The OFFICIAL Liverpool Supporters thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:52:45 PM

gawa316

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 06, 2008, 03:36:10 PM
I'll have a go.

1 played while he was with us
2 joined us after playing (and winning) world cups
2 went on to play in finals after leaving us.

Hamann
Anelka?
Zeige/Cisse?

Babbel

Quote from: Minder on May 06, 2008, 03:32:32 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2008, 02:34:48 PM
On an aside, I don't know if anyone watches ESPN Classic.  The team of 87-88 were on last night with Aldo being interviewed.  That was some team, what I wouldn't give for Digger and Beardsley now!

That was the best Liverpool team i have seen, Barnes was in the form of his life that year. I remember two goals he scored against QPR were something else. Would love to have seen them having a crack at the European Cup.

That was my first Liverpool game against QPR, BC1 junior took the scarf i had then with him to his first game last month!

"Apart from 1966, there have been 5 liverpool players, (past, present and future) to have played in a World Cup Final. Can you name them?"

Is this future Liverpool players?  That being the case I would like someone Like Kaka who will play in the next World Cup Winning team ;D

stevo-08

1 played while he was with us
2 joined us after playing (and winning) world cups
2 went on to play in finals after leaving us.

Ok, the correct ones first:
Hamann for the first one. Played in 2002 WC final while a red.
Ziege is correct for the last category. Also played in 2002 WC final after leaving the club

Anelka, Cisse, Babbel, pelegrino all incorrect.

I'm presuming they are relatively recent WC Finals, because I don't remember many Germans, Italians, Dutch or Brazilians at Anfield between 66 and say 90.

1970 was Brazil beating Italy
1974 was Germany beating Holland
1978 was Argentina beating Holland
1982 was Italy beating Germany
1986 was Argentina beating Germany
1990 was Germany beating Argentina
1994 was Brazil beating Italy
1998 was France beating Brazil
2002 was Brazil beating Germany
2006 was Italy beating France.

So by my reckoning it has to be lads from 1998 to 2006.?

Was that lug Cheyrou playing in one of those finals?

stevo-08

1 of the missing players played in a final before 1998. The other 2 played from 1998 onwards.

They were all Houllier signings, I think.

Cheyrou is also incorrect.

thewingedlady

Diomede won one in 98 but never played.Any good? :-\

gawa316

thewingedlady

Just had a brainstorm, Insua played in world u-20 final and won it, think masch won one as well.

stevo-08

Diomede is correct. He actually did play a few mins in 1998, believe it or not. Later to become a Liverpool player.

So you're missing 2.

stevo-08

Insua & Masch are wrong. Senior World Cup Finals, we're talking about.

Riedle correct. Good shout. played in 1990 and later came to Liverpool.

If you get the last one, I'll be very impressed. Played F**k all for the reds.

stiff breeze

I just got Karl-Heinz Riedle and was all chuffed with myself only to come back and see its been said!!! FFS

thewingedlady

Quote from: stevo-08 on May 06, 2008, 03:59:04 PM
Diomede is correct. He actually did play a few mins in 1998, believe it or not. Later to become a Liverpool player.

Not according to FIFA

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/archive/edition=1013/results/matches/match=8788/report.html

tintin25

stevo-08

Quote from: tintin25 on May 06, 2008, 04:12:03 PM
Alou Diarra

correct - well done. I cant believe you got that. He came on for viera in 2006 final. Was a liverpool player from 2002-2005 but i dont think he made any apperances at all. Went on loan for a couple of seasons.

Quote from: thewingedlady on May 06, 2008, 04:11:03 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on May 06, 2008, 03:59:04 PM

Not according to FIFA

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/archive/edition=1013/results/matches/match=8788/report.html

feck. Must be only 4 players so. I'll take this up with the original quiz master. well done lads, yiz know your stuff.