Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: imtommygunn on April 10, 2026, 11:25:53 AMIs that another generation of Clarke goalie for Down u20s JC?

yes indeed, it is. Grahams son.

bannside

Quote from: toby47 on April 10, 2026, 11:32:30 AM
Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 08:24:47 AMIf you were at a school that had maybe never won a college allstar in its history, or your club had never won one, maybe to receive something like that would be massive. Also most likely to be a massive thing for your parents, your club and school coaches who were part of that journey.

The hysteria putting this first over playing for your county team
(two or three years early it should be noted) that will heavily lose whether you are playing or not, is unfair.

I see both sides, but a county under 20 team should have adequate cover for every position, or if not, thats where the true problem lies!!

And what players incorrectly got a GL player of the week that has got another poster all properly riled up?? Poor Thing!

Absolute garbage. A team sport, team ethos. Team mates trusting and respecting you is more important than heading off to a trial to try win a colleges All-Star that means very little. I disagree that it's 'massive.' What does a college All Star mean to a club, realistically, or your school coaches? Even your parents, fair play winning one, a nice night out of it collecting the award.....but after that?

Well thats fine Toby, disagree all you want. I happen to know of a fella in the mix to whom it would be a massive honour. First time his school was ever considered for example.

You play sport you set your own ambitions. Want to play club seniors, want to play county minors, under 20 and seniors, want to be first in my school to ever win an award of this type....

Thats not for you to set Tiby, is it?

How do you know these lads didnt ask the manager?

Would it make a difference if the match was an important one or whether it was lining up for another hammering...where your presence or absence wouldnt make a difference!

You havent it thought through at all, just a generic standard knee jerk reaction.

If it was your son saying to you that he would dearly cherish an All Star...would you have such a closed mind?

My view is that if you go to three trials you might as well go to the fourth...unless the county match was a much bigger event than a potential 29 point hammering.

Yes/No...

toby47

Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 12:28:09 PM
Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 08:24:47 AMIf you were at a school that had maybe never won a college allstar in its history, or your club had never won one, maybe to receive something like that would be massive. Also most likely to be a massive thing for your parents, your club and school coaches who were part of that journey.

(two or three years early it should be noted) that will heavily lose whether you are playing or not, is unfair.

I see both sides, but a county under 20 team should have adequate cover for every position, or if not, thats where the true problem lies!!

And what players incorrectly got a GL player of the week that has got another poster all properly riled up?? Poor Thing!

Absolute garbage. A team sport, team ethos. Team mates trusting and respecting you is more important than heading off to a trial to try win a colleges All-Star that means very little. I disagree that it's 'massive.' What does a college All Star mean to a club, realistically, or your school coaches? Even your parents, fair play winning one, a nice night out of it collecting the award.....but after that?

Well thats fine Toby, disagree all you want. I happen to know of a fella in the mix to whom it would be a massive honour. First time his school was ever considered for example.

You play sport you set your own ambitions. Want to play club seniors, want to play county minors, under 20 and seniors, want to be first in my school to ever win an award of this type....

Would it make a difference if the match was an important one or whether it was lining up for another hammering...where your presence or absence wouldnt make a difference!

You havent it thought through at all, just a generic standard knee jerk reaction.

If it was your son saying to you that he would dearly cherish an All Star...would you have such a closed mind?

My view is that if you go to three trials you might as well go to the fourth...unless the county match was a much bigger event than a potential 29 point hammering.

Yes/No...

And there in your answer lies a part of the overarching problem. Don't expect for things to ever get better if your opinion is fairly standard throughout the county.

Points a Good Score

Yes/No...

Trial was the day after the Monaghan game which Antrim where extremely competitive in right up to the 55th minute mark a 29 point hammering against Derry has no bearing on it, the sad reality is players have a greater chance of individual success through an all star trial than collective success with an Antrim team currently.

Roll on the complaints about the best players in Antrim opting out of the county team.. Oh we do that also lol

Some amount of whingebags on here
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NatSoSaff

They do opt out! Often! How many have walked away again this year and particularly the last couple of weeks?

We excuse and rationalise these behaviours and decisions as no big deal. And in the grand scheme of life, none of it is, but don't go and be the same couple of posters crying in a few weeks time that we 'aren't at an acceptable standard' and "things have to change"!

Your attitudes magnify the problem. People don't care enough about playing for antrim. They don't place enough value in it. That's the truth.

HTownlad

Who's walked away the last few weeks or is that just more nonsense?

NatSoSaff

James McAuley, Ryan Murray, Jamie Gribben, Tom Mcferran (maybe more?)

So no, not nonsense

HTownlad

Anyone who was actually involved and not suffering from injury?

James was the only one fell out of favour the rest have been injured

Cnoc Bán

Yes/No...

Well said bannside.

An 18 year old having the chance to get an honour such as a colleges all star isn't to be sniffed at.

And bearing in mind they will have another year or two at u20 then the team shouldn't be so heavily reliant on them being there.

They will have many years ahead to represent the county.

This is their last ever chance at an honour for their school.

As you say, if those whinging about it were to have one of their own children in the same position, I would say they wouldn't be as vocal.

NatSoSaff

Games gone lads. I concede

NatSoSaff

Quote from: HTownlad on April 10, 2026, 04:35:13 PMAnyone who was actually involved and not suffering from injury?

James was the only one fell out of favour the rest have been injured

Paddy McBride? Conor Small? John Carron? Mick Byrne?

Na Glinntí Glasa

Quote from: NatSoSaff on April 10, 2026, 04:27:27 PMJames McAuley, Ryan Murray, Jamie Gribben, Tom Mcferran (maybe more?)

So no, not nonsense

I know from our own club player Tom, he didnt see much game time in the league. So whats the point being on the bench again for the championship where he can play football & hurling each week with the club.

Ive always maintained this, anyone who doesnt start game should be playing for their clubs. At least allowing players to get game time rather than train, sit on a bench and then repeating that

Yeah that would be my thoughts too. I think any team at our kind of level sees a lot of problems with drop outs though not all those players just squad players unfortunately. McAuley saw a good bit of game time and then obviously McBride who's a massive blow.

Great win for Cloughmills in division three. Ardoyne be one of the better teams too. Good to see a new team about.

Na Glinntí Glasa

Great for Cloughmills. The club has two ladies football teams and now U16 & Minor as well. so they have grown the membership and size of the club considerably in the last three years.

Good to see.