St. Molaise Gaels
Ballymote
Calry/St. Joseph's
Tourlestrane
St. Mary's
St. Farnan's
St. John's

Westie

No sign of O'Hara. McGowna not playing either but we were missing 2 big men in Tuffy at midfield and P.Naughton.  That game this Sat is the round 12 game but they still have not played their rd 5 game (Tub v Gee).

Bad alright yesterday. Put at least 7 into the keepers hand.  Too many lads doing leaving but we should have got a few scores, but onwards and upwards

Quote from: Westie on June 08, 2009, 09:13:53 AM
No sign of O'Hara. McGowna not playing either but we were missing 2 big men in Tuffy at midfield and P.Naughton.  That game this Sat is the round 12 game but they still have not played their rd 5 game (Tub v Gee).

Bad alright yesterday. Put at least 7 into the keepers hand.  Too many lads doing leaving but we should have got a few scores, but onwards and upwards

How has Judge done since coming back from injury Westie?

I dont think ive ever seen him play but the lads from my club said last yr on the minors he was our best forward which is saying something considering David Maye was on that team.

Not really safe yet lads. A lot of games between the bottom 4 to go yet so teams will pick up points. In the last couple of weeks Geevagh and C'connor have been close to beating Tourlestrane and while Tubber have taken a few beatings they also ran us to a point so nothing is certain. The Tubber/Geevagh back game is to be played on Friday 26th June at 8pm (the Friday before the Sligo v. Galway game).

Calry have lost a good few players on last year. Some have emigrated and some have gone travelling. They had a very good minor team last year and this is reflected in their good junior side but these lads will need a year or two to mature into senior players. They will struggle to survive in D2 but last weekends result must give them hope.

Just on the county players in our game - Costello played well. Johnny Mac continued his recent excellent form in midfield, he's flying. Himself and Quinner probably edged it over Tom Colleary and Gary Maye. Adrian Marren was good for Curry too, the main threat to us all evening.

Mano

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 08, 2009, 09:06:52 AM

Was O Hara playing Westie?

He hasn't played for the club all year as far as i know so his absense wouldn't be any indication as his fitness for the Galway game. From what i heard his original hamstring injury was very severe and likely to recur (which it has done twice). If he plays he won't be 100%.

I see someone has reported Nicky Joyce has been dropped from the Galway panel for a breach of discipline. This would obviously be a boost for Sligo if there are issues in the galway camp leading up to the game

Don't know if anyone has posted this up but I hope it goes well and I applaud the idea. We're hosting one of the groups, should be a good days craic.

"Club Sligo" Sevens

The Inaugural Sligo Club Sevens will take place on the eve of the Connacht Championship Semi Final on Saturday 27th June commencing no earlier than 2:30pm. Groups will be staged at Calry St Josephs, Kevinsfort, Coolera Strandhill and St Johns pitches with knock out matches staged at St Marys. This is an open seven a side competition for all clubs in Sligo with the top teams in each group going forward to the knock out stages.

How about creating history and becoming the inaugural Club Sligo 7's champions ? this is the time with the GAA commemorating 125 years of it's founding !!! back then they had a dream and a vision, so has "Club Sligo"

Extra events

Ever wonder if the fittest guy in your club is actually the fittest in the county?
Ever wonder is your clubs speedster the fastest in the county?
Ever wonder if your long kick specialist is the longest in the county?

At the Club Sligo 7's, we will find out with 100 metres race, 6 laps of pitch race and longest kick competition taking place before the final after heats taking place based in each group. Players have to be registered in each teams overall panel of 15 to partake and have also to compete in their clubs jersey. Why not have competitions after club training to see who represents your club in these competitions??

Rules

Cost is €200 for entry into 7's competition and includes 2 participants in each of the novelty events. A maximum panel of 15 (including participants in the novelty events) can be used throughout the competition with a match panel of 10 given to referee in advance of each game. Rules of Club Sligo 7's will be posted on www.sligogaa.ie in advance of competition.

Après Match

With the atmosphere building in advance of a Connacht Senior Semi Final, refreshments will be served at St Mary's bar all evening with their new outdoor area an excellent vantage point for the knockout matches.

