2021, 01:18:14 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 06, 2021, 11:35:34 AM

As long as Dessie Farrell and his team mates know the real story it doesn't matter two shiny shites what we and journalists know or don't know about his situation.

He's an amateur player giving up his time for free. Should he not want to do that anymore it's his business and his business alone.

+1 Dessie Farrell has no obligation to say anything to the media. I'm sure the players and management are well aware of his intentions and it would typical of his personality to try and quietly bow out rather than having to deal with all the hassle from the press demanding interviews if he is retiring
Post by: Tubberman on July 06, 2021, 01:39:49 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 06, 2021, 01:18:14 PM

+1 Dessie Farrell has no obligation to say anything to the media. I'm sure the players and management are well aware of his intentions and it would typical of his personality to try and quietly bow out rather than having to deal with all the hassle from the press demanding interviews if he is retiring

Except he's doing the opposite. He's creating an "is he/isn't he" circus around it. He doesn't have to release a statement or do interviews.
He just needs to tell Dessie Farrel "I'm finished" or "I'll be at next training session". Stop the messin.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 06, 2021, 01:55:39 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 06, 2021, 01:39:49 PM

Except he's doing the opposite. He's creating an "is he/isn't he" circus around it. He doesn't have to release a statement or do interviews.
He just needs to tell Dessie Farrel "I'm finished" or "I'll be at next training session". Stop the messin.
But how do we know he hasn't?
Post by: Tubberman on July 06, 2021, 02:09:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 06, 2021, 01:55:39 PM

If he did, why would Farrell say he doesn't know whether his captain will be playing for hsi team or not?
It just makes him look weak and not in control.
Post by: lfdown2 on July 06, 2021, 02:20:14 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 06, 2021, 02:09:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 06, 2021, 01:55:39 PM

If he did, why would Farrell say he doesn't know whether his captain will be playing for hsi team or not?
It just makes him look weak and not in control.

To whom? Anyone outside the 'group' is completely irrelevant, if it is those within the squad then it is a problem but I would be surprised if that is the case.
Post by: StPatsAbu on July 06, 2021, 08:37:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 06, 2021, 12:41:29 PM
You wonder what Jim Gavin would have done.

Farrell clearly knows whatever is going on.

Jim would have asked for more money of course
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2021, 01:40:41 AM
(https://i.ibb.co/pJWp9t6/Screenshot-20210708-013850-2.png) (https://ibb.co/zG8w0yW)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2021, 09:28:27 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2021, 01:40:41 AM
(https://i.ibb.co/pJWp9t6/Screenshot-20210708-013850-2.png) (https://ibb.co/zG8w0yW)

He must be gone from Dublin so.
Post by: Dabh on July 08, 2021, 12:05:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2021, 01:40:41 AM

in all fairness -   a Dublin division 3 north game has got to be more appealing than a Leinster Championship game
Perhaps he wants to play outfield for Dublin and Dessie will not let him..
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 08, 2021, 05:35:37 PM
IMO, we have seen the last of Stephen Cluxton in a Dublin jersey. There's no way he'd leave Dublin in the dark about his intentions - the pressure on Evan Comerford would be tremendous and there would be an unsettling effect on the entire squad. Instead there is an insane amount  of speculation about his future plans.
That suits Dublin very well as it takes the media focus off Comerford and lets the panel get on with their preparations with a minimum of  distraction.
Dessie Farrell may well be telling the truth when he said Stephen hasn't said (out loud) that he was  retiring but it was an ambiguous statement. He may have said that he might consider returning but he gave no information one way or the other. He will probably never declare publicly that he has retired but he certainly won't say he intends to come back again.
Post by: BennyCake on July 08, 2021, 06:13:42 PM
If Farrell knows he has retired, it's disrespectful to Cluxton if he's telling the media otherwise. Cluxton being a very private person, I'd imagine he's not enjoying all the focus
Post by: caprea on July 08, 2021, 06:18:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 08, 2021, 06:13:42 PM
If Farrell knows he has retired, it's disrespectful to Cluxton if he's telling the media otherwise. Cluxton being a very private person, I'd imagine he's not enjoying all the focus

It's cluxton's desire to retire this way
Post by: MayoBuck on July 08, 2021, 06:41:19 PM

If Cluxton has retired, surely Farrell would prefer to say it now and draw a line under it. The way it's left, Farrell is going to keep getting asked the question after every Dublin match.
Post by: caprea on July 08, 2021, 06:56:09 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 08, 2021, 06:41:19 PM

If Cluxton has retired, surely Farrell would prefer to say it now and draw a line under it. The way it's left, Farrell is going to keep getting asked the question after every Dublin match.

