The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Didn't deliver in the World cup,look that's the problem, the part time supporter not knowing the real layout of the land in Rugby. France was the most heavy favoured team to win on home Ground, then South Africa, followed by Ireland and New Zealand.The top 4 ,there was very little between them and that showed in games. Had Ireland actually been playing at home like France, then they would have been the favourites. The only people saying we were favourites is the Dublin media and people who knew f**k all about Rugby.

England got beat by Scotland the other week, Scotland got murdered against us in The world cup. I fair say we were well ahead England at the time with Sexton on board.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 10, 2024, 08:55:03 PMDidn't deliver in the World cup,look that's the problem, the part time supporter not knowing the real layout of the land in Rugby. France was the most heavy favoured team to win on home Ground, then South Africa, followed by Ireland and New Zealand.The top 4 ,there was very little between them and that showed in games. Had Ireland actually been playing at home like France, then they would have been the favourites. The only people saying we were favourites is the Dublin media and people who knew f**k all about Rugby.

Ah you're fully bought in. Fair play to you.

The layout of the land is that Ireland has a unique advantage in international rugby whereby our international team absolutely trumps the needs of club rugby.

It provides us a genuine advantage in that our players our better rested and more closely coached for the international game.

But 20 odd years on we haven't come close to realising this advantage. We use it to build focused teams instead of competitive squads.

As a policy it leaves Ireland as sitting ducks. No matter how well drilled Ireland become - and by God are we well drilled - everyone knows what's coming.

And unless we find a couple of unplayable types like  O'Driscoll at once, then it counts against us.

——

On this note. Murray should have been retired from Ireland duty a decade ago.

By accident or design - and honestly I still don't know which - the predominant feature of his game has been shite box kicking. Nobody else does this at this level. Because it's shite, pointless rugby, unless it comes as a surprise.

Not bought in, know that other countries above us have bigger picks, Ireland only pick from 4 provincial teams, or 2 and 2 halfs giving the limited no u get from Ulster/Connacht. France have a top 14, England alot more teams Also. Both South Africa and New Zealand big pick as its their national sport. Ireland only advantage is its well run.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 10, 2024, 10:53:19 PMNot bought in, know that other countries above us have bigger picks, Ireland only pick from 4 provincial teams, or 2 and 2 halfs giving the limited no u get from Ulster/Connacht. France have a top 14, England alot more teams Also. Both South Africa and New Zealand big pick as its their national sport. Ireland only advantage is its well run.

Believe it or not, you're mostly echoing my point.

England, SA, France, NZ. They don't have first call on their players all year round. Which means they're more likely to experiment with players and playing styles in reaction to what's available.

Ireland don't do this, ever, when playing a tier 1 nation. It's a case of playing the tried and tested, and when they inevitably win more battles than they lose in years 1-4, then those players become both undroppable and predictable.

Meanwhile, after 4 weeks of a pre RWC camp, and 4 weeks of groups stages in an RWC, the big teams have found 8 weeks to finally lock in on something. And at the same time likely have a few outliers and game changers hanging around their squad. All Ireland has at this point is tired legs in their first XV, and a second XV who know they're second choice and play like second choice

Quote from: thewobbler on March 10, 2024, 10:49:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 10, 2024, 08:55:03 PMDidn't deliver in the World cup,look that's the problem, the part time supporter not knowing the real layout of the land in Rugby. France was the most heavy favoured team to win on home Ground, then South Africa, followed by Ireland and New Zealand.The top 4 ,there was very little between them and that showed in games. Had Ireland actually been playing at home like France, then they would have been the favourites. The only people saying we were favourites is the Dublin media and people who knew f**k all about Rugby.

The layout of the land is that Ireland has a unique advantage in international rugby whereby our international team absolutely trumps the needs of club rugby.

It provides us a genuine advantage in that our players our better rested and more closely coached for the international game.

But 20 odd years on we haven't come close to realising this advantage. We use it to build focused teams instead of competitive squads.

As a policy it leaves Ireland as sitting ducks. No matter how well drilled Ireland become - and by God are we well drilled - everyone knows what's coming.

And unless we find a couple of unplayable types like  O'Driscoll at once, then it counts against us.

——

By accident or design - and honestly I still don't know which - the predominant feature of his game has been shite box kicking. Nobody else does this at this level. Because it's shite, pointless rugby, unless it comes as a surprise.