Entry Fee

Entry fee to be sent to Peadar Niland, Treasurer, Sligo GAA, 7 Clara Court, Farmhill, Sligo strictly by 11th June. Maximum of 2 teams per club and as places strictly limited please get your entry in early. Clubs can book their spots or receive further information by emailing peadar.niland@gmail.com.

Entries strictly limited so please make sure your club gets its place by entering today

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 09, 2009, 11:58:41 AM
Don't know if anyone has posted this up but I hope it goes well and I applaud the idea. We're hosting one of the groups, should be a good days craic.

"Club Sligo" Sevens

The Inaugural Sligo Club Sevens will take place on the eve of the Connacht Championship Semi Final on Saturday 27th June commencing no earlier than 2:30pm. Groups will be staged at Calry St Josephs, Kevinsfort, Coolera Strandhill and St Johns pitches with knock out matches staged at St Marys. This is an open seven a side competition for all clubs in Sligo with the top teams in each group going forward to the knock out stages.

How about creating history and becoming the inaugural Club Sligo 7's champions ? this is the time with the GAA commemorating 125 years of it's founding !!! back then they had a dream and a vision, so has "Club Sligo"

Extra events

Ever wonder if the fittest guy in your club is actually the fittest in the county?
Ever wonder is your clubs speedster the fastest in the county?
Ever wonder if your long kick specialist is the longest in the county?

At the Club Sligo 7's, we will find out with 100 metres race, 6 laps of pitch race and longest kick competition taking place before the final after heats taking place based in each group. Players have to be registered in each teams overall panel of 15 to partake and have also to compete in their clubs jersey. Why not have competitions after club training to see who represents your club in these competitions??

Rules

Cost is €200 for entry into 7's competition and includes 2 participants in each of the novelty events. A maximum panel of 15 (including participants in the novelty events) can be used throughout the competition with a match panel of 10 given to referee in advance of each game. Rules of Club Sligo 7's will be posted on www.sligogaa.ie in advance of competition.

Après Match

With the atmosphere building in advance of a Connacht Senior Semi Final, refreshments will be served at St Mary's bar all evening with their new outdoor area an excellent vantage point for the knockout matches.

Entry Fee

Entry fee to be sent to Peadar Niland, Treasurer, Sligo GAA, 7 Clara Court, Farmhill, Sligo strictly by 11th June. Maximum of 2 teams per club and as places strictly limited please get your entry in early. Clubs can book their spots or receive further information by emailing peadar.niland@gmail.com.

Entries strictly limited so please make sure your club gets its place by entering today

Great idea, hopefully get a few subsricptions aswell on the day.

paddypastit

Great idea but not sure about 'new'. There used to be a 'county' sevens competition in Riverstown the week before the first (and as aften as not only!) Connaught championship match from the mid 70's through to the (at least) late 80s.  They had two pitches there.  Played in it a few times. There were also a few other 7's 'tournaments' around at the time - the only other one I played in was Garland Sunday in Keash which I think was a tradition streching way back but they would have 4 / 6 teams from a locality or that had some connection.  The Riverstown one was pretty much 'all county' - 4 groups of four teams with semis and finals.  My outstanding memory was breaking a bone in my (writing) hand, two days before the start of my second year exams in coillege... wasn't overly popular at home... but was more worried about missing an U21 championship match myself - exams could be repeated!!
come disagree with me on http://gushtystuppencehapenny.wordpress.com/ and spread the word

Quote from: paddypastit on June 12, 2009, 01:19:33 AM
Great idea but not sure about 'new'. There used to be a 'county' sevens competition in Riverstown the week before the first (and as aften as not only!) Connaught championship match from the mid 70's through to the (at least) late 80s.  They had two pitches there.  Played in it a few times. There were also a few other 7's 'tournaments' around at the time - the only other one I played in was Garland Sunday in Keash which I think was a tradition streching way back but they would have 4 / 6 teams from a locality or that had some connection.  The Riverstown one was pretty much 'all county' - 4 groups of four teams with semis and finals.  My outstanding memory was breaking a bone in my (writing) hand, two days before the start of my second year exams in coillege... wasn't overly popular at home... but was more worried about missing an U21 championship match myself - exams could be repeated!!