You'd imagine he would prefer it. Cluxton prefers it this way. He's the one retiring
Post by: From the Bunker on July 08, 2021, 09:55:09 PM
Glen Whelan never retired from playing for Ireland.

Cluxton is doing the same!
Post by: trailer on July 08, 2021, 10:09:09 PM
Parkinson had plenty to say on it. Doesn't seem to have much love for Cluxton.
Post by: caprea on July 09, 2021, 01:13:58 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 08, 2021, 09:55:09 PM

He's not doing the same. Whelan stopped getting picked. Cluxton has walked away, told the manager as much, wants to keep it private beyond those within the Dublin setup.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 09, 2021, 07:56:51 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 08, 2021, 10:09:09 PM

It was no bother to Scruff taking the dollar to play for  Parnells, Scruff has a chip with everyone. Cluxton didn't like that all the mercs were joining the senior team, he probably did not like scruff and all the other blow ins.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 09, 2021, 09:37:16 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 09, 2021, 07:56:51 AM

It was no bother to Scruff taking the dollar to play for  Parnells, Scruff has a chip with everyone. Cluxton didn't like that all the mercs were joining the senior team, he probably did not like scruff and all the other blow ins.

And now i that recollect, i believe he dropped down to the Inter team during that period because of it. Lots in Parnells were not happy with was going on, bet you scruff didnt mention any of that on his podcast
Post by: Louther on July 09, 2021, 10:23:54 AM
I would imagine that Cluxton has as much respect or time for Parkinson as the man on the moon. Was well known the carry on in Parnells at the time and Parkinson and his like at the time had no interest in the club for the money and cushy jobs. Half of them only played round the championship and even disappeared to USA for the summers. He has some neck on him critiquing any player for not showing up.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 09, 2021, 03:53:32 PM
An interesting article.

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/07/06/news/kicking-out-cluxton-sacrificng-farewell-to-give-comerford-cover-the-last-mark-of-greatness-2376742/
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2021, 04:10:09 PM
Trying to remember who played in goals for Dublin between John O'Leary and Cluxton. I'm sure there must have been one or two.
Post by: dublin7 on July 09, 2021, 04:24:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2021, 04:10:09 PM
Trying to remember who played in goals for Dublin between John O'Leary and Cluxton. I'm sure there must have been one or two.

Davy Byrne had a short spell as keeper under Tommy Carr. He had been the sub keeper behind John O'Leary.

Cluxton actually made his debut as Davy was injured. Tommy left out Cluxton for the Leinster Final to bring back Davy Byrne and he dropped a high ball for Meath to score a goal that was the difference between the teams (Dubs threw that game away) Following season Cluxton was No.1 and has been ever since
Post by: shark on July 09, 2021, 04:31:32 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 09, 2021, 04:24:28 PM

Davy Byrne had a short spell as keeper under Tommy Carr. He had been the sub keeper behind John O'Leary.

Cluxton actually made his debut as Davy was injured. Tommy left out Cluxton for the Leinster Final to bring back Davy Byrne and he dropped a high ball for Meath to score a goal that was the difference between the teams (Dubs threw that game away) Following season Cluxton was No.1 and has been ever since

Think Byrne was in goals when Westmeath beat Dublin in 2004. Or maybe it was someone else. Cluxton was suspended.
Post by: Gael85 on July 09, 2021, 05:13:31 PM
Quote from: shark on July 09, 2021, 04:31:32 PM

Think Byrne was in goals when Westmeath beat Dublin in 2004. Or maybe it was someone else. Cluxton was suspended.

Brian Murphy was in goal for Dublin v Westmeath.  He played minor for Kerry in 94. Transferred to Naomh Barrog in the  early noughties .
Post by: Gael85 on July 09, 2021, 05:16:06 PM

David Byrne played in goal in 98-01. He managed Ratoath in Meath for a couple years.
Post by: shark on July 09, 2021, 06:07:31 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 09, 2021, 05:13:31 PM
Quote from: shark on July 09, 2021, 04:31:32 PM

Brian Murphy was in goal for Dublin v Westmeath.  He played minor for Kerry in 94. Transferred to Naomh Barrog in the  early noughties .

Ah yes. That name rings a bell.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 09, 2021, 07:17:21 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 09, 2021, 03:53:32 PM
An interesting article.

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/07/06/news/kicking-out-cluxton-sacrificng-farewell-to-give-comerford-cover-the-last-mark-of-greatness-2376742/

Good article
Post by: mup on July 09, 2021, 10:16:14 PM

Oh the irony of Cluxton not liking the mercs in his club.

