East wall #Irelandisfull

Started by Truth hurts, January 04, 2023, 11:06:41 AM

Quote from: rodney trotter on November 24, 2023, 09:22:32 PMI supply clothes to the local shelter in Cavan. I have often stopped to donate in the streets to the homeless in Dublin

You can drive down from Derry and meet if you are that dubious

Good man, so you'll know there's a multitude of reasons folk are on the streets. Why roll out this line now when they're obviously separate issues, a line usually rolled out by, as someone said above, someone who'd sooner step over a homeless person rather than help?

Quote from: JoG2 on November 24, 2023, 11:13:34 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 24, 2023, 09:22:32 PMI supply clothes to the local shelter in Cavan. I have often stopped to donate in the streets to the homeless in Dublin

You can drive down from Derry and meet if you are that dubious

Good man, so you'll know there's a multitude of reasons folk are on the streets. Why roll out this line now when they're obviously separate issues, a line usually rolled out by, as someone said above, someone who'd sooner step over a homeless person rather than help?

Of course there is a lots of reasons. It was on today's news that's why I rolled it out. Maybe a separate thread but you'll get over that.

The hospital's can cope at present as they are understaffed and working long hours.

Nasty video of garda with riot shield shoving a homeless fella to the ground. Big hard man.

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 25, 2023, 12:23:26 AMNasty video of garda with riot shield shoving a homeless fella to the ground. Big hard man.

Plenty of nasty videos going about, see what ya what I suppose

Quote from: whitey on November 24, 2023, 07:40:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 24, 2023, 06:18:15 PM
Quote from: whitey on November 24, 2023, 05:29:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 24, 2023, 05:22:00 PMI proved nothing for you kiddo. What law is being enforced here exactly? Anyone who presents at the airport, regardless of whether or not they have a passport, and claims asylum will have their claim processed. Is that the law you mean?

Go back and read the article
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 24, 2023, 05:22:00 PMI proved nothing for you kiddo. What law is being enforced here exactly? Anyone who presents at the airport, regardless of whether or not they have a passport, and claims asylum will have their claim processed. Is that the law you mean?

For someone who lectured me about not reading the article, you seem to have some pretty serious issues with basic comprehension

However, it is also an offence for travellers to land in the State without a valid travel document.

"The surge prompted the Government to introduce measures to combat the issue. GardaĆ­ have been deployed to overseas airports to co-ordinate checks on travel documents of people travelling to Ireland and the Government has pressured airlines to be more vigilant for people destroying documents before disembarking"
1 person since 2019 it said. No conviction. 780 people still presented with no passport. And guess what, any who claimed asylum will still have had their asylum application processed.

"1 person since 2019 it said. No conviction. 780 people still presented with no passport."

Think those numbers have anything to them with them not enforcing the law that they're now rigorously enforcing?

I doubt it. The Garda go to other airports. What do they do? A person can't get in a flight without a passport anyway. Put pressure on airlines? If a person rocks up at a destination airport minus their passport - or without the correct visa - you can put a carriers liability action on the airline. Hard to prove these. The airline just has to say well he got on the plane with a passport. Not our fault he didn't present one at the PCP

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 07:56:00 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 24, 2023, 07:51:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 07:49:37 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 24, 2023, 07:28:43 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 07:11:11 PM
Quote from: general_lee on November 24, 2023, 06:56:43 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 24, 2023, 06:33:35 PMOver 13,000 homeless in Ireland    https://t.co/R0P2HWjPUL

Maybe they should fix that problem before more people enter the country
Some chance. Successive neo liberal governments have created a speculative free-for-all property market for developers and property investors, condemning a generation to permanently being stuck renting or living at the parental home.

But blame the foreigners, asylum seekers & refugees. It's their fault that you've a shitty government.
Can both issues not be fixed?

How do you propose to do that?
Significantly reduce immigration for starters.

As for the other? A lot more complex, but surely theres ways to control rent/house prices?

How will you significantly reduce immigration?
No dole etc for anyone coming in for starters. But sure you already know thag

Asylum seekers can't claim the dole. Not sure about those who are non asylum seekers. I'd say there's more of an issue with people doing the double tho

Eire90

is it not extremely hard to do the double these days do you not have to go regularly meetings at dole office  and if people are doing double there boss must be in on it too.

Quote from: tonto1888 on November 25, 2023, 08:53:47 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 24, 2023, 06:33:35 PMOver 13,000 homeless in Ireland    https://t.co/R0P2HWjPUL

Some chance. Successive neo liberal governments have created a speculative free-for-all property market for developers and property investors, condemning a generation to permanently being stuck renting or living at the parental home.

But blame the foreigners, asylum seekers & refugees. It's their fault that you've a shitty government.

As for the other? A lot more complex, but surely theres ways to control rent/house prices?

Asylum seekers can't claim the dole. Not sure about those who are non asylum seekers. I'd say there's more of an issue with people doing the double tho
Your man from Slovakia last week was claiming plenty anyway.

Quote from: Eire90 on November 25, 2023, 09:02:04 AMis it not extremely hard to do the double these days do you not have to go regularly meetings at dole office  and if people are doing double there boss must be in on it too.

Couldn't tell ye. When I moved home from England to lurgan and was getting JSA I would see guys sign on and then go outside and jump into the work van

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 25, 2023, 09:07:18 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 25, 2023, 08:53:47 AM

Your man from Slovakia last week was claiming plenty anyway.

What was your man's status? Shouldn't have said in the north they can't. Not sure what the system is down south.

He was an EU National, probably here for years.

Quote from: Rossfan on November 25, 2023, 09:28:25 AMHe was an EU National, probably here for years.

2013 he came over. Was working on a building site when he got injured and started to claim disability benefits. He must have had legal status then

Thought it comical to see some tweets going to great lengths to highlight some dark skinned fella in the looting spree, they're obviously worse than the native looters somehow :o

Quote from: bennydorano on November 25, 2023, 09:34:08 AMThought it comical to see some tweets going to great lengths to highlight some dark skinned fella in the looting spree, they're obviously worse than the native looters somehow :o
. People were using that as a gotcha tweet

The North lending water cannon. #Jaysus

Someone is manipulating people in D1. Conspiracy theories.  Culture war.

Huge challenge for the Garda and McEntee.