Great stuff, football first dead right. :D :D

From SLIGOGAA.ie

Senior League Division 1
Team 1 Score Score Team 2 Venue Comment   
Coolera-Strandhill  0-15 0-11 Castleconnor  Coolera Round 12 
Eastern Harps  0-11 1-13 Ballymote  Eastern Harps - Keash Round 12 
Tubbercurry  0-13 1-8 Geevagh  Tubbercurry Round 12   
Tourlestrane  0-14 1-6 Curry  Tourlestrane Round 12 

Senior League Division 2
Easkey  1-12 0-9 St Molaise Gaels  Easkey Round 12   
St Marys  3-11 3-2 St Farnans  St Marys Round 12

Senior League Division 3
Drumcliffe Rosses Point  3-14 0-4 St Patricks  Drumcliffe Round 12   
Cloonacool  1-7 2-8 St Michaels  Curry Round 12

Friday 12th June 2009
Senior League Division 5
St Johns  4-13 2-9 Drumcliffe Rosses Point  St Johns Round 6   
Calry/St Josephs  7-11 0-2 Easkey  Calry/St Josephs Round 6   
Bunninadden  1-9 2-6 Tubbercurry  Bunninadden Round 6   
Shamrock Gaels  1-11 1-8 Enniscrone/Kilglass  Shamrock Gaels Park-Coola Round 6

U-14 League Division 2
Enniscrone/Kilglass  7-11 3-8 St Farnans  Enniscrone Playoff Game

Wednesday 10th June 2009
U12 Q-Finals - D
Bunninadden  0-37 0-9 Ballymote  Bunninadden

37 pts must be a record. I hate seeing results like that at underage, although it could be a typo.

Balymote beat Harps comfortable enough scoreline, hopefully the weekender will have a report on that one, very curious to see whos doing the business for balymote. Tourlestrane had a impressive win over there near neighbours Curry. Coolera ensured safety.

Disappointing result for us away to Easkey, but were safe so not much to play for.

Were the county players playing?

xwave7000

No county players playing as far as I know - without taking the gloss off a well deserved victory for Ballymote, Harps were missing their four county players. Clancy was instrumental in midfield, for long periods of the second half he didn't give the Harps men a sniff. Stephen Ross and Mark Irwin were brilliant also, Irwin creating the goal that changed the game. Marty Underwood came on in the second half and played very well, Lyons was good but it was by no means his best game this year. All in all, Ballymote were the better team on the day, this result was a long time coming... I can't remember the last time we last beat Harps!

Quote from: xwave7000 on June 14, 2009, 11:26:42 AM
No county players playing as far as I know - without taking the gloss off a well deserved victory for Ballymote, Harps were missing their four county players. Clancy was instrumental in midfield, for long periods of the second half he didn't give the Harps men a sniff. Stephen Ross and Mark Irwin were brilliant also, Irwin creating the goal that changed the game. Marty Underwood came on in the second half and played very well, Lyons was good but it was by no means his best game this year. All in all, Ballymote were the better team on the day, this result was a long time coming... I can't remember the last time we last beat Harps!

The unfulfilled potential of Nigel Clancy. Boy could we do with him in his prime at CHB now, what a presence and reader of the game.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2009, 05:53:32 AM

Wednesday 10th June 2009
U12 Q-Finals - D

37 pts must be a record. I hate seeing results like that at underage, although it could be a typo.

Balymote beat Harps comfortable enough scoreline, hopefully the weekender will have a report on that one, very curious to see whos doing the business for balymote. Tourlestrane had a impressive win over there near neighbours Curry. Coolera ensured safety.
In another of these wonderful ideas of the minor committee, goals don't count, I think they might be as points instead, though looking at that would make you think it was goals on top of the points tally, i.e. it could have been, for example, 16-21 or 9-10 they scored, not entirely sure about that.

No game for us for a while now, points off Mary's last week and this weekend's game off til Wednesday evening. Chance still of getting promotion, though it will probably require us getting a minimum 6 points out of 8 in a tricky run-in, and beating Tourlestrane is a must. Ballymote look out of it now, Curry up, and it's between us and Tourlestrane for the other spot.