Yes, we've 4 club teams to pick from, how we haven't realised the advantage of having these players well rested and drilled against the other big hitters with a much bigger pick I'll never know too. Bigger pick = a much better chance of generational talents coming to the fore. Ireland's play is vastly different than under JS. The other top teams, you don't know what to expect playing wise or is it an on the day surprise?

Agree on Murray

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 10, 2024, 05:45:29 PMBoring,? U watch much soccer?

yes. It is boring but less boring than rugby union

——

Don't think this is true at all. Before the professional era Ireland were behind both Scotland and Wales in terms of success. We were miles behind England. Now at club level and international level we are blitzing all 3 of those sides. The idea that we are sacrificing club rugby to boost the national team is simply not supported by the facts.

Quote from: trileacman on March 11, 2024, 11:21:04 AM

——

Don't think this is true at all. Before the professional era Ireland were behind both Scotland and Wales in terms of success. We were miles behind England. Now at club level and international level we are blitzing all 3 of those sides. The idea that we are sacrificing club rugby to boost the national team is simply not supported by the facts.

This is true at professional club level where they have 4 teams.
The Amateur game is dead.

Quote from: trailer on March 11, 2024, 12:04:43 PM

——

It's not dead but the supporter base isn't there to get it off life support. I go to City of Armagh home matches when I can and their AIL 1A matches are "relatively" well supported, but even that's in the hundreds (official capacity is 1000).

All this chatter reminds me a bit of Armagh fans in the 2000s thinking Ulster Championships were getting worth less and less because we were winning them regularly but not winning more AIs. Now 6 Nations titles seem a less valuable currency - why is that? Some of those blaming the Dublin media for being arrogant gobshites are guilty of something pretty similar by decrying 6N titles because we haven't won a World Cup.

Quote from: tonto1888 on March 11, 2024, 07:33:59 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 10, 2024, 05:45:29 PMBoring,? U watch much soccer?

Rugby is a game based primarily on physical strength and brute force. There can't be many sports where the level of technical skill required is much lesser than rugby. Massive amounts of hype, sponsorship and clever marketing shouldn't cover up that fact. The reality is that for an awful lot of supporters it's just about the big occasion rather than the actual game itself. Otherwise the game would be flourishing at club level. I'd say the majority of people tuning in for the big internationals watch very little, if any rugby in between.

Soccer can be boring but the balance is much more towards technical ability rather than physical attributes.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 11, 2024, 01:06:19 PM
Quote from: trailer on March 11, 2024, 12:04:43 PM

——

It's not dead but the supporter base isn't there to get it off life support. I go to City of Armagh home matches when I can and their AIL 1A matches are "relatively" well supported, but even that's in the hundreds (official capacity is 1000).

Used to go with my Dad and watch Dungannon years ago. Would have been a few thousand at them games. Now you'd be lucky to get 150.

Ed Ricketts

Quote from: yellowcard on March 11, 2024, 01:23:36 PM

Rugby is a game based primarily on physical strength and brute force. There can't be many sports where the level of technical skill required is much lesser than rugby. Massive amounts of hype, sponsorship and clever marketing shouldn't cover up that fact. The reality is that for an awful lot of supporters it's just about the big occasion rather than the actual game itself. Otherwise the game would be flourishing at club level. I'd say the majority of people tuning in for the big internationals watch very little, if any rugby in between.

Soccer can be boring but the balance is much more towards technical ability rather than physical attributes.

Is that phenomenon really unique to rugby in Ireland? What percentage of Irish soccer viewers are making their way to Oriel, the Brandywell, or the Showgrounds of a Friday evening?
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.

Quote from: Ed Ricketts on March 11, 2024, 05:01:07 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 11, 2024, 01:23:36 PM

Is that phenomenon really unique to rugby in Ireland? What percentage of Irish soccer viewers are making their way to Oriel, the Brandywell, or the Showgrounds of a Friday evening?

There was over 3,500 in attendance at the Showgrounds on Saturday. A decent crowd! People from all over the north west in local soccer club jackets, jerseys etc. Soccer is growing a phenomenal level. And attendances in the domestic game are up year on year. 

Mayo FC is up and running and it is hoped they will play in the League of Ireland in years to come.