Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

OffTheDeck

Quote from: skeog on October 01, 2018, 10:34:28 AM
At least junior final is in Omagh think last 2 were in boghole Dungannon.
Last years juniors final was in Carrickmore. The venues and times of some of these games are atrocious. Saturday games too early and at a horrible ground and sundays junior final too late IMO

Quote from: WT4E on October 01, 2018, 10:53:18 AM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on September 30, 2018, 10:31:54 PM
How does dungannon get a Semi Final double header.  The pitch is brutal and the dressing rooms are even worse.  I know it is a former county ground but it's not up to standard at the minute IMO.

Carmen dressing rooms are shite too TBF!

Whaddya want? Heated seats?

Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 01, 2018, 11:59:32 AM
The only thing wrong with Carmens dressing rooms is that they are small. They are clean and well kept. I have heard there are plans to upgrade them but im not sure how you can make them bigger without developing out into the car park.
Agree here. Carrickmore are along way ahead of Pomeroy and Dungannon.
Pomeroy simply does not have the facilities to host 4 teams in a double header, but sure who cares as long as we have a big terrace.

Gaafan2

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 01, 2018, 01:24:58 PM
The only thing wrong with Carmens dressing rooms is that they are small. They are clean and well kept. I have heard there are plans to upgrade them but im not sure how you can make them bigger without developing out into the car park.
Pomeroy simply does not have the facilities to host 4 teams in a double header, but sure who cares as long as we have a big terrace.

Did you not notice the foundations for the new dressing rooms at the top end of Plunkett Park. This time next year hopefully work will be completed.

The Golden Years

How does dungannon get a Semi Final double header.  The pitch is brutal and the dressing rooms are even worse.  I know it is a former county ground but it's not up to standard at the minute IMO.

Catch a grip you knob.  The changing rooms may not be as large as Errigals or Donaghmores but they can comfortably hold 24 players for a match.  Would loved to played a championship at Carrickmore.  Always a great atmosphere.  Second to non.

Quote from: gaafan2 on October 01, 2018, 01:30:48 PM

Did you not notice the foundations for the new dressing rooms at the top end of Plunkett Park. This time next year hopefully work will be completed.

That might be the case, but we have regularly had big championship games there over the last 10 years when they are plainly not fit for purpose.

IMO, carrickmore is the best club championship venue in Tyrone.

Redhand Santa

It would be great if they would spend a few pound on Dungannon and turn into into a good championship venue. It's the ideal location for the games on Saturday in terms of geography. There is plenty of big championship games played involving teams in this side of the county that it could be used for. If they did it right it could also be a great venue for a Tyrone McKenna Cup and league game as well.

Carrickmore currently probably is the best venue to go and watch a club championship game in Tyrone. Much better atmosphere than Omagh which is too big for most of them.

Gaafan2

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 01, 2018, 02:01:26 PM

That might be the case, but we have regularly had big championship games there over the last 10 years when they are plainly not fit for purpose.

Yes our changing rooms aren't fit for purpose (hence we're currently building new changing rooms), but neither are Carrickmores. We do easily have the second best grounds outside of Omaghs, terracing and stand wise.

WT4E

Quote from: The Golden Years on October 01, 2018, 01:59:30 PM

Catch a grip you knob.  The changing rooms may not be as large as Errigals or Donaghmores but they can comfortably hold 24 players for a match.  Would loved to played a championship at Carrickmore.  Always a great atmosphere.  Second to non.

Jaysus the Carmen lads are sensitive/protective - Just saying that youre outdated changing facilities are well down the list in comparison to alot of other clubs (ours are shite too) - prob a bit better than pomeroys but not by much. Try not to lose too much sleep over it though!!!

Agreed on the atmosphere - great place to take in a champo match.

Frank_The_Tank

Quote from: gaafan2 on October 01, 2018, 02:31:41 PM

Yes our changing rooms aren't fit for purpose (hence we're currently building new changing rooms), but neither are Carrickmores. We do easily have the second best grounds outside of Omaghs, terracing and stand wise.

The pitch isn't great either tho - one of the goal mouths looked more like Bundoran beach than a football pitch.  Agree on the stand a terrace though is very good
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

Therealdonald

Without worrying about changing rooms etc. What were the thoughts on the weekend's games? PH black card was ridiculous I thought ad ultimately decided the game. For Ardboe, they made a few switches at half time and it seemed to work. They look possibly too young to win though. Killyclogher should be favourites for the the Cup.

Walter White

Quote from: sekibanki on October 01, 2018, 12:31:48 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 30, 2018, 10:39:11 PM
Agree that O'Neill park shouldn't be getting any semis. Would have preferred Carrickmore for our game tbh.
Is there anything in the pipeline to renovate it?
Or has this been put on the long finger? Seen it referenced here and there but no hard plans.

Seen on Planning NI that they had planning passed in August for demolishing the current clubhouse and replacing it with a new club room

WT4E

Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on October 01, 2018, 02:38:55 PM

The pitch isn't great either tho - one of the goal mouths looked more like Bundoran beach than a football pitch.  Agree on the stand a terrace though is very good

Careful Now!

The Thick Carmen heads will be insulting you in gaaboard for this opinion.... didn't you know everything in Carrickmore is brilliant!

Frank_The_Tank

Quote from: WT4E on October 01, 2018, 04:17:07 PM

Careful Now!

The Thick Carmen heads will be insulting you in gaaboard for this opinion.... didn't you know everything in Carrickmore is brilliant!

I was talking about Pomeroy pitch - the goal mouth and in round the 21 at the changing room ends looked like a beach
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

WT4E

Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on October 01, 2018, 04:24:49 PM
Quote from: WT4E on October 01, 2018, 04:17:07 PM

Careful Now!

I was talking about Pomeroy pitch - the goal mouth and in round the 21 at the changing room ends looked like a beach

Okay - You should be safe!!!  ;D