Good result for Ballymote in Div 1, might be too late to get a final spot but they look to be back on track after having a blip earlier on. Tourlestrane looking good, and Coolera finally getting a few wins lately. John's and Bunninadden up from D2, Calry and Farnan's going the other way.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 14, 2009, 07:28:54 PM

Wednesday 10th June 2009
U12 Q-Finals - D

In another of these wonderful ideas of the minor committee, goals don't count, I think they might be as points instead, though looking at that would make you think it was goals on top of the points tally, i.e. it could have been, for example, 16-21 or 9-10 they scored, not entirely sure about that.

No game for us for a while now, points off Mary's last week and this weekend's game off til Wednesday evening. Chance still of getting promotion, though it will probably require us getting a minimum 6 points out of 8 in a tricky run-in, and beating Tourlestrane is a must. Ballymote look out of it now, Curry up, and it's between us and Tourlestrane for the other spot.

Good result for Ballymote in Div 1, might be too late to get a final spot but they look to be back on track after having a blip earlier on. Tourlestrane looking good, and Coolera finally getting a few wins lately. John's and Bunninadden up from D2, Calry and Farnan's going the other way.

The way the U-12 is done it would be 37 scores to 9 (a goal equals a point - not a coiste na n-óg idea, its the Go-Games format I think) and that would be Ballymotes second U-12 team so probably contains a lot of 9 and 10 year olds. Scores are not usually posted up and this week all team will play in Markievicz in either a cup or shield game. Liam Óg's initiative and some clubs are buying into it, maybe all will soon.

County players being pulled puts a different gloss on things though Ballymotes win over Harps will be a big psychological boost to them as explained by xwave7000. Curry were short a good few against us last week and losing Marren wouldn't have helped a light looking forward division against Tourlestrane. We are now mathematically safe and can now focus totally on championship preparation. Played decent stuff at times against Castleconnor who also had their moments. Judge is really a class act and extremely hard to mark. Just for those interested in county matters John McPartland and Keelan Cawley played for us and Pat Naughton played for Castleconnor.

In Div 4 our hoodoo against Ballisodare continues. At least this time we played fairly decent and it was perhaps missed chances and conceding 2 goals in the first five minutes that let us down. They have improved considerably. A lot of lads back playing that hadn't played in a while and it looks that they're training well too.

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 15, 2009, 11:09:39 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 14, 2009, 07:28:54 PM

Wednesday 10th June 2009
U12 Q-Finals - D

The way the U-12 is done it would be 37 scores to 9 (a goal equals a point - not a coiste na n-óg idea, its the Go-Games format I think) and that would be Ballymotes second U-12 team so probably contains a lot of 9 and 10 year olds. Scores are not usually posted up and this week all team will play in Markievicz in either a cup or shield game. Liam Óg's initiative and some clubs are buying into it, maybe all will soon.

County players being pulled puts a different gloss on things though Ballymotes win over Harps will be a big psychological boost to them as explained by xwave7000. Curry were short a good few against us last week and losing Marren wouldn't have helped a light looking forward division against Tourlestrane. We are now mathematically safe and can now focus totally on championship preparation. Played decent stuff at times against Castleconnor who also had their moments. Judge is really a class act and extremely hard to mark. Just for those interested in county matters John McPartland and Keelan Cawley played for us and Pat Naughton played for Castleconnor.

In Div 4 our hoodoo against Ballisodare continues. At least this time we played fairly decent and it was perhaps missed chances and conceding 2 goals in the first five minutes that let us down. They have improved considerably. A lot of lads back playing that hadn't played in a while and it looks that they're training well too.

Better than David Maye?, what height is he, is he physical, and do you think its inevitable he'll make it? Sorry for all the questions but just thinking of the future from a county perspective and very curious about this lads potential.

He's quite small and light which could ultimately be his downfall at county level. He is pacy, brave and accurate though which are good atributes. I've only seen Judge a couple of times so maybe Westie could give a better read on him.

David Maye has massive potential but lets wait until he plays a bit at adult level before we get carried away.