Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

cavan4ever

Is there a rule starting that teams are not aloud to train durning November and December.

There is a rule that county teams aren't allowed train in those months. However, what most counties do is give out training programs to the panel members for gym work. Thats what Cavan are at anyway.

cavan4ever

Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 13, 2007, 11:13:01 AM
There is a rule that county teams aren't allowed train in those months. However, what most counties do is give out training programs to the panel members for gym work. Thats what Cavan are at anyway.

I think they are doing quiet a bit more than that.

Lads
the ruling is no County Teams are allowed play games against Outside opposition in November and December.
There is no rules on training.

cavan4ever

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 13, 2007, 11:44:49 AM
Lads
the ruling is no County Teams are allowed play games against Outside opposition in November and December.

Im sure i seen some where that they couldn't but i must have been wrong.

Quote from: cavan4ever on December 13, 2007, 11:55:09 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 13, 2007, 11:44:49 AM
Lads

Im sure i seen some where that they couldn't but i must have been wrong.

know a fair few lads from other county panels and they have been back in Training collectively since early November.
If there is a rule for training,EVERYONES breaking it.  :-\

LackenLegend

I've been away for a while but i see Finbar is not too popular here   :D
Timmmmy!

cavanmaniac

Ach in fairness he's worth a place on the panel, but if he had legitimate grievances about how he was being treated, running off and sulking and having his club bring it up at a county board meeting and so on, wasn't exactly the way to go about it. He should have showed his doubters on the pitch, he's just lost everyone's respect the other way. Or am I just being all idealistic again...

LackenLegend

The fact is he has a chance now and we should just wait and see if he's up to the task. If he goes and plays savage al year there won't be another word about the past. Cavan supporters, like many others are a very fickle bunch.
Timmmmy!

RONAN

Following a request by the family of the late Emon Coleman, a special day of celebration to mark the life of the man himself is currently been organised for Saturday 7th June 2008, the first anniverasry of his death. On the day there will be a game between Derrys 93 All Ireland winning team and an Irish select of past and present players who played for and against Eamon.

Later in the evening an Informal Dinner will take place in a specialised marquee on the premises of St Treas Ballymaguigan Co Derry, which of course was Eamons home club. Cost of this event is £1000 per table, but in the event that you may not wish to avail of a table a donation of any kind would be very much appreciated.

The charities being supported which were close to Eamon are: Marie Curie Cancer, GOAL, Adoption UK, SMA and Foyle Hospice.

To book a table or make a voluntary contribution you can contact myself on 07875 400 839 or email me on: ronan@moltools.co.uk, or contact Jim Crozier on 07841100141 or email: jimgcrozier@msn.com. Jims address is 246 Shore Road, Magherafelt, Co Derry, BT45 6LH.

Any contributions via cheque can be made out to "Eamon Coleman Memorial Fund"

Many thanks.

Finbar is a good player,but one thing we lack is Blistering speed in attack which we had from 96 even up to a few years ago with younger versions of Larry and Jayo.we all remember Jayo roasting the Tyrone full back line with speed in Ulster Final in 2001 and Larry when he was younger aswell.
when i look at the collection of forwards now,some very good football players but none which would have a corner back up all night beforehand worrying about. which is what speed does.
anyone agree? sorry had to start some sort of discussion the thread was dead.

cavanmaniac

It's funny you should mention it, because Finbar was actually as quick as anything we had. He seldom ever went full pelt though, but the few times I saw him tearing after a ball I was very surprised at his turn of pace.

Remember Raphael Rogers? Raphael the Rabbit I used to call him - run Raphael run. Frighteningly quick but always ended up somewhere he hadn't intended and invariably lost the ball.

Of the current crop, I'd say Mackey is fairly quick and Jelly too but I don't think either are involved now.

Homer

Castlerahen 2:8
Cavan Gaels 0:3

A fine performance from the rahen brought them there second title in as many years. They looked a much hungrier outfit from the start and never let the gaels get into second gear. Ronan Flanagan was fully deserved of the man of the match award.

Lavey 1:10
Ballinagh 2:6

Bitterly disappointed to lose this in the manner that we did. After dominating the game for long periods Ballinagh were in front by 7 with 15 mins to go and began to slowly let Lavey back into the game, then as the game entered added time with 3 points the margin Lavey were awarded a free which they duly dropped into the square to be met by a Lavey fist and it was all square. The next kick-out broke about 30 yards from our own goal a Lavey player was fouled in the panic to retrieve the ball and man of the match Kevin Brady obliged with the last kick of the game. Congratulations all the same to Lavey and fair play to them for never giving up.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 14, 2007, 11:08:21 PM
Finbar is a good player,but one thing we lack is Blistering speed in attack which we had from 96 even up to a few years ago with younger versions of Larry and Jayo.we all remember Jayo roasting the Tyrone full back line with speed in Ulster Final in 2001 and Larry when he was younger aswell.
when i look at the collection of forwards now,some very good football players but none which would have a corner back up all night beforehand worrying about. which is what speed does.
anyone agree? sorry had to start some sort of discussion the thread was dead.

I would take a different view to this. I think in the past we have let this pace issue too much into our game. We have persisted with fast players that like to run into corners. They are great against a slow back but crowd them out or put a speedy back on them and its game over. Cavans forward tactic has been to try an isolate a fast forward 1 to 1 on a back (pretty much impossible in todays tactical game), and tell that forward to turn, beat the man and score the point. That tactic just does not work anymore. What we need are some more Pierson type forwards that just use a bit of trickery to move the back 1 step in the wrong direction and kick it over, without having to burst past at the speed of light. I would put Gooch, Paddy Bradley etc in this catagory. Then we need a big ball winner that can win 50 50 balls and has the brains to feed oncoming forwards. The final thing is to then teach these players when and when not to shoot, how to play as an attacking unit, to give the ball to the man in a better position. I wouldn't get hung up on the speed issue. Look at our FF line in 1997. Jayo, King and Damian Reilly. Some speed but mostly intelligence.

cavan4ever

Look at our FF line in 1997. Jayo, King and Damian Reilly. Some speed but mostly intelligence.

What about larry and cahill.  None of the 3 u named played for to long in full forward line that year.