No bother with it when playing for Dublin.

Post by: Hound on July 10, 2021, 05:04:19 PM
Parnells very similar to Kildare alright the way they wasted their money. Both wasted huge money looking for shortcuts and failed badly. At least both are on the right track now
Post by: Gael85 on July 10, 2021, 05:47:56 PM
Quote from: mup on July 09, 2021, 10:16:14 PM

;D ;D When did Kildare people get so bitter?
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 06:01:03 PM
First time in 19 cup presentations to a Dublin captain it hasn't been Stephen Cluxton.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 01, 2021, 06:05:12 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 01, 2021, 06:01:03 PM
First time in 19 cup presentations to a Dublin captain it hasn't been Stephen Cluxton.

Fair sure Johnny Cooper was captain against Laois in the Leinster Final  a couple years ago and Comerford was in goal.
Post by: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 06:31:18 PM
Was Dessie asked about Cluxton in the post match interview today?
Post by: Halfquarter on August 01, 2021, 08:29:07 PM

Or Ciaran McDonald never retired from Mayo 😀
Post by: larryin89 on August 01, 2021, 08:34:16 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on August 01, 2021, 08:29:07 PM

Or Ciaran McDonald never retired from Mayo 😀

He wasnt picked or a more accurate description woiuld be he was ostracised by johnno
Post by: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 08:41:25 PM
McDonald and Whelan were deemed surplus to requirements. The situation with Cluxton is different where the player has opted out himself. Most people can deduce at this stage that there has been a falling out between player and manager. I know Dublin are well schooled in saying absolutely nothing in media interviews but the media have given them a free ride on the Cluxton situation.
Post by: In hiding on August 01, 2021, 08:43:11 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 08:41:25 PM
McDonald and Whelan were deemed surplus to requirements. The situation with Cluxton is different where the player has opted out himself. Most people can deduce at this stage that there has been a falling out between player and manager. I know Dublin are well schooled in saying absolutely nothing in media interviews but the media have given them a free ride on the Cluxton situation.
Why are you interested if Cluxton and his manager have fallen out.
Let it go
Post by: yellowcard on August 01, 2021, 09:10:03 PM
Quote from: In hiding on August 01, 2021, 08:43:11 PM
Let it go

Of course the Dubs themselves want to let it go or continue to pretend that it's not an issue. But I've had several debates at the local GAA club over the Cluxton situation and people are genuinely interested in it - I think that's only natural for the unexplained absence of the captain of the current AI champions.

It was never going to be an issue as Dublin breezed through Leinster but if Dublin don't win the AI title this year then even Dublin fans themselves will want to know why their captain opted out pre championship.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 09:43:56 PM
Let it go

Sorry but nope. The mainstay of the best team of all time retiring on the sly is going to be discussed
Post by: StPatsAbu on August 08, 2021, 07:01:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 01, 2021, 09:43:56 PM
Let it go

Sorry but nope. The mainstay of the best team of all time retiring on the sly is going to be discussed
Best financed team of all time you mean. He'll sure miss that gravy train.
Post by: TheGreatest on August 09, 2021, 08:57:42 AM

A jealousy comment.

This is the attitude that will leave all other counties behind, i hope you dont bring this attitude to your club scene.

Post by: The Subbie on August 09, 2021, 12:07:06 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 09, 2021, 05:16:06 PM

David Byrne played in goal in 98-01. He managed Ratoath in Meath for a couple years.

Played football with Davy Byrne in what was the then Dundalk RTC ( now IT)
Great fella and keeper
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 09, 2021, 12:25:08 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 09, 2021, 12:07:06 PM
Played football with Davy Byrne in what was the then Dundalk RTC ( now IT)
Great fella and keeper

He played in the two big games against Kerry in Thurles in 2001 and I seem to recall a bad error that cost a goal. That match (replay) of course was the end of the road that year for Dublin and Cluxton was in in 2002.

I've said it before, but Dublin have more or less had three great goalkeepers in the number one jersey since the early seventies, which beggars belief! 
Post by: tonto1888 on August 09, 2021, 05:11:15 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 09, 2021, 08:57:42 AM

A jealousy comment.

This is the attitude that will leave all other counties behind, i hope you dont bring this attitude to your club scene.

Best t ignore that poster. A complete WUM
Post by: StPatsAbu on August 16, 2021, 01:50:51 AM
Where was Stevie when you needed him? Money talks!  ;D
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 16, 2021, 03:07:19 AM
Just curious, is Hoganstand down?