Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Angelo

Pages: [1]
General discussion / Political Hijacking
« on: March 16, 2021, 03:30:49 PM »
We have a number of posters on here who seem intent on bringing SF into every single thread on the board. I will name a few of them.


Now we already have a 520+ page thread of SF where these posters regularly engage in their SF bashing, if that is what they wish to do then that is their choice but when every other thread is spammed up with these guys offloading their political propaganda it debases any sort of intelligent discussion on the board.

They are basically like the twitterbot phenomena whereby they have a single purpose on a GAA discussion board - to run down one political party. It should not spill across onto every thread.

General discussion / Russophobia
« on: February 15, 2021, 03:44:43 PM »
Great to see Clare Daly's speech to the EU last week about how Western propaganda is consistently spread in by the political classes and media outlets of capitalist states.

Navalny seems to be the last thug the US are trying to use to act as an unsettling force in a state with vast natural resources.

GAA Discussion / 2021 Tailteann Cup
« on: December 22, 2020, 11:13:43 AM »
-For teams in Div 3 and 4 of the football league at the end of the 2021 league season (i.e. AFTER promotion/Relegation process), that DO NOT reach their respective Provincial Finals

-Preliminary Round(s) to be organized if more than 16 eligible teams

-If NY are allowed participate, they will be drawn against an eligible team defeated in either Round 1 or a Quarter final of the Provincial Championships – game date May 16 (this may be a preliminary Qualifier if more than 16 teams eligible).

-Recommended that Provincial Champions from the previous year – regardless of whether they are Division 3 or 4 Counties or not – are automatically included in Sam Maguire Qualifiers even if they do not qualify for their provincial final in 2021

-Recommended if NY are involved, their game(s) will be in Ireland.

-Rounds – Prelim Round (if required), Round 1, Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Final

-Semi Finals on Sunday June 6th – Croke Park double header; will be only significant games in the calendar on that date

-Final to be a curtain raiser to the All Ireland Hurling Semi Final on June 26/27

Am I correct as saying Cavan will be involved if they don't make the Ulster final?

GAA Discussion / Ulster Minor 2020
« on: December 21, 2020, 12:07:47 PM »
Not sure if there is a thread for this but it's interesting that the minor draw mirrored the senior draw this year and all games had a reversal of the results in the senior fixtures (Antrim did not play Monaghan at senior level)

Monaghan beat Cavan at minor in the prelim (Cavan won corresponding fixture at senior)
Tyrone beat Donegal at minor (Donegal won corresponding fixture at senior)
Derry beat Armagh at minor (Armagh won corresponding fixture at senior)
Fermanagh beat Down at minor (Down won corresponding fixture at senior)

Monaghan beat Antrim in the other quarter final (had been Cavan v Antrim in the senior fixture).

Fermanagh beating Down at minor is a big surprise. I know St Michaels won a MacRory last year but you'd generally fancy Down.

Monaghan and Derry have dominated the minor grade in recent years. Monaghan are going for 3 in a row.

GAA Discussion / The Advanced Mark
« on: December 14, 2020, 12:25:39 PM »
Not sure if there's a thread on it?

I think it's an abomination and has to go. Really unfair on defenders, a forward should have do much more than collect a ball to have a free shot on goal.

It's a simple no for me.

A vaccine is trying to be rushed through, it is not going through the proper testing and approval measures it normally would.

The virus on the other hand is being shown to have a extremely remote fatality rate, an extremely low hospitalisation rate, for people in my demograph.

GAA Discussion / 2020/21 All Ireland Football Championship
« on: June 06, 2020, 10:43:23 AM »
Are they now going to enforce the draw for this year's championship on a straight knockout basis, as it was pre-qualifier era?

The one thing about the qualifiers was it brought some sort of redress to Championship imbalance for the Ulster counties, it wasn't perfect as I believe the qualifier system should not allow counties from the same province meeting for as far as possible. Not really fair if a Donegal or Tyrone face off in the first round of Championship and the loser then has to face off against the loser of a Monaghan/Armagh clash while Kerry get parachuted into a Munster final by beating a Limerick or Tipp etc but at least the qualifier system then implement some sort of redress.

Surely in the case of straight knockout the Championship will be redrawn on an All Ireland basis, R32 through to final. 5 rounds. Seed the Div 1 and 2 teams for the first round, losers then go into the B Championship and an open draw from there on. For the year that is in it and with the exceptional circumstances surely this is a great way to trial it and probably the fairest on all counties involved?

If enforcing the draw as it is, this would lead to an instance where the 2014 and 2018 All Ireland finalists, both counties you could safely say are the 2 of the top 6 in the country right now are facing off a do or die battle in the first round of Championship, one is going home after one game played. Meanwhile if you look at the draw in Connacht, Galway are into a Connacht final after playing Sligo, a div 4 team.

I'd imagine the Donegal and Tyrone County Boards will be up in arms if the GAA try to enforce this.

GAA Discussion / Ulster XV to beat Dublin
« on: March 07, 2020, 11:45:02 AM »
Danny Quinn, Peter Canavan, Oisin McConville and Eamon McGee recently came up with an Ulster XV to beat Dublin.

They agreed on the following side:

1. Morgan (Tyrone)
2. R Wylie (Monaghan)
3. R McNamee (Tyrone)
4. C Cullen (Fermanagh)
5. E Ban Gallagher (Donegal)
6. C McKaigue (Derry)
7. K O’Connell (Monaghan)
8. J Og Burns (Armagh)
9. N Kearns (Monaghan)
10. R O’Neill (Armagh)
11. M Murphy (Donegal)
12. R McHugh (Donegal)
13. P McBrearty (Donegal)
14. C McShane (Tyrone)
15. C McManus (Monaghan)

4 Donegal and Monaghan
3 Tyrone
2 Armagh
1 Fermanagh and Derry

I’d go with the following

1. Morgan (Tyrone)
2. Hampsey (Tyrone)
3. McNamee (Tyrone)
4. Ban Gallagher (Donegal)
5. McHugh (Donegal)
6. McKaigue (Derry)
7. Mooney (Down)
8. McFadden (Donegal)
9. McKiernan (Cavan)
10. Donnelly (Tyrone)
11. Murphy (Donegal)
12. Campbell (Armagh)
13. McGuigan (Derry)
14. McShane (Tyrone)
15. McManus (Monaghan)

5 Tyrone
4 Donegal
2 Derry
1 Armagh, Cavan, Down and Monaghan

2014 Cormac Reilly - Mayo v Kerry
2015 Maurice Deegan - Tyrone v Kerry
2019 Maurice Deegan - Tyrone v Kerry
2019 David Gough - Dublin v Kerry

Pages: [1]